DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications: Amendment filed on 6/08/2026.
Claims 1-11, and 13-21 are pending. Claims 1, 7, 11, and 17 are independent.
The rejection of claims 1-11 and 13-20 under 35 USC § 101 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
The previous rejection of claims 1-11, and 13-20 under 35 USC § 103 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong et al. (“Detection and Classification of Transmission Line Transient Faults Based on Graph Convolutional Neural Network”) in view of Li et al. (“Physics-Informed Graph Learning for Robust Fault Location in Distribution Systems”) and Mnyanghwalo et al. (“Faults Detection and Classification in Electrical Secondary Distribution Network Using Recurrent Neural Network”)
In regards to claim 1, Tong et al. discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising machine-readable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive a topology of an electric power delivery system (Tong et al. fig. 4 pg458 section III.B para1-2, receive topology of IEEE 9-bus system);
generate one or more training matrices based on the topology, wherein the one or more training matrices indicate possible events at respective line sections of a plurality of line sections (Tong et al. pg460 section III.C para2, generates an input matrix based on the topology); and
based on event statuses from a subset of the plurality of sensors and notwithstanding at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors failing to operate or providing an inaccurate event status (Tong et al. pg464 section IV.E para1-3, adds bad or missing data to training data to insure model can handle inaccurate or failing sensors ).
Tong et al. does not explicitly disclose train a machine learning engine based on the one or more training matrices to identify an event location.
However Li et al. discloses train a machine learning engine based on the one or more training matrices to identify an event location on the electric power delivery system(Li et al. pg3 section II.B para2, trains system to classify fault location from topology).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the Fault location system of Li et al. in order to find and repair faults in a power grid with a limited number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 abstract para1).
Tong et al. does not explicitly disclose receive a digital representation of a topology of an electric power delivery system indicating, for each respective sensor of a plurality of sensors, a line section of a plurality of line sections at which that sensor is located;
generate one or more training matrices based on the topology and a simulation of possible event locations across the plurality of line sections wherein each row of the one or more training matrices corresponds to one of the possible event locations and comprises, for each respective sensor of the plurality of sensors, a value indicating whether an event at the possible event location is sensed by the respective sensor according to the topology.
However Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses receive a digital representation of a topology of an electric power delivery system indicating, for each respective sensor of a plurality of sensors, a line section of a plurality of line sections at which that sensor is located (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg961 fig. 3 section III.A para2, The AMR readings mimic the values that were captured by the proposed IoT based sensor node along the branches on the SDN for faults detection and classifications.);
generate one or more training matrices based on the topology and a simulation of possible event locations across the plurality of line sections (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg959 section I.B para3, The study used the PSCAD/EMTDC and MATLAB simulations to simulate and classify faults) wherein each row of the one or more training matrices corresponds to one of the possible event locations and comprises, for each respective sensor of the plurality of sensors, a value indicating whether an event at the possible event location is sensed by the respective sensor according to the topology (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg963 section III.F para3, The values of the output fault categories were converted into matrix form to comply with the shape of the output matrix of size (1x8)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the detection and classification method of Mnyanghwalo et al. in order to use a recurrent neural network to detect and classify faults (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg958 section I para5).
In regards to claim 2, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. and Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses the machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the event location comprises a faulted line section (Tong et al. pg458 section III.A.2 para1-2).
In regards to claim 3, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. and Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses the machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the topology indicates a number of sensors located at each of the plurality of line sections and a type of phase associated with each of the number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 section I para3, topology indicates number and location of wide area sensors such as phasor measurement units (PMUs)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the Fault location system of Li et al. in order to find and repair faults in a power grid with a limited number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 abstract para1).
In regards to claim 4, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. and Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses the machine-readable medium of claim 1, comprising machine-readable instructions that cause the one or more processors to train the machine learning engine based on a regularized one-vs-rest logistic regression model, a regularized multinomial logistic regression model, a support vector machine (SVM) regression model, or any combination thereof (Tong et al. pg462 section IV.C para3).
In regards to claim 5, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. and Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses the machine-readable medium of claim 1, comprising machine-readable instructions that cause the one or more processors to:
receive user input to modify the topology (Li et al. pg8 section V.E para3);
modify the one or more training matrices based on the user input (Li et al. pg8 section V.E para1); and
update the machine learning engine based on the one or more training matrices being modified (Li et al. pg8 section V.E para1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the Fault location system of Li et al. in order to find and repair faults in a power grid with a limited number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 abstract para1).
