Applicant's request for reconsideration of the rejection of the last Office action brought about an analysis that pointed to new rejections while maintaining and/or modifying the previous rejections and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harvey (US 2002/0036170). With respect to claim 1, Harvey teaches a chromatographic assay device (abstract lateral flow chromatographic assay membrane) for detecting the presence of an analyte in a whole blood sample, the device comprising: a chromatographic detection pad (14) which defines a path for capillary fluid flow, the chromatographic detection pad formed of a nitrocellulose membrane and having a pore size in a range of from 8 microns to 40 microns (paragraph [0006], 1 micron to 20 micron porosity; paragraphs [0014] and [0017], nitrocellulose membrane AES-10 or AES-11; figure 1 and paragraphs [0028] and [0033], nitrocellulose membrane AES-110, table 1 and its associated discussion in paragraph [0021], without Con A, there is almost no separation of plasma from red blood cells so that the pore size of the actual nitrocellulose membrane is greater than the size of red blood cells), the chromatographic detection pad comprising: a sample application site on the chromatographic detection pad for application of a portion of the whole blood sample (12, sample application zone), the sample application site being adjacent to a first end of the chromatographic detection pad (see at least paragraph [0014], one end of the strip is a sample application zone (12)), wherein the sample application site is treated with at least one type of red blood cell (RBC) binding or agglutination material such that when the whole blood sample is applied to the chromatographic detection pad, the RBC binding or agglutination material agglutinates with any RBCs in the whole blood sample to produce agglutinated RBCs, and wherein the agglutinated RBCs have a size greater than the pore size of the chromatographic detection pad and thereby are prevented from flowing through the chromatographic detection pad (see at least paragraph [0014], abutting this zone is an area of an erythrocyte binding agent (EBA) within the nitrocellulose matrix; figure 1 and paragraphs [0017], to effect separation of blood components, a lectin, such as concanavalin A (Con A) is placed on the nitrocellulose; table 1 and its associated discussion in paragraph [0021], when Con A is added to the nitrocellulose, substantial separation occurs); a detection site on the chromatographic detection pad, the detection site spaced apart from the sample application site, the detection site being downstream of the sample application site, and wherein free hemoglobin flows through the chromatographic detection pad from the sample application site to the detection site and is detectable via a color change at the detection site (see figure 1 elements 14,16, leaving the liquid portion of blood (plasma) to migrate to the distal end of the strip (16) where it can be assayed). Paragraph [0016] teaches that detection of an analyte (troponins) by lateral flow immunoassay is relatively easy if clear plasma is generated so that red blood cells do not interfere with antibody/antigen binding or interpretation of the colorimetric result. The description of paragraph [0017] teaches a strip of nitrocellulose with three lines of Con A. The described device does not teach the addition of any analyte binding agent immobilized in the read zone so that the portion of the device downstream of the erythrocyte binding agent appears to be devoid of devoid of a compound located downstream of the sample application site that is reactive to the whole blood sample. Paragraph [0018] teaches that several measurements of the above devices were made to determine the efficiency of the invention as well as the quality of plasma that is generated by the device. Paragraph [0020] teaches that plasma composition of neat plasma was compared with the composition of plasma run on the device and of plasma derived from whole blood run on the device. Paragraph [0023] teaches that detectable hemolysis which would allow free hemoglobin to migrate up the strip and assayed for it by eluting protein from the read zone of ConA treated strips and analyzing for hemoglobin with polyacrylamide gel electrophoresis (SDS-PAGE). In other words, to measure proteins in the read zone they were eluted from the read zone rather than being measured by an analyte binding agent. Paragraph [0024] teaches that the protein banding pattern of plasma generated from whole blood on the device was identical to that of undiluted plasma when separated by SDS-PAGE. That indicated that no major proteins were removed during the separation process by the device. If a binding agent were present, in the read zone, it would have been expected to bind one or more of the proteins and alter the binding pattern so that the teaching of this paragraph points to a lack of a compound located downstream of the sample application site that is reactive to the whole blood sample. Paragraphs [0025]-[0028] are directed toward the measurement of protein concentration the read zone from punches of the material in the read zone. Paragraph [002] teaches that previous experiments indicated that plasma was spread evenly over the AES-110. Paragraph [0026] teaches that the presence of Con A on the nitrocellulose strip does not significantly affect the amount of protein that is recovered from the read zone. if an analyte binding agent were present in the read zone, it would be expected to localize a protein analyte to a specific section of the read zone producing a change in the measured protein concentration that depended upon the sampling location. Since Harvey does not appear to be concerned about sampling location in the read zone, the device described in paragraph [0017] is devoid of a compound located downstream of the sample application site that is reactive to the whole blood sample, and wherein free hemoglobin would have been capable of being detected via a red color change at the detection site. Thus claim 1 is anticipated by Harvey.
With respect to claim 2, Harvey teaches that the RBC binding or agglutination material comprises a lectin, concanavalin A (Con A, see at least paragraph [0017]).
With respect to claim 6, Harvey teaches that the chromatographic detection pad is a lateral flow strip (see at least the abstract).
