DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-2 are pending. Claim 3 has been added. Claims 1-2 have been amended. Claims 1-2 are being examined in this application. In the response to the restriction requirement, Applicants elected moxifloxacin, ethyl alcohol and cyanocobalamin. Claim 3 is withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PeaceHealth (downloaded from URL:<h ttps://www.peacehealth.org/medical-topics/id/hn-4012001>; 3/18/2015) in view of Al Omari et al. (Profiles of Drug Substances, Excipients and Related Methodology, 2014) and WebMD (downloaded from URL:<h ttps://www.webmd.com/drugs/2/drug-152352/liquid-b-12-oral/details>; 8/28/2014).
PeaceHealth teaches that moxifloxacin is used to treat bacterial infections in the eye, and further teaches that its interactions with vitamin B12 are beneficial (page 1).
PeaceHealth do not teach that the composition comprises ethyl alcohol and a coloring agent configured to contrast the aqueous humor of the eye.
Al Omari et al. teach that moxifloxacin is soluble in alcohol (i.e. ethyl alcohol) (para 3.2).
WebMD teaches that cyanocobalamin i.e. a coloring agent) is a man-made form of vitamin B12 (page 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine moxifloxacin, alcohol and cyanocobalamin because moxifloxacin is soluble in alcohol, and its interactions with cyanocobalamin (i.e. a man-made form of vitamin B12) are beneficial.
With respect to the limitation “a coloring agent configured to contrast the aqueous humor of the eye”, it is noted that cyanocobalamin is the elected species, thus it would inherently contrast the aqueous humor of the eye.
Furthermore, the instant specification teaches that cyanocobalamin provides a contrast in color between the antibiotic solution and the aqueous humor (para [0027]).
Therefore, the claims are obvious as discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose, teach, or suggest an antibiotic solution comprising a coloring agent injectable into the aqueous humor of the eye.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because, as discussed in the rejection above, the instant specification teaches that cyanocobalamin provides a contrast in color between the antibiotic solution and the aqueous humor.
For the reasons stated above, the rejection is maintained.
/SERGIO COFFA Ph.D./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SERGIO COFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658