DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/11/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4-18 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06/11/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument on page 6 that Myklebust does not teach or suggest that the measuring device is a heartrate sensor is not persuasive. Myklebust [0016] discloses that the measuring device may include an ECG, which detects a heart rate.
The argument on page 7 that Myklebust fails to disclose that the absence of a heartbeat causes the electrical motor to activate has been considered, but is not persuasive. As Applicant cites, [0040] discloses that the measuring device (3) controls the operation of the chest compression device based on predetermined characteristics, which includes blood flow and additional characteristics. One of ordinary skill in the art would be reasonably expected to understand that blood flow is initiated by a heartbeat, and conversely, lack of blood flow is due to the lack of a heartbeat. Additionally, Fig. 4 shows that the input of measurements and ECG include the prior rhythm of the heart in order to determine whether CPR should be performed ([0043]), as well as [0014] indicating that CPR is continued if a heart has no rhythm. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that CPR should be performed in the absence of a heartbeat.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 9, and 10 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 is objected to for missing a period at the end of the claim.
Claims 9 and 10 are also missing periods at the end of each claim.
Claim 12 appears to have a typographical error in line 4 of the claim: a stray “5” is present.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 11, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myklebust et al. (EP 1913923 A1) in view of Well et al. (US 2005/0015026 A1), hereafter Well.
Regarding Claim 1, Myklebust discloses a cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) device comprising an electrical motor (measuring device may detect internal motor temperature, [0016], lines 19-20, thus the system has a motor), a piston that is moveably connected to the electrical motor ([0024], the device may include an electrically actuated piston, thus it must be connected to the motor disclosed in [0016]) with a heartbeat sensor (fig. 1, measuring device 3 may include an electrocardiogram (ECG), which detects the electrical signals of a heartbeat, [0016], [0035]) electrically coupled to the electrical motor (fig. 1, the measuring device is coupled to a signal processor, which is in turn coupled to a chest compression device 1, which may be an electric actuated piston, [0024]) configured to detect an absence of a heartbeat on the user and to responsively activate the electrical motor (the signal processor controls the operation of the chest compression device based on predetermined characteristics measured by the measuring device 3, [0040]; see also [0014] that CPR should be continued in the absence of a rhythm, i.e., heartbeat); and the electrical motor configured to drive the piston to move between upward and downward directions along the piston housing to produce chest compressions on the user in response to the electrical motor being activated by the heartbeat sensor (fig. 2, piston 27, an electrically actuated piston, moves linearly as seen by the arrow in fig. 2, the signal processor receives measurement input such as an ECG from the measurement sensor 3).
Myklebust is silent on whether the CPR device may be mounted on a wearable belt.
Well teaches a hands-free wearable cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) device, comprising: a wearable belt (fig. 1, belt 34, [0017]) configured to be wrapped around the chest of a user (fig. 1, the device is worn around the chest of a user [0015]), a piston housing coupled to the wearable belt (fig. 2, piston housing is cap 70 and cylinder 60, [0018] lines 3 and 6-7; these parts are shown as coupled to the belt via fittings 140, 142 in fig. 2; [0023] line 7 ), the piston housing enclosing a piston (fig. 2, piston 62, [0018] line 3).
Well further teaches that this configuration of a small CPR piston mounted on a wearable belt is compact enough for transport, and the device may remain on the patient to continue chest compressions while the patient is transported to an emergency facility ([0001, 0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Myklebust so that the electrical motor-actuated piston is mounted on a wearable belt where the piston housing coupled to the wearable belt and the housing encloses the piston as taught by Well, so that the device may be small and compact in order to continue delivering chest compressions while a patient is transported.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Myklebust discloses a hands-free wearable CPR device of claim 1, further comprising: an opening formed in the wearable belt (Well fig. 1, the piston is mounted to the belt via a gap and connected by fittings 140, 142, [0023], fig. 2), the opening configured to align with the chest of the user when the wearable belt is worn by the user (Well fig. 1, the device is shown on the chest of the user; the reciprocating member 14 is worn over the sternum, [0015] lines 4-6), the piston housing securely positioned in the recess formed in the wearable belt (Well fig. 2, piston housing 70 and 60 are positioned in the gap), the piston configured to contact the chest of the user while the piston is moving between upward and downward directions to produce chest compressions on the user (Well [0015]).
