DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 are pending and are examined herein.
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 have been Amended. Claim(s) 7 and 14 previously Cancelled.
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on July 22, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 are pending in the application. The Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1 and 8 have overcome the rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on April 22, 2026. However, the rejection of independent claim 15 under 35 USC § 112(b) is maintained because the amendments to claim 15 do not resolve or address all of the identified issues. The present amendments have been fully considered and are addressed in the rejections below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, filed on 07/22/2026 (see Remarks pp. 13-15), have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach, disclose, or suggest all claim elements as provided in claims 1, 8, and 15, at least as currently amended.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that the claims, as currently drafted, do not introduce any new features that were not already defined in the previously presented claim. The addition of “in performing inference on the input data” and “all the remaining machine learning tasks” are clarifications of the subject matter already defined in the prior recitation of “during an inference phase” and “the remaining machine learning tasks,” respectively. However, the amendments, which remove certain limitations, are intended to overcome the 112(b) issues.
Additionally, Applicant’s arguments do not address all of the cited references used to reject the claims, in particular, the disclosure of Wang. It appears that the applicant’s arguments address the cited references individually, whereas the rejection is based on the combination of Ruiz in view of Wang and further in view of Lettich. It is noted that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to Applicant’s argument that Ruiz does not teach the limitation of “repeatedly evaluating by the ensemble model an exit condition for interruption of all remaining machine learning tasks ... by computing a deterministic function associated with the machine learning task outcomes obtained thus far…” The argument amount to general allegation without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes over the cited references.
As explained in the Non-Final Action, Ruiz discloses the core process and operations of the claims. In particular Ruiz teaches an HNE framework that provides input x to a pre-trained ensemble of base learners (i.e., multiple tree-based networks), executes the individual learners in parallel to perform inference on the input data, evaluates a summation based prediction function (
y
b
=
1
2
b
∑
n
=
1
2
b
F
(
x
;
θ
n
)
) of outputs obtained so far, and interrupts the execution of the individual networks based on accuracy/computation trade-off. (See Ruiz, Pp. 1-3, Sections 1 and 3). Applicant’s argument that Ruiz discloses “shar[ing] of parameters and computation" rather than task executing in parallel performing inferences on the input data” is unpersuasive. Ruiz disclosure of the parameter sharing via group convolutions is the process that implements the tree-based models to be executed in parallel to perform inference on the input data, so that “all the models can be computed with a single forward-pass.” (See Ruiz, P. 3, Section 3, and Fig. 2.)
Furthermore, it is also noted that, while Ruiz may not explicitly define the individual pre-trained learners as “decision tee base learners of the ensemble model,” describes the “exit condition” evaluation by using an arithmetic mean compared to a threshold to determine convergence. Wang teaches these limitations.
Specifically, Wang explicitly teaches an ensemble of already trained gradient boosted regression trees (i.e.., decision tree base learners) and an early-stopping mechanism in which the accumulated sum
∑
t
=
1
r
f
t
(
x
)
outputs of the base models is compared against positive and negative thresholds to determine early stopping of the remaining base models. (See Wang, Abstract, P. 2, Section 1; P. 11, Section 5.5). Wang further states “In this article, we take the ensemble as given, and propose a method for speeding up a given already-trained ensemble. Last, another strategy for fast evaluation of ensembles is to evaluate the base models in parallel.” (See Wang, p.4, Section: 2).
Accordingly, Wang discloses (i) that the base learners of the ensemble are pre-trained decision (regression) trees, (ii) a deterministic function (the accumulated sum of individual base-model outputs) computed from classification tasks outcomes obtained so far, (iii) an exit condition in which that accumulated function is compared to a threshold to interrupt evaluation of the remaining base models (early stopping mechanism), (iv) discuss the parallel execution of the ensemble models.
With respect to the applicant’s added recitation of “in order to perform by each of the pre-trained decision tree base learners inferences on the input data.” This represents a statement of intended use of the previously recited step of executing machine learning tasks with a view to obtain respective task outcomes. Such intended-use language does not introduce any new functional or structural aspect to the claim. Therefore, it does not limit the scope of the claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation. See MPEP § 2111.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that Lettich fails to teach the claimed parallel processing of the input data across distinct decision tree base learners via graph traversal. Applicant argues that Lettich discusses parallelism in the context of processing of different documents or different part of a document. Applicant relies particularly on Lettich’s statement that SIMD allows “the parallel execution of the same operation on different data items.” This argument is not persuasive because it considers only one of three possible general strategies for parallelizing QS. In particular, Lettich states “Given a set of query-document pairs, we want to investigate the following scoring parallelization strategies: Inter-document parallelism: multiple documents are evaluated in parallel; Intra-document parallelism: multiple features, trees, or nodes are evaluated in parallel; Hybrid parallelism: combining the two strategies above.” (See Lettich, P. 3, Section: 3).
Lettich is not limited to processing different documents. It explicitly teaches partitioning the scoring of a single document into subtask executed in parallel across multiple trees, features, and nodes. Specifically, Lettich teaches “The key idea behind this strategy is to partition the scoring of a single document into subtasks that can be executed in parallel… Subtasks can be naturally identified in QS by decomposing the work performed over features; more precisely, each subtask consists in processing the list of tuples ðg; mask; hÞ2N f associated with a single feature ff, and updating the corresponding leafindexes. Note that different tuples in N f, related to different features ff, may be associated with the same tree Th.” (See Lettich, P. 4, Col. 1, Section: 3).
Lettich further explains that its hybrid approach uses multiple threads to score each document. (See Lettich, P. 7, Section: 6.2). Lettich also teaches that the parallel processing is performed via graph traversal of individual decision trees, where each tree’s contribution is identified by “traversing the tree with the input instance x” until the exit leaf is reached. (See Lettich, P. 4, Section: 3; P. 7, Section: 6.2; Algorithm 4).
Accordingly, Lettich discloses that input document at least partially the same can be processed in parallel across multiple decision trees, by multiple threads that traverse different decision trees of the ensemble simultaneously until the exit leaf of each tree is identified. This directly corresponds to the claim limitation “the input data at least partially the same for each of the pre-trained decision tree base learners and the input data is processed in parallel within each of distinct pre-trained decision tree base learners via a graph traversal.”
For at least the above reasons, the combination of Ruiz, Wang, and Lettich teaches each and every limitation of independent claims 1, 8, and 15 as currently presented. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained.