In regards to claim 6, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. and Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses the machine-readable medium of claim 5, wherein modifying the topology comprises adding at least one sensor to the electric power delivery system, removing at least one sensor from the electric power delivery system, relocating at least one sensor in the electric power delivery system, or any combination thereof (Li et al. pg9 section6 para2, modify topology by relocating sensors (PMUs) to optimal locations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the Fault location system of Li et al. in order to find and repair faults in a power grid with a limited number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 abstract para1).
In regards to claim 7, Tong et al. discloses a computing device, comprising:
processing circuitry that comprises a machine learning prediction engine (Tong et al. pg456 section I para3), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
acquire electrical parameters of one or more sensors associated with a line section of a plurality of line sections in an electric power delivery system (Tong et al. fig. 4 pg458 section III.B para1-2, receive topology of IEEE 9-bus system and acquire electrical parameters (nodal voltage waveforms));
acquire a topology of the electric power delivery system (Tong pg457 section I para5, acquire power system topology for use in GCN);
provide, to a client device, an indication of the line section as an event location based on the likelihood of the event occurring at the line section being greater than respective likelihoods of the event occurring at other line sections of the plurality of line sections (Tong et al. pg461 section III.D para1, generate visualization of predicted fault data) notwithstanding at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors failing to operate or providing an inaccurate event status (Tong et al. pg464 section IV.E para1-3, adds bad or missing data to training data to insure model can handle inaccurate or failing sensors ).
Tong et al. does not explicitly disclose determine, using the machine learning prediction engine, a likelihood of an event occurring at the line section of the plurality of line sections based on the electrical parameters and the one or more training matrices.
However Li et al. discloses determine, using the machine learning prediction engine, a likelihood of an event occurring at the line section of the plurality of line sections based on the electrical parameters (Li et al. pg3 section II.B para2, machine learning system to predicts fault location from topology);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the Fault location system of Li et al. in order to find and repair faults in a power grid with a limited number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 abstract para1).
Tong et al. does not explicitly disclose acquire a digital representation of a topology of the electric power delivery system indicating, for each respective sensor of a plurality of sensors, a line section of the plurality of line sections at which that sensor is located;
generate one or more training matrices based on the topology and a simulation of possible event locations across the plurality of line sections, wherein each row of the one or more training matrices corresponds to one of the possible event locations and comprises, for each respective sensor or the plurality of sensors, a value indicating whether an event at the possible event location is sensed by the respective sensor according to the topology.
However Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses acquire a digital representation of a topology of the electric power delivery system indicating, for each respective sensor of a plurality of sensors, a line section of the plurality of line sections at which that sensor is located (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg961 fig. 3 section III.A para2, The AMR readings mimic the values that were captured by the proposed IoT based sensor node along the branches on the SDN for faults detection and classifications.);
generate one or more training matrices based on the topology and a simulation of possible event locations across the plurality of line sections(Mnyanghwalo et al. pg959 section I.B para3, The study used the PSCAD/EMTDC and MATLAB simulations to simulate and classify faults), wherein each row of the one or more training matrices corresponds to one of the possible event locations and comprises, for each respective sensor or the plurality of sensors, a value indicating whether an event at the possible event location is sensed by the respective sensor according to the topology (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg963 section III.F para3, The values of the output fault categories were converted into matrix form to comply with the shape of the output matrix of size (1x8)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the detection and classification method of Mnyanghwalo et al. in order to use a recurrent neural network to detect and classify faults (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg958 section I para5).
In regards to claim 8, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. and Yuan et al. discloses the computing device of claim 7, wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more wireless line sensors, one or more intelligent electronic devices, one or more relays, or any combination thereof (Li et al. pg1 section I para3, wide area sensors such as advanced metering infrastructure (AMIs), and phasor measurement units (PMUs) ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the Fault location system of Li et al. in order to find and repair faults in a power grid with a limited number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 abstract para1).
In regards to claim 9, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. and Yuan et al. discloses the computing device of claim 7, wherein the electrical parameters comprise an event status for the line section, wherein the event status indicates whether the event occurred at the line section according to the one or more sensors (Li et al. pg2 section II para1, once a fault occurs according to sensors (PMUs), faulty position is treated as label of event).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the Fault location system of Li et al. in order to find and repair faults in a power grid with a limited number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 abstract para1).
In regards to claim 10, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. and Yuan et al. discloses the computing device of claim 7, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
determine, using the machine learning prediction engine, the likelihood of the event occurring at the line section (Tong et al. pg463 section IV.D para3); and
provide, to the client device, an indication of the line section as the event location despite at least one of the one or more sensors failing to operate or providing an inaccurate event status of the line section (Tong et al. pg464 section IV.E para2-3).
