Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/31/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-22, 25, 27-28, and 30-31 remain pending in the application. Claims 7 and 9-22 are withdrawn. New grounds of rejections necessitated by amendments are discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 25, 27-28, 30- 31 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “the transfer wall configured to be in intimate contact with an entire side of the vessel, the transfer wall configured to be disposed between and separate the external wall and the entire side of the vessel” (emphasis added) in lines 10-12. The specification describes “a transfer element 346 of the carrier 340 is in intimate contact with the transfer wall 322 of the box 310” (paragraph [0119]) and Figs. 7-9 shows a side of vessel 20 in contact with transfer element 346. the disclosure fails to describe “the transfer wall configured to be in intimate contact with an entire side of the vessel, the transfer wall configured to be disposed between and separate the external wall and the entire side of the vessel”. Additionally, applicant has not pointed out where the new claim limitation is supported (Remarks filed 08/31/2026). See MPEP 2163.04 (I). Therefore, the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 2, 4-6, and 25, 27-28, 30- 31 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “A carrier for receiving a vessel, the carrier comprising: a body including a closure wall and an external wall with a well defined therebetween….the body including a pad…and a transfer wall defining and closing one side of the well, the transfer wall in intimate contact with the external wall when the well is closed, the transfer wall configured to be in intimate contact with an entire side of the vessel…”. The disclosure describes separate embodiments of a carrier (paragraph [0026]; Figs. 7-9) and a box assembly (paragraph [0030]; Figs. 4-6), which appears to be mutually exclusive. Regarding the carrier embodiment, the specification, paragraphs [0094]-[0096] and Figs. 7-9 describe a carrier 340 that defines well 342 to receive vessel 20, and the carrier 340 includes a thermal energy transfer element 346 positioned on one side of the well 342. Regarding the embodiment of the box assembly, the specification, paragraphs [0093]-[0097], and Figs. 5-6 describes box 310 including closure wall 352 hingedly secured to transfer wall 322, the walls defining a chamber 330 configured to receive a carrier 340; the box 310 including a pad 358 attached to closure wall 352. However, the disclosure fails to describe an embodiment of a “carrier” comprising both “a body including a closure wall and an external wall…and a pad” AND “a transfer wall…”. Additionally, claim 1 recites “a closure wall and an external wall that define a well therebetween…and a transfer wall defining and closing one side of the well, the transfer wall in intimate contact with the external wall when the well is closed…, the transfer wall configured to be disposed between the external wall and the entire side of the vessel”. The specification, paragraph [0097], and Figs. 4-6 teaches a closure wall 352 and transfer wall 322 that define a chamber 330 therebetween, where the closure wall 352 and transfer wall 322 are hingedly secured by hinge 355. The specification, paragraphs [0026], discloses “an external wall of the body” and paragraph [0028] discloses a “transfer element may be configured to be in intimate contact with the external wall of the box”. However, the disclosure fails to describe the “carrier” having both an “external wall” and a “transfer wall”, which define and close one side of the well. Therefore, the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. It is suggested to use consistent and corresponding terminology in the claims as the disclosure in order to ensure proper written description of the claimed elements (e.g. box 310, chamber 330, closure wall 352, transfer wall 322, carrier 340, vessel 20, pad 358, transfer element 346). Additionally, if claim 1 is directed towards the disclosed embodiment of a “carrier”, it is suggested to include elements of the carrier and remove the elements of the “box 310” (e.g. closure wall; external wall; pad); further, it is suggested to incorporate a new claim that recites a combination of the disclosed box that includes the carrier of claim 1 if applicant desires to claim a box assembly including both a body including a closure wall and external wall AND the carrier of claim 1. Claims 2, 4-6, and 25, 27-28, 30- 31 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on all of the limitations and the written description issues of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 6, 25, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shavit et al. (US 20190336660 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shavit teaches a carrier (abstract; Figs. 1-5, dry thawing chamber 200) for receiving a vessel (abstract, [0123], and Figs. 1-5 teach the dry thawing chamber 200 receiving biological substance 602 within enclosure 604, i.e. vessel), the carrier comprising:
