DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-14, 16-20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US# 2022/0141869 hereinafter referred to as Jeon) in view of Islam et al. (US# 2020/0112984 hereinafter referred to as Islam) and Christoffersson et al. (US# 2022/0078853 hereinafter referred to as Christoffersson).
RE Claim 1, Jeon discloses a communications method, comprising:
sending, by a terminal apparatus after a listen before talk (LBT) success (See Jeon FIG 32, [0239] – wireless device utilizing LBT), a preamble on a random access time-frequency resource (RO) (See Jeon [0128], [0226] – sending preamble on random access resource);
generating, by the terminal apparatus, a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) based on the RO (See Jeon [0128], [0226] – determine RA-RNTI based on random access resources), and
receiving, by the terminal apparatus from a network apparatus, a an indicator, wherein the indicator indicates (1) information of a system frame in which the preamble is received (See Jeon FIGs 46, 47, 48A, 48B; [0218], [0426]-[0435], [0439] – receiving indicator such as SFN indicating system frame in which preamble is received ([0435], [0439]); SFN indicator sent to terminal used to match with preamble SFN ([0437], [0452] – received SFN is same SFN as transmitted)); and
wherein the indicator is carried in downlink control information (DCI) (See Jeon [0108], [0128] - which can use different DCI formats) scrambled by using the RA-RNTI (See Jeon [0378], [0426]-[0428]).
Jeon does not specifically disclose the DCI being DCI 1_0; or
The indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window; or
Wherein the indicator comprises two bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window, wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms.
However, Islam teaches of DCI format 1_0 carrying indication information scrambled with RA-RNTI (See Islam [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the communication system which sends indication information of a system frame in a DCI which can use different DCI formats (See Jeon [0108], [0128]), as disclosed in Jeon, wherein the DCI is DCI 1_0, as taught in Islam. One is motivated as such in order to help generate correct configuration and improve communication quality (See Islam Background; Summary).
Jeon, modified by Islam, does not specifically disclose
The indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window; or
Wherein the indicator comprises two bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window, wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms.
However, Christoffersson teaches of
The indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window (See Christoffersson FIGs 4A, 4B; [0064]-[0065], [0168], [0186], [0188] – i.e. indicator indicating index (based on system frame being 10ms) of RAR transmitted in RAR window); and
Wherein the indicator comprises bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window (See Christoffersson FIGs 4A, 4B; [0064]-[0065], [0168], [0180], [0186]-[0188] – i.e. here, different t_ids are used for the same slot number depending the timing between the preamble transmission and the RAR transmission. The preamble transmitted by UE1 is indicated by a RA-RNTI using t_id=1 if the RAR is transmitted less or equal to 10 ms after the preamble transmission. If the RAR is transmitted more than 10 ms after the preamble transmission, it is indicated by a RA-RNTI using t_id=1+40), wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms (See Christoffersson FIGs 4A, 4B; [0064]-[0065], [0168], [0180], [0186]-[0188] – RAR window maximum can be extended to 40ms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the communication system which sends indication information of a system frame, as disclosed in Jeon, modified by Islam, wherein the indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window; and
Wherein the indicator comprises bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window, wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms, as taught in Christoffersson. One is motivated as such in order to reduce computational burden and radio resource usage (See Christoffersson Background; Summary).
Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, does not specifically disclose the indicator comprises two bits.
However, since Christoffersson teaches of the indicator indicating the receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window with respect to being representative of the positioning of the radio frame in a RAR window (i.e. Christoffersson [0191] – which shows 1 bit indicating two states (‘0’ and ‘1’) when the RAR window is 20ms (first 10ms + second 10ms)) as well as the RAR window length being 40ms (Christoffersson [0186]), having the indicator comprise two bits would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art. In re Launder, 42 CCPA 886, 222 F.2d 371, 105 USPQ 446 (1955); Flour City Architectural Metals v. Alpana Aluminum Products, Inc., 454 F. 2d 98, 172 USPQ 341 (8th Cir. 1972); National Connector Corp. v. Malco Manufacturing Co., 392 F.2d 766. 157 USPQ 401 (8th Cir.) cert. denied, 393 U.S. 923, 159 USPQ 799 (1968). In this case, a RAR window of 40ms would require at least 4 states (first 10ms + second 10ms + third 10ms + fourth 10ms) which traditionally would require at least two bits (i.e. “00”, “01”, “10”, “11”).
