Response to Amendment
2. Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 15 and 20 are amended. Claims 4, 7, 11, 13-14 and 19 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-17 and 20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 1/13/2026, with regards to claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-17 and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant asserts that the combination of Park and Dao does not teach or suggest: “receiving a second message from a second wireless communication node, wherein the second message is a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session Resource Request message, wherein the second message comprises information of service flow (QF) on at least one second UP connection to be maintained; after the receiving, determining the at least one first UP connection to be removed from a plurality of UP connections according to the second message”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The combination of Park and Dao, specifically Park discloses, as illustrated in Fig. 33, the SMF may send to an AMF, at least one first message comprising configuration parameters for a first session between a wireless device and a UPF and a second session, for a packet duplication of the first session, between the wireless device and the UPF. The SMF may receive, from the UPF, traffic status information of the UPF [second message]. Based on the traffic status information, the SMF may send, to the AMF, a second message for activation of the packet duplication of the first session. The received traffic status information of the UPF is a PDU session request message. [Therefore, the second message is mapped to the N4 PDU session status request that includes the traffic status of the UPF received by the SMF, which is a PDU session request message] (See Park; Par. [255]-[256], [461]-[462] and Fig. 33)
Park discloses that if request type indicates initial request, the SMF 160 may initiate an N4 session establishment procedure 1255 with the selected UPF 110. The SMF 160 may initiate an N4 session modification procedure with the selected UPF 110. The UPF 110 may acknowledges by sending an N4 session establishment/modification response 1255. If CN tunnel info is allocated by the UPF, the CN tunnel info may be provided to SMF 160. the SMF 160 may send to the AMF 155 an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer 1305 message (comprising PDU session ID, access type, N2 SM information (PDU session ID, QFI(s), QoS profile(s), CN tunnel info, S-NSSAI, session-AMBR, PDU session type, and/or the like), N1 SM container (PDU session establishment accept (QoS Rule(s), selected SSC mode, S-NSSAI, allocated IPv4 address, interface identifier, session-AMBR, selected PDU session type, and/or the like))). In case of multiple UPFs are used for the PDU session, the CN tunnel info may comprise tunnel information related with the UPF 110 that terminates N3. The N2 SM information may carry information that the AMF 155 may forward to the (R)AN 105 (e.g., the CN tunnel info corresponding to the core network address of the N3 tunnel corresponding to the PDU session, one or multiple QoS profiles and the corresponding QFIs may be provided to the (R)AN 105, the PDU session ID may be used by AN signaling with the UE 100 to indicate to the UE 100 the association between AN resources and a PDU session for the UE100, and/or the like). (See Park; Par. [253]-[254])
Finally Park discloses that if the SMF 160 may selects a new intermediate UPF 110 for the PDU session or may remove the old I-UPF 110-2, the SMF 160 may send N4 session modification request message 1035 to PDU session anchor, PSA UPF 110-3, providing the data forwarding indication and DL tunnel information from new intermediate UPF 110. The SMF may request the session modification of the first UPF at the time of requesting the activation of the duplication. The request for the session activation or the session modification sent from the SMF to the first UPF may include at least one or more downlink TNL address of a second UPF. The SMF may send a new session establishment request to the second UPF. The request for the session establishment sent from the SMF to the second UPF may comprise at least one or more uplink TNL address of the first UPF. The second UPF may respond to the SMF with at least one or more uplink TNL address and/or one or more the downlink TNL address of the second UPF. [Therefore, the SMF 160 decides/determines to trigger the removal of the PDU session anchor UPF (UPF 110) from among different/plurality UPFs [See Fig. 24 for a reference to first UPF & second UPF] (See Park; Par. [214], [370]-[371])
On the other hand, Dao discloses Flows being associated with an existing aggregation communication link. The SMF removes the association of the QoS Flows with the aggregation communication links. During the hand-over procedure, the target RAN may reject some QoS Flows. The SMF may release the QoS Flow. If this QoS Flow is associated with an existing aggregation communication link, the SMF removes the association of the QoS Flows with the aggregation communication links. During the hand-over procedure, the target RAN accepts some QoS Flows. If this QoS Flow is associated with an existing aggregation communication link in the source RAN, the SMF modifies the aggregation communication link in the UPF and requests the RAN to associate the QoS Flows to one existing aggregation communication link. If a UE enters CM-IDLE state from CM-CONNECTED state, all the UP connections of PDU Sessions are deactivated. If one or more of QoS Flows of these PDU Sessions are associated with one or more aggregation communication links, the SMF removes the associations of these QoS Flows with the aggregation communication links. (See Dao; Par. [436]-[440])