a body including (Figs. 1A-1B, chamber frame 202, first heating assembly 400 and second heating assembly 500) a closure wall (Figs. 1-5, cover 512 of second heating assembly 500) and an external wall (Figs. 1-5, second assembly frame 406 and heater 408 of first heating assembly 400) with a well defined therebetween (Figs. 1-2 teach a cavity 304, i.e. well, defined between cover 512 and second assembly frame 406 and heater 408 where bag 606 is placed; Fig. 2B, cavity 304), the closure wall (Figs. 1-5, cover 512 of second heating assembly 500) hingedly secured to the external wall (Figs. 2B-2D teach door 302 includes second heating assembly 500, which is pivotably mounted to chamber frame 202, wherein frame 202 includes second assembly frame 406 and heater 408 of first heating assembly 400; therefore, cover 512 is hingedly secured to second assembly frame 406 and heater 408 via at least frame 202 as shown in Figs. 2A-2B) such that the well is selectively closeable between the closure wall and the external wall (Figs. 2A-2B), the well sized and dimensioned to receive a vessel including media therein (Figs. 2A-2B, [0132] teach cavity 304 dimensioned to accommodate bag assembly 600; [0123] teaches bag assembly 600 includes a biological substance 602 and [0254] teaches enclosed biological substance, such as blood plasma), the body including a pad separate from and attached to the closure wall (Fig. 4 and [0138] teaches heat cushion 504, i.e. pad, that is separate from and attached to cover 512, i.e. closure wall, when assembled as shown in Figs. 1A-2B), the pad configured to urge the vessel towards the external wall of the body to enhance thermal energy transfer into or out of the media within the vessel through material of the external wall (interpreted as a functional limitation of the pad, see MPEP 2114; Figs. 1-2 and [0132] teaches heat cushion 504 contacting bag assembly 600 in the closed position; therefore, heat cushion 504, i.e. pad, is structurally capable of urging the vessel, i.e. enclosure 604 of bag assembly 600, towards the external wall of the body, i.e. second assembly frame 406 and heater 408 of first heating assembly 400, to enhance thermal energy transfer into or out of the media within the vessel through material of the external wall when the chamber door 302 is closed as shown in Fig. 2B), the external wall (Figs. 1-5, second assembly frame 406 and heater 408 of first heating assembly 400) configured to conduct thermal energy into or out of the media within the vessel (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0136] teaches heater 408 generates heat in response to electric current, and can conduct heat to the exterior surface of cushion body 414; [0121] teaches heating the enclosed biological substance disposed in the chamber frame; therefore, the heater 408 is capable of conducting thermal energy into or out of the media within the enclosure 604 of bag assembly 600); and
a transfer wall (Figs. 1-5, cushion body 414) defining and closing one side of the well (Figs. 1-4 teaches cushion body 414 as defining and closing one side of the cavity 304), the transfer wall in intimate contact with the external wall when the well is closed (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Figs. 1-3 and [0136]-[0137] teach cushion body 414 is in intimate contact with heater 408 of first heating assembly 400 when the cavity 304 is closed), the transfer wall configured to be in intimate contact with an entire side of the vessel (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0132] teaches the bag assembly 600 received within the cavity 304 is positioned in contact with heating cushions; therefore, the cushion body 414 is structurally capable of being in intimate contact with an entire side of the enclosure 604 of bag assembly 600), the transfer wall configured to be disposed between and separate the external wall and the entire side of the vessel (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Figs. 1-3 teaches cushion body 414 is between and separate second assembly frame 406 and heater 408 of first heating assembly 400 and an entire side of enclosure 604 of bag assembly 600 when received in cavity 304).
Note that the “vessel including media” are not positively recited structurally and are interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed carrier. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (vessel including media) worked upon by a structure (body; transfer wall) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115). As discussed above, the apparatus of Shavit is structurally capable of performing the claimed functional limitations regarding the vessel including media.
