DETAILED ACTION
I. The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions.
Response to Amendment
II. This action is in response to applicants amendment/arguments filed on February 3, 2026. This action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
III. Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites “a wireless device” in line 1 and “a cellular phone” in line 18. It is unclear whether the cellular phone in line 18 is the wireless device in line 1 or some other device because the terms “wireless device” and “cellular phone” do not provide an adequate distinction between the two terms. The limitations render the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will treat the following quotation from claim 21, “a cellular phone” as “the wireless device”.
Claim 21 recites “a data package” in line 13 and “a configured data package” in lines 17-18. It is unclear whether the configured data package in lines 17-18 is the data package in line 13 or some other data because the terms “data package” and “configured data package” do not provide an adequate distinction between the two terms. The limitations render the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will treat the following quotation from claim 21, “a data package” as “a configured data package”.
Claims 22-26 are dependent on claim 21 and are rejected for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for the same reasons given above regarding claim 21.
Claims 27 and 35 contain limitations similar to the ones recited above in claim 21. Therefore, claims 27 and 35 are rejected for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for the same reasons given above regarding claim 21.
Claims 28-34 and 36-40 are dependent on claims 27 and 35 and are rejected for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for the same reasons given above regarding claim 21.
The following prior art rejection is based on the best possible interpretation of the claim language in light of the above rejections for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention thereof by the applicant for patent, or on an international application by another who has fulfilled the requirements of paragraphs (1), (2), and (4) of section 371(c) of this title before the invention thereof by the applicant for patent.
The changes made to 35 U.S.C. 102(e) by the American Inventors Protection Act of 1999 (AIPA) and the Intellectual Property and High Technology Technical Amendments Act of 2002 do not apply when the reference is a U.S. patent resulting directly or indirectly from an international application filed before November 29, 2000. Therefore, the prior art date of the reference is determined under 35 U.S.C. 102(e) prior to the amendment by the AIPA (pre-AIPA 35 U.S.C. 102(e)).
IV. Claims 27, 29-30, 32, and 35-40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Krasner et al. (US 7,574,195 B2).
Regarding claim 27 Krasner teaches a method for initiating communications directed to one or more destination devices, the method being associated with security monitoring or appliance state monitoring (see col. 2, lines 36-43 and col. 3, lines 24-28, Providing emergency notification by a wireless mobile device, wherein the wireless mobile device automatically communicates with an emergency response service and provides a data transmission (see Fig. 5) via a wireless telecommunication link. This reads on a method for initiating communications directed to one or more destination devices, the method being associated with security monitoring or appliance state monitoring), the method comprising: receiving a configured data package from an application (e.g. Notification System 50, Fig. 3) executing on a wireless device, the configured data package comprising network-related communication initiation information (see col. 2, lines 36-43; col. 3, lines 24-28; col. 11, lines 26-28; col. 12, lines 29-33 and Fig. 5, The wireless mobile device communicates with an emergency response service and provides a data transmission (see Fig. 5) via a wireless telecommunication link to an emergency response service. The data transmission includes mobile subscriber information 100 including a wireless mobile number. This reads on receiving a configured data package from an application executing on the wireless device, the configured data package comprising network-related communication initiation information); initiating wireless communication over a wireless communication network in accordance with the network-related communication initiating information included in the configured data package (see col. 5, lines 27-33; col. 11, lines 26-32 and Fig. 5, In response to an event a notification system of the mobile device dials a predetermined number and uses cellular communication to provide a data transmission to an emergency service. This reads on initiating wireless communication over a wireless communication network in accordance with the network-related communication initiating information included in the configured data package); detecting by at least one sensor operatively associated with a wireless device, a change in a condition associated with an item or monitored circumstance (see col. 2, lines 43-47 & 56-62 and col. 5, lines 13-20; col. 6, lines 24-35, A sensor located remote from the wireless mobile device communicates with the mobile device via a short range wireless link. The sensors detect an event including monitoring for fire, heat, and security breach. This reads on detecting by at least one sensor operatively associated with a wireless device, a change in a condition associated with an item or monitored circumstance); generating sensing information representative of the detected change on output of the at least one sensor (see col. 2, lines 56-62 and col. 5, lines 13-33, The sensor detects an emergency event sensed by one or more sensors. A short range wireless transmitter transmits a message regarding triggering of the sensors. This reads on generating sensing information representative of the detected change on output of the at least one sensor); generating the configured data package comprising (i) status information associated with the sensing information and (ii) identification information stored in a memory of a wireless device (see col. 2, lines 62-67; col. 11, lines 26-32 & 43-50; col. 12, lines 29-33; and Fig. 5, The wireless mobile device processes the message regarding the triggering of the sensor, and a call is made to a predetermined emergency service. The mobile device transmits a data transmission to the emergency service. The data transmission includes the event information such as the detected sensor information and mobile subscriber information including a wireless mobile number. This reads on generating the configured data package comprising (i) status information associated with the sensing information and (ii) identification information stored in a memory of a wireless device); and transmitting, by