DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 2nd, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-11 are amended. Claims 12 & 26 are canceled. Claim 28 is new. Claims 1-11, 13-25, & 27-28 remain pending; claims 13-25 & 27 are withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 & 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument; as necessitate by amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the flexible polymer strips” (line 2) should be – the flexible polymer circuit strips —; as introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the deflectable element” should be –the elongated deflectable element—; as introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the flexible polymer strips” (line 10) should be – the flexible polymer circuit strips —; as introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 10, & 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruppersberg (US 20180116595 A1), hereinafter “Ruppersberg”, in view of Just et al. (previously presented-US 20120143298 A1), hereinafter “Just”.
Regarding claim 1, Ruppersberg discloses a medical probe including a catheter configured to be inserted into a body part of a living subject, and comprising: an elongated deflectable element extending along a longitudinal axis and including a distal end; a proximal coupler connected to the distal end ([0034], [0037], & [0038]; Figures 2 & 3A—elements 2; the examiner is considering the elongated deflectable element to be the pull wire element and the coupler to be the connection between the flexible circuit strips and the pull wire); an expandable assembly comprising a plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips ([0034] & [0053]; Figures 3A, & 4A-5B—elements 81 & 85; each support arm 81 comprises a strand 86 from of shape memory metal and a PCB layer 85 surrounding the strand 86) including respective proximal ends connected to and disposed circumferentially around the proximal coupler ([0034], [0037], & [0038]; Figures 3A—elements 81A), each flexible polymer circuit strip of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips including multiple strip electrodes ([0035], [0053]; Figures 3A & 4A—element 82; the examiner is considering the strip electrodes to be the electrodes 82 that are carried on the PCB layer 85) and a respective contact pad disposed thereon ([0050], [0052], & [0053]; Figure 4A & 5B—elements 81, 85, & 90/92; the combining means (91 or 92) may function as mapping electrodes and be formed from an electrically conductive material, the combining means are electrically connected to electrical conductors or lines disposed in the support arms 81; the support arm may comprise a PCB 85 that carries electrodes and conductors; the examiner is considering the conductors of the PCB that are electrically connected to the combining means 90/92); and a plurality of surface mountable electrodes extending over and electrically connected to respective ones of the contact pads of the flexible polymer circuit strips using at least one electrically conductive retainer ([0047], [0048], [0050], [0052], & [0053]; Figures 3A, 4A, & 5A-5B—element 90/92; combining means 90 may function as electrodes and be formed of electrically conductive material; the combining means 90 may include any of one or more of or any combination of ring members and adhesives; the examiner is considering the surface mountable electrodes to be ring members 92 that encompass the flexible polymer circuit strips 81 and may function as electrodes that are electrically connector to electrical conductors or lines disposed in support arms 81, and the examiner is considering the electrically conductive retainer to be the adhesive that may be used in combination with the rings 92 ([0048])), each surface mountable electrode of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes being circumferentially disposed around respective ones of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips ([0050] & [0052]; Figure 5B—element 92).
Ruppersberg does not disclose each surface mountable electrode of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes being circumferentially disposed around respective ones of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips such that a tissue-facing surface of the electrode is spaced a first distance away from the respective flexible polymer circuit strip and an inwardly-facing surface of the electrode that is facing the longitudinal axis is spaced a second distance away from the flexible polymer strip, the first distance being greater than the second distance.
