DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on November 26, 2025. Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 12-16, 19, 20 are still pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument features the interface elements establish operational contexts but do not themselves serve as the mechanism by which waveform portions are identified.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that the interface element is not even identified. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation, Barrus discloses selection point 802 as the interface element by which waveform portions are identified (col. 16 line 55 – col. 17, line 12).
The argument features the Barrus’ description demonstrates that the waveform portion identification is accomplished through direct manipulation of the waveform representation, independent of positions of the interface elements.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that, as disclosed above, the interface element is not even identified. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation, Barrus discloses the waveform portion identification based on the position of the interface element [e.g. selection point 802 (fig. 8A-8C)].
In view of the above, the rejection using Lieb, Raghunath, and Barrus is maintained as repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 12-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lieb et al. (U.S. Patent Number: 10,476,827) in view of Raghunath et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2011/0167354) in view of Barrus et al. (U.S. Patent Number: 7,225,405).
Consider claim 1; Lieb discloses a system comprising:
a memory (col. 50, lines 36-50); and
at least one hardware processor coupled to the memory and comprising instructions (col. 50, lines 17-50) that causes the system to perform operations comprising:
causing display of a first media item within a graphical user interface (GUI) of a client device (col. 15, lines 51-54; col. 33, lines 65-66);
receiving a request to access a collection of supplemental content from the client device (col. 14, lines 10-12; col. 35, lines 44-47);
determining a contextual condition (col. 34, lines 9-17) in response to the receiving the request to access the collection of supplemental content (col. 35, lines 44-47), the contextual condition including user profile data associated with the client device [e.g. contacts (col. 33, line 65 – col. 34, line 17)];
curating the collection of supplemental content from a media repository (col. 21, lines 6-31) based on an attribute of the first media item [e.g. history or location (col. 21, lines 6-30)] and a current temporal factor (col. 6, line 62 – col. 7, line 6; col. 19, lines 6-13; col. 21, lines 16-23), the supplemental content including at least a media object that comprises audio data (col. 11, lines 3-28).
Lieb discloses the claimed invention except: causing display of a presentation of the collection of supplemental content at the client device, the presentation of the collection comprising a scrollable list that includes an identifier associated with the media object; receiving an input via the scrollable list that positions a display of the identifier associated with the media object at a predefined position within the GUI; accessing a visualization that represents the audio data based on the input that displays the identifier associated with the media object at the predefined position.
In an analogous art Raghunath discloses causing display of a presentation of the collection of supplemental content at the client device (par. 16, lines 1-5), the presentation of the collection comprising a scrollable list that includes an identifier associated with the media object (par. 26; fig. 3); receiving an input via the scrollable list that positions a display of the identifier associated with the media object at a predefined position within the GUI (par. 26; fig. 3); accessing a visualization that represents the audio data based on the input that displays the identifier associated with the media object at the predefined position (par. 26; fig. 3).
It is an object of Lieb’s invention to provide a method of sharing media over a communication network. It is an object of Raghunath’s invention to provide a method of users communicating media with each other. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lieb by including user generated audio data, as taught by Raghunath, for the purpose of effectively providing data in a wireless system.
Lieb and Raghunath disclose the claimed invention except: causing display of a presentation of the waveform within the GUI at the client device, the presentation of the waveform including one or more interface elements; receiving inputs to define positions of the one or more interface elements along the presentation of the waveform; identifying a position of the waveform based on the positions of the one or more interface elements, the portion of the waveform corresponding with a segment of the audio data; and generating a second media item that comprises the first media item and the segment of the audio data that corresponds with the portion of the waveform.