The examiner refers to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for more details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Currently Amended Claim 15, the claim recites limitations that render the scope of the claimed invention indefinite for the following reasons:
The claim recites the limitations “repeatedly evaluating by the ensemble model an exit condition for interruption of the remaining machine learning tasks within each tree of the pre-trained decision tree base learners by computing a deterministic function ... wherein the deterministic function is associated with an arithmetic mean of values outputted by the pre-trained decision tree base learners ...” lines 25-33. The claim recitation is internally inconsistent with the claimed deterministic function. Specifically, the claim recites that the exit condition is evaluated “within each tree,” which suggest the evaluation is performed per decision tree base learner, while also reciting that the deterministic function comprises an arithmetic mean of values outputted by the pre-trained decision tree base learners, which defines an ensemble level aggregation across multiple decision base learners. As such, it is unclear whether the exit condition is evaluated individually within each tree, or the exit condition is evaluated at the ensemble level based on outputs from multiple trees. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised by the scope of the deterministic function and the corresponding exit condition evaluation. For examination, the claim limitation is interpreted as the deterministic function is computed across outputs of multiple decision tree base learners, and the exit condition is evaluated at the ensemble level.
For at least the above reasons, claim 15 does not particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention and it therefore indefinite under 35 USC § 112(b).
Regarding dependent Claims 16-20, dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the respective parent claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz et al., (NPL: “Anytime Inference with Distilled Hierarchical Neural Ensembles.” (2020)) in view of Wang et al., (NPL: “Quit When You Can: Efficient Evaluation of Ensembles with Ordering Optimization.” (2018)), and further in view of Lettich et al. (NPL: "Parallel Traversal of Large Ensembles of Decision Trees." (2018)). Hereinafter, the combination of Ruiz, Wang, and Lettich teaches the following:
Regarding Currently Amended Claim 1,
Ruiz discloses the following:
A computer-implemented method of utilizing an ensemble model associated with a plurality of pre-trained decision … base learners to accelerate accelerating machine learning inferences performed by the ensemble model during an inference phase, and thereby save time and computer resources, the method comprising: (Ruiz, [Abstract] “Inference in deep neural networks can be computationally ex pensive, and networks capable of anytime inference are important in scenarios where the amount of compute or quantity of input data varies over time. In such networks the inference process can interrupted to provide a result faster, or continued to obtain a more accurate result. We propose Hierarchical Neural Ensembles (HNE), a novel framework to embed an ensemble of multiple networks in a hierarchical tree structure, sharing intermediate layers. In HNE we control the complexity of inference on-the-fly by evaluating more or less models in the ensemble.” [P. 1, Section: 1] “In particular, we focus on methods capable of any time inference, i.e. methods where the inference process can be interrupted for early results, or continued for more accurate results.”)
providing input data to an ensemble model for the ensemble model to perform inferences on the input data, the ensemble model associated with a plurality of pre-trained decision … base learners, the plurality of pre-trained decision … base learners ready for performing machine-learning inferences without training the pre-trained decision … base learners; (Ruiz, [P. 3, Section: 3] “HNE embed an ensemble of deep networks computing an output
y
E
=
1
N
=
∑
n
=
1
N
F
n
(
x
;
θ
n
)
from an input x, where Fn is a network with parameters θn and N is the total number of models.” [P. 1, Section: 1] “In these situations, models must be able to scale the number of the operations on-the-fly de pending on the amount of available compute at any point in time. In particular, we focus on methods capable of any time inference, i.e. methods where the inference process can be interrupted for early results, or continued for more accurate results. This contrasts with other methods, where the accuracy-speed trade-off has be decided before the computation for inference starts. We address this problem by introducing Hierarchical Neural Ensembles (HNE). Inspired by ensemble learning (Breiman 1996), HNE embeds a large number of networks whose combined outputs provide a more accurate prediction than any individual model.”) [Examiner’s Note: The HNE provides input x to a pre-trained ensemble of N base learners F(x;θn) during inference without any further training. The HNE is mainly used during inference phase to accelerate the prediction results.]
starting by the ensemble model an execution of machine learning tasks by the plurality of pre-trained decision … base learners with a view to obtain respective task outcomes from execution of one or more of the plurality of pre-trained decision … base learners, whereby for each of the machine learning tasks each one of the pre-trained ... base learners executes utilizing at least a subset of the input data input into the ensemble model in order to perform by each of the pre-trained decision ... base learners inferences on the input data,, the input data at least partially the same for each of the pre-trained ... base learners (Ruiz, [P. 1, Section: 1] “Figure 1: (Top) HNE shares parameters and computation in a hierarchical manner. Tree leafs represent separate models in the ensemble. Anytime inference is obtained via depth first traversal of the tree, and using at any given time the ensemble prediction of the N models evaluated so far. (Bottom) Hierarchical distillation leverages the full ensemble to supervise parts of the tree that are used in small ensembles.” [P. 3, Section: 3] “HNE embed an ensemble of deep networks computing an output
y
E
=
1
N
=
∑
n
=
1
N
F
n
(
x
;
θ
n
)
from an input x, where Fn is a network with parameters θn and N is the total number of models... each network is a composition of B + 1 functions, or “blocks” as
F
n
(
x
;
θ
n
)
=
f
θ
n
B
◦
·
·
·
◦
f
θ
n
1
◦
f
θ
n
0
(
x
)
, where each block
f
θ
n
b
(
·
)
is a set of layers with parameters
θ
n
b
... In order to reduce the computational complexity, we design HNE to share parameters and computation employing a binary tree structure, where each node of the tree represents a computational block. Each of the N = 2B paths from the root to a leaf represents a different model composed of B + 1 computational blocks. The first (root) computational block is shared among all models, and after each block the computational path is continued along two branches, each with a different set of parameters from the next block onward... See Figure 1 for an illustration. Therefore, for each block b there are K = 2b independent sets of parameters θb k. The parameters of an HNE composed of N = 2B models are collectively denoted as
Θ
=
{
θ
1
0
,
…
θ
1
:
2
b
b
,
…
,
θ
1
:
2
B
B
}
.”) [Examiner’s note: The HNE reference teaches execution of individual base learners networks to perform inference computation (i.e., image classification tasks), where individual outputs y represents task outcomes based on the input x. The HNE uses the same input x that is fed to all N base learner networks , which corresponds to the recitation of “input data at least partially the same for each base learner.”]
