DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed June 25, 2025 in this application after Final Rejection Office action. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, the previous Final Rejection with the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on August 22, 2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues throughout that the previously cited prior art fail to teach or suggest
“adding a second header to each of the plurality of data segments, wherein the second header
comprises description information related to the data segment, and wherein the description
information comprises at least one of: a segmentation information (SI); or a segment offset (SO), wherein each of the plurality of data segments is a MAC service date unit (SDU) segment.”
Examiner disagrees. Segmenting data units, as well as, attaching/adding headers to multiple data units is known in the art as demonstrated in the previously cited prior art and newly cited prior art of Vajapeyam (USPGPUB 20170041766.)
Examiner acknowledge Applicant amendment whereby Applicant has added the limitation of canceled claim 3 into the independent claims. However, the claims are not in condition for allowance because the combined prior art as cited teaches
“adding a second header to each of the plurality of data segments, wherein the second header
comprises description information related to the data segment, and wherein the description
information comprises at least one of: a segmentation information (SI); or a segment offset (SO), wherein each of the plurality of data segments is a MAC service date unit (SDU) segment.”
In light of Applicant amendment, the previous rejections have been modified to reflect the most current amendments. See rejections that follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was
commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
9. Claims 1-2, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Kashima et al (US PGPUB 2008/0009289) in view of Kim et al (US Patent 10,091,686, hereafter; Kim(686) and Jung et al (US PGPUB 2021/0274587) and KWON et al (US Patent 10,142,706.)
Regarding claim 1, 18 and 20, Kashima et al disclose performed by a
transmitter module in a wireless communication system, the method comprising;
segmenting a plurality of data units from a plurality of logical channels into a plurality of
data segments (see Fig. 10-12, para: 0039, 0092, 0101, 0092, segmenting data
blocks of logical channels whereby data blocks associated with segments) data
medium access control (MAC) layer, (see para: 0030, 0064, MAC segments associated with MAC SDUs); wherein each of the plurality of data segments is a MAC SDU segment (see para: 0030, segment MAC SDUs.)
Kashima further disclose processors along with execution of instructions utilized
to perform functions (see Fig. 1A, 1B, para: 0042, 0059, 0060, 0062-0063, 0107, 0113,
processors and executable software.) Kashima fail to teach wherein the plurality of
data segments are allocated with a plurality of sequence numbers in sequential order, in
analogous art, Kim(686) disclose plurality of data segment shares IP header, such as
sequence number in sequential order (see col, 10 & 11, fig. 2B, 6B, 14B-14D, : 0166, 0170, data segments in sequential order.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before
the effective filing date to implement the plurality of data segments are allocated with a
plurality of sequence numbers in sequential order as taught by Kim(686) with the teachings of Kashima for the purpose of providing communication clarity.
Although Kashima fail to teach adding a first header to each of the
plurality of data units, wherein the first header comprises an indication indicating
whether a data unit comprises a data segment, and wherein the first header comprises
a one-bit indicator; and setting the one-bit indicator in the first header of each of the
plurality of data units to a value to indicate that the data unit comprises the data
segment, Kim686 further disclose adding a first header to each of the plurality
of data units (see, Fig. 2B & 4, 2 col. 2, line 49-56, col. 3, line 13-15, attaching
header to all of the many of data units ) wherein the first header comprises an
indication indicating whether a data unit comprises a data segment (see Fig. 6A, col.
25, line 5-26, first headers include flag bit indicating data unit associated with
segment), and wherein the first header comprises a one-bit indicator (see col. 25, line
5-26, first headers include 1-bit flag indication); and setting the one-bit indicator in
the first header of each of the plurality of data units to a value to indicate that the data
unit comprises the data segment (see Fig. 6A, 6B, 7 & 10, col. 16, line 25-31, col. 25,
line 5-26.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before
the effective filing date to implement adding a first header to each of the plurality of data
units, wherein the first header comprises an indication indicating whether a data unit
comprises a data segment, and wherein the first header comprises a one-bit indicator;
and setting the one-bit indicator in the first header of each of the plurality of data units to
a value to indicate that the data unit comprises the data segment as taught by Kim(686)
with the combined teachings of Kashima for the purpose of providing
communication clarity associated with payload segmentation and reassembly .
Although Kashima and Kim686 fail to teach obtaining, at the MAC layer, the
plurality of data units from a layer immediately above the MAC layer, wherein the
plurality of data units are grouped by at least one of: a Quality of Service (QoS) flow and
a data radio bearer (DRB), in analogous art, Jung et al disclose obtaining, at the MAC
layer, the plurality of data units from a layer immediately above the MAC layer, wherein
the plurality of data units are grouped by at least one of: QoS flow and DRB (see Fig.
