This is the final Office Action for the serial number 17/376,886, ATTACHMENT DEVICE FOR WOODEN I-JOIST/LUMBER, filed on 7/15/21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1a) as being anticipated by US Patent # 6,505,447 to Oliver et al.
Oliver et al. teaches an attachment device assembly comprising an attachment device configured to be attached directly to the structural component (95). The attachment device including a first plate member including a planar portion having an inner surface configured for abutting a first side of the structure component and the planar portion defining a first fastening opening, and a raised portion extending outward from the planar portion having an inner surface that is spaced outward from the inner surface of the planar portion and an outer surface opposite the inner surface of the raised portion. The attachment device including a second plate (36) configured for engagement with a second side of the structure opposite the first side, wherein the second plate member defines a second fastener opening alignable with the first fastener opening when the first and second plate members are in engagement with the respective first and second sides of the structural component. The attachment device assembly includes a fastener (39) configured to be received in the first and second fastener openings and through the structural component for attaching the attachment device to the structural component and a fitting (53) secured to and engaging the outer surface of the raised portion. The fitting is secured to the raised portion through at least one fastener (41). The outer surface is located within a plane that is spaced away from a plane of the planar portion along a direction extending orthogonally to both planes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver et al. in view of US Patent # 9,206,594 to Grevious et al.
Oliver et al teaches the structural component comprises a I-joist (90) but fails to teach the I-joist is wooden. Grevious et al. teaches the wooden I-joist (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oliver et al.’s I-joist with wooden as taught by Grevious et al. to provide an alternative and effective means of connecting the attachment device to the structural component for stability.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2009/0188185 to Studebaker et al.
Oliver et al. teaches the fastener but fails to teach the fastener comprises a wood screw. Studebaker et al. teaches the wood screw (2130). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oliver et al.’s fastener with wood screw as taught by Studebaker et al. to provide a stuffer and stronger wooden floor system (see section 0103 in Studebaker et al.’s invention).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2004/0079034 to Leek.
Oliver teaches the second plate but fails to teach the second plate comprises wood. Leek teaches the wood material (section 0084). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced Oliver’s second plate with wood as taught by Leek to provide alternative material to secure on the structural component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2,4,7,14 and 21-22 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues “With respect to claim 15, Oliver has not been shown to disclose or suggest “a fastener configured to be received in the first and second fastener openings and through the structural component.” See figure 3 from Oliver’s invention, the examiner is using element #95 for structural component not the beam #90A or #91. The structural component is not part of the beam and it separated from the beam. The structural component has a plurality of holes for allowing the fastener to pass there through. If the limitation with “structural component” is amended to ---wherein the structural component is an I-beam--- then it will overcome the prior art with Oliver.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALFRED J. WUJCIAK
Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ALFRED J WUJCIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636 2/12/2026