DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amended claims 1, 14, and 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 14 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/28/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Previous objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Previous objection has been withdrawn.
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16 last line ends with a semicolon “;” instead of a period “.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous rejecting has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letor (US Patent US-20220014187-A1 this reference is cited in the IDS) in the view of Galvano (US Patent US-20180278011-A1 this reference is cited in the IDS), hereinafter Galvano.
Regarding claim 1, Letor teaches an electronic device (Figs.4, 5, 6 and 7 electronic device) couplable to a plurality of laser diodes (Fig. 5 electronic device is couple with lasers LD_1…LD_n), the electronic device comprising:
a body (Fig 6 system 1000) having a first surface (annotated Fig. 6 below “first surface”);
a control switch (Fig. 4 control switch S1 equivalent to SS1 in Fig. 6, see [0138])
having a drain (annotated Fig. 4 below “D” from S1) electrically coupled to a drain metallization (it is inherent that “D” from S1 will be couple to a drain metallization) and
having a source electrically (annotated Fig. 4 below “S” from S1) coupled to a first source metallization (it is inherent that “S” from S1 will have a source metallization that would be connected to the GND as seen in annotated Fig. 4 below)
configured to be electrically coupled to cathodes of the laser diodes (Fig. 4 “S” and “D” from S1 is couple to the cathode of lasers LD_1…LD_n; see annotated figure below);
a plurality of first switches (Fig. 4 switches S3_1….S3_n equivalent to SS2_j in Fig. 6, see [0138]),
each first switch (Fig. 4 S2_1…S2_n) having a respective drain (annotated Fig. 4 below “D” from S2_1…S2_n) electrically coupled to the drain metallization (annotated Fig. 4 drain from S1 and drain from S2_1…S2_n are connected to the same line “12”; therefore “D” from S2_1…S2_n would be couple to the same drain metallization from S1) and
having a respective source (annotated Fig. 4 below “S” from S2_1…S2_n) electrically coupled to a respective second source metallization (it is inherent that “S” from S2_1…S2_n would be coupled to a source metallization since it is a different source metallization from S1 since annotated Fig. 4 below shows that “S” from S2_1…S2_n are on line called 12_1…12_n which is different line than the “S” from “S1” )
configured to be coupled to an anode of a respective laser diode of the plurality of laser diodes (Fig. 4 source and drain from S2_1…S1_n are coupled to anode of lasers LD_1…LD_n),
wherein the drain metallization, the first source metallization, and the second source metallizations are at the same side of and face the first surface of the body (Fig. 6 switches SS1 and SS2_j are at the same side and face the first surface of system 1000; therefore the drain metallization, the first source metallization and second source metallization are at the same side and face the first surface of system 1000),
which is also configured to face the laser diodes (Fig. 5 system 1000 faces LD_1…LD_n),
wherein the second source metallizations are aligned with one another in a direction of alignment, are superimposed, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective sources of the first switches (annotated Fig. 4 below “S” from S2_1….S2_n are aligned orthogonally to S2_1….S2_n; annotated Fig. 6 shows that the SS2_j are aligned to the direction of alignment), and
wherein each first switch (Fig. 4 switches S2_1…S2_n) is configured to be electrically coupled in series to the respective laser diode (Fig. 4 switches S2_1…S2_n are in series with LD_1….LD_n), and wherein the control switch is configured to be electrically coupled in parallel to each first switch (Fig. 4 switch S1 is in parallel to each S2_1…S2_n).
Letor fails to teach a semiconductor body; wherein the second source metallizations are configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diodes, and wherein at least one of the sources of the first switches is configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diode.
However, Galvano teaches a semiconductor body (Fig. 10 driver #IC4 ; paragraph [0032] states “The driver IC 4 includes a semiconductor substrate 4’”; Fig. 5 illustrates substrate 4’); wherein the second source metallizations (Fig. 10 metallization layer #52) are configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diodes (Fig. 10 metallization layer #52 are aligned, orthogonally to laser diode #20 in the direction of alignment in the annotated Figure 10 below), and wherein at least one of the sources of the first switches is configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diode (Annotated Fig. 10 the source of the switch #40 is orthogonal to the direction of alignment; Fig. 5 shows switches are aligned to laser diodes 20a-d).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Letor’s device to have a semiconductor body (e.g. system 100 from Letor made of semiconductor), and second source metallizations are configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diodes, and wherein at least one of the sources of the first switches is configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diode (e.g. having a source/source metallization from S2_1…S2_n from Letor aligned orthogonally to their respective laser diode) as taught by Galvano because having a semiconductor body would allow to further integrate semiconductor devices and having source/source metallization aligned perpendicular to their respective diodes would allow to have a compact device.
