DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 17 Oct 2025.
Claims 1, 3-12, 14, and 16-20 are being considered on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 December 2025 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, initialed and dated copies of Applicant's IDS form 1499 is attached to the instant Office action
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “output the tile” in the second to last claim limitation.
Claim 18 recites “the same line” and “a same input channels” in the second line of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, 14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills, et. al. (US 2021/0125041 A1), in view of Sunkavalli (US 11194490 B1).
Claim 1, Mills teaches:
A method of processing an activation data into a plurality of tiles by using a 3D convolution computation core, wherein the method comprising: (Mills, para. 0004 and 0065: “Embodiments relate to a neural engine circuit of a neural processor circuit that perform operations of a three dimensional (3D) convolution on input data.” “Input data is typically split into smaller pieces of data for parallel processing at multiple neural engines 314 or neural engines 314 and planar engine 340. A set of data used for a convolution operation may be referred to as a convolution group, which can be split into multiple smaller units. The hierarchy of smaller units (segments) may be convolution groups, slices, tiles, work units, output channel groups, input channels (Cin), sub-Cins for input stride, etc. For example, a convolution group may be split into several slices; a slice may be split into several tiles; a tile may be split into several work units; and so forth. In the context of neural engine 314, a work unit may be a segment of the input data, such as data processed by planar engine 340 or data processed a prior cycle of neural engines 314 having a size that produces output values that fit into accumulator 414 of neural engine 314 during a single cycle of the computation core 416.”)
cutting an output activation data in a horizontal direction to obtain an output activation data width; (Mills, para. 0004: “Each batch of accumulators receives and stores, after the processing cycle, the portion of output data for each output depth plane of multiple output depth planes and for a corresponding output channel of multiple output channels. Each output depth plane of the output data includes the portion of output data for an output channel having an output width and an output height.” Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “cutting…in a horizontal direction to obtain a…width” includes any width by definition of how a width is defined)
cutting the output activation data in a vertical direction to obtain an output activation data height; (Mills, para. 0004: “Each batch of accumulators receives and stores, after the processing cycle, the portion of output data for each output depth plane of multiple output depth planes and for a corresponding output channel of multiple output channels. Each output depth plane of the output data includes the portion of output data for an output channel having an output width and an output height.” Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “cutting…in a vertical direction to obtain a…height” includes any height by definition of how a height is defined).
processing the output activation data width and the output activation data height to calculate an input activation data width and an input activation data height to form the input activation data; (Mills, para. 0016: “The 3D convolution of input data involves 3D spatial support (e.g., width, height and depth dimensions) for each input channel and kernel data having 3D spatial support. The 3D convolution can be used in processing of volumetric data (e.g., input data having a width dimension, height dimension and depth dimension) or temporal video data (e.g., input data having a width dimension, height dimension and time dimension).”)
cutting the input activation data along a depth to create an input tile, wherein the input tile size is based on a size of a MAC array; (Mills, para. 0062, 0065 and 0066: “The processed values stored in accumulator circuit 414 may be sent back as feedback information 419 for further multiply and add operations at MAD circuits or sent to post-processor 428 for post-processing. Accumulator circuit 414 in combination with MAD circuits form a multiply-accumulator (MAC) 404.” “The hierarchy of smaller units (segments) may be convolution groups, slices, tiles, work units, output channel groups, input channels (Cin), sub-Cins for input stride, etc. For example, a convolution group may be split into several slices; a slice may be split into several tiles; a tile may be split into several work units; and so forth. In the context of neural engine 314, a work unit may be a segment of the