DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/23/26, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg et al. (US 2015/0141268) in view of Walt et al. (US 6,377,721) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 44 to include the limitation of a synthesis surface having a plurality of nucleosides attached wherein each nucleoside comprises a photolabile protecting group and then argued this feature is not taught or suggested by the cited prior art. See pages 7-8 of Applicant’s Remarks and the attached Interview Summary. The Examiner agrees; therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 10, 13, 16, 18 and 43-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg et al. (US 2015/0141268) in view of Walt et al. (US 6,377,721), and further in view of Fodor et al. (US 5,424,186).
Rothberg teaches an active source pixel integrated device for detection and analysis of biological and chemical compounds. The embodiments of the device most relevant to the instant claims are shown in Figures 3-1 to 3-7F.
Regarding claims 1-3, 16, 45 and 53 - As shown in Figures 3-1 to 3-7F, Rothberg teaches a device for polymer synthesis, comprising: a solid support, wherein the solid support comprises a plurality of wells (3-210), wherein each of the wells comprises: a) a synthesis surface (3-211) located in a bottom region of each of the wells; b) a light-emitting layer (3-245) in addressable communication with the synthesis surface and situated below the synthesis surface; and c) a CMOS driver (see Paras 0018, 0203 and 0474) located in addressable communication with the light-emitting layer. See Paragraphs 0200-0233. Rothberg recites a well diameter of 20 nm to 1 micron in Paragraph 0210. Rothberg recites a device having up to 10 million wells, but Rothberg does not teach the specific well density wherein the solid support comprises addressable loci at a density of at least 10 x10⁶ addressable loci per cm². Rothberg also does not teach that each addressable locus supports synthesis of an oligonucleotide having a different sequence than oligonucleotides synthesized on the other addressable loci. Rothberg also does not teach a synthesis surface having a plurality of nucleosides attached wherein each nucleoside comprises a photolabile protecting group.
Walt teaches a biosensor array. The embodiment of the device most relevant to the instant claims is shown in Figures 1-3 and described in columns 6-14. The biosensor array is comprised of a plurality of etched wells for holding cells. The array may include up to 100 million or 2 billion etched cells for holding cells or compounds for synthesis and analysis. The wells are formed in a square centimeter of space on a substrate. See columns 11 and 12 of Walt. Walt further teaches forming a library of compounds from a sample based on the use of a plurality of different nucleic acids in different wells in column 31, line 55 - column 33, line 60 of Walt. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to combine the well density from the device of Walt with the device of Rothberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would add the well density to Rothenberg to provide an increased number of wells per square centimeter for high throughput analysis of compounds as taught by Walt.
The Examiner further submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to combine the use of different nucleic acid compounds in different wells from Walt with the device of Rothberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would add the different nucleic acid compounds in different wells to Rothberg to form a library of nucleotides or analytes from a sample as taught by Walt (see column 31, line 55 - column 33, line 60 of Walt).
With respect to the new limitation of claim 45, the Examiner submits that Rothberg teaches a device having up to 10 million wells (Paragraph 0180) with each well having a single oligonucleotide (Paras 0160 and 0166).
As previously noted, Walt teaches up to 2 billion cells on a substrate of a square centimeter. The Examiner submits the combination of Rothberg and Walt would result in a device capable of supporting synthesis of oligonucleotides at a density of about 1 oligonucleotide per 25 nm² to about 1 oligonucleotide per 75 nm² as recited in the claim. The combination of Rothberg and Walt does not teach a synthesis surface having a plurality of nucleosides attached wherein each nucleoside comprises a photolabile protecting group.
Fodor teaches a method for light directed synthesis of oligonucleotides on a substrate. As shown in Figure 1 and described in columns 11-14, the method of Fodor includes providing a substrate having a plurality of regions having attached compounds for synthesis. The attached compounds include a photolabile protected group that is removed by irradiation. The substrate is then contacted with other compounds in the defined regions. The steps are repeated until the desired product is achieved. In columns 11-12, Fodor teaches the use of the photolabile protecting group allows control of which sites are available for reaction. Later, in columns 49-52, Fodor teaches photo protected nucleosides for use in nucleotide synthesis. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to combine the nucleoside having a photolabile protecting group from Fodor with the combined teachings of Rothberg and Walt. One of ordinary skill in the art would add the photoprotected nucleosides to provide protected compounds for use during synthesis as taught by Fodor.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 10 and 13 - Rothberg teaches the excitation source may provide visible
radiation at a wavelength between about 350 nm and about 750 nm, near-infrared radiation at a
wavelength between about 0.75 micron and about 1.4 microns, and/or short wavelength infrared
radiation at a wavelength between about 1.4 microns and about 3 microns in Paragraph 0259.
Regarding claims 18 and 46 - Rothberg recites a well depth of about 50 nm to about 500 nm in
Paragraph 0210.
Regarding claims 43, 47 and 48 - Rothberg discloses a transparent oxide layer (3-25/3-610/3-
620) having a roughened surface comprised of surface plasmon structures in Paragraphs 0217-and
Figures 3-6 to 3-7F.
Regarding claim 44 - Rothberg is silent as to the thickness of the transparent oxide layer, but
teaches a silicon dioxide layer of about 150 nm in Paragraph 0382. The Examiner takes the position that
the difference between the prior art is one of relative dimensions and the device. In Gardner V. TEC
Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232
(1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was
a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative
dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not
patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claims 2, 3 and 49-53 - In Figure 4-3B and Paragraph 0280, Rothberg teaches an integrated semiconductor light emitting diode that may be fabricated adjacent to a sample well, in some
implementations. A semiconductor LED may comprise a plurality of layers, as depicted in the drawing.
The layers may include an electron transport layer 4-352, a hole blocking layer 4-354, and emissive layer 4-356, a hole transport layer 4-357, and an electron blocking layer 4-359, in some implementations. The
stack of layers may be electrically contacted by an anode and cathode as described in connection with
FIG. 4-3A. The LED structure depicted in FIG. 4-3B may be used for other types of LEDs, including but not
limited to OLEDs, PhOLEDs, and a quantum dot LEDs (QLEDs).
Conclusion
/DWAYNE K HANDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1798 September 18, 2026
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798