DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/31/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10/01/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-19 and 21-23 are pending in the application and being examined herein.
Status of Rejections
The rejections under 35 USC 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 10, 11, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price (US 20150350605 A1) in view of Scherr (US 20190257822 A1) and further in view of Nicolson (US 20190229907 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Prices teaches a system comprising:
a processor (12 + 14, Fig. 1)(para. 0061, processor);
memory (paras. 0022, 0024 and 0060) coupled to the processor for storing a local testing database storing a test configuration profile (the algorithm that determine the results of test stick 32/34/36 in para. 0024) for a cassette (test stick) containing a test pad including a test line
Prices teaches a test stick which is interpreted to read the cassette, and the test stick support a saliva based test pad for biological assays (para. 0017). Price teaches the result is presented as “-“, “+” or no markings and analyzed by a software algorithm (para. 0017). Therefore, Price fails to teach a lateral flow assay LFA and wherein an intensity threshold value for the test line that represents an intensity value which indicates a positive test result.
Scherr teaches point-of-care rapid diagnostic tests and system for process the analysis of the test results (paras. 0002, 0010). Scherr teaches that the test format may include vertical flow-through (dip stick) like that of Price, or lateral flow assay among other formats (para. 0011). Lateral flow assays provide an inexpensive and fast diagnosis, and are amenable for use by minimally trained healthcare workers, and are useful for detection of biomarkers. Scherr teaches automatic image analysis to quantify the intensity of the test line (para. 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the test pad and the algorithm to determine the plus/minus test result taught by Price with the lateral flow assay and the threshold intensity analysis taught by Scherr because doing so provide an inexpensive and fast diagnostic alternative, and are useful for detection of biomarkers (Scherr, paras. 0011 and 0041). One would have been motivated to substitute the algorithm of Price with an intensity analysis of Scherr in order to make a determination of the test result of the LFA with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly have recognized the lateral flow assay and intensity threshold analysis was an alternative to a test pad and plus/minus test result analysis and would provide an opportunity for analyzing more analytes and simple substitution of one known element (test pad) for another (LFA) is likely to be obvious when predictable results (diagnostic testing) are achieved. See (MPEP 2143)(I)(B).
Price teaches a scanner (magnetic strip reader 138) for obtaining patient identification information from an identification card of a patient (paras. 0034 and 0042).
Modified Price teaches an LFA strip reader (Price, optical edge scanner 128, Scherr LFA, para. 0011) coupled to the processor for reading the LFA strip and obtaining an LFA strip image from the cassette (test stick) containing the LFA strip and an image of a unique identifier (scan code 40, 42)(paras. 0017 and 0039), wherein the unique identifier uniquely identifies the cassette (para. 0017, the two dimensional scan code on the test stick has an unique alpha numeric code)
Price teaches a unique identifier located on the test stick (cassette)(para. 0017), and the unique identifier has an unique alpha numeric code which uniquely identifies the cassette (para. 0017, the scan code on the test stick has an unique alpha numeric code). Price fails to teach the unique identifier uniquely identifies a vendor and a test of the LFA strip, and consequently also fails to the processor configured to determine the test configuration profile for the LFA strip based on the unique identifier.
However, Nicolson teaches a portable medical device for diagnostic assays based on lateral flow assays (LFA) (para. 0023). Nicolson teaches the device comprises LFA assay supported in a cartridge (cassette) and a processor (paras. 0053-0054). Nicolson further teaches a barcode (unique identifier) locates on the cartridge (cassette). Nicolson teaches scanning of the barcode provides test information such as type of test as well a way to input physician (vendor) information (para. 0053). Nicolson further teaches the processor is configured to determine test results based on the barcode-provided test information (para. 0053), and thus provides automated process for determining assay result. Nicolson further teaches the use of barcode helps reduce transcription errors (para. 0090).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the unique identifier taught by Price to include test information as well a way to input physician/vendor information as taught by Nicolson, and to have modified the processor taught by Price to be configured to determine test results based on the barcode-provided test information as taught by Nicolson, because such modification help to reduce transcription errors in inputting test information and physician/vendor information and provide an automated process run by the device for determining a result of the assay (Nicolson, paras. 0053 and 0090) with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
The teachings of modified Price yields the unique identifier uniquely identifies a vendor and a test of the LFA strip (modified Price, Nicolson, para. 0053 teaches the unique identifier provides test information and a way to input physician/vendor information, and uniquely identifies a vendor and test of the LFA strip) and the processor further configured to determine the test configuration profile for the LFA strip based on the unique identifier (Nicolson, para. 0053, determine test results based on the barcode-provided test information).
Modified Prices teaches the process configured to determine an LFA test result (Price, 0018 and 0024; Scherr, 0041) based on comparing a measured intensity value of a portion of the test line in the LFA strip image the test pad image to the intensity threshold value (Price, para. 0018 and 0024 and Scherr, 0041);
Modified Price teaches the processor further configured to link the determined LFA test result test pad result to the unique identifier of the cassette (Price, para. 0017, test pad result and unique identifier are linked in an event file; Scherr, LFA, para. 0011);
Modified Price teaches the processor further configured to link the unique identifier from the cassette with the patient identification information from the identification card (Price, para. 0017, patient ID and unique identifier are linked in an event file).
Regarding claim 2, modified Price teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Modified Price further teaches the processor further configured to upload obtained data, the obtained data including the unique identifier of the cassette, and the associated patient identification information and the associated LFA test result to a central database. (Price, para. 0008; Scherr, LFA para. 0011).
Regarding claim 8, modified Price teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Modified Nicolson further teaches the scanner is a barcode scanner (Price, paras. 0017 and 0037).
Regarding claim 10, Price teaches a method comprising:
receiving a cassette having a unique identifier (para. 0017), the cassette (test stick) containing a test pad;
Prices teaches a test stick which is interpreted to read the cassette, and the test stick support a saliva based test pad for biological assays (para. 0017). Therefore, Price fails to teach a lateral flow assay LFA.
Scherr teaches point of care rapid diagnostic tests and system for process the analysis of the test results (paras. 0002, 0010). Scherr teaches that the test format may include vertical flow-through (dip stick) like that of Price, or lateral flow assay among other formats (para. 0011). Lateral flow assays provide an inexpensive and fast diagnosis, and are amenable for use by minimally trained healthcare workers, and are useful for detection of biomarkers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the test pad taught by Price with the lateral flow assay taught by Scherr because doing so provide an inexpensive and fast diagnostic alternative, and are useful for detection of biomarkers (Scherr, paras. 0011 and 0041) with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
Modified Price teaches reading the LFA strip to obtain an LFA strip image (Price, para. 0017, Scherr LFA, para. 0011), the LFA strip image including the unique identifier on the cassette (Price, para. 0017).
