DETAILED ACTION
This non-final office action is in response to the RCE and amendment filed 18 June 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apostolescu et al. (US 2021/0029136, published 28 January 2021, hereafter Apostolescu) and further in view of Goradia (US 9195829, published 24 November 2015) and further in view of Becker et al. (US 10084802, patented 25 September 2018, hereafter Becker) and further in view of Venturelli et al. (US 11379842, filed 7 April 2020, hereafter Venturelli) and further in view of Balasubramanian et al. (US 2022/0172100, filed 27 November 2020, hereafter Balasubramanian).
As per independent claim 1, Apostolescu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the system to:
determine a set of parameters corresponding to the digital action comprising at least one type of digital action, a number of affected files, a file size, a user location, a time of the digital action, collaborator, data, or user role of the user account (paragraph 0043: Here, a “feature” is a type of behavior/action. For example, file size is a feature and the actual size of the file is a behavior)
based on the set of parameters, utilize an anomaly-detection model trained to detect anomalous actions to generate an anomaly indicator corresponding to the digital action (paragraph 0042: Here, a classifier is loaded and applied to the extracted behaviors to label the behavior as a “threat” or “non-threat”)
based on the anomaly indicator, provide, for display, an electronic communication indicating the digital action as anomalous (paragraph 0099: Here, a file is output with its associated label (thread/non-threat). Files that have been identified as anomalous will be output with the label “threat”)
Apostolescu fails to specifically disclose:
identify a digital action taken by a client device associated with a user account
determine a set of parameters corresponding to the digital user action
based on the set of parameters, utilize an anomaly-detection model trained to detect anomalous actions and a confidence score indicating a likelihood of the digital user action being an anomalous action
a confidence score for the anomaly satisfying a threshold confidence
automatically restrict one or more additional digital user actions for the user account within the content management system
display on a graphical user interface of an administrator device
receive data from the administrator device in response to the electronic communication indicating the digital user action of the user account as anomalous
update one or more machine-learning model parameters of the anomaly-detection model by utilizing the data received from the administrator device in response to the electronic communication as training data for the anomaly-detection model
However, Goradia, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward detecting and displaying anomalous behaviors, discloses:
identify a digital action taken by a client device associated with a user account of a content management system (Figure 1; column 5, lines 11-19: Here, a central (content) management system is used coupled to communication systems associated with a plurality of users to exchange information. The anomalous behavior detection device (Figure 1, item 110; column 5, line 30-32) operates in the cloud to identify anomalous behaviors at connected devices)
display on a graphical user interface of an administrator device (Figure 6; column 5, lines 1-10 and column 10, lines 38-43: Here, a GUI provides the administrator results of the anomalous behavior detection analysis to monitor such operations)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Goradia with Apostolescu, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed an administrator to view and monitor anomalous behaviors (Goradia: column 5, lines 1-10). This would have allowed a user the advantage of preventing these behaviors from being propagated throughout the entire system.
Additionally, Becker, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward supervisory control, discloses:
identify a digital action taken by a client device associated with a user account (column 5, lines 1-23: Here, a digital action is received from a user)
determine a set of parameters corresponding to the digital user action (column 5, lines 1-23: Here, a set of parameters corresponding to a user action are receive)
automatically restrict one or more additional digital user actions for the user account within the content management system (column 5, lines 1-23: Here, based upon the anomalous actions, access for a specified user is blocked)
display on a graphical user interface of an administrator device (column 5, lines 1-23: Here, anomalous actions are displayed to an administrator on a dashboard)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Becker with Apostolescu-Gordia, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for improved security by restricting access of users performing anomalous actions (Becker: column 2, lines 21-32).
Further, Venturelli, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward using a machine learning model to identify anomalies, discloses utilizing an anomaly-detection model trained to detect anomalous actions and a confidence score indicating a likelihood of the digital user action being an anomalous action (column 19, lines 12-20: Here, a trained fraud detection machine learning model identifies an anomalous action. A confidence score (predicted likelihood) representing the anomaly is determined) and a confidence score for the anomaly satisfying a threshold confidence (column 19, lines 24-26: Here, the confidence score is compared against a threshold score to determine that the action is a fraudulent action). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Venturelli with Apostolescu-Goria-Becker, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have trigger an action based upon a calculated likelihood score meeting a threshold confidence value (Venturelli: column 19, lines 12-26).