Regarding Claim 11, the modified Myklebust discloses a hands-free wearable CPR device of claim 1, wherein the heartbeat sensor is communicatively coupled to one or more heartbeat sensor leads (the heartbeat sensor is an ECG, Myklebust [0016], which is understood to have multiple heartbeat sensor leads), the heartbeat sensor leads configured to be placed on the chest of the user to detect the absence of a heartbeat on the user (as is understood by one skilled in the art, ECG leads are placed on the chest of a user to detect a heartbeat, or an absence of a heartbeat; see also Myklebust [0014]).
Regarding Claim 13, the modified Myklebust discloses a hands-free wearable CPR device of claim 1, but is silent on the device further comprising: a timer attached to the wearable belt, the timer configured to indicate one or more of a total time duration of the chest compressions produced on the user and a length of time since presence of a heartbeat has been detected on the user subsequent to the chest compressions.
However, Myklebust does disclose that the recording devices connected to measuring devices, which includes sensors measuring compression counters, compression frequency counters, time interval of patient ventilation, ECG devices, and other ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the total time duration of the chest compressions produced on the user, and/or a length of time since presence of a heartbeat has been detected on the user subsequent chest compressions with the recorded information, since the device has a compression counter and an ECG, both of which are measured over time. This information, along with any gathered information regarding the resuscitation event, may be useful to the operator during and after resuscitation ([0021]).
Regarding Claim 17, Myklebust discloses a method comprising: detecting, via a heartbeat sensor coupled to the wearable belt (fig. 1, the device includes an ECG [0035]), an absence of a heartbeat on a user (fig. 1, measurement device 3 can include an ECG [0016], which detects electrical activity of the heart and can therefore detect the absence of a heartbeat), and responsively activating an electrical motor placed in the wearable belt (fig. 1, the measurement device 3, is an ECG, the processor device 5 determines, based on the ECG whether the CPR device should be activated or defibrillation should occur [0040,0043]; the electric piston is operate by a motor [0039]) and driving the piston that is moveably coupled to the electrical motor to move between upward and downward directions to produce chest compressions on the user in response to activating the electrical motor ([0029] the compression device is arranged such that the direction of compressions is perpendicular to the thorax; the movement of a piston is up and down and is activated as a result of feedback from the measurement device to the processor device, fig. 1).
Myklebust does not explicitly disclose securing a wearable belt to a body of a user ([0024] lines 1-4 states that a belt can be used for compressing the chest of a patient and [0026] states how a device may be arranged as reaching around the patient, but does not specifically disclose securing a wearable belt to the user), the wearable belt attached to a piston housing ([0024] states that an electric actuated piston can be used, but does not disclose that a piston has a housing secured to the wearable belt) that houses a piston (fig. 3 shows a piston 27, but a piston within a housing is not shown or disclosed), and the piston moving in a piston housing.
However, Well teaches securing a wearable belt to a body of a user (fig. 1, user P, belt 34 [0017]), the wearable belt attached to a piston housing (fig. 1, piston housing is part of actuator 16, best seen in fig. 2 [0018]) that houses a piston (fig. 2 piston 62 [0018] line 3), the piston moving between upward and downward directions along the piston housing to produce chest compressions on the user (fig. 2, piston 62 is shown within the housing and then extending to a maximum downward travel at 14A in the direction along the piston housing [0018]). Well further teaches that this configuration of a small CPR piston mounted on a wearable belt is compact enough for transport, and the device may remain on the patient to continue chest compressions while the patient is transported to an emergency facility ([0001, 0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Myklebust’s method of applying CPR to secure a wearable belt to the body of a user, the wearable belt attached to a piston housing that houses a piston, so that Myklebust’s electrical motor-actuated piston is mounted on a wearable belt as taught by Well, so that the device may be small and compact in order to continue delivering chest compressions while a patient is transported.
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Myklebust and Well, further in view of Steen (US 7226427 B2), hereafter Steen.
Regarding Claim 2, the modified Myklebust discloses a hands-free wearable CPR device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the heartbeat sensor is further configured to detect a presence of a heartbeat on the user and to responsively deactivate the electrical motor and stop the piston from moving between the upward and downward directions.
