DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Application 17/381,338 filed on 07/21/2021 claims benefit of 63/054,450 filed on 07/21/2020.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendments submitted on 01/02/2026 wherein claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-22 are pending and ready for examination. Claims 7 and 16 have been previously canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eich (US 2011/0246338) and further in view of Matan et al. (US 2016/0079752), Harif (US 2016/0043684), Wyatt (US2014/0125125), Adam (US2010/0236253), Boettcher et al. (2020/0132328), and Nesler et al., (US 2010/0324962 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, Eich discloses “Apparatus for commissioning a distributed energy generation system comprising:” (Abstract - A method and apparatus for managing installation information. In one embodiment the method comprises obtaining, via an installation application on a mobile device comprising at least one processor, identification information for at least one component of an installation; obtaining, via the installation application, position information for the at least one component; and generating, via the installation application, a template for indicating a physical layout of at least a portion of the installation based on the identification information and the position information)
“a user device comprising” (Fig.2 Mobile device): “at least one sensor” (Fig.2 items 222, 208, 220); and “one or more processors” (Fig.2 CPU) “coupled to one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions thereon which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising” (Par[0039] The mobile device 126 comprises a mobile device wireless transceiver 202, an ID transducer 222, support circuits 208, and a memory 210, each coupled to a central processing unit (CPU) 206. The mobile device wireless transceiver 202 wirelessly couples the mobile device 126 to the communications network 118 for communicating with the master controller 120 and/or the array controller 116 - Par[0043] - The memory 210 stores various forms of application software, such as the installation application 128 for obtaining and managing solar system information pertaining to the solar array 110; in alternative embodiments, the installation application 128 may be implemented in hardware or a combination of hardware and software)
“creating a system record” (Par[0056] - If, at step 418, it is determined that a new array layout template is to be created, the method 400 proceeds to step 420 to create the array layout template, for example by specifying planned and/or existing characteristics of the physical layout of the solar array, such as number of rows and columns, portrait or landscape, whether the solar array pattern is aligned or brick, PV module make and/or model, PV module physical size and/or aspect ratio, or the like)
“scanning, using the at least one sensor” (Fig.2 items 222, 208, 220), “component indicium for at least one component of the distributed energy system” (Par[0059] - At step 426, a determination is made whether components for the solar array installation (e.g., PV modules, inverters, an array controller, or the like) are to be scanned to obtain corresponding identification information. If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 proceeds to step 428 where the components are scanned to obtain the identification information)
“connecting the user device to a gateway” (Fig.3 Master controller/website) “of the distributed energy generation system” (Par[0020-0021] – especially - a user may access the website 122 via a password protected portal to view a depiction of the solar array 110, to monitor messages regarding the solar array 110, to transmit instructions to the solar array 110, or to perform similar operation and maintenance functions for the solar array 110) – user login Website by username and password to manage solar array
“provisioning the at least one component of the distributed energy generation system” (Par[0022] - an installer 124 may utilize an installation application 128 resident on a mobile device 126 for managing (e.g., obtaining, generating, storing, viewing, uploading, or the like) information pertaining to the solar array 110 and/or the array controller 116 (“solar system information”). By definition in telecommunication, provisioning involves the process of preparing and equipping a network to allow it to provide new services to its users. Eich discloses obtaining, generating information about the solar network.
Regarding “disconnecting the user device from the gateway” Eich discloses, in paragraph [0021], that the user may access the website 122 via a password protected portal to view a depiction of the solar array 110, to monitor messages regarding the solar array 110, to transmit instructions to the solar array 110, or to perform similar operation and maintenance functions for the solar array 110. In step 404 “start installation application” of Fig.4A, the user start the installation application to start a provisioning process. In the step for disconnecting from the gateway Eich teaches in Par[0072] - At step 450, a determination is made whether to continue. If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 returns to step 414. If the result of such determination is no, the method 400 proceeds to step 460 where it ends). In step 404, user login to website 122 to perform “start installation application” and in step 450 of Fig. 4B, a determination is made whether to continue. If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 returns to step 414. If the result of such determination is no, the method 400 proceeds to step 460 where it ends. Therefore while Eich does not explicitly disclose “disconnecting the user device from the gateway,” it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to recognize that the user would disconnect from the master controller/website once the provisioning process is done.
Eich fails to disclose
“propagating frequency and voltage parameters to the at least one component to ensure that the at least one component is setup to be in compliance with grid parameters to ensure interoperability wherein provisioning comprises transmitting from the gateway to the user device a progression of interfaces that provide information to the user device for facilitating provisioning the at least one component of the distributed energy generation system
verifying energy production and consumption via the gateway which is configured to measure and compare a current production and consumption of the at least one component with an amount of production and consumption that the distributed energy generation system is forecasted to produce to verify proper distributed energy generation system operation
creating a summary report and sending the summary report to the user device, wherein the summary report comprises at least one of energy production, energy consumption, or gateway connectivity.”
Matan discloses: “propagating frequency and voltage parameters to the at least one component to ensure that the at least one component is setup to be in compliance with grid parameters to ensure interoperability” (Par. [0043] - each control node includes a converter or inverter device and a metering device. In one embodiment, the converter is referred to as a power conversion device or simply conversion device. Reference to a converter can include one or multiple converters that can operate together to control operation and/or an interface at a PCC; Par. [0207] - the control node determines if network node of the PCC is compliant with grid regulations, 1808. The grid regulations can include restrictions on over-voltage conditions (such as magnitude of over-voltage and/or timing of the voltage), waveform shape, frequency, power factor, and/or other conditions. The control node can include regulation controls configured into a controller and/or stored for use by a controller of the control node. The regulations can include parameters sent to the control node by the grid network) Examiner note: control node is part of the distributed energy generation system and the control node has grid regulation stored in it in order for the distributed energy generation system performs in compliance with the power grid.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modified the invention of Eich by including the teaching of Matan. The grid infrastructure is traditionally a one-way system, and the real power pushed back from the customer premises toward the central management and the central power source can create issues of grid voltage control and reactive power instability on the grid. With the teaching of Matan, the control node can assure that the local distributed energy generation system can operate in compliance with grid power network.
