DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Newly amended Claims 3-7 are pending in the application and examined herein.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues with respect to the rejection over Carley et al. that Carley fails to provide motivation to select melatonin specifically out of all of the therapeutic agents listed in the same reference. The argument is considered but not persuasive. Carley teaches melatonin as an acceptable therapeutic agent for use with THC (See nonfinal action: Page 7) and the secondary reference Brusco provides further motivation for selecting melatonin as the additional therapeutic to treat the same disease, Alzheimer’s Disease (See Action: Pages 8-9). Applicant emphasizes that Carley “proposes optionally” combining the cannabinoid with melatonin. This proposition only further evidences that the combination of the two claimed ingredients is obvious and expected to be successful for treatment.
Applicant also argues that the claimed combination yields “surprising and unexpected” results. Particularly applicant argues the combination of THC and melatonin do not reduce amyloid precursor protein (APP) as opposed to each API individually (Remarks: Page 8; Specification: Fig 6B and Para 105-119):
vs
.
The argument is fully considered but not persuasive. Although applicant demonstrates the first ratio, M1T2, to not significantly reduce APP levels, this is not the case for the second ratio, M2T2, wherein the APP levels are not only not maintained but decreased even lower than those of T2 or T3, and significantly lower than at least that of T2. Applicant’s amended claims embrace ratios wherein the THC content in (mg) is far lower than the M2T2 ratio, which does not exhibit the unexpected results. For example, 14ug of THC to 77 mg of melatonin, as encompassed by Claim 3, yields a mass ratio of 5400:1, whereas the ratio which maintains APP levels, M1T2, is 1:40. M2T2 has 10 times less TCH than M1T2 but still 10 times more than the claimed ratio. The claims encompass ratios at least two orders of magnitude distant from the ratio which yields allegedly unexpected results. Therefore, there is no nexus which connects the unexpected result of M1T2 to the scope of the ranges specified Claim 3, and thus the previously issued rejection over Carley et al. stands.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention (i.e., the unexpected results described on Remarks, Page 3), it is noted that the feature upon which applicant relies, the ratio not resulting in decreased AβPP, is not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant traverses the double patenting rejection over Application no. 17626205 because Cao specifies a composition additionally comprising insulin. Applicant’s argument is considered but not persuasive. Page 8 of the final action directly addresses Applicant’s argument: “Cao further teaches the composition comprises insulin. However, the claim language of the instant claims, ‘comprising’, does not preclude the presence of additional components”; e.g., insulin.
Applicant traverses the double patenting rejection over US Patents no. 11065225 and 114462276 because Cao claims a method rather than a composition. Applicant’s argument is considered but not persuasive. Pages 8-9 of the final action directly address Applicant’s argument: “Cao teaches methods of using such a composition; however, such a method requires the existence of said composition, rendering the composition of the examined claims obvious.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carley (WO2012068516, published 2012) in view of Brusco (Neuroendocrinology Letters 2000; 21:39–42).
Carley teaches the use of low dose cannabinoids, including organic and synthetic variants of THC like dronabinol (Delta-9-THC) as listed in Claim 6, to treat neurodegenerative diseases including Alzheimer’s Disease (AD) (Title; Page 7, Para 46; Page 8, Para 51-52; Page 4, Para 17; and Page 30, Para 132). The cannabinoids are formed in compositions with additional therapeutics including melatonin (Page 12, Para 72-73). The cannabinoid low dose is taught to range from 0.05-25mg and several exemplary formulations are given in Table 1 wherein the cannabinoid comprises amounts of 0.1, 0.25, 0.5, and 1mg (Page 4, Para 18; Page 21, Table 1). Said values fall within the narrowest range of examined Claims 3-5, 14ug-1.0mg. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I. Carley does not limit the patient weight to 70kg specifically but also does not preclude the treatment of a patient of such weight.
Carley does not teach specific dosage amounts of melatonin to be combined with the THC of the composition for treating AD.
Brusco teaches formulations of melatonin for the use of treating “chronobiologic and cognitive symptoms” in AD (Title). Specifically “9mg gelatin melatonin capsules” were administered to AD patients and the “results suggest that melatonin can be useful for treatment of Alzheimer’s disease” (Abstract). 9mg falls within both of the melatonin ranges of examined Claims 3 and 7.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art seeking to treat AD would find it obvious to form the composition of THC and melatonin suggested by Carley in view of Brusco and select the dosage amount taught by Brusco to form a composition which is capable of treating AD. One would expect success in doing so as both references alone teach the use of the low dose THC-melatonin composition and the 9mg melatonin capsules for treating AD.
Double Patenting
Claims 3-7 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-4, 21-22, 24, 27, and 30 of copending Application No. 17626205 (hereinafter referred to as Cao).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a composition of low-dose THC, in the form of organic or synthetic TCH, Dronabinol, Delta9-THC, or THC-A, and melatonin.
Cao does not teach the amounts of each component with respect to a 70 kg patient. However, Claim 27 states the THC dose is at least 0.2ug/kg body weight which is 14ug for a 70 kg patient,
0.2
u
g
k
g
*
70
k
g
=
14
u
g
and Claim 30 teaches a melatonin range of 0.11mg/kg to 1.1mg/kg which is 7.7-77mg for a 70kg patient. Claim 21 teaches broader ranges which capture the mg ranges of the instant claims: 25ug-15mg of THC and 1-50mg of melatonin. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to choose lower values from the ranges of Claim 21 to avoid undesired psychoactive effects or to suit the various dosage forms described in Claims 1-4. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Cao further teaches the composition comprises insulin. However, the claim language of the instant claims, “comprising”, does not preclude the presence of additional components.
Since both applications teach the combination of THC and melatonin in overlapping amounts, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Cao.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 3-7 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11065225 (hereinafter referred to as Cao).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a composition of THC (e.g., organic THC, synthetic THC, Dronabinol, Δ9-THC, and THC-A) and melatonin in overlapping amounts for use in treating Alzheimer’s Disease.
Cao teaches THC and melatonin dose amounts, respectively: 0.2ug/kg-0.02mg/kg and 0.11mg/kg-1.1mg/kg. One of skill in the art, recognizing patients come in varying sizes and weights would convert the above units to mg for a 70kg patient as follows:
1.1
m
g
k
g
*
70
k
g
=
77
m
g
,
yielding respective ranges of THC and melatonin of 14ug-1.4mg and 7.7mg-77mg. The Cao ranges overlap with those of examined Claims 3-5 and 7-9. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Cao teaches methods of using such a composition; however, such a method requires the existence of said composition, rendering the composition of the examined claims obvious.
Since both claim sets teach a composition of THC and melatonin, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Cao.
Claims 3-7 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11446276 (hereinafter referred to as Cao).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a composition of THC (e.g., organic THC, synthetic THC, Dronabinol, Δ9-THC, and THC-A) and melatonin in overlapping amounts for use in treating Alzheimer’s Disease.
Cao teaches THC and melatonin dose amounts, respectively: 0.2ug/kg-0.02mg/kg and 0.11mg/kg-1.1mg/kg. One of skill in the art, recognizing patients come in varying sizes and weights would convert the above units to mg for a 70kg patient as follows:
1.1
m
g
k
g
*
70
k
g
=
77
m
g
,
yielding respective ranges of THC and melatonin of 14ug-1.4mg and 7.7mg-77mg. The Cao ranges overlap with those of examined Claims 3-5 and 7-9. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Cao teaches methods of using such a composition; however, such a method requires the existence of said composition, rendering the composition of the examined claims obvious.
Since both claim sets teach a composition of THC and melatonin, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Cao.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627