Just discloses an expandable assembly comprising a plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips ([0030]; Figures 2 & 3—element 68) comprising contact pads ([0030]; Figures 2 & 3—element 74) and a plurality of surface mountable electrodes extending over and electrically connected to respective ones of the contact pads of the flexible polymer circuit strips ([0030] & [0033]; Figures 2 & 3—element 62), each surface mountable electrode of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes being circumferentially disposed around respective ones of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips such that a tissue-facing surface of the electrode is spaced a first distance away from the respective flexible polymer circuit strip and an inwardly-facing surface of the electrode that is facing the longitudinal axis is spaced a second distance away from the flexible polymer strip, the first distance being greater than the second distance ([0006], [0033], & [0038]; Figure 3—element 62; the electrodes 62 can encircle the flexible circuit and can be generally D-shaped; the exposed electrode surface; Figure 3 portrays the exposed portion/surface 92 of the electrode 62 spaced at a greater distance from the flexible circuit 68 than the non-exposed surface 90 of the electrode 62; wherein the exposed surface can be faced toward target tissue in the case of contact therapy delivery and diagnostic catheters).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the ring-shaped surface mountable electrodes, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include the ring-shaped surface mountable electrode such that a tissue-facing surface of the electrode is spaced a first distance away from the respective flexible polymer circuit strip and an inwardly-facing surface of the electrode that is facing the longitudinal axis is spaced a second distance away from the flexible polymer strip, the first distance being greater than the second distance, as taught by Just, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward expandable assemblies for mapping and ablating tissue and comprising ring-shaped electrodes. As disclosed by Ruppersberg, the surface mountable electrodes may be ring-shaped for surrounding the flexible circuit ([0052] & [0053]). As disclosed by Just, the surface mountable electrodes may be ring-shaped or alternatively may comprise a generally “D”-shaped electrode for surrounding the flexible circuit and associated electrical pad, the D-shaped electrode may increase the available surface area of the electrodes ([0033] & [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the ring-shaped surface mountable electrodes, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include the ring-shaped surface mountable electrode such that a tissue-facing surface of the electrode is spaced a first distance away from the respective flexible polymer circuit strip and an inwardly-facing surface of the electrode that is facing the longitudinal axis is spaced a second distance away from the flexible polymer strip, the first distance being greater than the second distance, as taught by Just, as such a modification is a known alternative electrode shape for a ring-shaped electrode and would further increase the available surface area of the electrodes.
Regarding claim 2, Ruppersberg in view of Just disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Ruppersberg further discloses wherein each surface mountable electrode of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes extends around the respective one of the flexible polymer circuit strip of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips ([0050], [0052], & [0053]; Figure 5B—elements 85 & 92).
Regarding claim 5, Ruppersberg in view of Just disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Ruppersberg further discloses wherein: the catheter comprises a distal coupler ([0034]; Figure 3A—element 6); the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips comprise respective distal ends connected to, and disposed circumferentially around, the distal coupler ([0034]; Figure 3A—elements 81b); the catheter comprises a distal tip; and the catheter comprises a distal electrode disposed at the distal tip of the catheter between the distal ends of the flexible polymer circuit strips ([0063]; the distal tip may be modified to include an ablation device at the distal tip).
Regarding claim 10, Ruppersberg in view of Just disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Ruppersberg further discloses the catheter comprises a distal coupler; the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips comprise respective distal ends connected to the distal coupler ([0034]; Figure 3A—element 6); and the plurality of flexible polymer strips being configured to bow radially outward ([0037]).
Ruppersberg does not disclose wherein: the catheter comprises a pusher comprising a distal portion, and being configured to be advanced and retracted through the deflectable element; the distal coupler connected to the distal portion of the pusher; and the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips are disposed circumferentially around the distal portion of the pusher; and the plurality of flexible polymer strips being configured to bow radially outward when the pusher is retracted expanding the expandable assembly from a collapsed form to an expanded form.
Just further teaches the catheter comprising a deflectable element ([0042]; Figure 7—element 112), and a distal coupler ([0043]; Figure 7—elements 116); wherein: the catheter comprises a pusher comprising a distal portion, and being configured to be advanced and retracted through the deflectable element; the distal coupler connected to the distal portion of the pusher ([0042]; Figure 7—element 114); and the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips are disposed circumferentially around the distal portion of the pusher ([0042] & [0043]; Figure 7—elements 114 & 116); and the plurality of flexible polymer strips being configured to bow radially outward when the pusher is retracted expanding the expandable assembly from a collapsed form to an expanded form ([0042]; Figures 6 & 7—element 114).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motived to modify the structure and mechanism for expanding the flexible polymer circuit strips, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include a pusher comprising a distal portion, and being configured to be advanced and retracted through the deflectable element, the distal coupler connected to the distal portion of the pusher, and the plurality of flexible polymer strips being configured to bow radially outward when the pusher is retracted expanding the expandable assembly from a collapsed form to an expanded form, as taught by Just, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward expandable assemblies for ablating and mapping tissue. As disclosed by Ruppersberg, the flexible circuit strips may be connected at their proximal end to a pusher, such that the flexible circuit strips are configured to bow radially outward when the flexible circuit strips are pushed distally out of catheter body ([0037] & [0038]). As disclosed by Just, the flexible circuit strips may be attached at their distal ends to a pusher that is configured to slide within the deflectable element to cause the flexible circuit strips to collapse or bow radially outward ([0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure and mechanism for expanding the flexible polymer circuit strips, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include a pusher comprising a distal portion, and being configured to be advanced and retracted through the deflectable element, the distal coupler connected to the distal portion of the pusher, and the plurality of flexible polymer strips being configured to bow radially outward when the pusher is retracted expanding the expandable assembly from a collapsed form to an expanded form, as taught by Just, as such a modification would provide for a suitable and known deployment mechanism for the expandable structure to produce the predictable result of allowing the flexible circuit strips to assume a collapsed configuration or expanded configuration.
