DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim objection
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The plurality of host materials” should read “The second host material”, because the first host materials as listed in the claim 7 do not require substituents as recited in the claim 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Jeon et al (US 2020/0083458, ‘458 hereafter) in view of Moon et al (US 2019/0288222, ‘222 hereafter).
Regarding claims 2,6 and 7, ‘458 discloses an organic electroluminescent device ([0006] and [0042]-[0046]) comprising an anode, a cathode and a light-emitting layer comprising a first host material ([0139], [0142], [0143]) being an organic electroluminescent compound represented by following chemical formulae (see page 73, 74, 79, compounds 46, 49, 81 and the like listed in [0122] from page 65 to page 94):
The formulae are position isomers of instantly claimed formulae as recited in the present claim 7 (The formulae listed are position isomers of H1-72, , H1-90, H1-177).
Case law holds that position isomers are prima facie structurally obvious even in the absence of an explicit teaching to modify. “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). (See MPEP 2144.09 II). ‘458 also discloses that the light emitting layer may contain a second host material including a carbazole-based compound ([0142], [0163], [0188]), but does not set forth the second carbazole compound satisfying instantly claimed chemical formula (2-2). However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘222 discloses an organic electroluminescent device comprising a light emitting layer which contains two carbazole-based compounds as host material and a phosphorescent dopant ([0022]-[0043]), one of the carbazole compound having chemical structure reading upon instantly claimed chemical formula (2-2) as in claims 6 and 7 ([0044]-[0058], specific compound B-28 to B33, B-198 to B-202, Table 2). “222 also discloses that the host compounds used in the light emitting layer provide a light emitting device having excellent luminous efficiency and lifespan (Table 2, [0101]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the host compound of formula (2-2) as taught by ‘222, to modify the light emitting layer of ‘458, in order to render a light emitting device having better efficiency and lifespan. ‘458 also discloses that the light emitting layer contains a phosphorescent dopant which is a metal complex compound ([0046]-[0053]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As discussed in the paragraph 8 above, ‘458 discloses position isomers of the presently claimed first host material, which are prima facia structurally obvious even in the absence of an explicit teaching to modify.
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782