DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 12, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-10, 14-15, 21, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Kikuchi et al. (WO 2017086333 A1, hereinafter Kikuchi) and further in view of Akira et al. (WO 2019163214 A1, hereinafter ‘Akira’) and Heo et al. (US 20190333800 A1, hereinafter ‘Heo’).
Regarding claim 1, Kikuchi teaches an apparatus (Fig 7) for handling a semiconductor substrate W, comprising: a chuck table 1 comprising a carrying surface 12, a first recess 10’ provided within the carrying surface, and at least one vacuum channel 102 disposed below the carrying surface, wherein the chuck table is configured to hold the semiconductor substrate W; wherein the at least one vacuum channel 102 of the chuck table comprises a plurality of holes arranged along a radial direction (Fig 7, 102’ is arranged radially outward of 102 in the center of the chuck); and a first flexible member 2’ disposed within the first recess and comprising: a first portion 21 extending along a direction parallel to the carrying surface 12; and a second portion 22 connected to the first portion, the second portion comprising a top surface protruded from the first recess (Fig 2), a first sidewall (leftmost wall of 22, Fig 3) connected to the top surface and a second sidewall (rightmost wall of 22, Fig 3) connected to the top surface and opposing the first sidewall (Fig 3), wherein the first flexible member is compressed as the semiconductor substrate presses against the first flexible member ([0023]), and as the first flexible member is compressed, the entire top surface of the second portion 22 is physically connected to the semiconductor substrate W.
Kikuchi does not explicitly disclose a passageway extending along the radial direction, the plurality of holes extend to the passageway and are connected by the passageway, each of the plurality of holes is connected to the same passageway, and an end of the passageway is located at an edge of the chuck table connected with the carrying surface and is coupled to a vacuum source; the first portion comprising opposing sidewalls physically connected to the inner sidewalls of the chuck table, and as the first flexible member is compressed, the entire first sidewall and the entire second sidewall of the second portion are physically connected to the inner sidewalls of the chuck table.
However, Heo teaches a passageway 222a extending along the radial direction (Fig 2), the holes 111 (as best understood from the specification to refer to “a plurality of holes above”) extend to the same passageway 222a and are connected by the passageway (222a), and an end of the passageway 222a is located at an edge of the chuck table 140 connected with the carrying surface 130 and is coupled to a vacuum source 221.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kikuchi to include the vacuum pump and passageway structure as taught by Heo in order to create a chuck that is able to stably fix a substrate that is warped (Heo, [0007]).
In addition, Akira teaches the first portion (lower portion of 2B) comprising opposing sidewalls physically connected to the inner sidewalls of the chuck table (Figs 9-10), and as the first flexible member 2B is compressed (Fig 10), the entire first sidewall and a portion of the second sidewall of the second portion 25 is physically connected to the inner sidewalls of the chuck table 1 (Fig 10). In combination with Kikuchi, Akira is teaching the extension of the second sidewall being in contact with the inner sidewall and the inner sidewall extending to the top surface of the second portion, but the shape of the second sidewall taught by Kikuchi is maintained. Therefore, in combination, the second sidewall also makes full contact with the inner sidewall once the flexible member is compressed.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kikuchi to have the first portion of the flexible member physically touch both sidewalls and to extend the length of the second portion of the flexible member to touch both sidewalls in the recess, as taught by Akira, in order to ensure the flexible member remains in place during operation and to capture a greater percentage bottom surface of the wafer that is touching the chuck. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention would have found it “obvious to try” having the sidewalls of the first portion physically touching the chuck table and extending the length of the second portion of the flexible member to touch both sidewalls in the recess as the teaching represents a finite number of identified, predictable combinations. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, Kikuchi in view of Heo and Akira teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Kikuchi also teaches the first flexible member is a seal ring 2’ disposed circumferentially along the chuck table (Fig 7).