With respect to claim 9, Harvey teaches a sample application pad in fluidic contact with the sample application site of the chromatographic detection pad (see at least figure 1 and paragraph [0032], sample application pad).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Conway (dissertation 2000, newly cited and applied), Guo (US 2004/018/4954, newly cited and applied) or Tyrrell (US 2015/0056687, newly cited and applied). Harvey teaches a 1 micron to 20 micron porosity range for the nitrocellulose membrane (see paragraphs [0014] and [0017]) and specific nitrocellulose membrane products (AES-10 or AES-11; figure 1 and paragraphs [0028] and [0033], nitrocellulose membrane AES-110, table 1 and its associated discussion in paragraph [0021]). Harvey does not teach a porosity range of 8 microns to 13 microns or the specific porosity of the specific nitrocellulose membrane products).
In the dissertation Conway presents the development and evaluation of a colloidal gold immunosorbent assay for the detection of Human Chorionic Gonadotrophin. Section 1.11 describes the characteristics and manufacture of ‘Lateral flow’ immunochromatographic assays including properties of the nitrocellulose membrane (subsection 1.11.3.1). The second paragraph of page 42 in subsection 1.11.3.1 discusses the importance of the porosity and/or pore size of the membrane with respect to protein binding and flow rate through the membrane. Section 2,1,11 teaches the membrane products used with their respective pore sizes. These include 8 µm (AE 105) and 5 µm (AE 98) nitrocellulose membranes from Schleicher & Schuell, an 8 µm nitrocellulose membrane from Advanced Microdevices Inc. and a 10 µm nitrocellulose membrane from Millipore. Table 1 of appendix 1 in section 7 at the end of the dissertation identifies the above membranes respectively as membranes 1 to 4 (e.g. the 8 µm (AE 105) and 5 µm (AE 98) nitrocellulose membranes from Schleicher & Schuell are respectively membranes 1 and 2). Section 3.11.1, beginning on page 127 examined the flow rates of urine and serum samples with various membranes. The first paragraph on page 127 teaches that the flow rates of several membranes were examined to aid in the selection of an appropriate nitrocellulose membrane for further flow rate studies. Since the assay time was required to be within 3 minutes for urine samples and 5 minutes for serum samples, large pore size membranes were examined. These membranes were expected to have intrinsically faster flow rates. The second paragraph of page 127 teaches that membrane no. 2 (5 µm pore size) had been used throughout the development of the test to that point. Because membranes no. 1 and no. 3 possessed different pore sizes (8 µm) and protein binding capacities (see Discussion, section 4.7) compared membrane no. 2 it was necessary to optimize the test line concentration and gold conjugate A520nm for each of these membranes. The conclusion of the tests described on pages 127-130 was that membrane no. 1 was selected for use in the assay due to its more favorable flow characteristics with both urine and serum samples (see the last paragraph on page 128).
In the patent Guo teaches lateral flow immunoassay devices for testing saliva and other fluids. Paragraph [0039] teaches that the assay device may be used for bodily fluids including blood, serum, plasma, saliva, urine, ocular fluid, semen, and spinal fluid. Paragraph [0069] teaches that the test strip 700 of a test device may comprise, at least in part, any bibulous or non-bibulous material, such as nylon, paper, glass fiber, dacron, polyester, nitrocellulose, polyethylene, olefin, or other thermoplastic materials such as polyvinyl chloride, polyvinyl acetate, copolymers of vinyl acetate and vinyl chloride, polyamide, polycarbonate, polystyrene, etc. In one embodiment, at least one test strip 700 material is nitrocellulose having a pore size of at least about 1 micron, more preferably of greater than about 5 microns, or about 8-12 microns. Very suitable nitrocellulose sheets having a nominal pore size of up to approximately 12 microns, are available commercially from, for example, Schleicher and Schuell GmbH.
