DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 08/28/2025 have been fully considered.
Claims 1, 31-37, 39-44, and 46-51 are pending for examination. Claims 2-30, 38 and 45 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 31-32, 34-37, 39-43, 46, and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zand et al. (USPGPUB 2009/0234248 – cited in previous action), in view of Wilson et al. (USPGPUB 2009/0216097 – applicant cited) and further in view of Langan et al. (USPGPUB 2004/0106891). In regard to claims 1, 31, 42, and 49-50, Zand discloses a surgical instrument/ stapler anvil (Figs. 1-14 and associated descriptions; [0055]) configured to sense an injectable light re-emitting probe to resolve tissue oxygenation (tissue oxygenation and injected fluorescein dye/ fluorescent medium/ dye/ Ruthenium, [0016]; [0056]; [0066]; [0081]), the surgical instrument/ stapler anvil comprising: at least one optical emitter that is configured to excite the injectable light re-emitting probe within an absorption band of the injectable light re-emitting probe (light source(s) for fluorescent medium/ dye/ Ruthenium, [0056] and [0081]); at least one optical detector configured to receive re-emitted light from the injectable light re-emitting probe (light receivers, [0056] and [0081]); a temperature sensor that is configured to detect a temperature of the target tissue (sensor for temperature, [0082]); and a signal processor that is configured to resolve the tissue oxygenation based on the received re-emitted light (element 131, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions; tissue oxygenation using fluorescence based techniques/ time resolved methods, [0056]; [0081]), wherein the signal processor is configured to resolve the tissue oxygenation of at least one point of the target tissue by analyzing the received re-emitted light using time domain techniques (tissue oxygen content/ oxygen quantities…using time resolved methods, [0056] and [0081]), and wherein the instrument is further configured to detect at least one of blood oxygenation, pulse rate, pulse presence, pulse rhythm, tissue perfusion, oxygen delivery, oxygen utilization, tissue characterization, tissue general health, tissue flow dynamics, tissue immunologic activity, tissue pathogen concentration, tissue neoplastic cell content, or tissue dysplastic cell content ([0016] and [0056]).
Zand does not specifically disclose the signal processor is configured to calibrate the tissue oxygenation by using the temperature detected by the temperature sensor.
Wilson teaches an oxygen sensor probe for internal monitoring tissue oxygen (abstract; Figs. 1-3 and associated descriptions) comprises at least one optical emitter that is configured to excite an injectable light re-emitting probe and at least one optical detector configured to receive re-emitted light from the injectable light re-emitting probe (Figs. 1-3 and associated descriptions) and a processor ([0072]) configured to calibrate tissue oxygenation by using the temperature detected at measurement site (Figs. 1-3 and associated descriptions; Stern-Volmer relationship, [0032]; [0050]; calibration, [0058-0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument/ surgical stapler anvil (Zand) to incorporate the temperature calibration functions as taught by Wilson, since both systems are optical tissue oxygenation measuring devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that temperature readings at the measurement side can be utilized to calibrate detected oxygen information (see Wilson). The rationale would have been to obtain more accurate tissue oxygenation information.
Zand as modified by Wilson does not specifically disclose an applicator that is configured to contain or be coupled to a vessel containing a medium comprising the injectable light re-emitting probe, wherein the applicator comprises one or more needles that is configured to inject the medium into the target tissue.
Langan teaches a localizing needle with fluid delivery (Figs. 1-3 and 15-17 and associated descriptions) comprises an applicator (elements 10, 12, 14, and/or 18, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions) that is configured to contain or be coupled to a vessel (coupled to syringe 28, Figs. 1 and 17 and associated descriptions) containing a medium comprising the injectable dye (Fig. 17 and associated descriptions; dye, [0069]), wherein the applicator comprises one or more needles that is configured to inject the medium into the target tissue (element 18, Figs. 1-3 and 15-17 and associated descriptions; target tissue, Fig. 17 and associated descriptions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument/ surgical stapler anvil (Zand) to incorporate the configuration(s) of the syringe and needle and associated elements/function as taught by Langan, since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the configuration(s) as taught by facilitate injecting dye to a specific/ selected tissue site of the patient (see Langan). The rationale would have been to injecting the light re-emitting probe into/ near the target tissue site.
In regard to claim 32, Zand as modified by Wilson and Langan discloses the signal processor is configured to resolve the tissue oxygenation based on a lifetime of the received re-emitted light ([0056]; [0066]; [0081] of Zand).