input data, such as data processed by planar engine 340 or data processed a prior cycle of neural engines 314 having a size that produces output values that fit into accumulator 414 of neural engine 314 during a single cycle of the computation core 416.” “Rasterizer 430 may perform the operations associated with dividing the input data into smaller units (segments) and regulate the processing of the smaller units through the MACs 404 and accumulator 414. Rasterizer 430 keeps track of sizes and ranks of segments of the input/output data (e.g., groups, work units, input channels, output channels) and instructs the components of a neural processor circuit 218 for proper handling of the segments of the input data. For example, rasterizer 430 operates shifters 410 in input buffer circuits 402 to forward correct segments 408 of input data to MAC 404 and send the finished output data 328 to data buffer 334.” Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “cutting” means to divide into segments; examiner further notes that Mills teaches diving input into smaller units to regulate processing through MACs i.e. based on the size of the MACs)
cutting the output activation data along tile depth to create an output tile, wherein output the tile size is based on the size of the MAC array; and (Mills, para. 0062, 0065, and 0066: “The processed values stored in accumulator circuit 414 may be sent back as feedback information 419 for further multiply and add operations at MAD circuits or sent to post-processor 428 for post-processing. Accumulator circuit 414 in combination with MAD circuits form a multiply-accumulator (MAC) 404.” “The hierarchy of smaller units (segments) may be convolution groups, slices, tiles, work units, output channel groups, input channels (Cin), sub-Cins for input stride, etc. For example, a convolution group may be split into several slices; a slice may be split into several tiles; a tile may be split into several work units; and so forth. In the context of neural engine 314, a work unit may be a segment of the input data, such as data processed by planar engine 340 or data processed a prior cycle of neural engines 314 having a size that produces output values that fit into accumulator 414 of neural engine 314 during a single cycle of the computation core 416.” “Rasterizer 430 may perform the operations associated with dividing the input data into smaller units (segments) and regulate the processing of the smaller units through the MACs 404 and accumulator 414. Rasterizer 430 keeps track of sizes and ranks of segments of the input/output data (e.g., groups, work units, input channels, output channels) and instructs the components of a neural processor circuit 218 for proper handling of the segments of the input data. For example, rasterizer 430 operates shifters 410 in input buffer circuits 402 to forward correct segments 408 of input data to MAC 404 and send the finished output data 328 to data buffer 334.” Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “cutting” means to divide into segments. Examiner further notes that Mills teaches a size that produces output values that fit in accumulator 414 where accumulator 414 in combination with MAD circuits forms a MAC. )
Mills does not explicitly disclose:
sending the input tile and output tile to a field programmable gate array (FPGA) to perform adaptive MAC array scheduling.
However, Sunkavalli teaches:
sending the input tile and output tile to a field programmable gate array (FPGA) to perform adaptive MAC array scheduling. (Sunkavalli, col. 3:33-37: “To conserve memory usage, such as block memories on a field programmable gate array (FPGA) yet achieve optimum parallelization, the filter window data for multiple (e.g., 32) output filters are loaded at a time into one of the FIFO buffers 218 or 220. The SA 214 begins to consume filter values once one of the FIFO buffers (e.g., 218) is fully loaded. In parallel, the next set of filters are loaded into the second FIFO buffer (e.g., 220), and the next set of filters (e.g., in FIFO buffer 220) will be used when the filters in the current FIFO buffer (e.g., 218) are exhausted. State machine 222 controls the population and depopulation and the back-and-forth scheduling of the two filter buffers 218 and 220.”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Sunkavalli into Mills. Mills teaches a neural engine circuit of a neural processor circuit that perform operations of a three dimensional (3D) convolution on input data; Sunkavalli teaches a circuit arrangement coupled to the memory circuit and configured to input a multi-dimensional data set. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Sunkavalli into Mills in order to allow an SA to operate at a faster clock speed than the other circuitry of the circuit arrangement and not have to wait for data elements to process (Sunkavalli, col. 3:23-30).
