DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10, Applicant argues that,
Regarding claim 1, the examiner cites Zhai as allegedly disclosing “determining, at the edge device, based on one or more data patterns detected within the received sensor data, at least one event corresponding to the one or more data patterns to be associated with the media content.” Zhai, however, only mentions “patterns” once, in the following context: “As an additional refinement to the above example, advanced imaging sensors or a combination of data from multiple sensors can also be used to distinguish between objects or identify unusual patterns that could trigger the image recording.” Zhai, ¶ [0023]. Zhai fails to disclose or suggest at least the above-quoted subject matter of claim 1, as it merely states that “unusual patterns ... could trigger the image recording” (Zhai, ¶ [0023] (emphases added)) and therefore does not use patterns for determining “at least one [corresponding] event,” let alone for determining an event “to be associated with the media content,” as recited by claim 1 (emphases added). Accordingly, Zhai does not recite “determining, at the edge device, based on one or more data patterns detected within the received sensor data, at least one event corresponding to the one or more data patterns to be associated with the media content.”
(Original emphasis)
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Zhai, at least in [0023], clearly teaches:
[0023] As an additional refinement to the above example, advanced imaging sensors or a combination of data from multiple sensors can also be used to distinguish between objects or identify unusual patterns that could trigger the image recording. For example, sensors detect movements in several directions approaching a pedestrian in the middle of the night, ant then trigger the lighting and camera. The use of the present invention for pedestrian traffic also has potential uses in both day and nightime monitoring of vehicles' failure to yield to pedestrians in crosswalks. This ability has significant potential in accident investigation as well as enforcement of crosswalk laws. In the latter situation, summonses potentially could be issued from the recorded information.
(emphasis added)
Clearly, Zhai not only mentions “patterns” but “unusual patterns” and the unusual patterns being identified from a combination of data from multiple sensors (thus detecting unusual patterns within the received sensor data). Specifically, the identified unusual patterns are patterns of sensed data such as movement patterns of objects that are identified as “unusual”. The system must at least distinguish unusual patterns from normal patterns in order to successfully identify the patterns as “unusual”. These identified unusual patterns are used for determining an event such as a traffic accident or at least an event of a vehicles' failure to yield to pedestrians in crosswalks and triggering image recording. The image recording results in a media content being recorded. As such, the event of a traffic accident or a vehicles' failure to yield to pedestrians in crosswalks corresponds to the identified unusual patterns because it is the unusual patterns that leads to the event being detected. Thus, both the event and the unusual patterns are to be associated with the media content that records the event.
On pages 10-12, Applicant argues that,
Nevertheless, solely to advance prosecution, without acquiescing to the rejection, Applicant amends claim 1 to recite, in part: “detecting one or more data patterns within the received sensor data, the one or more data patterns including (i) a pattern of movement attributed to the media collection device that collected the sensor data and (ii) interactions between the media collection device and a user of the media collection device; determining, at the edge device, based on the detected one or more data patterns, at least one event corresponding to the one or more data patterns to be associated with the media content.” (Emphasis added).
Similar to unamended claim 1, Zhai fails to […]
Additionally, Zhai discloses […]
Further, Zhai discloses […]
Accordingly, Zhai fails to […] The other cited references fail to cure this deficiency of Zhai, nor does the Office Action explain how they would.
In response, Examiner respectfully and submits Zhai teaches “detecting one or more data patterns within the received sensor data, the one or more data patterns including (i) a pattern of movement; determining, at the edge device, based on the detected one or more data patterns, at least one event corresponding to the one or more data patterns to be associated with the media content” as discussed above.
Further, as described in the Office Action, Pacurariu teaches detecting one or more data patterns within the received sensor data (see at least [0074] and [0080]), the one or more data patterns including (i) a pattern of movement attributed to the media collection device that collected the sensor data, and (ii) interactions between the media collection device and a user of the media collection device (see at least [0054]; [0057]; [0080]-[0081]; [0112]; Fig. 2 – detecting one or more data pattern within the data received from the motion sensor that indicates high excitement occurring, etc., and one or more data pattern including interactions between the user and the camera indicated by tags initiated by the user by pressing a button on the camera).