In an analogous art Barrus discloses causing display of a presentation of the waveform within the GUI at the client device (fig. 8A-8C), the presentation of the waveform including one or more interface elements [e.g. selection point 802 (col 11, lines 12-24; col. 15, lines 2-6; col. 16, line 55 – col. 17, line 6; fig. 8A-8C)]; receiving inputs to define positions of the one or more interface elements (e.g. selection point 802) along the presentation of the waveform (col. 16, line 60 – col. 17, line 6); identifying a position of the waveform based on the positions of the one or more interface elements [e.g. selection point 802 (col. 16, line 60 – col. 17, line 6; col. 17, lines 9-16; fig. 8A-8C)], the portion of the waveform corresponding with a segment of the audio data (col. 16, line 60 – col. 17, line 6; fig. 8B); and generating a second media item (col. 17, lines 9-16) that comprises the first media item and the segment of the audio data that corresponds with the portion of the waveform (col. 16, line 60 – col. 17, line 6; col. 17, lines 9-16; fig. 8C).
It is an object of Lieb’s invention to provide a method of sharing media over a communication network. It is an object of Raghunath’s invention to provide a method of users communicating media with each other. It is an object of Barrus’ invention to provide a method of creating, modifying, and deleting media objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lieb and Raghunath by including a waveform, as taught by Barrus, for the purpose of enhancing a user’s experience in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Lieb discloses the contextual condition includes location data that identifies a location of the client device (col. 34, lines 9-17).
Consider claim 5, as applied in claim 1; Lieb discloses generating the media object that comprises the audio data at the client device (col. 49, lines 56-64; col. 51, lines 41-52); allocating the media object to the media repository (col. 49, lines 56-64); assigning an identifier to the audio file (col. 49, line 64 – col. 50, line 4); and selecting the audio file from the media repository (col. 49, line 56 – col. 50, line 1) based on the contextual condition (col. 34, lines 9-17).
Consider claim 6, as applied in claim 1; Lieb discloses generating a second media item that comprises the audio data of the media object [e.g. a reference (col. 49, line 56 – col. 50, line 4)].
Consider claim 7, as applied in claim 6; Lieb discloses receiving an identification of a portion of the audio data of the media object (col. 50, lines 1-4); and generating the second media item based on the portion of the audio data and the first media item [e.g. a reference (col. 49, line 56 – col. 50, line 4)].
Consider claim 8; Lieb discloses a method comprising:
causing display of a first media item within a graphical user interface of a client device (col. 15, lines 51-54; col. 33, lines 65-66);
receiving a request to access a collection of supplemental content from the client device (col. 14, lines 10-12; col. 35, lines 44-47);
determining a contextual condition (col. 34, lines 9-17) in response to the receiving the request to access the collection of supplemental content (col. 35, lines 44-47), the contextual condition including user profile data associated with the client device [e.g. contacts (col. 33, line 65 – col. 34, line 17)];
curating the collection of supplemental content from a media repository (col. 21, lines 6-31) based on an attribute of the first media item [e.g. history or location (col. 21, lines 6-30)] and a current temporal factor (col. 6, line 62 – col. 7, line 6; col. 19, lines 6-13; col. 21, lines 16-23), the supplemental content including at least a media object that comprises audio data (col. 11, lines 3-28).
Lieb discloses the claimed invention except: causing display of a presentation of the collection of supplemental content at the client device, the presentation of the collection comprising a scrollable list that includes an identifier associated with the media object; receiving an input via the scrollable list that positions a display of the identifier associated with the media object at a predefined position within the GUI; accessing a visualization that represents the audio data based on the input that displays the identifier associated with the media object at the predefined position.
In an analogous art Raghunath discloses causing display of a presentation of the collection of supplemental content at the client device (par. 16, lines 1-5), the presentation of the collection comprising a scrollable list that includes an identifier associated with the media object (par. 26; fig. 3); receiving an input via the scrollable list that positions a display of the identifier associated with the media object at a predefined position within the GUI (par. 26; fig. 3); accessing a visualization that represents the audio data based on the input that displays the identifier associated with the media object at the predefined position (par. 26; fig. 3).