Claim 3, Mills as modified, teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein cutting the output activation data and the input activation data is determined by size of a kernel of a MAC array (Mills, para. 0070: “Input data 408 stored in input buffer circuit 402 includes multiple input depth planes, Din, each depth plane having an input width, Win, and an input height, Hin, for each input channel of multiple input channels, Cin. Hence, the spatial support of input data 408 is Win×Hin×Din×Cin. Kernel coefficients 422 from kernel extract circuit 432 can be represented as multiple kernel depth planes, Kd, each kernel depth plane having a kernel width, Kw, and a kernel height, Kh. Hence, the spatial support of kernel coefficients 422 (or kernel) is Kw×Kh×Kd. The spatial support of processed values 412 (or output values) and output data 328 is Wout×Hout×Dout×Cout, where Dout is a number of output depth planes, each output depth plane having a width of Wout and a height of Hout, and Cout is a number of output channels.” Examiner notes that for examination purposes only, “determined by a size of a kernel of the MAC array” is interpreted as “determined by a size of a kernel of the MAC array” which includes the number dimensions of a kernel in a MAC array; Examiner further notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “activation data” means data associated with the activation functions of a neural network i.e. all data used in a neural network).
Claim 4, Mills as modified, teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein cutting the output activation data and the input activation data is determined by size of a local memory of a MAC array. (Mills, para. 0062: “Accumulator circuit 414 is a memory circuit that includes multiple accumulators that receive and store processed values 412 from MAD circuits. In one or more embodiments, the accumulator circuit 414 includes multiple sets of accumulators, and each set of accumulators is coupled to a different MAD circuit MAD0 though MADN. In an embodiment, each set of accumulators in the accumulator circuit 414 includes the same number of accumulators, e.g., a number of accumulators in the set is equal to a number of output channels of processed values 412.” Examiner notes that for examination purposes only, “determined by a size of a local memory of the MAC array” is interpreted as “determined by a size of a local memory of the MAC array”; Examiner further notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “activation data” means data associated with the activation functions of a neural network i.e. all data used in a neural network).
Claim 5, Mills as modified, teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein cutting the output activation data and the input activation data is determined by size of a local memory bandwidth of a MAC array. (Mills, para. 0048: “The use of neural engine 314 to compute I/O bound computations may not be efficient in terms of both speed and power consumption. In one embodiment, input data may be a tensor whose rank is larger than three (e.g., having three or more dimensions).” Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “bandwidth” means the download/upload speed which includes input output speed).
Claim 6, Mills as modified, teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein cutting tile output activation data and the input activation data is determined by size of a kernel stride of a MAC array. (Mills, para. 0068: “The components in neural engine 314 may be configured during a configuration period by NE control 418 and neural task manager 310. For this purpose, neural task manager 310 sends configuration information to neural engine 314 during the configuration period. The configurable parameters and modes may include, but are not limited to, mapping between input data elements and kernel elements, the number of input channels, the number of output channels, performing of output strides, and enabling/selection of post-processing operations at post-processor 428.”)
Claim 7, Mills as modified, teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein height of a first tile is based on a local buffer size of a MAC array. (Mills, para. 0070: “Input data 408 stored in input buffer circuit 402 includes multiple input depth planes, Din, each depth plane having an input width, Win, and an input height, Hin, for each input channel of multiple input channels, Cin. Hence, the spatial support of input data 408 is Win×Hin×Din×Cin. Kernel coefficients 422 from kernel extract circuit 432 can be represented as multiple kernel depth planes, Kd, each kernel depth plane having a kernel width, Kw, and a kernel height, Kh. Hence, the spatial support of kernel coefficients 422 (or kernel) is Kw×Kh×Kd. The spatial support of processed values 412 (or output values) and output data 328 is Wout×Hout×Dout×Cout, where Dout is a number of output depth planes, each output depth plane having a width of Wout and a height of Hout, and Cout is a number of output channels.”)
Claim 8, Mills as modified, teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein width of a first tile is based on data size of a MAC array. (Mills, para. 0090: “A work unit is a portion of the input data having a size that produces output values that fit into accumulator circuit 414 of neural engine 314 during a single cycle of the computation core 416. The shape of each work unit can be a horizontal strip. However, the shape of the work unit can be different depending on the shape and size of the tile. The work units also have overlapping parts that represent overfetched to provide support for a corresponding kernel. Especially, work units for the last tile of a slice may have a shape of a vertical strip if the tile is tall. In one or more embodiments, as discussed, the size of each work unit is 256 bytes. In such embodiments, for example, work units can be shaped to one of 16×16, 32×8, 64×4, 128×2 or 256×1 dimension.”)
