DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on Remarks submitted on 07/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
(A) Regarding independent claims 1 and 15, applicant argues that the cited reference fails to teach a spacer disposed between the first and second lens and including a through portion through which the protrusion extends, wherein the outer surface of the protrusion is spaced from the inner surface of the through portion to form a gap perpendicular to the optical axis.
Response: This argument is not persuasive, because the rejection of claims 1 and 15 does not rely on Tanaka for this limitation. Sasaki itself discloses, in its fourth embodiment, sheet like shielding member 311 interposed between and contacting fist lens 114 and second lens 122, such that member 311 functions as a spacer maintain separation between the lenses. Sasaki further discloses opening 3111 through which protrusion 1141 extends, and Fig. 9 depicts the outer surface of protrusions 1141 spaced from the inner surface defining opening 3111 in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, thereby forming the claimed gap. See Sasaki, Fig. 9 and paras. 0089-0091. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments concerning Tanaka’s adhesive do not address the rejection of claims 1 and 15.
(B) Applicant further argues that Kurihara’s outwardly open recess would be blocked by the inner wall of Sasaki’s lens barrel.
Response: This argument is not persuasive. Claims 1 and 15 require the recess formed in the second lens to be open in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, but do not require that the recess remain exposed to the external environment or unobstructed by an adjacent lens barrel surface after assembly. Forming Sasaki’s recess 1221 as Kurihara’s groove 7, which is cut radially throughout the lens rim, would remove the outer radial wall of the recess and cause the recess bottom to extend to the outer peripheral surface of the second lens. The resulting recess would therefore be structurally open in the claimed direction notwithstanding the presence of an adjacent lens barrel. Moreover, Kurihara expressly teaches that the radially extending groove configuration of Fig. 26 is useful for lowering lens production cost. Thus, one or ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to form Sasaki’s recess 1221 as a groove extending radially through the peripheral flange to facilitate manufacture and reduce production cost. This benefit is realized in manufacturing the lens and is not eliminated by subsequently installing the lens within a barrel. Thus, applicant’s reliance on Fig. 5 of Sasaki also does not address the rejection as presently maintained, which relies on Sasaki’s fourth embodiment shown in Figs. 8-9.
(C) Regarding independent claim 17, applicant argues Tanaka’s concave portion 214a is filled with adhesive 215a, whereas the amended claims require a gap, and the combination fails to teach a spacer having through portions through which the protrusions extend, with the protrusion surfaces spaced form the through portions surfaces.
Response: These arguments are not persuasive. Sasaki supplies the spacer, the protrusion receiving openings, and the claimed gaps. In particular, spacer/shielding member 311 includes respective openings 3111 through which protrusions 1141 extend, and Fig. 9 depicts the protrusions spaced from the wall defining the respective openings. Tanaka is relied upon only for claim 17’s additional requirement that the spacer openings be elongated in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis. Tanaka discloses spacer ring 214 having notches 214a extending from outside to inside along a direction perpendicular to the optical axis. See Tanaka, Fig. 4 and paras. 0064 and 0080. It would have been obvious to form Sasaki’s protrusion receiving openings 3111 with Tanaka’s elongated notch configuration to provide additional lateral clearance, accommodate dimensional and assembly tolerances, and provide spacer for adhesive reinforcement. Applicant’s argument concerning adhesive 215a is therefore misplaced because Tanaka is not relied upon for the gaps between Sasaki’s protrusions and opening walls, Sasaki supplies that relationship.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7-9, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. US 2011/0122511 (Fig. 9) in view of Kurihara US Patent No. 5,024,509.
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki teaches a lens assembly (Figs. 8-9 and para 0086-0087: lens unit 4), comprising:
a first lens including a protrusion (Fig. 9 and para 0088: first lens 114 includes protrusion 1141 formed on flange portion 1140); and
a second lens disposed adjacent to the first lens and including a recess configured to accommodate at least a portion of the protrusion (Fig. 9 and para 0089: second lens 122 is disposed adjacent to first lens 114 and includes recess 1221 accommodating at least a portion of protrusion 1141),
a spacer disposed between the first lens and the second lens and including a through portion through which the protrusion extends (Fig. 9 and paras. 0089-0091: sheet like shielding member 311 is interposed between and contacts flange portion 1140 of first lens 114 and flange portion 1220 of second lens 122, thereby functioning as a spacer maintaining separation between the lenses, and wherein member 311 includes opening 3111 through which protrusion 1141 extends),
wherein an outer surface of the protrusion is spaced apart from an inner surface of the through portion to form a gap therebetween along a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (Fig. 9 and para 0089-0090: Fig. 9 depicts the outer surface of protrusion 1141 spaced from the inner surface defining opening 3111 in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, thereby forming a gap therebetween),
wherein the protrusion is spaced apart from the recess both in the optical axis direction and the direction perpendicular to the optical axis so as not to come into contact with each other (Fig. 9 and para 0089: protrusion 1141 extends into recess 1221 while being disposed away from recess 1221, and Fig. 9 depicts axial and perpendicular clearance between protrusion 1141 and recess 1221 such that they do not contact each other).
