DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on September 16,2025, which has been entered into the file.
By this amendment, the applicant has amended claims 1, 8, 22, and 37.
Claims 11-21, 24-26, and 30-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 27, 2023.
Claims 1-10, 22, 23, 27-29 and 37 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 22, 23, 27-29 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims 1, 22 and 37 have been amended to include the phrase “wherein an effective refractive index of each of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer is adjusted based on the first center wavelength of the first unit filter”. The specification of originally filed fails to teach how the effective index of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer be adjusted based on the first center wavelength of the first unit filter. Specially, the specification fails to teach how the adjustment is achieved.
The specification therefore fails to enable the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Najiminaini et al (US 2018/0170093 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Tsang et al (US 2013/0163005 A1) and US patent issued to van Wijk (PN. 5,381,232).
Claim 1 has been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Najiminaini et al teaches, with regard to claim 1, a pixelated Fabry-Perot filter that serve as the spectral filter that is comprised of a first unit filter (such as IF1, Figures 2(A) and 2(B)), having a first center wavelength in a first wavelength range, that is included in a first filter array (such as IF1 to IF4), comprising a plurality of first unit filters. Najiminaini et al teaches that the pixelated Fabry-Perot filter comprises a second unit filter (such as IF5) that has a second center wavelength in a second wavelength range. The first unit filter comprises two first metal layers (204 and 208) provide spaced apart from each other and may comprise a first metal, (please see paragraph [0030]), and a first cavity (206) provided between the two first metal reflective layers. The second unit filter comprises two second metal reflective layers (204 and 208) provided spaced apart from each other and comprising a second metal and a second cavity (206) provided between two second metal reflective layers.
Najiminaini et al teaches that the at least two first units filters (IF1 to IF4) are included in the first filter array comprising a plurality of first unit filters (IF1 to IF4, please see Figures 2(A) and 2(B)), and having different center wavelengths included in the first wavelength range based on the different thickness of the first cavities (206, Figures 2(A) and 2(B)).
The thickness of the cavities for the first filter units (IF1 to IF4, Figures 2(A) and 2(B)) and the thickness of the cavities for the second filter units (IF5 to IF8) are different which means the first wavelength range and the second wavelength range are different.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. It however does not teach explicitly that the first metal is different from the second metal.
Tsang in the same field of endeavor teaches an optical sensing device having an optical filter structure, serves as the spectral filter, that is comprised of a Fabry Perot filter unit serves as the first unit filter (Figure 5, for photodiode 55) having a first center wavelength in a first wavelength range, such as UV wavelength range, and a Fabry Perot filter unit serves as the second unit filter (Figure 5, for the photodiodes 51, 52 or 53) having a second center wavelength in a second wavelength range, such as ambient color wavelength range, (please see paragraph [0026]). The first unit filter is comprised of two first metal reflective layers (551 and 553, Figure 5) provided spaced apart from each other and comprising a first metal such as aluminum (Al, please see paragraph [0030]) and a first cavity (552) provided between the two first metal reflective layers. The second unit filter that is comprised of two second metal reflective layers (522 and 532, 513 and 522, or 511 and 513), spaced apart from each other and comprising a second metal such as silver (Ag, please see paragraph [0026]) and a second cavity (531, 521 or 512) between the two second metal reflective layer, (please see paragraphs [0026], [0027] and [0030]). The first metal (Al) is different from the second metal (Ag) in order for the first Fabry Perot filters and the second Fabry Perot filter to filter for different wavelength ranges such as UV wavelength range and visible wavelength range. .
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art at time of invention was made to apply the teachings of Tsang et al to modify the pixelated Fabry-Perot filter of Najiminaini et al to make the first metal different second metal for the benefit of allowing the first Fabry Perot filter units and the second Fabry Perot filter units to filter different wavelength ranges of the incident light.
Claim 1 further includes the phrase “wherein the first unit filter further comprises a first dielectric layer that is provided above the first cavity and a second dielectric layer provided below the first cavity”. Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “wherein at least one of the thickness or an effective refractive index of each of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer is adjusted based on the first center wavelength of the first unit filter”.