As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai et al. (US 2014/0198216 A1 – hereinafter Zhai), Pacurariu et al. (US 2016/0099023 A1 – hereinafter Pacurariu), Ross et al. (US 2015/0078727 A1 – hereinafter Ross), and Smith (US 2015/0312341 A1 – hereinafter Smith).
Regarding claim 1, Zhai discloses a method comprising: receiving via a short-range communication channel, at an edge device, a media content having been collected by a media collection device (Fig. 1; [0033] – the lighting unit as an edge device receives media content collected by one or more cameras); receiving, at the edge device, sensor data corresponding to the media content ([0013]-[0018]; [0022]-[0023] – receiving, at the light unit, sensor data, e.g. smoke sensors, motion sensors, and/or occupation sensors, etc. corresponding to the media content); detecting one or more data patterns within the received sensor data, the one or more data patterns including (i) a pattern of movement ([0023] – detecting unusual patterns within sensed movement data – also see “Response to Arguments” above); determining, at the edge device, based on the detected one or more data patterns, at least one event corresponding to the one or more data patterns to be associated with the media content ([0013]-[0018]; [0022]-[0023] – based unusual patterns of on the sensor data, e.g. data from smoke sensors, motion sensors, and/or occupation sensors, etc., determining an event has happened – also see “Response to Arguments” above); generating, at the edge device, at least one event indicator to be associated with the media content, in which the at least one indicator identifies the at least one event that corresponds to the one or more data patterns ([0009]; [0036]-[0037] – generating at least one event indicator, e.g. any combination of timestamp, lighting unit identification, location of lighting unit and/or event, event type, etc.); and transmitting via a long-range communication channel, at the edge device, the media content and the at least one event indicator to a media processing platform ([0009]; [0038]; [0040] – providing the media content and associated information including the event type to a lighting manager, which is a media processing platform).
However, Zhai does not explicitly disclose the sensor data (i) that is generated by the media collection device during collection to the media content and (ii) that includes data identifying a press of a button on the media collection device that occurred during collection of the media content and did not initiate or prevent collection of the media content by the media collection device; the one or more data patterns including (i) a pattern of movement attributed to the media collection device that collected the sensor data and (ii) interactions between the media collection device and a user of the media collection device; and appending the at least one generated event indicator to the associated media content within an event data track of multiple event indicators of the media content; and the media processing platform configured to process the media content to retain a portion of the media content based on the corresponding at one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event.
Pacurariu discloses sensor data (i) that is generated by a media collection device during collection to media content and (ii) that includes data identifying a press of a button on the media collection device that occurred during collection of the media content and did not initiate or prevent collection of the media content by the media collection device ([0054]; [0057]; [0112]; Fig. 2 – sensor data including motion sensors associated with the camera system as described at least at [0010] and shown in Fig. 1 and user tags initiated by the user by pressing a button on the camera); detecting one or more data patterns within received sensor data, the one or more data patterns including (i) a pattern of movement attributed to the media collection device that collected the sensor data and (ii) interactions between the media collection device and a user of the media collection device ([0054]; [0057]; [0112]; Fig. 2 – the sensor data including a pattern of movement attributed to the camera system as described at least at [0039] and including interactions between the user and the camera indicated by tags initiated by the user by pressing a button on the camera).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of the sensor data taught by Pacurariu into the method taught by Zhai to enhance the mobility of the system by using mobile cameras and allow users to manually indicate an event when he or she feels it is interesting.
Zhai and Pacurariu do not disclose appending the at least one generated event indicator to the associated media content within an event data track of multiple event indicators of the media content; and the media processing platform configured to process the media content to retain a portion of the media content based on the corresponding at one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event.
