DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 recites the phrase “one of Z1 and Z2 is NR7”. Applicants are advised to amend this phrase to recite “one of Z1 or Z2 is NR7” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites the phrase “wherein the emissive layer comprise” which appears to be a typographic error of “wherein the emissive layer comprises”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “L is a single bond or the aromatic ring having the following structure of Formula
Claim 10 recites the limitation “L is a single bond or the aromatic ring having the following structure of Formula
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 10, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Lygaitis et al (US 2018/0016493).
Regarding claim 1, Lygaitis et al discloses the following compound (Page 10 – Compound 2h):
.
This compound corresponds to Formula 1 of the claims:
,
where m is two (2); and L is a single bond.
A corresponds to Formula 3 of the claims:
,
where:
A1 is N;
A2 and A3 are CR1, where R1 is fluorine, i.e. a halogen;
A4 is C-CN; and
A5 is a carbon atom linked to D.
D corresponds to Formula 8 of the claims:
,
where:
Z1 is single bond;
Z2 is NR7, where R7 is a C1 alkyl;
R3 and R4 are hydrogen; and
the integers s and t are both four (4).
Regarding claim 5, Lygaitis et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Given that the claims do not required Formula 3, the reference discloses a compound encompassed by the present claims.
Regarding claim 10, Lygaitis et al discloses an organic light emitting device, i.e. an organic light emitting diode, comprising: an anode, i.e. a first electrode; a cathode, i.e. a second electrode, facing the first electrode; and a light emitting layer disposed between the anode and cathode ([0129]-[0135] and Figure 1).
The light emitting layer comprises the following compound ([0137] and Page 10 – Compound 2h):
.
This compound corresponds to Formula 1 of the claims:
,
where m is two (2); and L is a single bond.
A corresponds to Formula 3 of the claims:
,
where:
A1 is N;
A2 and A3 are CR1 where R1 is fluorine, i.e. a halogen;
A4 is C-CN; and
A5 is a carbon atom linked to D.
D corresponds to Formula 8 of the claims:
,
where:
Z1 is single bond;
Z2 is NR7, where R7 is a C1 alkyl;
R3 and R4 are hydrogen; and
the integers s and t are both four (4).
Regarding claim 15, Lygaitis et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the light emitting layer comprises the disclosed compound.
Regarding claim 16, Lygaitis et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the light emitting layer comprises a host compound, corresponding to the recited first compound, and the compound discussed above is an emitter compound, corresponding to the recited second compound ([0002] and [0174]).
Regarding claim 18, Lygaitis et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the light emitting device further comprises a light emitting layer, i.e. a first emitting material layer, disposed between the first and second electrodes; and a hole conductor layer, i.e. a second emitting material layer, disposed between the first electrode and the light emitting layer, i.e. the first emitting material layer ([0129]-[0135]).
Regarding claim 19, Lygaitis et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the light emitting device further comprises an electron conductor layer, i.e. a third emitting material layer, disposed opposed the hole conductor layer, i.e. the second emitting material layer ([0129]-[0135]).
Regarding claim 20, Lygaitis et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the light emitting device further comprises a substrate (Figure 1). Accordingly, the reference discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a substrate and an organic light emitting diode disposed over the substrate.
In light of the above, it is clear that Lygaitis et al anticipates the presently recited claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komori et al (US 2009/0302742).
Regarding claim 1, Komori et al discloses the following compound (Page 27 – Compound 41):
.
This compound corresponds to Formula 1 of the claims:
,
where m is two (2); and L is a single bond.
A corresponds to Formula 3 of the claims:
,
where:
A1 is N;
A2 is CR1, where R1 is C6 aromatic group;
A3 is N;
A4 is C-R1, where R1 is hydrogen; and
A5 is a carbon atom linked to D.
D corresponds to Formula 8 of the claims:
,
where:
Z2 is single bond;
Z1 is NR7, where R7 is an unsubstituted C6 aromatic group;
R3 and R4 are hydrogen; and
the integers s and t are both four (4).
The difference between the compound disclosed by the reference and that claimed is that in the compound disclosed by the reference, A4 is CR1, where R1 is hydrogen, while the claims require a C-CN group. However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment and attention is directed to Formula (4) ([0020]):
,
where the linking group Ar3 can be substituted by a cyano group ([0039]-[0040]). Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where A4 is C-CN.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses linking groups such as ([0040] and Page 6- Y-9):
Accordingly, the reference discloses that A corresponds to Formula 5 of the claims:
,
where:
A3 is N;
R8 is the C6 aryl in the compound discussed above;
A1 is C linking to D; and
A2 is C-CN.
Regarding claim 3, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses linking groups such as ([0040] and Page 6 - Y-18):
Accordingly, the reference discloses that A corresponds to Formula 6 of the claims:
,
where R1 is D; and R8 is the phenyl group in the compound discussed above.
Regarding claim 4, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses linking groups such as ([0040] and Page 6- Y-9):
Accordingly, the reference discloses that A corresponds to Formula 7 of the claims:
,
where:
one (1) R1 is D;
the other R1 is hydrogen; and
R8 is the phenyl group in the compound discussed above.
Regarding claim 5, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Given that the claims do not required Formula 3, the reference discloses a compound encompassed by the present claims.