Regarding claim 2, Letor’s modified device teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising: a solid body (from Letor Annotated Fig. 6 below “solid body”) physically and electrically coupled to the semiconductor body (from Letor annotated Fig. 7 below “first surface” solid body is physically and electrically connected system 1000 ) and having a respective first surface facing the first surface of the semiconductor body (“first surface” is facing system 1000); and an electrical-connection element (Fig.6 GND) extending in, or over, the solid body (Fig. 6 GND extends over), wherein the electrical-connection element (Fig.6 GND) is electrically coupled to the first source metallization, faces the second source metallizations (Fig. 7 GND faces faces source metallization from S1 and S2_1…S2_n) , and is configured to be electrically coupled to the cathodes of the laser diodes (Fig. 6 GND is electrically coupled to the cathodes of the lasers).
Regarding claim 5, Letor’s modified device teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the solid body is formed by a printed circuit board PCB ([0141] states “FIG. 6 is a schematic representation of a possible IC implementation of a 4-channel laser driver 1000 including integrated GaN transistors in a 4-layer PCB layout”), and wherein the electrical-connection element (Fig. 6 GND) is formed by a conductive path on the first surface of the solid body (Fig. 6 GND is a conductive layer formed on the first surface of the solid body).
Regarding claim 6, Letor’s modified device teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the source of each first switch (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S2_1…S2_n”) is configured to be superimposed, to the anode of the respective laser diode with which it is electrically coupled to (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S2_1…S2_n” is electrically coupled to the respective laser diode).
Regarding claim 7, Letor’s modified device teaches the electronic device according to claim 6, wherein a centroid (annotated Fig. 6 centroid 1 being located in the “y” axes plane), measured parallel to the first surface of the semiconductor body of the source of each first switch (annotated Fig. 6 below centroid 1 is parallel to first surface) is configured to be superimposed, orthogonally to the first surface of the semiconductor body, to a centroid (Annotated Fig. 6 below centroid 2 on the z plane parallel), measured parallel to the first surface of the solid body of the anode of the respective laser diode (Annotated Fig. 6 below centroid 2 is parallel to the first surface of the anode of the respective LD; therefore centroid 1 is orthogonally to centroid 2).
Regarding claim 8, Letor’s modified device teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first switches are arranged in an array (Fig. 6 from Letor SS2_j are in an array, see annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1), and the sources of the first switches are aligned with one another in the direction of alignment (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S2_1…S2n; since Fig. 6 shows SS2_j are aligned in the direction of the first surface hence “S” for each S2_1…S2n are aligned with one another in the direction of alignment).
Regarding claim 12, Letor’s modified device teaches the electronic device according to claim 1.
Letor’s modified device fails to teach wherein at least one of the second source metallizations is further superimposed, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to one or more of the sources of the first switches from which said at least one second source metallization is electrically decoupled.
However, Gavalno teaches wherein at least one of the second source metallizations (from Galvano Fig. 10 metallization layer #52) is further superimposed, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to one or more of the sources of the first switches from which said at least one second source metallization is electrically decoupled (from Galvano Fig. 10 metallization layer #52 is orthogonally set up the direction of alignment, see annotated figure in claim 1, to the sources of the switch drawn in Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Letor’s device in the view of Galvano as taught further by Galvano above because having second source metallizations orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to one or more of the sources of the first switches would allow to have a compact device.