Price teaches a unique identifier located on the test stick (cassette)(para. 0017), and the unique identifier has an unique alpha numeric code which uniquely identifies the cassette (para. 0017), but fails to teach the unique identifier uniquely identifies a vendor and a test of the LFA strip, and consequently also fails to determining, based on the unique identifier, a test configuration profile for the LFA strip; determining, using a processor, an LFA test result.
However, Nicolson teaches a portable medical device for diagnostic assays based on lateral flow assays (LFA) (para. 0023). Nicolson teaches the device comprises LFA assay supported in a cartridge (cassette) and a processor (paras. 0053-0054). Nicolson further teaches a barcode (unique identifier) locates on the cartridge (cassette). Nicolson teaches scanning of the barcode provides test information such as type of test as well a way to input physician (vendor) information (para. 0053). Nicolson further teaches the processor is configured to determine test results based on the barcode-provided test information (para. 0053), and thus provides automated process for determining assay result. Nicolson further teaches the use of barcode helps reduce transcription errors (para. 0090).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the unique identifier taught by Price to include test information as well a way to input physician/vendor information as taught by Nicolson, and to have modified the processor taught by Price to be configured to determine test results based on the barcode-provided test information as taught by Nicolson, because such modification help to reduce transcription errors in inputting test information and physician/vendor information and provide an automated process run by the device for determining a result of the assay (Nicolson, paras. 0053 and 0090) with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
The teachings of modified Price yields the unique identifier uniquely identifies a vendor and a test of the LFA strip (modified Price, Nicolson, para. 0053 teaches the unique identifier provides test information and a way to input physician/vendor information, and uniquely identifies a vendor and test of the LFA strip) and determining, based on the unique identifier, a test configuration profile for the LFA strip; determining, using a processor, an LFA test result (Nicolson, para. 0053, determine test results based on the barcode-provided test information).
Modified Price teaches determining, using a processor, an LFA test result. In particular, Price teaches the result is presented as “-“, “+” or no markings and analyzed by a software algorithm (Price, para. 0017) and thus modified Price fails to determining, using a processor, an LFA test result based on comparing a measured intensity value of a portion of the LFA strip image to an intensity threshold value;
Scherr teaches automatic image analysis for LFA assay to quantify the intensity of the test line (para. 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the algorithm to determine the plus/minus test result taught by Price with the threshold intensity analysis for LFA assay taught by Scherr. One would have been motivated to substitute the algorithm of Price with an intensity analysis of Scherr in order to make a determination of the test result of the LFA with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly have recognized the lateral flow assay and intensity threshold analysis was an alternative to a test pad and plus/minus test result analysis and would provide an opportunity for analyzing more analytes and simple substitution of one known element (test pad) for another (LFA) is likely to be obvious when predictable results (diagnostic testing) are achieved. See (MPEP 2143)(I)(B).
Price teaches receiving patient identification from a scanner (magnetic strip reader 138) for a patient whose biological material is on the LFA strip, the patient identification obtained from an identification card by the scanner (paras. 0034 and 0042);
Price teaches associating the patient identification with the unique identifier of the cassette; and storing the patient identification and the LFA test result in association with the unique identifier of the cassette (paras. 0017 and 0042).
Regarding claim 11, modified Price teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 10. Modified Price further teaches the method of claim 10 further comprising:
receiving patient information associated with the patient (para. 0017);
wherein the processor uploads the patient information and the LFA test result to a central database (Price, para. 0008 and Nicolson, paras. 0024, 0044, 0072, Scherr LFA, para. 0011).
Regarding claim 22, Price teaches a system to analyze a plurality of cassettes, each cassette having a unique identifier and containing a lateral flow assay ("LFA") strip, the system comprising, for each of the plurality of cassettes:
an LFA strip reader (optical edge scanner 128) to obtain an test pad image including the unique identifier (40, 42) (para. 0017 and 0031), wherein the unique identifier uniquely identifies the test pad and the cassette and is located on the cassette (para. 0017);
Prices teaches a test stick which is interpreted to read the cassette, and the test stick support a saliva based test pad for biological assays (para. 0017). Therefore, Price fails to teach a lateral flow assay LFA strip.
Scherr teaches point of care rapid diagnostic tests and system for process the analysis of the test results (paras. 0002, 0010). Scherr teaches that the test format may include vertical flow-through (dip stick) like that of Price, or lateral flow assay among other formats (para. 0011). Lateral flow assays provide an inexpensive and fast diagnosis, and are amenable for use by minimally trained healthcare workers, and are useful for detection of biomarkers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the test pad taught by Price with the lateral flow assay taught by Scherr because doing so provide an inexpensive and fast diagnostic alternative, and are useful for detection of biomarkers (Scherr, paras. 0011 and 0041) with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
Modified Price teaches a processor to identify a test configuration profile (algorithm) for the LFA strip (Price, para. 0018 and 0024, Scherr LFA, para. 0011).
Price further teaches the processor is configured to obtain information from the unique identifier (scan code 40, 42)(para. 0017, 0018, 0024). Price fails to teach the unique identifier provide information relating to the test of the LFA strip, and consequently fails to the processor configured to identify a test configuration profile based on unique identifier.
However, Nicolson teaches a portable medical device for diagnostic assays based on lateral flow assays (LFA) (para. 0023). Nicolson teaches the device comprises LFA assay supported in a cartridge (cassette) and a processor (paras. 0053-0054). Nicolson further teaches a barcode (unique identifier) locates on the cartridge (cassette). Nicolson teaches scanning of the barcode provides test information such as type of test (para. 0053). Nicolson further teaches the processor is configured to identify test configuration based on the barcode-provided test information for determining test result (para. 0053), and thus provides automated process for determining assay result. Nicolson further teaches the use of barcode helps reduce transcription errors (para. 0090).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the unique identifier taught by Price to include test information as taught by Nicolson, and to have modified the processor taught by Price to be configured identify test configuration based on the barcode-provided test information for determining test result as taught by Nicolson (para. 0053), because such modification help to reduce transcription errors in inputting test information and physician/vendor information and provide an automated process run by the device for determining a result of the assay (Nicolson, paras. 0053 and 0090) with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
The teachings of modified Price yields the processor configured to identify a test configuration profile for the LFA strip based on the unique identifier (Nicolson, para. 0053).
Modified Price further teaches the processor further to determine an LFA test result (Price, para. 0017, Scherr, LFA, para 0011, and Nicolson para. 0053) and is based on test information provided through the corresponding unique identifier (Nicolson, para. 0053).
