Applicant’s Response
In the Applicant’s Response dated 6/22/26, the Applicant amended 1, 10, 19, canceled Claims 21, 22 and argued claims previously rejected in the Office Action dated 3/19/26. Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-20 are pending examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 10-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong, United States Patent Publication 2020/0349393, in view of Saruta et al., United States Patent Publication 2020/0250471 (hereinafter “Saruta”), in further view of Lee, United States Patent Publication 20220061816 of Johnson et al., “Perceptual Losses for Real-Time Style Transfer and Super-Resolution” (hereinafter “Johnson”).
Claim 1:
Zhong discloses:
A computer-implemented method comprising:
producing an initial latent space representation of an input image by encoding the input image (see paragraph [0088]). Zhong teaches producing an initial first latent space representation of an image by encoding the image;
generating, by a generator neural network, an initial output image by processing the initial latent space representation of the input image (see paragraphs [0017], [0050] and [0089]). Zhong teaches generating an output image by processing the image through the generator network;
extracting a plurality of target perceptual features for the input image by providing the input image to a convolutional neural network trained to classify images, wherein the convolutional neural network is a Visual Geometry 2 Group (VGG) network and wherein extracting the plurality of perceptual features comprises extracting the plurality of target perceptual features from a plurality of selected different intermediate layers of the convolutional neural network, (see paragraphs [0016], [0054], [0064] and [0095]). Zhong teaches using the convolutional neural network is trained to extract features through many layers. The neural network becomes (e.g., learns) a function that projects (e.g., maps) the image on the latent space. In other words, the latent space is the space where the features lie. The latent space contains a compressed representation of the image. This compressed representation is then used to reconstruct an input, as faithfully as possible. To perform well, a neural network has to learn to extract the most relevant features (e.g., the most relevant latent space).;
outputting the optimized latent space representation of the input image for downstream use (see paragraph [0094]). Zhong teaches outputting the optimized representation of the input image to show barely any differences between the input and output image.
Zhong fails to teach extracting visual representable properties from selected intermediate layers.
Saruta discloses:
wherein the plurality of target perceptual features comprise visually representable properties of one or more objects in the input image (see paragraph [0040]). Saruta teaches visually representable properties of objects such as detecting persons in a scene.
extracting, corresponding to the plurality of target perceptual features extracted from the input image, a plurality of initial perceptual features from the initial output image by providing the initial output image to the convolutional neural network trained to classify images and wherein extracting the plurality of initial perceptual features comprises extracting the plurality of initial perceptual features from a plurality of selected intermediate layers of the convolutional neural network (see paragraphs [0040], [0056], [0059]). Saruta teaches extracting particular features from selected intermediate layers of the neural network. The neural network is trained to classify images and extract particular features from particular layers.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zhong to include extracting particular features from selected intermediate layers for the purpose of efficiently extracting target features from images, as taught by Saruta.
Zhong and Saruta fail to expressly disclose identifying a perceptual loss based on the comparison.
Lee discloses:
identifying a perceptual loss based on a comparison of the plurality of target perceptual features in the plurality of initial perceptual features, wherein the perceptual loss comprises a difference between the target perceptual features extracted from the input image and the initial perceptual features extracted from the initial output image generated by processing the initial and target latent space representations with the generator neural network (see paragraphs [0025] and [0074]). Lee teaches calculating a perceptual loss which is based on an assessment of differences between the input image and target image comprised by each image pair of the training image pairs. The image is created using a generative neural network;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zhong and Saruta to include identifying a perceptual loss based on the difference calculated by the difference between the initial and target features for the purpose of improving the accuracy of image generation using neural networks, as taught by Lee.
Zhong, Saruta and Lee fail to expressly disclose a vgg network with selected layers.
Johnson discloses:
wherein the selected layers include a conv1_1 layer, aconvl_2 layer, a conv3_1 layer, and a conv4_1 layer of the VGG network (see figure 3, pg 699-700). Johnson teaches extracting features from specific layers of the network;
identifying a perceptual loss based on a comparison of the plurality of target perceptual features in the plurality of initial perceptual features, wherein the perceptual loss comprises a difference between the target perceptual features extracted from the input image and the initial perceptual features extracted from the initial output image generated (see pgs 699-701). Johnson teaches identifying perceptual loss based on the comparison of features extracted.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zhong, Saruta and Lee to include extracting features from specific layers of the vgg network for the purpose of generating high-quality images can be generated by defining
and optimizing perceptual loss functions based on high-level features
extracted from pretrained networks, as taught by Johnson.
Claim 2:
Zhong discloses:
further comprising down sampling the input image before generating the initial latent space representation of the input image (see paragraphs [0024] and [0054]). Zhong teaches down sampling the input image before generating a latent space representation.
