DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s response filed 17 September 2025 is acknowledged. Claim 1 has been amended, claims 17-24 have been canceled, new claims 25-30 have been introduced, and claims 1-6, 8, 10-16, and 25-30 remain pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the one or more openings" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 13, 16, 25, 26, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sachs et al. (US 5,775,402; hereinafter “Sachs”).
Regarding claim 1, Sachs teaches a method of manufacturing a part (see 6:37-55), comprising steps of:
additively manufacturing (see 6:7-14) a wall (shell 25, see Fig. 9; 12:50-13:15) substantially enclosing an interior volume (see Fig. 9) and an infill portion (cellular structure 23, see Fig. 9; 12:50-13:15) having a pattern defining structures and space within the interior volume (see Figs. 9 and 20), the wall (shell 25, see Fig. 9), and infill portion (cellular structure 23, see Fig. 9) made of a first metal (see 12:50-13:15); and
infiltrating the first metal with a second metal having a lower melting temperature than the first metal (see 12:50-13:15 and 9:5-10:58) to form an interpenetrating structure having minimal erosion of the first metal by the second metal (see 8:19-65), wherein the second metal substantially surrounds the infill portion of the first metal and fills the space within the interior volume of the part (see 12:50-13:15 and 9:5-10:58).
Regarding claim 2, Sachs teaches wherein printing the part comprises printing one or more channels within and traversing through the interior volume of the part (conformal cooling channels 22, see Fig. 9; 12:50-13:15).
Regarding claim 3, Sachs teaches wherein the first metal is steel (see 6:37-55), and the second metal is copper (bronze, see 7:43-62).
Regarding claim 10, Sachs teaches wherein in the infiltrating step the second metal unimpededly flows through the interior volume (Sachs does not specify otherwise so the second metal inherently unimpededly flows through the interior volume; see 12:50-13:15 and 9:5-10:58).
Regarding claim 13, Sachs teaches wherein the infiltrating step substantially fills empty space within the interior volume (see Figs. 16A-16D; 12:50-13:15 and 9:5-10:58).
Regarding claim 16, Sachs teaches wherein the infiltrating step comprises heating the part with the second metal in a reducing argon atmosphere (see 9:16-55).
Regarding claim 25, its limitations have been discussed in the rejection for claim 1 above. Claim 25 differs from claim 1 in that debinding and sintering the green part is required, which is also taught by Sachs (see 6:35-55).
Regarding claim 26, Sachs teaches a method of manufacturing a die insert for a mold (see 6:37-55), comprising steps of:
additively manufacturing (see 6:7-14) a wall (shell 25, see Fig. 9; 12:50-13:15) substantially enclosing an interior volume (see Fig. 9) and an infill portion (cellular structure 23, see Fig. 9; 12:50-13:15) to form a green part (see 12:50-13:33), the infill portion having a pattern defining structures and spaces throughout the interior volume (see Figs. 9 and 20; 12:50-13:15), the wall and infill portion made of a first metal (see 12:50-13:15), wherein
additively manufacturing the wall and the infill portion includes printing one or more fluid tight channels within and traversing through the interior volume of the part (conformal cooling channels 22, see Fig. 9; 12:50-13:15); and
infiltrating the first metal with a second metal having a lower melting temperature than the first metal to form an interpenetrating structure of the first metal by the second metal (see 12:50-13:15 and 9:5-10:58),
wherein the second metal substantially surrounds the infill portion of the first metal and fills the space within the interior volume of the part (see 12:50-13:15 and 9:5-10:58).
Regarding claim 28, Sachs teaches debinding and sintering the green part after forming the green part (see 6:35-55 and 13:15-33).
Regarding claim 29, Sachs teaches wherein the first metal is steel (see 6:37-55), and the second metal is copper (bronze, see 7:43-62) or magnesium.
Regarding claim 30, Sachs teaches wherein the infiltrating step comprises heating the part with the second metal in a reducing argon atmosphere (see 9:16-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachs (US 5,775,402).
Regarding claim 15, Sachs is silent to prior to the infiltrating step, comprising a step of suspending a volume of the second metal above the one or more openings. However, it would have been obvious and within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine how best to hold and secure the second metal, including via suspension above the one or more openings, in order to deliver second metal during the injection process.