Finally, Balasubramanian, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward using a machine learning model to detect anomalies, discloses:
receive data from the administrator device in response to the electronic communication indicating anomalies (paragraph 0062-0063: Here, results of anomaly detection are provided to a console for user feedback. Based upon this feedback, a retraining of the model occurs)
update one or more machine-learning model parameters of the anomaly-detection model by utilizing the data received from the administrator device in response to the electronic communication as training data for the anomaly-detection model (paragraph 0062-0063: Here, results of anomaly detection are provided to a console for user feedback. Based upon this feedback, a retraining of the model occurs. This training includes identifying and updating values of parameters/hyperparameters that define how the training is performed (paragraph 0198))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Balasubramanian with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for retraining a model based upon user feedback (Balasubramanian: paragraphs 0062-0063).
As per dependent claim 3, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 1, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Goradia discloses providing, for display on the GUI of the administrator device, the electronic communication to indicate the digital action comprises at least one of an anomalous file deletion, an anomalous file share, an anomalous file creation, an anomalous file modification, an anomalous user role modification, or an anomalous file decryption (column 4, lines 12-31; column 13, TABLE A: Here, a plurality of anomalous actions are specified, including add/delete files on storage, unauthorized sharing of data, and role modification (gain root access)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Goradia with Apostolescu, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed an administrator to view and monitor anomalous behaviors (Goradia: column 5, lines 1-10). This would have allowed a user the advantage of preventing these behaviors from being propagated throughout the entire system.
As per dependent claim 4, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 1, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Goradia discloses providing, for display on the graphical user interface of the administrator device, a context for identifying the digital action as anomalous (column 15, lines 20-32: Here, the context of the event is provided to the administrative user. This includes providing video of the application at the time of the behavior to allow the administrator to determine whether the interaction is expected or within the normal operation of the interaction), the context including an indicator of at least one of the user account corresponding to the digital action, a time of the digital action, or a reason for identifying the digital action as anomalous (Figure 4B; column 9, line 56- column 10, line 12: Here, the GUI allows for playback of the anomalous behaviors where the action is synchronized with time data to provide video playback/context of the action).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Goradia with Apostolescu, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed an administrator to view and monitor the context of the anomalous behaviors to determine if they are anomalous to expected behaviors (Goradia: column 15, lines 20-32). This would have allowed a user the advantage of preventing normal behaviors while excluding anomalous behaviors.
As per dependent claim 5, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 1, and the same rejection is incorporated herein.
Venturelli discloses determining a sensitivity level of the anomaly indicator based on the confidence score and selecting, the one or more digital user actions to automatically restrict for the user account sensitivity level of the anomaly indicator from the anomaly-detection model (column 19, lines 12-26: Here, determining that a score meets the threshold is analogous to determining that a sensitivity level of the anomaly has been met. Further, based upon this determination an action is blocked (restricted)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Venturelli with Apostolescu-Goria-Becker, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have trigger an action based upon a calculated likelihood score meeting a threshold confidence value (Venturelli: column 19, lines 12-26).
As per dependent claim 6, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 1, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Goradia discloses determining the severity level of the digital actions based on at least one of the set of parameters corresponding to the digital actions, characteristics corresponding to the user account of the content management system, or user interactions corresponding to historical electronic communication indicating digital actions as anomalous (column 6, lines 27-35 and column 13, TABLE A: Here, the threat score is based on anomalies detected by the anomalous behavior detection analysis. This may be based on a plurality of parameters associated with a digital action (column 4, lines 12-31; column 13, TABLE A)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Goradia with Apostolescu, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed an administrator to view and monitor anomalous behaviors (Goradia: column 5, lines 1-10). This would have allowed a user the advantage of preventing these behaviors from being propagated throughout the entire system.
Apsotolescu fails to specifically disclose providing an electronic communication indicating the digital user action as anomalous based on the severity level. However, the examiner takes official notice that it was notoriously well-known in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to provide an alert/notification for events that trigger an alert threshold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined the well-known with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli- Balasubramanian, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for providing an alert/notification based upon anomalous activity.