while the machine learning tasks execute ...., repeatedly evaluating by the ensemble model an exit condition for interruption of the remaining machine learning tasks within each tree of the pre-trained decision ... base learners by computing a deterministic function associated with the machine learning task outcomes obtained so far, the exit condition indicating that remaining machine learning tasks being executed by the pre-trained decision … base learners should be interrupted when an output value of the deterministic function indicate whether an inference result of the ensemble model has converged wherein the deterministic function is associated with an arithmetic mean of values outputted by the pre-trained decision tree base learners and the arithmetic mean ... to determine convergence, (Ruiz, [P. 1, Section: 1] “Figure 1: (Top) HNE shares parameters and computation in a hierarchical manner. Tree leafs represent separate models in the ensemble. Anytime inference is obtained via depth first traversal of the tree, and using at any given time the ensemble prediction of the N models evaluated so far. (Bottom) Hierarchical distillation leverages the full ensemble to supervise parts of the tree that are used in small ensembles.” [P. 3, Section: 3] “HNE embed an ensemble of deep networks computing an output
y
E
=
1
N
=
∑
n
=
1
N
F
n
(
x
;
θ
n
)
from an input x, where Fn is a network with parameters θn and N is the total number of models... each network is a composition of B + 1 functions, or “blocks” as
F
n
(
x
;
θ
n
)
=
f
θ
n
B
◦
·
·
·
◦
f
θ
n
1
◦
f
θ
n
0
(
x
)
, where each block
f
θ
n
b
(
·
)
is a set of layers with parameters
θ
n
b
... In order to reduce the computational complexity, we design HNE to share parameters and computation employing a binary tree structure, where each node of the tree represents a computational block. Each of the N = 2B paths from the root to a leaf represents a different model composed of B + 1 computational blocks. The first (root) computational block is shared among all models, and after each block the computational path is continued along two branches, each with a different set of parameters from the next block onward... See Figure 1 for an illustration. Therefore, for each block b there are K = 2b independent sets of parameters θb k. The parameters of an HNE composed of N = 2B models are collectively denoted as
Θ
=
{
θ
1
0
,
…
θ
1
:
2
b
b
,
…
,
θ
1
:
2
B
B
}
... In the case of HNE, this is achieved by evaluating only a subset of the paths from the root to the leafs, see Figure 1. More formally, we can choose any value b ∈ {0,1,...,B} and compute the ensemble output using a subset of N= 2b networks as
y
b
=
1
2
b
∑
n
=
1
2
b
F
(
x
;
θ
n
)
. (1) The evaluated subset of
N
=
2
b
networks is obtained by traversing the binary tree structure in a depth-first manner, where the first evaluated leaf model is always the same. Thus, we evaluate the first branch, as well as all the other
2
b
-
1
branches that share the last b blocks with this branch. See Figure 1... Fortunately, the evaluation of the different networks in the HNE can be parallelized by means of group convolutions, where different sets of input channels are used to compute an independent set of outputs, see Figure 2.”) [Examiner’s Note: The HNE implementation describes that models of the ensemble are evaluated in parallel batches using group of convolutions. The anytime stopping is evaluated and applied between batches. The averaging prediction outputs function of the multiple independent models of the ensemble, where the sum accumulates the individual task outcomes corresponds to the broader recitation of computing a deterministic function associated with the machine learning task outcomes obtained so far. The inference process of the ensemble can be interrupted for early results based on the evaluation result and the accuracy trad-off (i.e., convergence) described in 3.3 equation (5). The paper also describes that anytime inference is obtained via depth first traversal of the tree, and using at any given time the ensemble prediction of the N models evaluated so far.] and
interrupting by the ensemble model the execution of the remaining machine learning tasks being executed by the pre-trained decision … base learners, if the exit condition evaluated last is fulfilled and the deterministic function indicates the inference result of the ensemble model has converged; and (Ruiz, [Abstract] “In such networks the inference process can interrupted to provide a result faster, or continued to obtain a more accurate result. We propose Hierarchical Neural Ensembles (HNE), a novel framework to embed an ensemble of multiple networks in a hierarchical tree structure, sharing intermediate layers. In HNE we control the complexity of inference on-the-fly by evaluating more or less models in the ensemble.” [P. 3, Section: 3] “the speed-accuracy trade-off can be controlled by choosing how many models to evaluate to ap proximate the full ensemble output. In the case of HNE, this is achieved by evaluating only a subset of the paths from the root to the leafs, see Figure 1. More formally, we can choose any value b ∈ {0,1,...,B} and compute the ensemble output using a subset of N= 2b networks as
y
b
=
1
2
b
∑
n
=
1
2
b
F
(
x
;
θ
n
)
. (1) The evaluated subset of
N
=
2
b
networks is obtained by traversing the binary tree structure in a depth-first manner, where the first evaluated leaf model is always the same. Thus, we evaluate the first branch, as well as all the other
2
b
-
1
branches that share the last b blocks with this branch. See Figure 1.”) [Examiner’s Note: The HNE implementation interrupts the execution of individual networks (i.e., pre-trained learners) and exit the inference process.]
returning the inference result of the ensemble model based on the obtained machine learning task outcomes obtained in at least one of the pre-trained decision ... base learners before interruption of the execution of the remaining machine learning tasks in remaining pre-trained decision ... base learners. (Ruiz, [Abstract] “In such networks the inference process can interrupted to provide a result faster, or continued to obtain a more accurate result. We propose Hierarchical Neural Ensembles (HNE), a novel framework to embed an ensemble of multiple networks in a hierarchical tree structure, sharing intermediate layers. In HNE we control the complexity of inference on-the-fly by evaluating more or less models in the ensemble.” [P. 1, Section: 1] “Figure 1: (Top) HNE shares parameters and computation in a hierarchical manner. Tree leafs represent separate models in the ensemble. Anytime inference is obtained via depth first traversal of the tree, and using at any given time the ensemble prediction of the N models evaluated so far. (Bottom) Hierarchical distillation leverages the full ensemble to supervise parts of the tree that are used in small ensembles.”) [Examiner’s Note: The HNE provides the prediction outputs of the ensemble from only a subset of models evaluated before interruption.]
As noted above, Ruiz teaches the HNE framework to embed an ensemble of multiple trained network (i.e., base learners) for inference, providing input x to the ensemble, parallel execution of the individual learners to perform inference on the input data, computing an arithmetic summation of outputs to evaluate the predictions obtained so far for early inference results, interrupting the inference process based on accuracy confidence (i.e., sufficient convergence, and returning the ensemble inference results including partial result, Ruiz does not appear to explicitly teach:
Ruiz does not appear explicitly define the individual pre-trained learners of the ensemble as “decision tee-based learners.”
Ruiz does not explicitly state the “exit condition” evaluation by comparing the arithmetic mean against a “decisive threshold” to determine convergence and trigger interruption of the remaining task.
Ruiz does not explicitly teach that “the input data is processed in parallel within each of distinct pre-trained decision tree base learners via a graph traversal.”
