Response to Amendment/Arguments
The Amendment filed 11/13/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-85 remain pending on the application. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-70 in the reply filed on 7/19/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 71-83 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant argues:
In response, Applicant submits that the combination of Integromed, Pi, and Smith does not render obvious claim 1 of the present application. Claim 1 has been amended to recite that the housing of the water dispenser comprises "...a mounting surface for mounting the water dispenser to a structure proximate a wash basin..." Claim 1 has also been amended to recite, "...a data connection component supported within the housing, the data connection component facilitating control of one or more electronic systems associated with the water dispenser, the timer comprising an electronic system of the one or more the electronic systems..." Support for this amendment can be found on page 26, line 14 - page 27 line 19.
With respect to Integromed and the Office's comments regarding Integromed, Applicant appreciates the remarks provided by the Examiner in response to Applicant's previously submitted response. Based on the Examiner's interpretation of the "housing" of Integromed, and based on the amendments to claim 1, Applicant asserts that the water dispenser claimed in independent claim 1 comprises a housing that is separate and distinct from any type of housing or structural support for a wash basin. In other words, the water dispenser claimed in claim comprises a small faucet like device that is mounted to a countertop or other structure that is proximate a wash basin. This is clearly shown in FIGS. 2A-2I, and is also supported by the specification, which states, "[t]he system can further comprise the water dispenser 202, which may be mounted or otherwise coupled to a surface of the wash basin 244, to a counter or wall proximate the wash basin 244, or to any other structure proximate the wash basin 244." See Applicant's Specification, page 44, lines 24-28.
On the other hand, based on the Office's own laid out interpretation of the "housing" of Integromed as explained by the Examiner, Applicant submits that claim 1 is distinguishable from Integromed in that Integromed teaches a "housing" (the "outer housing" as identified by the Examiner), wherein the housing itself contains each of the water dispenser, the dispenser unit 3 with the water outlets 3.1 and the soap and disinfectant dispensers 3.2 and 3.3, the sensor unit 4 with the sensors 4.1, the lighting unit 9, and the sink 2. See Integromed, paragraph [0005] and Abstract (emphasis added). Again, this is based on the Examiner's own interpretation of Integromed's "housing." Using the Examiner's interpretation, Integromed discloses that the sink
2 is an integral part of the overall device 1 or "housing", by disclosing the following:
a) [Fig.] 1 shows a perspective view of an embodiment of a device 1 for washing and
disinfecting hands of medical personnel. The device 1 includes a sink [21 made of
stainless steel without joints 2 with two washing stations and a dispenser unit 3 with
two water outlets 3.1 , a soap dispenser 3.2 and a disinfectant dispenser 3.3,
b) The device 1 further comprises a sensor unit 4 with first proximity sensors 4.1 for each
washing station... The device 1 has a second proximity sensor for each wash station
4.2...and a third proximity sensor 4.3,
and
c) on an inclined surface of the device 1 is a downward lighting unit 9.
See Integromed, Abstract, and paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0043], [0045], and [0047].
From this, Applicant submits that Integromed fails to disclose a housing comprising a mounting surface for mounting the water dispenser to a structure proximate a wash basin, as recited in claim 1 of the present application.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that this new claim limitation overcomes the rejections of record in regards to claims 1 and 36. The water outlet 3.1 housing is interpreted to be part of housing 1. Thus, the back surface of 1 could be mounted to a wall and the wall would be proximate to the wash basin, even if the wash basin is a part of the housing.
Moreover, Applicant submits that Integromed fails to teach or disclose a data connection component supported within the housing, the data connection component facilitating control of one or more electronic systems associated with the water dispenser, the timer comprising an electronic system of the one or more the electronic systems.
With respect to Smith and Pi, Applicant submits that these references fail to make up for the deficient teachings of Integromed, and that independent claim 1 is therefore not rendered obvious by this combination.
Based on the foregoing, Applicant submits that claim 1 stands in a condition for allowance, and action to this end is respectfully requested.
The rejections to claims 1 and 36 have been updated to read on this new claim limitation.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 84 (the second instance of claim 84) been renumbered claim 85.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-14, 17-18, 29, 36-43, 47-49, 52-53, and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202017107187 U1 (hereinafter referred to as ‘187) in view of Pi (US 10410507 B2) and Smith (US 20160296077 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ‘187 teaches a water dispenser operable to facilitate effective decontamination of a portion of at least one of skin or a covering of the skin of an individual as part of a decontamination event, the water dispenser comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1: outside casing of device 1),
comprising a mounting surface for mounting the water dispenser to a structure proximate a wash basin (NOTE: The water outlet 3.1 housing is interpreted to be part of housing 1. Thus, the back surface of 1 could be mounted to a wall and the wall would be proximate to the wash basin, even if the wash basin is a part of the housing),
wherein the water dispenser is adapted to communicate water from a water source to at least one of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual (Fig. 1: water outlets 3.1);
an actuator configured to open a valve to cause the water dispenser to release water (Fig. 2: valve 8.8; pg. 6 3rd par. from bottom: In each of the three supply lines to the respective water outlet 3.1 is a magnetic three-way valve 8.8 arranged, with which a water donation individually for each water outlet 3.1 can be activated or deactivated; NOTE: this means that there must necessarily be an actuator to open and close the valves since the valves are automatically configured);
a light source supported in the housing so as to emit light in accordance with a predetermined
field of view, wherein the light source is configured to emit the light at a sufficient intensity and wavelength so as to cause a fluorescent agent disposed about the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual to fluoresce at a wavelength in the visible spectrum, the field of view defines, at least in part, an inspection space in which the portion of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual can be positioned to detect at least one of a presence or an absence of fluorescing fluorescent agent during the decontamination event (Fig. 1: lighting unit 9; pg. 5 2nd par. from bottom: Directed light is particularly preferably emitted, wherein light axes of these two bulbs of a washing station below the water outlet 3.1 to meet. Optionally, the lighting unit includes 9 a number of UV-A LEDs 9.2 , by means of which a disinfectant-added fluorescent agent stimulates visible illumination. If the disinfectant is applied to a hand, it is easy to see which areas of the hand are already wetted with disinfectant); and
a timer supported in the housing, the timer having one or more timer programs configured to activate the actuator to dispense water for a first predetermined period of time (pg. 5 par. 6: The exit of the water from the associated water outlet 3.1 takes place for a fixed duration; NOTE: a timer must necessarily be present in order to activate the water dispenser for a fixed duration by keeping track of time),
and a data connection component supported within the housing, the data connection component facilitating control of one or more electronic systems associated with the water dispenser (pg. 7 par. 3: One in the device 1 integrated central electrical control Z… The central control Z is used to control the donation of water; NOTE: the central electrical control must necessarily have at least one data connection component connected to an electronic system associated with the water dispenser, in order to control the donation of water), the timer comprising an electronic system of the one or more electronic systems (pg. 5 par. 6: The exit of the water from the associated water outlet 3.1 takes place for a fixed duration; NOTE: since the water is dispensed for a fixed duration and the central control Z is what controls the dispensing of water, then the timer must be one of the electronic systems that is connected via a data connection to the central control Z)
but does not teach selectable at least by a specific gesture made by the individual.
‘187 already teaches wherein the proximity of a hand to the proximity sensor starts the timer program (pg. 1 last par.: a sensor unit with a first proximity sensor for automatic activation of the dispenser unit when approaching a hand). In addition ‘187 already teaches a gesture recognition system (pg. 4 par. 5: A further embodiment of the device according to the invention provides an integrated camera system for detecting a hand movement during a washing process and an integrated evaluation unit for evaluating the hand movements detected by the camera system, wherein the evaluation unit is connected to the display unit for the graphic output of the assessment).
Pi teaches an automated system for guiding a handwashing protocol (abstract: A method and system for user hand washing compliance is described. An exemplary embodiment of the method may comprise the steps of: receiving a request from a user to enter a hand-washing-compliance-area, wherein the request is received by an entry-sensor; the entry-sensor may cause initiation of a hand-washing-cycle log entry; releasing water from a washer for pre-rinsing hands of the user; releasing soap from a soap-dispenser for soaping the hands of the user; releasing water from the washer to rinse the soaped hands of the user; and providing a means-to-dry-hands from a hand-dryer for drying the hands of the user. The user may initiate each step with a user-transmitter based on physical proximity and/or by appropriate hand-gestures before a gesture-recognition-camera. Upon the user initiating each step, the gesture-recognition-camera optionally records each step. And at least one server may receive said recordings and validate each step as compliant or non-compliant). Pi teaches wherein a specific gesture activates a timer program (C17L26-35: The software (or the controller-software) may either validate received start-hand-washing-command 110 as compliant with accepted defined-hand-gestures 116. Or the software (or the controller-software) may reject received start-hand-washing-command 110 as non-compliant with accepted defined-hand-gestures 116. In some embodiments, validation of received start-hand-washing-command 110 may result in turning on of washer 210 (e.g. with running water) for defined-first-duration 121). Thus, doing a specific hand gesture would result in selecting the timer program to activate. This would be advantageous in the case of ‘187 because it would prevent accidental activation of the water dispenser, which would save water.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera and evaluation unit of ‘187 to be configured to recognize a hand gesture and initiate the water dispenser as a result, as taught by Pi, in order to prevent accidental activation of the water dispenser, thereby saving water.
‘187 modified by Pi still does not teach and configured to activate the light source for a second predetermined period of time.