These references do not teach such features explicitly. Van Wijk in the same field of endeavor teaches a Fabry Perot filter that is comprised of a pair of metal mirrors or reflectors (6) separated by a gap or cavity, (3, please see Figure 5). Van Wijk teaches that each of the metal mirror has a dielectric coating (7) that covers a surface of the metal mirror (6) that is facing away from the gap or the cavity. As shown in Figure 5, a first dielectric coating or layer (7) is provided above the first cavity or gap (3) and a second dielectric coating or layer (7) that is provided below the first cavity or gap (3). Van Wijk teaches that the dielectric coating or layer may has the function of an anti-reflection, (please see column 3, lines 42-50) that leads to the advantage of peak transmittance of the Fabry-Perot etalon, (please see the abstract). The peak transmittance of the Fabry-Perot etalon corresponds to the center wavelength of the etalon or the filter unit. The dielectric coating should be transparent to the wavelength used, particularly transparent to the center wavelength of the filter unit in order to achieve high transmittance of the Fabry-Perot etalon or unit filter. Van Wijk specifically teaches that the thickness and/or the effective refractive index (n) of the dielectric layer may be in the range of 0.1l/n to 0.5l/n, which means that it is adjusted based on the first center wavelength (l) of the first unit filter, (please see column 3, lines 58-65). If the thickness, t, of the dielectric layer is in the range 0.1l/n to 0.5l/n, then this means the effective index n is in the range of 0.1l/t to 0.5l/t, which means the effective index n is adjusted based on the center wavelength of the unit filter.
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of van Wijk to provide a dielectric coating or layer deposited on a surface of the metal mirrors or reflectors of the Fabry Perot unit filter for the benefit of providing anti-reflection function to the unit filter and therefore enhance the peak transmittance of the Fabry Perot etalon or the unit filter.
Claim 1 further includes the phrase “wherein the first metal reflective layers below the first cavities are at different levels with respect to each other in the vertical direction”.
It is known in the art that for a Fabry-Perot filter, the critical factor for determining the critical wavelength that may be filtered is dependent on the refractive index value and the thickness of the cavity defined by the two reflective layers above and below the cavity. The relative position of the Fabry Perot filters does not change the filtering function of the filter. Tsang et al specifically teaches to include a plurality of Fabry Perot filters each having a pair of reflective layers and a cavity disposed between the reflective layers, (please see Figure 5) wherein the reflective layers (522, 513, 511, 551, Figure 5) each below a cavity (531, 521, 512 and 552, respectively) are at different levels with respect to each other in the vertical direction. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Tsang et al to modify the filter device to have the specific design with reflective layers below the cavities to have different levels for the benefit of providing different design since this only involves obvious matters of design choice to one skilled in the art.
With Regard to claim 2, Najiminaini et al teaches that the first unit filter and the second unit filter are provided in one dimensional or two dimensional on a plane, (please see Figures 2(A) and 2(B)).
With regard to claim 3, it is noted that the central wavelength of the Fabry-Perot filter is determined by the thickness of the cavity interposed between the two reflective layers. Tsang teaches that the first center wavelength may be in the first or ultraviolet wavelength range that is shorter than the second center wavelength that may be in the second visible wavelength. It is either implicitly true or obvious to one skilled in the art to design the first center wavelength in the first wavelength range being shorter than the second center wavelength in the second wavelength range.
With regard to claim 4, Tsang teaches that the two first metal reflective layers (551 and 553, Figure 5) comprise aluminum (Al, please see paragraph [0030]) and the two second metal reflective layers (522, 532, 513, 511) comprise silver (Ag, please see paragraph [0026]).
With regard to claim 5, Najiminaini et al teaches that the second unit filter is included in a second filter array (IF5 to IF8) comprising a plurality of second unit filters having different center wavelengths.
With regard to claim 6, Tsang teaches that the spectral response or the center wavelengths of the first and second Fabry Perot filters or the first- and second-unit filter may be adjusted by the varying the thickness of the interferometric layers or the cavities, (please see paragraph [0020]).