Harif discloses: “wherein provisioning comprises transmitting from the gateway (Fig.1 Gateway 106) to the user device a progression of interfaces that provide information to the user device for facilitating provisioning the at least one component of the distributed energy generation system” in (Par. [0014] - An automated method and process for provisioning a system of alternative energy source generators is described. In an embodiment, alternative energy source generators in the system are formed with ACPV modules. The method may include entering system information about the alternative energy source generators into a gateway, transmitting the system information about the alternative energy source generators to a web portal, validating the system information with the web portal, determining configuration information for the system with the web portal, transmitting the configuration information to the gateway, conducting a discovery process via the gateway, transmitting discovery information to the web portal via the gateway, validating and correcting the discovery information in the web portal, transmitting to the gateway corrected discovery information, and configuring the system in compliance with the configuration information; Fig. 2; Par. [0033] -In a step 208, the configuration information has been received by the gateway 106. As is conventional with internet communications, the gateway 106 will have acknowledged receipt of the information and the web portal 110 may record this acknowledgement. Such a feature may be helpful to installers, inspectors, or customer service agents in determining that the gateway 106 indeed has been properly configured. Upon receipt of the configuration information, the gateway 106 automatically initiates a “discovery” process wherein the ACPV modules within the branch circuits 101 are discovered by the gateway 106; Par [0034] - In a step 209, the discovery information is transmitted back to the web portal 110. The discovery information is received in a step 210, wherein the web portal 110 records the discovery information along with the system information. The step 210 serves as further acknowledgement of a successful system provisioning; Par [0026] - In any case, the web portal 110 is an interface that people or automated equipment can use to exchange data and instructions with the system 100. The web portal 110 may include a graphical user interface (“GUI”) through which users may see visual representations of data and system configuration.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modified the invention of Eich as modified by including the teaching of Harif. Provisioning on a PV module systems has normally included a number of manual steps, making it error prone and potentially slower than it can be. Harif provides a system which can streamline and automate the manual steps to reduce error during the PV provisioning process.
Wyatt discloses: “verifying energy production and consumption via the gateway” in (Par[0051] - One embodiment of the present invention allows for verification that the power generated by one or more local facilities 370 represents an actual contribution to the grid. This is important because it allows the local facilities 370 to recognize, verify and accept that the contribution made by other contributing facilities into the grid is not being falsified; (Par[0097] producers 720 may be able to query the FPGM at their own local facility to verify their contribution or consumption history, and also query the accounting server 740 at the VPGN to determine whether their contributions are being fairly accounted for. For example, a producer 720 may be equipped with its own handheld collection device to collect data from the FPGM or the producer 720 may have some other manual means of doing a data dump from the FPGM. Alternatively, the FPGM could be connected through network interface 122 to the producer's personal computer allowing the consumer to interface with the FPGM through a Wi-Fi or web interface. One advantage of storing all the consumers' and producers' data in a cloud 750 is the ability for all the various entities that are part of a VPGN to be able to verify their respective contribution and consumption conveniently). (Par [0066] communication interface 122 may facilitate communication between the FPGM and the grid provider. Examples of communication interface 122 include, without limitation, a wired network interface (such as a network interface card), and modem, and any other suitable interface disclosing “a gateway.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modified the invention of Eich as modified by including the teaching of Wyatt. With the teaching of Wyatt, an electricity user can accurately determine how much the user’s solar power can generate, how much power consumption by the user, and how much an electricity supply charge for power consumption. Based on the information, the user can determine whether to sell back the extra electrical power generated by the user’s solar power or store the extra power generation for future power consumption.
Adam discloses: “which is configured to measure and compare a current production of the at least one component with an amount of production that the distributed energy generation system is forecasted to produce to verify proper distributed energy generation system operation” in (Par[0052], fig. 1 The operator 12 produces a production forecast 100 via a Web interface 18. This takes place by means of a computer network and an Internet browser 16.) (Abstract a) producing a production forecast for the production of the at least one remote energy generation plant in a future time period, b) transmitting the production forecast to the central control unit via a computer network, c) operating the remote energy generation plant and measuring the production using the production measurement unit, d) comparing the measured production with the production forecast, e) notifying an operator of the at least one energy generation plant, if the measured production deviates from the production forecast beyond a predetermined level
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have modified the invention of Eich as modified to include the teaching of Adam. With the teaching of Adam, an electricity user can accurately determine how much the user’s solar power can generate and whether the energy generated is comparable to the forecasted energy generation. Based on this information, the user can determine if the solar power generation equipment is working properly or is in need of maintenance in addition to allowing the user to gauge how much could be saved on electricity bills.
While Eich as modified by Matan, Harif, Wyatt, and Adam discloses verifying energy production and comparing energy production with forecasted energy production, Eich as modified by Matan, Harif, Wyatt, and Adam fails to disclose comparing energy consumption with forecasted energy consumption.
Boettcher teaches “Weather normalization module 5208 can compare the expected amount of energy usage to the actual amount of energy usage (defined by the meter data) to determine a difference or delta between the expected normalized energy usage and the actual energy usage” (¶ 0285). The “weather normalization module 5208” is part of the “Analytics Service 524” (see fig 52). Therefore the combination of Eich, Adam and Boettcher discloses the limitation: “is configured to measure and compare a current production and consumption of the at least one component with an amount of production and consumption that the distributed energy generation system is forecasted to produce to verify proper distributed energy generation system operation.”
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have modified the invention of Eich to include the teaching of Boettcher. With the teaching of Boettcher, an electricity user can accurately determine whether the energy consumed is comparable to the forecasted energy consumption. Based on this information, the user can determine if the solar power generation equipment is working properly or is in need of maintenance in addition to allowing the user to gauge how to save on electricity bills.
Nesler discloses: “creating a summary report and sending the summary report to the user device, wherein the summary report comprises at least one of energy production, energy consumption, or gateway connectivity” (Nesler, fig 1A, fig 1B, fig 5A – fig 5D, ¶ 0080: Nesler teaches a “tenant energy portal” where the tenant may view “their energy usage information” including “Current Electrical Consumption”(¶ 0080) disclosing tenant’s “energy consumption” (see fig 5B).)