the wireless device, the data package via a wireless communication interface of the wireless device over the wireless communication network, (see col. 5, lines 22-34 and col. 11, lines 26-32, The wireless mobile device processes the message regarding the triggering of the sensor, and a call is made to a predetermined emergency service. The mobile device transmits a data transmission to the emergency service. The mobile device dials a predetermined number and communicates using a cellular communication system. This reads on transmitting, by the wireless device, the data package via a wireless communication interface of the wireless device over the wireless communication network), wherein the wireless device is one of the destination devices (see col. 3, lines 42-47, The telecommunication system may comprise a cellular telephone in one embodiment, and the telecommunication system may be capable of one-way or two-way data communication, voice communication, or some combination thereof with the emergency number via a wireless telecommunication link. This reads on the wireless device is one of the destination device because it can receive data communication regarding the detected event).
Regarding claim 29 Krasner teaches wherein the wireless communication network comprises a wireless local area network (see col. 13, lines 38-42 & 63-64, Wireless communication protocol including WLAN reads on wherein the wireless communication network comprises a wireless local area network).
Regarding claim 30 Krasner teaches communicating a call with a cell phone via the wireless communication network (see col. 5, lines 27-33 & 41-54, The mobile device placing a call to the emergency service using the cellular network, wherein a wireless telecommunication link is established that transmits voice and data between the cellphone and the cellular base station. This reads on communicating a call with a cell phone via the wireless communication network).
Regarding claim 32 Krasner teaches wherein the status information corresponds to a detected condition of a monitored item, the monitored item comprising at least one of a personal care item, a household appliance, a safety device, or an imaging device, including at least one of a diaper, an oven, a fire alarm, a theft alarm, a camera, or a refrigerator (see col. 6, lines 28, Sensor including heat sensors and fire detectors along with fire alarm release sensors reads on wherein the status information corresponds to a detected condition of a monitored item, the monitored item comprising at least one of a personal care item, a household appliance, a safety device, or an imaging device, including at least one of a diaper, an oven, a fire alarm, a theft alarm, a camera, or a refrigerator).
Regarding claim 35 Krasner teaches an application (e.g. Notification System 50, Fig. 5) for execution on a wireless device, the application comprising program instructions that, when executed by the application (see col. 8, lines 5-12, The notification system comprises a microprocessor and includes a programing), cause the application to: generate, by the application, a configured data package for use in initiating wireless communications involving a wireless device associated with security monitoring or appliance state monitoring (see col. 5, lines 13-33; col. 11, lines 26-32 and Fig. 5, The mobile device receives via short range communication an event message. In response to receiving the event message, the mobile device calls an emergency service and transmits a data transmission. This reads on generate, by the application, a configured data package for use in initiating wireless communications involving a wireless device associated with security monitoring or appliance state monitoring), populate, by the application, the configured data package with network-related communication initiation information associated with a wireless communication network, the network-related communication initiation information comprising information usable to initiate communications between a management center system and one or more destination devices (see col. 5, lines 13-33; col. 11, lines 26-32; col. 12, lines 29-39 and Fig. 5, The mobile device receives via short range communication an event message. In response to receiving the event message, the mobile device calls an emergency service and transmits a data transmission. The data transmission comprises mobile subscriber information including wireless mobile number. This reads on populate, by the application, the configured data package with network-related communication initiation information associated with a wireless communication network, the network-related communication initiation information comprising information usable to initiate communications between a management center system and one or more destination devices); and transmit, by the application, the configured data package (see col. 5, lines 22-34 and col. 11, lines 26-32, The wireless mobile device processes the message regarding the triggering of the sensor, and a call is made to a predetermined emergency service. The mobile device transmits a data transmission to the emergency service. The mobile device dials a predetermined number and communicates using a cellular communication system. This reads on transmit, by the application, the configured data package); wherein transmission of the configured data package by the application provides the configured data package for initiation of wireless communications with the management center system and directed to the one or more destination devices; wherein the wireless communications are over the wireless communication network (see col. 5, lines 22-34 and col. 11, lines 26-32, The wireless mobile device processes the message regarding the triggering of the sensor, and a call is made to a predetermined emergency service. The mobile device transmits a data transmission to the emergency service. The mobile device dials a predetermined number and communicates using a cellular communication system. The emergency service may, for example, include a PSAP with communication device. This reads on wherein transmission of the configured data package by the application provides the configured data package for initiation of wireless communications with the management center system and directed to the one or more destination devices; wherein the wireless communications are over the wireless communication network); wherein the wireless device is one of the destination devices (see col. 3, lines 42-47, The telecommunication system may comprise a cellular telephone in one embodiment, and the telecommunication system may be capable of one-way or two-way data communication, voice communication, or some combination thereof with the emergency number via a wireless telecommunication link. This reads on the wireless device is one of the destination device because it can receive data communication regarding the detected event).