With regard to claim 7, Najiminaini et al teaches that the first unit filter and the second unit filter each comprises Fabry Perot filter structure with two metal layers spaced apart by a cavity (206, Figures 2(A) and 2(B)). Van Wijk teaches that each of the metal mirror has a dielectric coating (7) that covers a surface of the metal mirror (6) that is facing away from the gap or the cavity. As shown in Figure 5, a first dielectric coating or layer (7) is provided above the first cavity or gap (3) and a second dielectric coating or layer (7) that is provided below the first cavity or gap (3). Van Wijk teaches that the dielectric coating or layer may have the function of an anti-reflection, (please see column 3, lines 42-50) and the thickness and/or the effective refractive index (n) of the layer may be 0.1l/n to 0.5l/n, which means that it is adjusted base on the first center wavelength (l) of the first unit filter, (please see column 3, lines 58-65). It would then have been obvious to apply the teachings of Wijk to include a pair of dielectric layers provided above and below the cavity or gap of the second Fabry Perot filter units for the benefit of providing anti-reflection function to the filter units.
With regard to claim 8, van Wijk teaches that each of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer, third dielectric layer and fourth dielectric layer comprise a single layer or multiple layers, (please see column 3).
With regard to claim 9, van Wijk teaches that the dielectric coating or layer may have the function of an anti-reflection, (please see column 3, lines 42-50) and the thickness and/or the effective refractive index (n) of the layer may be 0.1l/n to 0.5l/n. For the wavelengths in the range of 100 nm to 700 nm, (i.e. from UV to visible light), the thickness could be about 5 nm to 170 nm for refractive index of about 2.0, which is in the claimed range.
With regard to claim 10, van Wijk teaches that the dielectric coating or layer may have the function of an anti-reflection, (please see column 3, lines 42-50) and the thickness and/or the effective refractive index (n) may be 0.1l/n to 0.5l/n, which is adjusted based on the second center wavelength of the second unit filter.
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Najiminaini et al (US 2018/0170093 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Tsang (US 2013/0163005 A1) and patent issued to van Wijk (PN. 5,381,232)
Claim 22 has been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Najiminaini et al teaches, with regard to claim 22, an optical sensing device that is comprised of an optical filter structure (100, Figure 3), serves as the spectral filter, and a sensor (302, Figure 3) serves as the pixel array configured to receive light transmitted through the spectral filter, (please see Figure 3).
Najiminaini et al teaches a pixelated Fabry-Perot filter that serve as the spectral filter that is comprised of a first unit filter (such as IF1, Figures 2(A) and 2(B)), having a first center wavelength in a first wavelength range, that is included in a first filter array (such as IF1 to IF4), comprising a plurality of first unit filters, (with regard to claim 22). Najiminaini et al teaches that the pixelated Fabry-Perot filter comprises a second unit filter (such as IF5) that has a second center wavelength in a second wavelength range. The first unit filter comprises two first metal layers (204 and 208) provide spaced apart from each other and may comprise a first metal, (please see paragraph [0030]), and a first cavity (206) provided between the two first metal reflective layers. The second unit filter comprises two second metal reflective layers (204 and 208) provided spaced apart from each other and comprising a second metal and a second cavity (206) provided between two second metal reflective layers.
Najiminaini et al teaches, with regard to claim 22, at least one first unit filter is included in the first filter array comprising a plurality of first unit filters (IF1 to IF4) having different center wavelengths included in the first wavelength range based on the different thickness of the first cavities, (please see Figures 2(A) and 2(B)).
The thickness of the cavities for the first filter units (IF1 to IF4, Figures 2(A) and 2(B)) and the thickness of the cavities for the second filter units (IF5 to IF8) are different which means the first wavelength range and the second wavelength range are different.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. It however does not teach explicitly that the first metal is different from the second metal.
Tsang in the same field of endeavor teaches an optical sensing device having an optical filter structure, serves as the spectral filter, that is comprised of a Fabry Perot filter unit serves as the first unit filter (Figure 5, for photodiode 55) having a first center wavelength in a first wavelength range such as UV wavelength range and a Fabry Perot filter unit serves as the second unit filter (Figure 5, for the photodiodes 51, 52 or 53) having a second center wavelength in a second wavelength range, such as ambient visible wavelength, (please see paragraphs [0026] to [0030]). The first unit filter is comprised of two first metal reflective layers (551 and 553, Figure 5) provided spaced apart from each other and comprising a first metal such as aluminum (Al, please see paragraph [0030]) and a first cavity (552) provided between the two first metal reflective layers. The second unit filter that is comprised of two second metal reflective layers (522 and 532, 513 and 522, or 511 and 513), provided spaced apart from each other and comprising a second metal such as silver (Ag, please see paragraph [0026]) and a second cavity (531, 521 or 512) between the two second metal reflective layers. (please see paragraphs [0026], [0027] and [0030]). The first metal (Al) is different from the second metal (Ag) in order for the Fabry Perot filter units to filter different wavelength ranges respectively.