Smith teaches a faucet that uses UV light to illuminate fluorescent markers in order to completion of the washing process (abstract: A system for decontaminating the hands of a person is disclosed having a composition with a marker agent capable of luminescence when exposed to light having a wavelength ranging from approximately 315 to 400 nanometers. The composition is disposed in a container capable of receiving the hands of a person therein such that when the hands of the person are placed in the container the hands of the person are immersed in the composition. A water dispenser is provided that operates in conjunction with a light source adapted to emit radiation having a wavelength ranging from approximately 315 to 400 nanometers. A washing event occurs while light is directed towards the location of the washing event). Smith teaches a timer for shining the UV lights for a predetermined period of time that may be variable, in order to suit a particular washing application (par. 41: A beam of light is emitted from the light source having a wavelength ranging, for example, from 315 to 400 nanometers for a predetermined period of time (e.g., 4 to 6 seconds, 5 to 10 seconds, etc.) to allow the user to examine the consistency of the composition disposed about his or her hands. However, frequencies of light greater than 400 nanometers may be used, and the period of time may be varied as suits a particular application; par. 35: In one aspect of the technology, the sensor comprises a timer and is adapted to activate the light source 15 upon the detection of the presence of a user for a predetermined period of time and dispense water from the water dispenser 10 at the termination of the predetermined period of time; par. 36: It is understood and contemplated herein, that the timer and operation of the light source 15 and water discharge can be configured with a variety of different operation protocols). For instance, one application may require a more extensive washing and illumination cycle because the user has conducted activities that carried a higher risk of contamination.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timer of ‘187 modified by Pi to have another timer program configured to control the lighting unit 9 to shine UV light for a predetermined time, wherein the predetermined time as well as wavelength may be configured to suit a particular application, as taught by Smith, in order to adapt the device for different sterilization applications such as for different contamination levels.
Regarding claim 2, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above and teaches
further comprising:
a first touchless sensor configured to initiate the first period of time of the one or more timer programs activate the actuator to open the valve upon detecting a portion of the individual (abstract: proximity sensor 4.1); and
a second touchless sensor configured to initiate second period of time of the one or more timer programs to activate the light source upon detecting a portion of the individual (pg. 7 par. 6: The central electrical control Z are central, so not wash-related, four UV-A LEDs 9.2 assigned by means of a sensor for UV-A LEDs 4.7 can be activated; NOTE: the modification by Smith makes the timer program capable of also activating the UV lights for a predetermined period of time; the timer program is centrally controlled but also tied to the UV light sensors, such that the UV sensors would also be capable of triggering the timer program since they were already capable of triggering the central program to activate the UV lights, but the only difference is now the UV lights are activated for a predetermined time).
Regarding claim 3, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above and teaches further comprising:
a multipurpose touchless sensor configured initiate the first period of time of the one or more timer programs to activate the actuator to open the valve upon detecting a first gesture of the individual (abstract: first proximity sensor 4.1; see Pi modification in claim 1 rejection),
and further configured to initiate second period of time of the one or more timer programs to activate the light source (see Smith modification) but does not teach upon detecting a second gesture of the individual.
‘187 already teaches a sensor but does not teach what that type of movement that sensor detects (pg. 7 par. 6: The central electrical control Z are central, so not wash-related, four UV-A LEDs 9.2 assigned by means of a sensor for UV-A LEDs 4.7 can be activated).
Pi teaches wherein different gestures can initiate different phases of the handwashing procedure (C16L2-7: In some embodiments, user 950 may initiate a start to any particular phase by user 950 by a combination of bringing user-transmitter 201 within sufficient proximity to a particular component and/or by performing appropriate hand-gestures 115 at appropriate locations). ‘187 teaches shining light on soap on the user’s hands, which must be done after soap is applied, and as such this step can be considered a phase of the handwashing process. As stated before, ‘187 also already teaches a camera and evaluation unit for processing hand gestures.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera and evaluation unit of ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith to be configured to detect a second gesture of the user and initiate the UV LEDs as a result, as taught by Smith, in order to implement a touchless sensor for initiating a second phase of the handwashing process that also prevents accidental activation of the UV LEDs.
Regarding claim 4, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above and teaches wherein the first predetermined period of time and the second predetermined period of time are at least one of variable (see Smith modifications in claim 1 rejection), the same duration, different durations, sequential, or overlapping.
Regarding claim 5, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above and teaches wherein the one or more timer programs is configured to first activate the actuator to dispense water for the first predetermined period of time, and after the first predetermined period of time has expired, to activate the light source to emit light for the second predetermined period of time (pg. 6 par. 2: In addition, it is possible that during the washing process or after a predetermined period of time for the washing process, the aforementioned UV-A LEDs are activated), and wherein the one or more timer programs is further configured to activate the actuator to dispense water and to simultaneously actuate the light source to emit light during at least a portion of the second predetermined period of time (pg. 6 par. 2: In addition, it is possible that during the washing process or after a predetermined period of time for the washing process, the aforementioned UV-A LEDs are activated; NOTE: ‘187 teaches wherein the UV lights are activated during the washing process, but does not state when during the washing process; as such, this can be interpreted as teaching a range of time during the washing process during which, at any point, the UV lights may be activated. Alternatively, “after a predetermined period of time for the washing process” can be interpreted as after a predetermined period of time that the washing process has gone on, the UV lights are activated without shutting off the water dispenser).
Regarding claim 6, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above and teaches wherein the timer comprises a plurality of timer programs, each configured to coordinate the activation of the actuator to open and close the valve to dispense water, and to activate the light source to emit light for predetermined periods of time (pg. 5 par. 6: The exit of the water from the associated water outlet 3.1 takes place for a fixed duration; NOTE: a timer must necessarily be present in order to activate the water dispenser for a fixed duration by keeping track of time; see Smith modification).
Regarding claim 7, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above and teaches wherein the fluorescent agent is associated with a skin cleansing agent selected from the group of skin cleansing agents consisting of liquid soap, powdered soap, hand sanitizer, antibacterial soap, and antimicrobial soap (pg. 2 par. 5: Particularly preferably, a dispensing of a liquid soap by means of the dispenser unit; pg. 5 2nd par. from bottom: Directed light is particularly preferably emitted, wherein light axes of these two bulbs of a washing station below the water outlet 3.1 to meet. Optionally, the lighting unit includes 9 a number of UV-A LEDs 9.2 , by means of which a disinfectant-added fluorescent agent stimulates visible illumination. If the disinfectant is applied to a hand, it is easy to see which areas of the hand are already wetted with disinfectant).
Regarding claim 8, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above and teaches wherein the fluorescent agent is a fluorescent dye (pg. 4 par. 5: which excites a fluorescent agent attached to a disinfectant for visible illumination when the disinfectant is applied to a hand).
Regarding claim 12, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the light source is configured to position the field of view between a water outlet of the water from the water dispenser and a wash basin (Fig. 1: lighting unit 9).
Regarding claim 13, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the light source is configured to emit ultraviolet light at a wavelength in a range of about 150-400 nanometers.
‘187 teaches emitting ultraviolet light (pg. 4 par. 5: The illumination unit preferably comprises a number of LEDs for emitting ultraviolet light), which defined to be light in the range of 100-400 nm. This range overlaps with the claimed range of 150-400 nm.
According to MPEP 2144.05.I, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the prior art range or amount overlaps with or is merely close to the claimed range or amount:
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range.").
Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.").
In this case, one of ordinary skill the in the art would expect that even if the wavelength of light emitted was limited to 150 to 400 nm, the light emitted in this range would still be capable of illuminating fluorescent markers because the light emitted would still fall within the range of UV light.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength range of UV light emitted to be 150-400 nm, with the reasonable expectation the light emitted in this range would still be capable of illuminating fluorescent markers.
Regarding claim 14, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the light is ultraviolet A (UVA), ultraviolet B (UVB), ultraviolet C (UVC), or a combination thereof (UV light encompasses a combination of UVA, UVB, and UVC).
Regarding claim 17, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the light is emitted at an intensity and wavelength so as to provide a germicidal effect (absent a recited standard for what intensity and wavelength is sufficient to provide a germicidal effect, the UV lighting of ‘187 emits a finite intensity and wavelength, which has a finite germicidal effect, as UV light has sterilizing effects).
Regarding claim 18, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches further comprising:
an image capturing system supported in the housing, the image capturing system
comprising an imaging device in communication with a processor (pg. 4 par. 5: A further embodiment of the device according to the invention provides an integrated camera system for detecting a hand movement during a washing process and an integrated evaluation unit for evaluating the hand movements detected by the camera system, wherein the evaluation unit is connected to the display unit for the graphic output of the assessment).
Regarding claim 29, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches further comprising:
an alert system supported in the housing and operable with the timer to time at least a portion of the decontamination event in accordance with one or more predetermined duration of
time, and to notify the individual of the expiration of the duration of time, wherein the alert system comprises the timer and a notification device configured to provide at least one of visual (pg. 6 par. 2: The through the display unit 6 indicated, predetermined steps for washing hands correspond to a standard and are each displayed for a predetermined period of time; pg. 9 par. 2: a sequence of graphical representations of predetermined disinfection steps in the case of use; NOTE: the transition to another step is interpreted as a visual alert), auditory, or haptic feedback.