Ross discloses appending at least one generated event indicator to an associated media content within an event data track of multiple event indicators of the media content (Figs. 4A-4B; [0060]-[0064] – each piece of sensor data as an event indicator as further described at least in [0049]-[0054], is appended to a media content within a metadata track – also see “Response to Arguments” above).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Ross into the device taught by Zhai and Pacurariu so that video recordings can be quickly collected by searching video data (Ross: [0066]).
Zhai, Pacurariu, and Ross do not disclose the media processing platform configured to process the media content to retain a portion of the media content based on the corresponding at one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event.
Smith discloses a media processing platform configured to process media content to retain a portion of the media content based on a corresponding at least one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event ([0060]; Fig. 5 – a remote video storage device 115 or a cloud storage device 305 configured to receive, store, and retain event video content based on priority, which is an event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event such as an unauthorized entry occurs).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Smith into the method taught by Zhai, Pacurariu, and Ross in order to retain the content based on an importance of the event, to use the storage system more effectively.
Regarding claim 2, Zhai also discloses the media content comprises video data captured using a camera installed within the media collection device (Fig. 1; [0033] – the media content are captured by one or more cameras).
Regarding claim 3, Zhai also discloses the media content is received from the media collection device in substantial real-time as streaming data ([0002]-[0003]; Fig. 1; [0033] – the media content is captured by the camera and transmitted to the lighting unit as real-time events).
Regarding claim 4, see the teachings of Zhai and Pacurariu as discussed in claim 1 above. Pacurariu also disclose the sensor data comprises data obtained from at least one of a gyroscope, accelerometer, or magnetometer ([0039] – at least from a gyroscope, an accelerometer, and/or magnetometer).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the further teachings of Pacurariu into the method taught by Zhai to be able to detect more types of events.
Regarding claim 5, Zhai also discloses retaining the media content for an amount of time determined in accordance with the set of retention rules ([0040]-[0041] – retaining the media content for an amount of time determined in accordance with priorities and download status).
Regarding claim 6, Zhai also discloses providing the media content to a reviewer if one or more conditions of the set of review rules are met ([0037] – if the media content is of a type that is included in a list of event types; or [0042] – providing the media content to a reviewer if the media content meets the user request criteria).
Regarding claim 7, Zhai also discloses determining a ranking value for the media content based on the at least one event indicator, wherein one or more conditions of the set of review rules are met upon the ranking value being greater than a threshold ranking value ([0024]-[0025]; [0042]-[0043] – assigning priority based on event type, retrieving and checking content with high priorities, that is, having a priority being greater than a “high” threshold, to return for review according to the user request).
Regarding claim 18, Zhai discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media collectively storing computer-executable instructions that upon execution cause one or more computing devices to collectively perform acts ([0048] - a program storage unit or computer readable storage medium storing an application program to be executed by the CPU) comprising: receive via a short-range communication channel a media content having been collected by a media collection device (Fig. 1; [0033] – the lighting unit as an edge device receives media content collected by one or more cameras); receiving sensor data corresponding to the media content from the media collection device ([0013]-[0018]; [0022]-[0023] – receiving, at the light unit, sensor data, e.g. smoke sensors, motion sensors, and/or occupation sensors, etc. corresponding to the media content); detecting one or more data patterns within the received sensor data ([0023] – detecting unusual patterns within sensed movement data – also see “Response to Arguments” above); determining based on the detected one or more data patterns detected within the received sensor data, a first event corresponding to the one or more data patterns to be associated with the media content ([0013]-[0018]; [0022]-[0023] – based unusual patterns of on the sensor data, e.g. data from smoke sensors, motion sensors, and/or occupation sensors, etc., determining an event has happened); generating a first event indicator to be associated with the media content, in which the at least one indicator identifies the first event corresponding to the one or more data pattern ([0009]; [0036]-[0037] – generating at least one event indicator, e.g. any combination of timestamp, lighting unit identification, location of lighting unit and/or event, event type, etc. – also see “Response to Arguments” above); and transmitting via a long-range communication channel, the first event indicator associated with the media content that identifies the first event corresponding to the one or more data patterns, and the second event indicator to a media processing platform ([0025] – providing the media content and associated information including the event type to a media processing platform which is a lighting manager via a long-range communication channel, e.g. via local server and network 16 shown in Fig. 1), wherein transmission of the first event indicator and the second event indicator to the media processing platform causes the media processing platform to determine a ranking value for the media content based at least on the first event ([0025] – causing the lighting manager to determine priority value for the media content based on the event information).
