DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second region and the third region define a frustoconical shape or a frustum” as set forth in claim 7 in combination with “an outer surface of the third region defines a curve from the second region to the first region and the curve is concave” as set forth in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Also, the “bore extends along the longitudinal axis a distance beyond a position of at least a portion of the first tire bead seat along the longitudinal axis” as set forth in new claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Note Figs. 9 and 10 clearly show the bore configured to receive a valve stem (i.e., valve stem mount bore 134) to be positioned radially outward of the longitudinal axis a1. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, there is no support in the original disclosure for a single embodiment of Applicant’s wheel having both “an outer surface of the third region defines a curve from the second region to the first region and the curve is concave” as set forth in claim 1 and the “second region and the third region define a frustoconical shape or a frustum” as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 21, there is no support in the original disclosure for “bore extends along the longitudinal axis a distance beyond a position of at least a portion of the first tire bead seat along the longitudinal axis” as newly set forth. Applicant’s Figs. 9 and 10 clearly show the bore 134, which is configured to receive a valve stem as required by claim 11, being positioned radially outward of the longitudinal axis a1. Instead, it is readily apparent that opening 124 defined in the hub surface 126 extends along the longitudinal axis a1 as evident from Applicant’s drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 7, 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeGeorge et al. (US D773,974 S; newly cited and applied; hereinafter “DeGeorge”).
Regarding claim 1, DeGeorge discloses a vehicle wheel (Figs. 1-7) comprising: a generally annular first region (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below) comprising a first flange (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below), a second flange (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below) opposite the first flange, a continuous wall (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below) disposed about a longitudinal axis of the vehicle wheel and extending from the first flange to the second flange (Fig. 7), the continuous wall comprising an inner surface (evident from Fig. 7) and an outer surface (evident from Fig. 7), and a first tire bead seat (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below) and a second tire bead seat (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below) defined on the outer surface; a second region (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below) configured to mount to a vehicle axle (evident from Fig. 2), wherein the second region is offset from the first flange by an offset distance (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below), wherein the offset distance is in a direction away from the second flange (Fig. 7); and a third region (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below) connecting the first region and the second region, the third region extending inwardly towards the longitudinal axis from an attachment location on the first region to the second region (Fig. 7),wherein the third region comprises a first thickness (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below), the second region comprises a second thickness (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below), and the first thickness is no greater than 75% of the second thickness (clearly shown in Fig. 7),wherein an outer surface of the third region defines a curve (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below) from the second region to the first region and the curve is concave (Fig. 7), and wherein the first region, the second region, and the third region are integral without any welds (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, DeGeorge further discloses the second region and the third region define a frustoconical shape or a frustum (Fig. 7) in the same manner that Applicant’s second region and concave third region are considered to define a frustoconical shape or a frustum.
Regarding claim 9, DeGeorge further discloses the second region transitions into the third region at an inflection point (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided above).
Regarding claim 22, DeGeorge further discloses the inflection point is above radially outward from the second region (evident from the reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-4, 7, 9, 11, 13, 14 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rickels (US 2016/0221389 A1; previously cited and applied) in view of DeGeorge.
Regarding independent claim 1, Rickels discloses a vehicle wheel 10 comprising: a generally annular first region 12 comprising a first flange 14, a second flange 18 opposite the first flange, a continuous wall (comprised of 16, 20, 21, 22 and 23) disposed about a longitudinal axis of the vehicle wheel and extending from the first flange to the second flange (Fig. 2), the continuous wall comprising an inner surface and an outer surface (Fig. 2), and a first tire bead seat 22 and a second tire bead seat 20 defined on the outer surface (Fig. 2); a second region 26 configured to mount to a vehicle axle (paragraph [0019]; Fig. 2), wherein the second region is offset from the first flange by an offset distance (paragraph [0019]; Fig. 2), wherein the offset distance is in a direction away from the second flange (paragraph [0019]; Fig. 2); and a third region 24 connecting the first region and the second region (Fig. 2), the third region extending inwardly towards the longitudinal axis from an attachment location (unlabeled, but shown in Fig. 2) on the first region to the second region (Fig. 2), wherein the third region comprises a first thickness (Fig. 2), the second region comprises a second thickness defined between the axially outboard surface of 26 and the axially inboard surface at 30 (Fig. 2), and the first thickness is no greater than 75% of the second thickness (clearly shown in Fig. 2), and wherein the first region, the second region, and the third region are integral without any welds (paragraph [0018]; Fig. 2).