Regarding claim 3, Kikuchi in view of Heo and Akira teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Kikuchi also teaches the first portion is engaged with the chuck table (Fig 2), and the second portion comprises a fixed end and a free end (Fig 2), wherein the fixed end is connected to the first portion, and the free end is movable and is positioned opposite the fixed end (shown in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kikuchi in view of Heo and Akira teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Kikuchi also teaches an angle between the first portion 21 and the second portion 22 of the first flexible member 2’ reduces as the semiconductor substrate W presses against the first flexible member ([0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Kikuchi in view of Heo and Akira teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Kikuchi also teaches as the first flexible member 2 is compressed, the top surface of the first flexible member 2’ is substantially leveled with the carrying surface 12 of the chuck table ([0023]).
Regarding claim 9, Kikuchi in view of Heo and Akira teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Kikuchi also teaches the chuck table further comprises a slot opening 10 recessed from the carrying surface 12, the slot opening is disposed on and in communication with one of the plurality of holes of the at least one vacuum channel 102, and the slot opening comprises an opening diameter greater than that of the one of the plurality of holes of the at least one vacuum channel (shown in Fig 7).
Regarding claim 10, Kikuchi in view of Heo and Akira teaches the apparatus of claim 9. Kikuchi also teaches a second flexible member 2 disposed within the slot opening 10 and surrounding the one of the plurality of holes of the at least one vacuum channel 102.
Regarding claim 26, Kikuchi in view of Heo and Akira teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Kikuchi also teaches the plurality of holes (102 and 102’) are surrounded by the first recess 10’ (Fig 7)
Regarding claim 14, Kikuchi teaches an apparatus (Fig 7) for handling a semiconductor substrate W, comprising: a chuck table 1 comprising a carrying surface 12, a plurality of vacuum holes (102 and 102’) arranged along a radial direction (Fig 7, 102’ is arranged radially outward of 102 in the center of the chuck); and a first flexible member 2’ extending along the chuck table to encircle the plurality of vacuum holes (Fig 7), the first flexible member 2’ comprising a first portion 21 and a second portion 22 connected to the first portion, an acute angle being between a lower surface of the second portion 22 and an upper surface of the first portion 21 facing and separated from the lower surface of the second portion (Fig 2), the first portion being engaged with the chuck table 1, the first flexible member being compressed as the semiconductor substrate presses against the first flexible member ([0023]), and as the first flexible member is being compressed, and the second portion being changed from a position higher than the carrying surface to a position substantially leveled with the carrying surface ([0023]), the top surface of the second portion 22 being entirely and physically connected to the semiconductor substrate (Fig 3), and a first sidewall and a second sidewall of the second portion connected to the top surface of the second portion (Fig 3), wherein the semiconductor substrate W is configured to be placed on the carrying surface 12 of the chuck table with an edge of the semiconductor substrate overlying the first flexible member 2’.
Kikuchi does not explicitly disclose a passageway extending along the radial direction, the plurality of vacuum holes extend to the passageway and are connected by the passageway, each of the plurality of vacuum holes is connected to the same passageway, and an end of the passageway is located at an edge of the chuck table connected with the carrying surface and is coupled to a vacuum source; the first portion comprising opposing sidewalls in physical contact with the chuck table, and where a top surface of the second portion is connected with and substantially leveled with the carrying surface, and a first sidewall and a second sidewall of the second portion being entirely and physically connected with the chuck table.
However, Heo teaches a passageway 222a extending along the radial direction (Fig 2), the vacuum holes 111 (as best understood from the specification to refer to “a plurality of vacuum holes above”) extend to the same passageway 222a and are connected by the passageway (222a), and an end of the passageway 222a is located at an edge of the chuck table 140 connected with the carrying surface 130 and is coupled to a vacuum source 221.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kikuchi to include the vacuum pump and passageway structure as taught by Heo in order to create a chuck that is able to stably fix a substrate that is warped (Heo, [0007]).
