DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 01/02/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 4, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 15, and 18-20 have been amended, claims 2-3 and 14 have been cancelled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 12-13, 15, and 18-20 are presently pending in this application, with no claims being withdrawn from consideration. Applicant’s amendments to the claim have overcome each and every objection and 112 rejection set forth in the Final Office Action mailed on 10/02/2025.
The examiner notes that the amended claims contain language which is unmarked but was not presented in the previously filed claims. For example, claim 13, lines 35-36 recites “wherein [[a]] the lumen” which should correctly state “wherein [[a]] the lumen”. The examiner respectfully notes that all claims being currently amended must be presented with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version (MPEP 714). The changes in any amended claim must be shown by strike-through (for deleted matter) or underlining (for added matter).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments see p. 13-15 of “Remarks”, filed 12/02/2025, regarding the rejection of claims 1 and 13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the applicant’s argument that Yoshizaki fails to disclose or teach the “the first angle [being] an obtuse angle” and “first body segment length [being] less than or equal to the first transitional body segment length”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant argues as set forth below in applicant’s annotated figure, “the angle around the center and the angle between the first direction and the second direction (i.e. the first angle of claim 1) are supplementary angles so that the angle between the first direction and the second direction is equal to 180 degrees minus the angle around the center”. This argument is not persuasive for the following two reasons:
The angle around the center of Yoshizaki which is interpreted as being equivalent to the central angle would still anticipate the claim limitation “the first transitional body segment defines a first angle between the first direction and the second direction”. As claimed, the central angle of 163 degrees defined by Yoshizaki is an angle between the first direction and the second direction as defined by the first transitional body segment of Yoshizaki.
Examiner further notes that applicant’s argument that these two angles are supplementary angles has not been backed by evidence, and examiner has not found any evidence to support such a claim. From the instant application’s spec. para. 0047, said angle which is claimed to be an obtuse angle and have the claimed dimensions is labelled “the degree of curvature 322”. Thus, the specification supports that this angle is the degree of curvature which as shown below is equivalent to the central angle. As defined by https://www.cuemath.com/geometry/central-angle/ , a central angle is the angle subtended by an arc of a circle at the center of a circle which is equivalent to the angle around the center. Further, http://www.tpub.com/inteng/11b.htm defines a degree of curvature as the central angle formed by two radii extending from the center of a circle to the end of an arc measuring 100 feet long. Thus, given Applicant’s disclosure and the definitions above, the Examiner is interpreting the degree of curvature of Yoshizaki to be equivalent to the claimed angle. Thus, examiner’s interpretation of Yoshizaki with the angle around the center of 163 degrees being equivalent to both the central angle and the degree of curvature which defines an obtuse angle is maintained, and the calculation reproduced below for the arc length of the first transitional body segment 2 of Yoshizaki equaling 287 mm is also maintained.
Therefore, the rejection of claims 1 and 14 is maintained.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “326” in Fig. 3A-3B has been used to designate both “a lumen 326” (see para. 0043) and “a first transitional body segment 326” (see at least para. 0044). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McFerran et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20100030191, “McFerran”) in view of Yoshizaki et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20090105724, “Yoshizaki”).
Regarding claim 1, McFerran discloses the limitations of (Claim 1) a pre-curved catheter (10, see at least Fig. 1 and 7 and para. 0017, 0019, and 0035 – catheter 10 is a guide catheter with a pre-shaped distal tip configuration, the lengths and curvature of the catheter 10 may vary depending on the desired procedure and location within the body) comprising: a hub (30 in Fig. 1 and para 0018 – the proximal end of catheter 10 comprises a hub with a main body 30); and an elastically deformable tubular body (12 in Fig. 1 and 7) coupled to the hub (30, see Fig. 1 and para 0017, 0024, and 0035 – catheter 10 comprises an elongated tubular shaft 12 that may be elastic such that it can be flexed), the elastically deformable tubular body (12), comprising: a lumen (20 in Fig. 1) extending along a length of the elastically deformable tubular body (12, see Fig. 1 and para. 0017); a first body segment extending away from the hub (30, see Fig. 1 and Fig. 7 and para. 0017 and 0046 – the first body segment is being interpreted as the first straight section M of distal tip 86 and the remaining proximal section of shaft 12 extending away from hub main body 30); a second body segment (O in Fig. 7) disposed distal the first body segment (see Fig. 7 and para. 0046 – second straight section O is located distally of the proximal section of shaft 12 and first straight section M), the second body segment (O) including a second body segment length (see Fig. 7); and a first transitional body segment (N in Fig. 7) interposed between the first body segment and the second body segment (O in Fig. 7,para. 0046-0047), wherein: the first body segment defines a first direction extending away from the first transitional body segment (N, see annotated McFerran drawing 1 below for directions), the second body segment (O) defines a second direction extending away from the first transitional body segment (N, see annotated McFerran drawing 1 below for directions),
the first transitional body segment (N in Fig. 7) defines a first angle between the first direction and the second direction (see Fig. 7 and para. 0047 – the first curved section N defines an angle between the first and second directions as annotated above), the first transitional body segment (N) includes a first transitional body segment length (see Fig. 7), the first body segment includes a first body segment length extending from the hub (30 in Fig. 1) to the first transitional body segment (N in Fig. 7, see para. 0017 and 0046 – the first body segment is being interpreted as the first straight section M of distal tip 86 and the remaining proximal section of shaft 12 extending away from hub main body 30 wherein this segment includes a length that extends from hub 30 to N).
