DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 09/18/2025. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-16, 18-20 are currently amended. Claims 2-4, 9, and 19-20 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected species. Claims 1, 5-8, and 10-18 are presented for examination.
The 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous office action are withdrawn. New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new rejection does not rely on the combination of Dao and Liu to teach the required threaded portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (CN-109904367-A; a machine translation is attached and referenced below) in view of Chen (US 2022/0140432 A1) and Liu (CN-111637259-A; see machine translation mailed 07/14/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses battery pack ([0002]), comprising: an enclosure (5/6, Fig. 11, [0064]) for at least one battery cell ([0065]); and an umbrella valve (pressure relief valve, [0046]) embedded in a sidewall (5) of the enclosure (5/6) (Figs. 11-12), wherein the umbrella valve is configured to reduce excess pressure within the enclosure (5/6) ([0023]), the umbrella valve comprising:
a sealing ring (4, Fig. 7, [0052]) situated in a circumferential groove in a first outer surface portion (31, Fig. 3, [0046]) of a body (3, Fig. 3, [0046]) of the umbrella valve, wherein the sealing ring (4) seals against the sidewall (5) of the enclosure (5/6) (Fig. 12, [0052]);
a second outer surface portion (34, Figs. 3 and 6-8, [0047]) of the body (3) axially displaced from the first outer surface portion (31), wherein the second outer surface portion (34) comprises a threaded portion (34) configured to interface with a threaded recess (nut 7, Fig. 12, [0064]); and
an umbrella seal (2, Fig. 5, [0046]) configured to vent pressurized gas from the enclosure (5/6) to an environment external to the sealing ring (4) (Fig. 10, [0063]).
Lin does not disclose a plurality of umbrella valves each having the claimed structure and configured to interface with a respective threaded recess of a plurality of threaded recesses.
Chen teaches a battery pack (P, FIG. 1, [0052]), comprising: an enclosure (P20) for at least one battery cell (P30); and a plurality of valves (P10) embedded in a sidewall of the enclosure (P20). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery pack of Lin to include a plurality of valves because Chen teaches a battery pack with multiple valves (FIG. 1).
Lin in view of Chen teaches wherein the umbrella valves are configured to interface with threaded recesses (Lin: nut 7, Fig. 12, [0064]) but does not disclose wherein the plurality of threaded recesses are threaded recesses of the sidewall.
Liu teaches a battery pack, comprising a valve (Figs. 1 and 3) connected to a battery enclosure (battery box body, not depicted), wherein the valve comprises a threaded portion (Fig. 3, [0053]) configured to interface with a threaded nut ([0055]) or with a threaded recess (hole, [0056]) on the battery enclosure ([0053]-[0056]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery pack of Lin in view of Chen by attaching the valves to the sidewall using a threaded recess in the sidewall instead of a threaded nut because Liu teaches that either connection mechanism may be used to connect a valve to a battery box. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved [MPEP § 2143B].
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Chen and Liu teaches wherein the umbrella seal (2) prevents ingress of fluids into the enclosure (Lin: breathable membrane 2 is PTFE, [0060]; Chen evidences that PTFE is waterproof, [0063]; umbrella seal 2 therefore prevents ingress of water into the enclosure).
Regarding claim 10, Lin in view of Chen and Liu teaches wherein the umbrella seal (2) of each umbrella valve of the plurality of umbrella valves includes a respective membrane (2) configured to prevent ingress of a liquid into the enclosure (Lin: breathable membrane 2 is PTFE, [0060]; Chen evidences that PTFE is waterproof, [0063]; umbrella seal 2 therefore prevents ingress of water into the enclosure).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lin (CN-109904367-A) in view of Chen (US 2022/0140432 A1) and Liu (CN-111637259-A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2021/0050573 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Lin in view of Chen and Liu teaches (see Lin) wherein each umbrella valve of the plurality of umbrella valves is configured to vent at a flow rate in response to a threshold pressure within the enclosure (5/6) and the flow rate causes a gap between the umbrella seal (2) and the body (3) of the umbrella valve that prevents contact between the umbrella seal (2) and the body of the umbrella valve (3) (FIG. 10, [0063]); but does not disclose wherein the flow rate prevents ingress of fluids into the enclosure.
Lee teaches a battery pack (FIG. 1), comprising an enclosure (200) and a valve (400), wherein the valve (400) vents at a flow rate in response to a threshold pressure within the enclosure (200) ([0053]), wherein the valve (400) may discharge gas only from the inside to the outside of the enclosure (200) in the event of thermal runaway ([0053]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery pack of Lin in view of Chen and Liu by forming the valve to vent at a flow rate that prevents ingress of fluids into the enclosure because Lee teaches that doing so eliminates the risk of ignition/explosion ([0053]).
