Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-10, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dye et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0321001 in view of Veiga et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0022420 and Weiter, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0291827.
Dye discloses a structure comprising a knit fabric which is coated with an adhesive which has polyurethane layers applied to both sides. The fabric can be polyester. The fabric can have a yarn size of 5-2000 deniers and a weight of 6-30 osy. See paragraphs 0019-0022,0024, 0030, 0034, 0035. The structure is useful in forming roofing membranes. See paragraph 0001.
Dye differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose the composition of the adhesive coating layer.
However, Veiga discloses a coated textile substrate comprising a central fabric layer, having two outer polyurethane coating layers on each side. Veiga discloses that the textile can be coated with an adhesive polyurethane to promote bonding. See claim 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed a polyurethane adhesive as the coating on the knit fabric in Dye in view of the teaching of Veiga that such adhesives were useful in bonding polyurethane layers to a knit fabric layer. It further would have been obvious to have employed an amount of the polyurethane adhesive which was sufficient to provide enhanced bonding without using excess materials to avoid excess costs and weight.
Dye differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose the particularly claimed basis weight range of the scrim layer although the value of 6osy overlaps, or the particular types of knits.
However, Weiter teaches fabrics suitable for use as roofing membranes, (see paragraph 0100), having basis weights of grams per square meter which equates to 20-500 gsm, which encompasses the claimed values of 2-6 oz per square yard, (which is about 67-203 gsm). Weiter also teaches employing knit fabrics such as warp knitted fabrics. See paragraph 0034.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have formed the fabric layer of Dye so that it had a structure and weight as taught by Weiter in view of the recognized suitability of such basis weights for forming roofing membranes.
With regard to the particularly claimed knits, since circular knits, tricot knits and knits comprising warps, inlaid weft yarns and stitching yarns are conventionally known types of knit textiles, it would have been obvious to have selected from among known knits depending on the properties desired in the final product.
With regard to the modulus and the elongation of the polymer layers, it would have been obvious to have selected the particular modulus and elongation of the polymers depending on the intended use of the product.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments are sufficient to overcome the previous rejections. New rejections are set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789