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Tsang et al to modify the pixelated Fabry-Perot filter of Najiminaini et al to make the first metal different second metal for the benefit of allowing the first unit filter array and the second unit filter array to effectively filter different wavelength ranges respectively.
Claim 22 further includes the phrase “wherein the first unit filter further comprises a first dielectric layer that is provided above the first cavity and a second dielectric layer provided below the first cavity. Claim 22 has been amended the include the phrase “wherein at least one of the thickness or an effective refractive index of each of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer is adjusted based on the first center wavelength of the first unit filter”.
These references do not teach such features explicitly. Van Wijk in the same field of endeavor teaches a Fabry Perot filter that is comprised of a pair of metal mirrors or reflectors (6) separated by a gap or cavity, (3, please see Figure 5). Van Wijk teaches that each of the metal mirror has a dielectric coating (7) that covers a surface of the metal mirror (6) that is facing away from the gap or the cavity. As shown in Figure 5, a first dielectric coating or layer (7) is provided above the first cavity or gap (3) and a second dielectric coating or layer (7) that is provided below the first cavity or gap (3). Van Wijk teaches that the dielectric coating or layer may has the function of an anti-reflection, (please see column 3, lines 42-50) that leads to the advantage of peak transmittance of the Fabry-Perot etalon, (please see the abstract). The peak transmittance of the Fabry-Perot etalon corresponds to the center wavelength of the etalon or the filter unit. The dielectric coating should be transparent to the wavelength used, particularly transparent to the center wavelength of the filter unit in order to achieve high transmittance of the Fabry-Perot etalon or unit filter. Van Wijk specifically teaches that the thickness and/or the effective refractive index (n) of the dielectric layer may be in the range of 0.1l/n to 0.5l/n, which means that it is adjusted based on the first center wavelength (l) of the first unit filter, (please see column 3, lines 58-65). If the thickness, t, of the dielectric layer is in the range 0.1l/n to 0.5l/n, then this means the effective index n is in the range of 0.1l/t to 0.5l/t, which means the effective index n is adjusted based on the center wavelength of the unit filter.
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of van Wijk to provide a dielectric coating or layer deposited on a surface of the metal mirrors or reflectors of the Fabry Perot unit filter for the benefit of providing anti-reflection function to the unit filter and therefore enhance the peak transmittance of the Fabry Perot etalon or the unit filter.
Claim 22 further includes the phrase “wherein the first metal reflective layers below the first cavities are at different levels with respect to each other in the vertical direction”.
It is known in the art that for a Fabry-Perot filter, the critical factor for determining the critical wavelength that may be filtered is dependent on the refractive index value and the thickness of the cavity defined by the two reflective layers above and below the cavity. The relative position of the Fabry Perot filters does not change the filtering function of the filter. Tsang et al specifically teaches to include a plurality of Fabry Perot filters each having a pair of reflective layers and a cavity disposed between the reflective layers, (please see Figure 5) wherein the reflective layers (522, 513, 511, 551, Figure 5) each below a cavity (531, 521, 512 and 552, respectively) are at different levels with respect to each other in the vertical direction. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Tsang et al to modify the filter device to have the specific design with reflective layers below the cavities to have different levels for the benefit of providing different design since this only involves obvious matters of design choice to one skilled in the art.
With regard to claim 23, Najiminaini et al teaches that the first unit filter and the second unit filter each comprises Fabry Perot filter structure with two metal layers spaced apart by a cavity (206, Figures 2(A) and 2(B)) may comprise dielectric layer ( please see paragraph [0030]).