Price teaches the test result is presented as “-“, “+” or no markings and analyzed by a software algorithm (Price, para. 0017) and thus modified Price fails to determining, using a processor, an LFA test result based on comparing a measured intensity value of a portion of the LFA strip image to an intensity threshold value.
Scherr teaches point of care rapid diagnostic tests and system for process the analysis of the test results (paras. 0002, 0010). Scherr teaches automatic image analysis to quantify the intensity of the test line for LFA assay (para. 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the algorithm to determine the plus/minus test result taught by Price with the lateral flow assay and the threshold intensity analysis taught by Scherr. One would have been motivated to substitute the algorithm of Price with an intensity analysis of Scherr in order to make a determination of the test result of the LFA with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly have recognized the lateral flow assay and intensity threshold analysis was an alternative to a test pad and plus/minus test result analysis and would provide an opportunity for analyzing more analytes and simple substitution of one known element (test pad) for another (LFA) is likely to be obvious when predictable results (diagnostic testing) are achieved. See (MPEP 2143)(I)(B).
Modified Price teaches a scanner (Price, magnetic strip reader 138) to receive patient identification from an identification card for a patient whose biological material is on the LFA strip (Price, paras. 0017, 0034 and 0042; and Scherr, LFA, para. 0011); and
Modified Price teaches the processor to associate the patient identification and the LFA test results with the unique identifier (Price, paras. 0017, 0034 and 0042; and Scherr, LFA, para. 0011);
Modified Price teaches a memory (Price, paras. 0017, 0024 and 0060) to store the patient identification and the LFA test result in association with the unique identifier of the cassette (Price, paras. 0017, 0024 and 0042; and Scherr, LFA, para. 0011).
The examiner notes that the plurality of cassette is not given patentable weight because it is in the preamble.
Regarding claim 23, modified Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 22. With respect to “the unique identifier is associated with the cassette”, neither the cassette nor the unique identifier is positively recited, and thus neither is part of the invention. Since the limitation is directed to the unique identifier, this claim does not further limit the invention. For the purpose of compact prosecution, Price teaches the unique identifier is associated with the cassette prior to receiving the patient identification information, so that the patient identification information is not a part of the unique identifier (Price, para. 0017 scan code on the test stick has an unique alpha numeric code).
Claims 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Price (US 20150350605 A1) in view of Scherr (US 20190257822 A1), in view of Nicolson (US 20190229907 A1), and further in view of Worrell et al. (US 20140018779 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Price teaches system comprising:
a processor (12 + 14, Fig. 1)(para. 0061, processor);
memory (paras. 0022, 0024 and 0060) coupled to the processor for storing a local testing database (paras. 0022, 0024, 0060-0061), the testing database including a test configuration profile (the algorithm that determine the results of test stick 32/34/36 in para. 0024) for a cassette (test stick) with a test pad having a test line (para. 0024), the test configuration profile including an intensity threshold value for the test line that represents an intensity value which indicates a positive test result;
Prices teaches a test stick which is interpreted to read the cassette, and the test stick support a saliva based test pad for biological assays (para. 0017). Price teaches the result is presented as “-“, “+” or no markings and analyzed by a software algorithm (para. 0017). Therefore, Price fails to teach a lateral flow assay LFA and wherein an intensity threshold value for the test line that represents an intensity value which indicates a positive test result.
Scherr teaches point of care rapid diagnostic tests and system for process the analysis of the test results (paras. 0002, 0010). Scherr teaches that the test format may include vertical flow-through (dip stick) like that of Price, or lateral flow assay among other formats (para. 0011). Lateral flow assays provide an inexpensive and fast diagnosis, and are amenable for use by minimally trained healthcare workers, and are useful for detection of biomarkers. Scherr teaches automatic image analysis to quantify the intensity of the test line (para. 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the test pad and the algorithm to determine the plus/minus test result taught by Price with the lateral flow assay and the threshold intensity analysis taught by Scherr because doing so provide an inexpensive and fast diagnostic alternative, and are useful for detection of biomarkers (Scherr, paras. 0011 and 0041). One would have been motivated to substitute the algorithm of Price with an intensity analysis of Scherr in order to make a determination of the test result of the LFA with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly have recognized the lateral flow assay and intensity threshold analysis was an alternative to a test pad and plus/minus test result analysis and would provide an opportunity for analyzing more analytes and simple substitution of one known element (test pad) for another (LFA) is likely to be obvious when predictable results (diagnostic testing) are achieved. See (MPEP 2143)(I)(B).
Price teaches a symptom entry device (124) coupled to the processor (paras. 0030, 0041).
Price teaches the system comprising the rapid diagnostic test is for first responders, EMTs and field medical personnel to be used at a field that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0004). Price teaches the system comprises a touch sensitive display screen (symptom entry device) coupled to the processor (para. 0030, 0041) for receiving patient metadata (para. 0057) but fails to teach the metadata include patient symptom and thus fails to teach a symptom entry device coupled to the processor for receiving a patient symptom.
However, Worrell teaches a system that performs diagnostic tests using test strips (para. 0100). Worrell teaches the system includes devices that are useful for collecting health-related data at a location that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0071). Worrell teaches the system comprises a symptom entry (para. 0233, touch sensitive display) coupled to a processor (processing device 230) for receiving a patient symptom (paras. 0205, 0233) and the processor configured to receive the symptom from the symptom entry ( paras. 0009, 0119, 0205, 0233) and store the symptom associated with patient-specific information (Fig. 8 and para. 0009, that the processor generates a patient care unit interface configured to receive data from the patient care unit and an electronic medical records interface configured to retrieve data from an electronic medical record associated with the patient. The received data symptom of the patient from the system is uploaded and stored along with patient’s historical medical data in server 306, indicating that the symptom of the patient is associated with the patient-specific information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified metadate received by the touch sensitive display screen and the processor taught by Price to include symptoms as taught by Worrell. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to expand the functionalities of Price’s system in providing a means for collecting health-related data at a remote location (Worrell, abstract and para. 0203, 0233) with a reasonable expectation of success. (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
Modified Price teaches an LFA strip reader (Price, optical edge scanner 128, Scherr LFA, para. 0011) coupled to the processor for reading the LFA strip in the cassette and an image of a unique identifier (scan code 40, 42)(paras. 0017 and 39), the cassette having a unique identifier that uniquely identifies the test LFA strip and the cassette (para. 0017, the two dimensional scan code on the test stick has an unique alpha numeric code, and the test strip is contained in the cassette).
Price fails to teach the unique identifier provide information relating to the test of the LFA strip, and consequently fails to teach the unique identifier used to identify the test configuration profile .