Eich as modified and Nesler both teach managing a distributed energy generation system therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Eich as modified by including the teaching of Nesler. With the teaching of Nesler, a system user can accurately determine the amount of energy being consumed and determine if actions are necessary to modify energy consumption in order to provide a system with improved “building efficiency” and “enable greater use of renewable energy sources” (¶ 0021).
Regarding to claim 2, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 1, Eich further discloses wherein scanning further comprises scanning additional component indicia of additional components of the distributed energy system (Par. [0059] - At step 426, a determination is made whether components for the solar array installation (e.g., PV modules, inverters, an array controller, or the like) are to be scanned to obtain corresponding identification information. If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 proceeds to step 428 where the components are scanned to obtain the identification information) and
the provisioning further comprises provisioning the additional components of the distributed energy generation system (Par. [0050] - If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 proceeds to step 428 where the components are scanned to obtain the identification information. Such identification information may include serial numbers, part numbers, assigned identification (ID) numbers, or similar information, and is utilized to populate the array layout template for identifying specific components within the array. In some polyphase embodiments where one or more inverters are each coupled to one or more phases of AC power, phase information may additionally be obtained for identifying those phases to which each inverter is coupled)
Regarding to claim 3, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 1, Eich further discloses wherein the user device is a mobile device (Fig. 2) and the at least one sensor is a camera. (Par[0040] - Additionally or alternatively, the ID transducer 222 may comprise components (e.g., a camera or optical reader) for scanning identification tags, such as labels (e.g., a barcode label, a label having optical characters, or the like) to obtain the identification information)
Regarding to claim 4, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 1, Eich further discloses displaying a user interface through which a user interacts with the user device to cause the user device to perform the operations of claim 1. (Par[0062] - The identification information obtained by scanning the solar array components is utilized to populate the array layout template. In some embodiments, a cell within the template is manually selected, for example by touching the cell within the template displayed on the mobile device screen, the component (or group of components, such as a PV module/inverter pair) installed at the complementary position within the solar array is scanned, and the obtained identification information populates the cell)
Regarding to claim 5, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 4. Eich further discloses a graphical depiction of the at least one component of a distributed energy generation system. (Par[0005] - Information pertaining to the placement of each component within the array is required for efficient operation of the array, for example for generating a graphical depiction of the array for monitoring purposes or for dispatching a technician to address a problem with a particular PV module or inverter)
Regarding to claim 6, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 1, Eich further discloses connecting directly from the user device to the gateway. (Par[0039] - The mobile device wireless transceiver 202 wirelessly couples the mobile device 126 to the communications network 118 for communicating with the master controller 120 and/or the array controller 116. The mobile device 126 may additionally comprise a transceiver for providing communication utilizing wired techniques, for example, if the mobile device 126 is coupled to a computer connected to the communications network 118)
Regarding to claim 8, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 1, Eich further disclosed communicating a grid profile to the at least one component that performs at least one of producing, storing, or producing and storing energy. (Par[0019] - The inverters 104 convert DC power from the PV modules 102 to AC power that is commercial power grid compliant and then couple the AC power to the load center 108. The generated AC power may be further coupled from the load center 108 to one or more appliances 114 (e.g., at a private residence or business) and/or to a commercial power grid 112. Additionally or alternatively, energy generated by the inverters 104 may be stored for later use; for example, the generated energy may be stored utilizing batteries, heated water, hydro pumping, H2O-to-hydrogen conversion, or the like). The controller center 118 communicates with solar power array and based on power generation and power consumption in order to determining if power should be stored for future usage or send to commercial grid.
Regarding to claim 9, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 1, Eich further discloses wherein the at least one component comprises a plurality of devices [Par0016] - The system 100 comprises the solar array 110 coupled to a load center 108 via an AC bus 106. The solar array 110 comprises a plurality of PV modules 102(1,1), 102(1,2) . . . 102(M,N), collectively referred to as PV modules 102, and a plurality of inverters 104(1,1), 104(1,2) . . . 104(M,N), collectively referred to as inverters 104. Each inverter 104(1,1), 104(1,2) . . . 104(M,N) is coupled in a one-to-one correspondence to a PV module 102(1,1), 102(1,2) . . . 102(M,N), respectively, and is further coupled to the AC bus 106) that produce, store, or produce and store energy. (Par[0019] - Additionally or alternatively, energy generated by the inverters 104 may be stored for later use; for example, the generated energy may be stored utilizing batteries, heated water, hydro pumping, H2O-to-hydrogen conversion, or the like)
provisioning further comprises: provisioning the plurality of devices.(Par[0022] - an installer 124 may utilize an installation application 128 resident on a mobile device 126 for managing (e.g., obtaining, generating, storing, viewing, uploading, or the like) information pertaining to the solar array 110 and/or the array controller 116 (“solar system information”). (Par[0059] - At step 426, a determination is made whether components for the solar array installation (e.g., PV modules, inverters, an array controller, or the like) are to be scanned to obtain corresponding identification information. If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 proceeds to step 428 where the components are scanned to obtain the identification information).
Eich does not discloses substantially simultaneously provision the plurality device.
Eich discloses that the Master controller 120 (See Fig. 1) contain a website that would allow multiple users login with username and password (Par[0026] - Additionally or alternatively, the solar system information may be saved on one or more of the mobile device 126, the array controller 116, or the master controller 120, and may be accessible via the website 122) and installation application for manage the solar system is installed in the one or more user devices (Par[0027] - The installer 124 may add the installation application 128 to the mobile device 126 and, upon initial activation of the installation application 128, enter user profile information, such as a user identification (ID), a login and password for the website 122, a login and password for the array controller 116 and/or master controller 120, or the like).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to recognize that the website of the master controller would allow multiple users access the website simultaneously. Since multiple user can access the system at the same time, the multiple users can provision multiple solar system at the same time.