As per independent claim 15, Apostolescu discloses a method comprising:
determine a set of parameters corresponding to the digital action comprising at least one type of digital action, a number of affected files, a file size, a user location, a time of the digital action, collaborator, data, or user role (paragraph 0043: Here, a “feature” is a type of behavior/action. For example, file size is a feature and the actual size of the file is a behavior)
based on the set of parameters, utilize an anomaly-detection model trained to detect anomalous actions to generate an anomaly indicator corresponding to the digital action (paragraph 0042: Here, a classifier is loaded and applied to the extracted behaviors to label the behavior as a “threat” or “non-threat”)
based on the anomaly indicator, provide, for display, an electronic communication indicating the digital action as anomalous (paragraph 0099: Here, a file is output with its associated label (thread/non-threat). Files that have been identified as anomalous will be output with the label “threat”)
Apostolescu fails to specifically disclose:
identify a digital action taken by a client device associated with a user account of a content management system
determine a set of parameters corresponding to the digital user action
based on the set of parameters, utilize an anomaly-detection model trained to detect anomalous actions and a confidence score indicating a likelihood of the digital user action being an anomalous action
a confidence score for the anomaly satisfying a threshold confidence
display on a graphical user interface of an administrator device
receive data from the administrator device in response to the electronic communication indicating the digital user action of the user account as anomalous
update one or more machine-learning model parameters of the anomaly-detection model utilizing the data received from the administrator device in response to the electronic communication as training data for the anomaly-detection model
However, Goradia, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward detecting and displaying anomalous behaviors, discloses:
identify a digital action taken by a client device associated with a user account of a content management system (Figure 1; column 5, lines 11-19: Here, a central (content) management system is used coupled to communication systems associated with a plurality of users to exchange information. The anomalous behavior detection device (Figure 1, item 110; column 5, line 30-32) operates in the cloud to identify anomalous behaviors at connected devices)
display on a graphical user interface of an administrator device (Figure 6; column 5, lines 1-10 and column 10, lines 38-43: Here, a GUI provides the administrator results of the anomalous behavior detection analysis to monitor such operations)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Goradia with Apostolescu, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed an administrator to view and monitor anomalous behaviors (Goradia: column 5, lines 1-10). This would have allowed a user the advantage of preventing these behaviors from being propagated throughout the entire system.
Additionally, Becker, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward supervisory control, discloses:
identify a digital action taken by a client device associated with a user account (column 5, lines 1-23: Here, a digital action is received from a user)
determine a set of parameters corresponding to the digital user action (column 5, lines 1-23: Here, a set of parameters corresponding to a user action are receive)
display on a graphical user interface of an administrator device (column 5, lines 1-23: Here, anomalous actions are displayed to an administrator on a dashboard)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Becker with Apostolescu-Goradia, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for improved security by restricting access of users performing anomalous actions (Becker: column 2, lines 21-32).
Further, Venturelli, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward using a machine learning model to identify anomalies, discloses utilizing an anomaly-detection model trained to detect anomalous actions and a confidence score indicating a likelihood of the digital user action being an anomalous action (column 19, lines 12-20: Here, a trained fraud detection machine learning model identifies an anomalous action. A confidence score (predicted likelihood) representing the anomaly is determined) and a confidence score for the anomaly satisfying a threshold confidence (column 19, lines 24-26: Here, the confidence score is compared against a threshold score to determine that the action is a fraudulent action). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Venturelli with Apostolescu-Goria-Becker, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have trigger an action based upon a calculated likelihood score meeting a threshold confidence value (Venturelli: column 19, lines 12-26).
Finally, Balasubramanian, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward using a machine learning model to detect anomalies, discloses:
receive data from the administrator device in response to the electronic communication indicating anomalies (paragraph 0062-0063: Here, results of anomaly detection are provided to a console for user feedback. Based upon this feedback, a retraining of the model occurs)
update one or more machine-learning model parameters of the anomaly-detection model by utilizing the data received from the administrator device in response to the electronic communication as training data for the anomaly-detection model (paragraph 0062-0063: Here, results of anomaly detection are provided to a console for user feedback. Based upon this feedback, a retraining of the model occurs. This training includes identifying and updating values of parameters/hyperparameters that define how the training is performed (paragraph 0198))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Balasubramanian with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for retraining a model based upon user feedback (Balasubramanian: paragraphs 0062-0063).