Regarding independent claim 20, Rickels discloses a vehicle wheel 10 comprising: a generally annular first region 12 comprising a first flange 14, a second flange 18 opposite the first flange, a continuous wall (comprised of 16, 20, 21, 22 and 23) disposed about a longitudinal axis of the vehicle wheel and extending from the first flange to the second flange (Fig. 2), the continuous wall comprising an inner surface and an outer surface (Fig. 2), and a first tire bead seat 22 and a second tire bead seat 20 defined on the outer surface (Fig. 2), the first tire bead seat comprising a bead seat width (Fig. 2); a second region 26 configured to mount to a vehicle axle (paragraph [0019]; Fig. 2), wherein the second region is offset from the first flange by an offset distance (paragraph [0019]; Fig. 2), wherein the offset distance is in a direction away from the second flange (paragraph [0019]; Fig. 2); and a third region 24 connecting the first region and the second region (Fig. 2), the third region extending inwardly towards the longitudinal axis from an attachment location (unlabeled, but shown in Fig. 2) on the first region to the second region (Fig. 2), wherein the attachment location is at a first distance from a point at an intersection of a radius of the first flange and an angle defined by the first tire bead seat (Fig. 2), wherein the first distance is at least 50% of the bead seat width (evident from Fig. 2), and wherein the first region, the second region, and the third region are integral without any welds (paragraph [0018]; Fig. 2), wherein the vehicle wheel is a forged vehicle wheel (paragraph [0018] states, in part, “Wheel 10 is forged and machined from a single piece of aluminum, or other alloy forging to create a wheel that is stiff, strong and lightweight”).
Rickels fails to expressly disclose an outer surface of the third region defining a concave curve from the second region to the first region as required by independent claims 1 and 20.
DeGeorge, however, as noted above, teaches a third region (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided above) having a concave outer surface which extends from the second region to the first region as shown in Fig. 7.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle wheel of Rickels by forming the outer surface of the third region to be concave from the second region to the first region, such as taught by DeGeorge, as a well-known alternative disc shape that would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing sufficient strength and rigidity for supporting loads during use of the wheel.
Regarding claims 2-4, Rickels further discloses the first tire bead seat comprises a bead seat width (Fig. 2) and the attachment location is at a first distance from a point at an intersection of a radius of the first flange and an angle defined by the first tired bead seat (Fig. 2), wherein the first distance is in a range of at least 50% of the bead seat width to no greater than 100% of the bead seat width (evident from Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Rickels further discloses the second region and the third region define a frustoconical shape or a frustum (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Rickels further discloses the second region transitions into the third region at an inflection point (unlabeled, but shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Rickels further discloses the first region comprises a bore 40 configured to receive a valve stem (paragraph [0020]), wherein the bore is adjacent to the attachment location (Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 13, Rickels further discloses the vehicle wheel comprises at least one of a metal, a metal alloy, and a composite material (paragraph [0018] states, in part, “Wheel 10 is forged and machined from a single piece of aluminum, or other alloy forging to create a wheel that is stiff, strong and lightweight”).
Regarding claim 14, Rickels further discloses the vehicle wheel comprises at least one of aluminum and an aluminum alloy, and wherein the vehicle wheel is a forged vehicle wheel (paragraph [0018] states, in part, “Wheel 10 is forged and machined from a single piece of aluminum, or other alloy forging to create a wheel that is stiff, strong and lightweight”).
Regarding claim 19, Rickels further discloses the offset distance is at least 0.394 inches (paragraph [0019] describes a spacing of “0.5 to 2.0 inches”).