However, McFerran fails to disclose the first angle is an obtuse angle, and the first body segment length is less than or equal to the first transitional body segment length. Examiner notes McFerran does not limit the shape of the catheter 10 in Fig. 7 with explicit lengths or angles (see para. 0019 and 0035).
Yoshizaki discloses a medical apparatus that may be a stylet, catheter, sheathing, cannula, or guidewire with one specific embodiment being a pre-shaped stylet for navigating the left subclavian vein to the ascending large vein; however, the pre-shaped stylet would have been reasonable pertinent and one in the art would have consulted such art and applied its teaching when faced with solving the problem of the lengths and curvatures of a pre-shaped catheter. Yoshizaki teaches (Claim 1) the first angle is an obtuse angle (see Fig. 1 and para. 0028 and 0047 – the first curved portion 2 may have an angle around the center of 163 degrees between two directions defined by the first body segment 1 and second body segment 3, examiner is interpreting the angle around the center as the central angle of the first curved portion 2 is obtuse), wherein the first body segment length (length of 1) is less than or equal to the first transitional body segment length (length of 2, see Fig. 1 and para. 0028 and 0047 – linear proximal portion 1 may have a length of 123 mm, the first curved portion 2 may have a radius of curvature of 101 mm and an angle around the center of 163 degrees which yields an arc length of 287 mm indicating that the first curved portion 2 has a greater length than the linear proximal portion 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first angle and the lengths of the first body segment and first transitional body segment taught by McFerran to be an obtuse angle and have the first body segment length be less than or equal to the first transitional body length as taught by Yoshizaki according to known methods. Separately, the lengths of the first straight portion and the first curved portion of McFerran are customizable so as to tailor the catheter for use in a desired location or for a desired procedure. Separately, the lengths of the first straight portion and the first curved portion of Yoshizaki may be used for a medical procedure that requires the initial insertion with a larger radius of curvature and then progresses to requiring a smaller radius of curvature as this places the distal tip of the medical apparatus in the correct direction in the body cavity due to the internal rotating force without applying any torque of rotation at the portion of the insertion and the direction can be easily controlled (see para. 0033). In combination, the catheter of McFerran in view of Yoshizaki would perform the same function of using a catheter to access a desired body cavity for a desired medical procedure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of this combination were predictable as it is well known in the art that catheter lengths and curvatures may be customized to the body and for the desired procedure as shown in Yoshizaki with the alternative embodiments in Fig. 3-10 having varying lengths and curvatures for different medical procedures.
Regarding claim 4, modified McFerran discloses the pre-curved catheter of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified McFerran, Yoshizaki further discloses (Claim 4) wherein the first angle is within the range of 125º to of 176º (see para. 0047 – the first curved portion 2 may have a central angle of 163 degrees).