Regarding to claim 10, Eich discloses “a method for commissioning a distributed energy generation system” (Abstract)
creating a system record via a user device (Par[0056] - If, at step 418, it is determined that a new array layout template is to be created, the method 400 proceeds to step 420 to create the array layout template, for example by specifying planned and/or existing characteristics of the physical layout of the solar array, such as number of rows and columns, portrait or landscape, whether the solar array pattern is aligned or brick, PV module make and/or model, PV module physical size and/or aspect ratio, or the like)
scanning, using at least one sensor of the user device (Fig.2 items 222, 208, 220), component indicium for at least one component of the distributed energy generation system (Par[0059] - At step 426, a determination is made whether components for the solar array installation (e.g., PV modules, inverters, an array controller, or the like) are to be scanned to obtain corresponding identification information. If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 proceeds to step 428 where the components are scanned to obtain the identification information)
communicatively coupling the user device to a gateway of the distributed energy generation system (Par[0020-0021] – especially - a user may access the website 122 via a password protected portal to view a depiction of the solar array 110, to monitor messages regarding the solar array 110, to transmit instructions to the solar array 110, or to perform similar operation and maintenance functions for the solar array 110) – user login Website by username and password to manage solar array
provisioning the at least one component of the distributed energy generation system (Par[0022] - an installer 124 may utilize an installation application 128 resident on a mobile device 126 for managing (e.g., obtaining, generating, storing, viewing, uploading, or the like) information pertaining to the solar array 110 and/or the array controller 116 (“solar system information”). By definition in telecommunication, provisioning involves the process of preparing and equipping a network to allow it to provide new services to its users. Eich discloses obtaining, generating information about the solar network.
Regarding “disconnecting the user device from the gateway” Eich discloses, in paragraph [0021], that the user may access the website 122 via a password protected portal to view a depiction of the solar array 110, to monitor messages regarding the solar array 110, to transmit instructions to the solar array 110, or to perform similar operation and maintenance functions for the solar array 110. In step 404 “start installation application” of Fig.4A, the user start the installation application to start a provisioning process. In the step for disconnecting from the gateway Eich teaches in Par[0072] - At step 450, a determination is made whether to continue. If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 returns to step 414. If the result of such determination is no, the method 400 proceeds to step 460 where it ends). In step 404, user login to website 122 to perform “start installation application” and in step 450 of Fig. 4B, a determination is made whether to continue. If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 returns to step 414. If the result of such determination is no, the method 400 proceeds to step 460 where it ends. Therefore while Eich does not explicitly disclose “disconnecting the user device from the gateway,” it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to recognize that the user would disconnect from the master controller/website once the provisioning process is done.
Eich fails to disclose
“propagating frequency and voltage parameters to the at least one component to ensure that the at least one component is setup to be in compliance with grid parameters to ensure interoperability wherein provisioning comprises transmitting from the gateway to the user device a progression of interfaces that provide information to the user device for facilitating provisioning the at least one component of the distributed energy generation system
verifying energy production and consumption via the gateway which is configured to measure and compare a current production and consumption of the at least one component with an amount of production and consumption that the distributed energy generation system is forecasted to produce to verify proper distributed energy generation system operation
creating a summary report and sending the summary report to the user device, wherein the summary report comprises at least one of energy production, energy consumption, or gateway connectivity.”
Matan discloses: “propagating frequency and voltage parameters to the at least one component to ensure that the at least one component is setup to be in compliance with grid parameters to ensure interoperability” (Par. [0043] - each control node includes a converter or inverter device and a metering device. In one embodiment, the converter is referred to as a power conversion device or simply conversion device. Reference to a converter can include one or multiple converters that can operate together to control operation and/or an interface at a PCC; Par. [0207] - the control node determines if network node of the PCC is compliant with grid regulations, 1808. The grid regulations can include restrictions on over-voltage conditions (such as magnitude of over-voltage and/or timing of the voltage), waveform shape, frequency, power factor, and/or other conditions. The control node can include regulation controls configured into a controller and/or stored for use by a controller of the control node. The regulations can include parameters sent to the control node by the grid network) Examiner note: control node is part of the distributed energy generation system and the control node has grid regulation stored in it in order for the distributed energy generation system performs in compliance with the power grid.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modified the invention of Eich by including the teaching of Matan. The grid infrastructure is traditionally a one-way system, and the real power pushed back from the customer premises toward the central management and the central power source can create issues of grid voltage control and reactive power instability on the grid. With the teaching of Matan, the control node can assure that the local distributed energy generation system can operate in compliance with grid power network.
Harif discloses: “wherein provisioning comprises transmitting from the gateway (Fig.1 Gateway 106) to the user device a progression of interfaces that provide information to the user device for facilitating provisioning the at least one component of the distributed energy generation system” in (Par. [0014] - An automated method and process for provisioning a system of alternative energy source generators is described. In an embodiment, alternative energy source generators in the system are formed with ACPV modules. The method may include entering system information about the alternative energy source generators into a gateway, transmitting the system information about the alternative energy source generators to a web portal, validating the system information with the web portal, determining configuration information for the system with the web portal, transmitting the configuration information to the gateway, conducting a discovery process via the gateway, transmitting discovery information to the web portal via the gateway, validating and correcting the discovery information in the web portal, transmitting to the gateway corrected discovery information, and configuring the system in compliance with the configuration information; Fig. 2; Par. [0033] -In a step 208, the configuration information has been received by the gateway 106. As is conventional with internet communications, the gateway 106 will have acknowledged receipt of the information and the web portal 110 may record this acknowledgement. Such a feature may be helpful to installers, inspectors, or customer service agents in determining that the gateway 106 indeed has been properly configured. Upon receipt of the configuration information, the gateway 106 automatically initiates a “discovery” process wherein the ACPV modules within the branch circuits 101 are discovered by the gateway 106; Par [0034] - In a step 209, the discovery information is transmitted back to the web portal 110. The discovery information is received in a step 210, wherein the web portal 110 records the discovery information along with the system information. The step 210 serves as further acknowledgement of a successful system provisioning; Par [0026] - In any case, the web portal 110 is an interface that people or automated equipment can use to exchange data and instructions with the system 100. The web portal 110 may include a graphical user interface (“GUI”) through which users may see visual representations of data and system configuration.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modified the invention of Eich as modified by including the teaching of Harif. Provisioning on a PV module systems has normally included a number of manual steps, making it error prone and potentially slower than it can be. Harif provides a system which can streamline and automate the manual steps to reduce error during the PV provisioning process.