In the patent publication Tyrrell teaches lateral flow devices and methods of use. Paragraph [0013] teaches an exemplary embodiment providing an elongate lateral flow assay testing device comprising a body, the body including a proximal sample receiving end and a distal result display region at an opposite end. In some exemplary embodiments the regions comprising the body include: a) a sample receiving region with a wick therein, the sample receiving region at the sample receiving end; b) a conditioning region downstream from and adjacent to the sample receiving region, the conditioning region having a conditioning pad therein; c) a reaction region with bibulous material downstream and adjacent to the conditioning region; and d) a diagnostic result display region with bibulous material downstream and adjacent to the reaction region. Paragraphs [0121]-[0122] teach that the test strip may be nitrocellulose having a pore size of about 1-12 microns; optionally wherein said pore size is about 8-12 microns. Paragraph [0153] teaches that a test strip of a test device of the non-limiting optional embodiments made according to the invention may comprise as comprising the substrate, at least in part, any bibulous or non-bibulous material, such as nitrocellulose, nylon, paper, glass fiber, dacron, polyester, polyethylene, olefin, or other cast or thermoplastic materials such as polyvinyl chloride, polyvinyl acetate, copolymers of vinyl acetate and vinyl chloride, polyamide, polycarbonate, polystyrene, etc. In a preferred embodiment, at least one test strip material is nitrocellulose having a pore size of at least about 1 micron, more preferably of greater than about 5 microns, or about 8-12 microns. Suitable nitrocellulose sheets having a nominal pore size of up to approximately 12 microns, are available commercially from, for example, Schleicher and Schuell GmbH. Paragraphs [0165]-[0166] describe a sample application region or zone as an area of a test strip where a sample, including fluid samples, such as a biological fluid sample such as blood, serum, saliva, or urine, or a fluid derived from a biological sample, such as a throat or genital swab, is applied. The sample application zone can include a bibulous or non-bibulous material, such as filter paper, nitrocellulose, glass fibers, polyester or other appropriate materials. One or more materials of the sample application zone may perform a filtering function, such that large particles or cells are prevented from moving through the test strip. The sample application zone can be in direct or indirect fluid communication with the remainder of the test strip, including the test results determination zone. A direct or indirect fluid communication can be, for example, end-to-end communication, overlap communication, or overlap or end-to-end communication that involves another element, such as a fluid communication structure such as filter paper. The sample application zone or other part of the substrate can also optionally include compounds or molecules that may be necessary or desirable for testing and/or optimal performance of the test, for example, but not limited to, one or more of added, pre-added or post-added buffers, stabilizers, surfactants, salts, reducing agents, affinity agents, labels, enzymes, indicators, binding agents, a labeled agent or specific binding member, such as antibodies or active fragments thereof attached or linked to a label, or the like, which can be made using methods known in the art. A specific binding member can bind a drug, compound, tissue, biological component, or metabolite and/or can bind an optional compound, or the like.
If the nitrocellulose products taught by Harvey do not have a pore size within the range of claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to choose products with a pore size between 8 µm to 13 µm based on the choice of Conway to use a nitrocellulose membrane having an 8 µm pore size or the 8-12 micron range of pore sized taught by Guo or Tyrrell for lateral flow assay/test strip devices because the 8 µm nitrocellulose had more favorable flow characteristics with both urine and serum samples as taught by Conway or the 8-12 micron range is a preferred nitrocellulose pore size range for lateral flow assays as taught by Guo or Tyrrell.
Claims 1-6 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvey as applied to claims 1-2, 6 and 9 above, and further in view of Davis (US 5,416,026, previously applied) or Subramanian (US 5,223,219, previously applied) and further in view of Hillman (US 5,135,719, previously applied).
With respect to the claims, Harvey teaches that there are reagents intended to be in the reading zone for non-hemoglobin assays at the detection site but does not teach detection of hemoglobin via a red color change at the detection site of the device, use of the device described in paragraph [0017] and used for the performance evaluations described in paragraphs [0018]-[0028] for detection of hemoglobin via a red color change at the detection site or the actual pore size of the specific nitrocellulose membranes described as suitable for the device.
In the patent Davis teaches a method of detecting hemolysis in a whole-blood sample, a method of determining an elevation in the potassium ion concentration of a whole-blood sample, an apparatus for detecting hemolysis and/or determining an elevation in the potassium ion concentration in a fluid sample, an apparatus for detecting hemolysis and/or determining an elevation in the potassium ion concentration in a whole-blood sample, and a single-use cartridge containing a plurality of microfabricated biosensors which further contains a hemolysis detection unit. Figures 1-2 show lateral flow embodiments of the apparatus. Figure 3 shows a vertical flow embodiment of the apparatus. Figure 7 shows a single-use cartridge incorporating a modified hemolysis detection device according to figure 2. Columns 5-6 teach that there exists a need in the medical and clinical arts for a method which quickly determines whether a biological fluid sample contains hemolyzed red blood cells, and which does not require use of a centrifuge. The need is particularly strongly felt in methods which determine the presence or concentration of analytes in whole-blood samples. For that purpose, the section teaches a method of detecting hemolysis in a whole-blood sample, comprising the steps of: a) contacting a whole-blood sample comprising intact red blood cells with a dry separation material, the material having physical characteristics effective to separate a fraction, which contains extracellular hemoglobin that may be present in the sample, from the intact red blood cells; b) allowing the sample to remain in contact with the material for a period of time sufficient to effect the separation; and c) detecting the presence of extracellular hemoglobin in the fraction. In the method, the fraction separated from intact red blood cells includes plasma and serum. The sample may be diluted, treated with a solution or reagent, or have an internal standard added thereto, as long as such treatment does not chemically modify the analytes or affect the separation behavior of the separated fraction. The detection step in the method may comprise visually inspecting the fraction for the presence of a color hue. The color hue corresponds to an estimated concentration of extracellular hemoglobin of about 20 mg/dL, which is equivalent to lysis of about 100 