Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 8, filed 17 June 2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. The 112(a) rejections of the claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 9, filed 17 June 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 21 – 23, 25 – 29, 31, and 41 – 44 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Status of Claims
Claims 21, 31, 41 and 44 are in status “Currently amended.” Claims 22, 23, 25 – 29, 42, and 43 are in status “previously presented.” Claims 1 – 20, 24, 30, 33, 34, 39, 45, and 46 are canceled. Claims 47 and 48 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 – 23, 25 – 29, 31, 41 – 44, 47, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tycon (US 20220055036 A1, cited on the PTO-892 form filed 17 November 2025) in view of Anelevitz (US 9462879 B2, PGPub US 20160157598 A1 cited on PTO-892 form filed 21 February 2025).
With regards to claim 21, Tycon teaches;
The claimed “a medical testing system” has been read on the taught ([0002], “The present disclosure relates in general to batch processing trays of assay cartridges. Assay cartridges are widely used for point of care (POC) testing and laboratory testing.”; The batch processing of cartridges for laboratory testing reads on a medical testing system.);
The claimed “a processor having an associated memory” has been read on the taught ([0020], “…the system has a processor with a memory.”);
The claimed “a timer tray comprising a plurality of cassette holders, each of the plurality of cassette holders configured for receiving a cassette including medical material for testing” has been read on the taught ([0029], “The batch processing tray 250 as illustrated has a base 201, a raised back panel 202 and multiple lanes 210, each lane configured to receive a cartridge 100.”; Batch processing tray 250 reads on a timer tray. Multiple lanes 210 reads on a plurality of cassette holders. The lanes configured for receiving a cassette including medical material for testing reads on the cassette holders being configured for receiving a cassette.);
The claimed “the processor configured to download and store in the associated memory a downloaded preset timing value associated with at least a first cassette holder” has been read on the taught ([0040], “Inputs 420 into the batch processor unit include, but are not limited to: […] 4) the information regarding the assay time (e.g., incubation time, flex-time, etc.)…”; [0038], “Additionally, the batch processing tray 250 may contain ethernet or wireless capabilities, enabling the batch processing tray to be remotely updated. Such capabilities would enable the tray to handle assay cartridges for new assay types as the assay reader menu is expanded over time.”; [0020], “Optionally, the system has a processor with a memory. In those embodiments where the system has a processor, […] the processor, based on code information for the cartridge, assigns a processing time to the lane in which the cartridge is placed and communicates the processing time to the timer…”; The processor with a memory which receives an input to assign processing time to a timer reads on downloading and storing a preset timing value. The wireless capabilities for remote updating reads on downloading.);
The claimed “a programming switch on the timer tray, the programming switch communicating with the processor, the processor configured to place the plurality of cassette holders in a programming mode when the programming switch is activated” has been read on the taught ([0034], “The timer can be programmed manually by the operator…”; [0037], “The interface can be a touch screen, or have dials or buttons or any other type of switch to interface with the user.”; A switch to interface with an operator reads on a programming switch. The timer being manually programmed by the operator reads on a programming mode.);
The claimed “the processor configured to, i) when a user sets a programmed timing value using controls on the medical testing system during the programming mode, specify the programmed timing value as a determined timing value for at least the first cassette holder” has been read on the taught ([0034], “The timer can be programmed manually by the operator…”);
The claimed “the processor configured to receive input indicating activation of a first timer activation switch of the plurality of timer activation switches and further configured to trigger, as soon as the input is received, a first timer of the plurality of timers for timing processing of the medical material of a cassette in a cassette holder associated with the first timer activation switch, based on the determined timing value” has been read on the taught ([0040], “The controller 400 includes the batch processing tray processor unit 410. Inputs 420 into the batch processor unit include, but are not limited to: […] 2) the activation of the cartridge switch when the cartridge is inserted into the cartridge lane…”; [0034], “Insertion of a cartridge into one of the plurality of cartridge lanes depresses the switch (i.e., mechanical, optical), automatically starting a countdown timer 220…”; Processor unit 410 reads on a processor programmed to receive input. Automatically starting a countdown timer reads on the processor being programmed to trigger a timer as soon as the input is received.);
The claimed “a display configured to output an indicator when the first timer is expired, based on the timing value of the first timer, indicating that an incubation is complete, such that each timer is separately started by activation of the associated switch” has been read on the taught ([0033], “The timer 220 includes a timer display that displays the time that has elapsed (the timer can also be a countdown timer which shows the time remaining).”).
