DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-21 and 34 were previously cancelled and claims 37-41 remain withdrawn. The current response amended claims 22 and 42; thus, claims 22-33, 35-36, and 42 are pending and considered in the present Office action.
The 102 and 103 rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment; however, upon further consideration a new ground of rejection is necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection(s) has/have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously applied reference (Coakley); the shroud and shear wall are interpreted differently in Coakley than previously presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-24, 26-28, 30, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Coakley et al. (US 2016/0073506), hereinafter Coakley.
Regarding Claim 22, Coakley suggests a battery system comprising: a shroud (see e.g., insulation 150 (of 130) in section 350 of Fig. 3B, see also annotated Fig. 4A and [0116]) coupled to one end of a plurality of battery cells (see e.g., 150a in Fig. 1F, see also Fig. 4A) to maintain the plurality of battery cells (100) in an arrangement (see Figs. 1F, 3B, 4A); and a shear wall comprising: a structure (i.e., insulation 150 (of 130) in section 360 between insulation 150 of sections 350 and 355, see Figs. 3B, and annotated Fig. 4A, and [0116]), having an inside surface (see labelled insulation 150(150b) in annotated Fig. 1F), facing the plurality of battery cells, and an opposite outside surface (see label in annotated Fig. 1F), configured to provide support to the shroud and the arrangement of the plurality of battery cells (see Figs. 1F, 3B, 4A); and a plurality of conductive traces (e.g., 310, 320, etc., of 140 (of 130) in section 360, see Fig. 3B), wherein at least one conductive trace (i.e., 140) is affixed (via adhesive, [0083-0084]) to the outside surface of the structure (see 140a on an outside surface of 150a in annotated Fig. 1F), and wherein each conductive trace (e.g., 310 of 140) is electrically connected to one of a plurality of busbars (e.g., 142a, 142b, etc., of 140, see Figs. 3A, 3B).
Regarding Claims 23-24, Coakley suggests the structure (insulation 150 in section 360 between insulation 150 of sections 350 and 355, see Fig. 3B and [0116]) is arranged along a lateral side of the shroud (150 in section 350 of Fig. 3B, see Fig. 4A), and the shear wall (insulation 150 in section 360 between insulation 150 of sections 350 and 355, see Fig. 3B) is oriented perpendicular to the shroud (150 in section 350 of Fig. 3B, see Fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 26, Coakley teaches the plurality of battery cells (100) each comprise a terminal (e.g., in opening 155 of the shroud (insulation 150), see [0082] and Figs. 1B-1D, 1F) at the one end; and the plurality of busbars (e.g., 142a, 142b, 142c, etc., of 140) are electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells via the terminals at the one end (e.g., via pads 160), see also terminals 515 shown in Figs. 5G, 7A, 7D, 7C, and [0080-0092].
Regarding Claim 27, Coakley teaches each of the plurality of conductive traces (e.g., 310) comprises a first terminal (labelled in annotated Fig. 3A) electrically connected to a respective busbar (e.g., 142a, 142b, etc., see Fig. 3A), and wherein the plurality of busbars (i.e., 142a, 142b, etc.) are electrically coupled to the plurality of battery cells (100, via terminal/pad 160, see e.g., Figs. 3A-3B, 1B-1D, 1F, 5A, 7A-7D, and [0082, 0088]).
Regarding Claim 28, Coakley teaches the structure (150 in section 360) comprises a plurality of extensions (see label in annotated Fig. 3A), each comprising a conductive pad (see label in annotated Fig. 3A) coupled to a respective first terminal of the plurality of conductive traces (e.g., 310) and wherein each conductive pad is electrically coupled to a respective busbar of the plurality of busbars (e.g., 142a).
Regarding Claim 30, Coakley teaches each of the plurality of conductive traces (e.g., 310) comprises a second terminal (labelled “2nd terminal” in annotated Fig. 3A), the battery system further comprising: processing equipment (e.g., wire harnessing, fuses, etc., [0112]) electrically coupled to the second terminals of the plurality of conductive traces.
Regarding Claim 36, Coakley teaches the plurality of conductive traces (e.g., 310) comprises copper [0089] tracks bonded to the structure (i.e., 140 bonded to 150 via adhesive, [0083-0084]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coakley in view of Brown et al. (US 20170077487), hereinafter Brown.
Regarding Claim 25, Coakley teaches, in the arrangement, the plurality of battery cells are all oriented perpendicular to the shroud and the plurality of battery cells comprises a plurality of cylindrical battery cells, see e.g., Figs, and [0026, 0080]. Coakley does not disclose the cells are arranged hexagonal close packed. However, Brown teaches the arrangement comprises a hexagonal close-pack arrangement to achieve maximum packing density, [0247]. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the cells hexagonally close packed to maximize packing density.