Wyatt discloses: “verifying energy production and consumption via the gateway” in (Par[0051] - One embodiment of the present invention allows for verification that the power generated by one or more local facilities 370 represents an actual contribution to the grid. This is important because it allows the local facilities 370 to recognize, verify and accept that the contribution made by other contributing facilities into the grid is not being falsified; (Par[0097] producers 720 may be able to query the FPGM at their own local facility to verify their contribution or consumption history, and also query the accounting server 740 at the VPGN to determine whether their contributions are being fairly accounted for. For example, a producer 720 may be equipped with its own handheld collection device to collect data from the FPGM or the producer 720 may have some other manual means of doing a data dump from the FPGM. Alternatively, the FPGM could be connected through network interface 122 to the producer's personal computer allowing the consumer to interface with the FPGM through a Wi-Fi or web interface. One advantage of storing all the consumers' and producers' data in a cloud 750 is the ability for all the various entities that are part of a VPGN to be able to verify their respective contribution and consumption conveniently). (Par [0066] communication interface 122 may facilitate communication between the FPGM and the grid provider. Examples of communication interface 122 include, without limitation, a wired network interface (such as a network interface card), and modem, and any other suitable interface disclosing “a gateway.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modified the invention of Eich as modified by including the teaching of Wyatt. With the teaching of Wyatt, an electricity user can accurately determine how much the user’s solar power can generate, how much power consumption by the user, and how much an electricity supply charge for power consumption. Based on the information, the user can determine whether to sell back the extra electrical power generated by the user’s solar power or store the extra power generation for future power consumption.
Adam discloses: “which is configured to measure and compare a current production of the at least one component with an amount of production that the distributed energy generation system is forecasted to produce to verify proper distributed energy generation system operation” in (Par[0052], fig. 1 The operator 12 produces a production forecast 100 via a Web interface 18. This takes place by means of a computer network and an Internet browser 16.) (Abstract a) producing a production forecast for the production of the at least one remote energy generation plant in a future time period, b) transmitting the production forecast to the central control unit via a computer network, c) operating the remote energy generation plant and measuring the production using the production measurement unit, d) comparing the measured production with the production forecast, e) notifying an operator of the at least one energy generation plant, if the measured production deviates from the production forecast beyond a predetermined level
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have modified the invention of Eich as modified to include the teaching of Adam. With the teaching of Adam, an electricity user can accurately determine how much the user’s solar power can generate and whether the energy generated is comparable to the forecasted energy generation. Based on this information, the user can determine if the solar power generation equipment is working properly or is in need of maintenance in addition to allowing the user to gauge how much could be saved on electricity bills.
While Eich as modified by Matan, Harif, Wyatt, and Adam discloses verifying energy production and comparing energy production with forecasted energy production, Eich as modified by Matan, Harif, Wyatt, and Adam fails to disclose comparing energy consumption with forecasted energy consumption.
Boettcher teaches “Weather normalization module 5208 can compare the expected amount of energy usage to the actual amount of energy usage (defined by the meter data) to determine a difference or delta between the expected normalized energy usage and the actual energy usage” (¶ 0285). The “weather normalization module 5208” is part of the “Analytics Service 524” (see fig 52). Therefore the combination of Eich, Adam and Boettcher discloses the limitation: “is configured to measure and compare a current production and consumption of the at least one component with an amount of production and consumption that the distributed energy generation system is forecasted to produce to verify proper distributed energy generation system operation.”
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have modified the invention of Eich to include the teaching of Boettcher. With the teaching of Boettcher, an electricity user can accurately determine whether the energy consumed is comparable to the forecasted energy consumption. Based on this information, the user can determine if the solar power generation equipment is working properly or is in need of maintenance in addition to allowing the user to gauge how to save on electricity bills.
Nesler discloses: “creating a summary report and sending the summary report to the user device, wherein the summary report comprises at least one of energy production, energy consumption, or gateway connectivity” (Nesler, fig 1A, fig 1B, fig 5A – fig 5D, ¶ 0080: Nesler teaches a “tenant energy portal” where the tenant may view “their energy usage information” including “Current Electrical Consumption”(¶ 0080) disclosing tenant’s “energy consumption” (see fig 5B).)
Eich as modified and Nesler both teach managing a distributed energy generation system therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Eich as modified by including the teaching of Nesler. With the teaching of Nesler, a system user can accurately determine the amount of energy being consumed and determine if actions are necessary to modify energy consumption in order to provide a system with improved “building efficiency” and “enable greater use of renewable energy sources” (¶ 0021).
Regarding to claim 11, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher, and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 10, Eich further discloses wherein scanning further comprises scanning additional component indicia of additional components of the distributed energy generation system (Par[0059] - At step 426, a determination is made whether components for the solar array installation (e.g., PV modules, inverters, an array controller, or the like) are to be scanned to obtain corresponding identification information. If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 proceeds to step 428 where the components are scanned to obtain the identification information) and
the provisioning further comprises provisioning the additional components of the distributed energy generation system (Par[0050] - If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 proceeds to step 428 where the components are scanned to obtain the identification information. Such identification information may include serial numbers, part numbers, assigned identification (ID) numbers, or similar information, and is utilized to populate the array layout template for identifying specific components within the array. In some polyphase embodiments where one or more inverters are each coupled to one or more phases of AC power, phase information may additionally be obtained for identifying those phases to which each inverter is coupled.)
Regarding to claim 12, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher, and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 10. Eich further discloses wherein the user device is a mobile device (Fig.2) and the at least one sensor is a camera. (Par[0040] - Additionally or alternatively, the ID transducer 222 may comprise components (e.g., a camera or optical reader) for scanning identification tags, such as labels (e.g., a barcode label, a label having optical characters, or the like) to obtain the identification information.)
Regarding to claim 13, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher, and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 10. Eich further discloses displaying a user interface through which a user interacts with the user device to cause the user device to perform the operations of claim 10. (Par[0062] - The identification information obtained by scanning the solar array components is utilized to populate the array layout template. In some embodiments, a cell within the template is manually selected, for example by touching the cell within the template displayed on the mobile device screen, the component (or group of components, such as a PV module/inverter pair) installed at the complementary position within the solar array is scanned, and the obtained identification information populates the cell.)