However, Zhai does not explicitly disclose receiving additional sensor data indicating an activation of a button on the media collection device that occurred during collection of the media content and did not initiate or prevent collection of the media content by a media collection device; generating a second event indicator in response to the activation of the button on the media collection device; appending the at least one generated event indicator to the associated media content within an event data track of multiple event indicators of the media content; the media processing platform configured to process the media content to retain a portion of the media content based on the corresponding at one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event.
Pacurariu discloses receiving additional sensor data indicating an activation of a button on the media collection device that occurred during collection of the media content and did not initiate or prevent collection of the media content by a media collection device ([0054]; [0057]; [0112]; Fig. 2 – sensor data including motion sensors associated with the camera system as described at least at [0010] and shown in Fig. 1 and user tags initiated by the user by pressing a button on the camera); generating a second event indicator in response to the activation of the button on the media collection device ([0054]; [0057]; [0112]; Fig. 2 – generating a second event indicator which is a tag).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of the sensor data taught by Pacurariu into the device taught by Zhai to enhance the mobility of the system by using mobile cameras and allow users to manually indicate an event when he or she feels it is interesting.
Zhai and Pacurariu do not disclose appending the at least one generated event indicator to the associated media content within an event data track of multiple event indicators of the media content; the media processing platform configured to process the media content to retain a portion of the media content based on the corresponding at one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event.
Ross discloses appending at least one generated event indicator to an associated media content within an event data track of multiple event indicators of the media content (Figs. 4A-4B; [0060]-[0064] – each piece of sensor data as an event indicator as further described at least in [0049]-[0054], is appended to a media content within a metadata track – also see “Response to Arguments” above).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Ross into the non-transitory computer-readable media taught by Zhai and Pacurariu so that video recordings can be quickly collected by searching video data (Ross: [0066]).
Zhai, Pacurariu, and Ross do not disclose and the media processing platform configured to process the media content to retain a portion of the media content based on the corresponding at one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event.
Smith discloses a media processing platform configured to process media content to retain a portion of the media content based on a corresponding at least one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event ([0060]; Fig. 5 – a remote video storage device 115 or a cloud storage device 305 configured to receive, store, and retain event video content based on priority, which is an event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event such as an unauthorized entry occurs).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Smith into the computer-executable instructions taught by Zhai, Pacurariu, and Ross in order to retain the content based on an importance of the event, to use the storage system more effectively.
Regarding claim 19, Zhai also discloses retaining the media content for an amount of time determined in accordance with the set of retention rules ([0040]-[0041] – retaining the media content for an amount of time determined in accordance with priorities and download status).
Regarding claim 20, Zhai also discloses providing the media content to a reviewer if one or more conditions of the set of review rules are met ([0037] – if the media content is of a type that is included in a list of event types; or [0042] – providing the media content to a reviewer if the media content meets the user request criteria).
Claims 8-11, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai, Pacurariu, Ribeiro et al. (US 2019/0356885 A1 – hereinafter Ribeiro), Ross, and Smith.