In regard to claim 34, Zand as modified by Wilson discloses the applicator is at least one injector that is configured to inject the medium into the target tissue (injection, [0016]; [0056] of Zand; element 18, Figs. 1-3 and 15-17 and associated descriptions; target tissue, Fig. 17 and associated descriptions of Langan).
In regard to claim 35, Zand as modified by Wilson and Langan discloses comprising an interrogator instrument that is configured to interrogate the target tissue (Fig. 13 and associated descriptions; [0079] of Zand).
In regard to claim 36, Zand as modified by Wilson and Langan discloses the surgical instrument is a flexible substrate having a tissue interfacing surface (elements 1313 and 1311, Fig. 13 and associated descriptions; [0079] of Zand).
In regard to claim 37, Zand as modified by Wilson and Langan discloses the signal processor makes a determination of an operation success based on a resolution of the tissue oxygenation (Fig. 14 and associated descriptions; [0080] of Zand).
In regard to claim 39, Zand as modified by Wilson and Langan discloses at least one sensor configured to monitor interaction forces of at least one of compression pressure and tissue tension of the tissue (compression pressure, and tension on tissues, [0066]; pressure sensor 509, Fig. 5 and associated descriptions; [0071]; compression force, [0071-0073]; Claim 9 of Zand).
In regard to claim 40, Zand as modified by Wilson and Langan discloses the injectable light re-emitting probe is a phosphorescent probe that has multiple absorption wavelengths (Ruthenium, [0056]; [0081] of Zand).
In regard to claim 41, Zand as modified by Wilson and Langan discloses the surgical instrument is communicatively coupled to a base station (base station, [0021]; [0055]; claim 12 of Zand).
In regard to claim 43, Zand as modified by Wilson and Langan discloses the surgical stapler anvil is communicatively coupled to a base station (base station, [0021]; [0055]; claim 12 of Zand).
In regard to claim 44, Zand as modified by Wilson and Langan discloses wherein the signal processor makes a determination of an operation success based on the resolution of the tissue oxygenation (Fig. 14 and associated descriptions; [0080] of Zand).
In regard to claim 46, Zand as modified by Wilson and Langan discloses at least one sensor configured to monitor interaction forces of at least one of compression pressure and tissue tension of the tissue (compression pressure, and tension on tissues, [0066]; pressure sensor 509, Fig. 5 and associated descriptions; [0071]; compression force, [0071-0073]; Claim 9 of Zand).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Zand, Wilson and Langan as applied to claims 1, 31-32, 34-37, 39-43, 46, and 49-50 above, and further in view of Sonnenschein et al. (USPGPUB 2003/0163029 – cited in previous action). In regard to claim 33, Zand as modified by Wilson and Langan discloses the surgical instrument comprises a stapler anvil ([0055] of Zand) but does not specifically disclose the surgical instrument is an endoscopic instrument.
Sonnenschein teaches an endoscope instrument comprises a stapler anvil containing optical components (Fig. 10 and associated descriptions; [0086-0090]; [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument (Zand as modified by Wilson) to be integrated in an endoscopic instrument as taught by Sonnenschein, since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that endoscopic instruments facilitate internal optical/ imaging measurements of tissue. The rationale would have been to obtain tissue information in addition to endoscopic functions.
Claims 47-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Zand, Wilson and Langan as applied to claims 1, 31-32, 34-37, 39-43, and 46 above, and further in view of Carp et al. (USPGPUB 2008/0004531 – cited in previous action). In regard to claims 47-48, Zand as modified by Wilson and Langan discloses to measure tissue oxygenation (tissue oxygenation using fluorescence based techniques/ time resolved methods, [0056]; [0081] of Zand) and interaction forces of at least one of compression pressure and tissue tension of the tissue (compression pressure, and tension on tissues, [0066]; pressure sensor 509, Fig. 5 and associated descriptions; [0071]; compression force, [0071-0073]; Claim 9 of Zand) but does not specifically disclose the signal processor is further configured to resolve the tissue oxygenation in a gated manner to at least one of an interaction force or a physiological parameter.
Carp teaches to time resolve tissue oxygenation in a gated manner to at least one of an interaction force (Fig. 4 and associated descriptions; [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument/ stapler anvil (Zand as modified by Wilson) to incorporate the function of resolve the tissue oxygenation in a gated manner to at least one of an interaction force as taught by Carp, since both devices are optical tissue oxygenation measurement systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that tissue oxygenation varies with tissue compression force/ pressure (see Carp). The rationale would have been to obtain more information regarding tissue compression, blood flow and tissue oxygenation.
