Request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claims having fully considered, but they are moot because of the new ground of rejection. Applicant argues that cited references failed to disclose detecting a user input associated with the interaction overlay element; in response to the user input, initiating the display of a transaction overlay element within the window of the rich media ad unit; wherein the transaction overlay element displays a transaction that is to be processed with a platform architecture while the transaction overlay element remains within the window of the rich media ad unit; wherein the transaction overlay element displays a product or service to be selected for purchase on an order fulfillment screen; detecting a further user input associated with the transaction overlay element”.
However, regarding” detecting a user input associated with the interaction overlay element”, Korn et al show in fig.2E to fig.2F a system being capable of allowing a user to invoke trick mode, such as fast-forward or rewind, the content stream is paused by the TV client 244, and an overlay is displayed by the TV client 244 that provides an indication of the point in the program that the user is seeking as disclosed in para. 0058-0059; 0060; 0103; 0053; 0035;0019-0020;0030.
And regarding “in response to the user input, initiating the display of a transaction overlay element within the window of the rich media ad unit; wherein the transaction overlay element displays a transaction that is to be processed with a platform architecture while the transaction overlay element remains within the window of the rich media ad unit; wherein the transaction overlay element displays a product or service to be selected for purchase on an order fulfillment screen; detecting a further user input associated with the transaction overlay element”, Kuruvila et al show in fig.1 to fig.3b a system for displaying transaction overlay based on the user input and a user can complete a transaction from the screen without moving or navigating or being redirected to a different website. Also, the user is able to input payment information and the user can provide information related to the quantity of items or products that he wants to buy or purchase and user is able to update cart and user can do a complete checkout process by submitting orders with confirmation message as disclosed in para. 0041;0025; 0010;0015-0016; abstarct;0009; 0020-0021; 0019;0023; 0026;0031. And this action is made non-final.
Claims Rejections-35 U.S.C. 103
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1; 4-16; 18-19; 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korn (US.Pub.No.20210168435) in view of Kuruvila (US.Pub.No.20180025397) and Agabob (US.Pat.No.9832532).
Regarding claim 1, Korn et al disclose method for displaying a rich media ad file within a window of a rich media ad unit, comprising the steps of: serving the rich media ad file from a file location(see fig.1 and fig.2E to fig.2F having multiple servers for providing different types of contents to users; 0027; abstract;0029;0018-0020;0030; 0052-0053);
displaying a rich media advertisement associated with the rich media ad file within the rich media ad unit (see fig.2E to fig.2F for overlaying commercials to users and the users have the options to purchase products; 0029;0051;0052; abstract;0020;0061; 0053; 0032-0033);
detecting a user input associated with the interaction overlay element( see fig.2E to fig.2F for allowing a user to invoke trick mode, such as fast-forward or rewind, the content stream is paused by the TV client 244, and an overlay is displayed by the TV client 244 that provides an indication of the point in the program that the user is seeking, 0058-0059; 0060; 0103; 0053; 0035;0019-0020;0030).
But did not explicitly disclose displaying an interaction overlay element within the window of the rich media ad unit; initializing the rich media ad unit based on one or more parameters stored within the rich media ad file to define a layout of the rich media ad unit; in response to the user input, initiating the display of a transaction overlay element within the window of the rich media ad unit; wherein the transaction overlay element displays a transaction that is to be processed with a platform architecture while the transaction overlay element remains within the window of the rich media ad unit; detecting a further user input associated with the transaction overlay element; and while remaining within the window of the rich media ad unit, progressing through at least one stage of the transaction based on the further user input, wherein the at least one stage includes at least one of a user detail entry screen, a complete checkout process screen, or an order confirmation screen; wherein the transaction overlay element displays a product or service to be selected for purchase on an order fulfillment screen.
