DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
In light of Applicant’s amendment objections to claims 1 and 4 have been withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 12/15/2025, with respect to claims 1, 10, 15 and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 (b)
of 09/18/2025 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Statutory category
Claim 1 is directed to a “method” and therefore recites a process. Claims 15 recites an device, therefore , is an apparatus category. Claims 18 recite non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising at least one processor, which fall within manufacture category. Thus, the claims fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A Prong I Judicial exception
Under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, each independent claim is evaluated to determine whether it recites a judicial exception, including abstract ideas such as mental processes and mathematical concept and method of organizing human activity, which have been recognized as abstract idea. Thus, the analysis moves towards step 2A, Prong II.
For this analysis, generic references to “a device” (Claim 1), “natural language processing” (Claim 1), “processor” (Claim 15), and “non-transitory computer readable medium” (Claim 18) are disregarded, and the focus is on the remaining substantive language.
For claim 1, 15 and 18, once the generic computer implementation language is removed, the method recites that it:
Receiving…a set of words;
Receiving code words from a person.
Determining…a scene of the user;
A person “X” A person “Y” have a set of pre-defined code word associated with locations to indicate his/her location to the other person. Ex. if the person “X” say “I am in blue today” to the other person “Y”, wherein “blue” color indicates that person “X” is at home.
Identifying…a proof of work (POW) problem;
-Person Y, identifying/think of any math problem/calculations/equations/puzzle/pattern to solve by person “X” in order to authenticate the person “X”,
Presenting…the POW problem to the user;
Verbally stating Person “Y” provide math problem/calculations/equations/puzzle/pattern to the person “X”.
Receiving…a solution from the user to the POW problem;
-Person “X” can solve the math problem/calculations/equations/puzzle/pattern in mind or using pen and paper and person “X” provide ” verbally or using pen and paper that solutions/answers to the person “Y”.
Analyzing… the solution;
-Person “Y can check the correctness of the provided solutions/answers in mind or using pen and paper.
Determining…whether access…is granted;
Based on provided answers/solutions, person “Y “ can determine whether to permit an access to anything (ex. access to the room or building gate)?
enabling access…;
-If person “Y” decided to permit the access to the person “X” into to the building, person “Y” can press a button to open (enable) the gate of the building or to open the door of a room.
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong I of the 2019 Guidance, independent claims 1, 15 and 18 each recite an abstract idea in the form of mental processes, mathematical concept and method of organizing human activity, even when generic references to electronic or computer implementation are disregarded.
Step 2A Prong II Integration into a practical application:
Under Step 2A Prong II, the claims are evaluated to determine whether any additional elements, viewed individually and in combination, integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application.
In claim 1, the elements beyond the abstract mental steps or method of organizing human activity are that the method steps are implemented “Claim 1 is further analyzed in step 2A prong 2, to evaluate whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. However, each of the remaining limitation “a device,” “natural language processing”, “processor” and “non-transitory computer readable medium” appears to be generic computer functions which do not constitute meaningful limitations that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The combination of these additional element is no more than generic computer functions. Thus, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea.
Independent claims 1, 15 and 18 therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A Prong II.
Step 2B Inventive concept:
Under Step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of elements, amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself, that is, whether there is an inventive concept. As discussed above, the additional elements in the independent claims consist of generic computer components such as processors, non-transitory computer readable media, and a computer device, natural language processing as well as the statement that the abstract scheme is used in an anonymous credential system. The specification describes these components at a high level as conventional computing devices suitable for executing instructions. Implementing the recited abstract operations of
Receiving…a set of words;
Receiving code words from a person.
Determining…a scene of the user;
A person “X” A person “Y” have a set of pre-defined code word associated with locations to indicate his/her location to the other person. Ex. if the person “X” say “I am in blue today” to the other person “Y”, wherein “blue” color indicates that person “X” is at home.
Identifying…a proof of work (POW) problem;
-Person Y, identifying/think of any math problem/calculations/equations/puzzle/pattern to solve by person “X” in order to authenticate the person “X”,
Presenting…the POW problem to the user;
Verbally stating Person “Y” provide math problem/calculations/equations/puzzle/pattern to the person “X”.