Regarding claim 36, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches system for facilitating effective decontamination of a portion of at least one of skin or a covering of the skin of an individual as part of a decontamination event, the system comprising:
a water dispenser adapted to communicate water from a water source to at least one of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual (Fig. 1: water outlets 3.1); the water dispenser comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1: outside casing of device 1),
comprising a mounting surface for mounting the water dispenser to a structure proximate a wash basin (NOTE: The water outlet 3.1 housing is interpreted to be part of housing 1. Thus, the back surface of 1 could be mounted to a wall and the wall would be proximate to the wash basin, even if the wash basin is a part of the housing),
an actuator configured to open a valve to cause the water dispenser to release water (Fig. 2: valve 8.8; pg. 6 3rd par. from bottom: In each of the three supply lines to the respective water outlet 3.1 is a magnetic three-way valve 8.8 arranged, with which a water donation individually for each water outlet 3.1 can be activated or deactivated; NOTE: this means that there must necessarily be an actuator to open and close the valves since the valves are automatically configured);
a light source supported in the housing so as to emit light in accordance with a predetermined
field of view, wherein the light source is configured to emit the light at a sufficient intensity and wavelength so as to cause a fluorescent agent disposed about the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual to fluoresce at a wavelength in the visible spectrum, the field of view defines, at least in part, an inspection space in which the portion of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual can be positioned to detect at least one of the presence or absence of fluorescing fluorescent agent during the decontamination event (Fig. 1: lighting unit 9; pg. 5 2nd par. from bottom: Directed light is particularly preferably emitted, wherein light axes of these two bulbs of a washing station below the water outlet 3.1 to meet. Optionally, the lighting unit includes 9 a number of UV-A LEDs 9.2 , by means of which a disinfectant-added fluorescent agent stimulates visible illumination. If the disinfectant is applied to a hand, it is easy to see which areas of the hand are already wetted with disinfectant);
a timer supported in the housing, the timer having one or more timer programs selectable at least by a specific gesture made by the individual, and configured to activate the actuator to dispense water for a first predetermined period of time (pg. 5 par. 6: The exit of the water from the associated water outlet 3.1 takes place for a fixed duration; NOTE: a timer must necessarily be present in order to activate the water dispenser for a fixed duration by keeping track of time; see Smith modification in claim 1 rejection for predetermined time modification and Pi modification in claim 1 rejection for gesture modification),
and configured to activate the light source for a second predetermined period of time; (see Smith modification in claim 1 rejection)
and a data connection component supported within the housing, the data connection component facilitating control of one or more electronic systems associated with the water dispenser (pg. 7 par. 3: One in the device 1 integrated central electrical control Z… The central control Z is used to control the donation of water; NOTE: the central electrical control must necessarily have at least one data connection component connected to an electronic system associated with the water dispenser, in order to control the donation of water), the timer comprising an electronic system of the one or more electronic systems (pg. 5 par. 6: The exit of the water from the associated water outlet 3.1 takes place for a fixed duration; NOTE: since the water is dispensed for a fixed duration and the central control Z is what controls the dispensing of water, then the timer must be one of the electronic systems that is connected via a data connection to the central control Z)
a wash basin configured to capture the water and drain the water away (Fig. 1: sink 2); and
a composition dispenser configured to dispense a composition comprising a skin cleansing agent (Fig. 1: disinfectant dispenser 3.3)
and the fluorescent agent, the fluorescent agent being capable of fluorescing when exposed to light (pg. 4 par. 5: A further embodiment of the device according to the invention provides a lighting unit for emitting a light of a certain wavelength, which excites a fluorescent agent attached to a disinfectant for visible illumination when the disinfectant is applied to a hand. As a result, it is visually recognizable by the person whether the disinfectant is applied correctly),
the composition dispenser comprising a chamber for holding the composition (Fig. 2: container B),
and an actuator configured to activate a pump to facilitate dispensing of the composition (Fig.2: pump P with motor M, wherein motor M is interpreted to be the actuator; pg. 7 par. 1: The three disinfectant dispensers 3.3 are each supplied in parallel with a supply line, wherein in each of the three supply lines in each case a motor-driven pump P with motor M for conveying the disinfectant to the respective disinfectant dispenser 3.3 is arranged).
Regarding claim 37, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above and teaches
further comprising:
a first touchless sensor configured initiate the first period of time of the one or more timer programs to activate the actuator to open the valve upon detecting a portion of the individual (abstract: proximity sensor 4.1); and
a second touchless sensor configured to initiate the second period of time of the one or more timer programs upon detecting a portion of the individual (pg. 7 par. 6: The central electrical control Z are central, so not wash-related, four UV-A LEDs 9.2 assigned by means of a sensor for UV-A LEDs 4.7 can be activated; NOTE: the modification by Smith makes the timer program capable of also activating the UV lights for a predetermined period of time; the timer program is centrally controlled but also tied to the UV light sensors, such that the UV sensors would also be capable of triggering the timer program since they were already capable of triggering the central program to activate the UV lights, but the only difference is now the UV lights are activated for a predetermined time).
Regarding claim 38, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above and teaches further comprising:
a multipurpose touchless sensor configured initiate the first period of time of the one or more timer programs to activate the actuator to open the valve upon detecting a first gesture of the individual (abstract: first proximity sensor 4.1; see Pi modification in claim 1 rejection),
and further configured to initiate the second period of time of the one or more timer programs upon detecting a second gesture of the individual (see Pi modification in claim 3 rejection).
Regarding claim 39, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above and teaches wherein the first predetermined period of time and second predetermined period of time are at least one of variable (see Smith modifications in claim 1 rejection), the same duration, different durations, sequential, or overlapping.
Regarding claim 40, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above and teaches wherein the one or more timer programs is configured to first activate the actuator to dispense water for the first predetermined period of time, and after the first predetermined period of time has expired, to activate the light source to emit light for the second predetermined period of time (pg. 6 par. 2: In addition, it is possible that during the washing process or after a predetermined period of time for the washing process, the aforementioned UV-A LEDs are activated), and wherein the one or more timer programs is further configured to activate the actuator to dispense water and to simultaneously actuate the light source to emit light during at least a portion of the second predetermined period of time (pg. 6 par. 2: In addition, it is possible that during the washing process or after a predetermined period of time for the washing process, the aforementioned UV-A LEDs are activated; NOTE: ‘187 teaches wherein the UV lights are activated during the washing process, but does not state when during the washing process; as such, this can be interpreted as teaching a range of time during the washing process during which, at any point, the UV lights may be activated. Alternatively, “after a predetermined period of time for the washing process” can be interpreted as after a predetermined period of time that the washing process has gone on, the UV lights are activated without shutting off the water dispenser).
Regarding claim 41, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above and teaches wherein the timer comprises a plurality of timer programs, each configured to coordinate the activation of the actuator to open and close the valve to dispense water, and to activate the light source to emit light for predetermined periods of time (pg. 5 par. 6: The exit of the water from the associated water outlet 3.1 takes place for a fixed duration; NOTE: a timer must necessarily be present in order to activate the water dispenser for a fixed duration by keeping track of time; see Smith modification).
Regarding claim 42, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above and teaches wherein the skin cleansing agent is selected from the group of skin cleansing agents consisting of. liquid soap, powdered soap, hand sanitizer, antibacterial soap, and antimicrobial soap (NOTE: since a skin cleansing agent is not positively recited in claim 1 and has no antecedent basis, this will be interpreted as recitation of intended use; pg. 2 par. 5: Particularly preferably, a dispensing of a liquid soap by means of the dispenser unit).
Regarding claim 43, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above and teaches wherein the fluorescent agent is a fluorescent dye (pg. 4 par. 5: which excites a fluorescent agent attached to a disinfectant for visible illumination when the disinfectant is applied to a hand).
Regarding claim 47, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the light source is configured to position the field of view between a water outlet of the water from the water dispenser and a wash basin (Fig. 1: lighting unit 9).
Regarding claim 48, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the light source is configured to emit ultraviolet light at a wavelength in a range of about 150-400 nanometers.
‘187 teaches emitting ultraviolet light (pg. 4 par. 5: The illumination unit preferably comprises a number of LEDs for emitting ultraviolet light), which defined to be light in the range of 100-400 nm. This range overlaps with the claimed range of 150-400 nm.
According to MPEP 2144.05.I, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the prior art range or amount overlaps with or is merely close to the claimed range or amount:
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range.").
Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.").
In this case, one of ordinary skill the in the art would expect that even if the wavelength of light emitted was limited to 150 to 400 nm, the light emitted in this range would still be capable of illuminating fluorescent markers because the light emitted would still fall within the range of UV light.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength range of UV light emitted to be 150-400 nm, with the reasonable expectation the light emitted in this range would still be capable of illuminating fluorescent markers.
Regarding claim 49, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the light is ultraviolet A (UVA), ultraviolet B (UVB), ultraviolet C (UVC), or a combination thereof (UV light encompasses a combination of UVA, UVB, and UVC).
Regarding claim 52, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the light is emitted at an intensity and wavelength so as to provide a germicidal effect (absent a recited standard for what intensity and wavelength is sufficient to provide a germicidal effect, the UV lighting of ‘187 emits a finite intensity and wavelength, which has a finite germicidal effect, as UV light has sterilizing effects).
Regarding claim 53, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above, and teaches further comprising:
an image capturing system supported in the housing, the image capturing system
comprising a camera in communication with a processor for capturing one or more images of the portion of the skin or a covering of the skin of the individual subject to the decontamination event (pg. 4 par. 5: A further embodiment of the device according to the invention provides an integrated camera system for detecting a hand movement during a washing process and an integrated evaluation unit for evaluating the hand movements detected by the camera system, wherein the evaluation unit is connected to the display unit for the graphic output of the assessment).