red blood cells per µL of whole-blood (blood plasma shows visual evidence of hemolysis when the hemoglobin concentration exceeds 20 mg/dL), resulting in a color change from a yellow hue to a red or pink hue. An alternative method estimates the concentration of Hb in a whole-blood sample, and correspondingly, the number of hemolyzed red blood cells per unit volume or concentration of hemolyzed red blood cells in a whole-blood sample, by comparing the color hue of the separated fraction with a number of different color hues on a chart. The chart displays a number of characteristic color hues corresponding to the colors associated with a range of predetermined Hb concentrations in plasma. Column 8, lines 10-36, teach that the detection step may alternatively be performed with the aid of a reflectance meter (medical diagnostic device), the meter providing a reading that is a function of the concentration of extracellular hemoglobin present in the fraction. Thus, the method may further comprise the steps of irradiating the separated fraction with light and determining the reflectance of the light due to hemoglobin in the separated fraction. When measuring the reflectance due to hemoglobin in the separated fraction directly (where no chromogenic reagent is present), the light may be a wavelength for which hemoglobin exhibits a maximum absorbance. Typically, however, broad-band visible light is used to measure the reflectance. The reflectance is calibrated against a white surface (for example, the unused dry separation material). Reflectance of the dry separation material containing a separated serum or plasma fraction is then based on a scale of grayness (for example, the less white color, the lower the reflectance). Further measurements performed on samples having a known concentration of Hb provide data points on which quantitative reflective measurements can be based. A graph of reflectance versus Hb concentration is plotted. The graph can then be used to determine the Hb concentration of the separated fraction of a whole-blood sample based on the reflectance of the separated fraction. Column 10, lines 19-68 teach that the dry separation material is a dry material which separates biological fluids from intact red blood cells rapidly by wicking action (also known in the art as "capillary forces"), and does not cause visible hemolysis. The phrase "wicking action" refers to the ability of the dry separation material to transport fluid from the site where it is introduced to the dry separation material to the remainder of the dry separation material in a radial fashion. By contrast, red blood cells are not transported readily along the material, and are thus retarded by the dry separation material, relative to the separated fraction. The composite fibrous sheet suitable for use in the apparatus as a dry separation material comprises a blend of glass microfibers, cellulose fibers, and synthetic sample fibers, intermixed in a randomly dispersed fibrous matrix. The dry separation material may be in strip form, having dimensions that include a length of from 5 to 50 mm, a width of from 1 to 10 mm, and a thickness of from 0.1 to 3.0 mm. Preferable dimensions are from 10 to 40 mm length, from 3 to 7.5 mm in width, and from 0.2 to 1.0 mm in thickness. A length about two centimeters and a thickness of about 0.3 mm of the dry separation material gives adequate separation in about one minute. Figure 1 shows a stiff substrate (1) supporting the dry separation material (2). Preferably, however, the dry separation material is sufficiently strong or stiff as to not require a supporting substrate. Accordingly, the apparatus may consist of the dry separation material and the detection means. When separating the fraction lengthwise (in the direction of the arrow in figure 1), the whole-blood sample is applied at a site toward one end (3) of the dry separation material. The fraction to be separated is transported radially by the wicking action of the dry separation material away from the application site. When the separated fraction reaches a site near or at the end (4) opposite the end containing the application site, the detection means is then used to determine the presence of hemoglobin or to estimate the level of hemolysis. In an alternative shown in figure 3, the dry separation material may separate the fraction from intact red blood cells along the axis of thickness of the material. As shown in figure 2, the apparatus may be provided with a viewing region (6), next to which the detection means (a colored chart, 7) is located. The viewing window may be designed to substantially exclude from view that portion of the separated sample which contains the intact red blood cells. Preferably, the viewing region is located a sufficient distance along the separation material and away from the site where the sample is applied so that red blood cells do not reach the viewing region. Column 13, lines 17-39 teach that in a preferred embodiment, the colored chart of the apparatus of figure 2 comprises at least two color hues, each of which is indicative of an estimated concentration of extra cellular hemoglobin present in a given plasma fraction. For example, a yellow hue, correlating to a concentration of less than 20 mg/dL of Hb, may indicate an acceptable sample, whereas a pink hue, correlating to a concentration of greater than 20 mg/dL of Hb, may indicate an unreliable sample. For semi-quantitative estimations, however, the colored chart may contain from three to twelve color hues. In a further embodiment, the detection means may comprise a reflectance meter including a light source and a light detector, the light source being positioned to permit an incident light beam from the light source to strike the separated fraction to provide a reflected light beam and the light detector being positioned to permit detection of the reflected light beam.
In the patent, Subramanian teaches a diagnosis system, which comprises a monitor, comprising a detector providing multiple reflectance readings in an array of individual locations, registering an analytical cartridge in the monitor at a fixed location and orientation relative to the array, and determines and displays analytical results from reflectance readings; and an analytical cartridge, comprising a liquid impervious housing, a sample application site in the housing located outside the monitor when the cartridge is registered in the monitor by the means for registering, one or more reflectance reading sites in the housing that register with one or more of the locations in the array, a capillary pathway in the housing leading from the sample application site to each of the reflectance reading sites, and a reflectance matrix located in at least one of the reflectance reading sites. In some embodiments, control features that optimize accuracy of measurement by controlling when and if sample reaches reflectance reading sites and by drawing excess sample away from undesirable locations in the cartridge are present. One control element balances the liquid-holding capacities of the application site, the sample-transporting capillary passageway that leads to the reflectance reading site, and the porous matrices from which the reflectance reading will be made, so that excess sample is excluded from entry into the cartridge while sample volumes that are below the minimum necessary for accurate operation do not reach the matrix, thereby avoiding false readings.
