DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications: RCE filed on 3/06/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-18, and 20-26 are pending. Claims 1, 13, 23 and 24 are independent. Claims 4 and 19 are newly canceled. Claims 25-26 are newly added.
The previous rejection of claims 1-3, 5-18, and 20-26 under 35 USC § 103 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 15-27 been renumbered 14-26.
Renumbered claims 25 and 26 (newly added claims 26-27) are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 25 is dependent on claim 25, should be dependent on claim 24. Claim 25 recites “uncomputing the ancilla quibit”, should be “uncomputing the ancilla qubit”.
Claim 26 is dependent on claim 26, should be dependent on claim 25.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
With regards to claim 1,
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 1 recites:
a lookup structure that determines a value of a defined function based on a variable represented by a set of qubits; and
a binning structure that identifies a determined bin based on the variable represented by the set of qubits, wherein the lookup structure is adapted to determine the value of the defined function based on the bin, and wherein binning multiple values allows reduction of a number of needed rotations by the lookup structure and are carried out within the at least one quantum circuit, wherein a size of the bin is based on a position of a first one qubit within the variable, and wherein the size of the bin is defined by a number of qubits following the first one qubit within the variable.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the bolded limitations above are directed to a mental process able to be performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper. A human can determine a value from a lookup table and identify an associated bin mentally or with a pen and paper.
Step 2A, Prong 1 (Yes)
Step 2A, Prong 2
The additional elements in this claim are “a quantum circuit”. The element is recited at a high level of generality and this is a generic computer component performing computer functions. Thus these are mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Even when viewed in combination the additional element does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A, Prong 2 (No).
Step 2B
As explained with respect to step 2A, the only additional element is “a quantum circuit” which at best is mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas and cannot provide an inventive concept, even when considered in combination. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B (No).
Claim 1 is ineligible.
With regards to claim 1,
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 13 recites:
precomputing a set of values of a defined function based on a variable represented by a set of qubits for selected values of the variable;
generating at least one quantum circuit configured to execute a controlled rotation by every value of the set of the precomputed values; and
executing the controlled rotation by every value of the set of the precomputed values, wherein a size of the bin is based on a position of a first one qubit within the variable, and wherein the size of the bin is defined by a number of qubits following the first one qubit within the variable.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the bolded limitations above are directed to a mental process able to be performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper. A human can compute a value or design a circuit mentally or with a pen and paper.
Step 2A, Prong 1 (Yes)
Step 2A, Prong 2
The additional elements in this claim are “executing a controlled rotation”. The element is recited at a high level of generality and this is a generic computer component performing computer functions. Thus these are mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Even when viewed in combination the additional element does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A, Prong 2 (No).
Step 2B
As explained with respect to step 2A, the only additional element is “executing a controlled rotation” which at best is mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas and cannot provide an inventive concept, even when considered in combination. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B (No).
Claim 13 is ineligible.
With respect to claims 23 and 24,
These claims are similar in scope to claim 13 and are rejected under a similar rationale. The “executing controlled rotations” recited in these claims are also generic computing components.
Claims 23 and 24 are ineligible.
Dependent Claims:
Claims 2, 3, 5-9, 11, 12, 14-18, 20-22, 25, 26: These claims only recite further abstract ideas (mental processes) and thus are ineligible.
Claim 10: this claim recites further generic computer components “classical computer” and as explained above these do not provide a practical application or inventive concept and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weibe et al. ("Quantum arithmetic and numerical analysis using Repeat-Until-Success circuits") as made of reference in IDS dated 7/2/2021 in view of Shim et al. (US2017/0116542) and Megson et al. (“A Parallel Quantum Histogram Architecture”).
In regards to claim 13, Weibe et al. discloses a method implementable on a classical computer to compile a quantum circuit arrangement with at least one quantum circuit that carries out a computation on a quantum computer, the method comprising:
precomputing a set of values of a defined function based on a variable represented by a set of qubits for selected values of the variable (Weibe IV.C.3 para1, store precomputed values of Boolean function as a lookup table); and
generating at least one quantum circuit configured to execute a controlled rotation by every value of the set of the precomputed values (Weibe pg9 IV para1, generate quantum circuits to directly output arithmetic values as the desired rotation).
Weibe et al. does not explicitly disclose executing the controlled rotation by every value of the set of the precomputed values.
However Shim et al. substantially discloses executing the controlled rotation by every value of the set of the precomputed values (Shim et al. para[0037], The physical superconducting qubits 104a, 104b can be selectively coupled to each other, for example, via coupling 106. As used herein, selectively coupled refers to a coupling that can be varied between a first value (e.g., zero or relatively lower coupling) and a second value (e.g., non-zero or relatively higher coupling)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the algorithm of Weibe et al. with the tunable frequency of Shim et al. in order to match to a state of a qubit to associated bins (Shim et al. para[0007]).
Weibe et al. does not explicitly disclose Wherein a size of the bin is based on a position of a first qubit within the variable, and wherein the size of the bin is defined by a number of qubits following the first one qubit within the variable.