Note that the limitations that describe the body, closure wall, external wall, well, pad, and transfer wall, are interpreted as intended uses or functional limitations and are given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed carrier. A recitation of the function or intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the function or intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. As discussed in detail above, the structure of Shavit is capable of performing these intended uses and functional limitations. The apparatus of Shavit is identical to the presently claimed structure. Since Shavit discloses the body, closure wall, external wall, well, pad, and transfer wall as claimed and therefore, Shavit would have the ability to perform the functions and uses recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 2, Shavit further teaches wherein the well (Fig. 2B, cavity 304) is sized and dimensioned to compensate for expansion of the media within the vessel as the temperature of the media within the vessel changes (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; note that “media within the vessel” is not positively recited structurally; Figs. 1-5 and [0132] teach cavity 304 dimensioned to accommodate bag assembly 600; therefore the well defined by the container is structurally capable of compensating for expansion of media as claimed).
Regarding claim 5, Shavit further teaches the carrier according to claim 1, further comprising a hook (Figs. 1A-1B, 5A-5B, hooks 612,614) for supporting the body during filling of the vessel received within the body (interpreted as an intended use of the hook, see MPEP 2114; the hooks 612,614 are structurally capable of providing support to first heating assembly 400 and second heating assembly 500 during filling of a vessel received within cavity 304; the hooks 612,614 of Shavit is identical to the presently claimed structure and therefore would have the ability to perform the use recited in the claim, See MPEP 2112.01).
Note that the “filling of the vessel” are not positively recited structurally and are interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed carrier. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (filling of the vessel) worked upon by a structure (hook) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 6, Shavit further teaches the carrier according to claim 5, wherein the hook (Figs. 1A-1B, 5A-5B, hooks 612) is removeably secured to the body (Figs. 1-2 and [0153] teaches hooks 612,614 can rest on posts 228,230, therefore are removeably secured to the first heating assembly 400 and second heating assembly 500 via posts 228,230).
Regarding claim 25, Shavit further teaches wherein the external wall (Figs. 1-5, second assembly frame 406 and heater 408 of first heating assembly 400) includes a continuous major contact surface (Fig. 3, interpreted as the continuous major contact surface of heater 408 facing heating cushion 404), the continuous major contact surface configured to conduct thermal energy therethrough ([0136] teaches heater 408 is a planar structure configured to generate heat in response to receipt of electric current, therefore is configured to conduct thermal energy therethrough).
Regarding claim 28, Shavit further teaches the wherein the body (Figs. 1A-1B, first heating assembly 400 and second heating assembly 500) is configured to compress the vessel within the well (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Figs. 1-2 and [0158] teaches the second heating assembly 500 closes the enclosure 604 with a compressive force within cavity 304).
Regarding claim 30, Shavit further teaches the wherein the closure wall (Figs. 1-5, cover 512 of second heating assembly 500) is attached to the external wall (Figs. 1-5, second assembly frame 406 and heater 408 of first heating assembly 400) by a hinge, the hinge defining a fixed pivot axis, the closure wall pivoting relative to the external wall about the fixed pivot axis (Figs. 1-2 and [0128]-[0132] teach second pivot mount 238 configured to receive pivot 526, which are interpreted as a hinge; Figs. 2B-2D teach door 302 includes second heating assembly 500, which is pivotably mounted to chamber frame 202, wherein frame 202 includes second assembly frame 406 and heater 408 of first heating assembly 400; therefore, cover 512 is attached to second assembly frame 406 and heater 408 via frame 202 by a hinge, i.e. pivot mount 238 and pivot 526, that define a fixed pivot axis, and the cover 512 pivoting relative to the second assembly frame 406 and heater 408 about a fixed pivot axis as shown in Figs. 2A-2D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shavit as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baust et al. (US 20160097583 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Shavit fails to teach wherein the transfer wall (Figs. 1-5, cushion body 414) is formed of aluminum.