1D, 1FA, para: 0077, 0095, 0153, 0156, group information (reassembled data)
obtained by MAC layer, whereby the data sets are grouped by DBRS and QoS.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before
the effective filing date to implement obtaining, at the MAC layer, the plurality of data
units from a layer immediately above the MAC layer, wherein the plurality of data units
are grouped by at least one of: a Quality of Service (QoS) flow and a data radio bearer
(DRB) as taught by Jung et al with the combined teachings of Kashima and
Kim(686) for the purpose of providing communication clarity as well as minimizing
communication delay associated with payload segmentation and reassembly.
Although, Kashima, Kim(686) and Jung fail to teach adding a second
header to each of the plurality of data segments, wherein the second header comprises
description information related to the data segment, and wherein the description
information comprises at least one of: a segmentation information (Sl); a sequence
number (SN); or assignment offset (SO), in analogous art, KWON et al teaches segmented packet maybe included in a segmented packet, whereby an extended
header (second header) maybe included. The extended header may include a
sequence offset (SO) or a segmentation information (SI) (see col. 14, line 3 thru line 20, header may include (SO) or (SI).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before
the effective filing date to implement adding a second header to each of the plurality of
data segments, wherein the second header comprises description information related to
the data segment, and wherein the description information comprises at least one of: a
segmentation information (SI); a sequence number (SN); or a segment offset (SO) as
taught by KWON with the combined teachings of Kashima, Kim(686) and Jung for
the purpose of providing communication clarity associated with assemble and
reassembling of PDU, wherein each of the plurality of data segments is a MAC SDU segment (see para: 0030, segment MAC SDUs.)
Regarding claim 2, Kashima disclose wherein each of the plurality of data units
is a MAC service data unit (SDU) (see para: 0030-0032, data units is MAC SDUs.)
10. Claims 10-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Pani et al (US PGPUB 20080188224) in view of and Kim et al (US Patent 10,091,686, hereafter; Kim(686) and KWON et al (US Patent 10,142,706) AND Kashima et al (US PGPUB 2008/0009289.)
Regarding claim 10 and 19, Pani et al disclose performed by a receiver module
in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
reassembling a plurality of data segments at a medium access control (MAC)
layer to construct at least one of a plurality of reassembled data units for a plurality of
logical channels (see fig. 1B, abstract, para: 0002-0005, data units (PDU and SDU)
associated with logic channel.) In addition, Pani disclose at least one processor
(see Fig. 1A, 1B, para: 0142-0144) configured to: reassemble a plurality of data.
Although Pani fail to teach wherein the plurality of data segments are allocated
with a plurality of sequence numbers in sequential order, in analogous art, Kim(686) et al disclose plurality of data segment shares IP header, such as sequence number in
sequential order (see col, 10 & 11, fig. 2B, 6B, 14B-14D, : 0166, 0170, data segments in sequential order.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before
the effective filing date to implement the plurality of data segments are allocated with a
plurality of sequence numbers in sequential order as taught by Kim(686) with the teachings of Pani for the purpose of providing communication clarity associated with assemble and reassembling of PDU.
Pani et al fail to teach reading a first header of each of the plurality
of reassembled data units, wherein the first header comprises an indication indicating
whether a data unit comprises a data segment, wherein the first header comprises a
one-bit indicator, and wherein a value of the one-bit indicator in the first header of each
of the plurality of data units indicates that the data unit comprises the data segment. However, in analogous art, Kim686 disclose reading a first header of each of the plurality of reassembled data units (see Fig. 12. 13 & 22. col. 27. line 19-45, deliver/reading of header of each of many data units) wherein the first header comprises an indication indicating whether a data unit comprises a data segment (see Fig. 6A, col. 25, line 5-26, first headers include flag bit indicating data unit associated with segment), wherein the first header comprises a one-bit indicator (see col. 25, line 5-26, first headers include 1-bit flag indication); and wherein a value of the one-bit indicator in the first header of each of the plurality of data units indicates that the data unit comprises the data segment (see Fig. 6A, 6B, 7 & 10, col. 16, line 25-31, col. 25, In 5-26.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before
the effective filing date to implement reading a first header of each of the plurality of
data units, wherein the first header comprises an indication indicating whether a data
unit comprises a data segment, wherein the first header comprises a one-bit indicator,
and wherein a value of the one-bit indicator in the first header of each of the plurality of
data units indicates that the data unit comprises the data segment as taught by Kim686
with the teachings of Pani for the purpose of providing communication clarity associated with payload segmentation and reassembly .
