DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 50, 55-57, 60, 62 and 64-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battaglia (US 5,524,641) in view of Webb (US 3,425,061), Green et al. (US 2007/0029690), Newton et al. (US 2012/0174282) and Toronjo (US 9,629,397).
Regarding claim 50, Battaglia teaches a user-worn appliance to protect against bodily injuries (“shield system for protecting a curved object”) (Col. 1, Lines 10-11) The appliance includes a plurality of domes attached to a base vest to protect various parts of the body including the shoulders (Col. 2, Lines 48-51) and the base vest is composed of a variety of panels, including two shoulder panels, two chest panels, and a back panel (“comprising at least one flexible pad”) (Col. 4, Lines 27-29). The panels of the base vest include a core having a honeycomb structure made of foam as the core of the panels protected on both sides by a material 26 (“a spacing ridge projecting at an angle from a first major surface of the pad for providing a spacing between the first major surface and a shield shell" & “a support ridge projecting from the first major surface of the and extending transverse to the spacing ridge”) (Col. 5, Lines 6-8; Fig. 5, #28). Battaglia additionally teaches an example foam for forming the core of the panel as being a crosslinked polyolefin foam and the foam core is open ended to allow air to flow through it (Col. 5, Lines 2-4).
Battaglia is silent with respect to the honeycomb structure being tapered so that the distal end of the structure is narrower than the proximal portion, proximal to the panels.
Webb teaches a helmet with an outer shell provides impact deflection and dispersion (Col. 1, Lines 36-42). The helmets are provided with an outer shell having a plurality of ribs (Col. 2, Lines 20-28; Fig. 2). The ribs may be provided with a step like configuration, or a truncated triangular configuration, as illustrated in Figs. 8-9 in order to increasingly resist crushing or deformation in order to absorb more energy (Col. 2, Lines 59-72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the honeycomb structure of Battaglia in a truncated triangular configuration in order to increasingly resist crushing or deformation in order to absorb more energy as taught by Webb.
Battaglia is silent with respect to the appliances comprising a dilatant material.
Green teaches energy absorbent impact systems designed for the protection of humans, animals or objects from damage by impact (Paragraph [0001]). The systems are utilized in headwear such as helmets and body garments (Paragraph [0055]). The systems include a composite material which is elastic, exhibits a resistive load under deformation which increases with the rate of deformation and is self-supporting (Paragraph [0012]-[0013]). The composite material is formed from a first polymer-based elastic material and a second polymer-based material which exhibits dilatancy in the absence of the first polymer-based material and is entrapped in a matrix of the first polymer wherein the composite material is foamed (Paragraph [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the honey-comb structures of Battaglia from the composite materials of Green which are formed from a first polymer-based elastic material and a second polymer-based material which exhibits dilatancy in the absence of the first polymer-based material and is entrapped in a matrix of the first polymer wherein the composite material is foamed and which provide a resistive load under deformation which increases with the rate of deformation.
Battaglia is silent with respect to the appliances comprising two support ridges wherein each support ridge comprises a flexure region arranged to unbend independently of other flexure regions.
Newton teaches a garment having a base layer and a flexible layer (Pg. 2, Paragraph [0070]). The base layer may be designed as any suitable garment for an activity, such as upper body or lower body garments, or may be designed for a particular activity, including hockey, football, or any other sport (Pg. 3, Paragraph [0071]). The flexible layer may be formed from various materials including a polyolefin material (Pg. 3, Paragraph [0073]). There may be various portions of the flexible material located on the garment to provide support to the wearer’s body including the back and the shoulders (Pg. 3, Paragraphs [0077]-[0078]). The flexible layers may be provided with voids in a lattice pattern to provide areas of increased breathability (Pg. 5, Paragraph [0093]). The lattice patterns may be provided in a variety of patterns as illustrated in figures 4-5 (honey comb pattern) and 11-12 (auxetic lattice pattern).