Finally Dao teaches that the UP connection of a PDU Session of UE may be switched from one Source (R)AN node to another Target (R)AN node during handover procedure. During the handover procedure, the Source (R)AN node may include the aggregation tunnel information of QoS flows to the Target (R)AN node. The Target (R)AN node may associate these QoS flows with existing aggregated tunnels or aggregated communication links available in the Target (R)AN node. During the handover procedure, the SMF sends N4 Session Modification Request to the UPF. The message contains the per-PDU session tunnel information and aggregation tunnels information for both UL and DL on the N3 and N9 reference points. (See Dao; Par. [281], [283], [495])
Therefore, and for the reasons set above, the combination of Park and Dao teaches the claimed invention. The rejection of claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-17 and 20 is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 12, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0107213 A1) in view of Dao et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0191330 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a method for removing at least one first user plane (UP) connection by a first wireless communication node (See Par. [191], [214], [216], [218] of Park for a reference to removing the PDU Session Anchor (PSA) UPF by the SMF 160 [Core node/First node]), comprising:
receiving a second message from a second wireless communication node (See Par. [461]-[462] and Fig. 33 of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 receives an N4 PDU session status request that includes the traffic status of the UPF), wherein the second message is a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session Resource Request message (See Par. [255]-[256, [461]-[462] and Fig. 33 of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 receives an N4 PDU session status request that includes the traffic status of the UPF, which is a PDU session Request message),
determining the at least one first UP connection to be removed from a plurality of UP connections (See Par. [191], [214],[370]-[371] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 decides/determines to trigger the removal of the PDU session anchor UPF (UPF 110) from among different/plurality UPFs [See Fig. 24 for a reference to first UPF & second UPF]); and
transmitting a first message to a second wireless communication node (See Par. [237], [370], [388]-[389] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 transmits a N4 session modification message to the first access node and UPF110 (Second Node) to request the release/removal of the first UPF), wherein the first message is a PDU Session Resource Response message (See Par. [237], [370], [388]-[389] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 transmits a N4 session modification message to the first access node and UPF110 (Second Node) to request the release/removal of the first UPF as a response to the traffic status request received);
wherein the first message comprises at least one transport network layer (TNL) address pair (See Par. [370]-[371] of Park for a reference to the UPF comprises at least one or more uplink TNL address and/or one or more the downlink TNL address), the at least one TNL address pair comprising at least one downlink TNL (DL-TNL) address of the at least one first UP connection to be removed (See Par. [388]-[389], [397]-[398] of Park for a reference to the N4 session modification message includes the downlink transport network layer (TNL) address of the first UPF [UPF to be released]), wherein the first message further comprises information of QF of at least one second UP connection in the plurality of UP connections (See Par. [141], [223], [271], [358] and Fig. 24 of Park for a reference to the session modification indication includes information related to the QoS flow of the PDU session, determined by the SMF 160. Based on the PDU’s QoS flow, a new intermediate UPF [Second UPF] is established to transmit packets of the PDU session), wherein the at least one second UP connection is maintained instead of being removed (See Par. [110], [210], [249]-[250] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 transmits a N4 session modification message to the first access node and UPF110 (Second Node) to request the maintenance of the first UPF. The N4 session modification message includes the downlink transport network layer (TNL) address of the first UPF [UPF to be maintained]).
Park does not disclose wherein the second message comprises information of service flow (QF) on at least one second UP connection to be maintained; after the receiving, determining the at least one first UP connection to be removed according to the second message, and wherein the at least one QF on the first UP connection to be removed is offloaded to the second UP connection that is maintained.
