DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 has been amended to recite "wherein control of the row unit actuator based on the actual downforce is completed at a faster rate than control of the actuator that adjusts the position of the rotate frame based on the actual downforce." However, "control of the row unit actuator based on the actual downforce" is not otherwise addressed in the claim. It is unclear what or how "control of the row unit actuator based on the actual downforce" is accomplished. The claim language does not link "control of the row unit actuator based on the actual downforce" to the controller in any manner. As such, the metes and bounds of what "control of the row unit actuator based on the actual downforce" requires cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 18 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required. Additionally, claims 19 and 20 are rejected because of their dependency on claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fanshier et al. (US 2020/0084951)
Regarding claim 11, Fanshier discloses an agricultural machine comprising:
a main frame (including 18, or including 54);
a rotate frame (including 22 and/or 38, or including 60) coupled to the main frame;
a row unit (including 33, or including 64) coupled to the rotate frame and configured to deliver commodity to the soil;
a linkage assembly including an arm (including or of 44, including or of 66) having a first end pivotably coupled to the rotate frame and a second end pivotably coupled to the row unit;
a sensor (50, or 70) configured to identify a position of the arm relative to the rotate frame;
a controller (including 34) configured to send a first signal to a first actuator (including 32A-1 or 32 of 24A or 26, or including 62) causing movement of the rotate frame relative to the main frame based on the position of the arm relative to the rotate frame (as described in para. 0030, or as described in para. 0032);
a wing frame (including or of 24B) coupled to a lateral end of the rotate frame;
a wing row unit (including 33 on 24B) coupled to the wing frame and configured to deliver commodity to the soil; and
a wing linkage assembly including a wing arm (shown connecting 33 to 24B) having a first end pivotably coupled to the wing frame and a second end pivotably coupled to the wing row unit;
wherein the controller (including 34) is configured to monitor a position of the rotate frame (via 48) and, in response to an adjustment of the rotate frame (when a single sensor 48 is used with the rotate frame as described in para. 0027), send a second signal to a second actuator (including 32 of 24B, i.e. 32E or 32F) causing movement of the wing frame relative to the main frame to attain or maintain a positional alignment (as described in para. 0017, or at 38A-1, 38A-2, or 38A-3, wherein 32 of 24B is adjusted similarly to 32A as described in para. 0021) of the wing frame with the rotate frame in terms of position relative to the main frame (see para. 0019, wherein actuators 32 are controlled together, and again see para. 0021, wherein 32 of 24B is adjusted similarly to 32A); and
wherein the controller (including 34) is further configured to send a third signal (in subsequent operation) to the second actuator (including 32 of 24B, i.e. 32E or 32F) causing movement of the wing frame relative to the main frame to adjust an actual wing-to-arm angle defined between a rearward portion of the wing frame and the wing arm toward a desired wing-to-arm angle (adjusted as desired or in accordance with sensor 50, as described in paras. 0029-0030, wherein 32 of 24B is adjusted similarly to 32A as described in para. 0021).
Regarding claim 12, Fanshier discloses the first actuator being configured to receive the first signal sent by the controller (as described in para. 0030 or para. 0032) and move the rotate frame relative to the main frame based on the first signal sent by the controller (as the actuator is configured to actuate as described).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fanshier in view of Frank et al. (US 2019/0380259)
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Fanshier discloses the machine with respect to claim 11, as set forth above. Fanshier also discloses multiple actuators (including 32) including at least one second actuator and at least one third actuator, and Fanshier discloses adjustment of said actuators. However, Fanshier does not explicitly disclose independent control of the actuators. Frank teaches independently adjusting actuators for independent row unit control (see paras. 0052-0054).
Frank is analogous because Frank teaches controlling the depth of row units of an agricultural machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the machine of Fanshier with the independent control means as taught by Frank since each row unit experiences unique conditions. (See Frank, paras. 0052-0054.)
Claims 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fanshier in view of Kowalchuk et al. (US 8,275,525)
Regarding claim 18, Fanshier discloses an agricultural machine comprising:
a main frame (including 18, or including 54) supported by wheels (of 12 or as shown in Figs. 4A and 4B);
a rotate frame (including 22 and/or 38, or including 60) coupled to the main frame;
a row unit (including 33, or including 64) coupled to the rotate fame and configured to deliver commodity to the soil;
an actuator (including 32 or 32A-1, or including 62) having a first end coupled to the main frame and a second end coupled to the rotate frame; and
a controller (including 34) configured to signal to the actuator instructing the actuator adjust the position of the rotate frame based on a sensed condition of the row unit (see para. 0030 or para. 0032).