In regards to claim 17, Tong et al. discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, via processing circuitry, a topology of an electric power delivery system (Tong et al. fig. 4 pg458 section III.B para1-2, receive topology of IEEE 9-bus system);
generating, via the processing circuitry, one or more training matrices based on the topology (Tong et al. pg460 section III.C para2, generates an input matrix based on the topology); and
based on event statuses from a subset of the plurality of sensors and notwithstanding at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors failing to operate or providing an inaccurate event status (Tong et al. pg464 section IV.E para1-3, adds bad or missing data to training data to ensure model can handle inaccurate or failing sensors ).
Tong et al. does not explicitly disclose training, via the processing circuitry, a machine learning engine using the one or more training matrices to determine a likelihood of an event location within the electric power delivery system.
However Li et al. discloses training, via the processing circuitry, a machine learning engine using the one or more training matrices to determine a likelihood of an event location within the electric power delivery system (Li et al. pg3 section II.B para2, trains system to classify fault location from topology).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the Fault location system of Li et al. in order to find and repair faults in a power grid with a limited number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 abstract para1).
Tong et al. does not explicitly disclose receiving, via processing circuitry, a digital representation of a topology of an electric power delivery system indicating, for each respective sensor of a plurality of sensors, a line section of a plurality of line sections at which that sensor is located;
generating, via the processing circuitry, one or more training matrices based on the topology and a simulation of possible event locations across the plurality of line sections, wherein each row of the one or more training matrices corresponds to one of the possible event locations and comprises, for each respective sensor of the plurality of sensors, a value indicating whether an event at the possible event location is sensed by the respective sensor according to the topology.
However Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses receiving, via processing circuitry, a digital representation of a topology of an electric power delivery system indicating, for each respective sensor of a plurality of sensors, a line section of a plurality of line sections at which that sensor is located (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg961 fig. 3 section III.A para2, The AMR readings mimic the values that were captured by the proposed IoT based sensor node along the branches on the SDN for faults detection and classifications.);
generating, via the processing circuitry, one or more training matrices based on the topology and a simulation of possible event locations across the plurality of line sections (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg959 section I.B para3, The study used the PSCAD/EMTDC and MATLAB simulations to simulate and classify faults), wherein each row of the one or more training matrices corresponds to one of the possible event locations and comprises, for each respective sensor of the plurality of sensors, a value indicating whether an event at the possible event location is sensed by the respective sensor according to the topology (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg963 section III.F para3, The values of the output fault categories were converted into matrix form to comply with the shape of the output matrix of size (1x8)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the detection and classification method of Mnyanghwalo et al. in order to use a recurrent neural network to detect and classify faults (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg958 section I para5).
In regards to claim 18, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. and Mnyanghwalo et al. disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the one or more training matrices are based on every potential occurrence of the event location (Tong et al. pg457 section II.A para2).
In regards to claim 19, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. and Mnyanghwalo et al. disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the topology comprises a relationship between a plurality of line sections and a corresponding plurality of line sensors associated with the electric power delivery system (Li et al. pg1 section1 para3, topology indicates number and location of wide area sensors such as phasor measurement units (PMUs)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the Fault location system of Li et al. in order to find and repair faults in a power grid with a limited number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 abstract para1).
In regards to claim 20, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. and Mnyanghwalo et al. disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the one or more training matrices are based on phases of the electric power delivery system (Li et al. pg3 section II.B para1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the Fault location system of Li et al. in order to find and repair faults in a power grid with a limited number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 abstract para1).
In regards to claim 21, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. and Mnyanghwalo et al. disclose the computing device of claim 7, wherein determining the likelihood of the event occurring at the line section is greater that respective likelihoods of the event occurring at other line sections of the plurality of the plurality of line sections comprises determining that the likelihood of the event occurring at the line section exceeds a threshold probability (Tong et al. pg461 section III.C para6).
Claim(s) 11, and 13-15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong et al. in view of Li et al., Vilim et al. (US2015/0177030) and Mnyanghwalo et al.
In regards to claim 11, Tong et al. discloses a system comprising:
a controller communicatively coupled to the plurality of sensors (Tong et al. pg456 section1 para3), wherein the controller is configured to:
acquire electrical parameters, event status, or both from at least some of the plurality of sensors for the respective line sections of the plurality of line sections (Tong et al. fig. 4 pg458 section III.B para1-2, receive topology of IEEE 9-bus system and acquire electrical parameters (nodal voltage waveforms));
train a machine learning engine using the one or more training matrices (Tong et al. pg458 section II.B para3, uses matrix Xi to train hidden layer neurons);
notwithstanding at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors failing to operate or providing an inaccurate event status (Tong et al. pg464 section IV.E para1-3, adds bad or missing data to training data to ensure model can handle inaccurate or failing sensors ).