Regarding to claim 14, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher, and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 13. Eich further discloses displaying, within the user interface, a graphical depiction of the at least one component of the distributed energy generation system. (Par[0057] - If, at step 418, it is determined that a predefined array layout template should be utilized, the method 400 proceeds to step 422. At step 422, predefined array layout templates, or indicia for such templates, may be displayed on the mobile device and, at step 424, a particular layout is selected.)
Regarding to claim 15, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher, and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 10. Eich further discloses connecting directly from the user device to the gateway. (Par[0039] - The mobile device wireless transceiver 202 wirelessly couples the mobile device 126 to the communications network 118 for communicating with the master controller 120 and/or the array controller 116. The mobile device 126 may additionally comprise a transceiver for providing communication utilizing wired techniques, for example, if the mobile device 126 is coupled to a computer connected to the communications network 118.)
Regarding to claim 17, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher, and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 10. Eich further disclosed communicating a grid profile to the at least one component that performs at least one of producing, storing, or producing and storing energy. (Par[0019] - The inverters 104 convert DC power from the PV modules 102 to AC power that is commercial power grid compliant and then couple the AC power to the load center 108. The generated AC power may be further coupled from the load center 108 to one or more appliances 114 (e.g., at a private residence or business) and/or to a commercial power grid 112. Additionally or alternatively, energy generated by the inverters 104 may be stored for later use; for example, the generated energy may be stored utilizing batteries, heated water, hydro pumping, H2O-to-hydrogen conversion, or the like). The controller center 118 communicates with solar power array and based on power generation and power consumption in order to determining if power should be stored for future usage or send to commercial grid.
Regarding to claim 18, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam and Boettcher disclose the apparatus of claim 10. Eich further discloses wherein the at least one component comprises a plurality of devices [Par0016] - The system 100 comprises the solar array 110 coupled to a load center 108 via an AC bus 106. The solar array 110 comprises a plurality of PV modules 102(1,1), 102(1,2) . . . 102(M,N), collectively referred to as PV modules 102, and a plurality of inverters 104(1,1), 104(1,2) . . . 104(M,N), collectively referred to as inverters 104. Each inverter 104(1,1), 104(1,2) . . . 104(M,N) is coupled in a one-to-one correspondence to a PV module 102(1,1), 102(1,2) . . . 102(M,N), respectively, and is further coupled to the AC bus 106) that produce, store, or produce and store energy. (Par[0019] - Additionally or alternatively, energy generated by the inverters 104 may be stored for later use; for example, the generated energy may be stored utilizing batteries, heated water, hydro pumping, H2O-to-hydrogen conversion, or the like)
provisioning further comprises: provisioning the plurality of devices.(Par[0022] - an installer 124 may utilize an installation application 128 resident on a mobile device 126 for managing (e.g., obtaining, generating, storing, viewing, uploading, or the like) information pertaining to the solar array 110 and/or the array controller 116 (“solar system information”). (Par[0059] - At step 426, a determination is made whether components for the solar array installation (e.g., PV modules, inverters, an array controller, or the like) are to be scanned to obtain corresponding identification information. If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 proceeds to step 428 where the components are scanned to obtain the identification information).
Eich does not discloses substantially simultaneously provision the plurality device.
Eich discloses that the Master controller 120 (See Fig. 1) contain a website that would allow multiple users login with username and password (Par[0026] - Additionally or alternatively, the solar system information may be saved on one or more of the mobile device 126, the array controller 116, or the master controller 120, and may be accessible via the website 122) and installation application for manage the solar system is installed in the one or more user devices (Par[0027] - The installer 124 may add the installation application 128 to the mobile device 126 and, upon initial activation of the installation application 128, enter user profile information, such as a user identification (ID), a login and password for the website 122, a login and password for the array controller 116 and/or master controller 120, or the like).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to recognize that the website of the master controller would allow multiple users access the website simultaneously. Since multiple user can access the system at the same time, the multiple users can provision multiple solar system at the same time.
Regarding to claim 19, Eich discloses “an apparatus for commissioning a distributed energy generation system” (Abstract)
“a user device” (Fig. 2)
“at least one sensor” (Fig.2 items 222, 208, 220) and “one or more processors coupled to one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions thereon which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations” (Par[0039] The mobile device 126 comprises a mobile device wireless transceiver 202, an ID transducer 222, support circuits 208, and a memory 210, each coupled to a central processing unit (CPU) 206. The mobile device wireless transceiver 202 wirelessly couples the mobile device 126 to the communications network 118 for communicating with the master controller 120 and/or the array controller 116 - Par[0043] - The memory 210 stores various forms of application software, such as the installation application 128 for obtaining and managing solar system information pertaining to the solar array 110; in alternative embodiments, the installation application 128 may be implemented in hardware or a combination of hardware and software)
“generating and displaying an interactive display screen on the user device” (Par[0033] - In order to populate a solar array layout template, the installer 124 may select a particular cell within the template by touching the cell on the display screen of the mobile device 126 and then scan the PV module 102 and/or inverter 104 installed at the complementary location within the solar array 110) “for creating a system record” (Par[0056] - If, at step 418, it is determined that a new array layout template is to be created, the method 400 proceeds to step 420 to create the array layout template, for example by specifying planned and/or existing characteristics of the physical layout of the solar array, such as number of rows and columns, portrait or landscape, whether the solar array pattern is aligned or brick, PV module make and/or model, PV module physical size and/or aspect ratio, or the like)
“generating and displaying an interactive display screen on the user device for scanning, using the at least one sensor” (Par.[0036] - where the PV modules 102 and the inverters 104 are not yet installed, the installation application 128 may generate and/or display a template where each template cell depicts an identifier indicating which PV module 102 and/or inverter 104 should be installed at the complementary location within the solar array 110), component indicium for at least one component of the distributed energy system; (Par[0059] - At step 426, a determination is made whether components for the solar array installation (e.g., PV modules, inverters, an array controller, or the like) are to be scanned to obtain corresponding identification information. If the result of such determination is yes, the method 400 proceeds to step 428 where the components are scanned to obtain the identification information)
“generating and displaying an interactive display screen on the user device for connecting the user device to a gateway of the distributed energy generation system” (Par[0020-0021] – especially - a user may access the website 122 via a password protected portal to view a depiction of the solar array 110, to monitor messages regarding the solar array 110, to transmit instructions to the solar array 110, or to perform similar operation and maintenance functions for the solar array 110) – user login Website by username and password to manage solar array
“generating and displaying an interactive display screen on the user device for provisioning the at least one component of the distributed energy generation system” (Par[0022] - an installer 124 may utilize an installation application 128 resident on a mobile device 126 for managing (e.g., obtaining, generating, storing, viewing, uploading, or the like) information pertaining to the solar array 110 and/or the array controller 116 (“solar system information”). By definition in telecommunication, provisioning involves the process of preparing and equipping a network to allow it to provide new services to its users. Eich discloses obtaining, generating information about the solar network.