Fanshier does not explicitly disclose a downforce gauge or the sensed condition being a downforce exerted by the row unit. Kowalchuk teaches an agricultural machine comprising:
a row unit configured to deliver commodity to the soil, the row unit including a downforce gauge (including 78, 82, or 94) configured to measure an actual downforce exerted by the row unit; and
a controller (including 88 or 100) configured to determine whether the actual downforce signal is within an acceptable range ("a range of 'no-action' values") and to signal to an actuator (52 or 106) instructing the actuator adjust the row unit if the actual downforce is not within the acceptable range (see col. 5, line 59 - col. 6, line 24). Kowalchuk recites: "However, if the stain measurements are outside the range of 'no-action' values, the CPU will cause an increase or decrease in pressure in the hydraulic cylinder 52 (or 106) to vary the amount of down pressure the cylinder 52 (or 106) applies on disc 22." (See col. 6, lines 17-21.) One skilled in the art would recognize such operation being to decrease pressure in the hydraulic cylinder to reduce the amount of down pressure on the disc when the stain measurements exceed a maximum of the range of "no-action" values. Additionally, Kowalchuk teaches another implementation (see col. 6, lines 25-38) configured such that when the actual downforce exceeds a maximum allowable downforce limit (as determined based on feedback provided by the strain gauge), to adjust the position of the rotate frame to reduce the actual downforce (as it is reduced from a maximum level).
Kowalchuk also teaches the agricultural machine further comprising a row unit actuator (including 38) coupled to the row unit, which responds to and initiates motion, and thereby is controlled, based on the actual downforce exerted by the row unit. One skilled in the art would recognize that a spring as shown by Kowalchuk (38 meeting the limitation of "a row unit actuator") can respond almost instantly to a force change since a mechanical spring stores energy in its deformation and releases it immediately when the load changes, while a hydraulic actuator controlled by a controller is slower since a hydraulic actuator's speed is limited by fluid flow and valve dynamics. With such a spring, no controller or valve needs to respond before motion occurs. Accordingly, Kowalchuk meets the limitation of claim 18 wherein control of the row unit actuator (including spring 38) based on actual downforce (exerted by the row unit) is completed at a faster rate than control of the (hydraulic) actuator (including 52 or 106) based on the actual downforce.
Kowalchuk is analogous because Kowalchuk discloses an agricultural machine having automatic downforce adjustment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the machine of Fanshier with the downforce sensing means and corresponding control means as taught by Kowalchuk in order to respond automatically to changes in soil conditions and/or to optimize the amount of downforce applied. (See Kowalchuk, col. 2, lines 12-27.) Additionally, it is noted that downforce sensing means of this kind are generally known to be utilized to counteract sinking, as taught by Horsch et al. (WO 2021/089197 A1) (See Horsch, para. 0050.)
Regarding claims 16 and 19, Fanshier discloses the machine with respect to claim 11, as set forth above, and Fanshier and Kowalchuk disclose the machine with respect to claim 18, as set forth above. Fanshier also discloses the agricultural machine further comprising:
a wing frame (including or of 24B) coupled to a lateral end of the rotate frame;
a wing row unit (including 33 on 24B) coupled to the wing frame and configured to deliver commodity to the soil; and
a wing linkage assembly including a wing arm (shown connecting 33 to 24B) having a first end pivotably coupled to the wing frame and a second end pivotably coupled to the wing row unit;
wherein the controller (including 34) is configured to determine an actual wing-to-arm angle (via 50, as described in paras. 0028-0029, wherein multiple 50s, as described in para. 0027, include sensing that of a wing), and send a signal instructing the wing frame to move relative to the main frame (see paras. 0029-0030, wherein 32 of 24B is adjusted similarly to 32A as described in para. 0021) based on the actual wing-to-arm angle (as measured by a respective 50).
Fanshier does not explicitly disclose independently sensing and adjusting the position of the wing structure based on a determined (e.g., sensed) condition of the wing being in an acceptable range. Kowalchuk teaches independently sensing row units (via 78, 82, or 94) and a controller (including 88 or 100) configured to determine whether a determined (sensed) value (from 78, 82, or 94) is within an acceptable range ("a range of 'no-action' values") and to independently signal to an actuator (including 52) instructing the actuator adjust the row unit if the determined value is not within the acceptable range (see col. 5, line 59 - col. 6, line 24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the machine of Fanshier, or the above combination of Fanshier and Kowalchuk, with the independent control means as taught by Kowalchuk in order to adjust individually adjust different portions (e.g., rows). As noted above, independent control of this kind is generally known to be utilized since row units can experience unique conditions in agricultural practice, as taught by Frank.
