DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42-44, 48, 62-65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akinc et al (US 2013/0317081, November 2013, cited from IDS) as evidenced by Fryar et al (National Center for Health Statistics, 2016, 3: 39, cited from IDS).
Concerning claims 42-43, 48 Akinc et al teach a dsRNA in Table 15 on page 79 named AD-57213.1 comprising sense and antisense strands 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 13 and 14, with 3’ end of sense strand conjugated to the same compound as in instant claim 42, named L96 and shown in paragraph [0017]. Further Akinc et al provides kits comprising such dsRNA with the means for administering it to a subject (see paragraph [0046]), which can be human (see paragraph [0007]). Means for administration can be injection device for subcutaneous administration to a human (see paragraph [0368]). Concerning claims 62-65 human subject can be hemophilia A or B patient with or without inhibitors (see paragraph [0119]). Concerning claim 44 Akinc et al teach that dsRNA can be formulated in phosphate - buffered saline (PBS) (see paragraph [0379]). Akinc et al further teach that dsRNA can be administered in a variety of doses from about 0.5 mg/kg to 50 mg/kg (see paragraph [0043]).
Akinc et al do not teach specific dose of dsRNA of 50 mg.
Fryar et al provides evidence for average weight of adult male, 88.8 kg, or adult female, 76.4 kg, human (see pages 7 and 9). Given the administration doses taught by Akinc et al as above, the range of doses taught is between 76.4x0.5=38.2 mg and 88.8x50=4440 mg. According to MPEP 2144.05, if the claimed range lie inside range disclosed by prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain dose of dsRNA such as 50 mg based on teachings of Akinc et al as evidenced by Fryar et al. Akinc et al teach a range of doses between 38 mg and 4440 mg, making it obvious to obtain a number of fixed dosages such as 40 mg, 50 mg, 60 mg, etc. for treatment of patients of various weights. MPEP 2143 (I) (E) teach that it is obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore a single dosage of 50 mg will be obvious based on references above.
Limitation “for routine prophylaxis of hemophilia A or B” is of intended use and therefore is not given patentable weight.
Double Patenting
Claims 42-44, 48, 62-65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable overclaims 1-62 of U.S. Patent No. 9,127,274. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘274 recite the same dsRNA conjugate as in instant claims, which can be administered for treatment of hemophilia. Further disclosure of ‘274 describes kits comprising dsRNAs of the invention and means for its administration (see lines 12-20 in column 10), including devices for subcutaneous injection (see lines 30-40 in column 93) and varying dosages of administration (see column 9), such dosages range can be converted to the same range as in 103 rejection above using data provided by Fryar et al, therefore making it obvious to arrive at instant invention.
Claims 42-44, 48, 62-65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable overclaims 1-55 of U.S. Patent No. 9,376,680. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘680 recite the same dsRNA conjugate as in instant claims, which can be administered for treatment of hemophilia A or B. Further disclosure of ‘680 describes kits comprising dsRNAs of the invention and means for its administration (see lines 15-25 in column 10), including devices for subcutaneous injection (see lines 30-40 in column 93) and varying dosages of administration (see column 9), such dosages range can be converted to the same range as in 103 rejection above using data provided by Fryar et al, therefore making it obvious to arrive at instant invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Concerning 103 rejection Applicant argues on page 5 that instantly claimed kit is intended for administration to people of various weights. In reply at first such limitation is absent from instant claims and at second even if such limitation would be present, it would not be given patentable weight, because this is intended use limitation.
Further Applicant argues that one of skill in the art would not have reasonable expectation of success arriving at instant invention to create a single dosage unit of 50 mg. In response Akinc reference does teach only weight-based dosages. But one of the ordinary skill in the art is capable of creating any single dosage units such as 10 mg, 20 mg, etc. of any medication, so that the drug can be administered by using only a single dose or a number of single doses, making it obvious to make such single dosage units with a reasonable expectation of success.
Further Applicant argues that there is no reason to choose 50 mg dose based on teachings of Akinc and Fryar. In response MPEP 2143 (I) (E) teach that it is obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of success. Akinc teach weight-based administration, making it obvious to create any single dosage units such as 10 mg, 20 mg, etc, including 50 mg. Any of those dosage units are obvious. The fact that a number of potential dosage units is large does not make any of such dosage units non-obvious. Large number is still a finite number as taught in MPEP 2143 (I) (E).
Applicant keeps arguing on page 6 that “Knowing the average weight of a subject does not provide any motivation to administer a single dose of 50 mg to subjects, regardless of weight, or to produce a kit comprising one single dosage unit of 50 mg of the recited dsRNA molecule.” In response Applicant here conflates two issues: method of administration – “motivation to administer” and kit production. Method of administration is not being claimed in instant claims, therefore it is not relevant to instant claims. Production of the kit is different from method of administration and is made obvious by the references of record.
Double patenting rejections are maintained for the reasons of record.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637