Regarding claim 14, Letor teaches a laser-driving module (Fig. 4 pulse generator circuit 100), comprising:
an electronic device couplable to a plurality of laser diodes (Figs. 5-6 system 1000 is coupled to lasers LD_1…LD_n), the electronic device comprising:
a body (Fig 6 system 1000) having a first surface (annotated Fig. 6 in claim 1 “first surface”);
a control switch (Fig. 4 control switch S1 equivalent to SS1 in Fig. 6, see [0138])
having a drain (annotated Fig. 4 below “D” from S1) electrically coupled to a drain metallization (it is inherent that “D” from S1 will be couple to a drain metallization ) and
having a source (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S1) electrically coupled to a first source metallization (it is inherent that “S” from S1 will have a source metallization that would be connected to the GND as seen in annotated Fig. 4 in claim )
configured to be electrically coupled to cathodes of the laser diodes (Fig. 4 “S” and “D” from S1 is couple to the cathode of lasers LD_1…LD_n; see annotated figure in claim 1);
a plurality of first switches (Fig. 4 switches S3_1….S3_n equivalent to SS2_j in Fig. 6, see [0138]),
each first switch (Fig. 4 S2_1…S2_n) having a respective drain (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “D” from S2_1…S2_n) electrically coupled to the drain metallization (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 drain from S1 and drain from S2_1…S2_n are connected to the same line “12”; therefore “D” from S2_1…S2_n would be couple to the same drain metallization from S1) and
having a respective source (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S2_1…S2_n) electrically coupled to a respective second source metallization (it is inherent that “S” from S2_1…S2_n would be coupled to a source metallization since it is a different source metallization from S1 since annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 shows that “S” from S2_1…S2_n are on line called 12_1…12_n which is different line than the “S” from “S1” )
configured to be coupled to an anode of a respective laser diode of the plurality of laser diodes (Fig. 4 source and drain from S2_1…S1_n are coupled to anode of lasers LD_1…LD_n),
wherein the drain metallization, the first source metallization, and the second source metallizations are at the same side of and face the first surface of the body (Fig. 6 switches SS1 and SS2_j are at the same side and face the first surface of system 1000; therefore the drain metallization, the first source metallization and second source metallization are at the same side and face the first surface of system 1000),
which is also configured to face the laser diodes (Fig. 5 system 1000 faces LD_1…LD_n),
wherein the second source metallizations are aligned with one another in a direction of alignment, are superimposed, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective sources of the first switches (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S2_1….S2_n are aligned orthogonally to S2_1….S2_n; annotated Fig. 6 shows that the SS2_j are aligned to the direction of alignment), and
wherein each first switch (Fig. 4 switches S2_1…S2_n) is configured to be electrically coupled in series to the respective laser diode (Fig. 4 switches S2_1…S2_n are in series with LD_1….LD_n), and
wherein the control switch is configured to be electrically coupled in parallel to each first switch (Fig. 4 switch S1 is in parallel to each S2_1…S2_n).
wherein the drain metallization (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “D” from S1, it is inherent that the drain would be couple to a drain metallization) forms a first node (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “first node”), the first source metallization (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S1, it is inherent that the source would be couple to a source metallization) forms a reference node (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “reference node”), and each of the second source metallizations (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S2_1…n, it is inherent that the source would be couple to a source metallization) forms a respective driving node (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “driving node”);
a resonant circuit including a series connection of an inductance (Fig. 4 Lr) and a capacitance (Fig. 4 C) having an intermediate node between them (Fig. 4 node 14), the resonant circuit being coupled between the first node and the reference node (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 node 14 is couple between first node and reference node);
a charging circuitry (Fig. 4 regulator 16 ) coupled between a supply node and the intermediate node in the resonant circuit (Fig. 4 regulator 16 is coupled between node 14 and VCC) for charging the capacitance in the resonant circuit ([0087]); and
a driving circuitry (Fig. 4 201, 202, 304 & 182n) for driving the control switch (see [0079]) and the first switches (see [0078], ),
the driving circuitry (Fig. 4 201, 202, 304 & 182n) being configured to repeat cycles of generation of pulses (Figs. 3A-3E are the generated pulses, [00114]) comprising:
closing the control switch and enabling the resonant circuit to oscillate with an increasing current that flows in the inductance of the resonant circuit (see [0008] & abstract);
in response to the current flowing in the inductance of the resonant circuit reaching a threshold value, opening the control switch (see [0183]), and,
in response to one of the first switches being closed for a respective pulse-duration time (see [0008] and abstract), switching the current that flows in the inductance of the resonant circuit towards one of the first switches and the respective driving node (see [008-0010]); and
opening the one of the first switches when said respective pulse-duration time elapses (see [0184]).