Regarding claim 20, Fanshier discloses the agricultural machine further comprising:
a wing frame (including or of 24B) coupled to a lateral end of the rotate frame;
a wing row unit (including 33 on 24B) coupled to the wing frame and configured to deliver commodity to the soil; and
a wing linkage assembly including a wing arm (shown connecting 33 to 24B) having a first end pivotably coupled to the wing frame and a second end pivotably coupled to the wing row unit;
wherein the controller is configured to send a signal instructing the wing frame to move relative to the main (see paras. 0019 and 0021) based on the position of the rotate frame (when a single sensor 48 is used with the rotate frame as described in para. 0027).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fanshier in view of Frank as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kinzenbaw (US 4,721,168).
Regarding claim 15, neither Fanshier nor Frank explicitly discloses first, second, and third pluralities of actuators, wherein each plurality of actuators has a different size. Kinzenbaw teaches an agricultural machine comprising:
a first plurality of actuators (including 160), each of a first size,
a second plurality of actuators (including 185 or 186), each having a different size than the first plurality of actuators (see Fig. 17), and
a third plurality of actuators (including 174), each having a different size than the first plurality of actuators and the second plurality of actuators (see Fig. 17).
Kinzenbaw is analogous because Kinzenbaw discloses an agricultural machine comprising a main frame, a rotate frame, and row units. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above combination with the different sized actuators as taught by Kinzenbaw so that the cylinders can be operated together. (See Kinzenbaw, col. 3, lines 16-33.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see labeled p.10, filed 6/18, with respect to th have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections and have been withdrawn.
Applicant's other arguments filed 6/18/ have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 11, Applicant argues: "With regard to Fanshier, Fanshier in general relates to a contouring toolbar system in which a controller actuates an actuator to rotate a toolbar relative to a frame member based on sensor feedback indicative of the angular position or distance of the toolbar from the ground. (See, e.g., Fanshier at ¶ 29 ('...the controller 34 (FIG. 1) can track, based on a signal from the sensors 48, 50, at what angle the toolbar 38A has rotated relative to the frame 20A (from sensor 48) and the ground (from sensor 50).')) Yet, such ground-based adjustments neither teach nor suggest features relating to monitoring and adjusting the positions of different adjustable portions of Fanshier to maintain alignment positions." (See Remarks of 6/18/2026, labeled p. 12.)
First, as stated in the Non-Final Rejection of 3/12/2025, Applicant's argument is unpersuasive because "monitoring and adjusting the positions of different adjustable portions ... to maintain alignment positions" is not claimed. In particular, claim 11 more broadly sets forth monitoring and adjusting single portions causing movement "to attain or maintain a positional alignment" between frames, rather than a distinct position, which is not specifically defined either by the claim language or in Applicant’s argument to overcome the prior art.
Second, as also stated in the Non-Final Rejection of 3/12/2025, Applicant's argument is unpersuasive because Fanshier discloses monitoring the positions of different adjustable portions with a single sensor 48 (as described in para. 0027), and Fanshier discloses adjusting the positions of different adjustable portions via respective actuators (including 32A-1 or 32 of 24A, and including 32 of 24B), which attains or maintains an alignment relationship between the different portions (as actuators 32 are controlled together as described in para. 0019, and as 32 of 24B is adjusted similarly to 32A as described in para. 0021).
Applicant also argues: "Moreover, Fanshier neither teaches nor suggests features regarding the controller being configured to monitor a position of the rotate frame and, in response to an adjustment of the rotate frame, send a second signal to a second actuator causing movement of the wing frame relative to the main frame to attain or maintain a positional alignment of the wing frame with the rotate frame in terms of position relative to the main frame, as now recited in amended independent claim 11." (See Remarks of 6/18/2026, labeled p. 12.)
As also stated in the Non-Final Rejection of 3/12/2026, Applicant's argument is unpersuasive because, as explained in the rejection above, Fanshier discloses the controller being configured to monitor a position of the rotate frame (via 48) and, in response to an adjustment of the rotate frame (when a single sensor 48 is used with the rotate frame as described in para. 0027), send a second signal to a second actuator (including 32 of 24B, i.e. 32E or 32F) causing movement of the wing frame relative to the main frame to attain or maintain a positional alignment (as described in para. 0017, or at 38A-1, 38A-2, or 38A-3, wherein 32 of 24B is adjusted similarly to 32A as described in para. 0021) of the wing frame with the rotate frame in terms of position relative to the main frame (see para. 0019, wherein actuators 32 are controlled together, and again see para. 0021, wherein 32 of 24B is adjusted similarly to 32A).