Steen teaches a CPR device which employs an ECG analysis shows that if cardiac arrest is not detected, i.e. a heartbeat is detected, the device stops compressions (fig. 3, col. 9 lines 34-48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the heartbeat sensor deactivate the device to stop compressions in the presence of a heartbeat, such that the heartbeat sensor is further configured to detect a presence of a heartbeat on the user and to responsively deactivate the electrical motor and stop the piston from moving between the upward and downward directions, since CPR measures may not be indicated when a pulse is detected (Steen, col. 9 lines 45-48).
Regarding Claim 18, the modified Myklebust discloses a method of claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose whether the device deactivates upon detection of the heartbeat of the user.
Steen teaches a CPR device which employs an ECG analysis shows that if cardiac arrest is not detected, i.e. a heartbeat is detected, the device stops compressions (fig. 3, col. 9 lines 34-48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the heartbeat sensor deactivate the device to stop compressions in the presence of a heartbeat, such that the heartbeat sensor is further configured to detect a presence of a heartbeat on the user and to responsively deactivate the electrical motor and stop the piston from moving between the upward and downward directions, since CPR measures may not be indicated when a pulse is detected (Steen, col. 9 lines 45-48).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Myklebust and Well, further in view of Davis (US 0443204).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified Myklebust discloses a hands-free wearable CPR device of claim 1, but is silent on how the wearable belt attaches. (Examiner’s note: “buckle” is interpreted according to its dictionary definition of “a fastening for two loose ends that is attached to one and holds the other by a catch”, Merriam-Webster.)
Davis teaches a chest compression device which includes a wearable belt (fig. 1, col. 1 lines 11-14), wherein the wearable belt (fig. 1, A, col. 1 line 48-49) includes a belt buckle (fig. 1, U, page 2, col. 2 line 98) and a belt strap (strap A), the belt strap removably securable to the belt buckle (fig. 1, the belt is depicted as removable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection means of the modified Myklebust to have a buckle as taught by Davis, as this buckle allows for adjustment of the length of the belt to fit snugly but comfortably (Davis, page 2, col. 2 lines 99-100).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Myklebust and Well, further in view of Bystrom et al. (US 2004/0073145), hereafter Bystrom.
Regarding Claim 14, the modified Myklebust discloses a hands-free wearable CPR device of claim 1, but is silent on the device further comprising: a global positioning system (GPS) unit attached to the wearable belt, the GPS unit configured to send a notification indicating a GPS location of the user to designated people.
However, Bystrom teaches a CPR device which includes a communications unit that may include a GPS unit ([0040]) that is able to communicate to medical personnel the location of the patient ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a GPS communications unit attached to the wearable belt, the GPS unit configured to send a notification indicating a GPS location of the user to designated people in the modified Myklebust device, as taught by Bystrom, for the benefit of being able to automatically dispatch an emergency medical team to the location of the device (Bystrom [0040]).
Regarding Claim 15, the modified Myklebust discloses a hands-free wearable CPR device of claim 1, further comprising: a recording device attached to the wearable belt ([0020] the system includes data storing devices connected to the measuring devices), the recording device storing information for first responders ([0020] lines 5-8), but does not explicitly disclose whether the information includes the time of activation, the length of time activated, and who has been notified. Myklebust rather discloses more general stored values from the measuring devices ([0020]).
However, Myklebust does disclose that the recording devices connected to measuring devices, which includes sensors measuring compression counters, compression frequency counters, time interval of patient ventilation, ECG devices, and other ([0016]). Since the sensor information includes ECG data and compression counters, which is recorded over the time domain, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include in the recording device the information indicating when the hands-free wearable CPR device was activated and a length of time the hands-free wearable CPR device has been activated, since this is beneficial information for medical personnel to assess the efficacy of CPR and train personnel ([0020] stored values are later used for evaluating the resuscitation episode and to train personnel).
The now modified Myklebust remains silent on whether the recording device indicating a group of designated people to be notified about the absence of heartbeat on the user.