However Megson et al. discloses Wherein a size of the bin is based on a position of a first qubit within the variable, and wherein the size of the bin is defined by a number of qubits following the first one qubit within the variable (Megson et al. pg439 section III.A para2, scales size of bins to the number of bits to represent a piece of data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the algorithm of Weibe et al. with the parallel formulation of Megson et al. in order to reduce the time needed for histogram analysis (Megson et al. pg437 section I para2).
Claims 23 recite substantially similar limitations to claim 13. Thus claims 23 are rejected along the same rationale as claims 13.
Claims 24 recite substantially similar limitations to claim 13. Thus claims 24 are rejected along the same rationale as claims 13.
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-18 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weibe et al. in view of Shim et al., Megson et al., and Zadeh (US 8,311,973 B1).
In regards to claim 1, Weibe et al. discloses a quantum circuit arrangement with at least one quantum circuit that carries out a computation on a quantum computer, the quantum circuit arrangement comprising:
a lookup structure that determines a value of a defined function based on a variable represented by a set of qubits (Wiebe et al. pg16 section V para1, determines value of function f(x) = e-iX/a based on set of qubits representing 1/a);
wherein the lookup structure is adapted to determine the value of the defined function [based on the bin](Wiebe et al. pg20 section V.C.3 para1, use table lookups to compute reciprocals).
Wiebe et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the binning multiple values allows reduction of a number of needed rotations by the lookup structure and are carried out within the at least one quantum circuit.
However Whim et al. discloses wherein the binning multiple values allows reduction of a number of needed rotations by the lookup structure and are carried out within the at least one quantum circuit (Shim et al. para[0039], the capacitive coupling can also be made tunable and completely turned off, giving a very large on/off ratio. Such a tunable capacitive coupling may remove, or at least reduce, the need to detune each qubit to avoid unwanted resonances, thereby significantly simplifying the qubit frequency controls during operation (e.g., the CPHASE operation described below). This also allows rotating the encoded qubit around any axis in the full xz plane, reducing the necessary rotation steps to two for any single qubit logical gates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the algorithm of Weibe et al. with the tunable frequency of Shim et al. in order to match to a state of a qubit to associated bins (Shim et al. para[0007]).
Wiebe et al. does not explicitly disclose a binning structure that identifies a determined bin based on the variable, based on the bin,
However a binning structure that identifies a determined bin based on the variable, based on the bin, (Zadeh Col28 ln20-31, values of F(x) fall into the same bin)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the algorithm of Weibe et al. with the fuzzy logic of Zadeh in order to make determinations based on uncertain information (Zadeh col2 ln23-28).
Weibe et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein a size of the bin is based on a position of a first one qubit within the variable, and wherein the size of the bin is defined by a number of qubits following the first one qubit within the variable.
However Megson et al. discloses wherein a size of the bin is based on a position of a first one qubit within the variable, and wherein the size of the bin is defined by a number of qubits following the first one qubit within the variable (Megson et al. pg439 section III.A para2, scales size of bins to the number of bits to represent a piece of data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the algorithm of Weibe et al. with the parallel formulation of Megson et al. in order to reduce the time needed for histogram analysis (Megson et al. pg437 section I para2).
In regards to claim 2 Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Zadeh, and Megson et al. discloses the quantum circuit arrangement according to claim 1, the defined function having a negative derivative with monotonically decreasing absolute value (Weibe et al. pg16 section V para1, f(x) = e-iX/a has a negative derivative with a monotonically decreasing absolute value).
In regards to claim 3, Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Zadeh, and Megson et al. discloses the quantum circuit arrangement according to claim 1, wherein a size of the bin increases for increasing values of the variable (Zadeh col30 ln49-56, selects various size of bins for various values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the algorithm of Weibe et al. with the fuzzy logic of Zadeh in order to make determinations based on uncertain information (Zadeh col2 ln23-28).
In regards to claim 5, Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Zadeh, and Megson et al. discloses the quantum circuit arrangement according to claim 1, wherein a size of the bin is based on the position of a last one qubit within the variable, wherein the size of the bin is defined by the number of one's preceding the first one qubit within the variable (Zadeh col30 ln57-67, size of bin is determined by the membership function, membership function could be adjusted to take into account number ones in a variable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the algorithm of Weibe et al. with the fuzzy logic of Zadeh in order to make determinations based on uncertain information (Zadeh col2 ln23-28).
In regards to claim 6, Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Zadeh, and Megson et al. discloses the quantum circuit arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the lookup structure comprises at least one quantum gate arrangement that performs a controlled rotation of a further set of qubits (Weibe pg15 section IV.C.2 para3, gate arrangement for performing controlled rotations of a carry-ripple adder).
In regards to claim 7, Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Zadeh, and Megson et al. discloses the quantum circuit arrangement according to claim 1, further comprising:
a quantum phase estimation structure that performs a quantum phase estimation; and
an inverse quantum phase estimation structure that performs an inverse quantum phase estimation; and wherein the lookup structure performs a controlled rotation of a further set of qubits (Weibe pg.16 section V para1, using HHL algorithm for solving linear systems, pg21 section VI para1, performs phase estimation to cache results, pg20 sectionV.C.3 para1, implements lookup tables to identify reciprocal values).