Letor fails to teach a semiconductor body; wherein the second source metallizations are configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diodes, and wherein at least one of the sources of the first switches is configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diode.
However, Galvano teaches a semiconductor body (Fig. 10 driver #IC4 ; paragraph [0032] states “The driver IC 4 includes a semiconductor substrate 4’”; Fig. 5 illustrates substrate 4’); wherein the second source metallizations (Fig. 10 metallization layer #52) are configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diodes (Fig. 10 metallization layer #52 are aligned, orthogonally to laser diode #20 in the direction of alignment in the annotated Figure 10 in claim 1), and wherein at least one of the sources of the first switches is configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diode (Annotated Fig. 10 in claim 1 the source of the switch #40 is orthogonal to the direction of alignment; Fig. 5 shows switches are aligned to laser diodes 20a-d).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Letor’s device to have a semiconductor body (e.g. system 100 from Letor made of semiconductor), and second source metallizations are configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diodes, and wherein at least one of the sources of the first switches is configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diode (e.g. having a source/source metallization from S2_1…S2_n from Letor aligned orthogonally to their respective laser diode) as taught by Galvano because having a semiconductor body would allow to further integrate semiconductor devices and having source/source metallization aligned perpendicular to their respective diodes would allow to have a compact device.
Regarding claim 15, Letor’s modified device teaches the laser-driving module according to claim 14, wherein each first switch (Fig. 4 S2_1…S2_n) has an associated respective second switch (Fig. 4 S3_1…S3_n) coupled between the respective driving node and the reference node (Fig. 4 S3_1…S3_n is couple between driving node and reference node, see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1), and wherein the driving circuitry (Fig. 4 202, 201, 182_n) is configured to selectively close said second switch in order to couple the respective driving node to the reference node (see [0078]).
Regarding claim 16, Letor teaches a laser lighting module (Fig. 4 pulse generator circuit 100), comprising
a plurality of laser diodes (Fig. 4 LD_1...LD_n); and
a laser-driving module (Fig. 4 pulse generator circuit 100), the laser-driving module including:
an electronic device couplable to a plurality of laser diodes (Figs. 5-6 system 1000 is coupled to lasers LD_1…LD_n), the electronic device comprising:
a body (Fig 6 system 1000) having a first surface (annotated Fig. 6 in claim 1 “first surface”);
a control switch (Fig. 4 control switch S1 equivalent to SS1 in Fig. 6, see [0138])
having a drain (annotated Fig. 4 below “D” from S1) electrically coupled to a drain metallization (it is inherent that “D” from S1 will be couple to a drain metallization ) and
having a source (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S1) electrically coupled to a first source metallization (it is inherent that “S” from S1 will have a source metallization that would be connected to the GND as seen in annotated Fig. 4 in claim )
configured to be electrically coupled to cathodes of the laser diodes (Fig. 4 “S” and “D” from S1 is couple to the cathode of lasers LD_1…LD_n; see annotated figure in claim 1);
a plurality of first switches (Fig. 4 switches S3_1….S3_n equivalent to SS2_j in Fig. 6, see [0138]),
each first switch (Fig. 4 S2_1…S2_n) having a respective drain (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “D” from S2_1…S2_n) electrically coupled to the drain metallization (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 drain from S1 and drain from S2_1…S2_n are connected to the same line “12”; therefore “D” from S2_1…S2_n would be couple to the same drain metallization from S1) and
having a respective source (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S2_1…S2_n) electrically coupled to a respective second source metallization (it is inherent that “S” from S2_1…S2_n would be coupled to a source metallization since it is a different source metallization from S1 since annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 shows that “S” from S2_1…S2_n are on line called 12_1…12_n which is different line than the “S” from “S1” )
configured to be coupled to an anode of a respective laser diode of the plurality of laser diodes (Fig. 4 source and drain from S2_1…S1_n are coupled to anode of lasers LD_1…LD_n),
wherein the drain metallization, the first source metallization, and the second source metallizations are at the same side of and face the first surface of the body (Fig. 6 switches SS1 and SS2_j are at the same side and face the first surface of system 1000; therefore the drain metallization, the first source metallization and second source metallization are at the same side and face the first surface of system 1000),
which is also configured to face the laser diodes (Fig. 5 system 1000 faces LD_1…LD_n),
wherein the second source metallizations are aligned with one another in a direction of alignment, are superimposed, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective sources of the first switches (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S2_1….S2_n are aligned orthogonally to S2_1….S2_n; annotated Fig. 6 shows that the SS2_j are aligned to the direction of alignment), and
wherein each first switch (Fig. 4 switches S2_1…S2_n) is configured to be electrically coupled in series to the respective laser diode (Fig. 4 switches S2_1…S2_n are in series with LD_1….LD_n), and
wherein the control switch is configured to be electrically coupled in parallel to each first switch (Fig. 4 switch S1 is in parallel to each S2_1…S2_n).