[AltContent: textbox (Spacer)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Outer surface of the protrusion is spaced apart from an inner surface of the through portion to form a gap therebetween along a direction perpendicular to an optical axis)][AltContent: arrow]
Sasaki does not expressly disclose:
wherein a bottom surface of the recess extends to an outer peripheral surface of the second lens, and wherein the recess is open in at least one of the directions perpendicular to the optical axis.
Kurihara discloses lens 1 including protrusion 5 receiving grooves 7 cut radially throughout the lens rim, such that the bottom surface of each groove extends to the outer peripheral surface of lens 1 and each groove is open at the outer peripheral surface in a radial direction perpendicular to the optical axis (see Fig. 26 and col 6 lines 12-22). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form Sasaki’s recess 1221 as a groove extending radially through the peripheral flange of second lens 122, as taught by Kurihara, because Kurihara expressly teaches that such radially extending grooves facilitate production and lower the cost of manufacturing the lenses.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sasaki teaches the lens assembly of claim 1, and Sasaki teaches further comprising a lens barrel (Fig. 8: depicts lens barrel 20) configured to align the first lens (114) in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis with respect to the second lens (1221), and wherein the protrusion and the recess are configured to limit rotation of the first lens about the optical axis with respect to the second lens (From Figs. 8-9, it is apparent that once groove 1221 and protrusions 1141 are engaged, rotation of the first lens 114 over second lens 122 will be limited).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sasaki teaches the lens assembly of claim 4, and Sasaki further teaches wherein the protrusion and the recess are disposed in respective portions facing the spacer in the optical axis direction (para 0089: “the first protrusion 1141 entering into the first depression 1221 of the second lens 122 is disposed away from the first depression 1221 of the second lens 122, and the shielding member 311 is interposed between the flange section 1140 of the first lens 114 and the flange section 1220 of the second lens 122”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Sasaki teaches the lens assembly of claim 1, and Sasaki further teaches wherein the first lens includes a first optical portion exhibiting optical performance, and a first flange surface surrounding an outer circumference of the first optical portion and contacting the spacer (Figs. 8-9 and paras. 0087-0091: first lens 114 includes a central optical portion surrounded by flange portion 1140, and shielding member/spacer 311 contacts flange portion 1140), and wherein the protrusion extends from the first flange surface toward the second lens (Fig. 9 and paras. 0088-0089: protrusion 1141 extends from flange portion 1140 of first lens 114 toward second lens 122).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Sasaki teaches the lens assembly of claim 7, Sasaki further teaches wherein the second lens includes a second optical portion exhibiting optical performance and a second flange surface surrounding an outer circumference of the second optical portion and contacting the spacer (Figs. 8-9 and para 0087-0091: second lens 122 includes a central optical portion surrounded by flange portion 1220, and shielding member/spacer 311 contact flange portion 1220), and wherein the recess includes a depressed portion of the second flange surface (Fig. 9 and paras. 0078 and 0089: depression 1221 is formed in flange portion 1220 of second lens 122).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Sasaki teaches the lens assembly of claim 8, and Sasaki further teaches wherein a depth by which the recess is depressed from the second flange surface is greater than a length obtained by subtracting a thickness of the spacer from a height at which the protrusion protrudes from the first flange surface (Fig. 9 depicts protrusion 1141 has height h measure from the first flange surface 1140, spacer 311 has thickness t and contacts both flange surfaces. Therefore, protrusion 1141 extends beyond spacer 311 by h -t, and Sasaki states and depicts that protrusion 1141 is disposed away from the bottom of recess 1221, leaving an axial gap. Consequently, the recess depth d must be greater than the protrusion length extending beyond the spacer).