In regards to claim 8, Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Zadeh, and Megson et al. discloses the quantum circuit arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the defined function comprises an arcsin(1/λ) function (Weibe pg7 section III para1, function comprises an arcsin(1/a)).
In regards to claim 9, Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Zadeh, and Megson et al. discloses the quantum circuit arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the quantum circuit performing iterations over the variable through at least one sub qubit pattern of a pattern of a maximum size of the bin minus one (Zadeh col44 ln23-33, iterates variable over range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the algorithm of Weibe et al. with the fuzzy logic of Zadeh in order to make determinations based on uncertain information (Zadeh col2 ln23-28).
In regards to claim 10, Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Zadeh, and Megson et al. discloses the quantum circuit arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the quantum circuit arrangement is configured to be compiled on a classical computer (Weibe pg13 Section IV.C.3, implementation based on classical circuits).
In regards to claim 11, Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Zadeh, and Megson et al. discloses the quantum circuit arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the quantum circuit is configured with a negated control on a first qubit and a control on a second qubit, and wherein the quantum circuit is further configured to:
entangle an ancilla qubit that is in its ground state with the controls (Weibe et al.pg24 section VIII par1, feed Qubits into gearbox to be entangled with another register); and
uncompute the ancilla qubit (Weibe et al. pg25 section VIII para5, sets up gearbox function to invoke opposite rotations upon success).
In regards to claim 12, Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Zadeh, and Megson et al. discloses the quantum circuit arrangement according to claim 11, the quantum circuit is configured to:
use a second ancilla qubit (Weibe et al. pg5 section II.A para2, generalized PAR gates are applied to a second (fresh) ancilla);
entangle with a multiple-controlled NOT operation being dependent on a sub qubit pattern comprising the two ancilla qubits (Weibe et al. pg3 section II para3-4, rotation of ancilla qubits used to control the CNOT gates); and
perform controlled rotations conditional on the ancilla qubits and remaining combinations (Weibe et al. pg4 section II para5, circuit implements desired rotation).
In regards to claim 14, Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Zadeh, and Megson et al. discloses the method according to claim 13. Weibe does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises predefining a set of bins, each value of the set of precomputed values corresponding to a bin of the defined set of bins.
However Zadeh substantially disclose wherein the method comprises predefining a set of bins, each value of the set of precomputed values corresponding to a bin of the defined set of bins (Zadeh col28 ln20-31, divides Y domain into equal size bins) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the algorithm of Weibe et al. with the fuzzy logic of Zadeh in order to make determinations based on uncertain information (Zadeh col2 ln23-28).
Claims 15-17 recite substantially similar limitations to claim 7-9. Thus claims 15-17 are rejected along the same rationale as claims 7-9.
In regards to claim 18, Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Zadeh, and Megson et al. discloses the method of the claim 13. Weibe et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the values of the variable are selected according to the defined set of bins.
Zadeh substantially discloses wherein the values of the variable are selected according to a defined set of bins (Zadeh col28 ln20-31, variable x’s are attributed to the set of bins).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the algorithm of Weibe et al. with the fuzzy logic of Zadeh in order to make determinations based on uncertain information (Zadeh col2 ln23-28).
Claims 20 recite substantially similar limitations to claim 5. Thus claims 20 are rejected along the same rationale as claims 5.
Claims 21-22 recite substantially similar limitations to claim 11-12. Thus claims 21-22 are rejected along the same rationale as claims 11-12.
Claim(s) 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weibe et al. in view of Shim et al., Megson et al. and Roetteler et al. (US2018/0144262).
In regards to claim 25,Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al. and Megson et al. discloses the computer readable program instructions of claim 24. Weibe et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the quantum circuit is further configured with a negated control on a first qubit and a control on a second qubit, entangled an ancilla qubit that is in its ground state with the controls, and uncomputing the ancilla qubit.
However Roetteler et al. discloses wherein the quantum circuit is further configured with a negated control on a first qubit and a control on a second qubit, entangled an ancilla qubit that is in its ground state with the controls, and uncomputing the ancilla qubit (Roetteler et al. para[0054] uncomputes ancilla qubit, para[0066], not gate acting on control qubit, with an extra dirty qubit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the algorithm of Weibe et al. with the qubit management method of Roetteler et al. in order to make use of unused qubits in an unknown state (Roetteler et al. para[0003]).
In regards to claim 26,Weibe et al. as modified by Shim et al., Megson et al., and Roetteler et al. discloses the computer readable program instructions of claim 25, wherein the quantum circuit further comprises using a second ancilla qubit, entangling with a multiple-controlled NOT operation being dependent on a sub qubit pattern comprising the two ancilla qubits, and performing controlled rotations conditional on the ancilla qubits and the remaining combinations (Roetteler et al. para[0078], turns gates into 3-qubit-controlled-NOT gates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the algorithm of Weibe et al. with the qubit management method of Roetteler et al. in order to make use of unused qubits in an unknown state (Roetteler et al. para[0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-18, and 20-24 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply the current rejection.
Conclusion
/N.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141