Claim 9, Mills as modified, teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein depth of a first tile is based on a local buffer size. (Mills, para. 0090: “In one embodiment, input data for each tile is loaded onto data buffer 318 in a read cycle and reused for operations in processing loops for the tile. In the processing loop for the tile is a processing loop for a work unit. Each tile is segmented into multiple work units. A work unit is a portion of the input data having a size that produces output values that fit into accumulator circuit 414 of neural engine 314 during a single cycle of the computation core 416. The shape of each work unit can be a horizontal strip. However, the shape of the work unit can be different depending on the shape and size of the tile. The work units also have overlapping parts that represent overfetched to provide support for a corresponding kernel. Especially, work units for the last tile of a slice may have a shape of a vertical strip if the tile is tall. In one or more embodiments, as discussed, the size of each work unit is 256 bytes. In such embodiments, for example, work units can be shaped to one of 16×16, 32×8, 64×4, 128×2 or 256×1 dimension.”)
Claim 10, Mills as modified, teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein depth of a second tile is based on a local buffer size. (Mills, para. 0090: “The rightmost tile will typically have a width smaller than other tiles of the slice. In one embodiment, input data for each tile is loaded onto data buffer 318 in a read cycle and reused for operations in processing loops for the tile. In the processing loop for the tile is a processing loop for a work unit. Each tile is segmented into multiple work units. A work unit is a portion of the input data having a size that produces output values that fit into accumulator circuit 414 of neural engine 314 during a single cycle of the computation core 416. The shape of each work unit can be a horizontal strip. However, the shape of the work unit can be different depending on the shape and size of the tile. The work units also have overlapping parts that represent overfetched to provide support for a corresponding kernel. Especially, work units for the last tile of a slice may have a shape of a vertical strip if the tile is tall. In one or more embodiments, as discussed, the size of each work unit is 256 bytes. In such embodiments, for example, work units can be shaped to one of 16×16, 32×8, 64×4, 128×2 or 256×1 dimension.” Examiner notes that Mills teaches multiple times such that there is at least a first and a second tile).
Claim 11, Mills as modified, teaches:
A method of determining an output activation value in a convolutional neural network of a chip, the method comprising: (Mills, para. 0021: “FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating components in device 100, according to one embodiment. Device 100 may perform various operations including implementing one or more machine learning models. For this and other purposes, device 100 may include, among other components, image sensors 202, a system-on-a chip (SOC) component 204, a system memory 230, a persistent storage (e.g., flash memory) 228, a motion sensor 234, and a display 216. The components as illustrated in FIG. 2 are merely illustrative. For example, device 100 may include other components (such as speaker or microphone) that are not illustrated in FIG. 2. Further, some components (such as motion sensor 234) may be omitted from device 100.” Examiner notes that the term “BST Chip” is not defined in the specification or otherwise well-known in the art. For examination purposes only, such term is interpreted to mean a processing chip as taught by Mills).