In addition, Akira teaches a top surface of the second portion 25 is connected with and substantially leveled with the carrying surface 10 (Fig 10), the entire first sidewall and a portion of the second sidewall of the second portion 25 is physically connected to the inner sidewalls of the chuck table 1 (Fig 10). In combination with Kikuchi, Akira is teaching the extension of the second sidewall being in contact with the inner sidewall and the inner sidewall extending to the top surface of the second portion, but the shape of the second sidewall taught by Kikuchi is maintained. Therefore, in combination, the second sidewall also makes full contact with the inner sidewall once the flexible member is compressed.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kikuchi to have a carrying surface covering the majority of the chuck surface and in physical connection with the flexible member as disclosed by Akira in order to adsorb a potentially warped wafer and flatten it by the contact with the carrying surface (Akira, [0016]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kikuchi to have the first portion of the flexible member physically touch both sidewalls, as taught by Akira, in order to ensure the flexible member remains in place during operation. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention would have found it “obvious to try” having the sidewalls of the first portion physically touching the chuck table as the teaching represents a finite number of identified, predictable combinations. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 15, Kikuchi in view of Heo and Akira teaches the apparatus of claim 14. Kikuchi also teaches the first portion 21 of the first flexible member 2’ comprises a bottom surface connected to the opposing sidewalls, the bottom surface is in physical contact with the chuck table (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 21, Kikuchi teaches an apparatus (Fig 7) for handling a semiconductor substrate W, comprising: a chuck table 1 comprising a carrying surface 12, a first recess 10’ provided within the carrying surface, and vacuum channels (102 and 102’) disposed below the carrying surface, wherein the chuck table 1 is configured to hold the semiconductor substrate W; and a first flexible member 2’ disposed within the first recess 10’ and comprising: a second portion 22 comprising a fixed end and a free end (shown in Fig 2), wherein an included angle between the free and the first portion 21 is an acute angle (Fig 2) the fixed end is connected to the first portion and in contact with the chuck table (Fig 2), and the free end is movable and is positioned opposite the fixed end (Fig 2), wherein the first flexible member 2’ is compressed as the semiconductor substrate presses against the first flexible member ([0023]), and as the first flexible member is compressed, a top surface of the second portion 22 is entirely and physically connected to the semiconductor substrate (Fig 3).
Kikuchi does not explicitly disclose each of the vacuum channels comprises a plurality of holes arranged along a radial direction and a passageway extending along the radial direction, the plurality of holes extend to the passageway and are connected by the passageway, each of the plurality of holes is connected to the same passageway, and an end of the passageway is located at an edge of the chuck table connected with the carrying surface and is coupled to a vacuum source; the first portion comprising opposing sidewalls physically connected to the inner sidewalls of the chuck table, and as the first flexible member is compressed, opposing sidewalls of the second portion are entirely and physically connected to the inner sidewalls of the chuck table.
However, Heo teaches a passageway 222a extending along the radial direction (Fig 2), the holes 111 (as best understood from the specification to refer to “a plurality of holes above”) extend to the same passageway 222a and are connected by the passageway (222a), and an end of the passageway 222a is located at an edge of the chuck table 140 connected with the carrying surface 130 and is coupled to a vacuum source 221.
However, Heo teaches each of the vacuum channels comprises a plurality of holes (111 or 112 or 113) arranged along a radial direction (Fig 2) and a passageway (222a or 222b or 222c) extending along the radial direction (Fig 2), the holes (111 or 112 or 113) (as best understood from the specification to refer to “a plurality of holes” above) extend to the same passageway (222a or 222b or 222c) and are connected by the passageway (222a/222b/222c), and an end of the passageway 222a/222b/222c is located at an edge of the chuck table 140 connected with the carrying surface 130 and is coupled to a vacuum source 221.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kikuchi to include the vacuum pump and passageway structure as taught by Heo in order to create a chuck that is able to stably fix a substrate that is warped (Heo, [0007]).
