DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims of June 1, 2026, in response to the Office Action of January 30, 2026 are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
In view of the cancelation of claims as well as the filing and approval of a Terminal Disclaimer, the Double Patenting Rejections are withdrawn.
In view of the amendments to the claims, the examiner has added references that are of record and were applied in rejections to parent patents applications. The examiner notes that the excipient combinations including lactose monohydrate and HPMC is taught. More specifically, a formulation taught by the prior art includes 50% alpha-lactose monohydrate and 50% HPMC 4000 mPas. See slide p33, shown below. This combination is taught to be superior for multiple reasons. The remaining excipients and percentages of excipients are rendered obvious and/or are taught by the prior art. The examiner notes that obviousness is a sliding scale. Applicant overcame the cited prior art with narrowing amendments in each of the referenced allowed patents. See Interview Summary below.
Unexpected results have not been established.
Interview Summary and Suggestions for Allowance:
The examiner spoke with Dr. Tom Siepmann on multiple occasions and proposed an Amendment to the claims that can place this application in condition for allowance. The examiner is waiting for a response and will allow the instant claims if the product limitations can be made fully consistent in the instant claims with the allowed product claims in the parent patent claims. The distinction is that the instant claims are drawn to a salicylate salt form of claimed API. In particular, if Applicant were to incorporate the more limiting claim language of U.S. Pat. Nos. 10,610,488 or 11,648,206 into the instant claims set directed to colchicine salicylate, such claims would be allowed.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 6, 9-14, 16-19, 23, 28, 30, 31, 71, and 72 are pending. Claims 1, 6, 9-14, and 16-19 are withdrawn. Claims 23, 28, 30, 31, 71, and 72 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 28, 30, 31, 71, and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unsinn et al., “Familial Mediterranean fever- a case report,” Paiatr Padol 1992;27(4):105-107 Abstract, in view of Davis et al., (US2009/0170952), in view of Marcher, "Co-Processed Lactose-based excipients for Direct Compression," November 19, 2012 (cited in IDS), and Marcher, “Retalac, a new excipient for direct compression of sustained release formulations,” http://www.pharmtech.com/meggle, July 9, 2010 (i.e., “Marcher 2010”) (cited in IDS).
Unsinn teaches that colchicine-salicylate is a known salt form of colchicine used as a pharmaceutically active agent, including for chest pain. See Abstract. Unsinn teaches treating Familial Mediterranean Fever (FMF) with a single form of colchicine salt being colchicine-salicylate.
Unsinn does not teach the excipient combination with colchicine-salicylate.
Davis teaches a composition comprising colchicine, waxes, natural and synthetic gums as binders, including hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose (i.e., “hypromellose”) (par. 107), and lactose monohydrate (par. 115). Salts of colchicine are contemplated. See par. 42. The composition can be used to treat Familial Mediterranean Fever as a preferred condition as it is used in an example/embodiment. See par. 160. Further, the colchicine is present in an amount that comprises 0.6 mgA colchicine, wherein mgA means mg of active colchicine (par. 52). Dosage forms can also include 1/2 of the form for administration more times daily, wherein each dosage contains anywhere from 0.3 to 2.4 mgA daily (par. 160). Further, sustained release tablets are created by a coating process if desired (par. 138). One example of a tablet includes colchicine comprising about 0.6 mgA, lactose monohydrate, microcrystalline cellulose, magnesium stearate, and other excipients (par. 16). The blends are compressed to obtain a tablet (par. 23). Advantages to the composition taught by Davis include a low level of impurities, as well as minimizing the need for toxicity testing. Pregelatinized starch and sodium starch glycolate can be used (par. 16). Lubricants including PEG, magnesium stearate, polyethylene oxide, talc and others are taught (par. 111). They can be included in a concentration of 0.01 to 10 wt% (par. 112). Tableting process includes using granules that are wet, dry, milled, mixed with a disintegrant, and more. See par. 23. Davis also teaches salicylic salts forms to be acceptable. See par. 56. Stearic acid is taught as a lubricant. See par. 111.
One embodiment teaches 0.6 mg colchicine (API) 0.6%, pregelatinized starch (disintegrant and filler) 12-16%, microcrystalline cellulose (disintegrant and filler) 20-24%, sodium starch glycolate (disintegrant and filler) 3.9-4.7%, magnesium stearate (lubricant) 0.5-0.7%, and lactose monohydrate (filler). See par. 16. PVP is also an acceptable agent, described by the instant application as a granulating agent.
The examiner acknowledges that some picking and choosing of well-known excipients is required to arrive at the claimed excipient combinations. However, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” Id. Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is…a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Davis teaches colchicine wherein a single dose provides a Cmax of 1.3 ng/mL and 4 ng/mL (par. 20). Further, peak concentrations generally occur in 0.5 to 2 hours (par. 11). David also teaches an immediate release formulation that releases an amount of at least 75% of the active ingredient within one hour of administration (par. 41). Further, AUC0-T occurs between 4.4 ng-hr/mL and 30.8 ng-hr/mL (par. 20). As such, a person having ordinary skill in the art could easily optimize a concentration of colchicine, which would result in the claimed Cmax, AUC0-T, and blood plasma concentrations that are claimed. According to M.P.E.P. § 2144.05, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Even if the ranges do not overlap- “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). This is particularly the case because each of the claimed agents are taught and known to be result-effective variables for a particular purpose.
Davis does not teach a specific combination of HPMC and lactose monohydrate, wherein the HPMC has a viscosity of 4000 mPas.
Marcher explains that a formulation comprising superior properties was created by combining two excipients. One formulation comprises 50% alpha-lactose monohydrate and 50% HPMC 4000 mPas. See slide p33, shown below.
Further, the benefits of the excipient combination are explained on slide 49, shown below.
This combination is a sustained release formulation. See slide p28. Among advantages of Retalac include enabling direct compression of sustained release tablets, improved wetability of HPMC, defined and adjustable release profiles, good flowability, minimal friability, superior compressibility to physical mixture. See slide p49. Further, while some APIs are tested in the excipient formulations taught by Marcher, the excipient combination is not API dependent. See slides pp 29-35.
Even further, Marcher (2010) explains lactose and HPMC are well known commonly used excipients. To overcome a tendency of HPMC to segregate and have limited flowability, a new excipient with equal parts co-processed lactose monohydrate and HPMC. The product as a result of the excipient combination demonstrates “superior functionality.”
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant application to arrive at the claimed products in view of Unsinn, Davis, Marcher and Marcher2010. One would be motivated to do so because Davis teaches each of the claimed excipients with the claimed API and includes teachings that describe the well-known and result-effective nature and function of each excipient. Further, Davis teaches known salt forms to be unlimited and include the salicylate form while Unsinn teaches colchicine-salicylate as a known salt form of colchicine. Even further, a combination of equal parts lactose monohydrate and HPMC with a claimed viscosity is taught to provide an enhanced benefit. Each reference teaches treating Familial Mediterranean Fever. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed products in view of the cited prior art and optimizing the concentrations of known result effective variables as well as using functional equivalents to obtain the taught and readily modifiable release profile.
As such, no claim is allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JARED D. BARSKY whose telephone number is (571)-272-2795. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 8:30 to 5:30. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Amy L. Clark can be reached on 571-272-1310. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628