summing a kernel height within a three-dimensional multiply accumulate (MAC) layer; (Mills, para. 0040 0070: “A neural network may include an input layer, an output layer, and one or more intermediate layers that may be referred to as hidden layers. Each layer may include one or more nodes, which may be fully or partially connected to other nodes in adjacent layers. In forward propagation, the neural network performs computation in the forward direction based on outputs of a preceding layer. The operation of a node may be defined by one or more functions. The functions that define the operation of a node may include various computation operation such as convolution of data with one or more kernels, pooling of layers, tensor multiplication, etc. The functions may also include an activation function that adjusts the weight of the output of the node. Nodes in different layers may be associated with different functions. For example, a CNN may include one or more convolutional layers that are mixed with pooling layers and are followed by one or more fully connected layers.” “Input data 408 stored in input buffer circuit 402 includes multiple input depth planes, Din, each depth plane having an input width, Win, and an input height, Hin, for each input channel of multiple input channels, Cin. Hence, the spatial support of input data 408 is Win×Hin×Din×Cin. Kernel coefficients 422 from kernel extract circuit 432 can be represented as multiple kernel depth planes, Kd, each kernel depth plane having a kernel width, Kw, and a kernel height, Kh. Hence, the spatial support of kernel coefficients 422 (or kernel) is Kw×Kh×Kd. The spatial support of processed values 412 (or output values) and output data 328 is Wout×Hout×Dout×Cout, where Dout is a number of output depth planes, each output depth plane having a width of Wout and a height of Hout, and Cout is a number of output channels.” )
summing a kernel width within the summation of the kernel height; (Mills, para. 0060 and 0071: “FIG. 4B is a block diagram of neural engine 314 with accumulator circuit 414 divided into multiple batches of accumulators, according to one embodiment. MAD circuits MAD0 through MADN of MAC 404 perform multiply-add operations of a three dimensional (3D) convolution on a work unit of input data 408 using kernel coefficients 422 to generate processed values 412 for at least a subset of output channels in each processing cycle of computation core 416. The 3D convolution can be used in processing of volumetric data (e.g., input data 408 having a width dimension, height dimension and depth dimension) or temporal video data (e.g., input data 408 having a width dimension, height dimension and time dimension). Compared to the two dimensional (2D) convolution, operations of the 3D convolution involve an additional dimension referred to herein as a depth dimension.” “Accumulated processed values 412 are fed back into MAD circuits MAD0 through MADN as feedback information 419 for multiply-add operations during a next processing cycle of computation core 416 as part of the 3D convolution.” Examiner notes that that Mills teaches multiply-add operations which are processed in the next cycle such that one summation occurs and is integrated (i.e. within) the summation of the next where the width calculation is integrated into the height summations).
summing an activation data map depth within the summation of the kernel width; and (Mills, para. 0060 and 0071: “FIG. 4B is a block diagram of neural engine 314 with accumulator circuit 414 divided into multiple batches of accumulators, according to one embodiment. MAD circuits MAD0 through MADN of MAC 404 perform multiply-add operations of a three dimensional (3D) convolution on a work unit of input data 408 using kernel coefficients 422 to generate processed values 412 for at least a subset of output channels in each processing cycle of computation core 416. The 3D convolution can be used in processing of volumetric data (e.g., input data 408 having a width dimension, height dimension and depth dimension) or temporal video data (e.g., input data 408 having a width dimension, height dimension and time dimension). Compared to the two dimensional (2D) convolution, operations of the 3D convolution involve an additional dimension referred to herein as a depth dimension.” “Accumulated processed values 412 are fed back into MAD circuits MAD0 through MADN as feedback information 419 for multiply-add operations during a next processing cycle of computation core 416 as part of the 3D convolution.” Examiner notes that that Mills teaches multiply-add operations on depth which are processed in the next cycle such that one summation occurs and is integrated (i.e. within) the summation of the next where the depth calculation is integrated into the height summations.).
outputting a batch within the summation of the activation data map depth, wherein the output activation value is based on processing of a plurality of loops within the batch. (Mills, para. 0040 an 0089: “The operation of a node may be defined by one or more functions. The functions that define the operation of a node may include various computation operation such as convolution of data with one or more kernels, pooling of layers, tensor multiplication, etc. The functions may also include an activation function that adjusts the weight of the output of the node. Nodes in different layers may be associated with different functions. For example, a CNN may include one or more convolutional layers that are mixed with pooling layers and are followed by one or more fully connected layers” “FIG. 6 is a conceptual diagram illustrating loops for processing the input data at neural processor circuit 218, according to one embodiment. The outermost loop represents processing for a convolution group, if group convolution involving multiple convolution group is used. Group convolutions are convolutions where input data of the input channels in each group are used only for generating output data of output channels of each group but are not used for generating output data for output channels of other groups. Hence, each group of the group convolution can be treated as a separate convolution operation”)
Claim 12, Mills as modified, teaches:
A method of providing the convoluted output in accordance with claim 11, wherein the plurality of loops are eight in count: (Mills, para. 0074 an 0090: “In one or more embodiments, accumulator circuit 414 includes N+1 sets of accumulators, each set of accumulators coupled to a corresponding MAD circuit MAD0 through MADN and includes Cout=8 accumulators for receiving and storing (e.g., over multiple processing cycles) eight output channels of processed values 412.” “In the loop for each convolution group is a processing loop for a slice of the input data. The entire input data for a convolution operation (e.g., 3D convolution operation) is segmented into multiple strips of slices in an overlapping manner. Overlapping portions are parts of the input data that are overfetched in two adjacent slices to provide spatial support for a corresponding kernel. The second outermost loop performs convolution operation (e.g., 3D convolution operation) for each slice in the input data. Within the loop for a slice is a processing loop for a tile of the slice.”)