As per dependent claim 16, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 15, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Goradia discloses providing, for display on the GUI of the administrator device, the electronic communication to indicate the digital action comprises at least one of an anomalous file deletion, an anomalous file share, an anomalous file creation, an anomalous file modification, an anomalous user role modification, or an anomalous file decryption (column 4, lines 12-31; column 13, TABLE A: Here, a plurality of anomalous actions are specified, including add/delete files on storage, unauthorized sharing of data, and role modification (gain root access)).
As per dependent claim 17, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 15, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Apostolescu discloses wherein updating the one or more parameters of the anomaly-detection model comprises adjusting parameters of a machine learning model (paragraph 0041: Here, the training engine iterates through training data to adjust parameters of the model until an accuracy threshold is met).
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian and further in view of Eshghi (US 2020/0076768, published 5 March 2020).
As per dependent claims 2, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 1, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Apostolescu fails to specifically disclose causing the computing system to identifying the digital action taken by the client device via a document-synchronizing platform through which multiple user accounts access, edit, or share synchronized documents.
However, Eshghi, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward identifying anomalous actions within edits of a content management system, discloses identifying the digital action taken by the client device via a document-synchronizing platform through which multiple user accounts access, edit, or share synchronized documents (paragraph 0062: Here, an anomalous edit is identified in a content management system (document-synchronizing platform)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Eshghi with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli- Balasubramanian, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for identifying of anomalous edits (Eshghi: paragraph 0062). This would have provided the advantage of preventing the editing behaviors to be synchronized with other version of the document to prevent system intrusions.
As per dependent claim 7, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 1, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Apostolescu fails to specifically disclose wherein the set of parameters corresponding to the digital action further comprises at least one of collaborator activity, a collaborator identity, a personal identifiable information (PII) classification, a time zone of the digital action, a time of user interactivity with a digital content item, historical user activity times within the content management system, user engagement data, a user device type, a user-email domain, user group similarity data, or user activity patterns.
However, Eshghi, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward identifying anomalous actions within edits of a content management system, discloses disclose wherein the set of parameters corresponding to the digital action further comprises at least one of collaborator activity (paragraph 0062: Here, a user edit is a collaborator activity), a collaborator identity, a personal identifiable information (PII) classification, a time zone of the digital action, a time of user interactivity with a digital content item, historical user activity times within the content management system, user engagement data, a user device type, a user-email domain, user group similarity data, or user activity patterns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Eshghi with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli- Balasubramanian, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for identifying of anomalous edits (Eshghi: paragraph 0062). This would have provided the advantage of preventing the editing behaviors to be synchronized with other version of the document to prevent system intrusions.
Claims 8-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian, and further in view of Leiderfarb et al. (US 2017/0171230, published 15 June 2017, hereafter Leiderfarb).
As per independent claim 8, Apostolescu discloses a system comprising:
at least one processor (Figure 7, item 710)
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor (Figure 7, item 740)
cause the system to:
determine a set of parameters corresponding to the digital action comprising at least one type of digital action, a number of affected files by the digital action, a file size of an affected file by the digital action, a user location of the user account, a time of the digital action, collaborator data, or user role of the user account (paragraph 0043: Here, a “feature” is a type of behavior/action. For example, file size is a feature and the actual size of the file is a behavior)
based on the set of parameters, utilize an anomaly-detection model trained to detect anomalous actions to generate an anomaly indicator corresponding to the digital action (paragraph 0042: Here, a classifier is loaded and applied to the extracted behaviors to label the behavior as a “threat” or “non-threat”)
Apostolescu fails to specifically disclose:
identify a digital action taken by a client device associated with a user account of a content management system
determine a set of parameters corresponding to the digital user action
a confidence score indicating a likelihood of the digital user action being an anomalous action
perform a remedial action within the content management system in response to the anomaly indicator identifying the digital action as anomalous
receive data from an administrator device in response to an electronic communication indicating the digital user action of the user account as anomalous
update one or more machine-learning parameters of the anomaly-detection model by utilizing the data received from the administrator device in response to the electronic communication as training data for the anomaly-detection model
However, Goradia, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward detecting and displaying anomalous behaviors, discloses:
identify a digital action taken by a client device associated with a user account of a content management system (Figure 1; column 5, lines 11-19: Here, a central (content) management system is used coupled to communication systems associated with a plurality of users to exchange information. The anomalous behavior detection device (Figure 1, item 110; column 5, line 30-32) operates in the cloud to identify anomalous behaviors at connected devices)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Goradia with Apostolescu, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed an administrator to view and monitor anomalous behaviors (Goradia: column 5, lines 1-10). This would have allowed a user the advantage of preventing these behaviors from being propagated throughout the entire system.