Claims 1, 3-5, 10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amstutz (US 2016/0039006), in view of Cronin (US 2016/0221266).
Regarding claim 1, Amstutz teaches a method of manufacturing a part, comprising steps of:
additively manufacturing a wall substantially enclosing an interior volume (shell 104 is created by an additive manufacturing process (see [0023] and [0049]-[0051]) and forms a wall 106 surrounding a cavity 118 defined by one or more interior surfaces of the shell 104, see Fig. 2; [0023]-[0027]) and an infill portion having a pattern defining structures and space within the interior volume (support structure 116, see Fig. 2; [0026]), the wall (see [0048]-[0051]), and infill portion (though Amstutz is silent to specifically teaching wherein the infill portion is made of a first metal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to do so because the shell 104, which includes said support structures 116 (see [0026]), is additively manufactured of metal (see [0048]-[0051])) made of a first metal; and
infiltrating the first metal with a second metal having a lower melting temperature than the first metal, wherein the second metal substantially surrounds the infill portion of the first metal and fills the space within the interior volume of the part (see [0034]-[0041] and [0048]-[0054]).
Though Amstutz is silent to specifically teaching to form an interpenetrating structure having minimal erosion of the first metal by the second metal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to do so in order to maintain the integrity of the first metal during infiltration of the second metal (see [0048]).
Amstutz is silent to the infill portion having a pattern defining structures and space throughout the interior volume.
Cronin teaches that a hollow object has 0% infill and a completely solid object has 100% infill. The infill can have a significant impact on the manufacturing process and the characteristics of the printed object. For example, as the percent infill is increased, the weight and strength of the object generally increase and manufacturing (printing) time and cost and amount of raw materials also increase. Thus, reducing the amount of infill can have a positive effect of reducing printing time and cost, but doing so may result in a printed object having unacceptable structural characteristics (see [0005], [0024]-[0028], and Fig. 2C). Therefore, the percent infill is a result effective variable.
In view of Cronin’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Amstutz to include optimizing its infill portion so it has a pattern defining structure and space throughout the interior volume, as taught by Cronin, because it would increase the strength of the object. Where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP §2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Amstutz and Cronin teaches wherein the first metal is steel (Amstutz: see [0051]), but is silent to wherein the second metal is copper. However, Amstutz teaches that the filler material 164 is selected in order to ensure adequate metallurgical bonding with the additive manufactured shell 104 (see [0048]), so it would have been within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine through routine experimentation an appropriate material for the second metal, such as copper. See MPEP §2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Amstutz and Cronin teaches wherein the first metal is steel (Amstutz: see [0051]), but is silent to wherein the second metal is magnesium. However, Amstutz teaches that the filler material 164 is selected in order to ensure adequate metallurgical bonding with the additive manufactured shell 104 (see [0048]), so it would have been within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine through routine experimentation an appropriate material for the second metal, such as magnesium. See MPEP §2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Amstutz and Cronin teaches where the first metal is titanium (Amstutz: see [0051]), but is silent to wherein the second metal is magnesium. However, Amstutz teaches that the filler material 164 is selected in order to ensure adequate metallurgical bonding with the additive manufactured shell 104 (see [0048]), so it would have been within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine through routine experimentation an appropriate material for the second metal, such as magnesium. See MPEP §2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Amstutz and Cronin teaches wherein in the infiltrating step the second metal unimpededly flows through the interior volume (Amstutz does not specify otherwise so the second metal inherently unimpededly flows through the interior volume; see [0034]-[0041] and [0048]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Amstutz and Cronin teaches wherein the infiltrating step substantially fills empty space within the interior volume (Amstutz: see Fig. 6, [0034]-[0041] and [0048]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Amstutz and Cronin teaches wherein prior to the infiltrating step, comprising a step of forming one or more openings in the wall (Amstutz: aperture 162 through the wall 106 of the shell 104, see Fig. 2; [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Amstutz and Cronin teaches a source of the fluid filler material 166 above the aperture 162 (Amstutz: see Fig. 5 and [0034]) but is silent to specifically teaching that the volume of the second metal is suspended above the one or more openings. However, it would have been obvious and within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine how best to hold and secure the second metal, including via suspension above the aperture, in order to deliver second metal during the injection process.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Amstutz and Cronin is silent to wherein the infiltrating step comprises heating the part with the second metal in a reducing argon atmosphere. However, it is the Examiner’s position that heating the part with the second metal in a reducing argon atmosphere is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to prevent oxidation of the metal during use.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Amstutz and Cronin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Forsmark et al. (US 2018/0236532; hereinafter “Forsmark”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Amstutz and Cronin is silent to wherein printing the part comprises printing one or more channels within and traversing through the interior volume of the part.