However, Tycon does not explicitly disclose when the user does not set a programmed timing value using controls on the medical testing system, the processor configured to specify the downloaded preset timing value as the determined timing value for at least the first cassette holder”
In the analogous art of timing devices, Anelevitz teaches;
“A timing device” as read on the taught (Column 2, line 14, “A timer initiates a time count when the removal signal is issued by the toothbrush removal sensor.”);
The claimed “when the user does not set a programmed timing value using controls on the medical testing system, the processor configured to specify the downloaded preset timing value as the determined timing value for at least the first cassette holder” has been read on the taught (Column 2, line 28, “…the timer may be provided with a plurality of preset times…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tycon with the preset timing values as taught by Anelevitz. Per MPEP 2143(I)(C), use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way may be prima facie obvious. In the case of the instant invention, the prior art of Tycon teaches a medical testing system with a processor having a memory to control multiple timers, wherein the timers can be set manually or according to a digitally provided protocol, and wherein timing settings can be updated using wireless connections. The claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement,” by having a preset timing value associated with the initial system. The prior art of Anelevitz teaches a comparable device, a timing device with multiple slots and timers for timing multiple procedures, which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention, with an initial, preset timing value. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known “improvement” technique of a preset timing value in the same way to the base device of Tycon, for the predictable result of a medical timer device which is operable without requiring initial input from a user.
With regards to claim 22, the system of claim 21 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed system “further comprising a display for outputting a state of the first timer” has been read on the taught ([0033], “The batch processing tray 250 has a status light 230 that indicates when development is complete (i.e., changing color from red to green). The status lights 230 are for each lane 210.”; The status lights read on a display for outputting a state of the first timer.);
With regards to claim 23, the system of claim 22 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the display comprises a multi-color light, and each of a plurality of states of the timer corresponds to a different color of the multi-color light” has been read on the taught ([0033], “The batch processing tray 250 has a status light 230 that indicates when development is complete (i.e., changing color from red to green). The status lights 230 are for each lane 210.”; The display changing color reads on a multi-color light. The status light indicating that development is complete reads on the correspondence between the states of the timer and the color of the light.).
With regards to claim 25, the system of claim 22 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the state of the first timer indicates a status of the processing, the status including active processing, processing complete and medical material ready, processing complete and medical material expired” has been read on the taught ([0013], “The batch processing tray automatically times the development of an assay cartridge... The batch processing tray may then indicate when development is complete, including an indication of additional time that has elapsed beyond the allotted development time…”; “Development” reads on active processing, “Development complete” reads on processing complete and medical material ready, and the “additional time that has elapsed beyond the allotted development time” reads on processing complete and medical material expired).
The claim language of “wherein the state of the first timer indicates a status of processing, the status including…” is functional language describing the intended use of the device. Please see MPEP 2114(II), and Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Accordingly, this limitation has been given the appropriate patentable weight.
With regards to claim 26, the system of claim 21 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the medical material is on a test strip, and the processing comprises incubation of the medical material, prior to reading a result of a test” has been read on the taught ([0017], “Once the batch processing tray has determined that the incubation of the assay cartridge is complete […] the cartridge can be moved from the batch processing tray to a cartridge reader.”; An assay cartridge reads on a test strip. The incubation reads on the processing comprising incubation of the medical material. The incubation occurring before the cartridge is moved to a cartridge reader reads on the processing occurring prior to reading a result of a test).
The claim language of “the processing comprises incubation of the medical material, prior to reading a result of a test” is functional language describing the intended use of the device. Please see MPEP 2114(II), and Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Accordingly, this limitation has been given the appropriate patentable weight.
With regards to claim 27, the system of claim 21 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the switch is automatically activated when the cassette is placed in the cassette holder” has been read on the taught ([0033], “Once seated in a lane, a switch 231 is activated. […] This also activates a timer 220 to automatically time the development of an assay cartridge upon the placement of a cartridge into the tray.”).
With regards to claim 28, the system of claim 26 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the switch is deactivated when the cassette is removed from the cassette holder” has been read on the taught ([0046], “Once the user removes the cartridge, processing for that lane terminates.”; [0030] and [0031] teach the use of mechanical or optical switches, which detect both presence and absence of a cartridge.).