However, Ruiz in view of Wang teaches the following:
providing input data to an ensemble model for the ensemble model to perform inferences on the input data, the ensemble model associated with a plurality of pre-trained decision tree base learners, the plurality of pre-trained decision tree base learners ready for performing machine-learning inferences without training the pre-trained decision tree base learners; (Wang, [Abstract] “Given a classifier ensemble and a dataset, many examples may be confidently and accurately classified after only a subset of the base models in the ensemble is evaluated. Dynamically deciding to classify early can reduce both mean latency and CPU without harming the accuracy of the original ensemble. To achieve such gains, we propose jointly optimizing the evaluation order of the base models and early stopping thresholds. Given a classifier ensemble and a dataset, many examples may be confidently and accurately classified after only a subset of the base models in the ensemble is evaluated. Dynamically deciding to classify early can reduce both mean latency and CPU without harming the accuracy of the original ensemble. To achieve such gains, we propose jointly optimizing the evaluation order of the base models and early-stopping thresholds... the proposed Quit When You Can (QWYC) algorithm can speed up average evaluation time by 1.8–2.7 times on even jointly trained ensembles...” [p.1. Section: 1] “We consider the problem of efficiently evaluating a binary classifier that can be expressed as an ensemble of T base models:... where each base model ft(x) ∈ R contributes a score. The ensemble may have been trained: • Independently: Each ft is trained individually, e.g., random forests [4]. • Sequentially: The
t
t
h
base model ft is trained taking into account base models f1, f2, ..., ft−1, e.g., boosted trees [11]. • Jointly: All base models {ft} are trained together, e.g., generalized additive models [14]or an ensemble of lattices [6].” [p.4, Section 2] “In this article, we take the ensemble as given, and propose a method for speeding up a given already-trained ensemble. Last, another strategy for fast evaluation of ensembles is to evaluate the base models in parallel.” [p.11, Section: 5.5] “A GBT ensemble model is an additive model where the output is the sum of T regression trees... When training the full ensemble, we perform hyperparameter optimization on a validation set over the number of base trees in the ensemble, the maximum depth of a single base tree, and the learning rate. We treat the evaluation cost of each base model as a constant ct = 1 for all t, which is a conservative assumption as the maximum depth of each base tree is bounded... This is a binary classification task where the objective is to predict whether or not a person’s income is greater than $50,000. The full ensemble has T = 500 base trees of maximum depth 5 and acts on a total of D = 14 features. We use the predefined train/test split provided in the repository.”) [Examiner’s Note: Wang explicitly teaches that the ensemble base learners are decision trees (GBT regression trees) that are already trained and ready for validation/optimization. The feature vector x is the input provided to the ensemble model and passed to each individual base model. The examiner notes that the evaluation/execution of the classification tasks to make prediction is performed during evaluation time (i.e., during inference phase).]
starting by the ensemble model an execution of machine learning tasks by the plurality of pre-trained decision tree base learners with a view to obtain respective task outcomes from execution of one or more of the plurality of pre-trained decision tree base learners, whereby for each of the machine learning tasks each one of the pre-trained decision tree base learners executes utilizing at least a subset of the input data input into the ensemble model in order to perform by each of the pre-trained decision tree base learners inferences on the input data, (Wang, [p.4, Section 2] “In this article, we take the ensemble as given, and propose a method for speeding up a given already-trained ensemble. Last, another strategy for fast evaluation of ensembles is to evaluate the base models in parallel.” [p.4, Section: 3] “We take as given a linearly separable model f (x) : x ∈ RD → R such that f (x) = T t=1 ft(x),an expected time (or other cost) ct ∈ R+ to evaluate the tth base model ft(x) for t = 1,...,T, and a decision threshold β ∈ R for classifying f (x). We propose producing a fast classifier by optimizing the ordering of base models over the set of all permutations Π that map {1,2,...,T}→{1,2,...,T}, and over the positive and negative threshold vectors ϵ+,ϵ− ∈ RT to minimize the expected evaluation cost of a random sample X ∈ RD drawn from a data distribution PX, with a constraint specified as a percent α of samples that may be classified differently by the fast classifier compared to the full classifier f (x).” [P. 16, Section: 6.2] “The above results show that QWYC* allows us to evaluate fewer base models on average than other methods to achieve a given accuracy. Tables 2–5 also show that mean evaluation times are faster with QWYC*. For example, QWYC* produced a 2.7× speed-up for the jointly-trained ensemble of T = 5basemodelsinTable2, which is evaluated trillions of times each day. Because the base models(lattices) in these ensembles are all roughly computationally equal to evaluate, these timing numbers are also reflective of total CPU savings.”) [Examiner’s Note: Wang teaches that each base model evaluated by feeding the input x to produce task outcomes (i.e., scores). The accumulated sum represents the respective task outcomes. Wang also suggest that this evaluation process can performed by executing the base models of the ensemble in parallel. The examiner notes that the evaluation/execution of the classification tasks to make prediction is performed during evaluation time (i.e., during inference phase).]
while the machine learning tasks execute in parallel in performing inferences on the input data, repeatedly evaluating by the ensemble model an exit condition for interruption of the remaining machine learning tasks within each tree of the pre-trained decision tree base learners by computing a deterministic function associated with the machine learning task outcomes obtained so far, the exit condition indicating that remaining machine learning tasks being executed by the pre-trained decision tree base learners should be interrupted when an output value of the deterministic function indicates an inference result of the ensemble model has converged; (Wang, [P.2, Section: 1] “Specifically, we apply the following simple early stopping mechanism for a given example x: after evaluating the
r
t
h
ordered base model, if the accumulated sum
∑
t
=
1
r
f
t
(
x
)
is above the
r
t
h
early positive thresholdϵ+r , then the example is classified as the positive class, and the evaluation is stopped early (and vice-versa if the sum is below the
r
t
h
negative threshold ϵ−r ). If the running sum does not exceed an early stopping threshold, one continues on to evaluate the
r
+
1
t
h
base model.” [p.4, Section 2] “In this article, we take the ensemble as given, and propose a method for speeding up a given already-trained ensemble. Last, another strategy for fast evaluation of ensembles is to evaluate the base models in parallel.” [p.4, Section: 3] “We take as given a linearly separable model f (x) : x ∈ RD → R such that f (x) = T t=1 ft(x), an expected time (or other cost)
c
t
∈
R
+
to evaluate the tth base model
f
t
(
x
)
for
t
=
1
,
.
.
.
,
T
, and a decision threshold
β
∈
R
for classifying
f
(
x
)
. We propose producing a fast classifier by optimizing the ordering of base models over the set of all permutations
Π
that map
{
1,2
,
.