Toronjo teaches garments, padding, bags or other products configured to be worn or carried on the body (Col. 1, Lines 14-16). The articles of apparel are provided with a base layer and an auxetic layer coupled to the base layer defining a repeating pattern of voids (Col. 1, Lines 55-60). The segments forming the cells of the auxetic layer may comprise a foam material such as polyethylene (Col. 5, Lines 50-67). One application of the auxetic structures includes the arrangement of the auxetic structure in a skull cap as illustrated in figure 4 (Col. 9, Lines 15-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the auxetic foam structure of Battaglia in view of Newton which may be formed for the protection of the head with the geodesic domes such that the vest of Battaglia is formed as a skull cap as taught by Toronjo which additionally teaches the use of cells of foam material in an auxetic shape. The examiner also notes that the formation of the shape into a skull cap teaches the limitation of an energy absorbing helmet liner. It additionally would have to form the core of the panels of Battaglia such that the lattice pattern of the cores to provide for increased air flow are formed as either the honeycomb structure or a lattice of an auxetic pattern as taught by Newton which also teaches the use of a polyolefin material for providing breathability in garments for sports including football and hockey. Lastly, as shown in figures 1a and 1b of Toronjo, the auxetic lattice structures include bent regions which unbend independently of the other bent regions.
Regarding claim 55, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 50. As discussed above, the panels of the base vest include a core having a honeycomb structure made of foam as the core of the panels protected on both sides by a material 26 (“a second spacing ridge, wherein the support ridge projects from the second spacing ridge to couple the spacing ridges together”).
Regarding claim 56, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 50. As discussed above, the panels of the base vest include a core having a honeycomb structure made of foam as the core of the panels protected on both sides by a material 26 (“a second support ridge projecting from the spacing ridge”).
Regarding claim 57, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 56. As discussed above, the panels of the base vest include a core having a honeycomb structure made of foam as the core of the panels protected on both sides by a material 26 (“a second spacing ridge, wherein the first support ridge projects from the second spacing ridge to couple the spacing ridges together, and wherein the first and second support ridge, and the first and second spacing ridge are arranged to define a closed shape on the first major surface of the pad, wherein in response to bending of the pad, the shape defined by the distal ends of the ridges differs in both shape and surface area from the closed shape”).
Regarding claim 60, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 50. The honeycomb extends across the panels of which is a part of and therefore acts as a meandering pattern across the base vest (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 62, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 50. As illustrated in figures 4-5, the honeycomb structure includes a top and bottom cover (“comprising a shield shell”).
Regarding claim 64, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 62. The appliance may further be applied as a helmet (Col. 3, Lines 11-27).
Regarding claim 65, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 62. As discussed above, there may be a variety of panels on the base vest.
Regarding claim 66, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 65. s illustrated in figure 1, the panels are configured to align and protect the areas of the body to which the panels correspond to (“the shell is adapted to fit an object to be protected to align the shell with respect to the object so selected regions of the shell align with corresponding selected regions of the object”).
Regarding claims 67-68, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 66. As discussed above, two panels are arranged to cover the chest but are separated by the zipper (“at least two pads, coupled together, and adapted to fit into the shell so the pads are arranged adjacent two spatially separated regions of the object” & “the at least two pads , comprise a first pad arranged to lie between a first anatomical region and a corresponding first region of the shield, and a second pad arranged to lie between a second anatomical region and a corresponding second region of the shell”) (Fig. 1).
Claims 51-54 and 58-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battaglia (US 5,524,641) in view of Webb (US 3,425,061), Green et al. (US 2007/0029690), Newton et al. (US 2012/0174282) and Toronjo (US 9,629,397) as applied to claim 50 above, and further in view of Cho (US 2003/0088900).
Regarding claim 51, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 50.
Battaglia is silent with respect to the honeycomb structure further including sections which have a higher height than other sections.
Cho teaches a shin guard includes a flexible construction which is capable of implementing good ventilation and easier sweat exhaust (Pg. 1, Paragraph [0002]). The shin guard includes a mesh structure with a plurality of ventilation holes (Pg. 1, Paragraph [0017]; Fig. 2). The mesh structure includes protruding portions (3a) which protrude higher than other portions in order to apply easier ventilation through the spaced between the mesh (Pg. 1, Paragraph [0019; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the honeycomb structure with protruding portions having a protruding height greater than other portions of the honeycomb structure in order to provide enhanced ventilation to the appliances as taught by Cho.
Regarding claims 52-54, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 51.
Battaglia is additionally silent with respect to the core of the panels comprising a flexure region adapted to unbend in the event that the pad is curved about an axis aligned to inhibit strain in the support ridge from causing deflection of the spacing ridge and the unbending results in the ridges partially straightening (Claim 52), that flexure region being operable to unbend more in a distal portion of the flexure region, distal from the first major surface, than in a proximal portion proximal to the first major surface (Claim 53), and being configured so that unbending of the flexure region causes the support ridge to at least partially straighten (Claim 54).
