DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant's amendment filed on 4/21/25. Claims 158, 159, 161, 168, 172-175 are cancelled. Claims 180-186 are new. Claims 156, 163, 165-167, 172-175 and 180-186 are currently pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 156, 163, 165-167, 172-175 and 180-186 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larvenz et al. US 2015/0164390 in view of Karr US 2008/0165059.
Regarding claim 156, Larvenz discloses an analyte monitoring system, comprising a plurality of devices, the plurality of devices comprising:
an on body device ([FIG1] device 21), comprising:
an analyte sensor, at least a portion of which is configured to be positioned under skin of a subject and in contact with a bodily fluid of the subject ([¶72,82,94] a continuous analyte sensor is used and it can be transdermal or subcutaneous); and
sensor electronics disposed in an interior of the on body device and coupled with the analyte sensor, the sensor electronics configured to generate data representative of an in vivo analyte level of the subject ([¶98,102,116] controller 308);
a smart phone ([¶79] the receiver device can be a smart phone or tablet), comprising:
a first communication circuitry of the smart phone configured to wirelessly communicate according to a radio frequency (RF) protocol ([¶124] Bluetooth);
a second communication circuitry of the reader device configured to wirelessly communicate according to a near field communication (NFC) protocol ([¶124]);
a medication delivery device, comprising processing circuitry coupled with memory for storing instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to store a medication dosage amount ([¶73,132] a medicant pump is controlled by the system and has some form of memory to execute its operations and processing),
wherein the smart phone is configured to wirelessly activate the on body device according to the NFC protocol ([¶94,125] the reader device can initiate the wearable device with a request and NFC is one of the possible communication protocols),
wherein the smart phone is configured to wirelessly receive the data representative of the in vivo analyte level of the subject from the on body device according to either or both of the RF protocol or the NFC protocol ([¶94,124] sensor sends data to the receiving device), and
Larvenz does not disclose wherein a first one of the plurality devices comprises timing circuitry and a non-transitory memory that stores a timing calibration value that is an offset of the timing circuitry from a predetermined target, the first one of the plurality of devices being configured to wirelessly communicate the timing calibration value to a second one of the plurality of devices, wherein the second one of the plurality of devices is configured to determine a start time for a receiving period based upon the timing calibration value, wherein the receiving period is for receipt of a transmission from the first one of the plurality of devices.
Karr teaches a similar analyte sensor system that provides a timing calibration or offset. Specifically a timing circuit that stores a timing calibration value that is an offset of the timing circuitry from a predetermined target ([¶8,24,54,55] the clock frequency of the main device and the sensors is determined and synchronized during transmission). As well as, a device configured to wirelessly communicate the timing calibration value to a second one of the plurality of devices ([¶54-56,59-60] the information from the timing circuit or oscillator is encoded into the signal to the second device) to determine a start time for a receiving period based upon the timing calibration value ([¶8,69] the offsets of the clock are used to synchronize transmission and receiving). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Larvenz with the timing of Karr in order to determining timing as part of the data transmission and synchronize the transmissions ([¶8]).
Regarding claim 163, Larvenz discloses the on body device further comprises an adhesive patch configured to attach the on body device to the skin of the subject ([¶80] device 21 can be attached with adhesive).
Regarding claim 165, Larvenz discloses the RF protocol is a formed in an ultra-high frequency (UHF) band ([¶124] Bluetooth operates in the UHF band).
Regarding claim 166, Larvenz discloses the smart phone further comprises a shared antenna coupled with the first communication circuitry and the second communication circuitry ([¶92,101] The device had an antenna and smart phones if that is the reader have antenna).
Regarding claim 167, Larvenz discloses an antenna but does not disclose the reader device further comprises a first antenna coupled with the first communication circuitry and a second antenna coupled with the second communication circuitry. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a second antenna as it is no more than the duplication or parts to arrive at the predictable result of having two antennas one for each communication protocol.
Regarding claim 172, Larvenz discloses the smart phone is further configured to wirelessly receive an indication of an alarm condition from the on body device according to the RF protocol ([¶77,100] alarms for glucose levels).
Regarding claim 173 and 174, Larvenz discloses the alarm condition comprises a predicted low analyte level condition and a predicted high analyte level ([¶109,114] alerts for high and low levels).
Regarding claim 175, Larvenz discloses wherein the analyte sensor is a glucose sensor ([¶68] glucose is measured).
Regarding claim 177, Karr teaches wherein the second one of the plurality of devices comprises non-transitory memory that stores a data structure that translated the code to a corresponding value ([¶60]).
Regarding claim 180, Karr teaches the data structure is a lookup table ([¶60]).
Regarding claim 181, Karr teaches the timing calibration value is an offset of a frequency of the timing circuitry ([¶53,54,56] the clock signal is a frequency).
Regarding claim 182, Karr teaches the timing calibration value is an offset of a time ([¶53,54,56] the clock signal is a frequency used to determine time differences so the offset is a time).
.
Regarding claim 183, Karr teaches the timing calibration value is an offset of the time of a communication interval ([¶53,54,56,69] the offset in the clock signal accounts for delays from transmission and processing).
Regarding claim 184, Karr teaches the smart phone is the first one of the plurality of devices and the on body device is the second one of the plurality of devices ([¶53,54,56] timing correction is performed by a main device and a remote device).
Regarding claim 185 and 186, Karr teaches the timing circuitry comprises a clock and the clock comprises a crystal oscillator ([¶53-56]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments against Larvenz and Karr, see pg. 7, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Karr does not teach the new limitations but as shown in the rejection above Karr does indeed teach wherein a first one of the plurality devices comprises timing circuitry and a non-transitory memory that stores a timing calibration value that is an offset of the timing circuitry from a predetermined target, the first one of the plurality of devices being configured to wirelessly communicate the timing calibration value to a second one of the plurality of devices, wherein the second one of the plurality of devices is configured to determine a start time for a receiving period based upon the timing calibration value, wherein the receiving period is for receipt of a transmission from the first one of the plurality of devices.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL A CATINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/TSE W CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791