However, Kuruvila et al disclose displaying an interaction overlay element within the window of the rich media ad unit; wherein the transaction overlay element displays a product or service to be selected for purchase on an order fulfillment screen (see fig.1 to fig.3b for presenting overlay containing products and users have the options to select items or products for purchasing; 0022; abstract; 0010;0018);
in response to the user input, initiating the display of a transaction overlay element within the window of the rich media ad unit(see fig.1 to fig.3b for displaying transaction overlay based on the user input; 0010;0015-0016); wherein the transaction overlay element displays a transaction that is to be processed with a platform architecture while the transaction overlay element remains within the window of the rich media ad unit(see fig.1 to fig.3b where user can complete a transaction from the screen without moving or navigating or being redirected to a different website; abstarct;0009); detecting a further user input associated with the transaction overlay element(the user is able to input payment information;0020-0021); ; and while remaining within the window of the rich media ad unit, progressing through at least one stage of the transaction based on the further user input(the user can provide information related to the quantity of items or products that he wants to buy or purchase and user is able to update cart; 0041;0025) , wherein the at least one stage includes at least one of a user detail entry screen, a complete checkout process screen, or an order confirmation screen(see fig.1 to fig3b for allowing user to do a complete checkout process in submitting orders with confirmation message; 0019;0023; 0026;0031).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Kuruvila to modify Korn by providing options to users to complete orders from the screen and display order confirmation message to users after checkout process for the purpose of increasing satisfaction of the users accordingly.
And Agabob et al disclose initializing the rich media ad unit based on one or more parameters stored within the rich media ad file to define a layout of the rich media ad unit (the system is able to provide video contents based on some specific parameters as profile and demographic or geographic data; col.4, lines 5-13+;col.8, lines 47-56+).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Agabob to modify Korn and Kuruvila by applying specific characteristic as demographic profile associated with stored media contents to target user devices for the purpose of increasing the satisfaction of the users accordingly.
Regarding claim 4, Korn et al disclose wherein the rich media file is served on one of: an ad server; a dedicated content delivery network (CDN); and, a dedicated database(see fig.1; requesting an advertisement from a content server,0019;0027; 0036; the TV client requests an advertisement from the Ad Server 258. The Ad Server 258 sends a URL where content for the advertisement can be found, 0051).
Regarding claim 5, Korn and Kuruvila et al did not explicitly disclose wherein the interaction overlay element is defined by the one or more parameters stored in the rich media file.
However, Agabob et al disclose wherein the interaction overlay element is defined by the one or more parameters stored in the rich media file (Demographic or geographic profile or information can be used to provide specific video contents to users; col.4, lines 5-13+;col.8, lines 47-56+).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Agabob to modify Korn and Kuruvila by applying specific characteristic as demographic profile associated with stored media contents to target user devices for the purpose of increasing the satisfaction of the users accordingly.
Regarding claim 6, Korn et al disclose wherein the interaction overlay element is associated with the rich media advertisement of the reach media file file(displaying the advertisement as an overlay on the pause screen, abstract;0019; upon viewing the overlay of the enhanced advertisement, the viewer may wish to get more information about the product,0029;0052).
Regarding claim 7, Korn et al disclose wherein the transaction overlay element is an e-commerce transaction interface(an e-commerce provider 256,0032; e-commerce provider 256 sends those details, optionally along with graphics for the products/services, back to the skill/action server 252. The skill/action server 252 then causes the advertisement campaign ads to be displayed on the TV client 244, 0034).
Regarding claim 8, Korn et al disclose wherein a transaction comprises of one or more of: a data submission form, purchasing an item, making a booking, making a donation, and registering for a service (see fig.2E and fig.2F; and allows the end user to view various purchasing options as well as acquisition the product, 0029-0030; a purchase command is received, 0035; 0037).
Regarding claim 9, Korn et al disclose wherein the rich media file comprises one or more of a music video, a film, an advertisement, and a video clip (the advertisement campaign ads to be displayed on the TV client 244, 0034; 0019; 0030; 0021; 0027).
