Response to Amendment
This Final Rejection is filed in response to Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment filed 08/28/2025.
Claims 21, 28, and 35 are amended.
Claims 21-24 and 26-40 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1, Applicant argues in Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment filed 08/28/2025, pg. 9-11, “Analyzing the first text-based input to identify a command associated with the first designated character; In response to identifying the command associated with the first designated character, causing display, within the first instance of the chat application, of a first interactive view of the first digital portfolio identified from the reference included in the first text-based input”
Response to Argument 1, Applicant arguments have been considered, however in light of the amendments, a newly found combination of prior art (U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20150169208 “Cho” and further in light of U.S. Patent NO. 8938669 “Cohen”) is applied to updated rejections.
The examiner notes that the primary claim limitation of “text-based input” is quite broad encompasses any input based on any sort of text in a chat session, rather than just typed text input. Wherein it is noted that the touch input on a “pin” command is text based as the command PIN is made of text characters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23, 26-30, 32-37, & 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20150169208 “Cho” and further in light of U.S. Patent NO. 8938669 “Cohen”.
Claim 21:
Cho teaches a system, comprising: one or more computing devices comprising one or more processors and one or more memories configured to store instructions (i.e. para. [0010], The apparatus may include a memory for storing a marked message and metadata on the marked message), which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more computing devices to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a first user device associated with a first user, in a chat session having the first user and a second user as participants (i.e. para. [0049], “the controller 140 may display a messenger execution screen including messages transmitted and received to/from one interlocutor through the display unit 131, as illustrated in FIG. 4A”, wherein it is noted that two chat users with respective devices may use a chat application to communicate), a first text-based input entered into the chat session using a first instance of a chat application on the first user device (i.e. para. [0049], “When a long tap gesture occurs with respect to a message as indicated by reference numeral 401 on the messenger execution screen displayed by the display unit 131, the controller 140 may display a contexture menu 403”, wherein the BRI for a text based input encompasses how a long tap may be based on the input text message selected in the chat. The examiner notes that a text based input is quite broad and encompasses any input based on some sort text), the first text-based input comprising a first designated (i.e. para. [0049], “When the PIN item is selected from the contexture menu 403 as indicated by reference numeral 405 in FIG. 4B, the controller 140 may set, as a marked message, the message”, wherein the BRI for a first designated character encompasses the characters for “Pin” and the BRI for a first digital portfolio encompasses the saved chat data between the first and second user), the first designated character associated with a preview operation for the referenced first digital portfolio (i.e. para. [0049], “The marked message may separately have a PIN icon as indicated by reference numeral 407 in FIG. 4C. By using the PIN icon, it may be identified that the message has been set and stored as the marked message”, wherein the BRI for a preview operation encompasses how a user may preview a pinned message to be displayed in the referenced chat session that is saved between two users);
(i.e. para. [0049], “When the PIN item is selected from the contexture menu 403 as indicated by reference numeral 405 in FIG. 4B, the controller 140 may set, as a marked message, the message (reference numeral 401 in FIG. 4A) at a position where the long tap gesture has occurred.”, wherein it is noted that a PIN command is associated with the PIN command characters)
In response to identifying the command associated with the first designated of a first interactive view of the first digital portfolio identified from the reference included in the first text-based input (i.e. para. [0049], “The marked message may separately have a PIN icon as indicated by reference numeral 407 in FIG. 4C.”, in response to the receiving user selection of the “Pin” command, the display of the pinned chat data as the selected message is has an interactive pin icon that is displayed within the chat application. Wherein the BRI for a first interactive view encompasses the interactive view on a first user’s device of displayed chat message data, now with a pinned chat;
in response to receiving a selection of a digital item from the interactive view of the first digital portfolio from the first user, adding the digital item to a second digital portfolio associated with the second user (i.e. para. [0066], “When a touch input occurs on the PIN message item of the contexture menu 705 as indicated by reference numeral 707, the controller 140 may display marked messages that the user has set among messages of Gillian Jacobs, an interlocutor, in the form of a list as illustrated in FIG. 7C”, wherein the selection of the message item from the interactive view of the chat results in the message item being pinned and added to a second saved chat data associated with the second user. Wherein the BRI for a second digital portfolio encompasses the second user’s saved chat data);