.
.
,
T
}
→
{
1,2
,
.
.
.
,
T
}
,
and over the positive and negative threshold vectors
ϵ
+
,
ϵ
-
∈
R
T
to minimize the expected evaluation cost of a random sample
X
∈
R
D
drawn from a data distribution
P
X
, with a constraint specified as a percent α of samples that may be classified differently by the fast classifier compared to the full classifier
f
(
x
)
... after evaluating t base models in the ordering π and with early-stopping decision threshold vectors
ϵ
+
and
ϵ
-
,and is 0 otherwise; and
Z
X
,
π
,
ϵ
+
,
ϵ
-
,
is a Bernoulli random variable that is 1 if the fast classification of X differs from the full evaluation classifier decision for X, and 0 otherwise.... Let
g
r
(
x
,
π
)
denote the accumulated sum (incomplete score) after r base models ordered as per
π
:
g
r
(
x
,
π
)
=
∑
t
=
1
r
f
π
t
x
. After evaluating the
r
t
h
base model for r ∈ {1,...,T}, an example x belongs to one of three mutually exclusive sets: the predicted positive set
P
r
:
=
{
x
|
g
r
(
x
,
π
)
>
ϵ
r
+
}
, the predicted negative set
N
r
:
=
{
x
|
g
r
x
,
π
<
ϵ
r
-
}
,, and the uncertain set
U
r
:
=
{
x
|
ϵ
r
-
≤
g
r
(
x
,
π
)
≤
ϵ
r
+
}
.Note
U
0
=
R
D
,
P
O
=
∅
,
N
0
=
∅
.
If
x
∈
P
r
o
r
x
∈
N
r
,, then the fast classifier classifies x as the positive or negative class, respectively, and we terminate the evaluation. Otherwise,
x
∈
U
r
, the classification decision is not yet uncertain, and we continue on to evaluate the
π
(
r
+
1
)
t
h
base model. Let
C
r
:
=
⋂
t
=
0
r
U
t
denote the set of samples that remain unclassified after evaluating the
r
t
h
base model.” [p.4, Section 2] “In this article, we take the ensemble as given, and propose a method for speeding up a given already-trained ensemble. Last, another strategy for fast evaluation of ensembles is to evaluate the base models in parallel.”) [Examiner’s Note: Wang teaches the early stopping mechanism (i.e., exit condition). The accumulated sum function is the deterministic function computed from task outcomes obtained so far (i.e., from r base models evaluated). The sum is compared after each model evaluation against thresholds (i.e., the arithmetic mean is compared to a decisive threshold to determine convergence). Wang also acknowledges that the prior art Fan et al. used averaged base models outputs (see section 5.4).]
interrupting by the ensemble model the execution of remaining machine learning tasks being executed by the pre-trained decision tree base learners, if the exit condition evaluated last is fulfilled and the deterministic function indicates the inference result of the ensemble model has converged; (Wang, [Abstract] “Given a classifier ensemble and a dataset, many examples may be confidently and accurately classified after only a subset of the base models in the ensemble is evaluated. Dynamically deciding to classify early can reduce both mean latency and CPU without harming the accuracy of the original ensemble. To achieve such gains, we propose jointly optimizing the evaluation order of the base models and early-stopping thresholds.” [P.2, Section: 1] “Specifically, we apply the following simple early stopping mechanism for a given example x: after evaluating the
r
t
h
ordered base model, if the accumulated sum
∑
t
=
1
r
f
t
(
x
)
is above the
r
t
h
early positive thresholdϵ+r , then the example is classified as the positive class, and the evaluation is stopped early (and vice-versa if the sum is below the
r
t
h
negative threshold ϵ−r ). If the running sum does not exceed an early stopping threshold, one continues on to evaluate the
r
+
1
t
h
base model.” [p.4, Section: 3] “We take as given a linearly separable model f (x) : x ∈ RD → R such that f (x) = T t=1 ft(x), an expected time (or other cost)
c
t
∈
R
+
to evaluate the tth base model
f
t
(
x
)
for
t
=
1
,
.
.
.
,
T
, and a decision threshold
β
∈
R
for classifying
f
(
x
)
. We propose producing a fast classifier by optimizing the ordering of base models over the set of all permutations
Π
that map
{
1,2
,
.
.
.
,
T
}
→
{
1,2
,
.
.
.
,
T
}
,
and over the positive and negative threshold vectors
ϵ
+
,
ϵ
-
∈
R
T
to minimize the expected evaluation cost of a random sample
X
∈
R
D
drawn from a data distribution
P
X
, with a constraint specified as a percent α of samples that may be classified differently by the fast classifier compared to the full classifier
f
(
x
)
... after evaluating t base models in the ordering π and with early-stopping decision threshold vectors
ϵ
+
and
ϵ
-
,and is 0 otherwise; and
Z
X
,
π
,
ϵ
+
,
ϵ
-
,
is a Bernoulli random variable that is 1 if the fast classification of X differs from the full evaluation classifier decision for X, and 0 otherwise.... Let
g
r
(
x
,
π
)
denote the accumulated sum (incomplete score) after r base models ordered as per
π
:
g
r
(
x
,
π
)
=
∑
t
=
1
r
f
π
t
x
. After evaluating the
r
t
h
base model for r ∈ {1,...,T}, an example x belongs to one of three mutually exclusive sets: the predicted positive set
P
r
:
=
{
x
|
g
r
(
x
,
π
)
>
ϵ
r
+
}
, the predicted negative set
N
r
:
=
{
x
|
g
r
x
,
π
<
ϵ
r
-
}
,, and the uncertain set
U
r
:
=
{
x
|
ϵ
r
-
≤
g
r
(
x
,
π
)
≤
ϵ
r
+
}
.Note
U
0
=
R
D
,
P
O
=
∅
,
N
0
=
∅
.
If
x
∈
P
r
o
r
x
∈
N
r
,, then the fast classifier classifies x as the positive or negative class, respectively, and we terminate the evaluation. Otherwise,
x
∈
U
r
, the classification decision is not yet uncertain, and we continue on to evaluate the
π
(
r
+
1
)
t
h
base model. Let
C
r
:
=
⋂
t
=
0
r
U
t
denote the set of samples that remain unclassified after evaluating the
r
t
h
base model.”) [Examiner’s Note: Wang teaches terminating the evaluation of remaining base models based on the early stopping mechanism once the accumulated sum meets the convergence threshold. This corresponds to the claimed step of interrupting remaining machine learning tasks when the exit condition is fulfilled.]