Relevant to the instant claims, Subramanian teaches that the monitor is equipped with light sources, usually one or more light-emitting-diodes (LEDs) with emissions that cover the visible and near infrared (IR) part of the electromagnetic spectrum. The visible and IR LEDs cover a broad wavelength range, which allows for measurement of a large variety of color-forming chemistries, especially those that generate a colored product by oxidation of a leucodye by hydrogen peroxide catalyzed by peroxidase. In one preferred version of the monitor, light from the LEDs is mixed and routed from the sources to the stacks using a fiber optic. In this way all of the stacks can be illuminated by all the light sources. By operating the sources in a timed sequence and multiplexing the response from the reflectance detectors, it is possible to measure reflectance at all illuminating wavelengths at all the stacks over the assay time courses. The monitor displays a set of instructions for the user prompting them to apply a sample to an application port which is located on the upper side of a part of a cartridge that projects from the monitor. The monitor records the reflectance of the carrier layer during the assay reaction, typically at three wavelengths. By comparing the change in reflectance with those for known calibration materials, the monitor can compute the analyte concentration. The second and third wavelengths can be used for quality control operations and for other purposes. The monitor can also determine if operation of the device has been compromised or if the sample has been damaged (for example hemolyzed), since these conditions produce characteristic reflectance values.
Also relevant to the instant claims is column 5, line 12 to column 6, line 57 of Subramanian teaching, in part, that sample moves through a capillary in the cartridge until it reaches one or more junctions to other branching channels that lead to a set of assay stacks, each of which is a porous matrix or a series of porous matrices in close contact with each other. Different layers of the assay stack can provide for different functions, such as filtering of red cells from blood, separating reagents from each other, or acting as a reflective matrix of which an optical reading is taken. Such assay stacks are conventional, as discussed below. The stack itself is composed of a series of (generally) disc-shaped, porous components disposed co-axially with the cavity axis and captured in the cavity in preferred embodiments by a ledge in the outer surface of the cartridge projecting from the cavity wall towards the center. In tests where plasma is the desired sample and whole blood is the sample, the stack acts as a red cell filter. Filter stacks comprise a fibrous layer (typically polypropylene) containing a red cell agglutinating agent dried onto the fibrous material. As the sample moves through the filter, the agent dissolves in the plasma and causes red cells to agglutinate and thus to become trapped within the fibrous filter. Plasma, now largely free of red cells, proceeds through the stack. Plasma then moves into a layer impregnated with assay chemistry which dissolves in the plasma and reacts with the analyte to form a colored product. Assay chemistry will typically include salts, buffers, detergents, enzymes, chromogens, stabilizing agents, and bactericides or bacteriostats. Usually the layer that carries the assay chemistry is the outermost layer of the stack. The outer layer, which functions as a reflective matrix, and the chromogen are carefully selected such that in the range of clinical interest the layer is optically thick and the reflectivity of the layer after the assay reaction corresponds to K/S values in the range 0.2-2. Column 8, lines 51-60 teach that in assays for plasma analytes, fail-safe operation of the invention can be monitored with respect to leakage of red cells and hemolysis of sample by provision of a fail-safe stack which has no chemistry or by spectral analysis of the color of the assay stacks. The monitor can measure any red pigment (hemoglobin) which reaches the reflective membrane. The fail-safe stack is physically equivalent to the assay stacks in dimensions and in the construction of the red cell filter. Example 4 (columns 21-22) demonstrated the red cell filtration effectiveness of the filter, prototype 4-window cartridges and monitors were used. Cartridges contained stacks comprised of antibody impregnated-polypropylene filters, Gelman TR-3000 membrane and two layers of ST-69 (Schleicher and Schuell). No assay chemistry was present in the stacks. Blood (45% hematocrit), the corresponding plasma, and serum samples with known levels of hemolysis were applied to the cartridges in the usual way and K/S values recorded after 3 minutes at 585 nm. To evaluate the effects red cells that were not removed by the filter blood containing known, samples with low hematocrits were applied directly to the optical surface of the stack. The results given in Table 4 show that >99% of the red cells were removed and that <1% hemolysis occurred. Example 5, column 22, lines 29-46 teaches the use of an antibody to red cells as the impregnated red cell filtration agent. The paragraph bridging columns 23-24 in the results section teaches that the efficiency of the red cell filter was evaluated in glucose assay stacks omitting assay reagent and measuring the color of the optical membrane at 585 nm corresponding to a major absorbance of hemoglobin. Any leaked red cells or hemolysis would be detected in this way. Less than 1% leakage or hemolysis would be detected in this way. Less than 1% leakage or hemolysis was found. The filter works by agglutination of the red cells and depth filtration of the agglutinated cells in the fibrous mesh of the filter. The filter is effective for blood up to 60% hematocrit. Column 25, lines 12-24 teach that hemolysis can occur due to inappropriate handling of the specimen. A simple algorithm constructed from the known spectral properties of the reaction product and of hemoglobin permits the calculation of both chromogen and hemoglobin concentrations from data collected at 585 nm (where the reaction product and hemoglobin both absorb strongly and 637 nm (where the reaction product absorbs and hemoglobin has little absorption). Hemoglobin concentrations less than those at which there is interference in the glucose and cholesterol assays are easily measured. Hemolyzed samples that would give incorrect assay results can be identified in this way.