receiving, from the second user device associated with the second user, a second text-based command entered into the chat session using a second instance of the chat application on the second user device, the second text-based command comprising a second designated [characters] associated with a view operation for the referenced second digital portfolio (i.e. para. [0066], “When a touch input occurs on the PIN message item of the contexture menu 705 as indicated by reference numeral 707, the controller 140 may display marked messages that the user has set among messages of Gillian Jacobs, an interlocutor, in the form of a list as illustrated in FIG. 7C”, wherein the second user may be Gillian Jacobs who enters their own Pin message commands to save within their own chat session. The examiner notes that the second text based command and designated character need not be different that the first);
in response to receiving the second text-based command, causing display of a second interactive view of the second digital portfolio within the second instance of the chat application, the second interactive view of the second digital portfolio containing at least the digital item (i.e. para. [0066], “As indicated by reference numeral 719 in FIG. 7D, the controller 140 may cause a scroll bar to automatically move to a point of the marked message 709 in the chat window, and may display the chat window in such a manner that the scroll bar focuses on the marked message 709. Also, the controller 140 may simultaneously display messages before and/or after the marked message 709, with the point of the marked message 709 as a reference”, wherein in response to 2nd user Gillian Jacobs’ actions, the pinned message is displayed as a saved chat within their chat application);
in response to a selection of the digital item from the second interactive view of the second digital portfolio at the first user device, adding the digital item to a third digital portfolio (i.e. para. [0049], “The displayed contexture menu 403 may include a Forward item”, wherein Gillian Jacobs may forward a pinned message to another chat. Wherein the BRI for a third digital portfolio encompasses any other saved chat data of a chat session);
receiving, from the second user device associated with the second user, a third text-based command entered into the chat session, using the second instance of the chat application on the second user device, the third text-based command comprising a third designated (i.e. para. [0070], “he controller 140 may display marked messages related to each interlocutor included in the interlocutor list in the form of a list, as illustrated in FIG. 8C. In this case, marked messages of the list may be arranged on the basis of an interlocutor. For example, marked messages of the list may be displayed on the basis of an interlocutor, such as Gillian Jacobs who is an interlocutor and is indicated by reference numeral 809, Soo-Jung Kim who is an interlocutor”, wherein an embodiment exists where a second user Gillian Jacobs may forward the pinned message from the first user to a third user Soo-Jung Kim using the text based contextual menu which results in the pinned message contents being placed in a saved chat message data in a chat application of the third user Soo-Jung Kim. Wherein the BRI for a third digital portfolio encompasses the saved chat message data of the referenced third user that Gillian Jacobs forwards the message to); and
in response to receiving the third text-based command, causing display of a third interactive view of the third digital portfolio within the second instance of the chat application, the third interactive view of the second digital portfolio containing at least the digital item (i.e. para. [0070], “the controller 140 may display marked messages related to each interlocutor included in the interlocutor list in the form of a list, as illustrated in FIG. 8C. In this case, marked messages of the list may be arranged on the basis of an interlocutor”, wherein as a result of Gillian Jacobs forwarding the pinned message to Soo-Jung Kim is that the device of Soo-Jung Kim would display the forwarded message within their interactive view of the chat application on their device, wherein their chat message data would contain at least the forwarded message content).
While Cho teaches identifying a command associated with a designated “Pin” character command, Cho may not explicitly teach
A designated character,
Analyzing the first text-based input to identify a command associated with the first designated character.
However, Cohen teaches
A designated character (i.e. Col. 21, lines 1-6, the embedded request 714 is located within a user-created comment 715 (indicated in FIG. 7C by a dashed box and the label, "Comment:") and includes a predefined symbol 718 (e.g., "@") followed by a user identifier 720 (e.g., "Manny"). Stated another way, the embedded request is detected within received document editing commands that include comment text to be included in a user-created comment.)