However, Nicolson teaches a portable medical device for diagnostic assays based on lateral flow assays (LFA) (para. 0023). Nicolson teaches the device comprises LFA assay supported in a cartridge (cassette) and a processor (paras. 0053-0054). Nicolson further teaches a barcode (unique identifier) locates on the cartridge (cassette). Nicolson teaches scanning of the barcode provides test information (para. 0053)that enables determination of test results (test configuration profile) (para. 0053), and thus provides automated process for determining assay result. Nicolson further teaches the use of barcode helps reduce transcription errors (para. 0090).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the unique identifier taught by Price to include test information that enables determination of test results (test configuration profile) taught by Nicolson, because such modification help to reduce transcription errors in inputting test information and provide an automated process run by the device for determining a result of the assay (Nicolson, paras. 0053 and 0090) with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
The teachings of modified Price yields the unique identifier used to identify the test configuration profile (Nicolson, para. 0053).
Modified Price further teaches the processor further configured to determine an LFA test result (Price, para. 0017, Scherr, LFA, para 0011), and receive the symptom from the symptom entry device (Price, para. 0057; Worrell, para. 0203, 0233).
Price teaches the test result is presented as “-“, “+” or no markings and analyzed by a software algorithm (Price, para. 0017) and thus modified Price fails to determining, using a processor, an LFA test result based on comparing a measured intensity value of a portion of the LFA strip image to an intensity threshold value.
Scherr teaches point of care rapid diagnostic tests and system for process the analysis of the test results (paras. 0002, 0010). Scherr teaches automatic image analysis to quantify the intensity of the test line for LFA assay (para. 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the algorithm to determine the plus/minus test result taught by Price with the lateral flow assay and the threshold intensity analysis taught by Scherr. One would have been motivated to substitute the algorithm of Price with an intensity analysis of Scherr in order to make a determination of the test result of the LFA with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly have recognized the lateral flow assay and intensity threshold analysis was an alternative to a test pad and plus/minus test result analysis and would provide an opportunity for analyzing more analytes and simple substitution of one known element (test pad) for another (LFA) is likely to be obvious when predictable results (diagnostic testing) are achieved. See (MPEP 2143)(I)(B).
Modified Price teaches the processor further configured to associate the unique identifier with the result data of the testing (Price, para. 0017, test pad result and unique identifier are linked in an event file);
Modified the processor further configured to store the result data including the LFA test result and the patient symptom (Price, para. 0017, test pad result, metadata and unique identifier are linked in an event file, and Worrell, para. 0203 and 0233, metadata includes patient symptoms).
Regarding claim 18, modified Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 17. Price further teaches the device comprising:
a scanner (magnetic strip reader 138) to obtain patient identification information (paras. 0034 and 0042);
the processor further configured to receive the patient identification information, and associate the patient identification information with the unique identifier (para. 0017, patient ID and unique identifier are linked in an event file).
Regarding claim 19, modified Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 17.
Price teaches the system comprising the diagnostic test is for EMTs and field medical personnel to be used at the field that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0004). Price further teaches the processor configured receive test result of the diagnostic test and metadata of the patient and link them to a barcode that is on the test stick in an event file (cassette) (para. 0017). Price teaches the system provides a mean for collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (para. 0008). However, Price fails to teach the system includes other devices for collecting health-related data at the field that is remotely from a health care facility, and thus fails to the system further comprise one or more of: a pulse oximeter, a scale, thermometer, a sphygmomanometer, providing patient data to the processor, wherein the processor associates the patient data with the unique identifier.
However, Worrell teaches a system that performs diagnostic tests using test strips (para. 0100). Worrell teaches the system includes devices that are useful for collecting health-related data at a location that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0071). Worrell teaches the system comprises a processor (processing device 230) and a pulse oximeter (Fig. 4 and para. 0122, pulse oximeter 204), providing patient data to the processor (paras. 0095 and 0119 teach pulse oximeter 204 takes a reading of the blood oxygen saturation, and the reading is transmitted to processing device 230), wherein the processor associates the patient data with the patient-specific information (Worrell in Fig. 8 and para. 0009 , that the processing device generates a patient care unit interface configured to receive data from the patient care unit and an electronic medical records interface configured to retrieve data from an electronic medical record associated with the patient. The received data from the patient are unit is stored along with patient’s historical medical data in server 306, indicating that the blood oxygen saturation is associated with the patient-specific information). Worrell teaches the system is useful for the location of the patient, remote from a health care facility.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by modified Price to have a pulse oximeter, providing patient data to the processor, wherein the processor associates the patient data with the patient-specific information disclosed by Worrell (Fig. 8 and para. 0009). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to expand the functionalities of Price’s system in collecting health-related data at location that is remote from a health care facility (Worrell, abstract) with a reasonable expectation of success. (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
The teachings modified Price would yield a pulse oximeter providing patient data to the processor, wherein the processor associates the patient data with the unique identifier because Worrell teaches associating the patient data the blood oxygen saturation reading with the patient-specific information, and Price tests test pad result, metadata and unique identifier are linked in an event file (para. 0017).
Regarding to claim 21, modified Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 17, wherein the processor uploads the result data to a central database (Price, para. 0008).
Claims 3-7 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicolson (US 20190229907 A1) in view of Price (US 20150350605 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Worrell et al. (US 20140018779 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1.
Price teaches the system comprising the diagnostic test is for EMTs and field medical personnel to be used at the field that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0004). Price further teaches the processor configured receive test result of the diagnostic test and metadata of the patient and link them to a barcode that is on the test stick in an event file (cassette) (para. 0017). Price teaches the system provides a mean for collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (para. 0008)
Prices fails to teaches the system further comprising: a thermometer to take a temperature reading of the patient; the processor configured to receive the temperature reading of the patient and associate the temperature reading with the unique identifier of the cassette.
However, Worrell teaches a system that can perform diagnostic tests using test strips (para. 0100). Worrell teaches the system provides devices that are useful for performing diagnostic testing at a location remote from a health care facility. Worrell further teaches the system includes a thermometer (instrument 120; para. 0122, instrument 120 can be a thermometer) to take a temperature reading of the patient (paras. 0071 and 0122 and Fig. 17, instrument 120, collect data regarding patient’s current condition including temperature); the processor (processing device 230) configured to receive the temperature reading of the patient (paras. 0118-0119) and associate the temperature reading with the patient-specific information (Fig. 8 and para. 0009, electronic medical record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Price to include a thermometer to take a temperature reading of the patient taught by Worrell (para. 0071 and 0122 and Fig. 17), and to have modified the processor taught by Price to receive the temperature reading of the patient and to associate the temperature reading with the unique identifier of the cassette as taught by Worrell (para. 0009 and Fig. 8, paras. 0118-0119) and Price (para. 0017-18, associating patient data to a unique identifier in an event file) in order to expand the functionalities of Price for providing diagnostic testing at a remote location (Worrell, abstract) and while still collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (Price, para. 0008) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 4, Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1.