Claim 14, Mills as modified, teaches:
A method in accordance with claim 11, wherein the multiply accumulate (MAC) layer is an adaptive multiply accumulate (MAC) layer. (Sunkavalli, col. 7:40-49: “FIG. 8 shows a programmable integrated circuit (IC) 600 on which the disclosed circuits and processes may be implemented. The programmable IC may also be referred to as a System On Chip (SOC) that includes field programmable gate array logic (FPGA) along with other programmable resources. FPGA logic may include several different types of programmable logic blocks in the array. For example, FIG. 8 illustrates programmable IC 600 that includes a large number of different programmable tiles including multi-gigabit transceivers (MGTs) 601”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Sunkavalli into Mills, as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 16, Mills as modified, teaches:
The method in accordance with claim 1, further comprising a plurality of operation modes. (Miller, para. 0049: “The circuitry of planar engine 340 may be programmed for operation in one of multiple modes, including a pooling mode, an elementwise mode, and a reduction mode. In the pooling mode, planar engine 340 reduce a spatial size of input data”)
Claim 18, Mills as modified teaches:
The method in accordance with claim 1, wherein a normal mode comprises a plurality of MAC arrays processing a same line and a same input channels (Mills, para. 0054: “Flow control circuit 332 may perform one or more of the following operations: (i) monitor the size and rank of data (e.g. data may be one or more tensors) that are being processed by neural engines 314 and planar engine 340, (ii) determine which subsets of data are transmitted to neural engines 314 or to planar engine 340 based on the task commands associated with different subsets of data, (iii) determine the manner in which data is transmitted to neural engines 314 and planar engine 340 (e.g., the data processor circuit 318 may operate in a broadcast mode where the same data is fed to multiple input channels of neural engines 314 so that multiple or all neural engines 314 receive the same data or in a unicast mode where different neural engines 314 receives different data), and (iv) transmit a configuration command to the planar engine 340 to direct planar engine 340 to program itself for operating in one of multiple operation modes.” Examiner notes that applicant does not define “line” or “mode" in any particular way such that the claimed mode is taught by Mills’s use of the same subset (i.e. line) of data fed into input channels of multiple neural engines)
Mills does not explicitly disclose but Sunkavalli teaches:
and different MAC arrays processing different output channels (Sunkavalli, col. 4:38-45: “Filter 0 is shifted into the first row of MACs, filter 1 is shifted into the second row of MACs, . . . , and filter R−1 is shifted into the Rth row of MACs. The data elements are shifted through each column from row-to-row and are reused for a different output-channel filter in each row. In this manner, each iteration through the systolic array produces C pixel results for R output channels.”).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Sunkavalli into Mills, as modified, as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills, et. al. (US 2021/0125041 A1), in view of Sunkavalli (US 11194490 B1), and further in view of Song (US 2022/0197596 A1).