Baust teaches a system for heating or cooling a sample (abstract). Baust teaches a cooling pad disposed within the chamber including a fluid filled pillow, i.e. transfer wall, adjacent to a thermal device while being heated or cooled (abstract). Baust teaches the pillows are made of materials such as aluminum ([0031). Baust teaches the pillows include a fluid having a high specific heat capacity for warming or cooling, and includes aluminum ([0032]). Baust teaches the pillows allows for more convenient sample handling ([0036]), and allows for different sizes, volumes, and shapes of sample containers to be placed into the system while maintaining adequate pressure to sandwich the sample between the pillows during the heating/cooling ([0039]). Baust teaches the pillows allow for highly effective surface contact and heat transfer between the frozen sample and the pillow ([0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the transfer wall of Shavit to incorporate Baust’s teachings of pillows including aluminum for warming and cooling a sample (abstract; [0031]-[0032],[0032]) to provide: wherein the transfer wall is formed of aluminum. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving convenience of sampling handling and improving heat transfer to a vessel as taught by Baust ([0036],[0039],[0062]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shavit as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Faust et al. (US 3875754 A).
Regarding claim 27, Shavit fails to teach the carrier according to claim 25, wherein the continuous major contact surface (Fig. 3, interpreted as the continuous major contact surface of heater 408 facing heating cushion 404) forms an outermost surface of the body.
Faust teaches rapidly freezing fluids between planar parallel metal plates (abstract; Figs. 3-7). Faust teaches the plates (Fig. 3, plates 31,29) are connected by a hinge (Fig. 3, hinge 39,41), wherein the plates include continuous major contact surfaces that forms an outermost surface of the body (Fig. 3). Faust teaches the mechanical components of the present invention may be made of any materials capable of low temperature duty; wherein aluminum has been found particularly suitable for the restraining plates and the jig fixture (column 6, lines 13-17). Faust teaches an example of restraining plates made of aluminum sheets (column 6, lines 50-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the continuous major contact surface of Shavit to incorporate Faust’s teachings of aluminum plates forming outermost surface of a body to rapidly freeze fluids (abstract; Figs. 3-7; column 6, lines 13-17; column 6, lines 50-53) to provide: the carrier according to claim 25, wherein the continuous major contact surface forms an outermost surface of the body. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving thermal energy transfer functions and restraining and supporting the carrier.
Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements (i.e. the continuous major contact surface forms an outermost surface of the body) by known methods with no change in their respective functions (i.e. supporting and allowing for thermal energy transfer), and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results (i.e. providing the continuous major contact surface forms an outermost surface of the body would yield nothing more than the obvious and predictable result of improving thermal energy transfer functions and restraining and supporting the carrier). See MPEP 2143(A).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shavit as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zorovich et al. (US 20100183789 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Shavit fails to teach: the wherein the transfer wall includes a polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) coating or a thermal grease disposed on the transfer wall.
Zorovich teaches a frozen comestible maker that includes a heat exchanger for maximizing heat transfer away from a fluid that is being frozen (Figs. 1-2; abstract), which is an analogous art since heat exchanging for freezing is in the same field of endeavor of Matsumura and the instant application. Zorovich teaches a fluid is frozen in molding chambers and removed from the chambers (paragraph [0009]). Zorovich teaches the molding cavities are made of aluminum (paragraph [0031]). Zorovich teaches the inside of the molding cavities includes a surface finish that is critical to release the frozen comestible since freezing liquid has a tendency to stick to surfaces, wherein the surface finish includes a TEFLON, i.e. PTFE, coating to help produce a nonstick surface (paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the transfer wall of Shavit to incorporate Zorovich’s teachings of a TEFLON coating to prevent materials from sticking during freezing in a cavity (paragraphs [0009],[0031],[0034]) to provide: wherein the transfer wall includes a polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) coating. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully preventing sticking of the vessel in the carrier, and therefore improve removing the vessel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 08/31/2026, with respect to drawing objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing objection of 06/03/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 08/31/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the amendment of claim 1 overcomes the rejection under 112(b), the examiner disagrees.