Regarding claim 15, Sasaki teaches a lens assembly (Figs. 8-9 and para 0086-0087: lens unit 4) comprising:
a first lens (Fig. 9 and para 0088: first lens 114); a second lens (Fig. 9 and para 0089: second lens 122) adjacent to the first lens (114);
an alignment structure aligning the first lens and the second lens in a circumferential direction with respect to an optical axis (Fig. 9 and para 0088: first lens 114 includes protrusion 1141 formed on flange portion 1140; Fig. 9 and para 0089: second lens 122 is disposed adjacent to first lens 114 and includes recess 1221 accommodating at least a portion of protrusion 1141); and
a spacer disposed between the first lens and the second lens and including a through portion through which the protrusion extends (Fig. 9 and paras. 0089-0091: sheet like shielding member 311 is interposed between and contacts flange portion 1140 of first lens 114 and flange portion 1220 of second lens 122, thereby functioning as a spacer maintaining separation between the lenses, and wherein member 311 includes opening 3111 through which protrusion 1141 extends),
wherein an outer surface of the protrusion is spaced apart from an inner surface of the through portion to form a gap therebetween along a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (Fig. 9 and para 0089-0090: Fig. 9 depicts the outer surface of protrusion 1141 spaced from the inner surface defining opening 3111 in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, thereby forming a gap therebetween),
wherein the alignment structure is configured to allow the first lens to move with respect to the second lens (as shown in Fig. 9 it is apparent the lenses 114 and 122 can move in perpendicular direction to the optical axis),
wherein the alignment structure comprises a protrusion and a recess spaced apart from each other so as not to come into contact with each other (Fig. 9 and para 0089: protrusion 1141 extends into recess 1221 while being disposed away from recess 1221, and Fig. 9 depicts axial and perpendicular clearance between protrusion 1141 and recess 1221 such that they do not contact each other).
Sasaki does not expressly disclose:
a bottom surface of the recess extends to an outer peripheral surface of the second lens in the direction perpendicular to the optical axis, and wherein the recess is open in at least one of the directions perpendicular to the optical axis.
Kurihara discloses lens 1 including protrusion 5 receiving grooves 7 cut radially throughout the lens rim, such that the bottom surface of each groove extends to the outer peripheral surface of lens 1 and each groove is open at the outer peripheral surface in a radial direction perpendicular to the optical axis (see Fig. 26 and col 6 lines 12-22). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form Sasaki’s recess 1221 as a groove extending radially through the peripheral flange of second lens 122, as taught by Kurihara, because Kurihara expressly teaches that such radially extending grooves facilitate production and lower the cost of manufacturing the lenses.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sasaki teaches the lens assembly of claim 15, and Sasaki further teaches wherein the protrusion (1141) is disposed on the first lens (114) and the recess (1221) is disposed in the second lens (122), and wherein an air gap is disposed between the protrusion and the recess (as shown in figure 9 or figure above: there is air gap between protrusion 1141 and recess 1221).
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki, Kurihara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuroda JP 2011145522 (Citation is based on the English machine translation attached herewith which it is in a file wrapper and previously used).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Sasaki teaches the lens assembly of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the first lens is non-axisymmetric with respect to an optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Kuroda teaches a lens assembly (at least in Fig. 2: 24, including plurality of lenses 30), wherein the first lens is non-axisymmetric with respect to an optical axis (para 0015: teaches free-form lens 33 i.e., which infers lens 33 is non-rotationally symmetry or rotationally asymmetric lens surface). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the lens assembly of Sasaki by utilizing the claimed non-axisymmetric lens as taught by Kuroda because freeform lenses allow for a wider and clearer field of visions.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sasaki teaches the lens assembly of claim 10, and Kuroda further teaches wherein the first lens is a D-cut lens (see para 0015).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sasaki teaches the lens assembly of claim 11, and Kuroda teaches further comprising: a lens barrel accommodating the first lens and the second lens, wherein the first lens includes a linear portion and an arc portion, and the lens barrel is configured to surround at least a portion of the arc portion and to expose the linear portion in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (see Fig. 3 of lens having a linear portion 44 and a curve portion).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sasaki teaches the lens assembly of claim 12, and Kuroda further teaches wherein the lens barrel includes an open portion exposing the linear portion, the linear portion extends in a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis, and the open portion exposes the linear portion in a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first direction (see Fig. 2: barrel 50 having an open 51 exposing the linear portion of lens 33, see also Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Sasaki teaches the lens assembly of claim 10, and Kuroda further teaches wherein the first lens is a free-form lens (see para 0015).
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. US 2011/0122511 (Fig. 9) in view of Kurihara US Patent No. 5,024,509 and Tanaka et al. US 2021/0318512.