RE Claim 2, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, further comprising: detecting, by the terminal apparatus according to the RA-RNTI and the information of the system frame, the RAR in the RAR receiving window (See Jeon FIGs 46, 47, 48A, 48B; [0426]-[0435], [0439] – using both RA-RNTI and SFN to receive and decode RAR).
RE Claim 3, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 2 above, further comprising: obtaining, by the terminal apparatus according to the indicator, the information of the system frame in which the preamble is received (See Jeon FIGs 46, 47, 48A, 48B; [0218], [0426]-[0435], [0439] – SFN indicating system frame in which preamble is received ([0435], [0437], [0439], [0452] – received SFN is same SFN as transmitted)).
RE Claim 5, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, further comprising:
Based on the information of the system frame in which the preamble is received being the same as information of a system frame in which the terminal apparatus sends the preamble, parsing, by the terminal apparatus, remaining information in a received RAR (See Jeon [0435], [0439] – if preamble information in response matches with preamble information the UE sends, decoding (parsing) the remaining information of the received RAR), wherein the information of the system frame in which the preamble is received is carried in the DCI scrambled by using the RA-RNTI (See Jeon [0378], [0426]-[0428]), and the DCI is in the received RAR (See Jeon [0378], [0426]-[0428]).
RE Claim 6, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein generating the RA-RNTI based on the RO comprises:
generating the RO according to:
RA-RNTI = 1 + s_id + 14 x t_id + 14 x K x f_id + 14 x K x 8 x ul_carrier_id, wherein s_id indicates a number of a start symbol of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= s_id<14, t_id indicates a number of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= t_id < 80; f_id indicates a number of the RO in a frequency domain, 0 <= f_id < 8; ul_carrier_id indicates an uplink carrier used by the RO, '0' indicates a normal uplink carrier, and '1' indicates a supplementary uplink carrier, and K is a parameter corresponding to a maximum value of the RAR receiving window; or
RA-RNTI = 1 + s_id + 14 x t_id + 14 x 80 x f_id + 14 x 80 x 8 x ul_carrier_id, wherein s_id indicates a number of a start symbol of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= s_id < 14, t_id indicates a number of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= t_id < 80, f_id indicates a number of the RO in a frequency domain, 0 <= f_id < 8, and ul_carrier_id indicates location information at which the network apparatus receives the preamble in the RAR receiving window (See Jeon [0226] – equation 1).
RE Claim 7, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein sending the preamble on the RO comprises:
sending the preamble in a subframe selected from a plurality of subframes in the system frame configured for the terminal apparatus (See Jeon FIGs 39, 40 – sending preamble in subframe of a plurality of subframes).
Jeon, modified by Islam, does not specifically disclose wherein the quantity of the plurality of subframes is less than 10.
However, since Jeon teaches of different configurations in terms of different numerologies and features of the number of slots, frames, etc… are configurable (See Jeon FIGs 39, 40), configuring the system such that the quantity of the plurality of subframes is less than 10 would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art. In re Launder, 42 CCPA 886, 222 F.2d 371, 105 USPQ 446 (1955); Flour City Architectural Metals v. Alpana Aluminum Products, Inc., 454 F. 2d 98, 172 USPQ 341 (8th Cir. 1972); National Connector Corp. v. Malco Manufacturing Co., 392 F.2d 766. 157 USPQ 401 (8th Cir.) cert. denied, 393 U.S. 923, 159 USPQ 799 (1968).