Prices further teaches the system further comprising: a pulse oximeter to take a blood oxygen saturation measurement of the patient;
the processor further to receive the blood oxygen saturation measurement of the patient and associated it with the unique identifier of the cassette.
Price teaches the system comprising the diagnostic test is for EMTs and field medical personnel to be used at the field that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0004). Price further teaches the processor configured receive test result of the diagnostic test and metadata of the patient and link them to a barcode that is on the test stick in an event file (cassette) (para. 0017). Price teaches the system provides a mean for collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (para. 0008)
Prices fails to teaches the system further comprising: a pulse oximeter to take a blood oxygen saturation measurement of the patient; the processor configured to receive the blood oxygen saturation measurement and associate the blood oxygen saturation measurement with the unique identifier of the cassette.
However, Worrell teaches a system that can perform diagnostic tests using test strips (para. 0100). Worrell teaches the system provides devices that are useful for performing diagnostic testing at a location remote from a health care facility. Worrell further teaches the system includes a pulse oximeter (para. 0095, pulse oximeter 204) to take blood oxygen saturation measurement of the patient (paras. 0095); the processor (processing device 230) configured to receive the blood oxygen saturation measurement of the patient (paras. 0095 and 0119) and associate the blood oxygen saturation measurement with the patient-specific information (Fig. 8 and para. 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Price to include a pulse oximeter to take a blood oxygen saturation measurement of the patient of the patient taught by Worrell (para. 0095, pulse oximeter 204), and to have modified the processor taught by Price to receive the blood oxygen saturation measurement of the patient (paras. 0095 and 0119) and to associate the blood oxygen saturation measurement with the unique identifier of the cassette as taught by Worrell (para. 0009 and Fig. 8, paras. 0118-0119) and Price (para. 0017-18, associating patient data to a unique identifier in an event file) in order to expand the functionalities of Price for providing diagnostic testing at a remote location (Worrell, abstract) and while still collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (Price, para. 0008) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 5, Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1.
Price teaches the system comprising the diagnostic test is for EMTs and field medical personnel to be used at the field that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0004). Price further teaches the processor configured receive test result of the diagnostic test and metadata of the patient and link them to a barcode that is on the test stick in an event file (cassette) (para. 0017). Price teaches the system provides a mean for collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (para. 0008).
Prices fails to teaches the system further comprising: a scale to measure a weight of the patient; the processor configured to receive the weight of the patient and associate the weight with the unique identifier of the cassette.
However, Worrell teaches a system that can perform diagnostic tests using test strips (para. 0100). Worrell teaches the system provides devices that are useful for performing diagnostic testing at a location remote from a health care facility. Worrell further teaches the system includes a scale (Fig. 7 and para. 0122, wireless weight scale) to measure a weight of the patient (paras. 0071 and 0122 and Fig. 17); the processor (processing device 230) configured to receive the weight of the patient (paras. 0118-0119) and associate the weight with the patient-specific information (Fig. 8 and para. 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Price to include a scale to measure a weight of the patient taught by Worrell (Fig. 7 and para. 0122), and to have modified the processor taught by Price to receive the weight of the patient and to associate the weight with the unique identifier of the cassette as taught by Worrell (para. 0009 and Fig. 8, paras. 0118-0119) and Price (para. 0017-18, associating patient data to a unique identifier in an event file) in order to expand the functionalities of Price for providing diagnostic testing at a remote location (Worrell, abstract) and while still collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (Price, para. 0008) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 6, Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1.
Price teaches the system comprising the diagnostic test is for EMTs and field medical personnel to be used at the field that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0004). Price further teaches the processor configured receive test result of the diagnostic test and metadata of the patient and link them to a barcode that is on the test stick in an event file (cassette) (para. 0017). Price teaches the system provides a mean for collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (para. 0008)
Prices fails to teaches the system further comprising: a sphygmomanometer to measure a blood pressure; the processor configured to receive the blood pressure of the patient and associate the blood pressure with the unique identifier of the cassette.
However, Worrell teaches a system that can perform diagnostic tests using test strips (para. 0100). Worrell teaches the system provides devices that are useful for performing diagnostic testing at a location remote from a health care facility. Worrell further teaches the system includes sphygmomanometer (Fig. 6 and para. 0091 blood pressure cuff 208) to measure a blood pressure of the patient; the processor (processing device 230) configured to receive the blood pressure of the patient (paras. 0099 and 0119) and associate the blood pressure with the patient-specific information (Fig. 8 and para. 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Price to include a sphygmomanometer to measure a blood pressure of the patient taught by Worrell (Fig. 6 and para. 0091 blood pressure cuff 208), and to have modified the processor taught by Price to receive the blood pressure of the patient and to associate the blood pressure with the unique identifier of the cassette as taught by Worrell (para. 00099 and 0119) and Price (para. 0017-18, associating patient data to a unique identifier in an event file) in order to expand the functionalities of Price for providing diagnostic testing at a remote location (Worrell, abstract) and while still collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (Price, para. 0008) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 7, Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1.
Price teaches the system comprising the diagnostic test is for EMTs and field medical personnel to be used at the field that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0004). Price further teaches the processor configured receive test result of the diagnostic test and metadata of the patient and link them to a barcode that is on the test stick in an event file (cassette) (para. 0017). Price teaches the system provides a mean for collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (para. 0008)
Prices fails to teaches the system further comprising: a symptom entry device to enable entry of a symptom of the patient; the processor to receive the symptom of the patient, and associate the symptom with the unique identifier of the cassette.
However, Worrell teaches a system that can perform diagnostic tests using test strips (para. 0100). Worrell teaches the system provides devices that are useful for performing diagnostic testing at a location remote from a health care facility. Worrell further teaches the system includes a symptom entry device (para. 0233, touch sensitive display) to enable entry of a symptom of the patient (para. 0233); the processor (processing device 230) configured to receive the symptom of the patient (paras. 0009, 0119, 0205, 0233) and associate the symptom with the patient-specific information (Fig. 8 and para. 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Price to include a symptom entry device to enable entry of the symptom of the patient taught by Worrell (para. 0233), and to have modified the processor taught by Price to receive the symptom of the patient and to associate the symptom with the unique identifier of the cassette as taught by Worrell (para. 0009 and Fig. 8, paras. 0118-0119) and Price (para. 0017-18, associating patient data to a unique identifier in an event file) in order to expand the functionalities of Price for providing diagnostic testing at a remote location (Worrell, abstract) and while still collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (Price, para. 0008) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 12, modified Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 10.