Regarding claim 36 Krasner teaches wherein the wireless communication network comprises a wireless local area network (see col. 13, lines 38-42 & 63-64, Wireless communication protocol including WLAN reads on wherein the wireless communication network comprises a wireless local area network).
Regarding claim 37 Krasner teaches wherein the communications between the management center and the wireless device are for communicating information regarding an updated status associated with an item or a circumstance; and wherein the application is further configured to receive, from the management center, the information regarding the updated status (see col. 5, lines 15-27, A detection system including sensors located remote from the wireless mobile device communicates with the mobile device via a short range wireless link. The sensors detect an event including monitoring for fire, heat, and security breach. A short range wireless transmitter transmits a message regarding triggering of the sensors to the wireless device. The wireless device receives the event message. This reads on wherein the communications between the management center and the wireless device are for communicating information regarding an updated status associated with an item or a circumstance; and wherein the application is further configured to receive, from the management center, the information regarding the updated status).
Regarding claim 38 Krasner teaches wherein the application comprises a configuration setting for specifying when and how the information regarding the updated status is communicated (see col. 2, lines 60-67 and col. 5, lines 27-33, The wireless mobile device processes the message regarding triggering of the sensor using pre-programmed settings for obtaining additional data, when to make communication with emergency service, and what emergency service to call. This reads on wherein the application comprises a configuration setting for specifying when and how the information regarding the updated status is communicated).
Regarding claim 40 Krasner teaches wherein the wireless communication network comprises a wireless local area network (see col. 13, lines 38-42 & 63-64, Wireless communication protocol including WLAN reads on wherein the wireless communication network comprises a wireless local area network).
Regarding claim 32 Krasner teaches wherein the status information corresponds to a detected condition of a monitored item, the monitored item comprising at least one of a personal care item, a household appliance, a safety device, or an imaging device, including at least one of a diaper, an oven, a fire alarm, a theft alarm, a camera, or a refrigerator (see col. 6, lines 28, Sensor including heat sensors and fire detectors along with fire alarm release sensors reads on wherein the status information corresponds to a detected condition of a monitored item, the monitored item comprising at least one of a personal care item, a household appliance, a safety device, or an imaging device, including at least one of a diaper, an oven, a fire alarm, a theft alarm, a camera, or a refrigerator).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
V. Claims 21-24 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Krasner et al. (US 7,574,195 B2) in view of Choi et al. (US 2007/0263490 A1).