Regarding claim 28, Ruppersberg in view of Just disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Ruppersberg further discloses each surface mountable electrode of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes comprising a lumen allowing the surface mountable electrode to be circumferentially disposed around respective ones of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips ([0052] & [0053]; Figure 5B—elements 58 & 92).
Claims 3-4, & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruppersberg in view of Just and Rusk et al. (previously presented-US 5681280 A), hereinafter “Rusk”.
Regarding claims 3 & 4, Ruppersberg in view of Just disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Ruppersberg further discloses the catheter configured to apply an electrical signal to ablate a tissue of the body part ([0063]); and a mapping module configured to: receive electrical signals from ones of the multiple strip electrodes of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips; and generate an electro-anatomical map responsively to the received electrical signals ([0032], [0054], & [0055]; Figure 2—element 15; data processing and control unit 15 processes electrode mapping data from the electrode assembly 80 and outputs mapping data on a data output screen 14 for visualizing circular excitation patterns in the left atrium of a patient’s heart on the data output screen) (claim 3).
Ruppersberg does not disclose an ablation power generator configured to be connected to the catheter, and apply an electrical signal to at least one of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes to ablate a tissue of the body part (Claim 3); wherein the ablation power generator is configured to apply the electrical signal between ones of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes (claim 4).
Rusk teaches a catheter comprising a plurality of surface mountable electrodes configured for mapping ([Col. 6, lines 9-14]; Figures 2-5 & 7—element 22), and an ablation power generator configured to be connected to the catheter ([Col. 11, lines 29-36]), and apply an electrical signal to at least one of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes to ablate a tissue of the body part ([Col. 7, lines 23-25], [Col. 11, lines 23-36]; the electrodes may be used for both sensing and ablation such that the electrodes may sense electrical signals, and apply ablation energy) (Claim 3); wherein the ablation power generator is configured to apply the electrical signal between ones of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes ([Col. 7, lines 23-25], [Col. 11, lines 23-36]; Figures 2-5 & 7—element 22; the electrodes may be used for both sensing and ablation such that the electrodes may sense electrical signals, and apply ablation energy) (claim 4).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the surface mountable electrodes being configured as sensing electrodes, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include the surface mountable electrodes being configured as both sensing and ablating electrodes such that an ablation power generator is configured to apply the electrical signal to at least one of the surface mountable electrodes, as taught by Rusk, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward expandable electrode assemblies for mapping and ablating tissue. As disclosed by Ruppersberg, the mapping catheter may be modified to include a cardiac ablation device ([0063]). As disclosed by Rusk, the electrodes may be used for both mapping and ablation such that the electrodes can aid in locating interfering tissue and then ablating the interfering tissue to remove the irregular signal pathway ([Col. 7, lines 23-25]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the surface mountable electrodes being configured as sensing electrodes, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include the surface mountable electrodes being configured as both sensing and ablating electrodes such that an ablation power generator is configured to apply the electrical signal to at least one of the surface mountable electrodes, as taught by Rusk, as such a modification would provide for a known and suitable modification to include ablation and would allow for the electrodes to have a dual function of sensing and ablating tissue in order to aid in locating interfering tissue and then ablating the interfering tissue to remove an irregular signal pathway.
Regarding claim 6, Ruppersberg in view of Just disclose all of the limitations of claim 5, as described above.
Ruppersberg further discloses the catheter configured to apply an electrical signal to ablate a tissue of the body part ([0063]); and a mapping module configured to: receive electrical signals from ones of the multiple strip electrodes of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips; and generate an electro-anatomical map responsively to the received electrical signals ([0032], [0054], & [0055]; Figure 2—element 15; data processing and control unit 15 processes electrode mapping data from the electrode assembly 80 and outputs mapping data on a data output screen 14 for visualizing circular excitation patterns in the left atrium of a patient’s heart on the data output screen).