Analyzing the first text-based input to identify a command associated with the first designated character (i.e. Col. 21 lines, 32-37 “detecting a predefined symbol in the document text content followed by one or more characters entered after the predefined symbol, identifying one or more contact suggestions based on the one or more characters entered after the predefined symbol”, wherein it is noted that a singular predefined symbol may have a command to tag a user associated with the character”, wherein a tagging command may be identified as a result of analyzing the first designated character).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a designated character, analyzing the first text-based input to identify a command associated with the first designated character, with the chat sessions that monitor for text based commands to share items of Cho, with wherein a monitored text based command may be a single designated character that has an associated command, as taught by Cohen. One would have been motivated to combine the single character command analysis of Cohen with the specific chat sharing commands of Cho and get a combination where a text based input message may be analyzed for a single character associated with a command as the combination reduces character parsing from a user and thus saves screen real estate by having a command represented by a single character.
Claim 22:
Cho and Cohen teach the system of claim 21.
Cho further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: causing display of one or more additional digital items associated with the digital portfolio (i.e. para. [0077], “referring to FIGS. 10A to 10E, the controller 140 may display a group chat window including messages transmitted and received to/from at least two interlocutors, as illustrated in FIG. 10A.”, wherein it is noted that additional digital items in the form of other messages are displayed and associated with the chat data of a first user); receiving, from the second user device, in the chat session, a request to access the one or more additional digital items from the digital portfolio (i.e. para. [0077], Fig. 10C, “When a touch input occurs in the interlocutor list 1009 as indicated by reference numeral 1011, the controller 140 may display the existing group chat window as indicated by reference numeral 1013 in FIG. 10D, and simultaneously, may display a filtered message window including the filtered messages obtained by filtering the marked messages of the selected interlocutor at a lower part of the screen”, wherein it is noted in that a second user could request to access and view the additional messages displayed in chat group); and in response to the received request to access the one or more additional digital items from the digital portfolio, making the one or more additional digital items available to the second user using a second application on the second user device or fuser device associated with the second user (i.e. para. [0077], Fig. 10D, “When a touch input occurs in the filtered message window 1015 as indicated by reference numeral 1019, after switching to a chat window screen including the selected message as illustrated in FIG. 10E”, wherein it is noted that a second user requesting view access to past messages in the chat history results in one or more past chat messages becoming available for display on the device of the second user).
Claim 23:
Cho and Cohen teach the system of claim 22.
Cho further teaches wherein making the one or more additional digital items available to the second user in the second application comprises: creating a link to the one or more additional digital items selected from the first digital portfolio (i.e. para. [0070], “Marked messages related to Gillian Jacobs, who is an interlocutor and is indicated by reference numeral 809, may include two marked messages 817 and 819.”, wherein the BRI for a link encompasses how pinning messages creates a link to the chat group the message is pinned in) ; and storing the link in the first digital portfolio to access using the second application from the second user device or the third user device (i.e. para. [0071], “When a touch input occurs on the marked message 817 in the marked message list illustrated in FIG. 8C as indicated by reference numeral 825, the controller 140 may switch to and display a chat window including the marked message 817, as illustrated in FIG. 8D”, wherein the link to view the pinned message may be accessed by any user present in the chat with the pinned message).
Claim 26:
Cho and Cohen teach the system of claim 21.
Cho further teaches wherein the causing the display of the first digital portfolio within the first interactive view comprises displaying at least a portion of one or more additional items (i.e. para. [0049], “The marked message may separately have a PIN icon as indicated by reference numeral 407 in FIG. 4C.”, wherein it is noted that at least one or more additional messages are displayed within the first interactive message chat
Claim 27:
Cho and Cohen teach the system of claim 21.
Cho further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from the second user device, in the chat session, a filtering command for displaying the digital item (i.e. para. [0077], Fig. 10A-E, “When a touch input is sensed on the item for searching for conversation with particular person of the contexture menu 1005 as indicated by reference numeral 1007, the controller 140 may display interlocutors”, wherein a filtering command for a message data shared by a certain interlocutor is selected); and displaying, on the second user device, one or more digital items of the first digital portfolio filtered according to the received filtering command in the chat session (i.e. para. [0077], Fig 10A-E, When a touch input occurs in the interlocutor list 1009 as indicated by reference numeral 1011, the controller 140 may display the existing group chat window as indicated by reference numeral 1013 in FIG. 10D, and simultaneously, may display a filtered message window including the filtered messages obtained by filtering the marked messages of the selected interlocutor at a lower part of the screen).