In the patent Hillman teaches a method for separating plasma from red blood cells and a device utilizing the method in which a low-pressure filter is interposed in a pathway between an inlet port and a reaction area. The sole driving force for the movement of plasma from the filter to the reaction area is capillary force provided by a tubular capillary. The filter is selected from glass microfiber filters of specified characteristics, which can operate in the absence of agglutinins, and filters capable of separating agglutinated red cells from plasma, which require the use of an agglutinin.
Relevant to the instant claims are the following sections and teachings. Column 3, lines 4-11 and column 4, lines 44-53, teaching that glass fiber filters are used and that the strict control described does not need to be maintained when utilizing an agglutinin. Column 5, line 16 to column 6, line 39, teaching that it is possible to separate plasma from red blood cells in a single drop of blood in a capillary flow device using antibodies to red blood cells or other agglutinins in combination with a filter. The filter can be either the described glass fiber filters (including the filters that do not work in the absence of agglutinins), paper, or any other type of filter that can filter agglutinated red blood cells. Paper, non-woven fabrics, sheet-like filter material composed of powders or fibers (such as carbon or glass fibers), and membranes having suitable pore sizes can all be utilized with antibodies and other agglutinins. Cellulose fibers, cotton linters, nitrocellulose, wood pulp, a-cellulose, cellulose nitrate, and cellulose acetate are all suitable for manufacturing acceptable filters and/or membranes. Agglutinins can be present in the filter (in soluble form). Any chemical or biochemical agent capable of causing agglutination of red blood cell can be used, including but not limited to antibodies and lectins. Such agglutinins are well known in the field of chemical analysis. Antibodies are preferred agglutinins, particularly for use with undiluted whole blood. However, other soluble agglutinins are also satisfactory, both for direct and indirect agglutination of red blood cells. It is preferred to utilize a source of mixed antibodies that will react with all red blood cells of the species being tested. For example, an antiserum against human red blood cells can be utilized or a mixture of monoclonal antibodies that react with all of the major blood types. Such antibodies are available commercially. For example, an IgG fraction of rabbit anti-human red blood cell antibodies are commercially available. The antibody can be adsorbed onto the surface of the solid used to prepare the filter. In the case of paper filters, antibody can be effectively adsorbed onto paper by merely contacting the paper with an aqueous solution containing the antibody and then removing the water by evaporation. If desired, an antiserum can be applied neat or it may be diluted. Column 8, lines 1-17 teach that the described filters typically comprise a single layer of material rather than multiple layers for separation of a single drop of blood, which typically has a volume of 30-50 ml or less. Filters used with agglutinins can be more porous, but should retain agglutinated red blood cells, which typically form clumps of cells with apparent diameters from 6-10 mm for a few cells to greater than 0.1 mm (100 mm) for a large number of cells. Column 9, line 59 to column 10, line 2, teaching a hemolysis measurement in which the percentage hemolysis was quantitated by measuring the absorbance of 570 nm light by the plasma. Absorbance was measured on a Hewlett-Packard 8451A spectrophotometer. The readings were taken using cells having path lengths of approximately 0.01 cm. The 0.01 cm path length was in a tape cartridge. The absorbance was converted to percent hemolysis by multiplication of the absorbance by a conversion factor. The peak at 570 nm was used for the 0.01 cm pathlength cell, and the conversion constant was 42.0.
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to measure hemoglobin resulting from hemolysis either with the device described in paragraph [0017] Harvey that is devoid of a compound located downstream of the sample application site that is reactive to the whole blood sample or by incorporating an additional strip with the structure taught by Harvey having the assay components removed from the detection area as taught for the fail-safe example of Subramanian, the device of Davis or the hemolysis example of Hillman because of the need to know if hemolysis has occurred so that the analysis of other analytes can be corrected as taught by Davis and/or identified as possibly being inaccurate as taught by Subramanian (see column 25, lines 12-24). Also with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use a nitrocellulose membrane in Harvey having pore sizes capable of retaining the agglutinated red blood cell sizes taught by Hillman (6-10 mm) because as taught by Hillman, the presence of an agglutinin in the filter allows for a larger pore size as long as it is capable of retaining the agglutinated red blood cells.
With respect to claim 2, Harvey teaches that the RBC binding or agglutination material comprises a lectin, concanavalin A (Con A).
With respect to claims 3-4 Harvey teaches that the RBC binding or agglutination material is an anti-erythrocyte antibody or a lectin (see at least paragraph [0017] or claims 7-8 of Harvey). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use any known agglutinins such as those described by Subramanian or Hillman because of their known use for that purpose as taught by Subramanian or Hillman.
With respect to claim 5, the agglutinated red blood cell size taught by Hillman is 6-10 mm, the combination of Harvey in view of Hillman would have pointed to the pore size of the chromatographic detection pad being in a range of from 8 microns to 13 microns.
With respect to claim 6, Harvey teaches that the chromatographic detection pad is a lateral flow strip (see at least the abstract).
