DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to the amendment received 3/30/2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the claim objections set forth in the previous office action.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112(b)/second paragraph rejections set forth in the previous office action except for claim 5.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “the vein” to -a vein- in ll. 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “a material harmless to the human body” to -the material harmless to the human body- or -a second material harmless to the human body- in ll. 3 since “a material harmless to a human body” is already recited in claim 1, ll. 21. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-8 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “without an intervening irrigation membrane” in ll. 6 which is regarded as a negative limitation and new matter. The originally filed disclosure states: “a RF ablation electrode 28 for RF ablation formed on a surface of a body part 24” and “RF energy for performing RF ablation is supplied to the RF ablation electrode 28 through an electrode wire that is spirally wrapped around a surface of the catheter”. Thus, the originally filed disclosure fails to disclose the ablation electrodes “directly contacting the surface without an intervening irrigation membrane”. See MPEP 2173.05(i).
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a sensing electrode wire…is a solid silver wire”. The originally filed disclosure states only that the sensing electrode wire is a “silver wire”. Thus, the originally filed disclosure fails to provide support for the sensing electrode wire to be a “sold silver wire”.
Claims 3-8 & 11 depend from claim 1 and are thus also rejected.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “in order to measure a temperature of the one or more ablation electrodes or the one or more sensing electrodes, two strands of a thermocouple wire are spirally wrapped…” in ll. 1-3. The originally filed disclosure states: “According to an exemplary embodiment, an electrode wire connected to the ablation electrode may be a silver wire which is spirally wrapped around the catheter and covered with a material harmless to the human body. According to an exemplary embodiment, in order to measure the temperature of the electrode, two strands of a thermocouple wire may be spirally wrapped around the catheter from the proximal part to the distal part while being wound together.” and “The electrode wire is a wire configured to supply RF energy…. The thermocouple wire is for measuring the temperature around the electrode.” The originally filed disclosure only discusses the thermocouple measuring a temperature of the one or more ablation electrodes, not the one or more sensing electrodes. Thus, the originally filed disclosure fails to disclose the ablation electrodes fails to provide support for: “in order to measure a temperature of the … the one or more sensing electrodes
Claims 1, 3-8 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the term “soft” in ll. 4. The term “soft” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “soft” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Thus, “the body made of a soft material” is regarded as indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “exposed surface of the body” in ll. 5-6, “outer surface of the body” in ll. 11 and “a surface of the body” in ll. 18. It is unclear if the “outer surface”, the “exposed surface”, and the “surface” are the same as or different from one another. For purposes of examination, they will all be interpreted as the same.
Claims 3-8 & 11 depend from claim 1 and are thus also rejected.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the one or more ablation electrodes is a coil-type ablation electrode comprising a continuous wound wire which is wound in a shape of a coil around the body to improve flexibility”; however, claim 1, upon which claim 5 depends, recites the limitation “the one or more ablation electrodes are spirally wrapped around a surface of the catheter body and directly contacting the surface”. It is unclear how claim 5 further limits claim 1 since claim 1 already recites the ablation electrode as being spirally wrapped around and directly contacting the outer surface of the body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaer et al. (2003/0060822, previously cited) in view of Bourang et al. (2002/0173835, previously cited), Schaer (5,782,760, previously cited) and Champeau (6,208,881, previously cited).
Concerning claims 1 & 3¸as illustrated in at least Fig. 7, Schaer et al. ‘822 disclose a catheter for treatment of atrial fibrillation of a heart (ablation member 12c; [0142]), the catheter comprising:
a body (comprised of elongated body 16, porous membrane 58c, braided structure 76c, and end cap 64; [0072], [0094], [0142]) which has one or more ablation electrodes formed on a distal part of the body made of a soft material having a diameter of 4 to 6 French, wherein the one or more ablation electrodes are spirally wrapped around an exposed surface of the catheter body and directly contacting the surface without an intervening irrigation membrane (helical wire electrode(s) 52c are placed about the braided structure 76c and porous membrane 58c, where the braided structure 76c and/or porous membrane 58c are “soft” as compared to diamond and has an outer diameter of about 0.068”, where helical wire electrode(s) 52c are wrapped around and directly contacting the surface of porous membrane 58c, and thus have no intervening irrigation membrane between the porous membrane 58c and the electrode 52c; [0103], [0143]; ); and
a tapered tip which is connected to the body and becomes thinner toward an end thereof, wherein a guidewire lumen is formed in the body and fluidly connects to the tapered tip (end cap 64 has a tapering shape which decreases in diameter distally and has a port which aligns with the distal end of the guidewire tube 34; [0094]);
wherein the guidewire lumen is configured to insert a guidewire therein (distal port 67 is sized to receive a guidewire over which the elongated body 16 and the ablation member 12 track where the port, thus, allows the guidewire to pass through the end cap 64; [0099]);
