DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Applications, Amendments and/or Claims
This action is written in response to applicant's correspondence submitted 01/07/2026. In the paper of 01/07/2026, Applicant amended claim 1 and canceled withdrawn claims 9-18. Claims 1-5 and 7-18 are pending and still under review.
Response to Arguments
Withdrawn Rejection(s)
The rejection of claims 1-5 and 7-8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite is withdrawn in view of claim amendments. A new rejection of claims 3 and 5 was necessitated by the claim amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-5 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kamberov et al., (WO2015/074017, filed Nov. 18, 2014 and pub. 05/21/2015) is withdrawn based on claim amendments, particularly by newly reciting a step of assembling a dsDNA of desired sequence.
The rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamberov et al., (WO2015/074017, filed Nov. 18, 2014 and pub. 05/21/2015) in view of Loakes et al. (1995, Nucleic acids research, 23(13), pp.2361-2366) and Faure et al. (2005, Biochemical and biophysical research communications, 328(4), pp.1188-1195) is withdrawn for the same stated reasons above, for withdrawal of the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 and claim 5 each recites the limitations “specifically cleaves the first 3' and first 5' primer binding sequences” and “the first 3' and first 5' primer binding sequences”, respectively. The underlined phrases of each limitation renders claim 3 and claim 5 indefinite, as the claims each fail to indicate how to identify a first 3’ and 5’ primer binding sequences where a plurality of pairs of oligonucleotides comprising a 3’ or 5’ primer binding sequence at terminal ends are provided, said plurality of pairs are arranged in order. In the case of claim 3, it is not known if the limitation is directed to providing uracil DNA glycosylase enzyme for acting only on a first oligonucleotide pair in the arranged order, or if something else is intended.
Concerning the structure intended by first 3’ and first 5’ primer binding sequence at the terminal ends, the structure is unclear. As previously stated, if the two pairs of oligonucleotides are assumed for the dsDNA assembly and each of the two pairs are double stranded, it is unclear what ends of each hybridized pair are to be characterized as the first 3’ or the first 5’ end.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the enzyme mixture”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Church et al. (US2007/0269870A1, pub. Nov. 22, 2007).
Regarding claim 1, Church et al. teach a method of assembling a double-stranded DNA molecule in a synthesis reaction of a dsDNA molecule of desired sequence (para [0008], [0123]), the method comprising:
providing a plurality of pairs of oligonucleotides, each oligonucleotide of a pair comprising a 3' or a 5' primer binding sequence at the terminal ends having at least one non-standard base (para [0117]-[0118], [0123], [0158], [0299]), and
the 3' or 5' primer binding sequences flank an internal sequence of the dsDNA molecule of a desired sequence to be synthesized, and
wherein each oligonucleotide of a pair comprises a portion of the dsDNA molecule of desired sequence, and when the plurality of pairs of oligonucleotides are arranged in order, adjacent to each other and according to their internal sequences they comprise at least a portion of the desired sequence, and the 3' or 5' primer binding sequences flank an internal sequence that overlaps and is complementary to an internal sequence of the other oligonucleotide of the pair;
amplifying the pairs of oligonucleotides in an amplification reaction using primers that bind to the 3' and 5' primer binding sequences (para [0123], [0158], [0299]);
removing the 3' and 5' primer binding sequences from the plurality of pairs of oligonucleotides using an enzyme that specifically cleaves the primer binding sequences at a non-standard base (para [0129], [0157], [0299]); and
assembling the double-stranded DNA molecule of desired sequence (para [0170], [0313]).
Regarding claim 2, Church et al. teach the non-standard base is deoxyuridine (para [0299]).
Regarding claim 3, Church et al. teach the enzyme that specifically cleaves the 3' and 5' primer binding sequences at a non-standard base is uracil DNA-glycosylase (UDG) (see para [0129], [0152], [0158]).
Regarding claim 4, Church et al. teach an enzyme mixture further comprises endonuclease VIII and exonuclease T (para [0061], [0155], [0157]-[0158], [0299]-[0300]).
Regarding claim 5, Church et al. teach the 3' and 5' primer binding sequences are 6-30 nucleotides in length (para [0159]).
Regarding claim 7, Church et al. do not teach an assembled dsDNA molecule comprising of an expressed sequence tag.
Accordingly, the instant claims 1-5 and 7 are anticipated by Church et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Church et al. (US2007/0269870A1, pub. Nov. 22, 2007) in view of Loakes et al. (1995, Nucleic acids research, 23(13), pp.2361-2366: previously cited) and Faure et al. (2005, Biochemical and biophysical research communications, 328(4), pp.1188-1195: previously cited).
The teachings of Church et al. as it relates to claim 1 are above but applied here.
Regarding claim 8, Church et al. do not teach the non-standard base is 3-nitropyrrole and 5-nitroindole as cleavable bases within primer binding sequences at each terminal end of a double stranded oligonucleotide.
Loakes et al. teach the conventional practice of incorporating 3-nitropyrrole and 5-nitroindole into primers as they constitute universal base analog capable of binding all four canonical or standard nucleotides.
Faure et al. suggests nitroindole may be a substrate of AP endonucleases to provide AP sites and/or DNA glycosylases with associated AP lyase activity can also efficiently cleave regular AP sites (abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cleavable base of the adaptors provided in the cleaving method taught by Church et al. by substituting 3-nitropyrrole or 5-nitroindole for the deoxyuridine of the uracil containing primers taught by Church et al. as Loakes et al. teach the ability of 3-nitropyrrole or 5-nitroindole to be functionally equivalent substitute alternative for all nucleotides based on the ability of 3-nitropyrrole or 5-nitroindoleto base pair with any of the four standard nucleotides.
The ordinary skilled artisan would also have been motivated by Faure’s suggestion that abasic site may be generated from action of one or more base excision repair enzymes on nitroindole and therefore use nitroindole in the same capability as deoxyuridine.
In view of the teachings of all the cited references, the instant claim 8 is prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claims are presently allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
OLAYINKA A. OYEYEMI
Examiner
Art Unit 1681
/OLAYINKA A OYEYEMI/Examiner, Art Unit 1681
/GARY BENZION/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1681