Price teaches a method comprises a system that includes the diagnostic test is for EMTs and field medical personnel to be used at the field that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0004). Price further teaches the system comprises a processor configured to receive test result of the diagnostic test and metadata of the patient, associate the test result and metadata to the barcode on the test stick (cassette) into an event file (para. 0017) and upload the test result and metadata to a central database with the test result and metadata in association with the barcode (para. 0008). Price teaches the method with the system provides a mean for collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (para. 0008).
Modified Prices fails to teaches the system includes a thermometer and consequently fails to the method further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a temperature reading of the patient from a thermometer; associating, by the processor, the temperature reading with the unique identifier; and
uploading to a central database, by the processor, the temperature reading in association with the unique identifier.
However, Worrell teaches a system that can perform diagnostic tests using test strips (para. 0100). Worrell teaches the system provides devices that are useful for performing diagnostic testing at a location remote from a health care facility. Worrell further teaches the system includes a thermometer (instrument 120; para. 0122, instrument 120 can be a thermometer) to take a temperature reading of the patient (paras. 0071 and 0122 and Fig. 17, instrument 120, collect data regarding patient’s current condition including temperature); the processor (processing device 230) configured to receive the temperature reading of the patient (paras. 0118-0119) and associate the temperature reading with the patient-specific information (Fig. 8 and para. 0009, electronic medical record) and upload the temperature data to a central database (server 306)(Fig. 8 and para. 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Price to include a thermometer to take a temperature reading of the patient taught by Worrell (para. 0071 and 0122 and Fig. 17), and to have modified the processor taught by Price to receive the temperature reading of the patient, to associate the temperature reading with the unique identifier of the cassette, and upload the temperature data to a central database as taught by Worrell (para. 0009 and Fig. 8, paras. 0118-0119) and Price (para. 0017-18, associating patient data to a unique identifier in an event file; para. 0008, uploading result and data to an online database) in order to expand the functionalities of Price for providing diagnostic testing at a remote location (Worrell, abstract) and while still collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (Price, para. 0008) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 13, modified Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 10.
Price teaches a method comprises a system that includes the diagnostic test is for EMTs and field medical personnel to be used at the field that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0004). Price further teaches the system comprises a processor configured to receive test result of the diagnostic test and metadata of the patient, associate the test result and metadata to the barcode on the test stick (cassette) into an event file (para. 0017) and upload the test result and metadata to a central database with the test result and metadata in association with the barcode (para. 0008). Price teaches the method with the system provides a mean for collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (para. 0008).
Modified Prices fails to teaches the system includes a pulse oximeter and consequently fails to the method further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a blood oxygen saturation of the patient from a pulse oximeter; associating, by the processor, the blood oxygen saturation with the unique identifier; and uploading to a central database the blood oxygen saturation in association with the unique identifier.
However, Worrell teaches a system that can perform diagnostic tests using test strips (para. 0100). Worrell teaches the system provides devices that are useful for performing diagnostic testing at a location remote from a health care facility. Worrell further teaches the system includes a pulse oximeter (pulse oximeter 204) to measure a blood oxygen saturation of the patient (paras. 0095 and 0119); the processor (processing device 230) configured to receive the blood oxygen saturation of the patient (paras. 0095 and 0119) and associate the blood oxygen saturation with the patient-specific information (Fig. 8 and para. 0009, electronic medical record) and upload the blood oxygen saturation to a central database (server 306)(Fig. 8 and para. 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Price to include a pulse oximeter to measure a blood oxygen saturation of the patient taught by Worrell (paras. 0095 and 0119), and to have modified the processor taught by Price to receive the blood oxygen saturation of the patient, to associate the blood oxygen saturation with the unique identifier of the cassette, and upload the temperature data to a central database as taught by Worrell (para. 0009 and Fig. 8, paras. 0095 and 0119) and Price (para. 0017-18, associating patient data to a unique identifier in an event file; para. 0008, uploading result and data to an online database) in order to expand the functionalities of Price for providing diagnostic testing at a remote location (Worrell, abstract) and while still collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (Price, para. 0008) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 14, modified Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 10.
Price teaches a method comprises a system that includes the diagnostic test is for EMTs and field medical personnel to be used at the field that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0004). Price further teaches the system comprises a processor configured to receive test result of the diagnostic test and metadata of the patient, associate the test result and metadata to the barcode on the test stick (cassette) into an event file (para. 0017) and upload the test result and metadata to a central database with the test result and metadata in association with the barcode (para. 0008). Price teaches the method with the system provides a mean for collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (para. 0008).
Modified Prices fails to teaches the system includes a scale and consequently fails to the method further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a weight of the patient from a scale; associating, by the processor, the weight with the unique identifier; and uploading to a central database the weight in association with the unique identifier.
However, Worrell teaches a system that can perform diagnostic tests using test strips (para. 0100). Worrell teaches the system provides devices that are useful for performing diagnostic testing at a location remote from a health care facility. Worrell further teaches the system includes a scale (instrument 120; para. 0122, instrument 120 can be a wireless scale) to measure a weight of the patient (paras. 0071 and 0122 and Fig. 17, instrument 120, collect data regarding patient’s current condition including temperature); the processor (processing device 230) configured to receive the weight of the patient (paras. 0118-0119) and associate the weight with the patient-specific information (Fig. 8 and para. 0009, electronic medical record) and upload the weight to a central database (server 306)(Fig. 8 and para. 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Price to include a scale to measure a weight of the patient taught by Worrell (para. 0071 and 0122 and Fig. 17), and to have modified the processor taught by Price to receive the weight of the patient, to associate the weight with the unique identifier of the cassette, and upload the weight to a central database as taught by Worrell (para. 0009 and Fig. 8, paras. 0118-0119) and Price (para. 0017-18, associating patient data to a unique identifier in an event file; para. 0008, uploading result and data to an online database) in order to expand the functionalities of Price for providing diagnostic testing at a remote location (Worrell, abstract) and while still collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (Price, para. 0008) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 15, modified Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 10.
Price teaches a method comprises a system that includes the diagnostic test is for EMTs and field medical personnel to be used at the field that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0004). Price further teaches the system comprises a processor configured to receive test result of the diagnostic test and metadata of the patient, associate the test result and metadata to the barcode on the test stick (cassette) into an event file (para. 0017) and upload the test result and metadata to a central database with the test result and metadata in association with the barcode (para. 0008). Price teaches the method with the system provides a mean for collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (para. 0008).