Receiving…a solution from the user to the POW problem;
-Person “X” can solve the math problem/calculations/equations/puzzle/pattern in mind or using pen and paper and person “X” provide ” verbally or using pen and paper that solutions/answers to the person “Y”.
Analyzing… the solution;
-Person “Y can check the correctness of the provided solutions/answers in mind or using pen and paper.
Determining…whether access…is granted;
Based on provided answers/solutions, person “Y “ can determine whether to permit an access to anything (ex. access to the room or building gate)?
enabling access…;
-If person “Y” decided to permit the access to the person “X” into to the building, person “Y” can press a button to open (enable) the gate of the building or to open the door of a room.
Independent claims 1, 15 and 18 therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2B.
Regarding Claim 2, further recites: “receiving the set of words…receiving an invocation word and a closing word” These limitations merely elaborate on the abstract idea identified in the independent claims. Simply receiving the set of words…and receiving an invocation word and a closing word. No additional elements are introduced in claim 2 that would integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As a whole, claim 2 fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application is found non‐statutory under 35 U.S.C. 101 with the addition of the abstract idea.
Regarding Claims 3, 16 and 19 recites: the additional abstract idea of “Receiving…the invocation word; Outputting….in response to the invocation word, the first system word; Outputting…after outputting the first system word, the second system word; and receiving…the closing word”. However, the additionally cited abstract ideas fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because it merely applies some generic action to the system of claim 2 and merely can be considered mathematical concept, mental process and/or using pen and paper and method of organizing human activity.
Regarding Claim 4 and Claim 5: Claims 4-5 do not add any additional abstract ideas or elements as already present, respectively, in claims 1-3. For that reason, claims 4-5 are rejected using the same rational as claims 1-3.
Regarding Claim 6 recites: the additional abstract idea of “receiving the set of words provided…detecting spoken words…”. However, the additionally cited abstract ideas fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because it merely applies some generic action to the system of claim 1 and merely can be considered mathematical concept and/or mental process and/or using pen and paper and method of organizing human activity.
Regarding Claims 7, 17 and 20 recites: the additional abstract idea of “identifying…a type of POW problem based on the scene; and randomly selecting…a specific POW problem”. However, the additionally cited abstract ideas fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because it merely applies some generic action to the system of claim 1 and merely can be considered mathematical concept and/or mental process and/or using pen and paper and method of organizing human activity.
Regarding Claim 8 recites: the additional abstract idea of “POW problem requests a calculation or manipulation…”. However, the additionally cited abstract ideas fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because it merely applies some generic action to the system of claim 1 and merely can be considered mathematical concept and/or mental process and/or using pen and paper and method of organizing human activity.
Regarding Claim 9 recites: the additional abstract idea of “determination related to the solution is based on the value”. However, the additionally cited abstract ideas fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because it merely applies some generic action to the system of claim 1 and merely can be considered mathematical concept and/or mental process and/or using pen and paper and method of organizing human activity.
Regarding Claim 10 recites: the additional abstract idea of “performing multi-factor authentication (MFA) processing”. However, the additionally cited abstract ideas fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because it merely applies some generic action to the system of claim 1 and merely can be considered mathematical concept and/or mental process and/or using pen and paper and method of organizing human activity.
Regarding Claim 12 recites: the additional abstract idea of “…enables the user to perform create, read, update, delete (CRUD) operations”. However, the additionally cited abstract ideas fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because it merely applies some generic action to the system of claim 1 and merely can be considered mathematical concept and/or mental process and/or using pen and paper and method of organizing human activity.
Regarding Claim 14: Claim 14 do not add any additional abstract ideas or elements as already present, respectively, in claims 1. For that reason, claim 14 are rejected using the same rational as claims 1-3.