Regarding claim 7, modified McFerran discloses the pre-curved catheter of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified McFerran, McFerran further discloses (Claim 7) wherein the elastically deformable tubular body (12) includes a third body segment (Q) having a third body segment length (see Fig. 7), the third body segment (Q) disposed distal the second body segment (O, see Fig. 7 and para. 0046 – shaft 12 further comprises a third straight section Q located distally of the second straight segment O); and a second transitional body segment (P) having a second transitional body segment length interposed between the second body segment (O) and the third body segment (Q, see Fig. 7 and para. 0046 – shaft 12 further comprises a second curved section P with a length as seen in Fig. 7 and that is interposed between the second straight section O and the third straight section Q), the third body segment (Q) defines a third direction extending away from the second transitional body segment (P, see annotated McFerran drawing 1 below for directions), the second body segment (O) defines a fourth direction extending away from the second transitional body segment (P, see annotated McFerran drawing 1 below for directions), the second transitional body segment (P) defines a second angle between the third and the fourth direction (see annotated McFerran drawing 1 below and para. 0046 – the second curved portion P defines a second angle between the two directions as annotated below).
Regarding claim 12, modified McFerran discloses the pre-curved catheter of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified McFerran, McFerran further discloses (Claim 12) wherein the elastically deformable tubular body (12) is sized to support an introducer needle having a diameter in a range of fourteen to twenty-six gauge (examiner notes the introducer needle is functionally recited such that this claim is being interpreted as the body must have a size that is capable of supporting an introducer needle of 14-26 gauge, see para. 0017 – shaft 12 of catheter 10 has an inner diameter in the range of 0.012-0.021inches). Examiner notes 14-26 gauge converts to a nominal outer diameter within the range of approximately 0.464 mm – 2.109 mm, and the shaft 12 inner diameter converts to 0.30 mm – 0.533 mm which would be capable of supporting a needle with an outer diameter that is within the range of 14-26 gauge.
Claim(s) 13, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McFerran in view of Yoshizaki in view of Horst et al. (WO Patent Pub. No. 2020210488, “Horst”).
Regarding claim 13, McFerran discloses the limitations of (Claim 13) a catheter insertion kit (see Fig. 1 and para. 0017 – catheter 10 and its corresponding components form a catheter insertion kit) comprising: a pre-curved catheter (10, see at least Fig. 1 and 7 and para. 0017, 0019, and 0035 – catheter 10 is a guide catheter with a pre-shaped distal tip configuration, the lengths and curvature of the catheter 10 may vary depending on the desired procedure and location within the body) including: a hub (30, see Fig. 1 and para 0018 – the proximal end of catheter 10 comprises a hub with a main body 30); an elastically deformable tubular body (12) coupled to the hub (30, see Fig. 1 and para 0017, 0024, and 0035 – catheter 10 comprises an elongated tubular shaft 12 that may be elastic such that it can be flexed), the elastically deformable tubular body (12) comprising: a lumen (20 in Fig. 1) extending along a length of the elastically deformable tubular body (12, see Fig. 1 and para. 0017); a first body segment extending away from the hub (30, see Fig. 1 and Fig. 7 and para. 0017 and 0046 – the first body segment is being interpreted as the first straight section M of distal tip 86 and the remaining proximal section of shaft 12 extending away from hub main body 30); a second body segment (O in Fig. 7) disposed distal the first body segment (see Fig. 7 and para. 0046 – second straight section O is located distally of the proximal section of shaft 12 and first straight section M), the second body segment (O) including a second body segment length (see Fig. 7); and a first transitional body segment (N in Fig. 7) interposed between the first body segment and the second body segment (O in Fig. 7,para. 0046-0047), wherein: the first body segment defines a first direction extending away from the first transitional body segment (N, see annotated McFerran drawing 1 below for directions), the second body segment (O) defines a second direction extending away from the first transitional body segment (N, see annotated McFerran
drawing 1 below for directions),
the first transitional body segment (N in Fig. 7) defines a first angle between the first direction and the second direction (see Fig. 7 and para. 0047 – the first curved section N defines an angle between the first and second directions as annotated above), the first transitional body segment (N) includes a first transitional body segment length (see Fig. 7), the first body segment includes a first body segment length extending from the hub (30 in Fig. 1) to the first transitional body segment (N in Fig. 7, see para. 0017 and 0046 – the first body segment is being interpreted as the first straight section M of distal tip 86 and the remaining proximal section of shaft 12 extending away from hub main body 30 wherein this segment includes a length that extends from hub 30 to N); wherein the lumen (20) is sized to receive the introducer needle (see para. 0017 – shaft 12 of catheter 10 has an inner diameter in the range of 0.012-0.021inches, examiner notes 14-26 gauge converts to a nominal outer diameter within the range of approximately 0.464 mm – 2.109 mm, and the shaft 12 inner diameter converts to 0.30 mm – 0.533 mm which would be capable of supporting a needle with an outer diameter that is within the range of 14-26 gauge).