RE Claim 8, Jeon discloses a communications method, comprising:
receiving, by a network apparatus, a preamble from a terminal apparatus (See Jeon [0128], [0226] – receiving preamble on random access resource);
generating, by the network apparatus, a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) based on random access time-frequency resource (RO) in which the preamble is received (See Jeon [0391] – base station generating RA-RNTI based on random access resources preamble is received in); and
sending, by the network apparatus, an indicator wherein the indicator indicates (1) information of a system frame in which the preamble is received (See Jeon FIGs 46, 47, 48A, 48B; [0218], [0426]-[0435], [0439] – receiving indicator such as SFN indicating system frame in which preamble is received ([0435], [0439]); SFN indicator sent to terminal used to match with preamble SFN ([0437], [0452] – received SFN is same SFN as transmitted)); and
the indicator is carried in downlink control information (DCI) (See Jeon ‘869 [0108], [0128] - which can use different DCI formats) scrambled by using the RA-RNTI (See Jeon [0378], [0426]-[0428]).
Jeon does not specifically disclose the DCI being DCI 1_0; or
The indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window; or
Wherein the indicator comprises two bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window, wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms.
However, Islam teaches of DCI format 1_0 carrying indication information scrambled with RA-RNTI (See Islam [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the communication system which sends indication information of a system frame in a DCI which can use different DCI formats (See Jeon [0108], [0128]), as disclosed in Jeon, wherein the DCI is DCI 1_0, as taught in Islam. One is motivated as such in order to help generate correct configuration and improve communication quality (See Islam Background; Summary).
Jeon, modified by Islam, does not specifically disclose
The indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window; or
Wherein the indicator comprises two bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window, wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms.
However, Christoffersson teaches of
The indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window (See Christoffersson FIGs 4A, 4B; [0064]-[0065], [0168], [0186], [0188] – i.e. indicator indicating index (based on system frame being 10ms) of RAR transmitted in RAR window); and
Wherein the indicator comprises bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window (See Christoffersson FIGs 4A, 4B; [0064]-[0065], [0168], [0180], [0186]-[0188] – i.e. here, different t_ids are used for the same slot number depending the timing between the preamble transmission and the RAR transmission. The preamble transmitted by UE1 is indicated by a RA-RNTI using t_id=1 if the RAR is transmitted less or equal to 10 ms after the preamble transmission. If the RAR is transmitted more than 10 ms after the preamble transmission, it is indicated by a RA-RNTI using t_id=1+40), wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms (See Christoffersson FIGs 4A, 4B; [0064]-[0065], [0168], [0180], [0186]-[0188] – RAR window maximum can be extended to 40ms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the communication system which sends indication information of a system frame, as disclosed in Jeon, modified by Islam, wherein the indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window; and
Wherein the indicator comprises bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window, wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms, as taught in Christoffersson. One is motivated as such in order to reduce computational burden and radio resource usage (See Christoffersson Background; Summary).
Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, does not specifically disclose the indicator comprises two bits.
However, since Christoffersson teaches of the indicator indicating the receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window with respect to being representative of the positioning of the radio frame in a RAR window (i.e. Christoffersson [0191] – which shows 1 bit indicating two states (‘0’ and ‘1’) when the RAR window is 20ms (first 10ms + second 10ms)) as well as the RAR window length being 40ms (Christoffersson [0186]), having the indicator comprise two bits would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art. In re Launder, 42 CCPA 886, 222 F.2d 371, 105 USPQ 446 (1955); Flour City Architectural Metals v. Alpana Aluminum Products, Inc., 454 F. 2d 98, 172 USPQ 341 (8th Cir. 1972); National Connector Corp. v. Malco Manufacturing Co., 392 F.2d 766. 157 USPQ 401 (8th Cir.) cert. denied, 393 U.S. 923, 159 USPQ 799 (1968). In this case, a RAR window of 40ms would require at least 4 states (first 10ms + second 10ms + third 10ms + fourth 10ms) which traditionally would require at least two bits (i.e. “00”, “01”, “10”, “11”).
RE Claim 9, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 8 above, further comprising:
scrambling, by the network apparatus, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of the terminal apparatus by using the RA-RNTI (See Jeon [0378], [0426]-[0428]).