However, the applicant's specification lists polymer foams and a dilatant material as required by the claim, as an acceptable material for the flexible pads of applicant's invention (Applicant's Specification, Pg. 1, Lines 28-32) and due to Battaglia having a similar structure as compared to applicant's structure being a closed shape formed from the first and second spacing ridges and the first and second support ridges extending from the spacing ridges, one would identify the core of the panels having a lattice or a honeycomb structure to intrinsically have a flexure region adapted to unbend in the event that the pad is curved about an axis aligned to inhibit strain in the support ridge from causing deflection of the spacing ridge and the unbending results in the ridges partially straightening, that flexure region being operable to unbend more in a distal portion of the flexure region, distal from the first major surface, than in a proximal portion proximal to the first major surface, and being configured so that unbending of the flexure region causes the support ridge to at least partially straighten and the closed shape defined by the distal ends of the ridges expands and the shape defined by the distal ends of the ridges differs in both shape and surface area from the closed shape. Additionally, the overlap of materials and the structure as taught by Battaglia and Green would additionally teach the limitation of “energy absorbing.”
Regarding claim 58, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 52.
Battaglia is silent with respect to the lattice of the cores comprising a flexure region adapted to unbend in the event that the pad is curved about an axis aligned to inhibit strain in the support ridge from causing deflection of the spacing ridge and the unbending results in the ridges partially straightening.
However, the applicant's specification lists polymer foam, and the claim requires a dilatant material, as an acceptable material for the flexible pads of applicant's invention (Applicant's Specification, Pg. 1, Lines 28-32) and due to Battaglia having a similar structure as compared to applicant's structure being a spacing ridge and a support ridge extending from the spacing ridge, one would identify the panels of the base vest having a lattice structure having the auxetic pattern to intrinsically have a flexure region adapted to unbend in the event that the pad is curved about an axis aligned to inhibit strain in the support ridge from causing deflection of the spacing ridge and the unbending results in the ridges partially straightening.
Regarding claim 59, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 52.
Battaglia is silent with respect to the lattice of the cores arranged to enable ridge displacement that increases with distance from the surface of the domes.
However, the applicant's specification lists polymer foam, and the claim requires a dilatant material, as an acceptable material for the flexible pads of applicant's invention (Applicant's Specification, Pg. 1, Lines 28-32) and due to Battaglia having a similar structure as compared to applicant's structure being a spacing ridge and a support ridge extending from the spacing ridge, one would identify the panels of the base vest having a lattice structure having the auxetic pattern to intrinsically have a flexure region to enable ridge displacement that increases with distance from the surface of the domes.
Claim 70 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battaglia (US 5,524,641) in view of Webb (US 3,425,061), Green et al. (US 2007/0029690), Newton et al. (US 2012/0174282) and Toronjo (US 9,629,397) as applied to claim 50 above, and further in view of Rohrbach et al. (US 2009/0057357).
Regarding claim 70, Battaglia teaches the appliances as discussed above with respect to claim 50.
Battaglia is silent with respect to the appliances being configured for use with an electronic device.
Rohrbach teaches auxetic structures being applied to a variety of structures including bands and braces (Col. 12, Lines 1-5), such as an armband for holding an electronic device during activities such as exercising (Pg. 1, Paragraph [0001]-[0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the appliances of Battaglia such that they are in the form of armbands for holding an electronic device as taught by Rohrbach.
Claim 71 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battaglia (US 5,524,641) in view of Webb (US 3,425,061), Green et al. (US 2007/0029690), Newton et al. (US 2012/0174282) and Toronjo (US 9,629,397).
Regarding claim 71, Battaglia teaches a user-worn appliance to protect against bodily injuries (“shield system for protecting a curved object”) (Col. 1, Lines 10-11) The appliance includes a plurality of domes attached to a base vest to protect various parts of the body including the shoulders (Col. 2, Lines 48-51) and the base vest is composed of a variety of panels, including two shoulder panels, two chest panels, and a back panel (“comprising at least one flexible pad”) (Col. 4, Lines 27-29). The panels of the base vest include a core having a honeycomb structure made of foam as the core of the panels protected on both sides by a material 26 (“a spacing ridge projecting at an angle from a first major surface of the pad for providing a spacing between the first major surface and a shield shell" & “a support ridge projecting from the first major surface of the and extending transverse to the spacing ridge”) (Col. 5, Lines 6-8; Fig. 5, #28). Battaglia additionally teaches an example foam for forming the core of the panel as being a crosslinked polyolefin foam and the foam core is open ended to allow air to flow through it (Col. 5, Lines 2-4).