With regards to claim 29, the system of claim 21 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the timer is one of a countdown timer or a count-up timer” has been read on the taught ([0033], “The timer 220 includes a timer display that displays the time that has elapsed (the timer can also be a countdown timer which shows the time remaining).”).
With regards to claim 31, the system of claim 21 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed system further comprising “the processor configured to trigger a second timer when the first time is expired, the second timer to determine when the medical material is expired and can no longer be read” has been read on the taught ([0014], “The batch processing tray indicates to the operator when the timed steps are complete, including an indication of time elapsed after the prescribed duration of assay cartridge development (flex-time), to prevent excessive assay development.”; The indication of time elapsed reads on the triggering of a second timer.).
The claim language of “the second timer expiring when the medical material is expired and can no longer be read” is functional language describing the intended use of the device. Please see MPEP 2114(II), and Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Accordingly, this limitation has been given the appropriate patentable weight.
With regards to claim 41, Tycon teaches;
The claimed “a medical testing system” has been read on the taught ([0002], “The present disclosure relates in general to batch processing trays of assay cartridges. Assay cartridges are widely used for point of care (POC) testing and laboratory testing.”; The batch processing of cartridges for laboratory testing reads on a medical testing system.);
The claimed “a processor” has been read on the taught ([0020], “…the system has a processor with a memory.”);
The claimed “a plurality of cassette holders, each cassette holder configured to receive a cassette including medical material for testing” has been read on the taught ([0029], “The batch processing tray 250 as illustrated has […] multiple lanes 210, each lane configured to receive a cartridge 100.”; Multiple lanes 210 reads on a plurality of cassette holders. The lanes configured for receiving a cassette including medical material for testing reads on the cassette holders being configured for receiving a cassette.);
The claimed “a plurality of activation switches, each activation switch indicating that a cassette has been inserted into an associated one of the plurality of cassette holders” has been read on the taught ([0033], “Once seated in a lane, a switch 231 is activated. This registers the placement of a cartridge in a particular lane.”);
The claimed “a programming switch on the timer tray, the programming switch communicating with the processor configured to place the plurality of cassette holders in a programming mode when the programming switch is activated” has been read on the taught ([0034], “The timer can be programmed manually by the operator…”; [0037], “The interface can be a touch screen, or have dials or buttons or any other type of switch to interface with the user.”; A switch to interface with an operator reads on a programming switch. The timer being manually programmed by the operator reads on a programming mode.);
The claimed “a plurality of timers, each for timing a processing of the medical material in a cassette in an associated cassette holder” has been read on the taught ([0033], “This also activates a timer 220 to automatically time the development of an assay cartridge upon the placement of a cartridge into the tray.”);
The claimed “the processor configured to communicate with the plurality of timers to set a determined timing value for ones of the plurality of timers” has been read on the taught ([0020], “…the processor, based on code information for the cartridge, assigns a processing time to the lane in which the cartridge is placed and communicates the processing time to the timer…”);
The claimed “the processor further configured to specify the determined timing value comprising […] a programmed timing value when a user sets the programmed timing value using controls on the medical testing system during the programming mode” has been read on the taught ([0034], “The timer can be programmed manually by the operator…”);
The claimed “a programming switch on the timer tray, the programming switch communicating with the processor configured to place the plurality of cassette holders in a programming mode when the programming switch is activated” and “the processor to set a timing value for one or more of the plurality of timers, wherein the timing value comprises one of a programmed timing value set by a user using controls on the medical testing system during the programming mode” have been read on the taught ([0034], “The timer can be programmed manually by the operator…”; [0037], “The interface can be a touch screen, or have dials or buttons or any other type of switch to interface with the user.”; A switch to interface with an operator reads on a programming switch. The timer being manually programmed by the operator reads on a programming mode.);
The claimed “the processor configured to receive an input indicating that the processing has started in one or more of the plurality of cassette holders by activation of the respective one or more plurality of switches of the one or more cassette holders, and further configured to trigger one or more of the plurality of timers the as soon as the input has been received, one or more associated timers of timing the processing of the medical material of the associated cassette holders, based on timing values of the plurality of timers” has been read on the taught ([0040], “The controller 400 includes the batch processing tray processor unit 410. Inputs 420 into the batch processor unit include, but are not limited to: […] 2) the activation of the cartridge switch when the cartridge is inserted into the cartridge lane…”; [0034], “Insertion of a cartridge into one of the plurality of cartridge lanes depresses the switch (i.e., mechanical, optical), automatically starting a countdown timer 220…”; Processor unit 410 reads on a processor programmed to receive an input. Automatically starting a countdown timer reads on the processor being programmed to trigger a timer as soon as the input is received.).
