DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42-44, 48, 62-65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akinc et al (US 2013/0317081, November 2013, cited from IDS) as evidenced by Fryar et al (National Center for Health Statistics, 2016, 3: 39, cited from IDS).
Concerning claims 42-43, 48 Akinc et al teach a dsRNA in Table 15 on page 79 named AD-57213.1 comprising sense and antisense strands 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 13 and 14, with 3' end of sense strand conjugated to the same compound as in instant claim 42, named L96 and shown in paragraph [0017]. Further Akinc et al provides kits comprising such dsRNA with the means for administering it to a subject (see paragraph [0046]), which can be human (see paragraph [0007]). Means for administration can be injection device for subcutaneous administration to a human (see paragraph [0368]). Concerning claims 62-65 human subject can be hemophilia A or B patient with or without inhibitors (see paragraph [0119]). Concerning claim 44 Akinc et al teach that dsRNA can be formulated in phosphate - buffered saline (PBS) (see paragraph [0379]). Akinc et al further teach that dsRNA can be administered in a variety of doses from about 0.5 mg/kg to 50 mg/kg (see paragraph [0043]).
Akinc et al do not teach specific dose of dsRNA of 50 mg.
Fryar et al provides evidence for average weight of adult male, 88.8 kg, or adult female, 76.4 kg, human (see pages 7 and 9). Given the administration doses taught by Akinc et al as above, the range of doses taught is between 76.4x0.5=38.2 mg and 88.8x50=4440 mg. According to MPEP 2144.05, if the claimed range lie inside range disclosed by prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain dose of dsRNA such as 50 mg based on teachings of Akinc et al as evidenced by Fryar et al. Akinc et al teach a range of doses between 38 mg and 4440 mg, making it obvious to obtain a number of fixed dosages such as 40 mg, 50 mg, 60 mg, etc. for treatment of patients of various weights. MPEP 2143 (I) (E) teach that it is obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore a single dosage of 50 mg will be obvious based on references above.
Limitation "for routine prophylaxis of hemophilia A or B" is of intended use and therefore is not given patentable weight.
Double Patenting
Claims 42-44, 48, 62-65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable overclaims 1-62 of U.S. Patent No. 9,127,274. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from '274 recite the same dsRNA conjugate as in instant claims, which can be administered for treatment of hemophilia. Further disclosure of '274 describes kits comprising dsRNAs of the invention and means for its administration (see lines 12-20 in column 10), including devices for subcutaneous injection (see lines 30-40 in column 93) and varying dosages of administration (see column 9), such dosages range can be converted to the same range as in 103 rejection above using data provided by Fryar et al, therefore making it obvious to arrive at instant invention.
Claims 42-44, 48, 62-65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable overclaims 1-55 of U.S. Patent No. 9,376,680. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from '680 recite the same dsRNA conjugate as in instant claims, which can be administered for treatment of hemophilia A or B. Further disclosure of '680 describes kits comprising dsRNAs of the invention and means for its administration (see lines 15-25 in column 10), including devices for subcutaneous injection (see lines 30-40 in column 93) and varying dosages of administration (see column 9), such dosages range can be converted to the same range as in 103 rejection above using data provided by Fryar et al, therefore making it obvious to arrive at instant invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Concerning 103 rejection and double patenting rejections Applicant argues that thousands of possible doses are not a finite number of predictable solutions. In response such number is exact finite number, even if it is large. Further Applicant argues that there is no reasonable expectation of success. In response it is reasonable to create any dosage of a drug, thus there is a reasonable expectation of success of creating any dose of a drug. All rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637