Battaglia is silent with respect to the honeycomb structure being tapered so that the distal end of the structure is narrower than the proximal portion, proximal to the panels.
Webb teaches a helmet with an outer shell provides impact deflection and dispersion (Col. 1, Lines 36-42). The helmets are provided with an outer shell having a plurality of ribs (Col. 2, Lines 20-28; Fig. 2). The ribs may be provided with a step like configuration, or a truncated triangular configuration, as illustrated in Figs. 8-9 in order to increasingly resist crushing or deformation in order to absorb more energy (Col. 2, Lines 59-72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the honeycomb structure of Battaglia in a truncated triangular configuration in order to increasingly resist crushing or deformation in order to absorb more energy as taught by Webb.
Battaglia is silent with respect to the appliances comprising a dilatant material.
Green teaches energy absorbent impact systems designed for the protection of humans, animals or objects from damage by impact (Paragraph [0001]). The systems are utilized in headwear such as helmets and body garments (Paragraph [0055]). The systems include a composite material which is elastic, exhibits a resistive load under deformation which increases with the rate of deformation and is self-supporting (Paragraph [0012]-[0013]). The composite material is formed from a first polymer-based elastic material and a second polymer-based material which exhibits dilatancy in the absence of the first polymer-based material and is entrapped in a matrix of the first polymer wherein the composite material is foamed (Paragraph [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the honey-comb structures of Battaglia from the composite materials of Green which are formed from a first polymer-based elastic material and a second polymer-based material which exhibits dilatancy in the absence of the first polymer-based material and is entrapped in a matrix of the first polymer wherein the composite material is foamed and which provide a resistive load under deformation which increases with the rate of deformation.
Battaglia is silent with respect to the appliances comprising two support ridges wherein each support ridge comprises a flexure region arranged to unbend independently of other flexure regions.
Newton teaches a garment having a base layer and a flexible layer (Pg. 2, Paragraph [0070]). The base layer may be designed as any suitable garment for an activity, such as upper body or lower body garments, or may be designed for a particular activity, including hockey, football, or any other sport (Pg. 3, Paragraph [0071]). The flexible layer may be formed from various materials including a polyolefin material (Pg. 3, Paragraph [0073]). There may be various portions of the flexible material located on the garment to provide support to the wearer’s body including the back and the shoulders (Pg. 3, Paragraphs [0077]-[0078]). The flexible layers may be provided with voids in a lattice pattern to provide areas of increased breathability (Pg. 5, Paragraph [0093]). The lattice patterns may be provided in a variety of patterns as illustrated in figures 4-5 (honey comb pattern) and 11-12 (auxetic lattice pattern).
Toronjo teaches garments, padding, bags or other products configured to be worn or carried on the body (Col. 1, Lines 14-16). The articles of apparel are provided with a base layer and an auxetic layer coupled to the base layer defining a repeating pattern of voids (Col. 1, Lines 55-60). The segments forming the cells of the auxetic layer may comprise a foam material such as polyethylene (Col. 5, Lines 50-67). One application of the auxetic structures includes the arrangement of the auxetic structure in a skull cap as illustrated in figure 4 (Col. 9, Lines 15-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the auxetic foam structure of Battaglia in view of Newton which may be formed for the protection of the head with the geodesic domes such that the vest of Battaglia is formed as a skull cap as taught by Toronjo which additionally teaches the use of cells of foam material in an auxetic shape. The examiner also notes that the formation of the shape into a skull cap teaches the limitation of an energy absorbing helmet liner. It additionally would have to form the core of the panels of Battaglia such that the lattice pattern of the cores to provide for increased air flow are formed as either the honeycomb structure or a lattice of an auxetic pattern as taught by Newton which also teaches the use of a polyolefin material for providing breathability in garments for sports including football and hockey. Lastly, as shown in figures 1a and 1b of Toronjo, the auxetic lattice structures include bent regions which unbend independently of the other bent regions.