However, Dao discloses wherein the second message comprises information of service flow (QF) on at least one second UP connection to be maintained (See Par. [281], [283], [436]-[440], [495] of Dao for a reference to the SMF sends N4 Session Modification Request to the UPF to switch the UP connection of a PDU Session of UE from one Source (R)AN node to another Target (R)AN node during handover procedure); after the receiving, determining the at least one first UP connection to be removed according to the second message (See Par. [436]-[440] of Dao for a reference to the user plane is deactivated [Removed] according to the characteristics of the QoS flow associated with the aggregation communication link), and wherein the at least one QF on the first UP connection to be removed is offloaded to the second UP connection that is maintained (See Par. [281], [283], [436]-[440], [495] of Dao for a reference to the SMF sends N4 Session Modification Request to the UPF to switch the UP connection of a PDU Session of UE from one Source (R)AN node to another Target (R)AN node during handover procedure).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dao to Park. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by supporting the delivery of aggregated tunnel protocols packets between two network nodes while minimizing the tunnel protocol overhead. (Dao; Par. [14]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Park and Dao, specifically Park discloses removing at least one DL-TNL address of the at least one first UP connection (See Par. [367], [394], [397]-[398] of Park for a reference to the response received from the UPF 110 includes the downlink TNL addresses of the first UPF. The SMF 160 requests the UPF to deallocate/remove and release the DL-TNL addresses in a message from UPF to SMF),
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Park and Dao, specifically Park discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
prior to the determining, receiving a second message from the second wireless communication node, wherein the second message is a PDU Session Resource Request message (See Par. [461]-[462] and Fig. 33 of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 receives an N4 PDU session status request that includes the traffic status of the UPF), and wherein the first message is PDU Session Resource Response message (See Par. [237], [370], [388]-[389] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 transmits a N4 session modification message to the first access node and UPF110 (Second Node) to request the release/removal of the first UPF as a response to the traffic status request received).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Park and Dao, specifically Park discloses a method for removing at least one first user plane (UP) connection by a first wireless communication node (See Par. [191], [214], [216], [218] of Park for a reference to removing the PDU Session Anchor (PSA) UPF by the SMF 160 [Core node/First node]), comprising:
transmitting a second message to a second wireless communication node (See Par. [461]-[462] and Fig. 33 of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 receives an N4 PDU session status request that includes the traffic status of the UPF), wherein the second message is a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session Resource Request message (See Par. [255]-[256, [461]-[462] and Fig. 33 of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 receives an N4 PDU session status request that includes the traffic status of the UPF, which is a PDU session Request message).
receiving a first message from a second wireless communication node (See Par. [237], [370], [388]-[389] of Park for a reference to the first access node and UPF110 (First Node) receives a N4 session modification message from the SMF 160 to request the release/removal of the first UPF), wherein the first message is a PDU Session Resource Response message (See Par. [237], [370], [388]-[389] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 transmits a N4 session modification message to the first access node and UPF110 (Second Node) to request the release/removal of the first UPF as a response to the traffic status request received);
wherein the first message comprises at least one transport network layer (TNL) address pair (See Par. [370]-[371] of Park for a reference to the UPF comprises at least one or more uplink TNL address and/or one or more the downlink TNL address), the at least one TNL address pair comprising at least one downlink TNL (DL-TNL) address of the at least one first UP connection to be removed (See Par. [388]-[389], [397]-[398] of Park for a reference to the N4 session modification message includes the downlink transport network layer (TNL) address of the first UPF [UPF to be released]) from a plurality of UP connections [See Fig. 24 for a reference to first UPF & second UPF], and wherein the at least one first UP connection to be removed is determined by the second wireless communication node (See Par. [191], [214],[370]-[371] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 decides/determines to trigger the removal of the PDU session anchor UPF (UPF 110) from among different/plurality UPFs), wherein the first message further comprises information of QF of at least one second UP connection in the plurality of UP connections (See Par. [141], [223], [271], [358] and Fig. 24 of Park for a reference to the session modification indication includes information related to the QoS flow of the PDU session, determined by the SMF 160. Based on the PDU’s QoS flow, a new intermediate UPF [Second UPF] is established to transmit packets of the PDU session), wherein the at least one second UP connection is maintained instead of being removed (See Par. [110], [210], [249]-[250] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 transmits a N4 session modification message to the first access node and UPF110 (Second Node) to request the maintenance of the first UPF. The N4 session modification message includes the downlink transport network layer (TNL) address of the first UPF [UPF to be maintained]).