Forksmark teaches an additively manufactured section 24 (see Fig. 2). A cooling channel 40 partially surrounds the additive section and is disposed in the base plate 18. The cooling channel 40 may be machined by a CNC process or other suitable method. The cooling channel 40 may also be formed by the additive manufacturing process, therefore the channel 40 is integral to the additive section 24. The cooling channel 40 allows for conformal cooling of the cast component during the casting process. Traditional machining processes can only produce straight line cooling channels. However, utilization of an additive manufacturing process to produce cooling passages
within the die can allow for a more complex shape, enabling cooling of specific areas of the die that may overheat in relation to other areas during casting production (see [0039]).
In view of Forksmark’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the part of the combination of Amstutz and Cronin to include, wherein printing the part comprises printing one or more channels within and traversing through the interior volume of the part, as taught by Forksmark, because it allows for the cooling channel to be integral to the additively manufactured part and allows for conformal cooling of the cast component during the casting process. Furthermore, utilization of an additive manufacturing process to produce cooling passages within the die can allow for a more complex shape, enabling cooling of specific areas of the die that may overheat in relation to other areas during casting production.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Sachs as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tobia (US 2019/0240734).
Regarding claim 6, Sachs is silent to wherein the infill portion is a continuous gyroid geometry.
Tobia teaches that it is known to utilize a gyroid pattern as an infill structure for 3D printed objects in order to provide sufficient object strength (see [0070]-[0071]).
In view of Tobia’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Sachs to include wherein the infill portion is a continuous gyroid geometry, as taught by Tobia, because it is a known pattern for 3D printed objects used to provide sufficient strength to the object. Furthermore, the substitution of a known element (the infill of Sachs) for another known element (the gyroid infill of Tobia) would have been obvious with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Amstutz and Cronin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tobia (US 2019/0240734).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Amstutz and Cronin is silent to wherein the infill portion is a continuous gyroid geometry.
Tobia teaches that it is known to utilize a gyroid pattern as an infill structure for 3D printed objects in order to provide sufficient object strength (see [0070]-[0071]).
In view of Tobia’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of the combination of Amstutz and Cronin to include wherein the infill portion is a continuous gyroid geometry, as taught by Tobia, because it is a known pattern for 3D printed objects used to provide sufficient strength to the object. Furthermore, the substitution of a known element (the infill of the combination of Amstutz and Cronin) for another known element (the gyroid infill of Tobia) would have been obvious with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachs as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schmehl (US 2014/0121813).
Regarding claim 8, Sachs is silent to wherein the infill portion is an alternating stacked rectangular infill geometry.
Schmehl teaches 3D printing of a object that may be fabricated with a first material to provide an object having a number of layers that generally define an exterior surface of the object and an infill for the object within the exterior surface. The infill may further define one or more void spaces within an interior of the object. This may include space left in the interior by a regular (e.g., triangular, square, rectangular, hexagonal) or irregular (e.g., random space filling) geometry of vertical walls, such as conventionally used to provide structural integrity for a three-dimensional object, and to provide supporting structure for top surfaces where needed. In another aspect, the regular pattern of the infill may be further modified to provide additional cavities as contemplated herein (see [0041]).