Regarding claim 21 Krasner teaches a wireless device associate with security monitoring or appliance state monitoring (see col. 2, lines 36-43 and col. 3, lines 24-28, Providing emergency notification by a wireless mobile device, wherein the wireless mobile device automatically communicates with an emergency response service and provides a data transmission (see Fig. 5) via a wireless telecommunication link. This reads on a wireless device associate with security monitoring or appliance state monitoring), the wireless device comprising: a wireless communication interface (46, 52, Fig. 3) configured to communicate over a wireless communication network (see col. 5, lines 27-33, the wireless mobile device sends a data transmission using cellular communications system and this reads on the wireless device comprising: a wireless communication interface configured to communicate over a wireless communication network); a memory (48, Fig. 3) storing identification information for the wireless device (see col. 7, lines 61-67; col. 8, lines 1-4; col. 12, lines 29-33; and Fig. 3, The control system 48 comprises software that enable processing of data. The control system includes programming that determines how to process data, for messages to be sent via the telecommunications system. The messages sent include a data transmission with mobile subscriber information such as a wireless mobile number. This indicates that the mobile device has memory as is well-known in the art and reads on a memory storing identification information for the wireless device); and a control circuit (48, Fig. 3) operatively coupled to the wireless communication interface, and the memory (see col. 7, lines 61-67; col. 8, lines 1-4; Fig. 3, the control system comprises software that enables processing of data, and is connected to the communication interfaces. The control system including software indicates that the mobile device has memory as is well-known in the art. This reads on a control circuit operatively coupled to the wireless communication interface, and the memory), the control circuit being configured to: initiate wireless communication over the wireless communication network (see col. 5, lines 27-33, In response to the event message 20, a notification system within the mobile device automatically dials a predetermined number, using a cellular telephone also located within the mobile device. The cellular telephone transmits data from the wireless device using antenna to transmit electromagnetic signals to a cellular tower via a wireless telecommunication link. This reads on control circuit being configured to: initiate wireless communication over the wireless communication network); receiving a message from at least one sensor configured to detect a change in a condition associated with an item or a circumstance and generate sensing information representative of a detected change based on output of the at least one sensor (see col. 2, lines 43-47 & 56-62 and col. 5, lines 13-20; col. 6, lines 24-35, A sensor located remote from the wireless mobile device communicates with the mobile device via a short range wireless link. The sensors detect an event including monitoring for fire, heat, and security breach. A short range wireless transmitter transmits a message regarding triggering of the sensors. This reads on receiving a message from at least one sensor configured to detect a change in a condition associated with an item or a circumstance and generate sensing information representative of a detected change based on output of the at least one sensor); generate a configured data package comprising status information associated with sensing information and identification information stored in memory (see col. 2, lines 62-67; col. 11, lines 26-32 & 43-50; col. 12, lines 29-33; and Fig. 5, The wireless mobile device processes the message regarding the triggering of the sensor, and a call is made to a predetermined emergency service. The mobile device transmits a data transmission to the emergency service. The data transmission includes the event information such as the detected sensor information and mobile subscriber information including a wireless mobile number. This reads on generate a configured data package comprising status information associated with sensing information and identification information stored in memory); transmit the data package via the wireless communication interface over the wireless communication network (see col. 5, lines 22-34 and col. 11, lines 26-32, The wireless mobile device processes the message regarding the triggering of the sensor, and a call is made to a predetermined emergency service. The mobile device transmits a data transmission to the emergency service. The mobile device dials a predetermined number and communicates using a cellular communication system. This reads on transmit the data package via the wireless communication interface over the wireless communication network), wherein the wireless communications are initiated in response to the configured data package received from an application (Notification 50, Fig. 3) executing on the wireless device, the configured data package comprising information for initiating communications directed to one or more destination devices, the information comprising network-related communication information, the wireless device being one or the destination devices (see col. 5, lines 13-33; col. 11, lines 26-32; col. 12, lines 29-39 and Fig. 5, The mobile device receives via short range communication an event message. In response to receiving the event message, the mobile device calls an emergency service and transmits a data transmission. The data transmission comprises mobile subscriber information including wireless mobile number. This reads on wherein the wireless communications are initiated in response to the configured data package received from an application executing on the wireless device, the configured data package comprising information for initiating communications directed to one or more destination devices, the information comprising network-related communication information, the wireless device being one or the destination devices), wherein the wireless device is one of the destination devices (see col. 3, lines 42-47, The telecommunication system may comprise a cellular telephone in one embodiment, and the telecommunication system may be capable of one-way or two-way data communication, voice communication, or some combination thereof with the emergency number via a wireless telecommunication link. This reads on the wireless device is one of the destination device because it can receive data communication regarding the detected event).
Krasner does not teach specifically teach the wireless device comprising: at least one sensor configured to detect a change in a condition associated with an item or a circumstance monitored by the wireless device.