As elaborated further in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), claim 1 recites “A carrier for receiving a vessel, the carrier comprising: a body including a closure wall and an external wall with a well defined therebetween….the body including a pad…and a transfer wall defining and closing one side of the well, the transfer wall in intimate contact with the external wall when the well is closed, the transfer wall configured to be in intimate contact with an entire side of the vessel…”. The disclosure describes separate embodiments of a carrier (paragraph [0026]; Figs. 7-9) and a box assembly (paragraph [0030]; Figs. 4-6), which appears to be mutually exclusive. Regarding the carrier embodiment, the specification, paragraphs [0094]-[0096] and Figs. 7-9 describe a carrier 340 that defines well 342 to receive vessel 20, and the carrier 340 includes a thermal energy transfer element 346 positioned on one side of the well 342. Regarding the embodiment of the box assembly, the specification, paragraphs [0093]-[0097], and Figs. 5-6 describes box 310 including closure wall 352 hingedly secured to transfer wall 322, the walls defining a chamber 330 configured to receive a carrier 340; the box 310 including a pad 358 attached to closure wall 352. However, the disclosure fails to describe an embodiment of a “carrier” comprising both “a body including a closure wall and an external wall…and a pad” AND “a transfer wall…”. Furthermore, claim 1 recites “a closure wall and an external wall that define a well therebetween…and a transfer wall defining and closing one side of the well, the transfer wall in intimate contact with the external wall when the well is closed…, the transfer wall configured to be disposed between the external wall and the entire side of the vessel”. The specification, paragraph [0097], and Figs. 4-6 teaches a closure wall 352 and transfer wall 322 that define a chamber 330 therebetween, where the closure wall 352 and transfer wall 322 are hingedly secured by hinge 355. The specification, paragraphs [0026], discloses “an external wall of the body” and paragraph [0028] discloses a “transfer element may be configured to be in intimate contact with the external wall of the box”. However, the disclosure fails to describe the “carrier” having both an “external wall” and a “transfer wall”, which define and close one side of the well. Therefore, the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-14, filed 08/31/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shavit et al. (US 20190336660 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fletcher et al. (US 4587810 A) teaches an ice maker with a flexible bag supported on a planar cooling surface (abstract). Fletcher teaches a heat conductive grease is preferably used between load plate 62 and cooling tray 54 and between sink plate 64 and base plate 66 so as to ensure good thermal contact of the thermoelectric modules with the cooling tray on one side and with the base plate on the other side; this direct thermal communication provides efficient heat removal so that the time required to convert liquid water to ice is minimized (column 7, line 58 - column 8, line 2). Fletcher teaches individual thermoelectric modules 61 are coated with a surrounding layer of thermal grease that helps seal the module thermocouples against moisture and also facilitates thermal communication between load side plate 62 and tray 54 and sink side plate 64 and heat exchanger base plate 66 (column 12, line 66 - column 13, line 3). Fletcher teaches a carrier (Figs. 1-2) comprising a body comprising two elements connected by a hinge (Fig. 2 teaches a top and bottom wall connected by hinge 52), and a transfer wall (Fig. 2, aluminum cooling tray 54) defining and closing one side of a well (Fig. 2, freezing chamber 56), the transfer wall in intimate contact with an external wall (Fig. 2, rows 58 and 60 of thermoelectric modules 61) when the well is closed (Fig. 2), the transfer wall configured to be intimate contact with an entire side of the vessel (Fig. 2; aluminum cooling tray 54 is configured to be in intimate contact with an entire side of bag 57), the transfer wall configured to be disposed between and separate the external wall (Fig. 2, rows 58 and 60) and the entire side of the vessel (bag 57). Fletcher teaches the transfer wall allows for direct thermal communication with an adjacent thick base plate for transferring heat, therefore allowing for efficient heat removal in a minimized time (column 7, lines 44-65).