Regarding claim 64, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above, and teaches further comprising:
an alert system supported in the housing and operable with the timer to time at least a portion of the decontamination event in accordance with one or more predetermined duration of
time, and to notify the individual of the expiration of the duration of time, wherein the alert system comprises the timer and a notification device configured to provide at least one of visual (pg. 6 par. 2: The through the display unit 6 indicated, predetermined steps for washing hands correspond to a standard and are each displayed for a predetermined period of time; pg. 9 par. 2: a sequence of graphical representations of predetermined disinfection steps in the case of use; NOTE: the transition to another step is interpreted as a visual alert), auditory, or haptic feedback.
Claims 9 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith in view of Hwang (WO 2008118143 A2).
Regarding claim 9, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above but does not teach wherein the fluorescent agent is selected from the group of fluorescent agents consisting of: compounds containing fluorophores, fluorescein, xanthene dyes, rhodamine dyes, stilbene dyes, functionalized polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon dyes including lissamine flavine FF, pyranine, and/or amino G acid, triarylmethane dyes, methyl violet dyes, fuchsine dyes, phenol dyes, malachite green dyes, victoria blue dyes, diarylmethane dyes, and fluorescent fruit extracts including extracts from Viburnum trilobum, Ribes, and Ribes alpine. ‘187 teaches a fluorescent agent but is silent to the specific composition of the fluorescent agent.
Hwang teaches a system using a fluorescent marker to verify the thoroughness of a hand washing process (abstract: A hand cleansing formulation in the form of a soap/disinfectant (liquid, foam, cream or powder) in solution contains a marker agent (e.g., fluorescent or phosphorescent agent(s)) aggregated with a non-marker binder material. By vigorously scrubbing the hands together, as required by a proper hand washing procedure, the aggregates are dissociated to allow the measurement of the fluorescence/ phosphorescence intensity under an activation light source, i.e., UV, IR. This intensity measurement directly relates to the thoroughness of the hand scrubbing steps, thereby allowing the thoroughness of hand scrubbing during a hand washing event to be judged and monitored). Hwang teaches wherein the fluorescent dye may be stilbene, fluorescein, pyranine, or rhodamine (claim 18: The formulation as described in Claim 4 wherein the marker is selected from the group consisting of coumarinic compounds, stilbene and its derivatives, pyrene and its derivatives, anthracenes, tetracenes, pentracenes, quinolines, quinones, aryl methanes, naphthacenes, fluoresceins, anilines, thiazoles, oxazoles, pyranines, carbazoles, rhodamines, dansylated compounds, propidiums, biotin derivatives, ethidiums, cyanines, uranines, benzoxazoles, benzothizaoles, succimidyl compounds dialdehydes, quinoids).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluorescent agent of ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith to be comprised of stilbene, fluorescein, pyranine, or rhodamine, as taught by Hwang, in order to provide a suitable fluorescent agent for verifying the thoroughness of a hand washing process.
Regarding claim 45, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Hwang teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the fluorescent agent is selected from the group of fluorescent agents consisting of: compounds containing fluorophores, fluorescein, xanthene dyes, rhodamine dyes, stilbene dyes, functionalized polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon dyes including lissamine flavine FF, pyranine, and/or amino G acid, triarylmethane dyes, methyl violet dyes, fuchsine dyes, phenol dyes, malachite green dyes, victoria blue dyes, diarylmethane dyes, and fluorescent fruit extracts including extracts from Viburnum trilobum, Ribes, and Ribes alpine (see Hwang modification in claim 9 rejection).
Claims 10-11 and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith in view of Cheon (KR 20130007072 A).
Regarding claim 10, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the light source comprises a power source (pg. 7 par. 3: One in the device 1 integrated central electrical control Z includes a power supply S, which is supplied by a power supply N with electrical voltage. The central control Z is used to control the donation of water, the setting of the temperature of the water, the donation of liquid soap, the donation of disinfectant and the control of the lighting unit) but does not teach that is selected from the group of power sources consisting of: a replaceable battery, a rechargeable battery, inductively transferred power, and an alternating current power source.
‘187 teaches a power supply powered by a power source but does not specify the exact implementation. Cheon teaches a shower handle with a light source powered by a rechargeable battery (abstract: PURPOSE: A far infrared ray LED shower is provided to generate far infrared ray and anion. CONSTITUTION: A far infrared ray LED shower comprises a head unit which is formed to supply water and generator to a water jet, a plurality of water jets which spray water passing through a ball receptor, a handle part(200) which includes the chargeable battery, an LED part(150) which is comprised in a head unit and radiated, a plurality of ball receptors(220) including a plurality of functional balls, and a central control part(160) which controls so that the LED part can be light-emitted). Cheon teaches a generator that produces power from the rotation of an impeller caused by water flow, wherein the generator charges a rechargeable battery that powers a light source (pg. 2 par. 11-15: When The water supply inlet hose by the development by the rotation of the impeller (300) by a generator that produces power battery charger 310, and a head portion 120 that is configured to supply water to the water passing through the injection hole for a watch, pass through is formed in the head portion for the other visible a plurality of the water injection port 110 for injecting the water, and, is configured to be installed in the head portion of the handle side comprises a rechargeable battery 170 is charged when supplied with the charging power 200 and; The operation by the charging power of the battery charging, LED light-emitting unit that consists of installing a head portion (150)). This not only provides a means of implementing a light source for a device that dispenses both water and light, but also eliminates the need for an external power source and the need to replace batteries.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power source system of ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith to be a generator that produces power when water from the dispenser rotates an impeller, wherein the generator recharges rechargeable batteries configured to power the light source, as taught by Cheon, in order to provide a convenient means of implementing a power system that eliminates the need for external power and the need to replace batteries.
Regarding claim 11, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Cheon teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches further comprising:
a power generator configured to generate power for a battery to power at least one of the light source and the actuator, wherein the power generator comprises an impeller supported and operative within a water supply conduit used to supply water to the water dispenser (see Cheon modification in claim 10 rejection).
Regarding claim 46, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Cheon teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the light source comprises a power source (pg. 7 par. 3: One in the device 1 integrated central electrical control Z includes a power supply S, which is supplied by a power supply N with electrical voltage. The central control Z is used to control the donation of water, the setting of the temperature of the water, the donation of liquid soap, the donation of disinfectant and the control of the lighting unit) that is selected from the group of power sources consisting of: a replaceable battery, a rechargeable battery, inductively transferred power, and an alternating current power source (see Cheon modification in claim 10 rejection).
Regarding claim 47, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Cheon teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above, and teaches further comprising:
a power generator configured to generate power for a battery to power at least one of the light source and the actuator, wherein the power generator comprises an impeller supported and operative within a water supply conduit used to supply water to the water dispenser (see Cheon modification in claim 10 rejection).
Claims 15 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith in view of “Health Impacts of Exposure to Ultraviolet (UV) Radiation” (NPL 2016) and Llamido (US 10613030 B2).
Regarding claim 15, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the light source is configured to emit visible light at a wavelength in a range of about 400-700 nanometers.
“Health Impacts of Exposure to Ultraviolet (UV) Radiation” teaches that overexposure to UV light can cause cancer, among other harmful effects to humans, providing motivation to use an alternative means of illuminating the fluorescent marker.
Llamido teaches a system for detecting contamination on a user’s hands (abstract: This disclosure relates generally to a systems and method provided for monitoring bacteria and germs on users' hands, and further providing solutions to determine compliance with hand hygiene guidelines. The system is embedded with a volatile technology to show bacteria on hands after hand washing. The system comes with a sensor depicting the need to wash hands again, or requirement for use of sanitizer. The sanitizing machine is also part of the main system, which sanitizes all bacteria areas being focused on, and also has a hand drying facility. The system can be placed and installed near any hand washing area and is equally good for use in households and commercial avenues, especially in the health and food industry). Llamido teaches a means of illuminating a fluorescent marker using visible light (claim 7: The apparatus of claim 1 further including a means of dispensing a detecting chemical mixture onto the user's at least one hand, where said detecting chemical mixture fluoresces in ultraviolet light or visible light or both ultraviolet and visible light and fluoresces more strongly when exposed to said light and to bacteria; claim 9: The apparatus of claim 7, where said detecting chemical mixture is a combination of PNIPAM and vancomycin; C5L24-28: Some embodiments of this device would also include a purple or blue light, which would flash on the user's hands. This would cause the bacteria on the user's hands to fluoresce. This, in turn, would allow the user to visibly see the location of the bacteria residing on her hands).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluorescent marker of ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith to comprise PNIPAM and vancomycin, and the UV lighting to be visible lighting instead, as taught by “Health Impacts of Exposure to Ultraviolet (UV) Radiation” and Llamido, in order to provide a safe means of illuminating a fluorescent marker to determine the level of contamination on a user’s hands.
Regarding claim 50, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, “Health Impacts of Exposure to Ultraviolet (UV) Radiation” and Llamido teaches the water dispenser of claim 36 as set forth above, and teaches wherein the light source is configured to emit visible light at a wavelength in a range of about 400-700 nanometers (see modifications in claim 15 rejection).
Claims 16 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith in view of “Health Impacts of Exposure to Ultraviolet (UV) Radiation” and Hwang.
Regarding claim 16, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the light source is configured to emit infrared light at a wavelength in a range of about 700 nanometers to 1 millimeter.