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zand in view of Wilson and further in view of Sonnenschein. In regard to claim 51, Zand discloses a surgical instrument/ stapler anvil (Figs. 1-14 and associated descriptions; [0055]) configured to sense an injectable light re-emitting probe to resolve tissue oxygenation (tissue oxygenation and injected fluorescein dye/ fluorescent medium/ dye/ Ruthenium, [0016]; [0056]; [0066]; [0081]), the surgical instrument/ stapler anvil comprising: at least one optical emitter that is configured to excite the injectable light re-emitting probe within an absorption band of the injectable light re-emitting probe (light source(s) for fluorescent medium/ dye/ Ruthenium, [0056] and [0081]); at least one optical detector configured to receive re-emitted light from the injectable light re-emitting probe (light receivers, [0056] and [0081]); a temperature sensor that is configured to detect a temperature of the target tissue (sensor for temperature, [0082]); and a signal processor that is configured to resolve the tissue oxygenation based on the received re-emitted light (element 131, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions; tissue oxygenation using fluorescence based techniques/ time resolved methods, [0056]; [0081]), wherein the signal processor is configured to resolve the tissue oxygenation of multiple points of the target tissue by analyzing the received re-emitted light using time domain techniques (tissue oxygen content/ oxygen quantities…using time resolved methods, [0056] and [0081]).
Zand does not specifically disclose the signal processor is configured to calibrate the tissue oxygenation by using the temperature detected by the temperature sensor.
Wilson teaches an oxygen sensor probe for internal monitoring tissue oxygen (abstract; Figs. 1-3 and associated descriptions) comprises at least one optical emitter that is configured to excite an injectable light re-emitting probe and at least one optical detector configured to receive re-emitted light from the injectable light re-emitting probe (Figs. 1-3 and associated descriptions) and a processor ([0072]) configured to calibrate tissue oxygenation by using the temperature detected at measurement site (Figs. 1-3 and associated descriptions; Stern-Volmer relationship, [0032]; [0050]; calibration, [0058-0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument/ surgical stapler anvil (Zand) to incorporate the temperature calibration functions as taught by Wilson, since both systems are optical tissue oxygenation measuring devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that temperature readings at the measurement side can be utilized to calibrate detected oxygen information (see Wilson). The rationale would have been to obtain more accurate tissue oxygenation information.
Zand as modified by Wilson discloses the surgical instrument comprises a stapler anvil ([0055] of Zand) but does not specifically disclose the surgical instrument is an endoscopic instrument.
Sonnenschein teaches an endoscope instrument comprises a stapler anvil containing optical components (Fig. 10 and associated descriptions; [0086-0090]; [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument (Zand as modified by Wilson) to be integrated in an endoscopic instrument as taught by Sonnenschein, since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that endoscopic instruments facilitate internal optical/ imaging measurements of tissue. The rationale would have been to obtain tissue information in addition to endoscopic functions.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 31-37, 39-44, and 46-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 6-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,420,967. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-2 and 6-16 of ‘967 anticipate claims 1, 31-37, 39-44, and 46-48 of present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and argument with respect to claims 1 and 42 filed on 08/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are deemed to be moot in views of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regard to claim 51, applicant alleged that “it would not have been obvious to modify the endoscope of Sonnenschein to include the features of the endoscopic instruments as recited and there would not have been a reasonable expectation of success”. In response, the rejection was made by “modify the surgical instrument (Zand as modified by Wilson) to be integrated in an endoscopic instrument as taught by Sonnenschein” and the combined endoscope instrument facilitates obtaining tissue information in addition to endoscopic functions (see above). Examples of the combination/ integration of the endoscopic system and surgical stapler can be found in at least USPNs 5,131,379; 5,197,649; and 7,338,505. It is noted that the claim recites transitional phrase “comprising” which is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps (see MPEP 2111.03). The recited endoscopic instrument does not exclude an integrated surgical instrument/ stapler anvil and associated elements to perform the recited features/ functions. It is noted that the preamble of claim 51 merely recites “an endoscopic instrument” and the body of the claim recites the elements comprised in the endoscopic instrument. It is interpreted that the elements are comprised in any part(s)/ location(s) associated with the endoscopic instrument.
In regard to the double patenting rejection, applicant requests the rejection be held, see page 9 of the Remarks filed on 08/28/2025. Thus, the rejection is maintained for the reasons of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHU CHUAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791