Regarding claim 17, Sasaki teaches a lens assembly (Figs. 8-9 and para 0086-0087: lens unit 4), comprising:
a first lens disposed on an optical axis (Figs. 8-9 and paras. 0086-0088: first lens 114 disposed along the optical axis of lens unit 4);
one or more protrusions protruding from a surface of the first lens, in a direction parallel to the optical axis (Figs. 8-9 and paras. 0088-0089: protrusion 1141 protruded from flange surface 1140 of first lens 114 toward second lens 122 parallel to the optical axis);
a second lens disposed on the optical axis (Figs. 8-9 and paras. 0086-0089: second lens 122 is disposed adjacent to first lens 114 along the optical axis);
one or more recesses disposed on a surface of the second lens opposing the surface of the first lens in the direction parallel to the optical axis (Fig. 9 and paras. 0078, 0089: recesses 1221 are formed in flange surface 1220 of second lens 122 facing flange surface 1140 of first lens 114); and
a spacer disposed between the first lens and the second lens in the direction parallel to the optical axis and including one or more through portions through which the one or more protrusions extend (Fig. 9 and paras. 0089-0091: sheet like shielding member 311 is interposed between and contacts flange portion 1140 of first lens 114 and flange portion 1220 of second lens 122, thereby functioning as a spacer maintaining separation between the lenses, and wherein member 311 includes opening 3111 through which protrusion 1141 extends), wherein outer surfaces of the one or more protrusions are spaced apart from inner surfaces of the one or more through portions to form gaps therebetween along a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (Fig. 9 and para 0089-0090: Fig. 9 depicts the outer surface of protrusion 1141 spaced from the inner surface defining opening 3111 in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, thereby forming a gap therebetween),
wherein the one or more protrusions extend only partially into the one or more recesses, respectively, in the direction parallel to the optical axis so as not to come into contact with the one or more recesses (Fig. 9 and para. 0089: protrusions 1141 pass through openings 3111 and extend only partially into recesses 1221 while being disposed away from recesses 1221, thereby leaving axial clearance and avoiding contact),
wherein the spacer includes one or more openings and configured to receive the one or more protrusions, respectively (Fig. 9 and paras. 0089-0090: shielding member/spacer 311 includes openings 3111 through which respective protrusions 1141 extends),
wherein each of the one or more protrusions is configured to be spaced apart from a wall defining a respective opening, among the one or more openings, in either one or both of a radial direction with respect to the optical axis and a circumferential direction with respect to the optical axis (Fig. 9: depicts radial clearance between each protrusion 1141 and the wall defining the respective opening 3111, thereby satisfying the claimed alternative of spacing in at least the radial direction).
Sasaki does not expressly disclose:
wherein a bottom surface of the recess extends to an outer peripheral surface of the second lens, Spacer opening elongated in the direction perpendicular to the optical axis; and
wherein the one or more recesses are open in at least one of the directions perpendicular to the optical axis.
Kurihara discloses lens 1 including protrusion 5 receiving grooves 7 cut radially throughout the lens rim, such that the bottom surface of each groove extends to the outer peripheral surface of lens 1 and each groove is open at the outer peripheral surface in a radial direction perpendicular to the optical axis (see Fig. 26 and col 6 lines 12-22). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form Sasaki’s recess 1221 as a groove extending radially through the peripheral flange of second lens 122, as taught by Kurihara, because Kurihara expressly teaches that such radially extending grooves facilitate production and lower the cost of manufacturing the lenses.
The combination of Sasaki and Kurihara fails to teach: Spacer opening elongated in the direction perpendicular to the optical axis.
Sasaki discloses spacer/shielding member 311 having openings 3111 through which protrusions 1141 extend, but not that openings 3111 are elongated. Tanaka discloses spacer ring 214 having notches 214a extending from outside to inside along a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (see Fig. 4 and paras. 0064 and 0080). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary kill in the art to form Sasaki’s openings 3111 with Tanaka’s elongated notch configuration to provide additional lateral clearance for receiving protrusions 1141, accommodate dimensional and assembly tolerances, and provide space for adhesive to reinforce the lens assembly, as taught by Tanaka. The resulting spacer openings would be elongated perpendicular to the optical axis and configured to receive the respective protrusions.
claim 18, the combination of Sasaki teaches the lens assembly of claim 17, and Sasaki further teaches wherein the one or more protrusions are disposed on a flange of the first lens, and the one or more recesses are disposed on a flange of the second lens (see Fig. 9: grooves/depression 1221 and protrusion 1141 are disposed on the flange portion of the lenses 114 and 122).
Conclusion
/EPHREM Z MEBRAHTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872