RE Claim 11, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 8 above, wherein generating the RA-RNTI based on the RO comprises:
generating the RO according to:
RA-RNTI = 1 + s_id + 14 x t_id + 14 x K x f_id + 14 x K x 8 x ul_carrier_id, wherein s_id indicates a number of a start symbol of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= s_id<14, t_id indicates a number of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= t_id < 80; f_id indicates a number of the RO in a frequency domain, 0 <= f_id < 8; ul_carrier_id indicates an uplink carrier used by the RO, '0' indicates a normal uplink carrier, and '1' indicates a supplementary uplink carrier, and K is a parameter corresponding to a maximum value of the RAR receiving window; or
RA-RNTI = 1 + s_id + 14 x t_id + 14 x 80 x f_id + 14 x 80 x 8 x ul_carrier_id, wherein s_id indicates a number of a start symbol of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= s_id < 14, t_id indicates a number of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= t_id < 80, f_id indicates a number of the RO in a frequency domain, 0 <= f_id < 8, and ul_carrier_id indicates location information at which the network apparatus receives the preamble in the RAR receiving window (See Jeon [0226] – equation 1).
RE Claim 12, Jeon discloses an apparatus, comprising:
At least one processor (See Jeon FIGs 1, 3); and
One or more memories storing program instructions (See Jeon FIGs 1, 3), the one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and the at least one processor configured to invoke the program instructions to configure the apparatus to:
send a preamble on a random access time-frequency resource (RO) (See Jeon [0128], [0226] – sending preamble on random access resource) after a Listen Before Talk (LBT) success (See Jeon FIG 32, [0239] – wireless device utilizing LBT);
generate a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) based on the RO (See Jeon [0128], [0226] – determine RA-RNTI based on random access resources), and
receive an indicator from a network apparatus, wherein the indicator indicates (1) information of a system frame in which the preamble is received (See Jeon FIGs 46, 47, 48A, 48B; [0218], [0426]-[0435], [0439] – receiving indicator such as SFN indicating system frame in which preamble is received ([0435], [0439]); SFN indicator sent to terminal used to match with preamble SFN ([0437], [0452] – received SFN is same SFN as transmitted)); and
the indicator is carried in downlink control information (DCI) (See Jeon ‘869 [0108], [0128] - which can use different DCI formats) scrambled by using the RA-RNTI (See Jeon [0378], [0426]-[0428]).
Jeon does not specifically disclose the DCI being DCI 1_0; or
The indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window; or
Wherein the indicator comprises two bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window, wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms.
However, Islam teaches of DCI format 1_0 carrying indication information scrambled with RA-RNTI (See Islam [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the communication system which sends indication information of a system frame in a DCI which can use different DCI formats (See Jeon [0108], [0128]), as disclosed in Jeon, wherein the DCI is DCI 1_0, as taught in Islam. One is motivated as such in order to help generate correct configuration and improve communication quality (See Islam Background; Summary).
Jeon, modified by Islam, does not specifically disclose
The indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window; or
Wherein the indicator comprises two bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window, wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms.
However, Christoffersson teaches of
The indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window (See Christoffersson FIGs 4A, 4B; [0064]-[0065], [0168], [0186], [0188] – i.e. indicator indicating index (based on system frame being 10ms) of RAR transmitted in RAR window); and
Wherein the indicator comprises bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window (See Christoffersson FIGs 4A, 4B; [0064]-[0065], [0168], [0180], [0186]-[0188] – i.e. here, different t_ids are used for the same slot number depending the timing between the preamble transmission and the RAR transmission. The preamble transmitted by UE1 is indicated by a RA-RNTI using t_id=1 if the RAR is transmitted less or equal to 10 ms after the preamble transmission. If the RAR is transmitted more than 10 ms after the preamble transmission, it is indicated by a RA-RNTI using t_id=1+40), wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms (See Christoffersson FIGs 4A, 4B; [0064]-[0065], [0168], [0180], [0186]-[0188] – RAR window maximum can be extended to 40ms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the communication system which sends indication information of a system frame, as disclosed in Jeon, modified by Islam, wherein the indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window; and
Wherein the indicator comprises bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window, wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms, as taught in Christoffersson. One is motivated as such in order to reduce computational burden and radio resource usage (See Christoffersson Background; Summary).
Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, does not specifically disclose the indicator comprises two bits.