In addition, Akira teaches the first portion (lower portion of 2B) comprising opposing sidewalls physically connected to the inner sidewalls of the chuck table (Figs 9-10), and as the first flexible member 2B is compressed (Fig 10), opposing sidewalls of the second portion 25 are physically connected to the inner sidewalls of the chuck table 1 (Fig 10), the entire first sidewall and a portion of the second sidewall of the second portion 25 is physically connected to the inner sidewalls of the chuck table 1 (Fig 10). In combination with Kikuchi, Akira is teaching the extension of the second sidewall being in contact with the inner sidewall and the inner sidewall extending to the top surface of the second portion, but the shape of the second sidewall taught by Kikuchi is maintained. Therefore, in combination, the second sidewall also makes full contact with the inner sidewall once the flexible member is compressed.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kikuchi to have the first portion of the flexible member physically touch both sidewalls and to extend the length of the second portion of the flexible member to touch both sidewalls in the recess, as taught by Akira, in order to ensure the flexible member remains in place during operation and to capture a greater percentage bottom surface of the wafer that is touching the chuck. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention would have found it “obvious to try” having the sidewalls of the first portion physically touching the chuck table and extending the length of the second portion of the flexible member to touch both sidewalls in the recess as the teaching represents a finite number of identified, predictable combinations. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Claims 16 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi in view of Akira and Heo as applied to at least claims 14 and 21 above, and further in view of Otwell (US 61965102).
Regarding claim 16, Kikuchi in view of Heo and Akira teaches the apparatus of claim 14. Kikuchi also teaches a second flexible member 2 surrounded by the first flexible member 2’. Kikuchi does not explicitly disclose wherein the second flexible member is disposed on one of the plurality of vacuum holes.
However, Otwell teaches a second flexible member 102 disposed on one of the vacuum holes 118.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disposition of the second flexible member and the plurality of vacuum holes of Kikuchi with the second flexible members and the vacuum holes of Otwell. In this combination, the second flexible member (Kikuchi, 2) and the plurality of vacuum holes (Kikuchi, 102 and 102’) would be removed and replaced with the layout of the vacuum holes and flexible members shown in Fig 4 of Otwell. The vacuum holes (Otwell, 118) and second flexible members (Otwell, 102) would create an annular perimeter along the circle previously occupied by Kikuchi’s second flexible member, allowing for a more even distribution of the vacuum on the wafer.
Regarding claims 22-24, Kikuchi in view of Heo and Akira teaches the apparatus of claim 21. Kikuchi does not explicitly disclose the chuck table further comprises second recesses arranged along a perimeter of the carrying surface and surrounded by the first recess, and the second recesses are in communication with the vacuum channels, the apparatus further comprises second flexible members disposed in the second recesses. Kikuchi also does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the second flexible members has a ring top-view shape. Kikuchi also does not explicitly disclose wherein a lateral dimension of each of the second recess is greater than a lateral dimension of each of the vacuum channels.
However, Otwell teaches the chuck table 106 further comprises second recesses 110 arranged along a perimeter of the carrying surface 104, and the second recesses 110 are in communication with the vacuum channels 118, the apparatus further comprises second flexible members 102 disposed in the second recesses 110. Otwell also teaches wherein each of the second flexible members 102 has a ring top-view shape (Fig 4). Otwell also teaches wherein a lateral dimension of each of the second recess (diameter of 110) is greater than a lateral dimension of each of the vacuum channels (diameter of 118) (shown in Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disposition of the second flexible member and the plurality of vacuum holes of Kikuchi with the second flexible members and the vacuum holes of Otwell. In this combination, the second flexible member (Kikuchi, 2) and the plurality of vacuum holes (Kikuchi, 102 and 102’) would be removed and replaced with the layout of the vacuum holes and flexible members shown in Fig 4 of Otwell. The vacuum holes (Otwell, 118) and second flexible members (Otwell, 102) would create an annular perimeter along the circle previously occupied by Kikuchi’s second flexible member, allowing for a more even distribution of the vacuum on the wafer.
Regarding claim 25, Kikuchi in view of Heo and Akira teaches the apparatus of claim 10. Kikuchi also teaches the second flexible member 2 has a ring top-view shape (Fig 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 14, and 21 do not require that the plurality of holes comprise the totality of the holes included on the surface of the chuck table, only that there be a plurality of holes. Therefore, a smaller group than all of the holes on the surface of the chuck table may be seen as a plurality of holes; as seen in figure 3 of Heo, all of the holes labeled 111 may be considered to be one plurality of holes, all of the holes labeled 112 may be considered to be another plurality of holes, and all of the holes labeled 113 may be considered to be yet another plurality of holes.
For the reasons set forth above, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 24 September 2026