Eich fails to disclose
“propagating frequency and voltage parameters to the at least one component to ensure that the at least one component is setup to be in compliance with grid parameters to ensure interoperability wherein provisioning comprises transmitting from the gateway to the user device a progression of interfaces that provide information to the user device for facilitating provisioning the at least one component of the distributed energy generation system
verifying energy production and consumption via the gateway which is configured to measure and compare a current production and consumption of the at least one component with an amount of production and consumption that the distributed energy generation system is forecasted to produce to verify proper distributed energy generation system operation
creating a summary report and sending the summary report to the user device, wherein the summary report comprises at least one of energy production, energy consumption, or gateway connectivity.”
Matan discloses: “propagating frequency and voltage parameters to the at least one component to ensure that the at least one component is setup to be in compliance with grid parameters to ensure interoperability” (Par. [0043] - each control node includes a converter or inverter device and a metering device. In one embodiment, the converter is referred to as a power conversion device or simply conversion device. Reference to a converter can include one or multiple converters that can operate together to control operation and/or an interface at a PCC; Par. [0207] - the control node determines if network node of the PCC is compliant with grid regulations, 1808. The grid regulations can include restrictions on over-voltage conditions (such as magnitude of over-voltage and/or timing of the voltage), waveform shape, frequency, power factor, and/or other conditions. The control node can include regulation controls configured into a controller and/or stored for use by a controller of the control node. The regulations can include parameters sent to the control node by the grid network) Examiner note: control node is part of the distributed energy generation system and the control node has grid regulation stored in it in order for the distributed energy generation system performs in compliance with the power grid.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modified the invention of Eich by including the teaching of Matan. The grid infrastructure is traditionally a one-way system, and the real power pushed back from the customer premises toward the central management and the central power source can create issues of grid voltage control and reactive power instability on the grid. With the teaching of Matan, the control node can assure that the local distributed energy generation system can operate in compliance with grid power network.
Harif discloses: “wherein provisioning comprises transmitting from the gateway (Fig.1 Gateway 106) to the user device a progression of interfaces that provide information to the user device for facilitating provisioning the at least one component of the distributed energy generation system” in (Par. [0014] - An automated method and process for provisioning a system of alternative energy source generators is described. In an embodiment, alternative energy source generators in the system are formed with ACPV modules. The method may include entering system information about the alternative energy source generators into a gateway, transmitting the system information about the alternative energy source generators to a web portal, validating the system information with the web portal, determining configuration information for the system with the web portal, transmitting the configuration information to the gateway, conducting a discovery process via the gateway, transmitting discovery information to the web portal via the gateway, validating and correcting the discovery information in the web portal, transmitting to the gateway corrected discovery information, and configuring the system in compliance with the configuration information; Fig. 2; Par. [0033] -In a step 208, the configuration information has been received by the gateway 106. As is conventional with internet communications, the gateway 106 will have acknowledged receipt of the information and the web portal 110 may record this acknowledgement. Such a feature may be helpful to installers, inspectors, or customer service agents in determining that the gateway 106 indeed has been properly configured. Upon receipt of the configuration information, the gateway 106 automatically initiates a “discovery” process wherein the ACPV modules within the branch circuits 101 are discovered by the gateway 106; Par [0034] - In a step 209, the discovery information is transmitted back to the web portal 110. The discovery information is received in a step 210, wherein the web portal 110 records the discovery information along with the system information. The step 210 serves as further acknowledgement of a successful system provisioning; Par [0026] - In any case, the web portal 110 is an interface that people or automated equipment can use to exchange data and instructions with the system 100. The web portal 110 may include a graphical user interface (“GUI”) through which users may see visual representations of data and system configuration.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modified the invention of Eich as modified by including the teaching of Harif. Provisioning on a PV module systems has normally included a number of manual steps, making it error prone and potentially slower than it can be. Harif provides a system which can streamline and automate the manual steps to reduce error during the PV provisioning process.
Wyatt discloses: “verifying energy production and consumption via the gateway” in (Par[0051] - One embodiment of the present invention allows for verification that the power generated by one or more local facilities 370 represents an actual contribution to the grid. This is important because it allows the local facilities 370 to recognize, verify and accept that the contribution made by other contributing facilities into the grid is not being falsified; (Par[0097] producers 720 may be able to query the FPGM at their own local facility to verify their contribution or consumption history, and also query the accounting server 740 at the VPGN to determine whether their contributions are being fairly accounted for. For example, a producer 720 may be equipped with its own handheld collection device to collect data from the FPGM or the producer 720 may have some other manual means of doing a data dump from the FPGM. Alternatively, the FPGM could be connected through network interface 122 to the producer's personal computer allowing the consumer to interface with the FPGM through a Wi-Fi or web interface. One advantage of storing all the consumers' and producers' data in a cloud 750 is the ability for all the various entities that are part of a VPGN to be able to verify their respective contribution and consumption conveniently). (Par [0066] communication interface 122 may facilitate communication between the FPGM and the grid provider. Examples of communication interface 122 include, without limitation, a wired network interface (such as a network interface card), and modem, and any other suitable interface disclosing “a gateway.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modified the invention of Eich as modified by including the teaching of Wyatt. With the teaching of Wyatt, an electricity user can accurately determine how much the user’s solar power can generate, how much power consumption by the user, and how much an electricity supply charge for power consumption. Based on the information, the user can determine whether to sell back the extra electrical power generated by the user’s solar power or store the extra power generation for future power consumption.