Claim 17, Mills as modified, teaches:
The method in accordance with claim 1, further comprising the plurality of operation modes includes a normal mode (Sunkavalli, col. 3:4-7: “FIG. 3 shows a circuit arrangement 200 in which a multi-dimensional data set is formatted for parallel input to a systolic array (SA) for processing. In an exemplary application, the circuit arrangement performs convolution of an input data set with filter data. “ Examiner notes that “normal mode” is not defined or claimed in any specific manner such that any mode could be considered the “normal mode”)
Mills does not explicitly disclose but Song teaches:
and at least one of: a 2-line mode, a 4-line mode, a 2x2 spatial mode, and a 4x1 spatial mode. (Song, para. 0095: “As illustrated in FIG. 5, the MAC arithmetic operation performed by the PIM system 1-1 may be executed though a matrix calculation. Specifically, the PIM device 100 may execute a matrix multiplying calculation of an ‘M×N’ weight matrix (e.g., ‘8×8’ weight matrix) and a ‘N×1’ vector matrix (e.g., ‘8×1’ vector matrix) according to control of the PIM controller 200 (where, ‘M’ and ‘N’ are natural numbers).”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Song into Mills, as modified. Mills teaches a neural engine circuit of a neural processor circuit that perform operations of a three dimensional (3D) convolution on input data; Song teaches processing-in-memory (PIM) systems including a PIM device and a controller and methods of operating the PIM systems. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Song into Mills as modified in order to facilitate the communication between memory and processor.
Claim 19, Mills as modified teaches claim 17 above. Song further teaches:
comprises two MAC arrays processing even lines and different output channels (Sunkavalli, col. 3:46-51: “The SA 214 is composed of an array of multiply-and-accumulate (MAC) circuits. In an exemplary implementation, the height dimension is fixed (e.g., 32 rows) and corresponds to the channel dimension of an output image. In other words, each row of MAC circuits is computing W pixels of an output channel.” Sunkavalli teaches a systolic array i.e. multiple mac arrays processing. ) and two MAC arrays processing odd lines. (Sunkavalli, col.4:22-30: “ For example, for a first cycle of processing by the SA, the selector circuit 310 selects the serialization buffers from the setup circuit 306 (even channel data elements), and in the next cycle of the SA, the selector circuit selects the serialization buffers from the set up circuit 308 (odd channel data elements). The setup circuits 306 and 308 can run at one-half the clock frequency of the SA, which allows selection of the odd-channel and even-channel serialization buffers on alternating clock cycles of the SA.” Sunkavalli teaches process of even and odd lines separately).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Sunkavalli into Mills as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Sunkavalli does not explicitly disclose but Song teaches:
The method in accordance with claim 17, wherein the 2x2 spatial mode (Song, para. 0095: “As illustrated in FIG. 5, the MAC arithmetic operation performed by the PIM system 1-1 may be executed though a matrix calculation. Specifically, the PIM device 100 may execute a matrix multiplying calculation of an ‘M×N’ weight matrix (e.g., ‘8×8’ weight matrix) and a ‘N×1’ vector matrix (e.g., ‘8×1’ vector matrix) according to control of the PIM controller 200 (where, ‘M’ and ‘N’ are natural numbers).”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Song into Mills, as modified, as set forth above with respect to claim 17.
Claim 20, Mills as modified teaches:
The method in accordance with claim 17, wherein the 4x1 spatial mode comprises each MAC array processing different lines and same output channels. (Song, para. 0095: “As illustrated in FIG. 5, the MAC arithmetic operation performed by the PIM system 1-1 may be executed though a matrix calculation. Specifically, the PIM device 100 may execute a matrix multiplying calculation of an ‘M×N’ weight matrix (e.g., ‘8×8’ weight matrix) and a ‘N×1’ vector matrix (e.g., ‘8×1’ vector matrix) according to control of the PIM controller 200 (where, ‘M’ and ‘N’ are natural numbers).”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Song into Mills, as modified. Mills teaches a neural engine circuit of a neural processor circuit that perform operations of a three dimensional (3D) convolution on input data; Song teaches processing-in-memory (PIM) systems including a PIM device and a controller and methods of operating the PIM systems. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Song into Mills as modified in order to facilitate the communication between memory and processor.
Response to Applicant Remarks/Argument
35 USC § 112
Previous rejections made under 35 USC § 112(a) have been reviewed and withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments and remarks.