With respect to claim 9, Harvey teaches a sample application pad in fluidic contact with the sample application site of the chromatographic detection pad (see at least figure 1 and paragraph [0032], sample application pad).
With respect to claim 10, Harvey does not teach that the sample application pad contains at least one type of red blood cell (RBC) binding or agglutination material. However, Subramanian teaches an analysis stack which contains a separation membrane in addition to the agglutinin containing membrane for additional separation ability. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to also include at least one type of red blood cell (RBC) binding or agglutination material in the sample application pad because the purpose of the agglutinin is to separate red blood cells from plasma and having at least one type of red blood cell (RBC) binding or agglutination material in the sample application pad as taught by Subramanian would have been expected to assist in the separation of red blood cells from plasma.
With respect to claim 11, Harvey does not teach any specific device used to analyze the device. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to place the Harvey device in a cartridge such as taught by Davis or Subramanian for measurement by a medical diagnostic device because such monitoring devices are known to be used for the purpose of analyte measurement as taught by Davis or Subramanian.
With respect to claim 12, Harvey does not teach any method of testing for liquid sample hemolysis or use of a specific device to make that analysis. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to place the Harvey device in a cartridge such as taught by Davis or Subramanian and incorporate steps to place a sample on the assay device, take readings of reflected light and determine the amount of hemoglobin present with a monitor as taught by Davis or Subramanian because such monitoring methods and devices are known to be used for the purpose of analyte measurement as taught by Subramanian and Davis and Subramanian teaches the need to know whether hemolysis has occurred so that the analysis of other analytes can be corrected as taught by Davis and/or identified as possibly being inaccurate as taught by Subramanian (see column 25, lines 12-24 of Subramanian).
With respect to claims 13-15, Davis and Subramanian teach determination of hemolysis and the notification of an operator when hemolysis is at a certain point so that the limitations of claims 13-15 would have at least been obvious due to the combined teachings of Harvey in view of Davis or Subramanian for the reasons given for claim 1.
Claims 1-6 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyrrel in view of Subramanian and Hillman (all references as described above). In at least figures 4 and 9, Tyrrell shows multiple test strips with multiple regions including but not limited to a conjugation region 48a, a reaction region 48b and a results display region 48c. Thus, Tyrrell is designed to measure multiple analytes at the same time from a single sample. Tyrrell does not teach a red blood cell binding or agglutination material at the sample application site, that the nitrocellulose strip is devoid of a compound located downstream of the sample application site that is reactive to the whole blood sample, and wherein free hemoglobin would have been capable of being detected via a red color change at the detection site, detection of hemoglobin via a red color change at the detection site of the device.
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to incorporate a red blood cell binding or agglutination material at the sample application site as taught by Subramanian because Tyrrell teaches incorporation of reagents such as binding materials to assist with the intended analysis of samples including whole blood and Subramanian shows that incorporation of a red blood cell binding or agglutination material at the sample application site is useful to prepare a whole blood sample for analyses that would be interfered by the presence of red blood cells. Additionally, with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to measure hemoglobin resulting from hemolysis in the device taught by Tyrrell with at least one test strip that is devoid of a compound located downstream of the sample application site that is reactive to the whole blood sample by having the assay components removed from the detection area as taught for the fail-safe example of Subramanian or the hemolysis example of Hillman because of the need to know if hemolysis has occurred so that the analysis of other analytes can be identified as possibly being inaccurate as taught by Subramanian (see column 25, lines 12-24).
With respect to claims 2-4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use any known red blood cell binding or agglutinins such as the lectin and/or antibodies described by Subramanian or Hillman because of their known use to remove red blood cells from whole blood prior to analysis of a component of blood as taught by Subramanian or Hillman.
With respect to claim 5, Tyrrell specifically teaches using nitrocellulose having a pore size of the chromatographic detection pad in a range of from 8 microns to 12 microns.
With respect to claim 6, Tyrrell teaches that the chromatographic detection pad is a lateral flow strip (see at least the title).
With respect to claim 9, Tyrrell teaches a sample application pad (wick 54) in fluidic contact with the sample application site of the chromatographic detection pad (see at least figure 1 and paragraph [0032], sample application pad).
With respect to claim 10, Tyrrell does not teach that the sample application pad contains at least one type of red blood cell (RBC) binding or agglutination material. However, Subramanian teaches an analysis stack which contains a separation membrane in addition to the agglutinin containing membrane for additional separation ability. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to also include at least one type of red blood cell (RBC) binding or agglutination material in the sample application pad because the purpose of the agglutinin is to separate red blood cells from plasma and having at least one type of red blood cell (RBC) binding or agglutination material in the sample application pad as taught by Subramanian would have been expected to assist in the separation of red blood cells from plasma.
With respect to claim 11, Tyrrell does not teach any specific device used to analyze the device. However, Tyrrell does teach the lateral flow strips in a cassette (platform 44) and the possibility of reading the device in an electronic reader (see paragraph [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to place the Tyrrell device for measurement by a medical diagnostic device because such monitoring devices are known to be used for the purpose of analyte measurement as taught by Tyrrell and Subramanian.