Modified Prices fails to teaches the system includes a sphygmomanometer and consequently fails to the method further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a blood pressure of the patient from a sphygmomanometer; associating, by the processor, the blood pressure with the unique identifier; and uploading to a central database the blood pressure in association with the unique identifier.
However, Worrell teaches a system that can perform diagnostic tests using test strips (para. 0100). Worrell teaches the system provides devices that are useful for performing diagnostic testing at a location remote from a health care facility. Worrell further teaches the system includes a sphygmomanometer (paras. 0099 and 0119 teach blood pressure cuff 208) to measure a blood pressure of the patient (para. 0099); the processor (processing device 230) configured to receive the blood pressure of the patient (paras. 0099 and 0119) and associate the blood pressure with the patient-specific information (Fig. 8 and para. 0009, electronic medical record) and upload the blood pressure to a central database (server 306)(Fig. 8 and para. 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Price to include a sphygmomanometer to measure a blood pressure of the patient taught by Worrell (para. 0071 and 0122 and Fig. 17), and to have modified the processor taught by Price to receive the blood pressure of the patient, to associate the blood pressure with the unique identifier of the cassette, and upload the blood pressure to a central database as taught by Worrell (para. 0009 and Fig. 8, paras. 0099 and 0119) and Price (para. 0017-18, associating patient data to a unique identifier in an event file; para. 0008, uploading result and data to an online database) in order to expand the functionalities of Price for providing diagnostic testing at a remote location (Worrell, abstract) and while still collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (Price, para. 0008) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 16, modified Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 10.
Price teaches a method comprises a system that includes the diagnostic test is for EMTs and field medical personnel to be used at the field that is remote from a health care facility (para. 0004). Price further teaches the system comprises a processor configured to receive test result of the diagnostic test and metadata of the patient, associate the test result and metadata to the barcode on the test stick (cassette) into an event file (para. 0017) and upload the test result and metadata to a central database with the test result and metadata in association with the barcode (para. 0008). Price teaches the method with the system provides a mean for collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (para. 0008).
Modified Prices fails to teaches the system includes a symptom entry device and consequently fails to the method further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a symptom of the patient from a symptom entry device; associating, by the processor, the symptom with the unique identifier; and
uploading to a central database, by the processor, the symptom in association with the unique identifier.
However, Worrell teaches a system that can perform diagnostic tests using test strips (para. 0100). Worrell teaches the system provides devices that are useful for performing diagnostic testing at a location remote from a health care facility. Worrell further teaches the system includes a symptom entry device (para. 0233, touch sensitive display) to enter a symptom of the patient (paras. 0009, 0119, 0205, 0233); the processor (processing device 230) configured to receive the symptom of the patient (paras. 0009, 0119, 0205, 0233) and associate symptom with the patient-specific information (Fig. 8 and para. 0009, electronic medical record) and upload the symptom to a central database (server 306)(Fig. 8 and para. 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Price to include a symptom entry device to enter a symptom of the patient taught by Worrell (para. 0071 and 0122 and Fig. 17), and to have modified the processor taught by Price to receive the symptom of the patient, to associate the symptom with the unique identifier of the cassette, and upload the symptom to a central database as taught by Worrell (para. 0009 and Fig. 8, paras. 0118-0119) and Price (para. 0017-18, associating patient data to a unique identifier in an event file; para. 0008, uploading result and data to an online database) in order to expand the functionalities of Price for providing diagnostic testing at a remote location (Worrell, abstract) and while still collecting results for inclusion into on-line databases (Price, para. 0008) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicolson (US 20190229907 A1) in view of Price (US 20150350605 A1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Hall et al. (US 20210319911 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Price teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1.
Price teaches a system that allows diagnostic test result and patient identification information associated with a unique identifier to be sent to a central database (para. 0008). Price teaches the system has a barcode scanner (magnetic strip reader 138) for receiving patient identification information through identification document (paras. 0034 and 0042).
Price does not explicitly teach the identification document is a passport and thus fails to wherein the scanner is a passport scanner.
However, Hall teaches sample analysis system that has the capability to transmits test results associated with user identification (abstract). Hall teaches the system includes a scanner that is a passport scanner (Hall, para. 112, card reading unit that reads a passport; claim 9, passport scan).
Thus, Price and Hall each discloses a scanner for receiving patient identification information. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the barcode scanner of Price can be substituted by the passport scanner of Hall. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution and achieve predictable results of receiving patient identification information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the barcode scanner taught by Price with the passport scanner taught by Hall according to known methods to yield predictable results of receiving patient identification information. (MPEP 2141)(III)(B).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of co-pending Application No. 17/079,513 in view of Price et al.( US 20150350605 A1) further in view of Nicolson (US 20190229907).
Instant App. 17/382,984
App. 17/079,513 - Claims filed 12/11/2025
Claim 1
Claim 12/10
A system comprising:
A system comprising:
a processor;
a processor
memory coupled to the processor for storing a local testing database storing a test configuration profile for a cassette containing a lateral flow assay ("LFA") strip including a test line with an intensity threshold value for the test line that represents an intensity value which indicates a positive test result;
memory coupled to the processor having stored therein a local testing database having a plurality of test configuration profiles with each test configuration profile including an intensity threshold value denoting a positive test result for an associated test type;
a carrier for receiving a cassette containing a lateral flow assay ("LFA") strip
a scanner for obtaining patient identification information from an identification card of a patient;
an LFA strip reader coupled to the processor for reading the LFA strip and obtaining an LFA strip image from the cassette containing the LFA strip and an image of a unique identifier, the cassette having a wherein the unique identifier that uniquely identifies a vendor and a test of the LFA strip and the cassette and is located on the cassette;
an LFA strip reader coupled to the processor for reading the LFA strip, to yield an LFA image, and a visual feature of the cassette and transmitting the LFA strip image and the visual feature to the professor
the processor further configured to determine the test configuration profile for the LFA strip based on the unique identifier,
the processor further configured to determine an LFA test result based on comparing a measured intensity value of a portion of the test line in the LFA strip image to the intensity threshold value;
the processor further configured to identify a first test configuration profile based on the visual feature and determine an LFA test result based on comparing an intensity value of a portion of the LFA strip image to the intensity threshold value of the first test configuration profile for the test type of the LFA strip.
a communications interface for communicating with a central patient database;
the processor further configured to link the determined LFA test result to the unique identifier of the cassette;
the processor further configured to link the unique identifier from the LFA strip cassette with the patient identification information from the identification card.
the processor further to associate the LFA test result and the LFA strip image with a patient identifier and upload the LFA test result and LFA strip image to the central patient database.