Accordingly, independent claims 1, 15 and 18, and dependent claims 2-14, 16-17 and 19-20 that stand with them, do not recite an inventive concept sufficient to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application. The claims are therefore directed to an abstract idea and fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al. (U. S. Pat. No. 10,699,707 B2) (hereinafter “James”) in view of Feng et al (U. S. PGPub. No. 2011/0231913 A1) (hereinafter “Feng”);
Regarding claim 1, James system teaches:
receiving, by a device, a set of words provided by a user (James: [Col 2, lines 52-55], a voice utterance can be received from a user of a control device. The voice utterance can be a command (=set of words) spoken by a user proximate the user device configured to control one or more smart devices. [Col 4, lines 4-7], The general language model can include a plurality of common phrases and can correlate probability estimates with each phrase. Each phrase can contain a sequence of one or more words) ,
a portion of the received set of words being in response to a portion of a set of words provided by the device [Col 4, lines 7], Each phrase (=a portion of set of words) can contain a sequence of one or more words. [Col 7, lines 6-10], Control device 102 can be any suitable device configured to monitor for and receive a voice utterance from a user. As indicated, the voice utterance can be a sentence or phrase (=a portion of set of words) spoken by the user with the intent of controlling one or more smart devices)
determining, by the device and via natural language processing, a scene of the user (James: (Col 5, lines 53-67], For instance, in response to receiving a voice utterance from a user, a location of the user can be determined. The location can be determined using various suitable location determination techniques. The location determination technique can be determined based at least in part on the control device to which the user provides the voice utterance. [Col 5, lines 62-67], (16) The voice utterance can be interpreted to determine a control command intended by the user for one or more smart devices. In this regard, speech recognition (examiner note: speech recognitions uses natural language processing) can be performed on the voice utterance based at least in part on the device topology representation. For instance, data indicative of the voice utterance can be provided to one or more language models to determine a transcription of the voice utterance) based (James: [Col 6, lines 10-14], in response to receiving a transcription that reads “turn on the lights (=a content of the set of words),” the user location can be determined and mapped to one or more rooms and/or structures specified in the device topology representation to determine the structure and room in which the user is located.
James does not disclose:
identifying, by the device, a proof of work (POW) problem based on the determined scene, the POW problem being based on the current type of surrounding of the user;
presenting, by the device, the POW problem to the user;
receiving, by the device, a solution from the user to the POW problem;
analyzing, by the device, the solution, and determining, based on the analysis, whether access to a network resource is granted;
and enabling access, by the device over a network, to the network resource based on the access determination, wherein access is enabled when the solution is determined to be correct.
However, in an analogous art, Feng teaches:
identifying, by the device, a proof of work (POW) problem based on the determined scene (Feng: [0022] Proof-of-work or client puzzle systems consist of three distinct parts. The issuer generates and delivers a puzzle to the client on behalf of the server. [0032] The location component is any variable based on a place, position, activity, or situation),the POW problem being based on the current type of surrounding of the user (Feng: [0024] The invention efficiently issues and validates multiple proof-of-work computational puzzles from a single proof-of-work puzzle, specifically a time-lock puzzle. The issuer or server generates p and q, two large prime numbers as well as a difficulty t that determines the amount of work a client must perform. The server then calculates the modulus n=p.times.q, randomly selects a number a, and sends the client a, t, and n. The client must then return an answer A such that A=a.sup.(2 t) mod n. The server can check that A is correct by performing a short-cut computation.phi.=(p-1).times.(q-1), r=2.sup.t mod .phi., and A'=a.sup.r mod n. If A matches A', then the client has performed the computation accurate).
