DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment filed 02/18/2026 is accepted and entered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 02/18/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Roos and Hartwell, in combination with Shuler, are now cited to disclose the limitations of the amended claims, as set forth below.
Applicant did not specifically argue the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35, 37, 38, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roos (US 2019/0184075) in view of Hartwell et al (US 2016/0030646) further in view of Shuler et al (US 2017/0028113).
Regarding Claim 35, Roos discloses a wound filler for use with negative-pressure treatment (¶ [0001]), the wound filler comprising:
a manifold layer comprising a first layer (organ contact layer 16, Figs. 4-5) having closed cells (sealed chambers 28, Figs. 4-5) and apertures (¶ [0061]; slits or holes can be provided in the sheet to make the sheet liquid permeable) configured to manifold fluid through the first layer (¶ [0061]), wherein the first layer comprises two films (top sheet 30 and bottom sheet 32, Figs. 4-5; ¶ [0063]) bonded together to define the closed cells (28, Figs. 4-5; ¶ [0063]), and wherein the apertures (¶ [0061]) are positioned between the closed cells (28, Figs. 4-5; ¶ [0061] in order to have the layer be liquid permeable while still having the sealed chambers 28, the slits or holes must be placed between the sealed chambers) and extend through both of the films (¶ [0061]).
Roos is silent whether the apertures are distributed in a pattern that extends across an entire surface of both of the films, and a second layer and a third layer positioned on opposing sides of the manifold layer, the second layer and the third layer each comprising a film of a hydrophobic material and perforations or fenestrations configured to transfer fluid through the film.
Hartwell teaches a negative pressure wound dressing, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with a wound contact layer (105, Fig. 1) where the wound contact layer has apertures (¶ [0074]) distributed in a pattern that extends across an entire surface of the film (105, Fig. 1) to allow the dressing to be adequately liquid permeable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manifold layer of Roos to have the apertures distributed in a pattern that extends across an entire surface of both of the films, as taught by Hartwell, to ensure the dressing is adequately liquid permeable throughout the entire dressing (as motivated by Hartwell ¶ [0074]).
Roos/Hartwell is silent regarding a second layer and a third layer positioned on opposing sides of the manifold layer, the second layer and the third layer each comprising a film of a hydrophobic material and perforations or fenestrations configured to transfer fluid through the film.
Shuler teaches a wound dressing for use with negative pressure wound therapy, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with a second layer (perforated layer 142, Fig. 2) and a third layer (perforated layer 144, Fig. 2) positioned on opposing sides of the manifold layer (130, Fig. 2), the second layer (142, Fig. 2) and the third layer (144, Fig. 2) each comprising a film of a hydrophobic material and perforations or fenestrations configured to transfer fluid through the film (¶ [0037-0038, 0071]), where the second and third layers facilitate tissue irrigation and debridement, distribute negative pressure, and prevent tissue ingrowth (¶ [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wound dressing of Roos/Hartwell to include a second layer and a third layer positioned on opposing sides of the manifold layer, the second layer and the third layer each comprising a film of hydrophobic material and perforations or fenestrations configured to transfer fluid through the film, as taught by Shuler. These additional layers help to facilitate tissue irrigation and debridement, distribute negative pressure within the sealed space, and prevent tissue ingrowth (as motivated by Shuler ¶ [0038]).
Regarding Claim 37, Roos further discloses the closed cells (28, Figs. 4-5) contain fluid (¶ [0063]; air is a fluid).
Regarding Claim 38, the combination of Roos/Hartwell/Shuler discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 35.
Roos/Hartwell/Shuler further discloses the film of the second layer (Shuler 142, Fig. 2) and the third layer (Shuler 144, Fig. 2) is a polyethylene film (Shuler ¶ [0066]).
Regarding Claim 42, Roos further discloses the closed cells (28, Figs. 4-5) have a diameter of between 1.5 mm and 3 mm (¶ [0066]); 3 mm is fully within the claimed range).
Claims 36 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roos (US 2019/0184075) in view of Hartwell et al (US 2016/0030646) further in view of Shuler et al (US 2017/0028113) further in view of Riesinger (WO 2011/121127; paragraph numbers reference the translation attached to the Office Action dated 11/06/2024).
Regarding Claims 36 and 41, Roos/Hartwell/Shuler is silent whether the manifold layer further comprises a fourth layer having blisters and apertures configured to manifold fluid through the fourth layer, wherein the blisters comprise an open cavity; and wherein the manifold layer further comprises a fourth layer having blisters and apertures configured to manifold fluid through the manifold layer, wherein the blisters of the fourth layer comprise an empty cavity that is open on one side of the fourth layer; and a fifth layer having blisters and apertures configured to manifold fluid through the manifold layer, wherein the blisters of the fifth layer comprise an empty cavity that is open on one side of the fifth layer.
Riesinger teaches a wound dressing, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with a layer (bubble wrap 35, Figs. 13 and 14) having blisters (air bubbles 36, Figs. 13 and 14) and apertures (perforations 37, Figs. 13 and 14) configured to manifold fluid through the layer (¶ [0058]), wherein the blisters (36, Figs. 13 and 14) comprise an empty cavity that is open on one side of the layer (as seen in Figs. 13 and 14). These air bubbles assist in keeping the wound space warm (¶ [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the dressing of Roos/Hartwell/Shuler to comprise a fourth layer having blisters and apertures configured to manifold fluid through the manifold layer, wherein the blisters of the fourth layer comprise an empty cavity that is open on one side of the fourth layer; and a fifth layer having blisters and apertures configured to manifold fluid through the manifold layer, wherein the blisters of the fifth layer comprise an empty cavity that is open on one side of the fifth layer, as taught by Riesinger to ensure the wound space is kept warm by the addition of two insulating layers above and below the primary wound manifold (¶ [0059]).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roos (US 2019/0184075) in view of Hartwell et al (US 2016/0030646) further in view of Shuler et al (US 2017/0028113) further in view of Vinton (US 2012/0046603).
Regarding Claim 39, Roos/Hartwell/Shuler is silent whether the perforations or fenestrations comprise linear fenestrations, each of the linear fenestrations having a length not greater than 4 millimeters.
Vinton teaches a dressing (41, Figs. 3-4) with fluid restrictions comprising linear fenestrations (slits 51, Figs. 3-4), each of the linear fenestrations (51, Figs. 3-4) having a length not greater than 4 millimeters (¶ [0016, 0067]; 2 millimeters is the preferred length and is used in the example embodiment, and 2 millimeters is not greater than 4 millimeters). A length of 2 millimeters has shown to be beneficial in the regulation of exudate removal (¶ [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the perforations/fenestrations of Roos/Hartwell/Shuler to comprise linear fenestrations having a length not greater than 4 millimeters, as taught by Vinton, since a length of 2 millimeters has been shown to be beneficial in the regulation of exudate removal (as motivated by Vinton ¶ [0016]).
Conclusion
/JESSICA ARBLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781