Tong et al. does not explicitly disclose a plurality of sensors, wherein each of the plurality of sensors is configured to be located at respective line sections of a plurality of line sections of an electric power delivery system;
determine, via a prediction model , a line section of plurality of line sections identified as an event location based on a probability of an event occurring at the line section being greater than probabilities of other line sections of the plurality of line sections.
However Li et al. discloses a plurality of sensors, wherein each of the plurality of sensors is configured to be located at respective line sections of a plurality of line sections of an electric power delivery system (Li et al. section I para3, installs wide area sensors at grid nodes);
determine, via a prediction model , a line section of plurality of line sections identified as an event location based on a probability of an event occurring at the line section being greater than probabilities of other line sections of the plurality of line sections (Li et al. pg3 section II.B para2, machine learning system to predicts fault location from topology).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the Fault location system of Li et al. in order to find and repair faults in a power grid with a limited number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 abstract para1).
Tong et al. does not explicitly disclose receive a topology of the electric power delivery system from user input via a graphical user interface.
However Vilim et al. discloses receive a topology of the electric power delivery system from user input via a graphical user interface (Vilim et al. fig. 3 para[0143], GUI used to create model of system based on training data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined fault detection method of Tong et al. with the sensor evaluation method of Vilim et al. in order to identify and correct sensor output (Vilim et al. para[0008]).
Tong et al. does not explicitly disclose receive a digital representation of a topology of the electric power delivery system indicating, for each respective sensor of the plurality of sensors, a line section of the plurality of line sections at which the sensor is located;
generate one or more training matrices based on the topology and a simulation of possible event locations across the plurality of line sections, wherein each row of the one or more training matrices corresponds to one of the possible event locations and comprises, for each respective sensor of the plurality of sensors, a value indicating whether an event at the possible event location is sensed by the respective sensor according to the topology.
However Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses receive a digital representation of a topology of the electric power delivery system indicating, for each respective sensor of the plurality of sensors, a line section of the plurality of line sections at which the sensor is located (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg961 fig. 3 section III.A para2, The AMR readings mimic the values that were captured by the proposed IoT based sensor node along the branches on the SDN for faults detection and classifications.);
generate one or more training matrices based on the topology and a simulation of possible event locations across the plurality of line sections, wherein each row of the one or more training matrices corresponds to one of the possible event locations and comprises, for each respective sensor of the plurality of sensors, a value indicating whether an event at the possible event location is sensed by the respective sensor according to the topology (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg963 section III.F para3, The values of the output fault categories were converted into matrix form to comply with the shape of the output matrix of size (1x8)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the detection and classification method of Mnyanghwalo et al. in order to use a recurrent neural network to detect and classify faults (Mnyanghwalo et al. pg958 section I para5).
In regards to claim 13, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al., Vilim et al., and Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the topology indicates a number of the plurality of sensors at the respective line sections and a type of phase of each of the plurality of sensors (Li et al. pg1 section I para3, topology indicates number and location of wide area sensors such as phasor measurement units (PMUs)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong et al. with the Fault location system of Li et al. in order to find and repair faults in a power grid with a limited number of sensors (Li et al. pg1 abstract para1).
In regards to claim 14, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. Vilim et al., and Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to train the machine learning engine using a logistic regression model (Tong et al. pg462 section IV.C para3).
In regards to claim 15, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. Vilim et al., and Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the system comprises a first hardware component for training the machine learning engine and a second hardware component for determining the event location using the prediction model (Tong et al. pg461 section III.D para1).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong et al. in view of Li et al., Vilim et al., Yuan et al., and Cheim (WO 2019/141856 A1) as made of reference in IDS dated 12/15/2021.
In regards to claim 16, Tong et al. as modified by Li et al. Vilim et al., and Mnyanghwalo et al. discloses the system of claim 11. Tong et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the machine learning engine is implemented on a cloud server.
However Cheim discloses wherein the machine learning engine is implemented on a cloud server (Cheim pg28 ln10-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the fault detection method of Tong with the power monitoring system of Cheim in order to identify and mitigate the risk of power system failure (Cheim pg1 ln19-21).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg12, filed 66, with respect to claims 1-11 and have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 1 of 3/06/26 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 13-21 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141