However, McFerran fails to disclose wherein the first angle is an obtuse angle, the first body segment length is less than or equal to the first transitional body segment length, and an introducer needle including a rigid body having a proximal end, a distal end ending in a point, and a diameter in a range of 14-26 gauge, wherein the lumen is sized to receive the introducer needle for insertion and advancement through the lumen so that at least a portion of the rigid body extends past a distal end of the second body segment. Examiner notes McFerran does not limit the shape of the catheter 10 in Fig. 7 with explicit lengths or angle (see para. 0019 and 0035), and a 14-26 gauge introducer needle converts to a nominal outer diameter within the range of approximately 0.464 mm – 2.109 mm, and McFerran discloses the shaft 12 having an inner diameter converting to 0.30 mm – 0.533 mm which would be capable of supporting a needle with an outer diameter that is within the range of 14-26 gauge.
Yoshizaki teaches (Claim 13) the first angle is an obtuse angle (see Fig. 1 and para. 0028 and 0047 – the first curved portion 2 may have an angle around the center of 163 degrees between two directions defined by the first body segment 1 and second body segment 3, examiner is interpreting the angle around the center as the central angle of the first curved portion 2 which is obtuse), wherein the first body segment length (length of 1) is less than or equal to the first transitional body segment length (length of 2, see Fig. 1 and para. 0028 and 0047 – linear proximal portion 1 may have a length of 123 mm, the first curved portion 2 may have a radius of curvature of 101 mm and an angle around the center of 163 degrees which yields an arc length of 287 mm indicating that the first curved portion 2 has a greater length than the linear proximal portion 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first angle and the lengths of the first body segment and first transitional body segment taught by McFerran to be an obtuse angle and have the first body segment length be less than or equal to the first transitional body length as taught by Yoshizaki according to known methods. Separately, the lengths of the first straight portion and the first curved portion of McFerran are customizable so as to tailor the catheter for use in a desired location or for a desired procedure. Separately, the lengths of the first straight portion and the first curved portion of Yoshizaki may be used for a medical procedure that requires the initial insertion with a larger radius of curvature and then progresses to requiring a smaller radius of curvature as this places the distal tip of the medical apparatus in the correct direction in the body cavity due to the internal rotating force without applying any torque of rotation at the portion of the insertion and the direction can be easily controlled (see para. 0033). In combination, the catheter of McFerran in view of Yoshizaki would perform the same function of using a catheter to access a desired body cavity for a desired medical procedure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of this combination were predictable as it is well known in the art that catheter lengths and curvatures may be customized to the body and for the desired procedure as shown in Yoshizaki with the alternative embodiments in Fig. 3-10 having varying lengths and curvatures for different medical procedures.
Horst discloses a catheter insertion apparatus including a hollow needle body with a catheter that removably fits over the needle body. Horst teaches (Claim 13) an introducer needle (30) including a rigid body (36) having a proximal end (36b, see at least Fig. 1-10 and para. 0075, 0081, and 0103 – needle 30 may comprise a needle body 36 and a proximal end 36b, needle body 36 may be formed of stainless steel), a distal end (30a) ending in a point (36a, see Fig. 4C and para. 0081 – needle 30 has a distal end 30a ending in a sharp tip 36a), and a diameter in a range of 14-26 gauge (see para. 0089 – needle body 36 may have a gauge in the range of 16-24), wherein the lumen (26c) is sized to receive the introducer needle (30) for insertion and advancement through the lumen (26c) so that at least a portion of the rigid body (36) extends past a distal end (26a) of the catheter (20, see Fig. 10 and see para. 0077 and 0083 – catheter 20 comprises catheter body 26 with internal lumen 26 catheter body 26 comprising a flexible portion allowing for bending of the catheter 20, the needle body 36 received in the lumen 26c, see Fig. 5A and 10 and para. 0091 – in use, the distal tip 36a of the body 36 of needle 30 extends past the distal tip 26a of the body 26 of the catheter 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter insertion kit taught by McFerran in view of Yoshizaki to incorporate the introducer needle of Horst. The motivation for this modification is that Horst teaches a catheter insertion apparatus comprising an introducer needle for puncturing a blood vessel with a flashback chamber to confirm successful vascular access such that a guidewire assembly can them be inserted for further catheter placement (see para. 0104).