“Health Impacts of Exposure to Ultraviolet (UV) Radiation” teaches that overexposure to UV light can cause cancer, among other harmful effects to humans, providing motivation to use an alternative means of illuminating the fluorescent marker.
Hwang teaches using a flourophor/phosphor dye as a fluorescent marker, which is then illuminated using an IR light source (pg. 4 lines 1-3: A marker agent, in the form of a flourophor/phosphor, dye, etc. (Table 1) visibly detectable when exposed to light in the visible or non-visible spectrum (i.e., UV or IR); abstract: the aggregates are dissociated to allow the measurement of the fluorescence/ phosphorescence intensity under an activation light source, i.e., UV, IR). Therefore, Hwang provides a means of achieving fluorescence without using harmful UV light.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluorescent agent of ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith to be a component capable of visibly illuminating when exposed to IR light, and to modify the UV lighting to be IR lighting, as taught by “Health Impacts of Exposure to Ultraviolet (UV) Radiation” and Hwang, in order to provide a safe means of illuminating a fluorescent marker to determine the level of contamination on a user’s hands.
Regarding claim 51, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, Health Impacts of Exposure to Ultraviolet (UV) Radiation” and Hwang teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the light source is configured to emit infrared light at a wavelength in a range of about 700 nanometers to 1 millimeter (see modifications in claim 16 rejection).
Claims 19-21, 24, 27-28, 54-56, 59, and 62-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith in view of Koblasz (US 8040245 B2).
Regarding claim 19, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 18, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the image capturing system is configured to sense an identification tag used to identify the individual initiating the decontamination event, wherein the identification tag comprises personal identification indicia encoded in at least one of a barcode, a quick response (QR) code, or text that is recognized via optical character recognition, and wherein the image capturing system is operable with a computer system configured to associate an identity of the individual with a stored individual profile.
Koblasz teaches a system for identifying people who would be required to wash their hands in order to hold individuals accountable for thoroughly washing their hands (abstract: Methods, systems, and computer-storage media provide for the monitoring of hand washing by people entering a room. A person is detected entering a room and an image of the person is captured. The person is identified as an employee using various employee identifiers or is identified as a visitor. The image may be used to identify distinguishing features of the visitor to be compared to an image subsequently during hand washing to verify the identity of the hand washer as the person who entered the room. Similarly, the employee identifier is used to verify the identity of a hand washer as the employee that entered the room. If any person entering the room remains for a threshold period of time without activating the soap dispenser, then a notification that includes the person's identity is provided within the room to remind the person that hand washing is required).
A camera system is used to capture an image that is then processed by a computer system that identifies the individual (C1L52-58: Methods, systems, and computer storage media described herein provide for the monitoring of hand washing within a room. According to one aspect of the disclosure provided herein, a person entering a room is detected. A camera image of the person is captured and the identity of the person is determined using the camera image or an employee identification mechanism; C3L43-49: The embodiment depicted in FIG. 1 could also include any type, number, and combination of motion sensing devices, cameras, pressure-sensitive floor coverings, distinctive floor areas, electronic sensors, backlit signs, computer monitors, radio frequency identification (RFID) antennas, and other personnel identifying equipment, all coupled to the computing device 106). Identifying an employee would necessarily involve the computing device 106 comparing the scanned identification information to a stored profile.
A barcode is used to identify individuals (C945-52: The employee badges 702 and 704 contain a large barcode 706 or color-coded label and a corresponding printed employee identification number 708. It should be clear from the examples given above that any number of employee identifiers may be used in conjunction with the camera 118 and computing device 106 to enable the identification of an employee while entering the patient care room 102 and while activating the soap dispenser 104).
The system stores information in what may be a removable medium, wherein the information would include images (C15L22-34: By way of example, and not limitation, computer-storage media may include volatile and non-volatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer-readable instructions, data structures, program modules or other data. For example, computer-storage media includes, but is not limited to, RAM, ROM, EPROM, EEPROM, flash memory or other solid state memory technology, CD-ROM, digital versatile disks (DVD), HD-DVD, BLU-RAY, or other optical storage, magnetic cassettes, magnetic tape, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other medium which can be used to store the desired information and which can be accessed by the computing device 106).
The image capturing system communicates with a wired/wireless computer network, wherein all data related to the identification functions are transmitted, which would include the image and identification data (C3L53-61: It should be appreciated that although all of the various communication connections are not illustrated, the computing device 106 may be connected to every electronic component of the hand washing monitoring system described herein via a wired and/or wireless network. The computing device 106 may include a server computer, laptop computer, desktop computer, handheld computing device, or any other suitable computer device operative to perform the data collection, processing, and notification functions described herein).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera of ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith to be capable of reading a barcode of an individual and comparing the barcode to a stored profile in order to identify the individual, wherein the image and identification information is stored in a removable computer medium and transferred over a wired/wireless communication network for processing, as taught by Koblasz, in order to hold individuals accountable for having thoroughly washed their hands.
Regarding claim 20, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Koblasz teaches the water dispenser of claim 18, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the one or more images are stored on a removable memory storage device associated with the image capturing system (see Koblasz modification in claim 19 modification).
Regarding claim 21, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Koblasz teaches the water dispenser of claim 18, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system is in communication with a computer network, and is configured to transmit data corresponding to at least one of the one or more images and the personal identification indicia over the computer network, wherein a connection to the network is wired or wireless (see Koblasz modification in claim 19 modification).
Regarding claim 24, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Koblasz teaches the water dispenser of claim 18, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system is configured to record at least a portion of the decontamination event (pg. 4 par. 5: A further embodiment of the device according to the invention provides an integrated camera system for detecting a hand movement during a washing process and an integrated evaluation unit for evaluating the hand movements detected by the camera system, wherein the evaluation unit is connected to the display unit for the graphic output of the assessment).
Regarding claim 27, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Koblasz teaches the water dispenser of claim 18, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system is configured to generate a score based on results of the recording of the portion of the decontamination event (pg. 4 par. 5: … wherein the evaluation unit is connected to the display unit for the graphic output of the assessment. For example, the output of a graphic of a smiling face is possible when a person has both properly cleaned and properly disinfected their hands, thereby improving a person's motivation).
Regarding claim 28, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Koblasz teaches the water dispenser of claim 18, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system is configured to recognize and record predefined movements of the individual associated with the decontamination event (pg. 3 par. 5: The qualitative assessment can be achieved in two ways. According to a first alternative, it is evaluated whether and / or for how long a defined hand position or arm postures have been executed. Defined hand or arm postures can result, for example, from recommendations for hygienic hand disinfection or a surgical hand disinfection).
Regarding claim 54, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Koblasz teaches the water dispenser of claim 53, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system is configured to sense an identification tag used to identify the individual initiating the decontamination event, wherein the identification tag comprises personal identification indicia encoded in at least one of a barcode, a quick response (QR) code, or text that is recognized via optical character recognition, and wherein the image capturing system is operable with a computer system configured to associate an identity of the individual with a stored individual profile (see claim 19 rejection).
Regarding claim 55, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Koblasz teaches the water dispenser of claim 53, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the one or more images are stored on a removable memory storage device associated with the image capturing system (see Koblasz modification in claim 19 modification).
Regarding claim 56, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Koblasz teaches the water dispenser of claim 53, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system is in communication with a computer network, and is configured to transmit data corresponding to at least one of the one or more images and the personal identification indicia over the computer network, wherein a connection to the network is wired or wireless (see Koblasz modification in claim 19 modification).
Regarding claim 59, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Koblasz teaches the water dispenser of claim 53, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system is configured to record at least a portion of the decontamination event (pg. 4 par. 5: A further embodiment of the device according to the invention provides an integrated camera system for detecting a hand movement during a washing process and an integrated evaluation unit for evaluating the hand movements detected by the camera system, wherein the evaluation unit is connected to the display unit for the graphic output of the assessment).
Regarding claim 62, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Koblasz teaches the water dispenser of claim 53, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system is configured to generate a score based on results of the recording of the portion of the decontamination event (pg. 4 par. 5: … wherein the evaluation unit is connected to the display unit for the graphic output of the assessment. For example, the output of a graphic of a smiling face is possible when a person has both properly cleaned and properly disinfected their hands, thereby improving a person's motivation).
Regarding claim 63, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Koblasz teaches the water dispenser of claim 53, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system is configured to recognize and record predefined movements of the individual associated with the decontamination event (pg. 3 par. 5: The qualitative assessment can be achieved in two ways. According to a first alternative, it is evaluated whether and / or for how long a defined hand position or arm postures have been executed. Defined hand or arm postures can result, for example, from recommendations for hygienic hand disinfection or a surgical hand disinfection).
Claims 22, 25, 30-32, 57, 60, and 65-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith in view of Kanhye (US 10370695 B2).
Regarding claim 22, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 18, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the image capturing system functions as a sensor that is configured to detect the fluorescence of the fluorescent agent by analyzing at least one of the one or more images captured by the image capturing system, and wherein the water dispenser further comprises a notification system in communication with the image capturing system configured to notify the individual when the fluorescence of the fluorescent agent is no longer detected about the portion of the skin or a covering of the skin of the individual.