wherein the drain metallization (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “D” from S1, it is inherent that the drain would be couple to a drain metallization) forms a first node (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “first node”), the first source metallization (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S1, it is inherent that the source would be couple to a source metallization) forms a reference node (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “reference node”), and each of the second source metallizations (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “S” from S2_1…n, it is inherent that the source would be couple to a source metallization) forms a respective driving node (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 “driving node”);
a resonant circuit including a series connection of an inductance (Fig. 4 Lr) and a capacitance (Fig. 4 C) having an intermediate node between them (Fig. 4 node 14), the resonant circuit being coupled between the first node and the reference node (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 node 14 is couple between first node and reference node);
a charging circuitry (Fig. 4 regulator 16 ) coupled between a supply node and the intermediate node in the resonant circuit (Fig. 4 regulator 16 is coupled between node 14 and VCC) for charging the capacitance in the resonant circuit ([0087]); and
a driving circuitry (Fig. 4 201, 202, 304 & 182n) for driving the control switch (see [0079]) and the first switches (see [0078], ),
the driving circuitry (Fig. 4 201, 202, 304 & 182n) being configured to repeat cycles of generation of pulses (Figs. 3A-3E are the generated pulses, [00114]) comprising:
closing the control switch and enabling the resonant circuit to oscillate with an increasing current that flows in the inductance of the resonant circuit (see [0008] & abstract);
in response to the current flowing in the inductance of the resonant circuit reaching a threshold value, opening the control switch (see [0183]), and,
in response to one of the first switches being closed for a respective pulse-duration time (see [0008] and abstract), switching the current that flows in the inductance of the resonant circuit towards one of the first switches and the respective driving node (see [008-0010]); and
opening the one of the first switches when said respective pulse-duration time elapses (see [0184]).
Letor fails to teach a semiconductor body; wherein the second source metallizations are configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diodes, and wherein at least one of the sources of the first switches is configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diode.
However, Galvano teaches a semiconductor body (Fig. 10 driver #IC4 ; paragraph [0032] states “The driver IC 4 includes a semiconductor substrate 4’”; Fig. 5 illustrates substrate 4’); wherein the second source metallizations (Fig. 10 metallization layer #52) are configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diodes (Fig. 10 metallization layer #52 are aligned, orthogonally to laser diode #20 in the direction of alignment in the annotated Figure 10 in claim 1), and wherein at least one of the sources of the first switches is configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diode (Annotated Fig. 10 in claim 1 the source of the switch #40 is orthogonal to the direction of alignment; Fig. 5 shows switches are aligned to laser diodes 20a-d).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Letor’s device to have a semiconductor body (e.g. system 100 from Letor made of semiconductor), and second source metallizations are configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diodes, and wherein at least one of the sources of the first switches is configured to be aligned, orthogonally to the direction of alignment, to the respective laser diode (e.g. having a source/source metallization from S2_1…S2_n from Letor aligned orthogonally to their respective laser diode) as taught by Galvano because having a semiconductor body would allow to further integrate semiconductor devices and having source/source metallization aligned perpendicular to their respective diodes would allow to have a compact device.