Claim 12 of Application No. 17/079,513 does not claim the system comprising a scanner or a unique identifier and thus does not claim a scanner for obtaining patient identification information from an identification card of a patient; and the processor further configured to link the determined LFA test result to the unique identifier of the cassette, wherein an image of the unique identifier is obtained by the reader; and the processor further configured to link the unique identifier from the LFA strip cassette with the patient identification information from the identification card; and the processor configured to determine the test configuration profile for the LFA strip based on the unique identifier, and uniquely identifies a vendor and a test of the LFA strip and the cassette.
However, Price (US 20150350605 A1) teaches a system for reading diagnostic test results from a test stick including a unique barcode and collecting patient data for inclusion in a local chain of evidence database or transferring and receiving data from remote database (Abstract). Price teaches that the system comprises a scanner for obtaining patient identification information from an identification card of a patient (para, 0017). Price further teaches the system include a barcode on the test stick and image of the barcode is obtained by a reader (para. 0017), and further teaches linking the determined test result to the barcode, that uniquely identifies the test stick (unique identifier of the cassette, para, 0017), and further linking the barcode (unique identifier from the LFA strip cassette) with the patient identification information from the identification card (para. 0017, test result, barcode and patient ID are written in the same event file).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Claim 12 of App. 17/079,513 to comprise a scanner for obtaining patient identification as taught by Price and additionally to have modified the processor of Claim 12 of App. 17/079,513 to link the determined LFA test result to the unique identifier of the cassette, wherein an image unique identifier is obtained by the read, and the processor further configured to link the unique identifier from the LFA strip cassette with the patient identification information from the identification card as taught by Price in order for inclusion in a local chain of evidence database or transferring and receiving data from remote database with a reasonable expectation of success (Price, abstract and para. 0017) (MPEP 2143)(I)(G). Therefore, the claimed subject would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In addition Nicolson teaches portable medical device for diagnostic assays based on lateral flow assays (LFA) (para. 0023). Nicolson teaches the device comprises LFA assay supported in a cartridge (cassette) and a processor (paras. 0053-0054). Nicolson further teaches a barcode (unique identifier) locates on the cartridge (cassette). Nicolson teaches scanning of the barcode provides test information such as type of test as well a way to input physician (vendor) information (para. 0053). Nicolson further teaches the processor is configured to determine test results based on the barcode-provided test information (para. 0053), and thus provides automated process for determining assay result. Nicolson further teaches the use of barcode helps reduce transcription errors (para. 0090).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the unique identifier taught by co-pending App. 17/079,513 in view of Price to include test information as well a way to input physician/vendor information and as taught by Nicolson, and to have modified the processor taught by co-pending App. 17/079,513 in view of Price to be configured to determine test results based on the barcode-provided test information as taught by Nicolson, because such modification help to reduce transcription errors in inputting test information and physician/vendor information and provide an automated process run by the device for determining a result of the assay (Nicolson, paras. 0053 and 0090) with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 8, filed 05/05/2026, with respect to double patenting has been noted.
Applicant’s arguments, see 8-11, filed 05/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, pp. 8-11 that "Nicolson does not disclose or suggest the cassette having a unique identifier that uniquely identifies the LFA strip and the cassette.” Applicant further suggested that the backup obviousness rejection seems to be in support of the argument. The Applicant argues that barcode 142 is not the same as a unique identifier that uniquely identifies the LFA strip and cassette which is linked to patient identification. In related to the backup obviousness rejection, the Applicant further argues there are no motivations to modified the barcode of 142.
The examiner respectively disagrees. The examiner explains how Nicolson anticipates the limitation “a unique identifier that uniquely identifies the LFA strip and cassette” on p.4, last para to p.5, first para. of OA of 10/272025 and the examiner further explains how barcode 142 is linked to patient identification on p. 6, 2nd para. The Applicant does not point out any supposed errors of the examiner’s action relating to “the cassette is not positively recited. While the cassette provide context for the LFA strip reader and other elements of the invention, the cassette itself is not part of the invention. Therefore, the unique identifier of the cassette does not further limit how the LFA strip reader reads the LFA strip or obtain an LFA strip image. Furthermore, the invention references a single cassette and a single unique identifier, and thus the term "unique identifies" does not impart any significance.” For this reason, Nicolson does anticipate the limitation. Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive. Since Nicolson anticipates the limitation, the argument against the obviousness rejection is moot.
Applicant further argues, see p. 8, 2nd para., that “Nicolson further does not disclose or suggest a processor that determines an LFA test result based on comparing a measured intensity value of a portion of the test line in the LFA strip image to the intensity threshold value.”
The examiner respectively disagrees. The examiner explains how Nicolson anticipates the limitation on p. 5, 2nd para. of OA of 10/272025. The Applicant does not point out any supposed errors of the examiner’s action. Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant further argues, see p. 11, 2nd para., that Nicolson does not disclose a processor configured to associate patient identification information with the unique identifier of the cassette as recited in claim 1.
The examiner respectively disagrees. The examiner explains how Nicolson anticipates the limitation on p. 6, 2nd para. of OA of 10/27/2025. The Applicant does not point out any supposed errors of the examiner’s action. Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant further argues, see p. 11, filed on 05/05/2026, that Price does not disclosed that identifier 40 and 42 are used to identify a cassette upon which the identifier is placed, and Price does not disclose or suggest a processor that determines an LFA test result based on comparing a measured intensity value of a portion of the test line in the LFA strip image to the intensity threshold value.
The examiner first notes that Price was not relied upon in the OA of 10/27/2025 to teach the unique identifier or a processor that determined an LFA test results. Furthermore, Price does teaches scan code 40 and 42 are used to identify a cassette upon which the identifier is placed (para. 0017, scan code on the test stick has an unique alpha numeric code). Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
However, Nicolson in view of Prices does not teach all the limitations in the newly amended claim 1. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Price (US 20150350605 A1) in view of Scherr (US 20190257822 A1) and further in view of Nicolson (US 20190229907 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 11, filed 05/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 10 and 22 and under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive for the same reason as applied to claim 1.
However, Nicolson in view of Prices does not teach all the limitations in the newly amended claims 10 and 22. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Price (US 20150350605 A1) in view of Scherr (US 20190257822 A1) and further in view of Nicolson (US 20190229907 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 13-15, filed 05/05/2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 7 (on p. 13), clams 3-6, 12-16, and 18-19 (on p. 14) and claim 9 (on pp. 14-15) under 35 U.S.C. 103 of 08/21/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of in view of Price (US 20150350605 A1) in view of Scherr (US 20190257822 A1) and further in view of Nicolson (US 20190229907 A1) in further view of Worrell (US 20140018779) or Hall (US 20210319911).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758