presenting, by the device, the POW problem to the user (Feng: [0022], The issuer generates and delivers a puzzle to the client on behalf of the server);
receiving, by the device, a solution from the user to the POW problem (Feng: [0022], The solver generates solutions to puzzles received by the client);
analyzing, by the device, the solution, and determining, based on the analysis, whether access to a network resource is granted (Feng: [0022], The verifier denies or accepts solutions sent to the server based on their freshness and validity);
and enabling access, by the device over a network, to the network resource based on the access determination, wherein access is enabled when the solution is determined to be correct (Feng: [0022], If the server receives a request without a valid puzzle or an incorrect answer, the request is ignored and a valid puzzle is sent to the client. The puzzle given to the client has a difficulty setting that determines how much computation it must perform before generating an answer. After receiving and solving the puzzle, the client attaches both the puzzle and answer when resending the request. Upon receiving the answer, the server verifies its correctness before allowing the client access).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify James’s method of receiving a voice utterance from the user and determining the current location of the user by applying Feng’s method of allowing the access to the application or some information or site by using challenge-response authentication relating to cryptographic puzzles or proof-of-work puzzles whose difficulty is based on one or more time component, location component, reputation component, usage component, content component, and social networking component, in order to prevent a denial-of-service ("DoS") attack or distributed denial-of-service ("DDoS") attack (Feng: [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
identifying, by the device, a type of POW problem based on the scene (Feng: [0002], proof-of-work puzzles--whose difficulty (=examiner is interpreting that type of POW problems are the difficulty of the POW puzzles which is depend on given components below) is based on one or more time component, location component (=scene), reputation component, usage component, content component, and social networking component. [0022], The issuer generates and delivers a puzzle to the client on behalf of the server. [0029] Computational puzzles are parameterized by a difficulty variable. The invention assigns the computational puzzle difficulty (=type of POW problem) based on at least one component selected from the group of components comprising of: time component, location component, reputation component, usage component, content component, and social networking component. [0063], a server-side issuer that creates and delivers a puzzle to the client, a client-side solver that generates and returns a puzzle solution to the server, and a server-side verifier that denies or accepts solutions based on validity. An obstacle to the deployment of proof-of-work puzzles within computer systems is that they require modifications to end hosts, network protocols, or routers).
and randomly selecting, by the device, a specific POW problem from a set of POW problems of the identified type (Feng: [0022], Based on their current and past behavior, they are then issued puzzles of appropriate difficulty. The puzzle difficulty is expressed in terms of units of work, which are uniform-length computations such as the execution of a hash function. A proof-of-work scheme alters the operation of a network protocol so that a client must return their puzzle along with a correct answer before being granted service. [0043] To tackle the problem of online ticket robots and change the economics for scalpers employing them, a web-based proof-of-work mechanism issues client-specific puzzles with difficulty determined as a function of the client's geographic distance from the event…The invention leverages modern Internet Protocol geolocation databases--which are 90% accurate in resolving the geographic location of each client to within 25 miles--and adaptively issues distant clients more difficult puzzles).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify James’s method of receiving a voice utterance from the user and determining the current location of the user by applying Feng’s method of presenting POW problem to the user based on determined surrounding, in order to match the amount of work a client performs with the level of protection a server might require and to prevent the proof-of-work mechanism from becoming a target for attack (Feng: [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the POW problem requests a calculation or manipulation by the user, wherein a value of the calculation or manipulation is preset by the user (Feng: [0024] The invention efficiently issues and validates multiple proof-of-work computational puzzles from a single proof-of-work puzzle, specifically a time-lock puzzle. The issuer or server generates p and q, two large prime numbers as well as a difficulty t that determines the amount of work a client must perform. The server then calculates the modulus n=p.times.q, randomly selects a number a, and sends the client a, t, and n. The client must then return an answer A such that A=a.sup.(2 t) mod n. The server can check that A is correct by performing a short-cut computation.phi.=(p-1).times.(q-1), r=2.sup.t mod .phi., and A'=a.sup.r mod n. If A matches A', then the client has performed the computation accurate).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify James’s method of receiving a voice utterance from the user and determining the current location of the user by applying Feng’s method of calculation solution provided by the user, in order to validate the solution of the POW problem provided by the user (Feng: [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above),
wherein the determination related to the solution is based on the value (Feng: [0022], The puzzle difficulty is expressed in terms of units of work, which are uniform-length computations such as the execution of a hash function. A proof-of-work scheme alters the operation of a network protocol so that a client must return their puzzle along with a correct answer before being granted service. If the server receives a request without a valid puzzle or an incorrect answer, the request is ignored and a valid puzzle is sent to the client. The puzzle given to the client has a difficulty setting that determines how much computation it must perform before generating an answer. After receiving and solving the puzzle, the client attaches both the puzzle and answer when resending the request. Upon receiving the answer, the server verifies its correctness before allowing the client access. [0063] Proof-of-work mechanisms consist of three subcomponents: a server-side issuer that creates and delivers a puzzle to the client, a client-side solver that generates and returns a puzzle solution to the server, and a server-side verifier that denies or accepts solutions based on validity)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify James’s method of receiving a voice utterance from the user and determining the current location of the user by applying Feng’s method of determining solution of the POW problem provided by the user, in order to validate the solution of the POW problem provided by the user (Feng: [0003]).