Kanhye teaches a system for measuring and indicating the level of pathogen contamination on a surface (abstract: A method of testing for pathogens can include applying a pathogen indicating substance to an object, the pathogen indicating substance having one characteristic when not in contact with a pathogen and another characteristic when in contact with a pathogen, and generating a signal indicative of the level of pathogen contamination on the object by quantifying the presence of the pathogen indicating substance with the pathogen indicating characteristic on the object. An apparatus for testing for pathogens can include a dispenser for dispensing a pathogen indicating substance, the pathogen indicating substance having one characteristic which is altered to another characteristic on contact with a pathogen, a main sensor for detecting a level of pathogen contamination by quantifying the pathogen indicating substance having the pathogen indicating characteristic, and a control unit for generating a signal indicative of the level of pathogen contamination detected by the sensor). Kanhye teaches applying a fluorescent marker, shining UV light on the marker to trigger fluorescence by the marker, measuring the fluorescence by capturing an image using a camera, using a computer to determine the intensity of the fluorescence on the image, and providing a notification system to indicate to the user that their hands are clean based on the lack of fluorescence (C8L4-15: In immediately subsequent step 308, the UV lights 126 remain switched on to illuminate the hands, which are covered with the polymer gel 150. Under UV light, any gel that has not been in contact with gram-negative bacteria fluoresces in a first colour, or at a first intensity, and any polymer gel that has been in contact with gram-negative bacteria fluoresces in a second colour, or at a second intensity. The cameras 128 of the right sensor array 130 capture images and/or video of the back of the right hand, and the cameras 128 of the left sensor array 132 capture images and/or video of the back of the left hand. The images/video of both hands is relayed to the CPU 148; C8L43- 67: In step 310, pathogens, in particular gram negative bacteria, are quantified. The CPU 148, using the images captured in step 308 above, assesses whether any polymer gel 150 which is fluorescing in the second colour is present on the hands. This step can be performed by assessing the entirety of the image, or in a pixel-by-pixel analysis of the pixel colour or intensity. If any polymer gel 150 fluorescing in the second colour, or with enhanced intensity, is identified in the images/video of the hands, then a negative signal is generated by CPU 148, and an indication of the reason for the generation of the negative signal communicated by speakers 134 and LED array 114. If no polymer gel fluorescing in the second colour, or with enhanced intensity, can be identified, or is identified at a level below a predetermined threshold, then a positive signal is generated by the CPU 148, which is communicated to the user by illuminating the LED array 114 green. The CPU 148 then instructs the user to turn the hands over so that the palm surface of the hands is facing the sensor surface 122. If a negative signal is generated by the CPU 148 in this step, then this indicates that the hands were not sufficiently sanitised to remove pathogens. Therefore, a negative signal in step 310 may be accompanied by an indication from the CPU 148 via speakers 134 to re-sanitise the hands before beginning the method 300 again at step 302). This is to ensure that the user keeps washing their hands until their hands are clean.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image capturing system and computer system of ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith to be capable of determining the intensity of the fluorescence based on an image captured by the camera, as well as modifying to add a notification system comprising an LED array to indicate to the user that their hands are clean based on the lack of fluorescence or that there their hands are not clean based on a predetermined intensity of fluorescence, as taught by Kanhye, in order to instruct the user to keep washing their hands until their hands are clean.
Regarding claim 25, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Kanhye teaches the water dispenser of claim 18, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system is configured to measure an intensity of the fluorescence of the fluorescent agent (see Kanhye modification in claim 22 modification).
Regarding claim 30, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Kanhye teaches the water dispenser of claim 29, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the notification device comprises a plurality of notification lights configured to progressively change status from an initiation of a decontamination procedure to the end of the decontamination procedure (see Kanhye LED array modification in claim 22 rejection; the notification lights would be capable of progressively changing status from negative to positive if the user starts out with dirty hands and ends up with clean hands at the completion of the decontamination procedure) and coordinated with the timer program (absent a recitation of what the specific coordination entails, the prior art reads on this limitation because the UV lights which are controlled by the timer program are necessarily activated in Kanhye in order for fluorescence to be detected so that an indication can be given via the UV lights, and this carries over to the modification by Kanhye to ‘197 modified by Smith and Koblasz.
Regarding claim 31, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Kanhye teaches the water dispenser of claim 29, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the notification device comprises a display that numerically counts time intervals until the expiration of the duration of time of a time period of the timer program (pg. 9 par. 2: the display unit ( 6 ) a number of bulbs and / or screens for displaying - a set water temperature in the case of use and / or - a start of use automatically starting residual duration of a scheduled washing process in the case of use; NOTE: “residual duration” is interpreted to mean how much time is left for a step of the washing process, so the display shows how much time is left, which means it is counting down the time).
Regarding claim 32, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Kanhye teaches the water dispenser of claim 29, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the notification device is configured to activate a notification when the fluorescent agent disposed about the skin or a covering of the skin of the individual fluoresces at a predetermined intensity (see Kanhye modification in claim 22 rejection).
Regarding claim 57, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Kanhye teaches the water dispenser of claim 53, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system functions as a sensor that is configured to detect the fluorescence of the fluorescent agent by analyzing at least one of the one or more images captured by the image capturing system, and wherein the water dispenser further comprises a notification system in communication with the image capturing system configured to notify the individual when the fluorescence of the fluorescent agent is no longer detected about the portion of the skin or a covering of the skin of the individual (see Kanhye modification in claim 22 rejection).
Regarding claim 60, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Kanhye teaches the water dispenser of claim 53, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system is configured to measure an intensity of the fluorescence of the fluorescent agent (see Kanhye modification in claim 22 modification).
Regarding claim 65, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Kanhye teaches the water dispenser of claim 64, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the notification device comprises a plurality of notification lights configured to progressively change status from an initiation of a decontamination procedure to the end of the decontamination procedure (see Kanhye LED array modification in claim 22 rejection; the notification lights would be capable of progressively changing status from negative to positive if the user starts out with dirty hands and ends up with clean hands at the completion of the decontamination procedure) and coordinated with the timer program (absent a recitation of what the specific coordination entails, the prior art reads on this limitation because the UV lights which are controlled by the timer program are necessarily activated in Kanhye in order for fluorescence to be detected so that an indication can be given via the UV lights, and this carries over to the modification by Kanhye to ‘197 modified by Smith and Koblasz).
Regarding claim 66, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Kanhye teaches the water dispenser of claim 64, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the notification device comprises a display that numerically counts time intervals until the expiration of the duration of time of a time period of the timer program (pg. 9 par. 2: the display unit ( 6 ) a number of bulbs and / or screens for displaying - a set water temperature in the case of use and / or - a start of use automatically starting residual duration of a scheduled washing process in the case of use; NOTE: “residual duration” is interpreted to mean how much time is left for a step of the washing process, so the display shows how much time is left, which means it is counting down the time).
Regarding claim 67, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Kanhye teaches the water dispenser of claim 64, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the notification device is configured to activate a notification when the fluorescent agent disposed about the skin or a covering of the skin of the individual fluoresces at a predetermined intensity (see Kanhye modification in claim 22 rejection).
Claims 23 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith in view of Dobrinsky (US 20190298871 A1).
Regarding claim 23, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 18, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the image capturing system is configured to activate the timer and the timer program upon a predetermined intensity of fluorescence being achieved and detected by the image capturing system.
Dobrinsky teaches a UV sterilization system for food instruments using fluorescent markers illuminated by UV light to detect contamination (abstract: Ultraviolet irradiation of food handling instruments for purposes of sterilization, disinfection, cleaning and other treatment capabilities. A housing having receptacles receives one or more food handling instruments. Ultraviolet light emitting sources located about the receptacles can direct ultraviolet light towards the receptacles and any food handling instruments placed therein. One or more sensors located about the receptacles can detect operational conditions associated with the receptacles and any food handling instruments received therein. A control unit, operatively coupled to the ultraviolet light emitting sources and the one or more sensors, manages the irradiation of the receptacles and any food handling instruments in the receptacles as a function of the operational conditions detected by the one or more sensors; par. 13: The sensors, which can include more than one of each type, can comprise, but are not limited to, a fluorescent sensor to detect the fluorescence emissivity generated from the surface of a food handling instrument after irradiation by one or more of the ultraviolet light emitting sources and a presence sensor to detect the presence of a food handling instrument in a receptacle upon placement therein).
Dobrinsky teaches using its fluorescent intensity detection system to trigger activation of its sterilization source upon detecting a predetermined fluorescent intensity (par. 17: while a fluorescent sensor can be configured to detect the fluorescent illumination intensity excited from a surface of the food handling instrument after being irradiated by a second set of ultraviolet light emitting sources. In this manner, the control unit can receive signals indicative of the conditions detected by the ultraviolet radiation sensor and the fluorescent sensor, and determine a density level of a target contaminant that is present on a surface of the food handling instrument. In this manner, the control unit can activate one or more the ultraviolet light emitting sources to direct ultraviolet light towards the surface of the food handling instrument to eradicate the target contaminant in response to determining that the contaminant density level satisfies a predetermined threshold). ‘187 already teaches using a fluorescent agent to allow the user to see how much contamination there is, but this is up to the user’s discretion. Automating the process by having a predetermined fluorescent intensity that can be objectively measured and used to trigger the sterilization source, which in this case would the water dispenser, would increase sterilization effectiveness.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith to have a fluorescent intensity detector connected to a computer configured to trigger the sterilization source, which is the water dispenser for rinsing in this case, upon detecting a predetermined fluorescent intensity, as taught by Dobrinsky, in order to ensure sterilization effectiveness through automation and further compel the user to rinse their hands thoroughly.
Regarding claim 58, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Dobrinsky teaches the water dispenser of claim 53, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the image capturing system is configured to activate the timer and the timer program upon a predetermined intensity of fluorescence being achieved and detected by the image capturing system (see Dobrinsky modification in claim 23 rejection).