Park does not disclose wherein the second message comprises information of service flow (QF) on at least one second UP connection to be maintained; after the receiving, determining the at least one first UP connection to be removed according to the second message, and wherein the at least one QF on the first UP connection to be removed is offloaded to the second UP connection that is maintained.
However, Dao discloses wherein the second message comprises information of service flow (QF) on at least one second UP connection to be maintained (See Par. [281], [283], [436]-[440], [495] of Dao for a reference to the SMF sends N4 Session Modification Request to the UPF to switch the UP connection of a PDU Session of UE from one Source (R)AN node to another Target (R)AN node during handover procedure); after the receiving, determining the at least one first UP connection to be removed according to the second message (See Par. [436]-[440] of Dao for a reference to the user plane is deactivated [Removed] according to the characteristics of the QoS flow associated with the aggregation communication link), and wherein the at least one QF on the first UP connection to be removed is offloaded to the second UP connection that is maintained (See Par. [281], [283], [436]-[440], [495] of Dao for a reference to the SMF sends N4 Session Modification Request to the UPF to switch the UP connection of a PDU Session of UE from one Source (R)AN node to another Target (R)AN node during handover procedure).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dao to Park. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by supporting the delivery of aggregated tunnel protocols packets between two network nodes while minimizing the tunnel protocol overhead. (Dao; Par. [14]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Park and Dao, specifically Park discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
after the receiving, removing the at least one first UP connection (See Par. [191], [214],[370]-[371] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 decides/determines to trigger the removal of the PDU session anchor UPF (UPF 110) from among different/plurality UPFs, after receiving the session modification indication (message)); removing the at least one UL-TNL address of the at least one first UP connection (See Par. [367], [394], [397]-[398] of Park for a reference to the response received from the UPF 110 includes the uplink TNL addresses of the first UPF. The SMF 160 requests the UPF to deallocate/remove and release the DL-TNL addresses in a message from UPF to SMF); and removing at least one DL-TNL address of the at least one first UP connection by the second wireless communication node (See Par. [367], [394], [397]-[398] of Park for a reference to the response received from the UPF 110 includes the downlink TNL addresses of the first UPF. The SMF 160 requests the UPF to deallocate/remove and release the DL-TNL addresses in a message from UPF to SMF).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses a method for removing at least one first user plane (UP) connection by a first wireless communication node (See Par. [191], [214], [216], [218] of Park for a reference to removing the PDU Session Anchor (PSA) UPF by the SMF 160 [Core node/First node]), comprising:
receiving a first message from a second wireless communication node (See Par. [237], [370], of Park for a reference to the first access node and UPF110 (First Node) receives a N4 session modification message from the SMF 160 to request the release/removal of the first UPF); wherein the first message is a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session Resource Modify Request message (See Par. [237], [370], [388]-[389] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 transmits a N4 session modification message to the first access node and UPF110 (Second Node) to request the release/removal of the first UPF as a response to the traffic status request received), wherein the first message comprises information of service flow (QF) on at least one second UP connection to be maintained (See Par. [141], [223], [271], [358] and Fig. 24 of Park for a reference to the session modification indication includes information related to the QoS flow of the PDU session, determined by the SMF 160. Based on the PDU’s QoS flow, a new intermediate UPF [Second UPF] is established to transmit packets of the PDU session); determining the at least one first UP connection to be removed from a plurality of UP connections (See Par. [191], [214],[370]-[371] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 decides/determines to trigger the removal of the PDU session anchor UPF (UPF 110) from among different/plurality UPFs [See Fig. 24 for a reference to first UPF & second UPF]); and
transmitting a first message to a second wireless communication node (See Par. [237], [370], [388]-[389] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 transmits a N4 session modification message to the first access node and UPF110 (Second Node) to request the release/removal of the first UPF), wherein the second message is a PDU Session Resource Modify Response message (See Par. [235]-[237] of Park for a reference to the second message is an N4 session modification response or N4 session release response message to confirm the modification [UPF removal] and the release of resources),