Claim 3:
Zhong discloses:
further comprising computing, the loss by:
downsampling the initial output image (see paragraphs [0024] and [0054]). Zhong teaches downsampling an image;
computing the loss based upon the target perceptual features and the initial perceptual features (see paragraph [0068]). Zhong teaches computing the loss based on the features of the input and features of the target.
Claim 4:
Zhong discloses:
wherein the convolutional neural network is a Visual Geometry 2 Group (VGG) network, and wherein the layers include a conv1_1 layer, aconvl_2 layer, a conv3_1 layer, and a conv4_1 layer of the VGG network (see paragraph [0064] and [0095]). Zhong teaches a VGG network with a plurality of layers.
Zhong fails to teach extracting visual representable properties from selected intermediate layers.
Saruta discloses:
wherein the selected layers include a conv1_1 layer, aconvl_2 layer, a conv3_1 layer, and a conv4_1 layer of the VGG network (see paragraphs [0064]). Saruta teaches a plurality of intermediate layers.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zhong to include intermediate layers for the purpose of efficiently extracting target features from images, as taught by Saruta.
Claim 5:
Zhong discloses:
wherein the loss is further based on one or more of: a comparison of pixels of the input image and pixels of the initial output image; or a comparison of the initial latent space representation and a target latent code (see paragraph [0090]). Zhong teaches comparison of the latent page representation and the target latent representation.
Claim 6:
Zhong discloses:
the downstream use comprising one or more of: applying user-configured edits to the latent space representation of the input image; or generating an output image, by the generator neural network, by processing the optimized latent space representation, wherein the output image is perceptually similar to the input image (see paragraph [0094]). Zhong teaches generating an output image, wherein the output image is very similar to the input page. The output image is generated by the generator.
Claim 9:
Zhong discloses:
outputting the output image for display on a computing device (see paragraph [0099]). Zhong teaches outputting an output image such as super resolution images.
Claims 10-12, 14, 15, 18:
Although Claims 10-12, 14, 15 and 18 are computer system claims, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the method of Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, respectively.
Claims 19-20:
Although Claims 19-20 are medium claims, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the method of Claims 1 and 6.
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong, Saruta and Lee, in view of Adamiak et al, "Facial Appearance Modifications using SKPCA-Derived Features Extracted from Convolutional Autoencoder’s Latent Space" (hereinafter “Adamiak”).
Claim 7:
Zhong, Saruta and Lee fail to expressly disclose the processes being less than 10 seconds.
Adamiak discloses:
wherein the producing the initial latent space representation, optimizing the initial latent space representation, and generating the output image that is perceptually similar to the input image are performed in less than about 10 seconds (see page 6, column 2 in Conclusion – page 7 column 1). Adamiak teaches the producing the representations, generating the output is done in real time and causing real time changes to the images.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhong, Saruta and Lee to include the producing the latent space representation, optimizing the representing and generating the output image that is similar to the input image performed in about 10 seconds for the purpose of efficiently viewing the modifications to the images in real time, as taught by Adamiak.
Claim 8:
Zhong discloses:
wherein the output image has a resolution of about 1024 x 1024 pixels (see paragraph [0020]). Zhong teaches creating high resolution images.
Claims 16-17:
Although Claims 16-17 are computer system claims, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the method of Claims 7-8, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REM, filed 6/22/26, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhong, Saruta, Lee and Johnson.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-12, 14-15, and 18-22:
Applicant argues none of the cited references, alone or in combination, discloses "the convolutional neural network is a Visual Geometry Group (VGG) network, and wherein the selected layers include a convl_1 layer, a conv1 layer, a conv3_1 layer, and a conv4_1 layer of the VGG network," as recited in independent claims 1, 10, and 19 as amended. Neither Zhong nor Saruta discloses or suggests extracting perceptual features from the highly specific combination of the conv1_1, conv1_2, conv3_1, and conv4_1 layers of a VGG network. A generalized disclosure of using intermediate layers is insufficient to render this precise, multi-layer extraction configuration obvious.
The Examiner agrees.
The Examiner introduced new art, Johnson, to teach extracting perpetual features from selected layers from the VGG network (see the above rejection for the claims). Thus, the combination of Zhong, Saruta, Lee and Johnson teach the limitations of the claims.
Applicant argues Furthermore, none of the cited references, alone or in combination, discloses "identifying a perceptual loss based on a comparison of the plurality of target perceptual features and their corresponding features" extracted from "a plurality of selected different intermediate layers of the convolutional neural network" as recited in claim 1.
The Examiner disagrees.
The Examiner introduced new art, Johnson, to teach determining the perceptual loss of the extracted perpetual features from selected layers from the VGG network (see the above rejection for the claims). Thus, the combination of Zhong, Saruta, Lee and Johnson teach the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 9/11/26
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178