Regarding claim 10 , Korn et al disclose wherein the rich media file includes information relating to the location of and type of interaction icon to be displayed to the user(see fig.2E and fig.2F; the ad selected by the Ad Server 258 may be an advertisement related to the content about to be displayed in the content stream. For example, the user may wish to view a car chase scene, and the Ad Server 258 may choose an advertisement for a vehicle appearing in the car chase scene, 0061; 0106; 0052; 0003).
Regarding claim 11; Korn and Agabob et al did not explicitly disclose wherein initializing the rich media environment ad unit includes one or more of displaying an interaction overlay element title, a transaction type and a product/service identifier.
However, Kuruvila et al disclose wherein initializing the rich media environment ad unit includes one or more of displaying an interaction overlay element title, a transaction type and a product/service identifier( see fig.1 to fig.3b for displaying overlay containing different types of products or item and users have the options to complete transaction and the system is able to provide identification associated with a product or a merchant; 0036; 0020-0021;0026).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Kuruvila to modify Korn and Agabob by providing product or service identifier for the purpose of improving viewing experiences accordingly.
Regarding claim 12, Korn et al disclose wherein the rich media file includes metadata tags which identify one or more of an external integration module, a commerce application programming interface (API), a content API, a payment provider, and a content delivery network(this cloud networking architecture is an open architecture that leverages application programming interfaces (APIs), 0067; content delivery service, 0003; see fig.1; 0027; a vendor local to the viewer, 0053; 0030).
Regarding claim 13, Korn and Agabob et al did not explicitly disclose wherein the metadata is added to the rich media file using one of: a HTMLS language; javascript; and, other suitable technical architecture.
However, Kuruvila et al disclose wherein the metadata is added to the rich media file using one of: a HTMLS language(HTML, 0036-0037; 0013-0014;0045); javascript(JavaScript, 0042-0043; 0045); and, other suitable technical architecture(merchant may implement the dynamic population of the fields using an appropriate scripting or programming language such as, for example, Java, PHP, Ruby on Rails, Perl/Mason or C#,0039).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Kuruvila to modify Korn and Agabob by applying specific languages for the purpose of using specific protocols or formats to provide data to the users.
Regarding claim 14, Korn et al disclose wherein the rich media ad-unit is configured to communicate with one or more external transaction services(see fig.1; 0032).
Regarding claim 15, Korn et al disclose wherein the one or more external transaction services includes a payment provider (the TV client will report the interaction to the Ad Server, which records the interaction, e.g., selecting the Buy Now button 267. In an embodiment, the TV client receives and displays confirmation of purchase of the product or service, which may be supplied by a vendor local to the viewer. In an embodiment, the vendor may be identified in a profile of the viewer, 0053; the skill/action server 252 conducts a purchase transaction with the e-commerce server 256, 0036).
Regarding claim 16, Korn et al disclose wherein displaying content associated with the rich media file comprises loading the content from the rich media file or retrieving the content from a content delivery network(retrieving, by the processing system, content for an advertisement; displaying, by the processing system, the content for the advertisement as an overlay on a pause screen while the content stream is paused, 0018; 0053; 0019; 0027; 0029; 0032).
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 12.
Regarding claim 21, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, Korn et al disclose wherein the interaction overlay element includes at least one of a Buy Now button, a Book button, or a Donate button(see fig.2F with buy now option; 0053).
Regarding claim 23, Korn et al disclose wherein the rich media file comprises meta data configured to link to the platform architecture to process the transaction; and provide the rich media ad unit with instructions to reconfigure the window of the rich media ad unit to display the interaction overlay element( the system can process purchase transaction from overlay being displayed on the screen; 0020;0030; 0032;0052; 0051; 0059 ).
Regarding claim 24, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Conclusion
/JEAN D SAINT CYR/Examiner, Art Unit 2425
/Brian T Pendleton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2425