Bystrom teaches a CPR device which is able to notify medical personnel of activation of the device ([0040]) for the added benefit of including expert supervision of medical specialists earlier in the cardiac resuscitation process via telemetry ([0013]) which is expected to lead to better outcomes. Data transmitted to the medical staff includes EKG, which indicated whether a heartbeat is present or absent (0039]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the recorded information, designated people who have been notified about the absence of a heartbeat on the user, since other information related to the resuscitation event is being recorded, and Bystrom teaches that it was known in the art to notify medical personnel and transmit patient-related data to the personnel, including heartbeat information in the form of EKG.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Myklebust and Well, further in view of Hyde et al. (US 2016/0279024), hereafter Hyde.
Regarding Claim 12, the modified Myklebust discloses a hands-free wearable CPR device of claim 11, but is silent on whether the device includes an alarm.
Hyde teaches a system for controlling delivery of a stimulus to a user (abstract) which uses an alarm ([0131] notification, which is similar to an alarm), the alarm configured to provide an alert when the one or more sensor leads are not in contact with a body of the user ([0131], a secondary signal input 1360, fig. 13, is used to indicate the position of a sensor, in this case a neural stimulator, and a notification is sent to the subject if the device should be repositioned).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an alarm into the modified Myklebust’s ECG sensors, such as the secondary positioning sensor taught by Hyde, so that it is attached to the wearable belt in order to be able to provide an alarm, which is a high-priority notification, to the user that the sensor leads are not in contact with the user. This would prevent errors in the use of the device, such as incorrect operation (Hyde [0103]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter
Regarding Claim 6, Myklebust discloses a cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) device comprising an electrical motor (measuring device may detect internal motor temperature, [0016], lines 19-20, thus the system has a motor), a piston that is moveably connected to the electrical motor ([0024], the device may include an electrically actuated piston, thus it must be connected to the motor disclosed in [0016]) with a heartbeat sensor (fig. 1, measuring device 3 may include an electrocardiogram (ECG), which detects the electrical signals of a heartbeat, [0016], [0035]) electrically coupled to the electrical motor (fig. 1, the measuring device is coupled to a signal processor, which is in turn coupled to a chest compression device 1, which may be an electric actuated piston, [0024]) configured to detect an absence of a heartbeat on the user and to responsively activate the electrical motor (the signal processor controls the operation of the chest compression device based on predetermined characteristics measured by the measuring device 3, [0040]); and the electrical motor configured to drive the piston to move between upward and downward directions along the piston housing to produce chest compressions on the user in response to the electrical motor being activated by the heartbeat sensor (fig. 3, piston 27, an electrically actuated piston, moves linearly as seen by the arrow in fig. 3, the signal processor receives measurement input such as an ECG from the measurement sensor 3).
Myklebust is silent on whether the CPR device may be mounted on a wearable belt.
Well teaches a hands-free wearable cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) device, comprising: a wearable belt (fig. 1, belt 34, [0017]) configured to be wrapped around the chest of a user (fig. 1, the device is worn around the chest of a user [0015]), a piston housing coupled to the wearable belt (fig. 2, piston housing is cap 70 and cylinder 60, [0018] lines 3 and 6-7; these parts are shown as coupled to the belt via fittings 140, 142 in fig. 2; [0023] line 7 ), the piston housing enclosing a piston (fig. 2, piston 62, [0018] line 3).
Well further teaches that this configuration of a small CPR piston mounted on a wearable belt is compact enough for transport, and the device may remain on the patient to continue chest compressions while the patient is transported to an emergency facility ([0001, 0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Myklebust so that the electrical motor-actuated piston is mounted on a wearable belt where the piston housing coupled to the wearable belt and the housing encloses the piston as taught by Well, so that the device may be small and compact in order to continue delivering chest compressions while a patient is transported.
However, the modified Myklebust is silent on the device further comprising: a first electrical contact placed in the belt strap; and a second electrical contact placed in the belt buckle, the first and second electrical contacts contacting each other when the belt strap is secured to the belt buckle.
The next closest prior art of record is Bystrom, which teaches a wearable CPR device which includes a buckle (fig. 3, 4L, 4R [0028]) that includes a latch sensing switch (fig. 3, 9 [0028] lines 14-16) that is connected electrically to the motor control system to indicate that the device has been buckled about the victim’s chest and is ready to initiate compression cycles ([0028]). However, this does not include a first electrical contact placed in the belt strap and a second electrical contact placed in the belt buckle, as Bystrom does not specify that the latch is an electrical contact, and it is not clear what the switch contacting mechanism depicted in fig. 3 is. Further, the switching device is located to two buckle components, not on the belt and the buckle.