Additionally, Becker, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward supervisory control, discloses:
identify a digital action taken by a client device associated with a user account (column 5, lines 1-23: Here, a digital action is received from a user)
determine a set of parameters corresponding to the digital user action (column 5, lines 1-23: Here, a set of parameters corresponding to a user action are receive)
display on a graphical user interface of an administrator device (column 5, lines 1-23: Here, anomalous actions are displayed to an administrator on a dashboard)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Becker with Apostolescu-Goradia, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for improved security by restricting access of users performing anomalous actions (Becker: column 2, lines 21-32).
However, Venturelli, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward using a machine learning model to identify anomalies, discloses utilizing an anomaly-detection model trained to detect anomalous actions and a confidence score indicating a likelihood of the digital user action being an anomalous action (column 19, lines 12-20: Here, a trained fraud detection machine learning model identifies an anomalous action. A confidence score (predicted likelihood) representing the anomaly is determined) and a confidence score for the anomaly satisfying a threshold confidence (column 19, lines 24-26: Here, the confidence score is compared against a threshold score to determine that the action is a fraudulent action). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Venturelli with Apostolescu-Goria-Becker, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have trigger an action based upon a calculated likelihood score meeting a threshold confidence value (Venturelli: column 19, lines 12-26).
Balasubramanian, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward using a machine learning model to detect anomalies, discloses:
receive data from the administrator device in response to the electronic communication indicating anomalies (paragraph 0062-0063: Here, results of anomaly detection are provided to a console for user feedback. Based upon this feedback, a retraining of the model occurs)
update one or more machine-learning model parameters of the anomaly-detection model by utilizing the data received from the administrator device in response to the electronic communication as training data for the anomaly-detection model (paragraph 0062-0063: Here, results of anomaly detection are provided to a console for user feedback. Based upon this feedback, a retraining of the model occurs. This training includes identifying and updating values of parameters/hyperparameters that define how the training is performed (paragraph 0198))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Balasubramanian with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for retraining a model based upon user feedback (Balasubramanian: paragraphs 0062-0063).
However, Leiderfarb, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward detecting and remediating anomalous actions, discloses perform a remedial action within the content management system in response to the anomaly indicator identifying the digital action as anomalous (paragraphs 0153-0161: Here, anomalous (malicious) content is identified and remediated. This includes stopping the malicious process from running, deleting/quarantining malicious files, reverting changes to the registry, and removing created kernel objects). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Leiderfarb with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli- Balasubramanian, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have provided a remediation strategy for anomalous activities (Leiderfarb: paragraphs 0153-0161). This would have allowed for reverting a system back to the pre-attack state and prevented the anomalous activities from infecting the machine and connected machines.
As per dependent claim 9, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, Balasubramanian, and Leiderfarb disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 8, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Apostolescu discloses based on the anomaly indicator, provide, for display, an electronic communication indicating the digital action as anomalous (paragraph 0099: Here, a file is output with its associated label (thread/non-threat). Files that have been identified as anomalous will be output with the label “threat”).
Apostolescu fails to specifically disclose providing, for display on a GUI of the administrator device, the electronic communication to indicate the digital action comprises at least one of an anomalous file deletion, an anomalous file share, an anomalous file creation, an anomalous file modification, an anomalous user role modification, or an anomalous file decryption.
However, Goradia, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward detecting and displaying anomalous behaviors, discloses providing, for display on a GUI of the administrator device (Figure 6; column 5, lines 1-10 and column 10, lines 38-43: Here, a GUI provides the administrator results of the anomalous behavior detection analysis to monitor such operations), the electronic communication to indicate the digital action comprises at least one of an anomalous file deletion, an anomalous file share, an anomalous file creation, an anomalous file modification, an anomalous user role modification, or an anomalous file decryption (column 4, lines 12-31; column 13, TABLE A: Here, a plurality of anomalous actions are specified, including add/delete files on storage, unauthorized sharing of data, and role modification (gain root access)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Goradia with Apostolescu, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed an administrator to view and monitor anomalous behaviors (Goradia: column 5, lines 1-10). This would have allowed a user the advantage of preventing these behaviors from being propagated throughout the entire system.