Although Pani and Kim686 fail to teach sending, to a layer immediately
above the MAC layer, the plurality of reassembled data units based on their respective
logical channels, wherein the plurality of reassembled data units are grouped by at least
one of: a Quality of Service (QoS) flow, a protocol data unit (PDU) session, and a data
radio bearer (DRB), in analogous art, Jung disclose MAC communicating reassembled
data to a higher layer, such as RLC, whereby reassembled data is grouped in
association with QoS and DRB (see para: 0295, 0296, 0309, 0331.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before
the effective filing date to implement sending, to a layer immediately above the MAC layer, the plurality of reassembled data units based on their respective logical channels,
wherein the plurality of reassembled data units are grouped by at least one of: a QoS
flow and DBR, as taught by Jung et al with the combined teachings of Pani and Kim(686) for the purpose of providing communication clarity as well as minimizing
communication delay associated with payload segmentation and reassembly.
Although, Pani, Kim(686) and Jung fail to teach adding a second
header to each of the plurality of data segments, wherein the second header comprises description information related to the data segment, and wherein the description information comprises at least one of: a segmentation information (Sl); a sequence number (SN); or a segment offset (SO). In a similar endeavor, KWON et al disclose an segmented packet maybe included in a segmented packet, whereby an extended header (second header) maybe included. The extended header may include a
sequence number (SN); or a segment offset (SO) (see col. 12, line 60 thru line 67, extended header with segment SN/sequence number.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to implement adding a second header to each of the plurality of data segments, wherein the second header comprises description information related to the data segment, and wherein the description information comprises at least one of: a segmentation information (SI); a sequence number (SN); or a segment offset (SO) as taught by KWON with the combined teachings of Kim(686) and Jung for the purpose of providing communication clarity associated with assemble and reassembling of PDU.
Although Pani, Kim(686), JUNG AND KWON fail to teach wherein each of the plurality of data segments is a MAC SDU segment, in a similar prior art, Kashima further disclose all segments is a MAC SDU segment (see para: 0030, segment MAC SDUs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to implement wherein each of the plurality of data segments is a MAC SDU segment as taught by Kashima with the combined prior art of Pani, Kim(686), JUNG AND KWON for the purpose of providing communication clarity associated with assemble and reassembling of PDU.
Regarding claim 11, Pani disclose wherein each of the plurality of
reassembled data units is a MAC service data unit (SDU) (see fig. 1B, abstract,
reassembled data units.)
Regarding claim 12, Pani disclose wherein each of the plurality of data
segments is a MAC service data unit (SDU) segment (see fig. 1B, abstract,
reassembled data units.)
11. Claims 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pani
et al (US PGPUB 20080188224) in view of Kim et al (US Patent 10,091,686, hereafter Kim(686) and Jung et al (US PGPUB 2021/0274587) as applied by claims 10-12 above and further in view of Liu (US Patent 20190349296.)
Regarding claim 14, although Pani to teach analyzing the at least
one PDU to obtain a plurality of sub-PDUs; reading a first header of each of the plurality of sub-PDUs; and identifying, based on an indication in the first header of a sub-PDU, that the sub-PDU is a data segment for a data unit, in analogous art, Liu disclose receiving at least one PDU from a transmitter module in the wireless communication system (see Fig. 1, 3, 22, 23, transmitter and receiver associated with communication of data units); analyzing the at least one PDU to obtain a plurality of sup-PDUs (see para: 0094-0096, 0117-0119, 0290, 0291, 0130-0133, 0296-0306, examining PDU to form a sub-PDU set.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before
the effective filing date to implement teach analyzing the at least one PDU to obtain a
plurality of sub-PDUs; reading a first header of each of the plurality of sub-PDUs; and
identifying, based on an indication in the first header of a sub-PDU, that the sub-PDU is
a data segment for a data unit as taught by Liu with the combined teachings of Pani,
Kim686 and Jung for the purpose of providing communication clarity associated
with assembling and reassembling of data units.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to Prenell P. Jones whose telephone number is 571 -272-
3180. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:00-5:30.
supervisor Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571 -272-3904. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for
published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR
only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the
Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Prenell P. Jones
/Prenell P Jones/
Examiner, Art Unit 2467
August 31, 2025
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467