Claims 33-35 and 68-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith in view of Thyroff (US 10332382 B2).
Regarding claim 33, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above, but does not teach further comprising:
a fingerprint scanner supported in the housing to identify the individual initiating the decontamination event, the fingerprint scanner operable with a computer system configured to associate the identity of the individual with a stored individual profile.
Thyroff teaches a system for monitoring handwashing compliance (abstract: A hand-washing monitor and hand washing monitoring system are provided. The hand-washing monitoring system includes a motion detector mounted near, to or in a sink and configured to detect a scrubbing motion near an outlet of a sink faucet and a user wearable smart button device that interacts with the motion detector. The system includes a processor coupled to the motion detector and smart button device and a memory coupled to the processor. The processor is configured to monitor the motion detector for signals indicative of the scrubbing motion that is continuous during a predetermined scrubbing interval and to provide signal indicating a successful scrubbing operation when the scrubbing motion is continuously detected during the entire interval to the smart button device. The hand-washing monitor includes a housing containing the processor, the motion detector, the memory and proximity sensors for detecting the application of soap). Individuals are identified to ensure compliance (C5L16-21: The example systems may identify the workers as they begin to wash their hands and then monitor the hand-washing operation to ensure that it is effective. Both complete and incomplete hand-washing operations are recorded by the system and may be reported to a remote location to ensure compliance with any mandated procedures).
Thyroff teaches identifying an individual using a fingerprint scanner at the sink connected with the computer system (C13L19-32: Once the dwell timer has expired, control transfers to block 706 in which the controller, using the optional display 121 or the speaker 128 may prompt the worker to provide identifying information. In a more specific example, the worker may state her name, which is received, for example, via the microphone 126 of FIG. 1, and recognized by the controller 106 or by the remote computer, running a voice-recognition algorithm. It is contemplated, however, that other types of biometric identification may be used, such as fingerprint detection, facial detection, facial recognition, palm recognition, iris recognition or retina scan. Alternatively non-biometric methods may be used, such as having workers touch their names on an input device (not shown) to initiate the hand-washing operation; C10L12-14: Multiple recognition systems may be combined to ensure proper identification. Any or all of the systems may be implemented in the controller 106 or in the remote computer).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith to have a fingerprint detector/scanner in its housing configured to identify an individual about to wash their hands, as taught by Thyroff, in order to ensure the compliance of performing thorough hand washing.
Regarding claim 34, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 1, as set forth above, but does not teach further comprising:
an identification system supported in the housing and associated with a memory and processor to identify the individual initiating the decontamination event.
Thyroff teaches wirelessly swiping a badge (implicitly an RFID mobile device since it must necessarily be one in order to wirelessly communicate to an RFID reader) on an RFID device (which must necessarily have a memory and a processor in order to read an identification criteria) (C15L52-56: Alternatively non-biometric methods may be used, such as having workers touch their names on an input device (not shown) to initiate the hand-washing operation, swiping a badge near a radio frequency identification (RFID) device, or the like), as a means of identification in order to increase thorough hand washing compliance.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith to have a RFID device configured to read an RFID mobile device badge for identifying an individual, as taught by Thyroff, in order to ensure the compliance of performing thorough hand washing.
Regarding claim 35, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Thyroff teaches the water dispenser of claim 34, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the identification system is operable to communicate with a mobile device associated with the individual to exchange personal identification indicia regarding an identity of the individual, and wherein the mobile device includes a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag that communicates the personal identification indicia and is employed by the identification system to identify the individual (see Thyroff modification in claim 34 rejection).
Regarding claim 68, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Thyroff teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above, and teaches further comprising:
a fingerprint scanner supported in the housing to identify the individual initiating the decontamination event, the fingerprint scanner operable with a computer system configured to associate the identity of the individual with a stored individual profile (see Thyroff modification in claim 33 rejection).
Regarding claim 69, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Thyroff teaches the water dispenser of claim 36, as set forth above, and teaches further comprising:
an identification system supported in the housing and associated with a memory and processor to identify the individual initiating the decontamination event via a mobile device associated with the individual, the identification system being configured to wirelessly communicate with a mobile device to exchange personal identification indicia regarding an identity of the individual (see Thyroff modification in claim 34 rejection).
Regarding claim 70, ‘187 modified by Pi, Smith, and Thyroff teaches the water dispenser of claim 69, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the mobile device includes a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag that communicates the personal identification indicia and is employed by the identification system to identify the individual (see Thyroff modification in claim 34 rejection).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26 and 61 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 26, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 18, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein image capturing system is configured to measure an amount of time the fluorescence of the fluorescent agent is detected.
Regarding claim 61, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith teaches the water dispenser of claim 53, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein image capturing system is configured to measure an amount of time the fluorescence of the fluorescent agent is detected.
Claims 84-85 are allowed.
Regarding claim 84, ‘187 teaches a water dispenser operable to facilitate effective decontamination of a portion of at least one of skin or a covering of the skin of an individual as part of a decontamination event, the water dispenser comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1: outside casing of device 1),
wherein the water dispenser is adapted to communicate water from a water source to at least one of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual (Fig. 1: water outlets 3.1);
an actuator configured to open a valve to cause the water dispenser to release water (Fig. 2: valve 8.8; pg. 6 3rd par. from bottom: In each of the three supply lines to the respective water outlet 3.1 is a magnetic three-way valve 8.8 arranged, with which a water donation individually for each water outlet 3.1 can be activated or deactivated; NOTE: this means that there must necessarily be an actuator to open and close the valves since the valves are automatically configured);
a light source supported in the housing so as to emit light in accordance with a predetermined
field of view, wherein the light source is configured to emit the light at a sufficient intensity and wavelength so as to cause a fluorescent agent disposed about the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual to fluoresce at a wavelength in the visible spectrum, the field of view defining, at least in part, an inspection space in which the portion of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual can be positioned to detect at least one of a presence or an absence of fluorescing fluorescent agent during the decontamination event (Fig. 1: lighting unit 9; pg. 5 2nd par. from bottom: Directed light is particularly preferably emitted, wherein light axes of these two bulbs of a washing station below the water outlet 3.1 to meet. Optionally, the lighting unit includes 9 a number of UV-A LEDs 9.2 , by means of which a disinfectant-added fluorescent agent stimulates visible illumination. If the disinfectant is applied to a hand, it is easy to see which areas of the hand are already wetted with disinfectant); and
a timer supported in the housing, the timer having one or more timer programs configured to activate the actuator to dispense water for a first predetermined period of time (pg. 5 par. 6: The exit of the water from the associated water outlet 3.1 takes place for a fixed duration; NOTE: a timer must necessarily be present in order to activate the water dispenser for a fixed duration by keeping track of time),
and an image capturing system supported in the housing, and comprising an imaging device in communication with a processor (pg. 4 par. 5: A further embodiment of the device according to the invention provides an integrated camera system for detecting a hand movement during a washing process and an integrated evaluation unit for evaluating the hand movements detected by the camera system, wherein the evaluation unit is connected to the display unit for the graphic output of the assessment)
but does not teach selectable at least by a specific gesture made by the individual.
‘187 already teaches wherein the proximity of a hand to the proximity sensor starts the timer program (pg. 1 last par.: a sensor unit with a first proximity sensor for automatic activation of the dispenser unit when approaching a hand). In addition ‘187 already teaches a gesture recognition system (pg. 4 par. 5: A further embodiment of the device according to the invention provides an integrated camera system for detecting a hand movement during a washing process and an integrated evaluation unit for evaluating the hand movements detected by the camera system, wherein the evaluation unit is connected to the display unit for the graphic output of the assessment).
Pi teaches an automated system for guiding a handwashing protocol (abstract: A method and system for user hand washing compliance is described. An exemplary embodiment of the method may comprise the steps of: receiving a request from a user to enter a hand-washing-compliance-area, wherein the request is received by an entry-sensor; the entry-sensor may cause initiation of a hand-washing-cycle log entry; releasing water from a washer for pre-rinsing hands of the user; releasing soap from a soap-dispenser for soaping the hands of the user; releasing water from the washer to rinse the soaped hands of the user; and providing a means-to-dry-hands from a hand-dryer for drying the hands of the user. The user may initiate each step with a user-transmitter based on physical proximity and/or by appropriate hand-gestures before a gesture-recognition-camera. Upon the user initiating each step, the gesture-recognition-camera optionally records each step. And at least one server may receive said recordings and validate each step as compliant or non-compliant). Pi teaches wherein a specific gesture activates a timer program (C17L26-35: The software (or the controller-software) may either validate received start-hand-washing-command 110 as compliant with accepted defined-hand-gestures 116. Or the software (or the controller-software) may reject received start-hand-washing-command 110 as non-compliant with accepted defined-hand-gestures 116. In some embodiments, validation of received start-hand-washing-command 110 may result in turning on of washer 210 (e.g. with running water) for defined-first-duration 121). Thus, doing a specific hand gesture would result in selecting the timer program to activate. This would be advantageous in the case of ‘187 because it would prevent accidental activation of the water dispenser, which would save water.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera and evaluation unit of ‘187 to be configured to recognize a hand gesture and initiate the water dispenser as a result, as taught by Pi, in order to prevent accidental activation of the water dispenser, thereby saving water.
‘187 modified by Pi still does not teach and configured to activate the light source for a second predetermined period of time.