In view of Schmehl’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to modify the method of Sachs to include a rectangular infill geometry, as taught by Schmehl, because it is a known infill pattern for additively manufactured objects. Furthermore, the substitution of a known element (the infill of Sachs) for another known element (the rectangular pattern of Schmehl) would have been obvious with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Though the combination of Sachs and Schmehl is silent to specifically teaching an alternating stacked rectangular infill geometry, absent persuasive evidence to the contrary, an alternating stacked rectangular infill geometry would merely be a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious at the time the invention was filed.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Amstutz and Cronin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schmehl (US 2014/0121813).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Amstutz and Cronin is silent to wherein the infill portion is an alternating stacked rectangular infill geometry.
Schmehl teaches 3D printing of a object that may be fabricated with a first material to provide an object having a number of layers that generally define an exterior surface of the object and an infill for the object within the exterior surface. The infill may further define one or more void spaces within an interior of the object. This may include space left in the interior by a regular (e.g., triangular, square, rectangular, hexagonal) or irregular (e.g., random space filling) geometry of vertical walls, such as conventionally used to provide structural integrity for a three-dimensional object, and to provide supporting structure for top surfaces where needed. In another aspect, the regular pattern of the infill may be further modified to provide additional cavities as contemplated herein (see [0041]).
In view of Schmehl’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to modify the method of the combination of Amstutz and Cronin to include a rectangular infill geometry, as taught by Schmehl, because it is a known infill pattern for additively manufactured objects. Furthermore, the substitution of a known element (the infill of the combination of Amstutz and Cronin) for another known element (the rectangular pattern of Schmehl) would have been obvious with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Though the combination of Amstutz, Cronin, and Schmehl is silent to specifically teaching an alternating stacked rectangular infill geometry, absent persuasive evidence to the contrary, an alternating stacked rectangular infill geometry would merely be a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious at the time the invention was filed.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachs as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Holland (US 4,106,408).
Regarding claim 11, Sachs is silent to applying a protectant on an outside surface of the part before infiltration.
Holland teaches protecting an outer surface of a cylinder with a lacquer coating to prevent any deposition of copper thereon (2:33-52).
In view of Holland’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Sachs to include applying a protectant on an outside surface of the part before infiltration, as taught by Holland, because it can be used as a means to prevent unwanted deposition of a material onto a surface.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Amstutz and Cronin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Holland (US 4,106,408).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Amstutz and Cronin is silent to applying a protectant on an outside surface of the part before infiltration.
Holland teaches protecting an outer surface of a cylinder with a lacquer coating to prevent any deposition of copper thereon (2:33-52).
In view of Holland’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of the combination of Amstutz and Cronin to include applying a protectant on an outside surface of the part before infiltration, as taught by Holland, because it can be used as a means to prevent unwanted deposition of a material onto a surface.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Sachs and Holland as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Riel (US 3,747,197)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sachs and Holland is silent to wherein the step of applying the protectant comprises coating the outside surface of the part with a stop-braze.
Riel teaches it is known to utilize a braze stop-off coating compound to prevent bonding in areas (see 3:17-32).
In view of Riel’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of the combination of Sachs and Holland to include wherein the step of applying the protectant comprises coating the outside surface of the part with a stop-braze, as taught by Riel, because it is a known coating used to prevent bonding in areas where bonding is not desired. Furthermore, the substitution of a known element (the protectant coating of the combination of Sachs and Holland) for another known element (the braze stop-off coating of Riel) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with predictable results at the time the invention was filed.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Amstutz, Cronin, and Holland as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Riel (US 3,747,197)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Amstutz, Cronin, and Holland is silent to wherein the step of applying the protectant comprises coating the outside surface of the part with a stop-braze.
Riel teaches it is known to utilize a braze stop-off coating compound to prevent bonding in areas (see 3:17-32).
In view of Riel’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of the combination of Amstutz, Cronin, and Holland to include wherein the step of applying the protectant comprises coating the outside surface of the part with a stop-braze, as taught by Riel, because it is a known coating used to prevent bonding in areas where bonding is not desired. Furthermore, the substitution of a known element (the protectant coating of the combination of Amstutz, Cronin, and Holland) for another known element (the braze stop-off coating of Riel) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with predictable results at the time the invention was filed.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachs as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Amstutz (US 2016/0039006).
Regarding claim 14, Sachs is silent to wherein prior to the infiltrating step, comprising a step of forming one or more openings in the wall.