Van Wijk teaches that each of the metal mirror has a dielectric coating (7) that covers a surface of the metal mirror (6) that is facing away from the gap or the cavity. As shown in Figure 5, a first dielectric coating or layer (7) is provided above the first cavity or gap (3) and a second dielectric coating or layer (7) that is provided below the first cavity or gap (3). Van Wijk teaches that the dielectric coating or layer may have the function of an anti-reflection, (please see column 3, lines 42-50) and the thickness and/or the effective refractive index (n) of the layer may be 0.1l/n to 0.5l/n, which means that it is adjusted base on the first center wavelength (l) of the first unit filter, (please see column 3, lines 58-65). It would then have been obvious to apply the teachings of Wijk to include a pair of dielectric layers provided above and below the cavity or gap of the second Fabry Perot filter units for the benefit of providing anti-reflection function to the filter units.
Claim(s) 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Najiminaini et al, Tsang and van Wijk as applied to claim 22 and further in view of the patent issued to Sohn (PN. 6,365,950).
The image sensor including the spectral filter taught by Najiminaini et al in combination with the teachings of Tsang and van Wijk as described in claim 22 above has met all the limitations of the claims.
With regard to claim 27, Najiminaini et al teaches that the optical sensing device is made by CMOS technology which means it comprises CMOS active pixel sensor or sensing element, (please see paragraph [0032]). It however does not teach explicitly that the sensing device is comprised of timing controller, row decoder and output circuit. Sohn in the same field of endeavor teaches a CMOS active pixel sensor typical comprises timing controller (54, Figure 3), a row decoder (50) and output circuit (52). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Sohn to make the optical sensing device with CMOS active pixel sensor be equipped with timing controller, row decoder and output circuit to properly operate the sensor.
With regard to claims 28 and 29, Najiminaini in light of Sohn teaches that the optical sensing device may be a charge couple camera (CCD, please see paragraph [0032] ).
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Najiminaini et al (US 2018/0170093 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Tsang (US 2013/0163005 A1) and US patent issued to van Wijk (PN. 5,381,232).
Claim 37 has been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Najiminaini et al teaches, with regard to claim 37, a pixelated Fabry-Perot filter, serves as the spectral filter, that is comprised of a first unit filter (IF1 or IF2, Figure 2(A) and 2(B)) having a first center wavelength in a first wavelength range and a second unit filter (such as IF3 or IF4) having a second center wavelength in a second wavelength range. The second unit filter being provided adjacent to the first unit filter in a horizontal direction. The first unit filter is included in a first filter array (IF1 and IF2) comprising a plurality of first unit filters.
The first unit filter is comprised of two first metal reflective layers (204 and 206, Figure 2(B)) provided spaced apart from each other in a vertical direction and a first cavity (206) provided between the two first metal reflective layers.
The second unit filter (IF3 or IF4) that is comprised of two second metal reflective layers (204 and 208), provided spaced apart from each other in vertical direction and a second cavity (206) provided between the two second metal reflective layers.
The thickness of the cavities for the first filter units (IF1 or IF2, Figure 2(B)) and the thickness of the cavities for the second filter units (IF3 or IF4) are different which means the first wavelength range and the second wavelength range are different.
The first unit filter is included in a first filter array comprising a plurality of first unit filters (IF1 to IF4) having different center wavelengths included in the first wavelength range based on the different thickness of the cavities.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. It however does not teach explicitly that the first metal is different from the second metal.
Tsang in the same field of endeavor teaches an optical sensing device having an optical filter structure, serves as the spectral filter, that is comprised of a Fabry Perot filter unit serves as the first unit filter (Figure 5, for photodiode 55) having a first center wavelength in a first wavelength range such as UV wavelength range and a Fabry Perot filter unit serves as the second unit filter (Figure 5, for the photodiodes 51, 52 or 53) having a second center wavelength in a second wavelength range such as ambient visible wavelength range. The first unit filter is comprised of two first metal reflective layers (551 and 553, Figure 5) provided spaced apart from each other and comprising a first metal such as aluminum (Al, please see paragraph [0030]) and a first cavity (552) provided between the two first metal reflective layers. The second unit filter that is comprised of two second metal reflective layers (522 and 532, 513 and 522, or 511 and 513), provided spaced apart from each other and comprising a second metal such as silver (Ag, please see paragraph [0026]) and a second cavity (531, 521 or 512) between the two second metal reflective layers. (please see paragraphs [0026], [0027] and [0030]). The first metal (Al) is different from the second metal (Ag) to allow the first Fabry Perot unit filter and the second Fabry Perot unit filter to filter different wavelength ranges.