Choi teaches a wireless device comprising at least one sensor configured to detect a change in a condition associated with an item or a circumstance monitored by the wireless device (see paragraph [0043], An inertial sensor of a mobile device 10 detects a certain movement of the mobile device. This reads on wireless device comprising at least one sensor configured to detect a change in a condition associated with an item or a circumstance monitored by the wireless device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to make the wireless device in Krasner adapt to include wireless device comprising: at least one sensor configured to detect a change in a condition associated with an item or a circumstance monitored by the wireless device because the sensor system in Krasner can be incorporated into the wireless device as well using well-known techniques and having a sensor system in the wireless device in Krasner can allow for a more efficient and versatile monitoring system.
Regarding claim 22 Krasner teaches wherein the configured data package comprises at least one of network configuration information, addressing information, or routing information for directing communications to the wireless device over the wireless communication network (see col. 5, lines 27-33, col. 11, lines 26-28; col. 12, lines 29-33; and Fig. 5, The data transmission sent to the emergency service using cellular wireless communication link includes both a origination and destination address for routing and directing the communication. This reads on wherein the configured data package comprises at least one of network configuration information, addressing information, or routing information for directing communications to the wireless device over the wireless communication network).
Regarding claim 23 Krasner teaches wherein the wireless communication network comprises a wireless local area network (see col. 13, lines 38-42 & 63-64, Wireless communication protocol including WLAN reads on wherein the wireless communication network comprises a wireless local area network).
Regarding claim 24 Krasner teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to communicate a call with a cell phone via the wireless communication network (see col. 5, lines 27-33 & 41-54, The mobile device placing a call to the emergency service using the cellular network, wherein a wireless telecommunication link is established that transmits voice and data between the cellphone and the cellular base station. This reads on wherein the control circuit is configured to communicate a call with a cell phone via the wireless communication network).
VI. Claims 25-26 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Krasner et al. (US 7,574,195 B2) in view of Choi et al. (US 2007/0263490 A1) and Brailean et al. (WO 2005/076852 A2).
Regarding claim 25 Krasner and Choi teach the wireless device of claim 21 except for receiving compressed signals and decompress the compressed signals to produce decompressed signals for producing corresponding information content.
Brailean teaches receiving compressed signals and decompress the compressed signals to produce decompressed signals for producing corresponding information content (see paragraph [0042], Content is stored in a compressed format and transmitted to the client in a compressed format whereupon; after receiving the content, the client interface module decompressed the content and provided it to the client device for viewing and/or listening by the client. This reads on receiving compressed signals and decompress the compressed signals to produce decompressed signals for producing corresponding information content).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to make the wireless device in Krasner adapt to include for receiving compressed signals and decompress the compressed signals to produce decompressed signals for producing corresponding information content because it would allow for a more efficient mechanism for transmitting and receiving data.
Regarding claim 26 Krasner and Choi teach the wireless device of claim 21 including communicate, via the wireless communication network, information indicative of an updated status of the condition in connection with a wireless signal transmitted through a short-range wireless channel (see Krasner, col. 5, lines 15-27, When an event has occurred, an event message is transmitted via a wireless communication link. The wireless device comprises a short range transceiver for receiving the event message. This reads on communicate, via the wireless communication network, information indicative of an updated status of the condition in connection with a wireless signal transmitted through a short-range wireless channel), wherein the short range wireless channel is a non-IP based wireless connection imitated by detection of the updated status (see col. 3, lines 62-63 and col. 5, lines 15-27, The short range wireless link may be Bluetooth. When an event has occurred, an event message is transmitted via a wireless communication link. The wireless device comprises a short range transceiver for receiving the event message. This reads on wherein the short range wireless channel is a non-IP based wireless connection imitated by detection of the updated status) and except for wherein the wireless signal includes information corresponding to a unique identifier associated with the updated status; wherein the information indicative of the updated status is communicated upon recognition of the unique identifier.
Brailean teaches wherein the wireless signal includes information corresponding to a unique identifier associated with the updated status (e.g. data); wherein the information indicative of the updated status is communicated upon recognition of the unique identifier (see paragraphs [0039] – [0042], A client device wishing to access video and audio content must first be authenticated. Each client device is given a unique identification number. The client device transmits this unique identification number to a server. Once the server authenticates the client identification number, the client device may be sent the video and audio content. This reads on the wireless signal includes information corresponding to a unique identifier associated with the updated status; wherein the information indicative of the updated status is communicated upon recognition of the unique identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to make the wireless device in Krasner adapt to include wherein the wireless signal includes information corresponding to a unique identifier associated with the updated status; wherein the information indicative of the updated status is communicated upon recognition of the unique identifier because it would allow for an efficient and well-known mechanism for securing the communication of data.