Amstutz teaches wherein prior to the infiltrating step (see [0034]-[0041] and [0048]-[0054]), comprising a step of forming one or more openings in the wall (Amstutz: aperture 162 through the wall 106 of the shell 104, see Fig. 2; [0034]).
In view of Amstutz’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Sachs to include forming openings in the shell prior to the infiltrating step, as taught by Amstutz, because it allows for infiltration of the second metal into the shell of the first metal and the substitution of a known element (the infiltration by Sachs) for another known element (the infiltration of Amstutz) would have been obvious with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amstutz (US 2016/0039006), in view of Cronin (US 2016/0221266) and Sachs (US 5,775,402).
Regarding claim 25, its limitations have been discussed in the rejection for claim 1 above. Claim 25 differs from claim 1 in that debinding and sintering the green part is required. The combination of Amstutz and Cronin is silent to debinding and sintering the green part.
Sachs teaches three dimensional printing of a mold. During fabrication of the mold, as by three dimensional printing, a powder material is deposited in layers, and a polymer or inorganic binder is selectively printed on each layer. The powder material may include stainless steels, such as the 400 series and particularly 420, tool steels such as H13 or S7, or carbides, such as tungsten carbide, titanium carbide, or tantalum carbide. The cooling channels are automatically formed as unbound regions during the printing. After process completion and curing of the polymer binder, the unbound powder is removed from the mold, leaving behind the desired network of channels. The mold is then debound and either sintered directly to full density, or presintered and then infiltrated. In this manner, channel shape and layout can be optimized for heat transfer while avoiding adverse effects to the mechanical integrity of the mold (see 6:35-55).
In view of Sachs’ teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of the combination of Amstutz and Cronin to include debinding and sintering the green part, as taught by Sachs, because it provides the full density of the part.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Sachs as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Amstutz (US 2016/0039006).
Regarding claim 27, Sachs is silent to wherein infiltrating the first metal with the second metal comprises:
forming openings in the shell, suspending an amount of the second metal near the openings and heating the second metal to infiltrate melted second metal into the interior volume.
Amstutz teaches wherein prior to the infiltrating step, comprising a step of forming one or more openings in the wall (Amstutz: aperture 162 through the wall 106 of the shell 104, see Fig. 2; [0034]).
In view of Amstutz’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Sachs to include forming openings in the shell prior to the infiltrating step, as taught by Amstutz, because it allows for infiltration of the second metal into the shell of the first metal and the substitution of a known element (the infiltration by Sachs) for another known element (the infiltration of Amstutz) would have been obvious with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Though the combination of Sachs and Amstutz is silent to suspending an amount of the second metal near the openings and heating the second metal to infiltrate melted second metal into the interior volume, it would have been obvious and within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine how best to hold and secure the second metal, including via suspension above the aperture, in order to deliver second metal during the injection process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-9 of the remarks, Applicant argues, with respect to claim 1, that what the Office refers to as “infill” in Amstutz are reinforcing or support structures of the shell. This element is part of the shell and a person skilled in the art would not confuse it with patterned infill, nor would it have been obvious or even feasible to extend such support structures throughout the interior volume of the shell. Applicant argues that it would not have been obvious to provide the shell and core structure described in Amstutz with a patterned infill structure because the basic operation of Amstutz involves filling the hollow shell with the liquid core material and bonding the core material to the hollow shell, and it is not obvious to modify a reference in a way that makes the technology in reference unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. In this instance, by impeding the bonding of the core to the shell, adding infill structure to Amstutz as suggested in the Office Action is not obvious. Applicant also argues that there is no embodiment disclosed in Amstutz wherein the core is a second metal. Applicant argues that there is no basis to say that it would be obvious to minimize erosion based on the “integrity” of the first metal. With regard to the combination of Amstutz in view of Cronin, Applicant argues that Cronin does not mention types of metal suitable with the method, or any method steps specific to printing a metal infill that impact infill erosion property as claimed.