Regarding claim 15, James teaches:
a processor configured to (James: [Col 18, lines 14-27], (78) The one or more processors 712 can include any suitable processing device, such as a microprocessor, microcontroller, integrated circuit, logic device, or other suitable processing device. The one or more memory devices 714 can include one or more computer-readable media, including, but not limited to, non-transitory computer-readable media, RAM, ROM, hard drives, flash drives, or other memory devices. The one or more memory devices 714 can store information accessible by the one or more processors 712, including computer-readable instructions 716 that can be executed by the one or more processors 712. The instructions 716 can be any set of instructions that when executed by the one or more processors 712, cause the one or more processors 712 to perform operations):
This claim contains identical limitations found within that of claim 1 above albeit directed to a different statutory category (device medium). For this reason the same grounds of rejection are applied to claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, this claim contains limitations found within that of claim 3, and the same rationale of rejection is used where applicable.
Regarding claim 17, this claim contains limitations found within that of claim 7, and the same rationale of rejection is used where applicable.
Regarding claim 18, James teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium tangibly encoded with instructions (James: [Col 18, lines 17-21], The one or more memory devices 714 can include one or more computer-readable media, including, but not limited to, non-transitory computer-readable media, RAM, ROM, hard drives, flash drives, or other memory devices), that when executed by a processor of a device, perform a method comprising (James: [Col 18, lines 14-27], (78) The one or more processors 712 can include any suitable processing device, such as a microprocessor, microcontroller, integrated circuit, logic device, or other suitable processing device. The one or more memory devices 714 can include one or more computer-readable media, including, but not limited to, non-transitory computer-readable media, RAM, ROM, hard drives, flash drives, or other memory devices. The one or more memory devices 714 can store information accessible by the one or more processors 712, including computer-readable instructions 716 that can be executed by the one or more processors 712. The instructions 716 can be any set of instructions that when executed by the one or more processors 712, cause the one or more processors 712 to perform operations):
This claim contains identical limitations found within that of claim 1 and 15 above albeit directed to a different statutory category (non-transitory medium). For this reason the same grounds of rejection are applied to claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, this claim contains limitations found within that of claim 3 and 16, and the same rationale of rejection is used where applicable.
Regarding claim 20, this claim contains limitations found within that of claim 7 and 17, and the same rationale of rejection is used where applicable.
Claim(s) 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al. (U. S. Pat. No. 10,699,707 B2) (hereinafter “James”) in view of Feng et al (U. S. PGPub. No. 2011/0231913 A1) (hereinafter “Feng”); and in further view of Garner, IV et al (U. S. Pat. No. 10,979,423 B1) (hereinafter “Garner IV”)
Regarding claim 2, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
The above cited combination of James in view of Feng does not explicitly teaches:
wherein receiving the set of words provided by the user comprises receiving an invocation word and a closing word, wherein the set of words output by the device comprise a first system word and a second system word.
However, in an analogous art, Garner, IV teaches:
wherein receiving the set of words provided by the user comprises receiving an invocation word (Garner, IV: [Col 4, lines 36-40], the user 105 may request an account balance for a brokerage account held by a financial institution providing a financial services service to a voice-enabled assistant by speaking “what is the balance of my brokerage account?” (=Invocation word) and a closing word (Garner, IV: [Col 4, lines 61-65], (22) The authentication engine 115 may receive the second description of the first audio segment from the device 110 of the user 105 in response to the transmission of the first audio segment. For example, the user may respond to the prompt for a description by saying “That is my dog, Spot, barking” (=Closing word)), wherein the set of words output by the device comprise a first system word and a second system word (Garner, IV : [Col 4, lines 43-47], (21) In response to receiving the request for authentication, the output generator 135 may transmit the first audio segment to the device 110 to be played for the user 105. For example, the audio file including the barking dog may be played to the user 105 using the device 110).