With respect to claim 12, Tyrrell does not teach any method of testing for liquid sample hemolysis or use of a specific device to make that analysis. However, Tyrrell does teach the lateral flow strips in a cassette (platform 44) and the possibility of reading the device in an electronic reader (see paragraph [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to place the Tyrrell device/cartridge such as taught by Subramanian and incorporate steps to place a sample on the assay device, take readings of reflected light and determine the amount of hemoglobin present with a monitor as taught by Subramanian because such monitoring methods and devices are known to be used for the purpose of analyte measurement as taught by Subramanian and Subramanian teaches the need to know whether hemolysis has occurred so that the analysis of other analytes can be identified as possibly being inaccurate as taught by Subramanian (see column 25, lines 12-24 of Subramanian).
With respect to claims 13-15, Subramanian teaches determination of hemolysis and the notification of an operator when hemolysis is at a certain point so that the limitations of claims 13-15 would have at least been obvious due to the combined teachings of Tyrrell in view of Subramanian for the reasons given for claim 1.
Applicant's arguments filed July 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments, further searching and further consideration of the applied references, the previous obviousness rejection of claims 1-6 and 9-15 over Harvey in view of Davis or Subramanian and further in view of Hillman has been substantially maintained. New rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Harvey and 35 U.S.C. 103 over new reference combinations have been applied to respective claims. The arguments are moot with respect to the new rejections. Examiner notes that the new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Harvey is based on an interpretation/finding that the device used to measure performance properties of the device and described in paragraph [0017] of Harvey is actually devoid of a compound located downstream of the sample application site that is reactive to the whole blood sample, and wherein free hemoglobin would have been capable of being detected via a red color change at the detection site, detection of hemoglobin via a red color change at the detection site of the device. This interpretation/finding is relevant to the arguments directed toward the obviousness rejection.
With respect to the substantially maintained obviousness rejection, applicant has argued that the claims require that the chromatographic detection pad is devoid of a compound located downstream of the sample application site that is reactive to the whole blood sample, and wherein free hemoglobin would have been capable of being detected via a red color change at the detection site, detection of hemoglobin via a red color change at the detection site of the device. The fact that Harvey describes such a device in paragraph [0017] and uses that device in paragraphs [0018]-[0023] to measure/test the performance of the device in things such as wick time, plasma migration distance, red blood cell migration distance, protein levels and banding patterns and the presence of hemoglobin from hemolysis caused by/in the device shows that Harvey recognized that a detection pad that is devoid of a compound located downstream of the sample application site that is reactive to the whole blood sample is capable of being used to measure/test things without the described analyte binding agent intended for the device. This includes the determination of the presence of hemoglobin from hemolysis (see at least paragraph [0023]). Thus, within the teachings of Harvey itself are teachings that address the persuasiveness of the argument that the proposed modification of the Harvey device to remove compounds located downstream of the sample application site would make it unsuitable for its intended purpose. The fact that one would have been capable of detecting free hemoglobin via a red color change at the detection site is clearly evidenced by the teachings of Davis, Subramanian and Hillman.
With respect to the position of examiner in the advisory action that applicant had misinterpreted the modification that examiner was proposing, examiner notes that the language of claim 1 is open language. Thus, although the claim is directed toward a single chromatographic detection pad having both sample application and detection sites thereon, it covers that chromatographic detection pad in the presence of additional structure. The claim does not limit what that additional structure can be. Moreover, the instant disclosure points to the possibility of additional analysis structure. In particular, the relevant portion of instant paragraph [0030] has been reproduced below with added emphasis.
Where device 14 is able to perform additional tests on the liquid sample 12 after determining that the liquid sample 12 is hemolyzed, the device 14 may either prevent a subsequent test from being performed using the liquid sample 12 or allow a subsequent test to be performed using the liquid sample 12 but notify the end user to take into account that the liquid sample 12 is hemolyzed when interpreting the results of the subsequent test(s).
Thus claim 1 clearly covers a device capable of analyzing multiple analytes and using the hemolysis result to notify an operator that the other analysis results are potentially inaccurate or may need to be corrected based on the presence of hemolysis. Thus, a modification based on the removal of compounds located downstream of the sample application site that are reactive to the whole blood sample in a single chromatographic detection pad of Harvey that is combined with additional chromatographic detection pads that do not remove compounds located downstream of the sample application site that are reactive to the whole blood sample is within the scope covered by claim 1. The fact that Harvey uses a chromatographic detection pad that is devoid of a compound located downstream of the sample application site that is reactive to the whole blood sample for purposes other than the stated purpose of analyte measurement with compounds in the detection region shows that Harvey understood the usefulness of such a structure for things besides the intended purpose. As such, a modification of the Harvey chromatographic detection pad to add a second chromatographic detection pad having removed the compounds located downstream of the sample application site that are reactive to the whole blood sample as taught clearly by at least Subramanian is not an improper modification of the teachings of Harvey that would show the obviousness of the claimed detection pad of claim 1.
For the above reasons the arguments of applicant are not persuasive.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited art is related to pore sizes that are typical for lateral flow analysis devices.
/ARLEN SODERQUIST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797