As per dependent claim 10, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, Balasubramanian, and Leiderfarb disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 8, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Leiderfarb discloses performing the remedial action by automatically recovering one or more deleted digital content items, restricting the user account corresponding to the digital action from performing additional actions, or modifying a user permission of the user account (paragraphs 0153-0161: Here, anomalous (malicious) content is identified and remediated. This includes stopping the malicious process from running, deleting/quarantining malicious files, reverting changes to the registry (recovering deleted digital content items), and removing created kernel objects). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Leiderfarb with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli- Balasubramanian, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have provided a remediation strategy for anomalous activities (Leiderfarb: paragraphs 0153-0161). This would have allowed for reverting a system back to the pre-attack state and prevented the anomalous activities from infecting the machine and connected machines.
As per dependent claim 13, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, Balasubramanian, and Leiderfarb disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 8, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Goradia discloses providing the electronic communication indicating the digital action as anomalous based on the digital action satisfying an alert threshold representing one or more of a severity level of the digital action or a sensitivity level of the anomaly indicator from the anomaly-detection model (column 6, lines 27-35 and column 11, lines 3-8: Here, a threat score is associated with each detected action. Actions that have a threat score below a threshold are labeled as “safe,” while those having a threat score above a threshold are labeled as “unsafe”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Goradia with Apostolescu, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for labeling items as safe/unsafe based upon a metric (Goradia: column 11, lines 3-8). This would have provided a user the advantage of viewing the labeled data and would have avoided relying upon the user to mentally identify this threshold.
As per dependent claim 14, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, Balasubramanian, and Leiderfarb disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 13, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Goradia discloses providing a notification via a user interface to an administrative user based upon a severity level (column 6, lines 27-35 and column 11, lines 3-8: Here, a threat score is associated with each detected action. Actions that have a threat score below a threshold are labeled as “safe,” while those having a threat score above a threshold are labeled as “unsafe.” In this instance, those actions above a threshold and labeled as “unsafe” are interpreted as those actions having a high severity level).
Additionally Leiderfarb discloses performing the remedial action (paragraphs 0153-0161: Here, anomalous (malicious) content is identified and remediated. This includes stopping the malicious process from running, deleting/quarantining malicious files, reverting changes to the registry (recovering deleted digital content items), and removing created kernel objects). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Leiderfarb with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli- Balasubramanian, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have provided a remediation strategy for anomalous activities (Leiderfarb: paragraphs 0153-0161). This would have allowed for reverting a system back to the pre-attack state and prevented the anomalous activities from infecting the machine and connected machines.
Claims 11-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, Balasubramanian, and Leiderfarb and further in view of Yao et al. (US 2020/0004808, published 2 January 2020, hereafter Yao).
As per dependent claim 11, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, Balasubramanian, and Leiderfarb disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 8, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Apostolescu fails to specifically disclose providing, for display on the graphical user interface of an administrator device, an electronic communication to indicate the performed remedial action.
However, Goradia, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward detecting and displaying anomalous behaviors, discloses providing, for display on a GUI of the administrator device (Figure 6; column 5, lines 1-10 and column 10, lines 38-43: Here, a GUI provides the administrator results of the anomalous behavior detection analysis to monitor such operations), the electronic communication to indicate the digital action comprises at least one of an anomalous file deletion, an anomalous file share, an anomalous file creation, an anomalous file modification, an anomalous user role modification, or an anomalous file decryption (column 4, lines 12-31; column 13, TABLE A: Here, a plurality of anomalous actions are specified, including add/delete files on storage, unauthorized sharing of data, and role modification (gain root access)).
Additionally, Leiderfarb, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward detecting and remediating anomalous actions, discloses perform a remedial action within the content management system in response to the anomaly indicator identifying the digital action as anomalous (paragraphs 0153-0161: Here, anomalous (malicious) content is identified and remediated. This includes stopping the malicious process from running, deleting/quarantining malicious files, reverting changes to the registry, and removing created kernel objects). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Leiderfarb with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli- Balasubramanian, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have provided a remediation strategy for anomalous activities (Leiderfarb: paragraphs 0153-0161). This would have allowed for reverting a system back to the pre-attack state and prevented the anomalous activities from infecting the machine and connected machines.