Bakke (US 20040265168 A1) teaches a carrier (Figs. 1-2) for receiving a vessel (abstract, [0048], and Figs. 1-2 teach the apparatus 10 is capable of receiving bags 16, i.e. vessel, the carrier comprising: a body including a closure wall (Figs. 1-2, top case 12) and an external wall (Figs. 1-2, bottom case 14) with a well defined therebetween (Figs. 1-2 teaches a space, i.e. well, is defined between top case 12 and bottom case 14, in which bags 16 are placed), the closure wall (Figs. 1-2, top case 12) hingedly secured to the external wall (Figs. 1-2 and [0048] teach top case 12 is hingedly secured to bottom case 14 via hinge supports 18 and hinge mount 20) such that the well is selectively closeable between the closure wall and the external wall (Figs. 1-2 and [0048] teach the hinge supports 18 and hinge mount 18 allows top case 12 to be opened), the well sized and dimensioned to receive a vessel including media therein (Figs. 1-2 and [0048] teaches the space, i.e. well, between top case 12 and bottom case 14 is sized and dimensioned to receive bags 16 containing liquid), the body including a pad separate from and attached to the closure wall (Figs. 1-2 and [0048] teach the top case 14 includes heating plate 24, i.e. pad, which is implied to be separate from and attached to top case 14; Fig. 4 shows a different embodiment of a heating plate 66 separate from and attached to a case 56, therefore it is implied that the heating plate 24, i.e. pad, is separate from and attached to top case 14 similar to the cross-sectional arrangement of Fig. 4), the pad configured to urge the vessel towards the external wall of the body to enhance thermal energy transfer into or out of the media within the vessel through material of the external wall (interpreted as a functional limitation of the pad, see MPEP 2114; [0048] teaches the top case 12 and bottom case 14 enclosing and lightly squeezing bags 16; Figs. 1-2 and [0048] teaches the top case 12 includes heating plate 24, which is structurally capable of urging a vessel towards bottom case 14 to enhance thermal energy transfer into or out of the media within the vessel through material of the external wall when the top case 12 is closed and squeezes the bag), the external wall (Figs. 1-2, bottom case 14); a transfer wall defining and closing one side of the well (Figs. 1-2 and [0048] teaches the bottom case 14 includes heating plate 24, i.e. transfer wall, which closes the bottom side of the well formed by top case 14 and bottom case 14), the transfer wall in intimate contact with the external wall when the well is closed (Figs. 1-2 and [0048] teaches the bottom case 14 includes heating plate 24, i.e. transfer wall, which is implied to be in intimate contact with bottom case 14 when the well is closed), the transfer wall configured to be in intimate contact with an entire side of the vessel (Figs. 1-2), the transfer wall configured to be disposed between and separate the external wall and the entire side of the vessel (Figs. 1-2).
Yamada (US 20050153041 A1) teaches a carrier for receiving a vessel (Figs. 6-7), the carrier comprising a body including a closure wall (12) and external wall (32) with a well defined therebetween (Figs. 6-7, the space between walls 12,32), the closure wall hingedly secured to the external wall (Figs. 6-7). Yamada teaches pads and transfer walls (Figs. 6-7, brine bags 20). Yamada teaches brine bags are directly placed in an exclusive freezer compartment and further cold air is forced against the cooling plate, thereby obtaining more complete frozen food in a very short period of time (abstract).
Duarte et al. (US 20230217917 A1) teaches a system for freezing of a biological product contained in a bag or bags (abstract). Duarte teaches the system (Figs. 9-13) includes a closure wall (layer 602) with a pad (phase-change material 606), and transfer wall ( a heat transfer plate 603). Duarte teaches an additional layer of a phase-change material 606 may be placed at the top surface of the bag 102 in order to further prevent ice growth at the top of the bag, while promoting bottom-up freezing (paragraph [0093]). Durate teaches the heat transfer plate 603 at the bottom surface is configured to ensure a good thermal contact with the bottom and edge of the bag (paragraph [0090]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758