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify James in view of Feng by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Garner, IV of receiving and sending audio segments using interactive audio communication between user and the system in order to authenticate the user. The motivation is to provide service authentication may allow the user to verify the system being interacted with is authentic (e.g., the service with which they intend to interact with, etc.) to reduce the incidence of phishing and other malicious data collection techniques (Garner, IV: [Col 2, lines 12,16]).
Regarding claim 3, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above),
receiving, by the device from the user, the invocation word (Garner, IV: [Col 4, lines 36-40], the user 105 may request an account balance for a brokerage account held by a financial institution providing a financial services service to a voice-enabled assistant by speaking “what is the balance of my brokerage account?” (=Invocation word);
outputting, by the device in response to the invocation word, the first system word (Garner, IV : [Col 4, lines 43-47], (21) In response to receiving the request for authentication, the output generator 135 may transmit the first audio segment to the device 110 to be played for the user 105. For example, the audio file including (=first system word) the barking dog may be played to the user 105 using the device 110).
outputting, by the device, after outputting the first system word, the second system word (Garner, IV: [Col 4, lines 70-56], For example, the device 110 may output audio stating “please provide a description for the audio you just heard.”(=Second system word). In response, and knowing that the audio was a clip provided by the user 105, the user 105 may speak a description of the audio that has just been output)
and receiving, by the device from the user, the closing word (Garner, IV: [Col 4, lines 61-65], (22) The authentication engine 115 may receive the second description of the first audio segment from the device 110 of the user 105 in response to the transmission of the first audio segment. For example, the user may respond to the prompt for a description by saying “That is my dog, Spot, barking” (=Closing word)),
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify James in view of Feng by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Garner, IV of receiving and sending audio segments using interactive audio communication between user and the system in order to authenticate the user. The motivation is to provide service authentication may allow the user to verify the system being interacted with is authentic (e.g., the service with which they intend to interact with, etc.) to reduce the incidence of phishing and other malicious data collection techniques (Garner, IV: [Col 2, lines 12,16]).
Regarding claim 4, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above),
wherein the set of words provided by the user and the set of words provided by the device are associated with a predefined list of words (James: [Col 3, lines 20-29], (13) The user can assign one or more identifiers to the smart devices within the device topology representation. The identifiers can be chosen by the user and associated with the respective smart devices within the device topology representation. The identifier(s) can include nicknames and/or aliases selected for the smart devices by the user (e.g. couch lamp, front door lock, bedroom speaker, etc (=examiner interpreting these identifier as “predefined list of words”). In this manner, the identifiers can be names or aliases of the respective smart devices that the user is likely to use when providing voice utterances for controlling the smart devices)
wherein the list is part of a collection of lists accessible over the network, wherein the list is identifiable by the invocation word (James: [Col 8, lines 27-35], (33) FIG. 3 depicts a block diagram of an example device topology representation 116 according to example embodiments of the present disclosure. The device topology representation 116 defines a topology of a plurality of smart devices within a plurality of structures associated with the user. In particular, the structures include a main home 152, a beach house 154, and an office 156 (=locations) associated with the user).
Regarding claim 5, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above),
wherein each list of the collection of lists corresponds to a type of scene respective type of surrounding of a plurality of types of surroundings (James: [Col 5, lines 61-65], For instance, control device is a smart device that is specified in the device topology representation, the user location can be mapped to the structure and/or room to which the control device is assigned in the device topology representation. [Col 3, lines 20-29], (13) The user can assign one or more identifiers to the smart devices within the device topology representation. The identifiers can be chosen by the user and associated with the respective smart devices within the device topology representation. The identifier(s) can include nicknames and/or aliases selected for the smart devices by the user (e.g. couch lamp, front door lock, bedroom speaker, etc (=examiner interpreting these identifier as “predefined list of words” .). In this manner, the identifiers can be names or aliases of the respective smart devices that the user is likely to use when providing voice utterances for controlling the smart devices
wherein the plurality of types of surroundings includes at least one of type of scene is one of a public environment scene a semi-public environment scene and, or a private environment scene (James: [Col 5, lines 53-67], in response to receiving a voice utterance from a user, a location of the user can be determined. The location can be determined using various suitable location determination techniques. The location determination technique can be determined based at least in part on the control device to which the user provides the voice utterance)) [Col 8, lines 27-35], (33) FIG. 3 depicts a block diagram of an example device topology representation 116 according to example embodiments of the present disclosure. The device topology representation 116 defines a topology of a plurality of smart devices within a plurality of structures associated with the user. In particular, the structures include a main home 152, a beach house 154, and an office 156 (=locations) associated with the user).