Schaer et al. ‘822 fail to disclose the guidewire lumen fluidly connected to both the tip and outer surface of the body part proximal to the one or more ablation electrodes at a side hole formed in a side surface of an intermediate portion of the catheter body to facilitate monorail-type guidewire exchange during access to the vein of Marshall and connected from the end of the tip toward a proximal part of the catheter. However, Bourang et al. disclose a catheter comprising a guidewire lumen connected to the tip and outer surface of the body part proximal to the one or more ablation electrodes at a side hole formed in a side surface of an intermediate portion of the catheter body capable of facilitating monorail-type guidewire exchange during access to the vein of Marshall and connected from the end of the tip toward a proximal part of the catheter. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Schaer et al. ‘822 such that the guidewire lumen fluidly connected to both the tip and outer surface of the body part proximal to the one or more ablation electrodes at a side hole formed in a side surface of an intermediate portion of the catheter body to facilitate monorail-type guidewire exchange during access to the vein of Marshall and connected from the end of the tip toward a proximal part of the catheter in order to provide the benefit of reducing the overall profile of the catheter and providing short and side exchange capabilities of the catheter as taught by Bourang et al. and since Bourang et al. teach termination of the lumen at the proximal end or a side port to be equivalents in the art for the purposes of guiding the catheter. ([0012])
Schaer et al. ‘822 in view of Bourang et al. fail to disclose one or more sensing electrodes spaced apart from the one or more ablation electrodes and configured to sense an electrical signal of the heart formed on a surface of the body and a sensing electrode wire connected to the sensing electrode. However, Schaer ‘760 disclose a catheter comprising one or more sensing electrodes (18) which are spaced apart from the ablation electrode (70) and configured to sense an electrical signal of the heart and formed on a surface of the body part (11) and a sensing electrode wire (16) connected to the sensing electrode (18) (Col. 5, ll. 11-30; Fig. 13-16). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Schaer et al. ‘822 in view of Bourang et al. to further comprise one or more sensing electrodes which are spaced apart from the ablation electrode and configured to sense an electrical signal of the heart are formed on a surface of the body part and a sensing electrode wire connected to the sensing electrode in order to provide the benefit of detecting electrical activity of the patient’s heart from within the blood vessel to ensure accurate placement and effective lesion formation as taught by Schaer ‘760. (Col. 2-3, ll. 45-4, Col. 7, ll. 12-21; Fig. 17-18)
Schaer et al. ‘822 in view of Bourang et al. and Schaer ‘760 fail to disclose the sensing electrode wire is a solid silver wire configured to provide physical straightness and pushability to the catheter body which is spirally wrapped around the catheter and covered with a material harmless to the human body. However, Champeau discloses a catheter (10) comprising an sensing electrode wire (18-26) connected to a sensing electrode (30, 32, 34, 36, 38) to be a solid silver wire configured to provide physical straightness and pushability to the catheter body since it is an additional layer on the catheter body which is spirally wrapped around the catheter (10) and covered with a material harmless (insulative coating) to the human body. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Schaer et al. ‘822 in view of Bourang et al. and Schaer ‘760 such that the sensing electrode wire is a solid silver wire configured to provide physical straightness and pushability to the catheter body which is spirally wrapped around the catheter and covered with a material harmless to the human body in order to provide the benefit of a suitable material and a small diameter catheter body as taught by Champeau. (Col. 4-5, ll. 66-21)
Concerning claim 4, Schaer et al. ‘822 disclose the tip (64) has an atraumatic tip structure in which an edge of an end of the tip has a round shape so that, when the catheter is inserted along a blood vessel, damage to the blood vessel does not occur (Fig. 7). Schaer et al. ‘822 fail to specifically disclose the tip is tapered. However, in an alternative embodiment of Fig. 2-3, an end cap (64) that has a tapering atraumatic tip. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Schaer et al. ‘822 in view of Bourang et al. and Schaer ‘760 such that the tip is a tapered atraumatic tip in order to provide the benefit of decreasing the diameter distally in order to provide the benefit of easier tracking through a venous or arterial access path as taught by Schaer et al. ‘822 ([0094], [0145]; Fig. 2-3)
Concerning claim 5, Schaer et al. ‘822 disclose the one or more ablation electrodes (52c) is a coil-type ablation electrode comprising a continuous wound wire which is wound in the shape of a coil around the body (11) to improve flexibility ([0103], [0106]).
Concerning claim 6, Schaer et al. ‘822 disclose an electrode wire (54) connected to the one or more ablation electrodes (52) ([0105]). Schaer et al. ‘822 in view of Bourang et al., Schaer ‘760 and Champeau fail to disclose the electrode wire is a silver wire which is spirally wrapped around the body and covered with a material harmless to the human body. However, Champeau discloses a catheter (10) comprising an electrode wire (18-26) connected to an electrode (30, 32, 34, 36, 38) to be a silver wire which is spirally wrapped around the catheter (10) and covered with a material harmless (insulative coating) to the human body. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Schaer et al. ‘822 in view of Bourang et al., Schaer ‘760 and Champeau such that the electrode wire is a silver wire which is spirally wrapped around the catheter body and covered with a material harmless to the human body in order to provide the benefit of a suitable material and a small diameter catheter body as taught by Champeau. (Col. 4-5, ll. 66-21)
Concerning claim 11, Schaer ‘760 further disclose the sensing electrode (18) has a smaller width than the ablation electrode (70) (Fig. 17).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaer et al. (2003/0060822) in view of Bourang et al. (2002/0173835, previously cited), Schaer (5,782,760, previously cited) and Champeau (6,208,881, previously cited), as applied to claim 1, in further view Maguire et al. (5,755,760, previously cited).