wherein the first message comprises at least one transport network layer (TNL) address pair (See Par. [370]-[371] of Park for a reference to the UPF comprises at least one or more uplink TNL address and/or one or more the downlink TNL address), the at least one TNL address pair comprising at least one downlink TNL (DL-TNL) address of the at least one first UP connection to be removed (See Par. [388]-[389], [397]-[398] of Park for a reference to the N4 session modification message includes the downlink transport network layer (TNL) address of the first UPF [UPF to be released]), wherein the first message further comprises information of QF of at least one second UP connection in the plurality of UP connections (See Par. [141], [223], [271], [358] and Fig. 24 of Park for a reference to the session modification indication includes information related to the QoS flow of the PDU session, determined by the SMF 160. Based on the PDU’s QoS flow, a new intermediate UPF [Second UPF] is established to transmit packets of the PDU session), wherein the at least one second UP connection is maintained instead of being removed (See Par. [110], [210], [249]-[250] of Park for a reference to the SMF 160 transmits a N4 session modification message to the first access node and UPF110 (Second Node) to request the maintenance of the first UPF. The N4 session modification message includes the downlink transport network layer (TNL) address of the first UPF [UPF to be maintained]).
Park does not disclose determining the at least one first UP connection to be removed according to the first message, and wherein the at least one QF on the first UP connection to be removed is offloaded to the second UP connection that is maintained.
However, Dao discloses determining the at least one first UP connection to be removed according to the first message (See Par. [436]-[440] of Dao for a reference to the user plane is deactivated [Removed] according to the characteristics of the QoS flow associated with the aggregation communication link), and wherein the at least one QF on the first UP connection to be removed is offloaded to the second UP connection that is maintained (See Par. [281], [283], [436]-[440], [495] of Dao for a reference to the SMF sends N4 Session Modification Request to the UPF to switch the UP connection of a PDU Session of UE from one Source (R)AN node to another Target (R)AN node during handover procedure).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dao to Park. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by supporting the delivery of aggregated tunnel protocols packets between two network nodes while minimizing the tunnel protocol overhead. (Dao; Par. [14]).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, a computing device (See Park; Fig. 4; Network Node 1 (410)) comprising at least one processor (See Park; Fig. 4; Processor(s) (414))configured to carry out the method of claim 1.
5. Claims 2, 9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. in view of Dao et al. and further in view of Shi et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0404732 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Park and Dao does not explicitly disclose wherein the first message further comprises at least one information entity (IE), wherein the at least one IE comprises at least one Uplink/Downlink (UL/DL) TNL address pair corresponding to the at least one first UP connection, wherein the at least one UL/DL TNL address pair each comprises a UL-TNL address and a DL-TNL address.
However, Shi discloses wherein the first message further comprises at least one information entity (IE), wherein the at least one IE comprises at least one Uplink/Downlink (UL/DL) TNL address pair corresponding to the at least one first UP connection, wherein the at least one UL/DL TNL address pair each comprises a UL-TNL address and a DL-TNL address (See Par. [39], [43]-[44]) of Shi for a reference to the PDU session indication sent from the core node 210, comprises an information element [IEs], including downlink TNL paired with the existing uplink TNL, therefore each PDU session have two DL-TNL and one UL-TNL).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Shi to the combination of Park and Dao. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by supporting QoS mobility in the different GTP-U during dual connectivity through splitting the existing PDU session in the UPFs. (Shi; Par. [5]-[6]).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Park, Dao and Shi, specifically Park discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: after the removing, removing the at least one DL-TNL address of the at least one first UP connection (See Par. [367], [394], [397]-[398] of Park for a reference to the response received from the UPF 110 includes the downlink TNL addresses of the first UPF. The SMF 160 requests the UPF to deallocate/remove and release the DL-TNL addresses in a message from UPF to SMF).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al, (US. Pub. No. 2021/0168595 A1) discloses a method and an apparatus for assigning an external bus interface (EBI).
Hong et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0200860 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for supporting a hybrid mode positioning scheme in a wireless communication system.
Pan et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0029057 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for serving QOS flow in a wireless communication system.
7. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413