Smith teaches a faucet that uses UV light to illuminate fluorescent markers in order to completion of the washing process (abstract: A system for decontaminating the hands of a person is disclosed having a composition with a marker agent capable of luminescence when exposed to light having a wavelength ranging from approximately 315 to 400 nanometers. The composition is disposed in a container capable of receiving the hands of a person therein such that when the hands of the person are placed in the container the hands of the person are immersed in the composition. A water dispenser is provided that operates in conjunction with a light source adapted to emit radiation having a wavelength ranging from approximately 315 to 400 nanometers. A washing event occurs while light is directed towards the location of the washing event). Smith teaches a timer for shining the UV lights for a predetermined period of time that may be variable, in order to suit a particular washing application (par. 41: A beam of light is emitted from the light source having a wavelength ranging, for example, from 315 to 400 nanometers for a predetermined period of time (e.g., 4 to 6 seconds, 5 to 10 seconds, etc.) to allow the user to examine the consistency of the composition disposed about his or her hands. However, frequencies of light greater than 400 nanometers may be used, and the period of time may be varied as suits a particular application; par. 35: In one aspect of the technology, the sensor comprises a timer and is adapted to activate the light source 15 upon the detection of the presence of a user for a predetermined period of time and dispense water from the water dispenser 10 at the termination of the predetermined period of time; par. 36: It is understood and contemplated herein, that the timer and operation of the light source 15 and water discharge can be configured with a variety of different operation protocols). For instance, one application may require a more extensive washing and illumination cycle because the user has conducted activities that carried a higher risk of contamination.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timer of ‘187 modified by Pi to have another timer program configured to control the lighting unit 9 to shine UV light for a predetermined time, wherein the predetermined time as well as wavelength may be configured to suit a particular application, as taught by Smith, in order to adapt the device for different sterilization applications such as for different contamination levels.
However, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith does not teach wherein the processor is operable to measure an amount of time the fluorescence of the fluorescent agent is detected.
Regarding claim 85, ‘187 teaches a system for facilitating effective decontamination of a portion of at least one of skin or a covering of the skin of an individual as part of a decontamination event, system comprising:
a water dispenser is adapted to communicate water from a water source to at least one of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual (Fig. 1: water outlets 3.1);
the water dispenser comprising: a housing (Fig. 1: outside casing of water outlets 3.1),
an actuator configured to open a valve to cause the water dispenser to release water (Fig. 2: valve 8.8; pg. 6 3rd par. from bottom: In each of the three supply lines to the respective water outlet 3.1 is a magnetic three-way valve 8.8 arranged, with which a water donation individually for each water outlet 3.1 can be activated or deactivated; NOTE: this means that there must necessarily be an actuator to open and close the valves since the valves are automatically configured);
a light source supported in the housing so as to emit light in accordance with a predetermined
field of view, wherein the light source is configured to emit the light at a sufficient intensity and wavelength so as to cause a fluorescent agent disposed about the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual to fluoresce at a wavelength in the visible spectrum, the field of view defining, at least in part, an inspection space in which the portion of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual can be positioned to detect at least one of the presence or absence of fluorescing fluorescent agent during the decontamination event (Fig. 1: lighting unit 9; pg. 5 2nd par. from bottom: Directed light is particularly preferably emitted, wherein light axes of these two bulbs of a washing station below the water outlet 3.1 to meet. Optionally, the lighting unit includes 9 a number of UV-A LEDs 9.2 , by means of which a disinfectant-added fluorescent agent stimulates visible illumination. If the disinfectant is applied to a hand, it is easy to see which areas of the hand are already wetted with disinfectant); and
a timer supported in the housing, the timer having one or more timer programs configured to activate the actuator to dispense water for a first predetermined period of time (pg. 5 par. 6: The exit of the water from the associated water outlet 3.1 takes place for a fixed duration; NOTE: a timer must necessarily be present in order to activate the water dispenser for a fixed duration by keeping track of time),
a wash basin configured to capture the water and drain the water away (Fig. 1: sink 2); and
a composition dispenser configured to dispense a composition comprising a skin cleansing agent (Fig. 1: disinfectant dispenser 3.3)
and the fluorescent agent, the fluorescent agent being capable of fluorescing when exposed to light (pg. 4 par. 5: A further embodiment of the device according to the invention provides a lighting unit for emitting a light of a certain wavelength, which excites a fluorescent agent attached to a disinfectant for visible illumination when the disinfectant is applied to a hand. As a result, it is visually recognizable by the person whether the disinfectant is applied correctly),
the composition dispenser comprising a chamber for holding the composition (Fig. 2: container B),
and an actuator configured to activate a pump to facilitate dispensing of the composition (Fig.2: pump P with motor M, wherein motor M is interpreted to be the actuator; pg. 7 par. 1: The three disinfectant dispensers 3.3 are each supplied in parallel with a supply line, wherein in each of the three supply lines in each case a motor-driven pump P with motor M for conveying the disinfectant to the respective disinfectant dispenser 3.3 is arranged).
and an image capturing system supported in the housing, and comprising an imaging device in communication with a processor (pg. 4 par. 5: A further embodiment of the device according to the invention provides an integrated camera system for detecting a hand movement during a washing process and an integrated evaluation unit for evaluating the hand movements detected by the camera system, wherein the evaluation unit is connected to the display unit for the graphic output of the assessment)
but does not teach selectable at least by a specific gesture made by the individual.
‘187 already teaches wherein the proximity of a hand to the proximity sensor starts the timer program (pg. 1 last par.: a sensor unit with a first proximity sensor for automatic activation of the dispenser unit when approaching a hand). In addition ‘187 already teaches a gesture recognition system (pg. 4 par. 5: A further embodiment of the device according to the invention provides an integrated camera system for detecting a hand movement during a washing process and an integrated evaluation unit for evaluating the hand movements detected by the camera system, wherein the evaluation unit is connected to the display unit for the graphic output of the assessment).
Pi teaches an automated system for guiding a handwashing protocol (abstract: A method and system for user hand washing compliance is described. An exemplary embodiment of the method may comprise the steps of: receiving a request from a user to enter a hand-washing-compliance-area, wherein the request is received by an entry-sensor; the entry-sensor may cause initiation of a hand-washing-cycle log entry; releasing water from a washer for pre-rinsing hands of the user; releasing soap from a soap-dispenser for soaping the hands of the user; releasing water from the washer to rinse the soaped hands of the user; and providing a means-to-dry-hands from a hand-dryer for drying the hands of the user. The user may initiate each step with a user-transmitter based on physical proximity and/or by appropriate hand-gestures before a gesture-recognition-camera. Upon the user initiating each step, the gesture-recognition-camera optionally records each step. And at least one server may receive said recordings and validate each step as compliant or non-compliant). Pi teaches wherein a specific gesture activates a timer program (C17L26-35: The software (or the controller-software) may either validate received start-hand-washing-command 110 as compliant with accepted defined-hand-gestures 116. Or the software (or the controller-software) may reject received start-hand-washing-command 110 as non-compliant with accepted defined-hand-gestures 116. In some embodiments, validation of received start-hand-washing-command 110 may result in turning on of washer 210 (e.g. with running water) for defined-first-duration 121). Thus, doing a specific hand gesture would result in selecting the timer program to activate. This would be advantageous in the case of ‘187 because it would prevent accidental activation of the water dispenser, which would save water.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera and evaluation unit of ‘187 to be configured to recognize a hand gesture and initiate the water dispenser as a result, as taught by Pi, in order to prevent accidental activation of the water dispenser, thereby saving water.
‘187 modified by Pi still does not teach and configured to activate the light source for a second predetermined period of time.
Smith teaches a faucet that uses UV light to illuminate fluorescent markers in order to completion of the washing process (abstract: A system for decontaminating the hands of a person is disclosed having a composition with a marker agent capable of luminescence when exposed to light having a wavelength ranging from approximately 315 to 400 nanometers. The composition is disposed in a container capable of receiving the hands of a person therein such that when the hands of the person are placed in the container the hands of the person are immersed in the composition. A water dispenser is provided that operates in conjunction with a light source adapted to emit radiation having a wavelength ranging from approximately 315 to 400 nanometers. A washing event occurs while light is directed towards the location of the washing event). Smith teaches a timer for shining the UV lights for a predetermined period of time that may be variable, in order to suit a particular washing application (par. 41: A beam of light is emitted from the light source having a wavelength ranging, for example, from 315 to 400 nanometers for a predetermined period of time (e.g., 4 to 6 seconds, 5 to 10 seconds, etc.) to allow the user to examine the consistency of the composition disposed about his or her hands. However, frequencies of light greater than 400 nanometers may be used, and the period of time may be varied as suits a particular application; par. 35: In one aspect of the technology, the sensor comprises a timer and is adapted to activate the light source 15 upon the detection of the presence of a user for a predetermined period of time and dispense water from the water dispenser 10 at the termination of the predetermined period of time; par. 36: It is understood and contemplated herein, that the timer and operation of the light source 15 and water discharge can be configured with a variety of different operation protocols). For instance, one application may require a more extensive washing and illumination cycle because the user has conducted activities that carried a higher risk of contamination.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timer of ‘187 modified by Pi to have another timer program configured to control the lighting unit 9 to shine UV light for a predetermined time, wherein the predetermined time as well as wavelength may be configured to suit a particular application, as taught by Smith, in order to adapt the device for different sterilization applications such as for different contamination levels.
However, ‘187 modified by Pi and Smith does not teach wherein the processor is operable to measure an amount of time the fluorescence of the fluorescent agent is detected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/ELIZABETH A ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1796