Claim(s) 29, 31-33, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coakley in view of Ma et al. (US 2012/0225327), hereinafter Ma.
Regarding Claim 29, Coakley does not teach each of the first terminals is electrically connected to the respective busbar by a welded connection. However, Coakley teaches welding is a well known technique in the art to establish an electrical connection, see e.g., [0136]. Further, Ma teaches using welding to connect the first terminal (654C) of the trace to copper sheets connected to the terminals 204, 208 of the battery, thereby connecting the connector 204 to the terminals 204, 206 of the cells, [0104]. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art the first terminals (of the traces 310) are electrically connected to the busbar (142a, 142b, etc.) by a welding connection, as suggested by Coakley and Ma, with the expectation of establishing an electric connection between the cells, busbar, trace and connector.
Regarding Claim 31, Coakley teaches housing 402 includes openings to pass electric current/signals outside the battery pack through connector 450 which is connected to a wire harness, see e.g., [0123]; further, traces 310 (of 140) connect to the wire harness through points 330 (second terminals), see e.g., [0112]. Since traces 310 of 140 are on the shear wall (insulation 150 in section 360 between insulation 150 of sections 350 and 355, see Fig. 3B) which connects to the wire harness through connector 450 via the holes in the housing, Coakley suggests the shear wall comprises an electrical connector (e.g., 450) connected to processing equipment (e.g., wire harness, [0123]). Coakley does not teach the electrical connector comprising respective pins coupled to each of the respective second terminals, thereby electrically connecting the processing equipment to the second terminals via the connector. However, Ma teaches the circuit board 400A includes a connector 208 having pins coupled to second terminals of the conductive traces (i.e., conductive pathways, tracks, signa traces etched from copper sheets laminated on the non-conductive substrate, [0112]-[0113]), thereby connecting the processing equipment (e.g., battery management unit of electronic device 802, Fig. 8A-8B) to the second terminals via the connector, see e.g., [0092-0094] Fig. 6A, 6C, 7, to monitor the voltage of the battery cells, see also [0043-0046, 0048, 0057, 0062, 0072-0073, 0075-0094]. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art the electrical connector of Coakley includes pins couple to each of the second terminals, thereby electrically connecting the processing equipment to the second terminals via the connector, so that the voltage of the batteries can be monitored.
Regarding Claim 32, Coakley teaches the circuit (130) includes voltage monitoring traces (310) connected to processing equipment (e.g., wire harness), see e.g., [0024, 0110-112]); thus, Coakley suggest the processing equipment is configured to measure voltages of respective busbars (142a, 142b, etc.) based on the plurality of conductive traces (310).
Regarding Claims 33 and 42, Coakley teaches the plurality of conductive traces 310 is a plurality of first conductive traces, and a second conductive trace (e.g., 320) on the structure (150, Fig. 3A-3B) and electrically connected to a temperature sensor, [0110]. Further, Coakley suggest the traces 320 may be useful for a thermistor, thereby suggesting the temperature sensor is a thermistor, [0112]. Coakley does not teach the second conductive trace and temperature sensor are embedded in the structure. However, Ma teaches a thermistor detecting unit can be embedded inside the battery such that they are hidden after the battery is airproofed; further, pins of the connector 208 are connected to the thermistor via circuitry, thereby receiving the battery cell temperature readings detected by the thermistor, [0115]. Ma further discloses board 400A includes recessed channels such that circuitry may be placed in the channels, thereby allowing the circuity to not protrude from the surface of board 400A, thereby allowing a relatively flat board which can readily be airproofed, [0075]. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art the temperature sensor is a thermistor, with the expectation of detecting the temperature of the battery. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art the thermistor and all circuitry (traces) related thereto are embedded in the board so as to not protrude from the surface of the board, thereby allowing the board to be relatively flat, which can be readily airproofed, as suggested by Ma.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coakley in view of Singleton et al. (US 2008/0160397), hereinafter Singleton.
Regarding Claim 35, Coakley discloses the insulating layer 150 is made from resin, i.e., polyimide, polyamide, PET, etc., [0084], but does not disclose the material is flame resistant glass epoxy laminate. However, Singleton teaches the board 10 comprising the conductive traces 13 is made from plastics (i.e., polyamide, PET) or a flame retardant laminate of glass reinforced epoxy resin (e.g., FR-4), which is conventionally known, and able to stabilize the battery and circuit components 20, [0031]. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art the insulating layer of Coakley is made of a flame resistant glass epoxy laminate, with the expectation of providing stability to the batteries and circuit components. Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA KOROVINA/Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729