Concerning claim 7, Schaer et al. ‘822/Bourang et al./Schaer ‘760/Champeau combination fail to disclose wherein, in order to measure a temperature of the one or more ablation electrodes or the one or more sensing electrodes, two strands of a thermocouple wire from a proximal part to the distal part. However, Maguire et al. disclose a catheter comprising a thermocouple(s) for measuring temperature(s) of adjacent electrode(s). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Schaer et al. ‘822/Bourang et al./Schaer ‘760/Champeau combination to further comprise a thermocouple in order to measure a temperature of the one or more ablation electrodes or the one or more sensing electrodes in order to provide the benefit of measuring electrode temperature and regulating power applied to the electrode as taught by Maguire et al. (Col. 2, ll. 17-26, Col. 5, ll. 8-19). The Schaer et al. ‘822/Bourang et al./Schaer ‘760/Champeau/Maguire combination fail to specifically disclose the two strands of the thermocouple wire are spirally wrapped around the catheter body from the proximal part to the distal part while being wound together. However, Champeau teaches spirally wrapping sensing wires around the catheter from the proximal part to the distal part while being wound together. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Schaer et al. ‘822/Bourang et al./Schaer ‘760/Champeau/Maguire combination such that the two strands of the thermocouple wire are spirally wrapped around the catheter body from the proximal part to the distal part while being wound together in order to provide the benefit a small diameter catheter body as taught by Champeau. (Col. 4-5, ll. 66-21)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaer et al. (2003/0060822, previously cited) in view of Bourang et al. (2002/0173835, previously cited), Schaer (5,782,760, previously cited) and Champeau (6,208,881, previously cited), as applied to claim 7, in further view of Thermocouple Info (Wayback Machine 2014, previously cited).
Concerning claim 8, Schaer/Bourang et al./Champeau/Maguire et al. combination fails to disclose one of the thermocouple wire is a nickel-chromium wire that is harmless to the human body, and a second strand of the thermocouple wire is a nickel-alumel wire that is harmless to the human body. However, Thermocouple Info teaches that Type K thermocouples are the most common type of thermocouple and are comprised of nickel-chromium and nickel-alumel wires. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Schaer/Bourang et al./Champeau/Maguire et al. combination such that one of the thermocouple wire is a nickel-chromium wire that is harmless to the human body, and the second strand of the thermocouple wire is a nickel-alumel wire that is harmless to the human body in order to provide the benefit of a thermocouple that is inexpensive, accurate, reliable, and has a wide temperature range as taught by Thermocouple Info.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17/385937 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that “coil-type” in claim 5 refers to the manufacturing form, the Examiner notes that this then makes the claim a “product-by-process” claim (see MPEP 2113), and since the electrode is already recited as “spirally wrapped”, it is unclear how claim 5 further defines claim 1, either implicitly or explicitly. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Schaer fails to teach the negative limitation of “without an intervening irrigation membrane”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees since the “body” is defined as all of the following: comprised of elongated body 16, porous membrane 58c, braided structure 76c, and end cap 64. Thus, since the “porous membrane 58c” is a part of the body, the electrode is directly contacting the outer surface of the porous membrane 58c and there is no “intervening irrigation membrane”.
The Examiner notes that the claims fail to recite the body is a unitary structure of one single material.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Champeau teaches thin metallic film sensing wires that are specifically designed to avoid impacting flexibility, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Champeau teaches the electrodes being designed to avoid impacting flexibility and makes no mention of the conductor wires being designed to avoid impacting flexibility in, specifically in Col. 4-5, ll. 66-17 that discusses the conductor wires. Further, the Examiner notes that any additional layer on the catheter probe body contributes to physical properties of the catheter itself, and thus, the helically wound conductor contributes to the physical straightness and pushability of the catheter body.
The Examiner notes that the claims fail to state any relationship between the sensing electrode wire and the catheter body physical straightness and pushability with respect to a force applied to the catheter body.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Schaer fails to disclose the claimed catheter body diameter of “4 to 6” French, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as Schaer specifically teaches: “the membrane 58 is formed of a tubular extrusion of this material which has … an outer diameter of about 0.068 inch for applications involving ablation of myocardial tissue via an arterial or venous access path” ([0089]), where the “membrane 58” is taken to be part of the catheter body.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAYMI E DELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
JAYMI E. DELLA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3794