However, since Christoffersson teaches of the indicator indicating the receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window with respect to being representative of the positioning of the radio frame in a RAR window (i.e. Christoffersson [0191] – which shows 1 bit indicating two states (‘0’ and ‘1’) when the RAR window is 20ms (first 10ms + second 10ms)) as well as the RAR window length being 40ms (Christoffersson [0186]), having the indicator comprise two bits would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art. In re Launder, 42 CCPA 886, 222 F.2d 371, 105 USPQ 446 (1955); Flour City Architectural Metals v. Alpana Aluminum Products, Inc., 454 F. 2d 98, 172 USPQ 341 (8th Cir. 1972); National Connector Corp. v. Malco Manufacturing Co., 392 F.2d 766. 157 USPQ 401 (8th Cir.) cert. denied, 393 U.S. 923, 159 USPQ 799 (1968). In this case, a RAR window of 40ms would require at least 4 states (first 10ms + second 10ms + third 10ms + fourth 10ms) which traditionally would require at least two bits (i.e. “00”, “01”, “10”, “11”).
RE Claim 13, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 12 above, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to invoke the program instructions to further configure the communications apparatus to:
detect the RAR in the RAR window according to the RA-RNTI and the information of the system frame in which the preamble is received (See Jeon FIGs 46, 47, 48A, 48B; [0426]-[0435], [0439] – using both RA-RNTI and SFN to receive and decode RAR).
RE Claim 14, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 13 above, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to invoke the program instructions to further configure the communications apparatus to:
obtain the information of the system frame in which the preamble is received according to the indicator (See Jeon FIGs 46, 47, 48A, 48B; [0218], [0426]-[0435], [0439] - SFN indicating system frame in which preamble is received ([0435], [0437], [0439], [0452] – received SFN is same SFN as transmitted)).
RE Claim 16, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 12 above, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to invoke the program instructions to further configure the communications apparatus to:
Based on the information of the system frame in which the preamble is received being the same as information of a system frame in which the UE sends the preamble, parse a remaining information in a received RAR (See Jeon [0435], [0439] – if preamble information in response matches with preamble information the UE sends, decoding (parsing) the remaining information of the received RAR), wherein the information of the system frame in which the preamble is received is carried in the DCI scrambled by using the RA-RNTI (See Jeon [0378], [0426]-[0428]), and the DCI is in the received RAR (See Jeon [0378], [0426]-[0428]).
RE Claim 17, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 12 above, wherein generating the RA-RNTI based on the RO comprises:
generating the RO according to:
RA-RNTI = 1 + s_id + 14 x t_id + 14 x K x f_id + 14 x K x 8 x ul_carrier_id, wherein s_id indicates a number of a start symbol of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= s_id<14, t_id indicates a number of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= t_id < 80; f_id indicates a number of the RO in a frequency domain, 0 <= f_id < 8; ul_carrier_id indicates an uplink carrier used by the RO, '0' indicates a normal uplink carrier, and '1' indicates a supplementary uplink carrier, and K is a parameter corresponding to a maximum value of the RAR receiving window; or
RA-RNTI = 1 + s_id + 14 x t_id + 14 x 80 x f_id + 14 x 80 x 8 x ul_carrier_id, wherein s_id indicates a number of a start symbol of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= s_id < 14, t_id indicates a number of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= t_id < 80, f_id indicates a number of the RO in a frequency domain, 0 <= f_id < 8, and ul_carrier_id indicates location information at which the network apparatus receives the preamble in the RAR receiving window (See Jeon [0226] – equation 1).
RE Claim 18, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 12 above, wherein the sending the preamble on the RO comprises:
sending the preamble in a subframe selected from a plurality of subframes in the system frame configured for the terminal apparatus (See Jeon FIGs 39, 40 – sending preamble in subframe of a plurality of subframes).
Jeon, modified by Islam, does not specifically disclose wherein the quantity of the plurality of subframes is less than 10.
However, since Jeon teaches of different configurations in terms of different numerologies and features of the number of slots, frames, etc… are configurable (See Jeon FIGs 39, 40), configuring the system such that the quantity of the plurality of subframes is less than 10 would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art. In re Launder, 42 CCPA 886, 222 F.2d 371, 105 USPQ 446 (1955); Flour City Architectural Metals v. Alpana Aluminum Products, Inc., 454 F. 2d 98, 172 USPQ 341 (8th Cir. 1972); National Connector Corp. v. Malco Manufacturing Co., 392 F.2d 766. 157 USPQ 401 (8th Cir.) cert. denied, 393 U.S. 923, 159 USPQ 799 (1968).