It is an object of Lieb’s invention to provide a method of sharing media over a communication network. It is an object of Raghunath’s invention to provide a method of users communicating media with each other. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lieb by including user generated audio data, as taught by Raghunath, for the purpose of effectively providing data in a wireless system.
Lieb and Raghunath disclose the claimed invention except: causing display of a presentation of the waveform within the GUI at the client device, the presentation of the waveform including one or more interface elements; receiving inputs to define positions of the one or more interface elements along the presentation of the waveform; identifying a position of the waveform based on the positions of the one or more interface elements, the portion of the waveform corresponding with a segment of the audio data; and generating a second media item that comprises the first media item and the segment of the audio data that corresponds with the portion of the waveform.
In an analogous art Barrus discloses causing display of a presentation of the waveform within the GUI at the client device (fig. 8A-8C), the presentation of the waveform including one or more interface elements [e.g. selection point 802 (col 11, lines 12-24; col. 15, lines 2-6; col. 16, line 55 – col. 17, line 6; fig. 8A-8C)]; receiving inputs to define positions of the one or more interface elements (e.g. selection point 802) along the presentation of the waveform (col. 16, line 60 – col. 17, line 6); identifying a position of the waveform based on the positions of the one or more interface elements [e.g. selection point 802 (col. 16, line 60 – col. 17, line 6; col. 17, lines 9-16; fig. 8A-8C)], the portion of the waveform corresponding with a segment of the audio data (col. 16, line 60 – col. 17, line 6; fig. 8B); and generating a second media item (col. 17, lines 9-16) that comprises the first media item and the segment of the audio data that corresponds with the portion of the waveform (col. 16, line 60 – col. 17, line 6; col. 17, lines 9-16; fig. 8C).
It is an object of Lieb’s invention to provide a method of sharing media over a communication network. It is an object of Raghunath’s invention to provide a method of users communicating media with each other. It is an object of Barrus’ invention to provide a method of creating, modifying, and deleting media objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lieb and Raghunath by including a waveform, as taught by Barrus, for the purpose of enhancing a user’s experience in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 9, as applied in claim 8; Lieb discloses the contextual condition includes location data that identifies a location of the client device (col. 34, lines 9-17).
Consider claim 12, as applied in claim 8; Lieb discloses generating the media object that comprises the audio data at the client device (col. 49, lines 56-64; col. 51, lines 41-52); allocating the media object to the media repository (col. 49, lines 56-64); assigning an identifier to the audio file (col. 49, line 64 – col. 50, line 4); and selecting the audio file from the media repository (col. 49, line 56 – col. 50, line 1) based on the contextual condition (col. 34, lines 9-17).
Consider claim 13, as applied in claim 8; Lieb discloses generating a second media item that comprises the audio data of the media object [e.g. a reference (col. 49, line 56 – col. 50, line 4)].
Consider claim 14, as applied in claim 13; Lieb discloses receiving an identification of a portion of the audio data of the media object (col. 50, lines 1-4); and generating the second media item based on the portion of the audio data and the first media item [e.g. a reference (col. 49, line 56 – col. 50, line 4)].
Consider claim 15; Lieb discloses a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising:
causing display of a first media item within a graphical user interface of a client device (col. 15, lines 51-54; col. 33, lines 65-66);
receiving a request to access a collection of supplemental content from the client device (col. 14, lines 10-12; col. 35, lines 44-47);
determining a contextual condition (col. 34, lines 9-17) in response to the receiving the request to access the collection of supplemental content (col. 35, lines 44-47), the contextual condition including user profile data associated with the client device [e.g. contacts (col. 33, line 65 – col. 34, line 17)];
curating the collection of supplemental content from a media repository (col. 21, lines 6-31) based on an attribute of the first media item [e.g. history or location (col. 21, lines 6-30)] and a current temporal factor (col. 6, line 62 – col. 7, line 6; col. 19, lines 6-13; col. 21, lines 16-23), the supplemental content including at least a media object that comprises audio data (col. 11, lines 3-28).