35 USC § 103 – Independent Claim 1
Starting at the bottom of page 6 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues that Mills does not teach (1) “any concept of a size of a MAC array”, (2) “the input tile size is based on a size of a MAC array”, (3) “the output tile size based on the size of the MAC array”, or (4) the concept of “cutting an output activation data in a horizontal or vertical direction”
In response to to the first, second, and third arguments, Mills does teach a concept of a MAC array as set forth in the rejection above:
Rasterizer 430 may perform the operations associated with dividing the input data into smaller units (segments) and regulate the processing of the smaller units through the MACs 404 and accumulator 414. Rasterizer 430 keeps track of sizes and ranks of segments of the input/output data (e.g., groups, work units, input channels, output channels) and instructs the components of a neural processor circuit 218 for proper handling of the segments of the input data. For example, rasterizer 430 operates shifters 410 in input buffer circuits 402 to forward correct segments 408 of input data to MAC 404 and send the finished output data 328 to data buffer 334.
Mills, para. 0065. Here, Mills teaches segmenting input data into smaller units. Mills continues on paragraph 66 to elaborate that the input data is size based on a size of a MAC array insofar as it is a size that produces an output that fits into accumulator 414, where accumulator 414 in combination with MAD form a MAC where multiple MACs form an array:
In the context of neural engine 314, a work unit may be a segment of the input data, such as data processed by planar engine 340 or data processed a prior cycle of neural engines 314 having a size that produces output values that fit into accumulator 414 of neural engine 314 during a single cycle of the computation core 416.
Finally, Mills also that processed values can be sent back, i.e. acting as both input and output values for further processing in para. 0062:
The processed values stored in accumulator circuit 414 may be sent back as feedback information 419 for further multiply and add operations at MAD circuits or sent to post-processor 428 for post-processing. Accumulator circuit 414 in combination with MAD circuits form a multiply-accumulator (MAC) 404.
Therefore, Mills teaches both input and output data being segmented and regulated for MAC units of a MAC array based on a size of the MAC i.e. to regulate processing of data through a MAC and to ensure output data fit into an accumulator i.e. a portion of a MAC.
In response to the fourth argument, regarding cutting, Mills teaches cutting in the form of segmenting into tiles at paragraph 0065 referenced above:
The hierarchy of smaller units (segments) may be convolution groups, slices, tiles, work units, output channel groups, input channels (Cin), sub-Cins for input stride, etc. For example, a convolution group may be split into several slices; a slice may be split into several tiles; a tile may be split into several work units
Additionally, while not explicitly copied & pasted into the rejection, paragraph 0065 goes on to provide examples of work units: “In such embodiments, for example, work units can be shaped to one of 16×16, 32×8, 64×4, 128×2 or 256×1 datasets.” As illustrated by the use of “tiles” and by the example of work unit shapes, applicant’s argument that Mills does not teach cutting in a vertical or horizontal direction is inaccurate.
Towards the bottom of page 7 of applicant’s remarks, applicant further argues that neither Sunkavalli nor Song cures the deficiencies of Mills with respect to the 4 arguments provided above. Applicant further argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to combine Sunavalli into Mills.
However, Mills teaches the limitations as modified and applicant’s 4 arguments are not persuasive. Moreover, the motivation provided above specifically states that one would be motivated to take advantage of the faster clock speed proposed by Sunkavalli.
35 USC § 103 – Independent claim 11
Applicant argues that Mills does not teach “the claimed hierarchical summation structure in which kernel width is summed within kernel height, and activation depth is summed within kernel width” As noted in the rejection above, Mills teaches multiply-add operations which are processed in the next cycle such that one summation occurs and is integrated (i.e. within) the summation. Otherwise, applicant’s claim limitation is unclear and therefore open to broadest reasonable interpretation. As claimed, the limitation does not specify how a kernel width is to be summed within a kernel height.
35 USC § 103 – Dependent Claims 3-12, 14, and 16-18
Applicant makes no independent argument for the allowability of remaining dependent claims therefore such claims remain rejected for reasons set forth in the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STL/Examiner, Art Unit 2147
/VIKER A LAMARDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2147