Regarding claim 8, Zhai discloses an edge computing device (Fig. 2; [0048]) communicatively connected to a media collection device and a media processing platform, the edge computing device comprising: a processor ([0048] – a CPU); a communication interface that enables communication in short range communication channel (Fig. 1; [0013]-[0018]; [0022]-[0023]; [0033] – a short range communication channel to receive captured media content and sensor data from cameras and sensors) and a long-range communication channel ([0038]; [0040] – a long-range communication channel for providing the media content and associated information including the event type to a media processing platform of a requesting user); and a memory including instructions that, when executed with the processor, cause the edge computing device to ([0048] - a program storage unit or computer readable storage medium storing an application program to be executed by the CPU), at least receive via the short-range communication channel, at the communication interface of the edge computing device, a media content having been collected by a media collection device (Fig. 1; [0033] – the lighting unit as an edge device receives media content collected by one or more cameras); receive via the short-range communication channel, at the communication interface of the edge computing device, sensor data having been collected by the media collection device that corresponds to the media content ([0013]-[0018]; [0022]-[0023] – receiving, at the light unit, sensor data, e.g. smoke sensors, motion sensors, and/or occupation sensors, etc. corresponding to the media content); detect one or more data patterns within the received sensor data, the one or more data patterns including (i) a pattern of movement ([0023] – detecting unusual patterns within sensed movement data – also see “Response to Arguments” above); determine, at the edge computing device, based on one or more data patterns at least one event corresponding to the one or more data patterns to be associated with the media content ([0013]-[0018]; [0022]-[0023] – based unusual patterns of on the sensor data, e.g. data from smoke sensors, motion sensors, and/or occupation sensors, etc., determining an event has happened – also see “Response to Arguments” above); generate, at the edge computing device, at least one event indicator to be associated with the media content, in which the at least one indicator identifies the at least one event that corresponds to the one or more data pattern ([0009]; [0036]-[0037] – generating at least one event indicator, e.g. any combination of timestamp, lighting unit identification, location of lighting unit and/or event, event type, etc. – also see “Response to Arguments” above); and transmitting via a long-range communication channel, at the communication of the edge computing device, the media content and the at least one event indicator to a media processing platform ([0038]; [0040] – providing the media content and associated information including the event type to a media processing platform of a requesting user).
However, Zhai does not explicitly disclose the sensor data (i) that has been collected by the media collection device and (ii) that includes data identifying a press of a button on the media collection device that occurred during collection of the media content and did not initiate or prevent collection of the media content by the media collection device, the edge computing device to detect the one or more data patterns including (i) a pattern of movement attributed to the media collection device that collected the sensor data and (ii) interactions between the media collection device and a user of the media collection device, wherein the edge computing device is installed in a vehicle and the media collection device is a body-mounted camera; the edge computing device is caused to append the at least one generated event indicator to the associated media content within an event data track of multiple event indicators of the media content; the media processing platform configured to process the media content to retain a portion of the media content based on the corresponding at one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event.
Pacurariu discloses sensor data (i) that is generated by a media collection device during collection to media content and (ii) that includes data identifying a press of a button on the media collection device that occurred during collection of the media content and did not initiate or prevent collection of the media content by the media collection device ([0054]; [0057]; [0112]; Fig. 2 – sensor data including motion sensors associated with the camera system as described at least at [0010] and shown in Fig. 1 and user tags initiated by the user by pressing a button on the camera); and an edge computing device to detect the one or more data patterns including (i) a pattern of movement attributed to the media collection device that collected the sensor data and (ii) interactions between the media collection device and a user of the media collection device ([0054]; [0057]; [0112]; Fig. 2 – the sensor data including a pattern of movement attributed to the camera system as described at least at [0039] and including interactions between the user and the camera indicated by tags initiated by the user by pressing a button on the camera).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of the sensor data taught by Pacurariu into the device taught by Zhai to enhance the mobility of the system by using mobile cameras and allow users to manually indicate an event when he or she feels it is interesting.
Zhai and Pacurariu do not disclose the edge computing device is installed in a vehicle and the media collection device is a body-mounted camera; the edge computing device is caused to append the at least one generated event indicator to the associated media content within an event data track of multiple event indicators of the media content; the media processing platform configured to process the media content to retain a portion of the media content based on the corresponding at one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event.