Regarding claim 21 (as best understood by the Examiner in light of the section 112 issue noted above), Rickels further is considered to disclose the bore extends along the longitudinal axis a distance beyond a position of at least a portion of the first tire bead seat along the longitudinal axis inasmuch as the bore 40 shown in Fig. 4 is positioned in the same manner that Applicant’s bore is positioned (i.e., radially outward of the longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 22, Rickels further discloses the inflection point is radially outward from the second region (Fig. 2).
11. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rickels in view of DeGeorge, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Abe (US 5,577,810; previously cited and applied; hereinafter “Abe”).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, although Rickels appear to show the first thickness being no greater than 50% of the second thickness in Fig. 2, Rickels fails to expressly disclose the first thickness being in a range of at least 20% of the second thickness to no greater than 50% of the second thickness.
Abe, however, teaches a vehicle wheel with the first thickness being in a range of at least 20% of the second thickness to no greater than 50% of the second thickness (first thickness at portion 13 can be 50% of the second thickness at portion 15 as described in lines 48-63 of col. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle wheel of Rickels, as modified by DeGeorge, so that the first thickness is in a range of at least 20% of the second thickness to no greater than 50% of the second thickness, such as taught by Abe, with a reasonable expectation of success in minimizing the weight of the wheel while ensuring the wheel is sufficiently strong for its intended use.
12. Claims 10, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rickels in view of DeGeorge, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the Ultra One® with MagnaForce Alloy Aluminum Wheels Data Sheet (previously cited non-patent literature by Applicant; hereinafter “MagnaForce”).
Regarding claim 10, Rickels, as modified by DeGeorge, fails to expressly disclose the wheel having a load rating to mass ratio being at least 200.
MagnaForce, however, on page 5, teaches a wheel that a load rating to mass ratio of at least 200 (12,800 lb. load rating for a 52 lbs wheel).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle wheel of Rickels, as modified by DeGeorge, by forming the vehicle wheel to have a load rating to mass ratio of at least 200, such as taught by MagnaForce, with a reasonable expectation of success in permitting the use of the wheel in high load applications while minimizing the weight of the wheel.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, although Rickels further discloses the “wheel 10 may have a diameter of 16 to 24 inches” (paragraph [0018]), Rickels, as modified by DeGeorge, fails to expressly disclose the claimed nominal rim width.
MagnaForce, however, teaches a vehicle wheel on page 3 in which the first region comprises a nominal rim diameter in a range of 16 inches to 24 inches (22.5” on page 3) and a nominal rim width in a range of 5.5 inches to 17 inches (8.25” on page 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle wheel of Rickels, as modified by DeGeorge, by forming the vehicle wheel to have a nominal rim diameter in a range of 16 inches to 24 inches and a nominal rim width in a range of 5.5 inches to 17 inches, such as taught by MagnaForce, as a well-known vehicle wheel size that would have a reasonable expectation of success in allowing the use of the vehicle wheel in a number of different applications.
13. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rickels in view of DeGeorge and MagnaForce, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Johnson (US 2,975,511; previously cited and applied).
Rickels, as modified by DeGeorge and MagnaForce, fails to expressly disclose the first thickness being no greater than 0.394 inches.
Johnson, however, teaches a vehicle wheel in which the first thickness at 25 is no greater than 0.394 inches (lines 28-32 of col. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle wheel of Rickels, as modified by DeGeorge and MagnaForce, by forming the first thickness to be no greater than 0.394 inches, such as taught by Johnson, with a reasonable expectation of success in minimizing the weight of the wheel.
14. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rickels in view of DeGeorge and MagnaForce, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Weinmann (US 4,708,397; previously cited and applied).
Rickels, as modified by DeGeorge and MagnaForce, fails to expressly disclose the second thickness being at least 0.630 inches.
Weinmann, however, teaches a vehicle wheel in which the second thickness can be at least 0.630 inches (lines 19-23 of col. 1; lines 15-21 of col. 3; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle wheel of Rickels, as modified by DeGeorge and MagnaForce, by forming the second thickness to be at least 0.630 inches, such as taught by Weinmann, with a reasonable expectation of success in ensuring the wheel is sufficiently strong and rigid at a portion thereof that is subject to high stresses and loads.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
15. The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 10 November 2025 and Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615