Double Patenting
Claims 50-69 and 71 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 50-52, 56-64, 66 and 70 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206,812 in view of Green et al. (US 2007/0029690).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 50 of the instant application requires “A shield system for protecting a curved object, the system comprising at least one flexible pad comprising: a spacing ridge projecting at an angle from a first major surface of the pad for providing a spacing between the first major surface and a shield shell, wherein the spacing ridge is tapered so that the distal end of the spacing ridge is narrower than the proximal portion, proximal to the first major surface of the pad; and a support ridge projecting from the first major surface and extending transverse to the spacing ridge.”
Claim 50 of US Patent ‘812 teaches each of the limitations as discussed above with the exception of the flexible pads comprising a dilatant material.
Green teaches energy absorbent impact systems designed for the protection of humans, animals or objects from damage by impact (Paragraph [0001]). The systems are utilized in headwear such as helmets and body garments (Paragraph [0055]). The systems include a composite material which is elastic, exhibits a resistive load under deformation which increases with the rate of deformation and is self-supporting (Paragraph [0012]-[0013]). The composite material is formed from a first polymer-based elastic material and a second polymer-based material which exhibits dilatancy in the absence of the first polymer-based material and is entrapped in a matrix of the first polymer wherein the composite material is foamed (Paragraph [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the flexible pads of US Patent ‘812 from the composite materials of Green which are formed from a first polymer-based elastic material and a second polymer-based material which exhibits dilatancy in the absence of the first polymer-based material and is entrapped in a matrix of the first polymer wherein the composite material is foamed and which provide a resistive load under deformation which increases with the rate of deformation.
Claim 50 of U.S. Patent additionally requires the spacing ridges and the support ridges to have an auxetic geometry, which causes the flexure regions of spacing ridges to unbend independently of other flexure regions.
Furthermore, the limitations of claims 52-69 and 71 as required by the instant application are taught by claims 50-52, 56-64, 66 and 70 of Patent ‘812.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-16, applicant argues that the combination of Battaglia, Webb, Green, Newton and Toronjo fails to teach each of the limitations of claims 50 and 71. Specifically, the combination fails to teach the limitations of “at least two support ridges projecting from the first major surface and extending transverse to the spacing ridge, wherein each support ridge comprises a flexure region arranged to unbend independently of other flexure regions” and “wherein the spacing ridge and the least two support ridges are formed from a material comprising a dilatant.” Battaglia teaches a honeycomb structure and, as such, fails to teach the flexure regions bending independently of other flexure regions. Webb and Green additionally fail to teach this feature. Newton teaches athletic garments having breathability, but fails to teach impact resistance. Toronjo additionally fails to teach the auxetic structure having any impact protection.
The examiner is unpersuaded by applicant’s arguments. The examiner recognizes that Battaglia is silent with respect to the feature of “at least two support ridges projecting from the first major surface and extending transverse to the spacing ridge, wherein each support ridge comprises a flexure region arranged to unbend independently of other flexure regions.” Webb and Green are not relied upon in order to render this limitation as obvious.
Turning to the teachings of Newton and Toronjo, the examiner disagrees with applicant’s interpretations of the teachings failing to indicate a system for protecting a curved object. Newton teaches the garments being worn by a wearer while engaging in physical activities (Paragraph [0069]). Even further, the garments may be worn during any suitable physical activity, including hockey and football, which one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate as being high impact sports. Therefore, the garments of Newton may be included in impact protection applications.
Toronjo teaches the garments and paddings with the auxetic structures as discussed above in the rejections (Col. 1, Lines 14-16). The auxetic structures may be provided on various protective pads, including chest protections, shin guards and pants (Col. 11, Lines 7-13; Fig. 11a-11c). All of which are understood to provide impact protection.
It is lastly noted that the combination of Newton and Toronjo teach auxetic structures which renders the limitation of “at least two support ridges projecting from the first major surface and extending transverse to the spacing ridge, wherein each support ridge comprises a flexure region arranged to unbend independently of other flexure regions” as obvious.
Therefore, the examiner contends that the combination of Battaglia, Webb, Green, Newton and Toronjo are properly combinable and teaches each of the limitations of claims 50 and 71.
The current rejection is made FINAL.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P DILLON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783