Applicant argues: "... However, these cited paragraphs relate to rotating multiple toolbar sections to follow ground contours. Moreover, as Fanshier makes clear, the controller tracks 'at what angle the toolbar 38A has rotated relative to the frame 20A (from sensor 48) and the ground (from sensor 50)' and adjusts the toolbar accordingly. (Fanshier at ¶ 29.) The Applicant respectfully submits that such cited portions of Fanshier neither teach nor suggest features relating to positional alignment in terms of position relative to the main frame, as now recited in amended independent claim 11, let alone a controller that sends a second signal to a second actuator causing movement of the wing frame relative to the main frame to attain or maintain a positional alignment of the wing frame with the rotate frame in terms of position relative to the main frame, as recited in amended claim 11." (See Remarks of 6/18/2026, labeled p. 13.)
Applicant's argument is unpersuasive because it amounts to a general allegation that does not specifically point out any deficiency in the Non-Final Rejection of 3/12/2026, and claim 11 remains rejected, as set forth above, for reasons similar to those stated in the Non-Final Rejection of 3/12/2026.
Further, Applicant argues: "The Applicant respectfully submits that Fanshier also neither teaches nor suggests a controller configured to send a signal to an actuator to move a wing frame relative to a main frame in order to adjust an actual wing-to-arm angle defined between a rearward portion of the wing frame and a wing arm toward a desired wing-to-arm angle. Fanshier's controller instead sends signals to actuators to rotate toolbar sections based on sensor feedback measuring toolbar angle or distance relative to the ground. Unlike the ground-proximity and ground-angle sensing approach of Fanshier, amended claim 11 now instead recites features relating to '... to the second actuator causing movement of the wing frame relative to the main frame to adjust an actual wing-to-arm angle defined between a rearward portion of the wing frame and the wing arm toward a desired wing-to-arm angle.'" (See Remarks of 6/18/2026, labeled p. 13.)
Applicant's argument is unpersuasive because, as admitted by Applicant, Fanshier's controller sends signals to actuators to rotate toolbar sections based on sensor feedback measuring toolbar angle. Further, although Fanshier sets forth sensor 50 being used to sense the position of the toolbar relative to the ground, Fanshier describes sensor 50 "located at the pivot point between the linkage 44 and the toolbar 38A," in para. 0028, and one skilled in the art would readily recognize this measures wing-to-arm angle at this point, especially given the embodiments described in para. 0029 of Fanshier. Accordingly, Applicant's argument is unpersuasive, and the amended recitation of claim 11 is rejected as set forth above. Additionally, it is noted that claim 11 does not necessarily require either "an actual wing-to-arm angle" or "a desired wing-to-arm angle" to be evaluated or enumerated (e.g., sensed, measured, or input) by or in the controller.
Since the rejection of claim 11 is maintained, the rejections of dependent claims 12-16 are also maintained.
Regarding Kowalchuk, Applicant argues: "Further, Kowalchuk's alternative implementations neither teach nor suggest control of a row unit actuator based on an actual downforce that is completed at a faster rate than a rotate frame actuator that is controlled based on the same actual downforce measurement. The Applicant further respectfully submits that the Office Action identifies no portion of Kowalchuk that describes differentiated control rates for different actuators in response to the same downforce input." (See Remarks of 6/18/2026, labeled p. 14.)
Applicant's argument is unpersuasive because Kowalchuk teaches a row unit actuator (including 38) and control thereof based on an actual downforce being completed at a faster rate than an actuator that is controlled based on an actual downforce measurement, as explained in the rejection above. The control of the actuators being "based on the same actual downforce measurement" is not claimed. Further, the row unit actuator being controlled based on any measurement is not set forth, and the ambiguity of the row unit actuator control has necessitated the § 112(b) rejection of claim 18, as set forth above.
Applicant's argument regarding the rationale for combining Fanshier and Kowalchuk (see Remarks of 6/18/2026, labeled pp. 14-15) is unpersuasive because the row unit actuator of Kowalchuk (including 38) also responds automatically to changes in soil conditions and/or optimizes the amount of downforce applied.
Since the rejection of claim 18 is maintained, the rejections of dependent claims 19 and 20 are also maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JFM/9/25/26
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671