Ruiz and Wang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor (i.e., machine learning), and their disclosure generally relates to optimizing ensemble-based models to speed up evaluation/inference while reducing computation time.
Accordingly, at the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of machine learning to modify the proposed HNE anytime inference method of Ruiz to incorporate the joint optimization approach using decision base trees for early stopping as taught by Wang. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to efficiently evaluate a binary classifier that can be expressed as an ensemble of tree base models. Doing so would speed up a given already-trained ensemble (Wang [Abstract]).
While Ruiz in view of Wang teaches the parallel execution of the pre-trained decision trees to perform inference and evaluating the predictions to decide whether or not stop early. Ruiz in view of Wang does not appear to explicitly teach the parallel execution of the pre-trained decision tree base learners and walking in parallel each of the pre-trained decision tree base learners via graph traversal until leaf nodes are reached. Specifically, Ruiz in view of Wang does not appear to explicitly teach:
the input data is processed in parallel within each of distinct pre-trained decision tree base learners via a graph traversal;
However, Lettich, in combination with Ruiz in view of Wang, teaches the following:
starting by the ensemble model an execution of machine learning tasks by the plurality of pre-trained decision tree base learners with a view to obtain respective task outcomes from execution of one or more of the plurality of pre-trained decision tree base learners, whereby for each of the machine learning tasks each one of the pre-trained decision tree base learners executes utilizing at least a subset of the input data input into the ensemble model in order to perform by each of the pre-trained decision tree base learners inferences on the input data, the input data at least partially the same for each of the pre-trained decision tree base learners, (Lettich, [Pp. 2-3, Section: 2] “Let us denote with T = {T0, T1, . . .} an ensemble of binary decision trees, and let Λ be the maximum number of leaves of each tree. Moreover, let x be the feature vector representing an input instance (e.g., a query-document pair in the LtR WSE scenario). Let F be the feature set, and let |F| be the number of dimensions of vector x. We use φ to refer to the φ−th feature, with x[φ] storing the value of feature fφ ∈ F. Moreover, let s(x) be the numerical score eventually computed for x by traversing T.” [P. 4, Section: 3] “Intra-document parallelism. The key idea behind this strat egy is to partition the scoring of a single document into subtasks that can be executed in parallel. Consequently, intra-document parallelization aims at reducing the scoring latency of each document, which in turn has the effect of increasing the throughput. Subtasks can be naturally identified in QS by decomposing the work performed over features; more precisely, each subtask consists in processing the list of tuples (γ,mask,h) ∈ Nφ associated with a single feature fφ, and updating the corresponding leafindexes. Note that different tuples in Nφ, related to different features fφ, may be associated with the same tree Th. As a consequence, updating leafindexes may generate race conditions that have to be properly managed. Depending on the targeted architecture, race conditions can be generally managed in two different ways. On the one hand, one can eliminate race conditions by creating one copy of leafindexes per subtask, provided that increasing the memory footprint does not represent an issue; this strategy, however, incurs in the additional cost of having to perform a final merge of the various leafindexes– this can be achieved by logical AND operations. On the other hand, if memory occupancy represents a major concern (such as in the case of GPUs) leafindexes must be shared across the subtasks, thus requiring the use of atomic updates to manage race conditions.” [P. 5, Section: 4] “Inter-document parallelism represents the most natural source of parallelism that can be exploited in VQS, although the number of documents scored in parallel is bounded by the number of parallel ways of the AVX-256 extension. Both the mask computation and score computation steps of QS can be parallelized. During the first step, multiple documents can be tested against a given node condition, and their leafindexes updated in parallel. Similarly, the scores of multiple documents can be computed simultaneously during the second step. Inter-document parallelism requires to replicate the data structure leafindexes used to encode the exit leaves. VQS interleaves bitvectors of 8 different documents (256 bits) in consecutive memory locations, i.e., leafindexes... This allows to update 8 leafindexes simultaneously with a single SIMD operation.” [P. 9, Section: 7] “However, in the paper we focus on the efficiency at testing time of tree ensembles, and thus our results are independent of the specific LtR algorithm used to train them.”) [Examiner’s Note: the execution of the tasks/subtasks of the QuickScore parallelization algorithm during testing time to process the same intra-document input data across multiple threads representing decision trees reads on the claimed performing by each of the pre-trained decision tree base learners inferences on the input data in parallel.]
the input data is processed in parallel within each of distinct pre-trained decision tree base learners via a graph traversal, (Lettich, [Pp. 3-4, Section: 3] “QUICKSCORER PARALLELIZATION In the following we will focus our analysis on the parallelization of the mask computation step as the parallelization of the score computation step can be achieved with a straightforward parallel reduction. Given a set of query-document pairs, we want to investigate the following scoring parallelization strategies: • Inter-document parallelism: multiple documents are evaluated in parallel; • Intra-document parallelism: multiple features, trees, or nodes are evaluated in parallel; • Hybrid parallelism: combining the two strategies above.” [P. 4, Section: 4, Col. 1] “Inter-document parallelism represents the most natural source of parallelism that can be exploited in VQS, although the number of documents scored in parallel is bounded by the number of parallel ways of the AVX-256 extension. Both the mask computation and score computation steps of QS can be parallelized. During the first step, multiple documents can be tested against a given node condition, and their leafindexes updated in parallel. Similarly, the scores of multiple documents can be computed simultaneously during the second step. Inter-document parallelism requires to replicate the data structure leafindexes used to encode the exit leaves. VQS interleaves bitvectors of 8 different documents (256 bits) in consecutive memory locations, i.e., leafindexes[8h+i], ∀i = 7:0. This allows to update 8 leafindexes simultaneously with a single SIMD operation.” [p. 2, Section: 2] “Branching decisions in internal nodes of a tree take the form of a Boolean test x[φ] ≤ γ, where γ is a real-valued threshold for feature fφ. The output of each decision tree Th ∈ T , i.e., its contribution to the score s(x), corresponds to the so-called exit leaf of Th, identified by traversing the tree with the input instance x... The traversal of a decision tree performed by QS can be viewed as the process of converting a bitvector leaf indexes [h],where all bits are initially set to1, to a final bitvector where the leftmost 1 identifies the exit leaf of the tree[15].” [Pp. 8-9, Section: 6.2] “First, the elements of leafindexes are initialized (line4) – we use the keyword parallel_thread to indicate that iterations of the loop are partitioned among the threads of the thread-block and executed in parallel... First, the vector leafindexes is partitioned among the threads of the thread-block (line 12) such that each thread accumulates in a private, local register the contributions of a subset of trees by identifying their exit leaves in leafindexes.” Further See Algorithm 4.) [Examiner’s Note: Lettich Quick Score strategy to parallelize the traversal of large ensembles of decision trees by walking/traversing each decision tree in parallel through its branching decision nodes (via Boolean test) until the exit leaf node is identified through leafindexes. This corresponds to the claim that the input data is processed in parallel within each of distinct pre-trained decision tree base learners via a graph traversal.]