A second closest prior art of record is Sherman et al. (US 2001/0018562), which teaches a chest compression device having a buckle with sensors that monitor installation of the belt (fig. 3, [0027]) but does not explicitly disclose that the belt strap has a first electrical contact and the belt buckle has a second electrical contact, such that the first and second electrical contacts contact each other when the belt is secured.
There appears to be no prior art of record that discloses or teaches a belt having an electrical contact in the buckle and the strap to create an electrical contact when the strap and buckle are contacting each other. Thus, claim 6 is allowable.
Claim 7 is allowable, as dependent upon claim 6.
Regarding Claim 8, the closest prior art of record, Myklebust and Well, discloses a hands-free wearable CPR device according to the claim limitations as discussed above, but is silent on the device further comprising: a circular bevel gear housed in the piston housing, the circular bevel gear rotatably attached to the electrical motor; at least one oblong gear housed in the piston housing, the at least one oblong gear operatively connected to the circular bevel gear; and at least one connecting rod housed in the piston housing, the at least one connecting rod attached to the at least one oblong gear at one end and to the piston at another end.
The next closest prior art of record is Kalman et al. (US 2011/0041864), which discloses a vibrating device using a piston (fig. 3, body 11 allows reciprocal movement [0019]) that uses a spur gear (fig. 3, 18 [0019]) and a crown gear (fig. 3, 12) to generate the reciprocating motion of the body (fig. 3, 11) within a housing (fig. 2, 9). However, the crown gear (12) is depicted as circular, rather than oblong.
It would not have been obvious for one skilled in the art to change the shape of the crown gear to oblong, as there appears to be no motivation in the prior art to do so. Similarly, there appears to be no motivation to change Kalman’s spur gear to a bevel gear as claimed.
There appears to be no prior art of record which discloses, alone or in combination, a circular bevel gear housed in the piston housing, the circular bevel gear rotatably attached to the electrical motor; at least one oblong gear housed in the piston housing, the at least one oblong gear operatively connected to the circular bevel gear; and at least one connecting rod housed in the piston housing, the at least one connecting rod attached to the at least one oblong gear at one end and to the piston at another end.
Claims 9 and 10 are also allowable, as dependent upon claim 8. However, please note the objection to the claims for minor informalities above.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 16, the modified Myklebust discloses a hands-free wearable CPR device of claim 1, but is silent on the device further comprising a compression shirt housing the device.
The next closest prior art of record, Oestreich (US 2010/0063556), teaches a chest compression device oriented in a tightly fitting shirt (fig. 1, shirt 2, wearable belt is tubular airbag 3, cardiac compression device 4 [0051]). Placing a cardiac resuscitation device within a wearable shirt configuration allows a person at risk of cardiac arrest or respiratory arrest to be both monitored and allow for treatment without the involvement of a third person while permitting mobility of the patient ([0010-0011]). However, Oestreich does not disclose the compression shirt having a vertical slit corresponding to the location of the piston housing.
The next closest prior art of record is CN 107280946, which discloses a wearable CPR device disposed on a vest (fig. 1). However, the vest is not a compression shirt and does not have a vertical slit corresponding to the location of the piston housing, but rather has an opening (fig. 1, 2) in the shape of a circle, which matches the diameter of the CPR device (fig. 2).
There appears to be no prior art of record which discloses, alone or in combination, a CPR device having a compression shirt housing the wearable, belt, the piston housing, the electric motor, and the heartbeat sensor, the compression shirt having a vertical slit corresponding to a location of the piston housing (emphasis added).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kaufman et al. (US 2023/0149258) discloses a wearable CPR and defibrillation device which automatically initiates and discontinues chest compressions based on a received ECG waveform (fig. 3A [0005], [0132]).
KR 20180114988 A discloses an automatic defibrillator worn preventatively in the event of sudden cardiac arrest (fig. 4, [0006] of machine translation) that also includes a chest compression unit (fig. 3, 400 [0052]).
/SARA K TOICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785