The Examiner finds these arguments unpersuasive. Applicant’s current claim language does not preclude equating the support structures of Amstutz to the claimed infill pattern. In Figure 2 of Amstutz, the support structures 116 clearly define structures and space within the interior volume 118, and create a symmetrical pattern within the interior of volume 118. Additionally, Amstutz teaches that the shell 104 may be constructed with a plurality of support structures 16, such as supporting ribs, walls or columns, for purposes such as to maintain dimensional stability of a part 100 when secondary, filler material 164 is injected into internal cavity 118 (see [0044]). Applicant merely alleges that adding or modifying the infill structure of Amstutz would impede the bonding of the core to the shell of Amstutz without any scientific evidence or data to prove that such a change would have to result in an unsatisfactory bond between the core and shell of Amstutz. Amstutz clearly teaches an embodiment in which the filler material, equated to the claimed second material (or what Applicant is referring to as the core material), is metal (see [0048]-[0054]). With regard to the claim limitation regarding minimal erosion of the first metal by the second metal, one of ordinary skill in the art would find this to be obvious on its face. As the shell has to withstand the pressures of infiltrating the second metal (which was previously discussed as maintaining integrity by the Examiner), it would be obvious to minimize erosion of the first metal of the shell by the second metal of the infiltrant in order to successfully cast a useable product. Amstutz is silent to the infill portion having a pattern defining structures and space throughout the interior volume, and so Cronin was utilized to teach that the infill throughout the volume is a result effective variable. Cronin teaches that a hollow object has 0% infill and a completely solid object has 100% infill. The infill an have a significant impact on the manufacturing process and the characteristics of the printed object. For example, as the percent infill is increased, the weight and strength of the object generally increase and manufacturing (printing) time and cost and amount of raw materials also increase. Thus, reducing the amount of infill can have a positive effect of reducing printing time and cost, but doing so may result in a printed object having unacceptable structural characteristics (see [0005], [0024]-[0028], and Fig. 2C). Therefore, the percent infill, or the infill throughout the interior volume, is a result effective variable.
Claim 1 is also now being rejected by Sachs which teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
On page 9 of the remarks, Applicant argues, with respect to claim 2, that the statement “one or more channels within and traversing through the interior volume of the part is well known” is made entirely without documentary evidence and is not correct.
The Examiner finds this argument moot as claim 2 is now being rejected by the combination of Amstutz, Cronin, and Forksmark which shows that cooling channels within and traversing through the interior volume of the part is clearly well known (see rejection of claim 2 above). Furthermore, the newly presented rejection of claim 2 by Sachs also teaches this limitation being well known (see rejection of claim 2 above).
On pages 9-10 of the remarks, Applicant argues, with respect to claims 3-5, that the prior art fails to teach the claimed materials. Applicant argues that the claimed metal-metal pairs are sparingly soluble in one another and would not have been arrived at simply in an effort to ensure bonding one to the other-through any amount of routine experimentation.
The Examiner finds these arguments unpersuasive. Amstutz teaches that the filler material 164 is selected in order to ensure adequate metallurgical bonding with the additive manufactured shell 104 (see [0048]), so it would have been within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine through routine experimentation an appropriate material for the second metal, such as magnesium. See MPEP §2144.05(II). Applicant’s argument regarding the metal-metal pairs not being discovered via any amount of experimentation is merely allegation without any scientific evidence to back up the allegations.
On page 10 of the remarks, regarding claims 10 and 13, Applicant argues that Amstutz has no infill structure.
The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive because Applicant’s current claim language does not preclude equating the support structures of Amstutz to the claimed infill pattern.
On page 10 of the remarks, Applicant argues, with respect to claim 16, that the Examiner does not set forth how the second metal would be infiltrated into a structure having infill extending throughout an interior space, so there is a lack of context for heating he part during an infiltrating step.
The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the infill of the combination of Amstutz and Cronin could be designed such that the interior volumes are not cut off from each other. In other words, infiltration would be possible because the open spaces within the interior of the shell would all be connected.
On pages 10-11 of the remarks, Applicant argues, with respect to claim 8, that the prior art of Ng does not appear to relate to an infill pattern, nor does it teach an alternating stacked rectangular pattern of infill.
The Examiner finds this argument moot as claim 8 is now being rejected in view of the new prior art of Schmehl (see rejections for claim 8 above).
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 1 November 2025
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735