Regarding claim 7, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses linking groups such as ([0040] and Page 10- Y-80):
,
i.e. L has the structure of Formula 3:
,
where p is zero (0) and q is one (1)
Furthermore, as discussed above, in the compound disclosed by the reference, Z2 is single bond; and Z1 is NR7, where R7 is an unsubstituted C6 aromatic group.
Regarding claim 8, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses Compound 1-49 of the claims:
.
Regarding claim 10, Komori et al discloses an organic electroluminescent device, i.e. an organic light emitting diode, comprising a light emitting layer disposed between the anode and cathode, i.e. first and second electrodes (Abstract). The light emitting layer comprises the following compound (Page 27 – Compound 41):
.
This compound corresponds to Formula 1 of the claims:
,
where m is two (2); and L is a single bond.
A corresponds to Formula 3 of the claims:
,
where:
A1 is N;
A2 is CR1, where R1 is C6 aromatic group;
A3 is N;
A4 is C-R1, where R1 is hydrogen; and
A5 is a carbon atom linked to D.
D corresponds to Formula 8 of the claims:
,
where:
Z2 is single bond;
Z1 is NR7, where R7 is an unsubstituted C6 aromatic group;
R3 and R4 are hydrogen; and
the integers s and t are both four (4).
The difference between the compound disclosed by the reference and that claimed is that in the compound disclosed by the reference A4 is CR1, where R1 is hydrogen, while the claims require a C-CN group. However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment and attention is directed to Formula (4) ([0020]):
,
where the linking group Ar3 can be substituted by a cyano group ([0039]-[0040]). Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where A4 is C-CN.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses linking groups such as ([0040] and Page 6- Y-9):
Accordingly, the reference discloses that A corresponds to Formula 5 of the claims:
,
where:
A3 is N;
R8 is the C6 aryl in the compound discussed above;
A1 is C linking to D; and
A2 is C-CN.
Regarding claim 12, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses linking groups such as ([0040] and Page 6- Y-18):
Accordingly, the reference discloses that A corresponds to Formula 6 of the claims:
,
where R1 is D; and R8 is the phenyl group in the compound discussed above.
Regarding claim 13, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses linking groups such as ([0040] and Page 6 - Y-9):
Accordingly, the reference discloses that A corresponds to Formula 7 of the claims:
,
where:
one (1) R1 is D;
the other R1 is hydrogen; and
R8 is the phenyl group in the compound discussed above.
Regarding claim 15, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the light emitting layer comprises the disclosed compound.
Regarding claim 16, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the light emitting layer comprises a phosphorescent compound, corresponding to the recited first compound, and the compound discussed above is a host compound (Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the light emitting device further comprises a light emitting layer, i.e. a first emitting material layer, disposed between the anode and cathode; and a hole transporting layer, i.e. a second emitting material layer, disposed between the anode, i.e. first electrode, and the light emitting layer, i.e. the first emitting material layer (Figure 1 and [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the light emitting device further comprises an electron transporting layer, i.e. a third emitting material layer, disposed opposed the hole transporting layer, i.e. the second emitting material layer (Figure 1 and [0049]).
Regarding claim 20, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the light emitting device further comprises a substrate (Figure 1 and [0049]). Accordingly, the reference discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a substrate and an organic light emitting diode disposed over the substrate.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komori et al (US 2009/0302742) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-13, and 15-20 above, and in view of Raj (US 2013/0043803).
The discussion with respect to Komori et al as set forth in Paragraph 14 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 17, Komori et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the light emitting layer may have a structure in which a red emission layer, a green emission layer, and a blue emission layer are stacking on each other to emit white light ([0225]). However, the reference does not disclose that the light emitting layer comprises a third compound as recited in the present claims.
Raj discloses that the most common techniques for generating white light in an organic light emitting device include multi-layer structures of red, blue, and green emitters and doping of a single emission layer with multiple emitters ([0006]).
In view of the teaching in Raj that a common technique for generating white light in organic light emitting devices is to combine multiple dopants in a single layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the red, blue and green dopants in the organic light emitting device disclosed by Komori et al to obtain a single light emitting layer comprising a third compound, i.e. either the red or green emitter, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
In light of the amendments to the claims requiring that m is two (2), the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of the claims over Jeon et al set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn given that the reference does not disclose a compound where m is two (2), i.e. the reference does not disclose a compound comprising two (2) substituents encompassed by Formula 8 of the claims, i.e.
Regarding the amendments to claims 1 and 10 reciting Compounds 1-21 and 2-2, i.e.
,
it is noted that while Jeon et al discloses formulas that encompass these compounds, it is significant to note that the data pointed to by Applicants regarding the unexpected nature of these compounds is found to be persuasive for the following reasons.
Applicants compare Inventive Examples 2 and 22, which utilize Inventive Compounds 1-2 and 2-2 (see above), to Comparative Examples 3 and 10, which utilize Reference Compounds 3 and 10:
.
The data is the Specification demonstrates that the presence of the cyano (CN) group on the pyrimidine and pyridine rings of the inventive compounds results in unexpected increase in the luminous T95 lifetime as compared to the comparative compounds which do not possess a CN group. Given that Jeon et al does not disclose that the presence of the CN group results in such lifetime increases, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at Compounds 1-2 and 2-2 recited in the present claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786