RE Claim 19, Jeon discloses an apparatus, comprising:
At least one processor (See Jeon FIGs 1, 3); and
One or more memories storing program instructions (See Jeon FIGs 1, 3), the one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and the at least one processor configured to invoke the program instructions to configure the apparatus to:
receive a preamble from a terminal apparatus (See Jeon [0128], [0226] – receiving preamble on random access resource);
generate a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) based on random access time-frequency resource (RO) in which the preamble is received (See Jeon [0391] – base station generating RA-RNTI based on random access resources preamble is received in); and
send an indicator, wherein the indicator indicates (1) information of a system frame in which the preamble is located (See Jeon FIGs 46, 47, 48A, 48B; [0218], [0426]-[0435], [0439] – receiving indicator such as SFN indicating system frame in which preamble is received ([0435], [0439]); SFN indicator sent to terminal used to match with preamble SFN ([0437], [0452] – received SFN is same SFN as transmitted)); and
the indicator is carried in downlink control information (DCI) (See Jeon ‘869 [0108], [0128] - which can use different DCI formats) scrambled by using the RA-RNTI (See Jeon [0378], [0426]-[0428]).
Jeon does not specifically disclose the DCI being DCI 1_0; or
The indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window; or
Wherein the indicator comprises two bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window, wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms.
However, Islam teaches of DCI format 1_0 carrying indication information scrambled with RA-RNTI (See Islam [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the communication system which sends indication information of a system frame in a DCI which can use different DCI formats (See Jeon [0108], [0128]), as disclosed in Jeon, wherein the DCI is DCI 1_0, as taught in Islam. One is motivated as such in order to help generate correct configuration and improve communication quality (See Islam Background; Summary).
Jeon, modified by Islam, does not specifically disclose
The indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window; or
Wherein the indicator comprises two bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window, wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms.
However, Christoffersson teaches of
The indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window (See Christoffersson FIGs 4A, 4B; [0064]-[0065], [0168], [0186], [0188] – i.e. indicator indicating index (based on system frame being 10ms) of RAR transmitted in RAR window); and
Wherein the indicator comprises bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window (See Christoffersson FIGs 4A, 4B; [0064]-[0065], [0168], [0180], [0186]-[0188] – i.e. here, different t_ids are used for the same slot number depending the timing between the preamble transmission and the RAR transmission. The preamble transmitted by UE1 is indicated by a RA-RNTI using t_id=1 if the RAR is transmitted less or equal to 10 ms after the preamble transmission. If the RAR is transmitted more than 10 ms after the preamble transmission, it is indicated by a RA-RNTI using t_id=1+40), wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms (See Christoffersson FIGs 4A, 4B; [0064]-[0065], [0168], [0180], [0186]-[0188] – RAR window maximum can be extended to 40ms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the communication system which sends indication information of a system frame, as disclosed in Jeon, modified by Islam, wherein the indicator indicates (2) a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window; and
Wherein the indicator comprises bits for indicating a receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window, wherein the RAR window has a maximum length of 40ms, as taught in Christoffersson. One is motivated as such in order to reduce computational burden and radio resource usage (See Christoffersson Background; Summary).
Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, does not specifically disclose the indicator comprises two bits.
However, since Christoffersson teaches of the indicator indicating the receiving status of the RA-RNTI within the RAR window with respect to being representative of the positioning of the radio frame in a RAR window (i.e. Christoffersson [0191] – which shows 1 bit indicating two states (‘0’ and ‘1’) when the RAR window is 20ms (first 10ms + second 10ms)) as well as the RAR window length being 40ms (Christoffersson [0186]), having the indicator comprise two bits would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art. In re Launder, 42 CCPA 886, 222 F.2d 371, 105 USPQ 446 (1955); Flour City Architectural Metals v. Alpana Aluminum Products, Inc., 454 F. 2d 98, 172 USPQ 341 (8th Cir. 1972); National Connector Corp. v. Malco Manufacturing Co., 392 F.2d 766. 157 USPQ 401 (8th Cir.) cert. denied, 393 U.S. 923, 159 USPQ 799 (1968). In this case, a RAR window of 40ms would require at least 4 states (first 10ms + second 10ms + third 10ms + fourth 10ms) which traditionally would require at least two bits (i.e. “00”, “01”, “10”, “11”).
