DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 15 and 20 are cancelled; claims 19 and 22 are withdrawn; new claim 25 is added; claims 1-14, 16-18, 21 and 23-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-14, 16-18, 21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yazicioglu et al (U.S. 8,914,099). Yazicioglu discloses (col. 2, lines 3-31) a signal processing module configured to receive an analog signal as a biopotential signal input and generate another analog signal as a processed biopotential signal using the biopotential signal input, wherein the signal processing module processes the biopotential signal input and processed biopotential signal as analog signals; a motion artifact extraction module configured to receive the biopotential signal input and extract a motion artifact signal from the biopotential signal input, wherein the motion artifact signal is an analog signal; and a subtraction module configured to generate an output by subtracting the motion artifact signal from the processed biopotential signal.
Regarding claim 2, Yazicioglu discloses (col. 2, lines 3-31) the biosignal monitoring system is configured such that the processed biopotential signal propagates from the signal processing module to the subtraction module exclusively as an analog signal.
Regarding claim 3, Yazicioglu discloses (col. 7, lines 6-18) the motion artifact extraction module comprises a filter network configured for attenuating components of a differential mode signal of the biopotential signal input that are greater than a first frequency and configured for passing single ended components of the biopotential signal input up to a second frequency that is greater than the first frequency.
Regarding claim 4, Yazicioglu discloses (col. 7, lines 6-18) the motion artifact extraction module comprises :a first forward path amplifier having a first input connected to a first biopotential electrical signal input terminal, and a second input and an output connected to a first output terminal of the motion artifact extraction module; a second forward path amplifier having a first input connected to a second biopotential electrical signal input terminal, a second input and an output connected to a second output terminal of the motion artifact extraction module; and a capacitor connecting the output of the first forward path amplifier and the output of the second forward path amplifier.
Regarding claim 7, Yazicioglu discloses (col. 4, lines 54-61) the first forward path amplifier is implemented as a transconductance amplifier.
Regarding claim 8, Yazicioglu discloses (col. 2, lines 3-31) the signal processing module and the subtraction module are implemented exclusively as analog domain electronic modules.
Regarding claim 9, Yazicioglu discloses (col. 7, lines 6-18) the subtraction module is implemented as an instrumentation amplifier.
Regarding claim 10, Yazicioglu discloses (col. 7, lines 6-18) the biopotential signal input is connected to both a first input of the instrumentation amplifier and an input of the motion artifact extraction module.
Regarding claim 11, Yazicioglu discloses (col. 7, lines 6-18) an output of the motion artifact extraction module is connected to a second input of the instrumentation amplifier.
Regarding claim 12, Yazicioglu discloses (Abstract) the subtraction module is implemented as a digital domain electronic module.
Regarding claim 13, Yazicioglu discloses (Abstract; col. 7, lines 6-18) the signal processing module is implemented as an instrumentation amplifier, the biosignal monitoring system further comprising: a first analog-to-digital converter connected to the output of the motion artifact extraction module and further connected to a first input of the subtraction module; and t second analog-to-digital connected to the output of the signal processing module and further connected to a second input of the subtraction module.
Regarding claim 14, Yazicioglu discloses (Abstract; col. 7, lines 6-18) the motion artifact extraction module is integrated in an instrumentation amplifier comprising: a third forward path amplifier connected between a first input terminal of the motion artifact extraction module and the biopotential signal input; a fourth forward path amplifier connected between a second input terminal of the motion artifact extraction module and the biopotential signal input; a first analog-to-digital converter connected to the output of the motion artifact extraction module and further connected to a first input of the subtraction module; and a second analog-to-digital converter connected to the output of the signal processing module and further connected to a second input of the subtraction module.
Regarding claim 16, Yazicioglu discloses (Abstract) at least an ECG machine.
Regarding claim 17, Yazicioglu discloses (col. 3, lines 6-57) a microchip comprising the biosignal monitoring system.
Regarding claim 18, Yazicioglu discloses (Figure 1) a biomedical device comprising the microchip.
Regarding claim 21, Yazicioglu discloses (Abstract; col. 2, lines 3-31; col. 3, lines 6-57; col. 4, lines 54-61; col. 7, lines 6-18 the motion artifact extraction module is implemented as an analog domain electronic circuit, wherein the motion artifact extraction module comprises a filter network configured for attenuating components of a differential mode signal of the biopotential signal input that are greater than a first frequency and configured for passing single ended components of the biopotential signal input up to a second frequency that is greater than the first frequency, wherein the motion artifact extraction module comprises: a first forward path amplifier having a first input connected to a first biopotential electrical signal input terminal, and a second input and an output connected to a first output terminal of the motion artifact extraction module; a second forward path amplifier having a first input connected to a second biopotential electrical signal input terminal, a second input and an output connected to a second output terminal of the motion artifact extraction module; and a capacitor connecting the output of the first forward path amplifier and the output of the second forward path amplifier, wherein the motion artifact extraction module is integrated in an instrumentation amplifier comprising: a third forward path amplifier connected between a first input terminal of the motion artifact extraction module and the biopotential signal input; a fourth forward path amplifier connected between a second input terminal of the motion artifact extraction module and the biopotential signal input; a first analog-to-digital converter connected to the output of the motion artifact extraction module and further connected to a first input of the subtraction module; and a second analog-to-digital converter connected to the output of the signal processing module and further connected to a second input of the subtraction module.
Regarding claim 23, Yazicioglu discloses (col. 2, lines 3-31) the signal processing module and the motion artifact extraction module are both configured to receive the biopotential signal input.
Regarding claim 24, Yazicioglu discloses (col. 2, lines 3-31) the biosignal monitoring system is configured such that the motion artifact signal propagates from the motion artifact extraction module to the subtraction module exclusively as an analog signal.
Regarding claim 25, Yazicioglu discloses (col. 2, lines 3-31) a biopotential electrical signal input configured to receive an analog signal, wherein the analog signal is a biopotential electrical signal, and the biopotential electrical signal input couples the analog signal to: a signal processing module configured to generate a processed analog biopotential signal using the biopotential electrical signal; a motion artifact extraction module configured to extract an analog motion artifact signal from the biopotential electrical signal; and a subtraction module configured to receive the processed analog biopotential signal and the analog motion artifact signal, and generate an output by subtracting the analog motion artifact signal from the processed analog biopotential signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yazicioglu et al (U.S. 8,914,099). Yazicioglu discloses the claimed invention except for the capacitor has a capacitance between 100 nF to 100 µF. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a capacitor with this capacitance range, since it has been held that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Yazicioglu discloses the claimed invention except for a transconductance of the first forward path amplifier has a value between 10 nS to 1000 nS. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a transconductance of this range, since it has been held that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792