Regarding claim 6, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
the James in view of Feng teaches does not explicitly disclose:
wherein receiving the set of words provided by the user comprises audibly detecting spoken words by the user, wherein the set of words output by the device are audibly output by the device.
However, in an analogous art, Garner, IV teaches:
wherein receiving the set of words provided by the user comprises audibly detecting spoken words by the user (Garner,IV: [Col 7, lines 39-42], A response may be received from the user (e.g., at operation 215). The response may include another audio segment, text, etc. describing the audio segment transmitted to the user device. [Col 7, lines 64-65], another audio segment may be obtained including a spoken description of the audio segment transmitted to the user.),
wherein the set of words output by the device are audibly output by the device (Garner, Vi: [Col2, lines 48-49], (11) During authentication, the audio file may be output for the user. [Col 4, lines 43-45], (21) In response to receiving the request for authentication, the output generator 135 may transmit the first audio segment to the device 110 to be played for the user 105. [Col 7, lines 37-38], The audio segment may be transmitted to a user device (e.g., at operation 210).
Claim(s) 10‐14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al. (U. S. Pat. No. 10,699,707 B2) (hereinafter “James”) in view of Feng et al (U. S. PGPub. No. 2011/0231913 A1) (hereinafter “Feng”); and further in view of Innes et al (U. S. PGPub. No 2021/0021605 A1) (hereinafter “Innes”).
Regarding claim 10, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
The James in view of Feng fails to teach:
performing multi-factor authentication (MFA) processing when the solution is determined to be not correct, wherein access to the network resource is enabled when the MFA processing is successfully completed;
Innes, in similar field of endeavor, teaches:
performing multi-factor authentication (MFA) processing when the solution is determined to be not correct, wherein access to the network resource is enabled when the MFA processing is successfully completed (Innes: [0105], provides for the use of an OTP (one time password) 620 without the use of an AD (active directory) 622 password for access to one or more applications. [0121]: provides for the user may be prompted for a personal identification number (PIN) or another credential for authentication. The client agent 703 may capture the PIN, optionally store the PIN, and send the PIN, over a network connection, to the virtual agent 723 at the server 721);
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify James in view of Feng by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Innes of for performing multifactor authentication. The motivation is to authenticate user to successfully communicate in the network in secured way and granting or denying a client device access to one or more resources in a remote computing environment (Innes: [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 11, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
The combination of James in view of Feng fails to teaches:
receiving a logout instruction from the user related to the network resource, wherein access to the device is maintained despite the user being logged out of the network resource
Innes, in similar field of endeavor, teaches:
receiving a logout instruction from the user related to the network resource, (Innes: [0103], provides for an inactivity timeout may be implemented, wherein after a policy-defined period of inactivity, a user session is terminated (may request to logout instructions. [0257], provides for a disconnect may occur while an application running in the session is actively using a file on a network share. The OS may close the network connection, causing the application to see failures on any further I/O requests it makes with open handles. [0261], provides for [0261], provides for the technique of disconnecting published apps that are incompatible with the virtual desktop context on reconnect could be applied also to the case of applications that might not cope with being disconnected from network file servers or databases or other types of resource server, or that might not cope with being forcibly closed).
wherein access to the device is maintained despite the user being logged out of the network resource (Innes: [0240], provides for a user may reconnect to a remote session (e.g., a remote application or desktop session). The reconnection may use a different authentication method and/or a different security context as the original launch. [0241], At the OS level, this authentication (e.g., re-authentication of the currently logged on session user) may be used to confirm that the session may be unlocked because the correct user is present. After confirmed that the user is the correct user, the existing session may be made accessible so that the user can see and use the user's applications).
