DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 48, 49, 51, 55-62, and 91-104 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Publication No. 2019/0343702 to Smith in view of U. S. Publication No. 2020/0001120 to Lee et al.
Regarding Claim 48, Smith teaches a nonsurgical method of destroying a pathogen present in a subject patient comprising the steps of: a. identifying a body region of the subject patient afflicted with the pathogen (para 010 teaches dermal treatment) using known diagnostic techniques (applicant agrees the claim limitation is prior art); and b. performing an ultrasonic cavitation procedure on an outer surface of the afflicted body region of the subject patient to disrupt functionality of the pathogen (para 0031 teaches ultrasonic cavitation treatment to disrupt functionality of the pathogen).
Smith does not expressly teach a specified target region for ultrasonic cavitation to treat a pathogen in a subject.
Lee teaches ultrasonic cavitation to treat the lungs in a subject (para 0096, 0112, and 0120 teaches ultrasonic cavitation of the lung tissue).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Smith with a setup to treat lungs with ultrasonic cavitation as taught by Lee, since such a setup would result in precise treatment of the lung tissue.
Regarding Claim 49, Smith teaches a. before the step of performing the ultrasonic cavitation, placing the subject patient in a hyperbaric chamber capable of being pressurized or depressurized to a desired internal chamber pressure (para 005-008 teaches pressure of the hyperbaric chamber); and b. adjusting the internal chamber pressure to the desired internal chamber pressure (para 005-008 teaches adjusting pressure of the hyperbaric chamber).
Regarding Claim 51, Smith teaches that the pathogens are selected from the group consisting of viruses, bacteria, fungi, protozoa, helminths and parasites (para 0050 teaches a disease).
Regarding Claim 55, Smith teaches providing hyperbaric oxygen treatment (para 005-007 teaches hyperbaric oxygen treatment).
Regarding Claim 56, Smith teaches a nonsurgical method of destroying pathogens present in an anatomical location of a subject patient, the method comprising the steps of: a. identifying the anatomical location of the subject patient where the pathogen is present (para 010-013 teaches dermal treatment); b. performing an ultrasonic procedure on a region of an outer surface of the subject patient proximate the identified anatomical location to direct ultrasonic forces toward the pathogens in such anatomical location (para 0031 teaches ultrasonic cavitation treatment).
Regarding Claim 58, Smith teaches carrying out the method within a hyperbaric chamber while also providing hyperbaric oxygen treatment to the subject patient (para 005-007 teaches hyperbaric oxygen treatment).
Regarding Claim 59-62, Smith teaches that the pathogens are selected from the group consisting of viruses, bacteria, fungi, protozoa, helminths and parasites (para 0050 teaches a disease).
Regarding Claim 95-98 Lee teaches ultrasonic procedure on the chest of the subject (figs. 1-3 and para 0096, 0112, and 0120 teaches ultrasonic cavitation of the lung tissue).
Regarding claims 99 and 104, Lee teaches that the ultrasonic procedure is performed with portable ultrasound equipment (Figs. 1-3 element 104).
Claim(s) 91-94 and 100-103 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Publication No. 2019/0343702 to Smith in view of U. S. Publication No. 2020/0001120 to Lee et al. further in view of NPL titled “Effect of receptors on the resonant transient harmonic vibrations of the Coronavirus” by Wierzbicki et al. (From IDS, and applicant acknowledged prior art).
Regarding Claim 91-94 and 100-103, Weirzbicki teaches the claimed limitations and Applicant agrees in the specifications that the subject matter of the claims is from applicant admitted prior art (para 0129 of the specification).
Claim(s) 50 and 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Publication No. 2019/0343702 to Smith in view of U. S. Publication No. 2020/0001120 to Lee et al. further in view of U. S. Publication No. 2005/0228267 to Bulkes et al.
Regarding Claims 50 and 57, Smith and Lee teaches all of the above claimed limitations but does not expressly teach a guided ultrasound procedure in tandem with Magnetic Resonance Imaging.
Bulkes teaches a guided ultrasound procedure in tandem with Magnetic Resonance Imaging (para 0030 teaches combined ultrasound/mri image guidance).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Smith and Lee with a setup such that the method uses a combined ultrasound/mri image guidance as taught by Bulkes, since such a setup would result in precise image guidance as, both imaging modalities are used for the guidance procedure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/17/25 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Regarding claims 91-94 and 100-103 the claimed limitations are applicant admitted prior art (para 0129 of the specification).
Conclusion
/SANJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798