Claim 28:
Claim 28 is the method claim reciting similar limitations to claim 21 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 29:
Claim 29 is the method claim reciting similar limitations to claim 22 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 30:
Claim 30 is the method claim reciting similar limitations to claim 23 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 32:
Cho and Cohen teach the system of claim 29.
Cho further teaches
wherein the second application is one of: an email application, the chat application (i.e. para. [0071], When a touch input occurs on the marked message 817 in the marked message list illustrated in FIG. 8C as indicated by reference numeral 825, the controller 140 may switch to and display a chat window including the marked message 817, as illustrated in FIG. 8D), and an electronic communication program
Claim 33:
Claim 33 is the method claim reciting similar limitations to claim 26 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 34:
Claim 34 is the method claim reciting similar limitations to claim 27 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 35:
Claim 35 is the CRM claim reciting similar limitations to claim 21 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 36:
Claim 36 is the CRM claim reciting similar limitations to claim 22 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 37:
Claim 37 is the CRM claim reciting similar limitations to claim 23 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 39:
Claim 39 is the CRM claim reciting similar limitations to claim 32 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 40:
Claim 40 is the CRM claim reciting similar limitations to claim 27 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim(s) 24, 31, & 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20150169208 “Cho” and further in light of U.S. Patent NO. 8938669 “Cohen”, as applied to Claims 22, 29, & 36 above, and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20160308966 “Zhang”
Claim 24:
Cho and Cohen teach the system of claim 22.
While Cho teaches making one or more additional items available to the second user, Cho may not explicitly teach
wherein making the one or more additional digital items available to the second user in the second application comprises: creating a copy of the one or more additional digital items selected from the digital portfolio; and storing the copy in the first digital portfolio to access using the second application from the second user device or the third user device.
However, Zhang also teaches making the one or more additional digital items available to the second user using a second application on the second user device or the third user device (i.e. para. [0063], “Collection module 130 enables a collector to provide others, e.g., submitters, access to a collection folder, associated with the collector, through a link, e.g., a collection link.”, wherein a second collector user makes one or more items in a folder accessible to a second submitter user, and allows other users to access shared files using a second viewing UI 1260 as seen in Figs. 12A-C. In this example a submitter Jane Doe opens file shared by a collector user titled, “Homework Assignment #3” using a viewing UI application)
Zhang further teaches wherein
making the one or more additional digital items available to the second user in the second application comprises: creating a copy of the one or more additional digital items selected from the digital portfolio (i.e. para. [0109], Copy-only access allows a submitter to copy a content item, edit the content item and upload the content item as a new content item); and storing the copy in the first digital portfolio to access using the second application from the second user device or the third user device (i.e. para. [0125], “a teacher can generate a template file for a homework assignment and have each student modify the student's template file. As a result, each submitter can modify the template file and save the modified template file to the collection folder”, wherein a second collector user in the form of a teacher creates a copy of a homework file to share to a common collection folder that a first submitter user “Jane Doe” may access using a viewing UI application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add creating a copy of the one or more additional digital items selected from the first digital portfolio; and storing the copy in the digital portfolio to access using the second application from the first user device or the third user device, with the chat sessions for sharing data items of Cho--Cohen, with the sharing of copies of files to a digital portfolio, as taught by Zhang. One would have been motivated to combine Zhang with Cho-Cohen as the combination provides users with additional file control when sharing files with other users so that one user’s changes do not accidentally override another users when it is shared.
Claim 31:
Claim 31 is the method claim reciting similar limitations to claim 24 and is rejected for similar reasons
Claim 38:
Claim 38 is the CRM claim reciting similar limitations to claim 24 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20160042004 “Kawamoto”, in para. [0066], FIG. 6A shows an example when the web content corresponding to “File 8” is selected by the user. After the user selects the web content corresponding to “File 8,” he or she moves his or her fingertip as illustrated with an arrow F1. The web content corresponding to “File 8” is then moved.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2145
/CHAU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2145