Lieb discloses the claimed invention except: causing display of a presentation of the collection of supplemental content at the client device, the presentation of the collection comprising a scrollable list that includes an identifier associated with the media object; receiving an input via the scrollable list that positions a display of the identifier associated with the media object at a predefined position within the GUI; accessing a visualization that represents the audio data based on the input that displays the identifier associated with the media object at the predefined position.
In an analogous art Raghunath discloses causing display of a presentation of the collection of supplemental content at the client device (par. 16, lines 1-5), the presentation of the collection comprising a scrollable list that includes an identifier associated with the media object (par. 26; fig. 3); receiving an input via the scrollable list that positions a display of the identifier associated with the media object at a predefined position within the GUI (par. 26; fig. 3); accessing a visualization that represents the audio data based on the input that displays the identifier associated with the media object at the predefined position (par. 26; fig. 3).
It is an object of Lieb’s invention to provide a method of sharing media over a communication network. It is an object of Raghunath’s invention to provide a method of users communicating media with each other. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lieb by including user generated audio data, as taught by Raghunath, for the purpose of effectively providing data in a wireless system.
Lieb and Raghunath disclose the claimed invention except: causing display of a presentation of the waveform within the GUI at the client device, the presentation of the waveform including one or more interface elements; receiving inputs to define positions of the one or more interface elements along the presentation of the waveform; identifying a position of the waveform based on the positions of the one or more interface elements, the portion of the waveform corresponding with a segment of the audio data; and generating a second media item that comprises the first media item and the segment of the audio data that corresponds with the portion of the waveform.
In an analogous art Barrus discloses causing display of a presentation of the waveform within the GUI at the client device (fig. 8A-8C), the presentation of the waveform including one or more interface elements [e.g. selection point 802 (col 11, lines 12-24; col. 15, lines 2-6; col. 16, line 55 – col. 17, line 6; fig. 8A-8C)]; receiving inputs to define positions of the one or more interface elements (e.g. selection point 802) along the presentation of the waveform (col. 16, line 60 – col. 17, line 6); identifying a position of the waveform based on the positions of the one or more interface elements [e.g. selection point 802 (col. 16, line 60 – col. 17, line 6; col. 17, lines 9-16; fig. 8A-8C)], the portion of the waveform corresponding with a segment of the audio data (col. 16, line 60 – col. 17, line 6; fig. 8B); and generating a second media item (col. 17, lines 9-16) that comprises the first media item and the segment of the audio data that corresponds with the portion of the waveform (col. 16, line 60 – col. 17, line 6; col. 17, lines 9-16; fig. 8C).
It is an object of Lieb’s invention to provide a method of sharing media over a communication network. It is an object of Raghunath’s invention to provide a method of users communicating media with each other. It is an object of Barrus’ invention to provide a method of creating, modifying, and deleting media objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lieb and Raghunath by including a waveform, as taught by Barrus, for the purpose of enhancing a user’s experience in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 16, as applied in claim 15; Lieb discloses the contextual condition includes location data that identifies a location of the client device (col. 34, lines 9-17).
Consider claim 19, as applied in claim 15; Lieb discloses generating the media object that comprises the audio data at the client device (col. 49, lines 56-64; col. 51, lines 41-52); allocating the media object to the media repository (col. 49, lines 56-64); assigning an identifier to the audio file (col. 49, line 64 – col. 50, line 4); and selecting the audio file from the media repository (col. 49, line 56 – col. 50, line 1) based on the contextual condition (col. 34, lines 9-17).
Consider claim 20, as applied in claim 15; Lieb discloses receiving an identification of a portion of the audio data of the media object (col. 50, lines 1-4); and generating the second media item based on the portion of the audio data and the first media item [e.g. a reference (col. 49, line 56 – col. 50, line 4)].
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646