Regarding claim 20, Letor’s modified device teaches a LIDAR apparatus comprising a laser lighting module according to claim 16 (from Letor Fig. 7 lidar equipment for a vehicle comprising system 1000 in Fig. 6-7).
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letor (US Patent US-20220014187-A1 this reference is cited in the IDS) in the view of Galvano (US Patent US-20180278011-A1 this reference is cited in the IDS), as per claim 2 and 16, in further view of Gilliland (US Patent US-20160266242-A1) hereinafter Gilliland.
Regarding claim 3, Letor’s modified device teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the solid body (annotated Fig. 6 in claim 2 “solid body”) has a cavity (annotated Fig 6 in claim 2 “cavity”) that extends in the solid body and faces the second source metallizations (annotated Fig 6 in claim 2 “cavity” extends “solid body” and faces source metallization from S2_1…S2_n), the cavity being configured to house the laser diodes (annotated Fig 6 in claim 2 “cavity” houses LD_1…LDn) and wherein the electrical-connection element (Fig. 6 GND) is formed by a conductive layer (Fig. 6 GND is a layer; Fig. 4 shows the GND being part of the circuit, therefore GND is conductive).
Letor fails to teach solid body is formed by a further semiconductor.
However, Gilliland a solid body is formed by a further semiconductor body (for example Fig. 6C first silicon substrate # 168 and second silicon substrate #184 where cavity #186 is formed to place edge emitting laser #170).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Letor’s device in the view of Galvano with a semiconductor solid body as taught by Gilliland because a semiconductor solid body would allow to further integrate the device with other elements in the circuit.
Regarding claim 4, Letor’s modified device teaches the electronic device according to claim 3, wherein the solid body further has a second surface and a lateral surface (annotated Fig. 6 from claim 2 “second surface” and “lateral surface”), the second surface being opposite to the first surface of the solid body with respect to the solid body (annotated Fig. 6 second surface is opposite to first surface), and the lateral surface joining together the second surface and the first surface of the solid body (annotated Fig. 6 lateral surface joins first and second surface), wherein the cavity further faces the lateral surface (annotated Fig. 6 cavity faces lateral surface).
Regarding claim 17, Letor’s modified device teaches the laser lighting module according to claim 16.
Letor’s modified device fails to teach wherein the laser diodes are edge-emitting lasers.
However, Gilliland teaches the laser diodes are edge-emitting lasers (for example Fig. 6c laser #170 is an edged emitted laser). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Letor’s device in the view of Galvano with an edged emitted laser as taught by Gilliland because an edged emitted laser would allow to emit light on the direction of side/edge of the laser.
Claim(s) 9, 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letor (US Patent US-20220014187-A1 this reference is cited in the IDS) in the view of Galvano (US Patent US-20180278011-A1 this reference is cited in the IDS), as per claims 1, 8 and 16, in further view of Glaser (NPL Glaser, John, "Optimizing performance of a pulsed laser diode driver based on a GaN FET," 2019 IEEE Workshop on Wide Bandgap Power Devices and Applications in Asia (WiPDA Asia), 5 pages; this reference has been cited in the IDS), hereinafter Glaser.
Regarding claim 9, Letor’s modified device teaches the electronic device according to claim 8.
Letor’s modified device fails to teach wherein centroids of the sources of first switches immediately consecutive to one another in said array have a maximum relative distance between them of less than 500 um.
However, first switches array having a maximum relative distance between them of less than 500 mm can be reach through routine optimization MPEP 2144.05 IIA. For example Glaser teaches optimizing the layout to reduce inductance improving laser driver performance (for example page 3 paragraph 1 states “The power loop inductance L1 can be reduced in a number of ways. At the circuit board level, following optimal layout methods results in reduced inductance”; page 4 paragraph 5 states “It is shown that the optimized laser driver was able to reduce the possible laser spacing pitch to 5 mm”; hence, reducing pitch of the switches in the same manner as Glaser can help reducing the parasitic inductance). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Letor’s device in the view of Galvano with the distance between switches less than 500 mm because it would produce a compact device which would be a result of routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05 IIB.