Adam discloses: “which is configured to measure and compare a current production of the at least one component with an amount of production that the distributed energy generation system is forecasted to produce to verify proper distributed energy generation system operation” in (Par[0052], fig. 1 The operator 12 produces a production forecast 100 via a Web interface 18. This takes place by means of a computer network and an Internet browser 16.) (Abstract a) producing a production forecast for the production of the at least one remote energy generation plant in a future time period, b) transmitting the production forecast to the central control unit via a computer network, c) operating the remote energy generation plant and measuring the production using the production measurement unit, d) comparing the measured production with the production forecast, e) notifying an operator of the at least one energy generation plant, if the measured production deviates from the production forecast beyond a predetermined level
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have modified the invention of Eich as modified to include the teaching of Adam. With the teaching of Adam, an electricity user can accurately determine how much the user’s solar power can generate and whether the energy generated is comparable to the forecasted energy generation. Based on this information, the user can determine if the solar power generation equipment is working properly or is in need of maintenance in addition to allowing the user to gauge how much could be saved on electricity bills.
While Eich as modified by Matan, Harif, Wyatt, and Adam discloses verifying energy production and comparing energy production with forecasted energy production, Eich as modified by Matan, Harif, Wyatt, and Adam fails to disclose comparing energy consumption with forecasted energy consumption.
Boettcher teaches “Weather normalization module 5208 can compare the expected amount of energy usage to the actual amount of energy usage (defined by the meter data) to determine a difference or delta between the expected normalized energy usage and the actual energy usage” (¶ 0285). The “weather normalization module 5208” is part of the “Analytics Service 524” (see fig 52). Therefore the combination of Eich, Adam and Boettcher discloses the limitation: “is configured to measure and compare a current production and consumption of the at least one component with an amount of production and consumption that the distributed energy generation system is forecasted to produce to verify proper distributed energy generation system operation.”
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have modified the invention of Eich to include the teaching of Boettcher. With the teaching of Boettcher, an electricity user can accurately determine whether the energy consumed is comparable to the forecasted energy consumption. Based on this information, the user can determine if the solar power generation equipment is working properly or is in need of maintenance in addition to allowing the user to gauge how to save on electricity bills.
Nesler discloses: “creating a summary report and sending the summary report to the user device, wherein the summary report comprises at least one of energy production, energy consumption, or gateway connectivity” (Nesler, fig 1A, fig 1B, fig 5A – fig 5D, ¶ 0080: Nesler teaches a “tenant energy portal” where the tenant may view “their energy usage information” including “Current Electrical Consumption”(¶ 0080) disclosing tenant’s “energy consumption” (see fig 5B).)
Eich as modified and Nesler both teach managing a distributed energy generation system therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Eich as modified by including the teaching of Nesler. With the teaching of Nesler, a system user can accurately determine the amount of energy being consumed and determine if actions are necessary to modify energy consumption in order to provide a system with improved “building efficiency” and “enable greater use of renewable energy sources” (¶ 0021).
Regarding to claim 20, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 19. Eich further disclosed generating and displaying an interactive display screen on the user device comprising a graphical depiction of the at least one component of a distributed energy generation system. (Par[0005] - Information pertaining to the placement of each component within the array is required for efficient operation of the array, for example for generating a graphical depiction of the array for monitoring purposes or for dispatching a technician to address a problem with a particular PV module or inverter).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eich as modified by Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher, and Nesler as applied to claims 1 and 10 respectively above, and further in view of Yoscovich et al., (US 2019/0095666 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Eich, Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher, and Nesler disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Eich as modified Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher, and Nesler does not teach: “creating the summary report further comprises system operation information associated with the at least one component, and wherein the system operation information associated with the at least one component comprises at least one of a number of power converters, how many power converters are communicating, or how many storage units are communicating.”
Yoscovich teaches:
“wherein creating the summary report further comprises system operation information associated with the at least one component, and wherein the system operation information associated with the at least one component comprises at least one of a number of power converters, how many power converters are communicating, or how many storage units are communicating.” (Yoscovich teaches “a plurality of PV devices which are able to change their output voltage, such as DC/DC converters, and report their output parameters (e.g. voltage, current) to a system management unit (user device) communicatively coupled to some or all of the PV devices” (¶ 0093, see also fig. 9 and 10) where “report their output parameters (e.g. voltage, current) to a system management unit (user device) communicatively coupled to some or all of the PV devices” discloses how many power converters are in communication.)
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have modified the invention of Eich as modified by including the teaching of Yoscovich. With the teaching of Yoscovich, an system user can accurately determine the number of power converters in communication based on the converters reporting to a user device in order to determine if the solar power generation equipment is working properly or is in need of maintenance.
Regarding claim 22: Claim 22 cites analogous limitations to claim 21 above and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (remarks), filed on 01/02/2026, have been fully considered.
Regarding A. 35 U.S.C. § 103 Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-20 page 8-9 of Applicant’s arguments, Examiner finds Applicant’s arguments persuasive with respect to the amendments. New grounds for rejection are necessitated by the amendments and are presented above.
Regarding B. 35 U.S.C. § 103 Claims 21 and 22 page 9 of Applicant’s remarks. Eich as modified Matan, Harif, Wyatt, Adam, Boettcher, Nesler, and Yoscovich teach the limitations of claim 21 and 22 as Yoscovich teaches “a plurality of PV devices which are able to change their output voltage, such as DC/DC converters, and report their output parameters (e.g. voltage, current) to a system management unit (user device) communicatively coupled to some or all of the PV devices” (¶ 0093, see also fig. 9 and 10) where “report their output parameters (e.g. voltage, current) to a system management unit (user device) communicatively coupled to some or all of the PV devices” discloses how many power converters are in communication.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pancholi et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20200003442 A1, teaches optimizing resource usage including distributed energy generation systems.
/DENISE R KARAVIAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ANDREW SCHECHTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857