while the machine learning tasks execute in parallel in performing inferences on the input data, repeatedly evaluating by the ensemble model an exit condition .... (Lettich, [Pp. 2-3, Section: 2] “The traversal of a decision tree performed by QS can be viewed as the process of converting a bitvector leafindexes[h], where all bits are initially set to 1, to a final bitvector where the leftmost 1 identifies the exit leaf of the tree [?].” [P. 4, Section: 3, Col. 3] “Regarding the score computation step, a trivial parallel add reduction is performed, after accessing in parallel the exit leaves of all trees in T , to retrieve their additive contributions to the final score of a given query-document pair.” [P. 7, Col. 2] “Model partition and allocation. We recall that QS adopts two main data structures besides the input vector D: • the model data structure, composed of the tuples (γ, mask, h) encoding the branch nodes of the forest T , and of leafvalues, the vector that stores the scores associated with the leaves of the trees in T ; • the output vectors leafindexes – one for each tree of the forest T; these are updated during the computation to eventually identify the exit leaves of the trees.”) [Examiner’s Note: Lettich discloses QuickScore algorithms to perform ensemble decision tree computation on input instances represented by a feature vector x. Each tree Th traverses its nodes using tests x[f] < g, updating pre-tree leafindexs[h], while all tree operates on the same input vector x. Inter-document parallelism processes multiple features in parallel within each tree, and the determination of exit leaves via leafindexs[h] provides an early exit condition. Accordingly, Lettich teaches parallel execution of pre-trained decision trees via graph traversal and identification of early exit node. As noted above, the parallel execution of the large ensemble model decision trees during testing time reads on the parallel execution in performing inference on the input data.]
Accordingly, at the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Ruiz and Wang to incorporate the Parallel Traversal of Large Ensembles of Decision Trees as taught by Lettich. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to speed up the traversal of large ensembles of regression trees, thereby obtaining machine-learnt models that are effective, fast, and scalable (Lettich [Abstract]).
Regarding Previously presented Claim 2, the combination of Ruiz, Wang, and Lettich teaches the elements of claim 1 as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein, at starting execution of the machine learning tasks in order to obtain an inference result based on the input data, the machine learning tasks are grouped into disjoint subsets of the machine learning tasks in each of the pre-trained decision tree base learners. (Lettich, [P. 4, Col. 1] “Intra-Document Parallelism. The key idea behind this strategy is to partition the scoring of a single document into subtasks that can be executed in parallel. Consequently, intra-document parallelization aims at reducing the scoring latency of each document, which in turn has the effect of increasing the throughput. Subtasks can be naturally identified in QS by decomposing the work performed over features; more precisely, each subtask consists in processing the list of tuples ðg; mask; hÞ2N f associated with a single feature ff, and updating the corresponding leafindexes. Note that different tuples in N f, related to different features ff, may be associated with the same tree Th.” [P. 7, Col. 2] “Model partition and allocation. We recall that QS adopts two main data structures besides the input vector D: • the model data structure, composed of the tuples (γ, mask, h) encoding the branch nodes of the forest T , and of leafvalues, the vector that stores the scores associated with the leaves of the trees in T ; • the output vectors leafindexes – one for each tree of the forest T ; these are updated during the computation to eventually identify the exit leaves of the trees. ... Hence, rather than storing leafindexes into the global memory it is far more efficient to partition the model, as already discussed in Section 3. More precisely, T is partitioned into multiple tree-blocks T ⊆ T of size τ = |T|, where τ is chosen to be small enough to make the corresponding leafindexes fitting the amount of shared memory available per threadblock. ” [P. 8, Col. 1] “The GPU algorithm. GPU-QUICKSCORER (QSGPU), the GPU version of QUICKSCORER5 , is sketched in Algorithm 3. The algorithm starts by transferring the entire model from the host (CPU) memory to the GPU global memory (line 2). We note that the model is stored in a partitioned layout of disjoint tree-blocks T ⊆ T , and it is entirely loaded into the global memory (line 2). ... “) [Examiner’s Note: Lettich teaches partitioning the forest of decision trees into disjoint tree-blocks and assigning tasks to parallel threads. This reads on the claimed “grouped into disjoint subset” within the ensemble of decision tree learners.]
Regarding Previously presented Claim 3, the combination of Ruiz, Wang, and Lettich teaches the elements of claim 2 as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein the deterministic function is computed upon completing each of successive ones of the subsets of the machine learning tasks in each of the pre-trained decision tree base learners. (Ruiz, [P. 1, Section: 1] “Figure 1: (Top) HNE shares parameters and computation in a hierarchical manner. Tree leafs represent separate models in the ensemble. Anytime inference is obtained via depth first traversal of the tree, and using at any given time the ensemble prediction of the N models evaluated so far. (Bottom) Hierarchical distillation leverages the full ensemble to supervise parts of the tree that are used in small ensembles.” [p. 3, Section: 3] “Given that the models in the ensemble can be evaluated sequentially, the speed-accuracy trade-off can be controlled by choosing how many models to evaluate to approximate the full ensemble output. In the case of HNE, this is achieved by evaluating only a subset of the paths from the root to the leafs, see Figure 1. More formally, we can choose any value b ∈ {0,1,...,B} and compute the ensemble output using a subset of N= 2b networks as
y
b
=
1
2
b
∑
n
=
1
2
b
F
(
x
;
θ
n
)
. (1) The evaluated subset of
N
=
2
b
networks is obtained by traversing the binary tree structure in a depth-first manner, where the first evaluated leaf model is always the same. Thus, we evaluate the first branch, as well as all the other
2
b
-
1
branches that share the last b blocks with this branch. See Figure 1)
Regarding Original Claim 5, the combination of Ruiz, Wang, and Lettich teaches the elements of claim 1 as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein the deterministic function is repeatedly computed to obtain, each time, a characterization value of the inference result, and the characterization value obtained is compared to one or more reference values to obtain a comparison outcome, the latter determining an antecedent of the exit condition. (Wang, [P. 2, Section: 1] “we propose a combinatorial optimization problem that minimizes the average number of base models that need to be evaluated to achieve the same classification decision as the full classifier. We simultaneously optimize the 2T corresponding early decision threshold vectors {ϵ+,ϵ−}.” [Pp. 4-5, Section: 3] “after evaluating t base models in the ordering π and with early-stopping decision threshold vectors
ϵ
+
and
ϵ
-
,and is 0 otherwise; and
Z
X
,
π
,
ϵ
+
,
ϵ
-
,
is a Bernoulli random variable that is 1 if the fast classification of X differs from the full evaluation classifier decision for X, and 0 otherwise.... Let
g
r
(
x
,
π
)
denote the accumulated sum (incomplete score) after r base models ordered as per
π
:
g
r
(
x
,
π
)
=
∑
t
=
1
r
f
π
t
x
. After evaluating the
r
t
h
base model for r ∈ {1,...,T}, an example x belongs to one of three mutually exclusive sets: the predicted positive set
P
r
:
=
{
x
|
g
r
(
x
,
π
)
>
ϵ
r
+
}
, the predicted negative set
N
r
:
=
{
x
|
g
r
x
,
π
<
ϵ
r
-
}
,, and the uncertain set
U
r
:
=
{
x
|
ϵ
r
-
≤
g
r
(
x
,
π
)
≤
ϵ
r
+
}
.Note
U
0
=
R
D
,
P
O
=
∅
,
N
0
=
∅
.