Ruppersberg does not disclose an ablation power generator configured to be connected to the catheter, and apply an electrical signal between at least one of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes and the distal electrode to ablate a tissue of the body part.
Rusk teaches a catheter comprising a plurality of surface mountable electrodes configured for mapping ([Col. 6, lines 9-14]; Figures 2-5 & 7—element 22), and an ablation power generator configured to be connected to the catheter ([Col. 11, lines 29-36]), and apply an electrical signal between at least one of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes and the distal electrode to ablate a tissue of the body part ([Col. 7, lines 23-25], [Col. 11, lines 23-36]; the electrodes may be used for both sensing and ablation such that the electrodes may sense electrical signals, and apply ablation energy).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the surface mountable electrodes being configured as sensing electrodes, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include the surface mountable electrodes being configured as both sensing and ablating electrodes such that an ablation power generator is configured to apply the electrical signal to at least one of the surface mountable electrodes, as taught by Rusk, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward expandable electrode assemblies for mapping and ablating tissue. As disclosed by Ruppersberg, the mapping catheter may be modified to include a cardiac ablation device ([0063]). As disclosed by Rusk, the electrodes may be used for both mapping and ablation such that the electrodes can aid in locating interfering tissue and then ablating the interfering tissue to remove the irregular signal pathway ([Col. 7, lines 23-25]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the surface mountable electrodes being configured as sensing electrodes, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include the surface mountable electrodes being configured as both sensing and ablating electrodes such that an ablation power generator is configured to apply the electrical signal to at least one of the surface mountable electrodes, as taught by Rusk, as such a modification would provide for a known and suitable modification to include ablation and would allow for the electrodes to have a dual function of sensing and ablating tissue in order to aid in locating interfering tissue and then ablating the interfering tissue to remove an irregular signal pathway.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruppersberg in view of Just and Werneth et al. (previously presented-US 20090149848 A1), hereinafter “Werneth”.
Regarding claim 7, Ruppersberg in view of Just disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Ruppersberg further discloses wherein: each surface mountable electrode of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes comprises a proximal end and a distal end; and the proximal end and the distal end of each surface mountable electrode of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes is electrically connected to the respective contact pad of the respective one of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips using electrically conductive retainers ([0047]-[0048], & [0052]-[0053]; Figures 3A, 4A, & 5B; the combining means 90 may be electrically conductive and function as mapping electrodes, the combining means 90 may include any one of or any combination of ring members 92, adhesives, etc.; the combining means are attached to the respective ones of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips in a tight fit; the examiner is considering the surface mountable electrodes to be the rings 92 and the electrically conductive retainers to be the adhesive that can be used in combination with the rings 92; with the proximal and distal ends being the proximal and distal ends of rings 92).
Ruppersberg does not disclose the proximal end and the distal end of each surface mountable electrode of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes connected using two respective retainers (claim 7).
Werneth teaches an electrode array for ablating and sensing tissue comprising a plurality of surface mountable electrodes, wherein each surface mountable electrode includes a proximal end and a distal end ([0105]; Figures 3A, 3B, 4, & 4A—elements 121; with said proximal end of electrodes 121 being the end facing the proximal end of the catheter and said distal end of the electrodes 121 being the end facing the distal end of the catheter), and the proximal end and the distal end of each surface mountable electrode connected to the catheter using two respective retainers ([0142]; Figure 3B—element 121; each electrode end may comprise a fillet material to further secure the electrode to the device).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify each surface mountable electrode being electrically connected to the respective contact pad of a respective one of the flexible polymer circuit strips using one electrically conductive retainer, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include two retainers, as taught by Werneth, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward electrode arrays for sensing and ablating tissue. As disclosed by Werneth, both ends of each electrode may be crimped, swaged, and/or comprise a fillet material to further secure each electrode to the catheter, increase the attachment force of each electrode to the catheter, and eliminate a sharp edges at each electrode end ([0138] & [0142]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify each surface mountable electrode being electrically connected to the respective contact pad of a respective one of the flexible polymer circuit strips using one electrically conductive retainer, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include two retainers, as taught by Werneth, as such a modification would further secure each electrode to the catheter, increase the attachment force of each electrode to the catheter, and eliminate a sharp edges at each electrode.