However, Tycon does not explicitly disclose “the processor further configured to specify the determined timing value comprising a preset timing value when no programming is received.”
In the analogous art of timing devices, Anelevitz teaches;
“A timing device” as read on the taught (Column 2, line 14, “A timer initiates a time count when the removal signal is issued by the toothbrush removal sensor.”);
The claimed “the processor further configured to specify the determined timing value comprising a preset timing value when no programming is received” has been read on the taught (Column 2, line 28, “…the timer may be provided with a plurality of preset times…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tycon with the preset timing values as taught by Anelevitz. Per MPEP 2143(I)(C), use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way may be prima facie obvious. In the case of the instant invention, the prior art of Tycon teaches a medical testing system with a processor having a memory to control multiple timers, wherein the timers can be set manually or according to a digitally provided protocol, and wherein timing settings can be updated using wireless connections. The claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement,” by having a preset timing value associated with the initial system. The prior art of Anelevitz teaches a comparable device, a timing device with multiple slots and timers for timing multiple procedures, which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention, with an initial, preset timing value. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known “improvement” technique of a preset timing value in the same way to the base device of Tycon, for the predictable result of a medical timer device which is operable without requiring initial input from a user.
With regards to claim 42, the system of claim 41 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the processing comprises an incubation time and a readability period prior to an expiration of the medical material” has been read on the taught ([0013], “The batch processing tray automatically times the development of an assay cartridge... The batch processing tray may then indicate when development is complete, including an indication of additional time that has elapsed beyond the allotted development time…”; Timing the development of an assay cartridge reads on an incubation time. The additional time that has elapsed beyond the allotted development time reads on a readability period.).
The claim language of “wherein the processing comprises an incubation time and a readability period prior to an expiration of the medical material” is functional language describing the intended use of the device. Please see MPEP 2114(II), and Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Accordingly, this limitation has been given the appropriate patentable weight.
With regards to claim 43, the system of claim 42 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein a second timer period to indicate the readability period is automatically started after an expiration of a first timer period for the incubation time” has been read on the taught ([0014], “The batch processing tray indicates to the operator when the timed steps are complete, including an indication of time elapsed after the prescribed duration of assay cartridge development (flex-time), to prevent excessive assay development.”; The indication of time elapsed reads on the second timer being automatically started.).
With regards to claim 44, the system of claim 41 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed “a plurality of timer displays, each timer display associated with one of the plurality of cassette holders to indicate a status of the medical material, wherein the timer display indicates that the medical material status is: incubating, ready for reading, or expired” has been read on the taught ([0036], “In the illustrated embodiment each lane 210 is provided with a status light 230. […] In one example the status light could be on constantly during development/incubation, blinking during flex-time, and off when the flex-time has been exceeded.”; Incubation reads on “incubating”, flex-time reads on “ready for reading”, and flex-time has been exceeded reads on “expired.”);
The claim language of “wherein the timer display indicates that the medical material status is: incubating, ready for reading, or expired” is functional language describing the intended use of the device. Please see MPEP 2114(II), and Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Accordingly, this limitation has been given the appropriate patentable weight.
With regards to claim 47, the system of claim 31 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the processor is further configured to download the preset timer value from an external computer” has been read on the taught ([0038], “Additionally, the batch processing tray 250 may contain ethernet or wireless capabilities, enabling the batch processing tray to be remotely updated. Such capabilities would enable the tray to handle assay cartridges for new assay types as the assay reader menu is expanded over time.”).
With regards to claim 48, the system of claim 41 is obvious over Tycon in view of Anelevitz.
Tycon additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein the processor is further configured to download the preset timer value from an external computer” has been read on the taught ([0038], “Additionally, the batch processing tray 250 may contain ethernet or wireless capabilities, enabling the batch processing tray to be remotely updated. Such capabilities would enable the tray to handle assay cartridges for new assay types as the assay reader menu is expanded over time.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zin et al (US 20150301031 A1) teaches a medical test device with a processor which downloads test instructions.
Jackson et al (US 11974721 B2) teaches a medical equipment processor which includes a timer having preset intervals.
Luebke et al (US 20050278519 A1) teaches a timer which communicates with a wireless server.
/ALISON CLAIRE GERHARD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1797 /LYLE ALEXANDER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1797