Regarding claim 15, modified McFerran discloses the pre-curved catheter of claim 13, as discussed above. In modified McFerran, Yoshizaki further discloses (Claim 15) wherein the first angle is within the range 125º to 176º (see para. 0047 – the first curved portion 2 may have a central angle of 163 degrees).
Regarding claim 18, modified McFerran discloses the catheter insertion kit of claim 13, as discussed above. In modified McFerran, McFerran further discloses (Claim 18) wherein: the elastically deformable tubular body (12) includes: a third body segment (Q) having a third body segment length (see Fig. 7), the third body segment (Q) disposed distal the second body segment (O, see Fig. 7 and para. 0046 – shaft 12 further comprises a third straight section Q located distally of the second straight segment O); and a second transitional body segment (P) having a second transitional body segment length interposed between the second body segment (O) and the third body segment (Q, see Fig. 7 and para. 0046 – shaft 12 further comprises a second curved section P with a length as seen in Fig. 7 and that is interposed between the second straight section O and the third straight section Q), the third body segment (Q) defines a third direction extending away from the second transitional body segment (P, see annotated McFerran drawing 1 below for directions), the second body segment (O) defines a fourth direction extending away from the second transitional body segment (P, see annotated McFerran drawing 1 below for directions), the second transitional body segment (P) defines a second angle between the third and the fourth direction (see annotated McFerran drawing 1 below and para. 0046 – the second curved portion P defines a second angle between the two directions as annotated below).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is McFerran et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 2010030191 A1, “McFerran”) in view of Yoshizaki et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20090105724 A1, “Yoshizaki”).
McFerran discloses a generic guide catheter 10 with a pre-shaped distal tip configuration with the lengths and curvatures varying depending upon the desired procedure and location within the body (see Fig. 1 and 7 and para. 0035). As shown in the embodiment of Fig. 7, the catheter 10 comprises a first body segment interpreted as the first straight section M and remaining proximal section of shaft 12 extending frum hub 30 and a second body segment O (see para. 0046). Interposed between the section M and the section O is the first transitional body segment N defining a first angle between a first direction and second direction annotated above (see annotated McFerran drawing 1 above and para. 0046-0047). McFerran further discloses the third body segment Q and the second transitional body segment P disposed between the second body segment O and the third body segment Q (see para. 0046-0047). The second transitional body segment P further defines a second angle between a third direction and fourth direction annotated above (see annotated McFerran drawing 1 above and para. 0046-0047). However, McFerran fails to disclose the angles of the first and second transitional body segments and fails to disclose the length relationship between the first body segment and first transitional body segment length.
Yoshizaki discloses a medical apparatus with one embodiment being a pre-shaped stylet for use in navigating the left subclavian vein (see Fig. 1 and para. 0047-0048). Yoshizaki discloses the stylet in Fig. 1 having a first body segment 1 with a length of 123 mm and a first transitional body segment 2 with a radius of curvature of 101 mm and an angle of around 163 degrees which yields an arc length of 287 mm indicating that the first body segment 1 length is less than the first transitional body segment 2 length. Yoshizaki further discloses that the central angle of the first transitional body segment 2 is 163 degrees making it an obtuse angle (see para. 0028 and 0047). Yoshizaki further discloses that a second curvature is an obtuse angle with a central angle of 180 degrees placed in the same direction of the first curvature (see para. 0048-0050). Such a configuration is required by Yoshizaki for carrying out its intended use of navigating the left subclavian vein to the ascending large vein (see para. 0048 and 0050).
Thus, in combination McFerran is modified with Yoshizaki to disclose the limitations of claims 1 and 7 and claims 13 and 18. However, McFerran in view of Yoshizaki fails to disclose the limitations of claims 9 and 19 stating that the first angle and the second angle face opposite directions. As discussed above, Yoshizaki explicitly discloses that the second curvature is placed in the same direction as the first curvature. Therefore, Yoshizaki cannot be modified to meet the claim limitations of claims 9 or 19 without rendering it inoperable for its intended use. Further, there is no reference that teaches or discloses a pre-curved catheter as claimed by claims 9 and 19.
Conclusion
/K.M.T./
Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /COURTNEY B FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783