If
x
∈
P
r
o
r
x
∈
N
r
,, then the fast classifier classifies x as the positive or negative class, respectively, and we terminate the evaluation. Otherwise,
x
∈
U
r
, the classification decision is not yet uncertain, and we continue on to evaluate the
π
(
r
+
1
)
t
h
base model. Let
C
r
:
=
⋂
t
=
0
r
U
t
denote the set of samples that remain unclassified after evaluating the
r
t
h
base model.”) [Examiner’s Note: the averaged function is iteratively computed and compared to reference values and the comparison outcome (Pr, Nr, Ur) determines the antecedent of the early stopping condition.]
Regarding Previously presented Claim 6, the combination of Ruiz, Wang, and Lettich teaches the elements of claim 5 as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein each of the pre-trained decision tree base learners provided is designed to produce output values restricted to a same range of output values. (Wang, [P. 4, Section: 3.1] “After evaluating the rth base model, an example x belongs to one of three classes–positive, negative, or uncertain: …., then x is classified as a positive or negative class, respectively, and we terminate the evaluation at the rth step.” [P. 5, Section: 4.1] “Let St(i) be the maximal set of examples for which base model ft can make an early negative or early positive classification while satisfying the constraint when α = 0 and π(i) = t after a binary search over ǫ + i , ǫ − i (assuming no early stopping before reaching the ith base model). For i ≥ 1, St(i) ⊇ St(1).”)
Regarding Currently Amended Claim 8,
The claim recites substantially similar limitation as corresponding claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 using similar teachings and rationale. Claim 1 is directed to a method, and claim 8 is directed to a computer program product.
Ruiz also teaches HNE implementation on a computer architecture see pages 10-11.
Regarding Previously presented Claim 9,
The claim recites substantially similar limitations as corresponding claim 2 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding Previously presented Claim 10,
The claim recites substantially similar limitations as corresponding claim 3 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 3 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding Original Claim 12,
The claim recites substantially similar limitations as corresponding claim 5 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 5 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding Previously presented Claim 13,
The claim recites substantially similar limitations as corresponding claim 6 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 6 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding Currently Amended Claim 15,
The claim recites substantially similar limitation as corresponding claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 using similar teachings and rationale. Claim 1 is directed to a method, and claim 15 is directed to a computer system.
Ruiz also teaches HNE implementation and the experiments performed on a computer architecture (e.g., GPUs) see Section 4 and pages 10-11.
Regarding Previously presented Claim 16,
The claim recites substantially similar limitations as corresponding claim 2 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding Previously presented Claim 17,
The claim recites substantially similar limitations as corresponding claim 3 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 3 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding Previously presented Claim 19,
The claim recites substantially similar limitations as corresponding claim 5 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 5 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding Previously presented Claim 20,
The claim recites substantially similar limitations as corresponding claim 6 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 6 using similar teachings and rationale.
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ruiz, Wang, and Lettich as described above, and further in view of Basilico et al., (NPL: “COMET: A Recipe for Learning and Using Large Ensembles on Massive Data” (2011)).
Regarding Previously presented Claim 4, the combination of Ruiz, Wang, and Lettich teaches the elements of claim 1 as outlined above:
While Ruiz, Wang, and Lettich teach the process of evaluating an early stopping for at least a subset of decision tree base learners during inference, the combination does not appear to explicitly teach:
wherein the exit condition is devised so that it can only be fulfilled if at least a predetermined number or a fraction of the machine learning tasks have been completed in one of the pre-trained decision tree base learners.
However, Basilico, in combination with Ruiz, Wang, and Lettich, teaches the limitation:
wherein the exit condition is devised so that it can only be fulfilled if at least a predetermined number or a fraction of the machine learning tasks have been completed in one of the pre-trained decision tree base learners. (Basilico, [P. 3, Section: B] “Initially all m models are in the unqueried set U. In each step, a model T is randomly chosen and removed from U to vote on x; the vote is added to the running tallies of how many votes each class has received. Based on the accumulated tallies and how many ensemble members have not yet voted, the stopping criterion decides if it is safe to stop and return the classification receiving the most votes. If it is not safe, a new ensemble member is drawn, and the process is repeated until it is safe to stop or all m ensemble members have been queried.” [Pp. 3-4, Section: C] “We propose Gaussian Lazy Ensemble Evaluation (GLEE), which uses the Gaussian distribution to infer a (1 − α) confidence interval around the observed mean pˆ. The interval is used to test the hypothesis that the unobserved proportion of positive votes p falls on the same side of 0.5 as pˆ (and consequently, that the current estimated classification agrees with the full ensemble’s classification). If 0.5 falls outside the interval, GLEE rejects the null hypothesis that p and pˆ are on different sides of 0.5 and terminates voting early. …, To ensure the Gaussian approximation is reasonable, GLEE only stops evaluation only once some minimum number of models have voted.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the combination of Ruiz, Wang, and Lettich before them, to incorporate the Gaussian Lazy Ensemble Evaluation (GLEE) method as taught by Basilico. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to reduce evaluation cost by 100X or more. Doing so would provide a significant speed-up over evaluating the entire ensemble (Basilico [Abstract]).
Regarding Previously presented Claim 11,
The claim recites substantially similar limitations as corresponding claim 4 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 4 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding Previously presented Claim 18,
The claim recites substantially similar limitations as corresponding claim 4 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 4 using similar teachings and rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2121
/Li B. Zhen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2121