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Tsang et al to modify the pixelated Fabry-Perot filter of Najiminaini et al to make the first metal different second metal for the benefit of allowing the first and second Fabry Perot unit filter to filter different wavelength ranges.
Claim 37 further includes the phrase “wherein the first unit filter further comprises a first dielectric layer that is provided above the first cavity and a second dielectric layer provided below the first cavity”. Claim 37 has been amended to include the phrase “wherein at least one of the thickness or an effective refractive index of each of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer is adjusted based on the first center wavelength of the first unit filter”.
These references do not teach such features explicitly. Van Wijk in the same field of endeavor teaches a Fabry Perot filter that is comprised of a pair of metal mirrors or reflectors (6) separated by a gap or cavity, (3, please see Figure 5). Van Wijk teaches that each of the metal mirror has a dielectric coating (7) that covers a surface of the metal mirror (6) that is facing away from the gap or the cavity. As shown in Figure 5, a first dielectric coating or layer (7) is provided above the first cavity or gap (3) and a second dielectric coating or layer (7) that is provided below the first cavity or gap (3). Van Wijk teaches that the dielectric coating or layer may has the function of an anti-reflection, (please see column 3, lines 42-50) that leads to the advantage of peak transmittance of the Fabry-Perot etalon, (please see the abstract). The peak transmittance of the Fabry-Perot etalon corresponds to the center wavelength of the etalon or the filter unit. The dielectric coating should be transparent to the wavelength used, particularly transparent to the center wavelength of the filter unit in order to achieve high transmittance of the Fabry-Perot etalon or unit filter. Van Wijk specifically teaches that the thickness and/or the effective refractive index (n) of the dielectric layer may be in the range of 0.1l/n to 0.5l/n, which means that it is adjusted based on the first center wavelength (l) of the first unit filter, (please see column 3, lines 58-65). If the thickness, t, of the dielectric layer is in the range 0.1l/n to 0.5l/n, then this means the effective index n is in the range of 0.1l/t to 0.5l/t, which means the effective index n is adjusted based on the center wavelength of the unit filter.
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of van Wijk to provide a dielectric coating or layer deposited on a surface of the metal mirrors or reflectors of the Fabry Perot unit filter for the benefit of providing anti-reflection function to the unit filter and therefore enhance the peak transmittance of the Fabry Perot etalon or the unit filter.
Claim 37 further includes the phrase “wherein the first metal reflective layers below the first cavities are at different levels with respect to each other in the vertical direction”.
It is known in the art that for a Fabry-Perot filter, the critical factor for determining the critical wavelength that may be filtered is dependent on the refractive index value and the thickness of the cavity defined by the two reflective layers above and below the cavity. The relative position of the Fabry Perot filters does not change the filtering function of the filter. Tsang et al specifically teaches to include a plurality of Fabry Perot filters each having a pair of reflective layers and a cavity disposed between the reflective layers, (please see Figure 5) wherein the reflective layers (522, 513, 511, 551, Figure 5) each below a cavity (531, 521, 512 and 552, respectively) are at different levels with respect to each other in the vertical direction. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Tsang et al to modify the filter device to have the specific design with reflective layers below the cavities to have different levels for the benefit of providing different design since this only involves obvious matters of design choice to one skilled in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 16, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly amended claims have been fully considered and they are rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant’s arguments are mainly drawn to the newly amended features that have been fully addressed in the reasons for rejection set forth above. The applicant is respectfully directed to the disclosure of cited van Wijk reference that the dielectric layer is provided to provide anti-reflection function to enhance the peak transmission of the Fabry Perot etalon or filter, (please see the abstract and column 3), this means the thickness or the effective refractive index are adjusted based on the center wavelength or peak wavelength of the Fabry Perot filter. Specifically, the anti-reflection function of the dielectric layer would maximize the transmission of the light having the center wavelength to enter the Fabry Perot etalon or unit filter.
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872