RE Claim 20, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 19 above, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to invoke the program instructions to further configure the communications apparatus to:
Scramble a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of the terminal apparatus by using the RA-RNTI (See Jeon [0378], [0426]-[0428]).
RE Claim 22, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 19 above, wherein the generating the RA-RNTI based on the RO comprises:
generating the RO according to:
RA-RNTI = 1 + s_id + 14 x t_id + 14 x K x f_id + 14 x K x 8 x ul_carrier_id, wherein s_id indicates a number of a start symbol of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= s_id<14, t_id indicates a number of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= t_id < 80; f_id indicates a number of the RO in a frequency domain, 0 <= f_id < 8; ul_carrier_id indicates an uplink carrier used by the RO, '0' indicates a normal uplink carrier, and '1' indicates a supplementary uplink carrier, and K is a parameter corresponding to a maximum value of the RAR receiving window; or
RA-RNTI = 1 + s_id + 14 x t_id + 14 x 80 x f_id + 14 x 80 x 8 x ul_carrier_id, wherein s_id indicates a number of a start symbol of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= s_id < 14, t_id indicates a number of the first subframe occupied by the RO, 0 <= t_id < 80, f_id indicates a number of the RO in a frequency domain, 0 <= f_id < 8, and ul_carrier_id indicates location information at which the network apparatus receives the preamble in the RAR receiving window (See Jeon [0226] – equation 1).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US# 2022/0141869 hereinafter referred to as Jeon) in view of Islam et al. (US# 2020/0112984 hereinafter referred to as Islam), Christoffersson et al. (US# 2022/0078853 hereinafter referred to as Christoffersson), and Lu et al. (US# 2019/0029051 hereinafter referred to as Lu).
RE Claim 27, Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, does not specifically disclose further comprising: extracting, by the terminal apparatus, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the RAR based on the indicator.
However, Lu teaches of further comprising: extracting, by the terminal apparatus, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the RAR based on the indicator (See Lu [0007], [0011], [0171], [0180] – receiving RA information; determining PDCCH in RA response window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the communication system, as disclosed in Jeon, modified by Islam and Christoffersson, further comprising: extracting, by the terminal apparatus, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the RAR based on the indicator, as taught in Lu. One is motivated as such in order to reduce communication interference and power consumption (See Lu Background; Summary).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant's argument that Islam does not cure the deficiencies of Jeon ‘869, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant has argued that Islam only discloses a downlink control indicator (DCI) format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by a corresponding RA-RNTI, but does not disclose or suggest “an indicator is carried in DCI format 1_0”. The Examiner submits that Jeon ‘869 already teaches of an indicator that indicates a system frame in which the preamble is received and is carried in DCI and scrambled using the RA-RNTI. Islam is introduced to show that control information carried in DCI that is also scrambled using the RA-RNTI can be carried in DCI format 1_0. The Applicant has not shown how it would not be obvious to use DCI format 1_0 to communicate the “indicator” of Jeon ‘869 (that is already transmitted using DCI).
Regarding Applicant's argument that Christoffersson does not cure the deficiencies of Jeon ‘869 and Islam, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant has argued that Christoffersson does not teach an indicator indicating a period of time of 10 ms to which a random access (RAR) corresponding to the terminal apparatus belongs within an RAR window. The Examiner disagrees and submits that in Christoffersson, the t_id can be used to indicate the SFN (which can be 10ms) to which a RAR belongs within the RAR window (See at least Christoffersson [0180]-[0188] – t_id can be more than just t_id = 1 or t_id = 1+40, rather, t_id can = k or k+40 to represent any/all values up to 80 ([0187]); where t_id is used to indicate SFN ([0180])).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477