Regarding claim 10, Letor’s modified device teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the sources of the first switches are physically and electrically couplable to the respective anodes of the laser diodes (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 S from S2_1…S2_n are physically and electrically couplable to the respective anodes of the LD_1…LD_n).
Letor’s modified device fails to teach wherein the sources of the first switches are physically and electrically couplable to the respective anodes of the laser diodes through conductive vias extending orthogonally to the first surface of the semiconductor body and having a maximum length, measured orthogonally to the first surface of the semiconductor body, of less than 500 um.
However, Galvano teaches the sources of the first switches (annotated Fig. 10 in claim 1, source of switch #40) are physically and electrically couplable to the respective anodes of the laser diodes (from Galvano Fig. 10 switch #40 is physically and electrically coupled to the anode of laser #20; see also circuit 2 source “S” is physically and electrically connected to the anode of DL) through conductive vias (from Galvano Fig. 5 chip interconnections #42; paragraph [0032] states “The driver IC 4 includes a semiconductor substrate 4′ -e.g. a silicon substrate- and chip interconnections 42 in the metallization layer arranged on the top surface of the semiconductor substrate 4′. The chip interconnections 42 allow for directly bonding -i.e. without using bond wires- the laser diodes 20 and capacitors 30”; from Figure 5 can be seen the metallization layer on top of the surface of the semiconductor substrate 4 that has vias connecting the laser diodes 20 with the switches 40, see figure in claim 1) extending orthogonally to the first surface of the semiconductor body (annotated Fig. 5 in claim 1 shows the chip interconnections that extend orthogonally to first surface of IC4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Leter’s device in the view of Galvano to have conductive via as further taught by Galvano above because having conductive via would allow to have a robust connection between first switches with the laser array.
Letor’s modified device fails to teach the sources of the first switches having a maximum length, measured orthogonally to the first surface of the semiconductor body, of less than 500 mm.
However, having the sources of the first switches having a maximum length of less than 500mm can be reached through routine optimization MPEP 2144.05 IIA. For example Glaser teaches optimizing the layout to reduce inductance improving laser driver performance (for example page 3 paragraph 1 states “The power loop inductance L1 can be reduced in a number of ways. At the circuit board level, following optimal layout methods results in reduced inductance”; page 4 paragraph 5 states “It is shown that the optimized laser driver was able to reduce the possible laser spacing pitch to 5 mm”; hence, reducing pitch of the switches in the same manner as Glaser can help reducing the parasitic inductance). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Letor’s device in the view of Galvano with sources of the first switches having a maximum length of less than 500mm because it would produce a compact device which would be a result of routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05 IIB.
Regarding claim 18, Letor’s modified device teaches the laser lighting module according to claim 16, wherein the sources of the first switches are physically and electrically coupled to the respective anodes of the laser diodes (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1 S from S2_1…S2_n are physically and electrically couplable to the respective anodes of the LD_1…LD_n)
Letor’s modified device fails to teach wherein the sources of the first switches are physically and electrically coupled to the respective anodes of the laser diodes through conductive vias extending orthogonally to the first surface of the semiconductor body and having a maximum length, measured orthogonally to the first surface of the semiconductor body, of less than 500 um.
However, Galvano teaches the sources of the first switches (annotated Fig. 10 in claim 1, source of switch #40) are physically and electrically couplable to the respective anodes of the laser diodes (from Galvano Fig. 10 switch #40 is physically and electrically coupled to the anode of laser #20; see also circuit 2 source “S” is physically and electrically connected to the anode of DL) through conductive vias (from Galvano Fig. 5 chip interconnections #42; paragraph [0032] states “The driver IC 4 includes a semiconductor substrate 4′ -e.g. a silicon substrate- and chip interconnections 42 in the metallization layer arranged on the top surface of the semiconductor substrate 4′. The chip interconnections 42 allow for directly bonding -i.e. without using bond wires- the laser diodes 20 and capacitors 30”; from Figure 5 can be seen the metallization layer on top of the surface of the semiconductor substrate 4 that has vias connecting the laser diodes 20 with the switches 40, see figure in claim 1) extending orthogonally to the first surface of the semiconductor body (annotated Fig. 5 in claim 1 shows the chip interconnections that extend orthogonally to first surface of IC4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Leter’s device in the view of Galvano to have conductive via as further taught by Galvano above because having conductive via would allow to have a robust connection between first switches with the laser array.