Regarding claim 8, Ruppersberg in view of Just and Werneth disclose all of the limitations of claim 7, as described above.
Ruppersberg further discloses wherein the proximal end and the distal end of each surface mountable electrode of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes is connected to the respective one of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips using an adhesive ([0047]-[0048], & [0052]-[0053]; Figures 3A, 4A, & 5B; the combining means 90 may be electrically conductive and function as mapping electrodes, the combining means 90 may include any one of or any combination of ring members 92, adhesives, etc.; the combining means are attached to the respective ones of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips in a tight fit; the examiner is considering the surface mountable electrodes to be the rings 92 and the adhesive to be the adhesive that can be used in combination with the rings 92).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruppersberg in view of Just and Basu et al. (US 20180184982 A1), hereinafter “Basu”.
Regarding claim 9, Ruppersberg in view of Just disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Ruppersberg does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of flexible polymer strips comprises multiple layers, a first one of the multiple layers comprising circuit traces, and a second one of the multiple layers comprising the multiple strip electrodes and the respective contact pad.
Basu teaches an expandable assembly comprising a plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips ([0059]; Figure 1—elements 18) comprising multiple strip electrodes and contact pads ([0059], Figure 1—element 20); wherein each of the plurality of flexible polymer strips comprises multiple layers, a first one of the multiple layers comprising circuit traces ([0060]; Figure 5—element 44), and a second one of the multiple layers comprising the multiple strip electrodes and the respective contact pad ([0060]; Figure 5—elements 20 & 42).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the flexible polymer strips, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include wherein each of the plurality of flexible polymer strips comprises multiple layers, a first one of the multiple layers comprising circuit traces, and a second one of the multiple layers comprising the multiple strip electrodes and the respective contact pad, as taught by Basu, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward expandable assemblies comprising flexible circuit strips for electrically connecting to a plurality of electrodes. As disclosed by Ruppersberg, the flexible circuit strips may comprise a flexible circuit that carries the electrodes and conductors ([0053]). As disclosed by Basu, the flexible circuit strips may comprise flexible circuits formed of a first conductive layer and a second polymeric layer that comprises the electrode ([0059] & [0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the flexible polymer strips, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include wherein each of the plurality of flexible polymer strips comprises multiple layers, a first one of the multiple layers comprising circuit traces, and a second one of the multiple layers comprising the multiple strip electrodes and the respective contact pad, as taught by Basu, as such a modification would provide for a suitable and known flexible circuit strip configuration that produces the predictable result of carrying electrodes and electrical conductors.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruppersberg in view of Just and Voth et al. (previously presented-US 20210153932 A1), hereinafter “Voth”.
Regarding claim 11, Ruppersberg in view of Just disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Ruppersberg does not disclose wherein the plurality of surface mountable electrodes are connected to respective ones of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips in a staggered formation with alternate ones of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes being disposed more proximally than other ones of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes.
Voth teaches a catheter comprising an expandable assembly ([0052]; Figure 4A—element 220) comprising a plurality of strips ([0052]; Figure 4A—elements 204, 206, 208, & 210) and a plurality of surface mountable electrodes ([0052]; Figure 4A—elements 202) wherein the plurality of surface mountable electrodes are connected to respective ones of the plurality of flexible polymer circuit strips in a staggered formation with alternate ones of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes being disposed more proximally than other ones of the plurality of surface mountable electrodes ([0052]-[0054]; Figure 4A—elements 202; the electrodes on each strip are staggered with respect to adjacent strips).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the electrode pattern, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include a staggered electrode pattern, as taught by Voth, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward expandable assemblies for mapping and ablation. As disclosed by Voth, the spacing of the electrodes can be staggered with respect to adjacent arms which allows for an adequate density of electrodes to be maintained, while reducing the number of electrodes disposed on the flexible tip portion and reducing the number of electrical wires needed to electrically couple all of the electrodes, which overall reduces the complexity and cost of manufacturing ([0052]-[0054]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electrode pattern, as disclosed by Ruppersberg, to include a staggered electrode pattern, as taught by Voth, as such a modification would allow for an adequate density of electrodes to be maintained while also reducing the complexity and cost of manufacturing.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-11 & 28 are rejected.
/M.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794