Ribeiro discloses received sensor data including a pattern of movement attributed to a media collection device that collected the sensor data ([0043] – sensor data including a pattern of movement attributed to a motion of a camera ,e.g. camera 1 or camera 2, any of which is a media collection device that collected the sensor data), wherein an edge computing device is installed in a vehicle (Fig. 5 – video processor 516) and the media collection device is a body-mounted camera ([0043]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of the sensor data taught by Ribeiro into the method taught by Zhai and Pacurariu to further enhance the mobility of the surveillance system.
Zhai, Pacurariu, and Ribeiro do not disclose the edge computing device is caused to append the at least one generated event indicator to the associated media content within an event data track of multiple event indicators of the media content; the media processing platform configured to process the media content to retain a portion of the media content based on the corresponding at one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event.
Ross discloses a computing device is caused to append at least one generated event indicator to an associated media content within an event data track of multiple event indicators of the media content (Figs. 4A-4B; [0060]-[0064] – each piece of sensor data as an event indicator as further described at least in [0049]-[0054], is appended to a media content within a metadata track – also see “Response to Arguments” above).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Ross into the device taught by Zhai, Pacurariu, and Ribeiro so that video recordings can be quickly collected by searching video data (Ross: [0066]).
Zhai, Pacurariu, Ribeiro, and Ross do not disclose and the media processing platform configured to process the media content to retain a portion of the media content based on the corresponding at one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event.
Smith discloses a media processing platform configured to process media content to retain a portion of the media content based on a corresponding at least one generated event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event ([0060]; Fig. 5 – a remote video storage device 115 or a cloud storage device 305 configured to receive, store, and retain event video content based on priority, which is an event indicator, wherein the portion comprises a predetermined amount of time before or after occurrence of the at least one event such as an unauthorized entry occurs).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Smith into the device taught by Zhai, Pacurariu, Ribeiro, and Ross in order to retain the content based on an importance of the event, to use the storage system more effectively.
Regarding claim 9, Zhai also discloses the generated event indicator comprises at least one of an event identifier and a timestamp ([0037]-[0038] – event information comprises at least an event type and a timestamp and/or length).
Regarding claim 10, Zhai also discloses the timestamp represents a single point in time ([0037]-[0038] – the timestamp indicating a single point in time).
Regarding claim 11, Zhai also discloses the timestamp represents a range of times ([0037]-[0038] – the timestamp with length indicating a range of times).
Regarding claim 13, Zhai also discloses the media content is received from the media collection device in substantial real-time as streaming data ([0002]-[0003]; Fig. 1; [0033] – the media content is captured by the camera and transmitted to the lighting unit as real-time events).
Regarding claim 15, see the teachings of Zhai, Pacurariu, Ribeiro, Ross, and Smith as discussed in claim 8 above in which Pacurariu also discloses the sensor data corresponding to media content is received from a media collection device ([0010]; Fig. 2 – the sensor data is received from the camera system together with video/audio content). The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Pacurariu has been discussed in claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 16, Zhai also discloses the media content comprises a combination of audio data, video data or imagery data ([0072] - audio and/or photo and/or video image).
Regarding claim 17, Zhai also discloses the instructions further cause the computing device to determine a ranking value for the media content based on the at least one event indicator ([0024]-[0025]; [0042]-[0043] – assigning priority based on event type).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai, Pacurariu, Ribeiro, Ross, and Smith as applied to claims 8-11, 13, and 15-17 above, and further in view of ElHattab et al. (US 2020/0344301 A1 – hereinafter ElHattab).
Regarding claim 14, see the teachings of Zhai, Pacurariu, Ribeiro, Ross, and Smith as discussed in claim 8 above. However, Zhai, Pacurariu, Ribeiro, Ross, and Smith do not disclose the one or more data patterns is detected using a trained machine learning model.
ElHattab also discloses the one or more data patterns is detected using a trained machined learning model ([0062]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of ElHattab into the device taught by Zhai, Pacurariu, Ribeiro, Ross, and Smith to enhance the accuracy of the detection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484