VII. Claims 28, 31, and 33 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Krasner et al. (US 7,574,195 B2) in view of Brailean et al. (WO 2005/076852 A2).
Regarding claim 28 Krasner teaches the method of claim 27 except for communicating video originating from a video camera via the wireless communication network.
Brailean teaches communicating video originating from a video camera via the wireless communication network (see paragraphs [0039] & [0042], Recording devices within a network may include a camera that is equipped with a microphone, and recording circuitry for recording audio and video information. The video content may be transmitted in compressed format and decompressed upon reception for viewing. This reads on communicating video originating from a video camera via the wireless communication network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to make the wireless device in Krasner adapt to include for communicating video originating from a video camera via the wireless communication network because video data is well-known to be transferrable over wireless link and would allow for an efficient mechanism for communicating status information.
Regarding claim 31 Krasner teaches the method of claim 27 except for receiving compressed signals and decompressing the compressed signals for producing corresponding information content.
Brailean teaches for receiving compressed signals and decompressing the compressed signals for producing corresponding information content (see paragraph [0042], Content is stored in a compressed format and transmitted to the client in a compressed format whereupon; after receiving the content, the client interface module decompressed the content and provided it to the client device for viewing and/or listening by the client. This reads for receiving compressed signals and decompressing the compressed signals for producing corresponding information content).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to make the wireless device in Krasner adapt to include for receiving compressed signals and decompressing the compressed signals for producing corresponding information content because it would allow for a more efficient mechanism for transmitting and receiving data.
Regarding claim 33 Krasner teaches the method of claim 27 including communicating, via the wireless communication network, information indicative of an updated status of the condition in connection with a wireless signal transmitted through a short-range wireless channel (see Krasner, col. 5, lines 15-27, When an event has occurred, an event message is transmitted via a wireless communication link. The wireless device comprises a short range transceiver for receiving the event message. This reads on communicate, via the wireless communication network, information indicative of an updated status of the condition in connection with a wireless signal transmitted through a short-range wireless channel), wherein the short range wireless channel is a non-IP based wireless connection imitated by detection of the updated status (see col. 3, lines 62-63 and col. 5, lines 15-27, The short range wireless link may be Bluetooth. When an event has occurred, an event message is transmitted via a wireless communication link. The wireless device comprises a short range transceiver for receiving the event message. This reads on wherein the short range wireless channel is a non-IP based wireless connection imitated by detection of the updated status) and except for wherein the wireless signal includes information corresponding to a unique identifier associated with the updated status; wherein the information indicative of the updated status is communicated upon recognition of the unique identifier.
Brailean teaches wherein the wireless signal includes information corresponding to a unique identifier associated with the updated status (e.g. data); wherein the information indicative of the updated status is communicated upon recognition of the unique identifier (see paragraphs [0039] – [0042], A client device wishing to access video and audio content must first be authenticated. Each client device is given a unique identification number. The client device transmits this unique identification number to a server. Once the server authenticates the client identification number, the client device may be sent the video and audio content. This reads on the wireless signal includes information corresponding to a unique identifier associated with the updated status; wherein the information indicative of the updated status is communicated upon recognition of the unique identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to make the wireless device in Krasner adapt to include wherein the wireless signal includes information corresponding to a unique identifier associated with the updated status; wherein the information indicative of the updated status is communicated upon recognition of the unique identifier because it would allow for an efficient and well-known mechanism for securing the communication of data.
VIII. Claim 34 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Krasner et al. (US 7,574,195 B2) in view of Brailean et al. (WO 2005/076852 A2) and Scannell, Jr.
Regarding claim 34 Krasner and Brailean teach the method of claim 33 except for wherein the short range wireless channel comprises a Zigbee communication channel.
Scannell, Jr. teaches wherein the short range wireless channel comprises a Zigbee communication channel (see paragraph [0105], communication interfaces and protocols such as ZigBee reads on wherein the short range wireless channel comprises a Zigbee communication channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to make the wireless device in Krasner adapt to include wherein the short range wireless channel comprises a Zigbee communication channel because it would allow for an efficient and well-known mechanism for the communication of data.
Response to Arguments
IX. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-40 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
X. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
March 30, 2026