Letor’s modified device fails to teach the sources of the first switches having a maximum length, measured orthogonally to the first surface of the semiconductor body, of less than 500 mm.
However, having the sources of the first switches having a maximum length of less than 500mm can be reached through routine optimization MPEP 2144.05 IIA. For example Glaser teaches optimizing the layout to reduce inductance improving laser driver performance (for example page 3 paragraph 1 states “The power loop inductance L1 can be reduced in a number of ways. At the circuit board level, following optimal layout methods results in reduced inductance”; page 4 paragraph 5 states “It is shown that the optimized laser driver was able to reduce the possible laser spacing pitch to 5 mm”; hence, reducing pitch of the switches in the same manner as Glaser can help reducing the parasitic inductance). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Letor’s device in the view of Galvano with sources of the first switches having a maximum length of less than 500mm because it would produce a compact device which would be a result of routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05 IIB.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letor (US Patent US-20220014187-A1 this reference is cited in the IDS) in the view of Galvano (US Patent US-20180278011-A1 this reference is cited in the IDS), as per claims 1, in further view of Crawford (US Patent US-20210098965-A1 this reference has been cited in the IDS) hereinafter Crawford.
Regarding claim 11, Letor’s modified device teaches the electronic device according to claim 1.
Letor’s modified device fails to teach wherein the control switch and the first switches are GaN devices.
However, Crawford teaches the control switch and the first switches (for example Fig. 2 FET #4 and FET #9 ) made of GaN (for example paragraph [0025] states “The fast switching device (4) may comprise a Gallium Nitride (GaN) FET; and the fast switch (9) may comprise a Gallium Nitride (GaN) FET”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Letor’s device in the view of Galvano with a switch made of GaN as taught by Crawford because it would allow the device to switch faster by selecting a GaN switch.
Claim(s) 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letor (US Patent US-20220014187-A1 this reference is cited in the IDS) in the view of Galvano (US Patent US-20180278011-A1 this reference is cited in the IDS), as per claim 1 and 16, in further view of Galvano Kinbara (US Patent US-6137816-A), hereinafter Kinbara.
Regarding claim 13, Letor’s modified device teaches the electronic device according to claim 1.
Letor’s modified device fails to teach wherein a portion of the first source metallization extends parallel to the direction of alignment and is configured to be electrically coupled, through soldering, to the cathodes of the laser diodes.
However, Kinbara teaches a control switch (for example Fig. 1 control switching element #2) having a source electrically coupled to a first source metallization (for example Fig. 1 source side of control switching element #2; it is inherent that the source of #2 will be electrically couple to source metallization). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Letor’s modified device in the view of Galvano to incorporate the first source metallization electrically coupled to the control switch as taught by Kinbara and incorporated in in its layout to electrically coupled it with the cathodes of the laser diodes (e.g. having first source metallization being extended in parallel to the direction of alignment) because having the first source metallization electrically coupled to the control switch would allow to perform a switching operation by an external signal (see from Kinbara column 5 and lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 19, Letor’s modified device teaches the laser lighting module according to claim 16.
Letor’s modified device fails to teach wherein a portion of the first source metallization extends parallel to the direction of alignment and is configured to be electrically coupled, through soldering, to the cathodes of the laser diodes.
However, Kinbara teaches a control switch (for example Fig. 1 control switching element #2) having a source electrically coupled to a first source metallization (for example Fig. 1 source side of control switching element #2; it is inherent that the source of #2 will be electrically couple to source metallization). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Letor’s modified device in the view of Galvano to incorporate the first source metallization electrically coupled to the control switch as taught by Kinbara and incorporated in in its layout to electrically coupled it with the cathodes of the laser diodes (e.g. having first source metallization being extended in parallel to the direction of alignment) because having the first source metallization electrically coupled to the control switch would allow to perform a switching operation by an external signal (see from Kinbara column 5 and lines 10-13).
Conclusion
/FERNANDA ADRIANA CAMACHO ALANIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828