Finally, Yao discloses an electronic communication to indicate the performed action (Figures 4 and8; paragraphs 0045 and 0074-0075: Here, a user is notified of a modification and they are prompted with the ability to continue editing or to undo the edit). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Yao with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli- Balasubramanian -Leiderfarb, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed a user to either confirm or deny proposed actions (Yao: Figure 8; paragraphs 0074-0075). This would have allowed a user greater control over actions performed by the system.
As per dependent claim 12, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, Balasubramanian, Leiderfarb, and Yao disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 11, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Yao discloses providing, for display on the graphical user interface, a selectable option to cancel the remedial action (Figure 8; paragraphs 0074-0075). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Yao with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli- Balasubramanian -Leiderfarb, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed a user to either confirm or deny proposed actions (Yao: Figure 8; paragraphs 0074-0075). This would have allowed a user greater control over actions performed by the system.
As per dependent claim 19, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian, disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 15, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Apostolescu discloses modifying the anomaly-detection model (paragraph 0041). Apostolescu fails to specifically disclose:
providing, for display on the GUI of the administrator device, a selectable option for remedial action in response to the digital action
receiving, from the administrator device, a selection of the selectable option for the remedial action or no selection of the selectable option for the remedial action
However, Leiderfarb, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward detecting and remediating anomalous actions, discloses perform a remedial action within the content management system in response to the anomaly indicator identifying the digital action as anomalous (paragraphs 0153-0161: Here, anomalous (malicious) content is identified and remediated. This includes stopping the malicious process from running, deleting/quarantining malicious files, reverting changes to the registry, and removing created kernel objects). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Leiderfarb with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli-Balasubramanian, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have provided a remediation strategy for anomalous activities (Leiderfarb: paragraphs 0153-0161). This would have allowed for reverting a system back to the pre-attack state and prevented the anomalous activities from infecting the machine and connected machines.
Finally, Yao discloses receiving, from the device, a selection of the selectable option for the remedial action or no selection of the selectable option for the remedial action (Figures 4 and8; paragraphs 0045 and 0074-0075: Here, a user is notified of a modification and they are prompted with the ability to continue editing or to undo the edit). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Yao with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli- Balasubramanian -Leiderfarb, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed a user to either confirm or deny proposed actions (Yao: Figure 8; paragraphs 0074-0075). This would have allowed a user greater control over actions performed by the system.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, Balasubramanian, and further in view of Jones et al. (US 9537880, patented 3 January 2017, hereafter Jones).
As per dependent claim 18, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 17, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Apostolescu discloses training a machine learning model based to determine anomalous data (paragraph 0041).
Apostolescu fails to specifically disclose data identifying characteristics corresponding to a group of users. However, Jones, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward detecting anomalous behavior, discloses data identifying characteristics corresponding to a group of users (column 4, lines 6-27: Here, an administrator reviews accounts of a group of users associated with a specific type of behavior that indicates a compromised account). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Jones with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli- Balasubramanian, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for monitoring a group of users engaged in specific behavior (column 4, lines 6-27). This would have facilitated identifying users engaged in malicious activities based upon anomalous behaviors.
As per dependent claim 20, Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 15, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Apostolescu discloses modifying the anomaly-detection model (paragraph 0041).
Apostolescu fails to specifically disclose the data indicating the response for at least one of a user type for the user account, an account type associated with the user account, or a group of the content management system associated with the user account. However, Jones, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward detecting anomalous behavior, discloses the data indicating the response for at least one of a user type for the user account, an account type associated with the user account, or a group of the content management system associated with the user account (column 4, lines 6-27: Here, an administrator reviews accounts of a group of users associated with a specific type of behavior that indicates a compromised account). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Jones with Apostolescu-Goradia-Becker-Venturelli- Balasubramanian, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for monitoring a group of users engaged in specific behavior (column 4, lines 6-27). This would have facilitated identifying users engaged in malicious activities based upon anomalous behaviors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 in view of the newly amended claim limitations have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Apostolescu, Goradia, Becker, Venturelli, and Balasubramanian.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Muddu et al. (US 9516053): Discloses detecting anomalies and threats in real time by performing security analytics (Abstract)
von Gravrock et al. (US 2016/0315909): Discloses behavior analysis for smart appliances to determine anomalous activity (Abstract; paragraph 0054)
Suyama et al. (US 2013/0024172): Discloses an anomaly detector using confidence values (paragraph 0196) and updating a model (paragraph 0209)
/KYLE R STORK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2128