Regarding claim 14, Lin in view of Chen and Liu does not disclose wherein each umbrella valve of the plurality of umbrella valves is embedded in an outer surface of the sidewall so as to not protrude beyond the outer surface.
Lee teaches a battery pack (FIG. 1), comprising an enclosure (200) and a valve (400) embedded in an outer surface of a sidewall (300) of the enclosure (200) so as not to protrude beyond the outer surface (FIG. 1, [0037]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery pack of Lin in view of Chen and Liu by positioning each umbrella valve of the plurality of umbrella valves to be embedded in an outer surface of the sidewall so as to not protrude beyond the outer surface because Lee teaches that valves arranged in such a manner can effectively discharge gas from within the battery pack ([0008]).
Claims 7-8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (CN109904367A) in view of Chen (US 2022/0140432 A1) and Liu (CN-111637259-A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dao (US 2021/0184196 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, Lin in view of Chen and Liu does not disclose wherein each umbrella valve of the plurality of umbrella valves further comprises a plurality of supports defining a respective plurality of vent channels extending axially through the umbrella valve.
Dao teaches a battery pack (10, FIG. 1, [0014]) comprising a plurality of umbrella valves (21, FIG. 2, [0018]), wherein each umbrella valve (21) comprises a sealing ring (34, FIG.4, [0024]), an umbrella seal (36, FIG. 4, [0024]), and a plurality of supports (30b, FIG. 3B, [0022]) defining a respective plurality of vent channels extending axially through the umbrella valve (21).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the umbrella valves of Lin in view of Chen and Liu by adding a plurality of supports defining a respective plurality of vent channels extending axially through the umbrella valve because Dao teaches that the supports can melt in response to battery temperature, thereby allowing the battery pack to vent larger volumes of gas in the event of thermal runaway progression ([0026]).
Regarding claim 8, Lin in view of Chen and Liu does not disclose wherein each umbrella valve of the plurality of umbrella valves further comprises a deformable vent structure that includes a respective plurality of supports, the respective plurality of supports for each umbrella valve defining a support thickness configured to melt in response to a predetermined quantity of heat vented through the umbrella valve, the predetermined quantity of heat associated with a flow rate.
Dao teaches a battery pack (10, FIG. 1, [0014]) comprising a plurality of umbrella valves (21, FIG. 2, [0018]), wherein each umbrella valve (21) comprises a sealing ring (34, FIG.4, [0024]), an umbrella seal (36, FIG. 4, [0024]), and deformable vent structure (30, FIG. 3B, [0022]) that includes a respective plurality of supports (30b, FIG. 3B, [0022]), the respective plurality of supports (30b) for each umbrella valve (21) defining a support thickness configured to melt in response to a predetermined quantity of heat vented through the umbrella valve (21), the predetermined quantity of heat associated with a flow rate ([0026]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the umbrella valves of Lin in view of Chen and Liu by adding a deformable vent structure that includes a respective plurality of supports, the respective plurality of supports for each umbrella valve defining a support thickness configured to melt in response to a predetermined quantity of heat vented through the umbrella valve, the predetermined quantity of heat associated with a flow rate, because Dao teaches that doing so allows the battery pack to vent larger volumes of gas in the event of thermal runaway progression ([0026]).
Regarding claim 11, Lin in view of Chen and Liu does not disclose wherein each umbrella valve of the plurality of umbrella valves comprises a respective deformable vent structure; and each respective deformable vent structure includes a seal to prevent fluid ingress through the deformable vent structure.
Dao teaches a battery pack (10, FIG. 1, [0014]) comprising an enclosure (13, FIG. 1, [0015]) and a plurality of umbrella valves (21, FIG. 2, [0018]), wherein each umbrella valve (21) comprises a sealing ring (34, FIG.4, [0024]), an umbrella seal (36, FIG. 4, [0024]), and a respective deformable vent structure (30, FIG. 3B, [0022]; includes deformable spokes 30b, [0026]); and each respective deformable vent structure (30) includes a seal (38, FIG. 4, [0024]-[0025]) to prevent fluid ingress through the deformable vent structure (30).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the umbrella valves of Lin in view of Chen and Liu by adding a respective deformable vent structure to each valve; wherein each respective deformable vent structure includes a seal to prevent fluid ingress through the deformable vent structure, because Dao teaches that doing so allows the battery pack to vent larger volumes of gas in the event of thermal runaway progression ([0026]).