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify James in view of Feng by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Innes of performing session timeout from the network resources and reconnect to the session using same device. The motivation is to ensure that nobody else can gain access to your account, prevent unauthorized access to the network resource and granting or denying a client device access to one or more resources in a remote computing environment (Innes: [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 12, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
The combination James in view of Feng fails to teaches:
wherein the enabled access to the network resource enables the user to perform create, read, update, delete (CRUD) operations in relation to data provided by the network resource;
Innes, in similar field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the enabled access to the network resource enables the user to perform create, read, update, delete (CRUD) operations in relation to data provided by the network resource (Innes: [0078], provides for the processing resources may be used to create information, read information, update information, delete information (CRUD Operations).
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify James in view of Feng by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Innes of performing CRUD operations by using processing resources. The motivation is the user be able access network resource and then perform desired (CRUD) operations on an enterprise system and granting or denying a client device access to one or more resources in a remote computing environment (Innes: [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 13, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
The combination of James in view of Feng fails to teaches:
performing single sign-on (SSO) on the device such that access to the device is based on the SSO;
and establishing a virtual private network (VPN) connection over the network based on the SSO;
Innes, in similar field of endeavor, teaches:
performing single sign-on (SSO) on the device such that access to the device is based on the SSO (Innes: [0081], provides for the virtual private network connections may support and enable single-sign-on authentication processes. The single-sign-on processes may allow a user to provide a single set of authentication credentials, which are then verified by an authentication service. The authentication service may then grant to the user access to multiple enterprise resources, without requiring the user to provide authentication credentials to each individual enterprise resource).
and establishing a virtual private network (VPN) connection over the network based on the SSO (Innes: [0081], provides for the mobile device may connect to enterprise resources and enterprise services through virtual private network connections. [0082], provides for the virtual private network connections established).
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify James in view of Feng by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Innes of performing SSO on the device and established VPN connection over the network. The motivation is to established VPN connection using SSO and granting or denying a client device access to one or more resources in a remote computing environment (Innes: [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 14, the James in view of Feng teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
The combination of James in view of Feng fails to teaches:
wherein the network resource is an enterprise platform;
Innes, in similar field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the network resource is an enterprise platform (Innes: [0081], provides for the mobile device may connect to enterprise resources and enterprise services at an enterprise, to the public Internet and the like).
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify James in view of Feng by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Innes of where the mobile device may connect to enterprise resources and enterprise services at an enterprise to the public internet. The motivation is to establish a remote connection with enterprise platform and perform various operation and granting or denying a client device access to one or more resources in a remote computing environment (Innes: [Abstract]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to a disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Susser: (U. S. PGPub. No. 2009/0178114 A1): An example method of accessing a computer includes receiving identification information from a user and receiving an answer to an educational query. The educational query is based on the identification information. The method limits access to a computer based on the answer, the time spend answering queries, or both.
Montgomery et al. (U. S. PGPub. No. 2014/0280944 A1): A method of automatically controlling access to applications accessible on or via a computing device is automatically performed. The method enables access, by a user, to a first application via the computing device, while concurrently disabling access to a second application. Using at least one processor, a predetermined amount of engagement by the user with the first application is detected. Responsive to the detection of the predetermined amount of engagement, access to the second application via the computing device is selectively enabled.
Kao (U. S. Pat. No. 10,469,489 B2): A computer-implemented method is described for authenticating an identity of a user requesting execution of a computerized transaction via a first client computing device. The first device and a second client computing device in proximity each execute applications for communicating with a server. The first and second devices contemporaneously capture voice sequences including at least one audible sound vocalized by the user, and a timestamp indicating when the sound is captured. The identity of the user is validated based upon a determination that the user vocalized the pass phrase, and a difference between the first timestamp and the second timestamp is below a predetermined threshold. The first device executes a computerized transaction with the server computing device upon receiving validation of the identity of the user.
/R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/ALI S ABYANEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437