Regarding claim 12, Lin in view of Chen, Liu, and Dao teaches (see Dao) wherein each respective deformable vent structure (30) is configured to melt when exposed to a release of heat energy associated with a flow rate corresponding to one or more thermal event conditions within the enclosure ([0026]).
Regarding claim 13, Lin in view of Chen, Liu, and Dao teaches (see Dao) wherein each respective deformable vent structure (30) is sized based on a flow rate required to release heat energy associated with one or more thermal event conditions within the enclosure ([0026]).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (CN109904367A) in view of Chen (US 2022/0140432 A1) and Liu (CN-111637259-A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moon (US 2014/0141292 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Lin in view of Chen and Liu does not disclose wherein each threaded recess of the plurality of threaded recesses comprises: a first unthreaded portion comprising a first diameter, wherein the first unthreaded portion is configured to interface with the sealing ring; and a second threaded portion axially inward of the first unthreaded portion relative to an outer surface of the sidewall, the second threaded portion comprising a second diameter smaller than the first diameter.
Moon teaches a battery (500, FIG. 5, [0028]) comprising a valve (1, FIGS. 4-5, [0029]), wherein the valve (1) comprises a threaded portion (129, FIG. 4, [0034]) configured to interface with a threaded recess (510, FIG. 5, [0028]) of the battery (500), wherein the threaded recess (510) comprises a first unthreaded portion comprising a first diameter (see annotated figure below), wherein the first unthreaded portion is configured to interface with a sealing ring (430, FIG. 4, [0039]); and a second threaded portion (512, Fig. 5, [0034]) axially inward of the first unthreaded portion relative to an outer surface (top surface in FIG. 5) of the battery (500), the second threaded portion comprising a second diameter smaller than the first diameter (see annotated figure below).
Annotated figure
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the threaded recesses of Lin in view of Chen and Liu such that each threaded recess comprises a first unthreaded portion comprising a first diameter, wherein the first unthreaded portion is configured to interface with the sealing ring; and a second threaded portion axially inward of the first unthreaded portion relative to an outer surface of the sidewall, the second threaded portion comprising a second diameter smaller than the first diameter because Moon teaches that a valve secured in this manner can effectively vent gas from the battery ([0047]).
Regarding claim 16, Lin in view of Chen and Liu teaches (see Lin) wherein each sealing ring (4) creates a respective radial seal between the first outer surface portion (31) of a respective umbrella valve of the plurality of umbrella valves and an unthreaded mounting surface (Figs. 7 and 12); and each radial seal is configured to prevent liquid from passing a portion of a respective umbrella valve of the plurality of umbrella valves that is exposed to an environment external to the enclosure (5/6) ([0061]). Lin in view of Chen and Liu does not disclose wherein the unthreaded mounting surface is an inner surface of an unthreaded portion of a respective threaded recess of the plurality of threaded recesses.
Moon teaches a battery (500, FIG. 5, [0028]) comprising a valve (1, FIGS. 4-5, [0029]), wherein the valve (1) comprises a threaded portion (129, FIG. 4, [0034]) configured to interface with a threaded recess (510, FIG. 5, [0028]) of the battery (500) and a sealing ring (430, FIG. 4, [0039]) configured to interface with an inner surface of an unthreaded portion (see annotated figure above) of the threaded recess (510).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Lin in view of Chen and Liu such that the unthreaded mounting surface is an inner surface of an unthreaded portion of a respective threaded recess of the plurality of threaded recesses because Moon teaches that a valve secured in this manner can effectively vent gas from the battery ([0047]).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (CN109904367A) in view of Chen (US 2022/0140432 A1) and Liu (CN-111637259-A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (KR 1238062 B1; the citations below refer to the machine translation mailed 03/21/2024).
Regarding claim 17, Lin in view of Chen and Liu does not disclose control circuitry configured to process signals from one or more sensors positioned in the enclosure.
Kim teaches a battery pack, comprising: an enclosure (10, Fig. 2, [0077]) and control circuitry (70, Fig. 2, [0077]) configured to process signals from one or more sensors (water level sensor 31, [0094]; pressure sensor 51, [0098]; temperature sensor 31, [0084]) positioned in the enclosure. A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery pack of Lin in view of Chen and Liu by added control circuitry configured to process signals from water, pressure, and temperature sensors positioned in the enclosure because Kim teaches that this equipment can be used to detect and extinguish fires ([0010]).
Regarding claim 18, Lin in view of Chen, Liu, and Kim discloses (see Kim Fig. 2) wherein the one or more sensors comprises one or more of a water sensor (51) configured to detect standing water within the enclosure ([0094]), a temperature sensor (31, [0084]), or a pressure sensor (51, [0098]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723